The Westin Nova Scotian

  • 1181 Hollis Street
  • Halifax,
  • Nova Scotia
  • B3H 2P6
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children 18 years and under stay free in parents room with existing bedding.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 308 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wonderful staff and amazing food The staff were very helpful during my stay. I also ate at the restaurant in the hotel while I was there. I had the haddock. It was the best fish dish I have ever had at a restaurant. On the negative side the entire hotel way way too hot. I had the AC on in the room but it hardly made a difference except to dry the air out. Turning it completely off and leaving the window open didn't work either. Also there was a sound like a pipe was banging all night coming from the shower. March 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Make The Difference Let's face it, a hotel room is a hotel room anywhere..at the Westin Nova Scotian it is the staff that make the difference. From being greeted by the guy opening the door, a member of senior staff in the lobby to say welcome, friendly, efficient service at check-in with good humour you know this hotel is something special. It was an exceptionally busy weekend with Basketball teams and March Breakers and the Liberals, yet each and every guest is made to feel special and welcome by staff. I appreciate the exceptional service!! March 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful facility Very friendly personnel & welcoming. Nice hotel with great meeting room facilities. Enjoyed my stay. March 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dirty, run down and over rated Room and carpet were dusty and dirty. Arrived after midnight and did not take it up with the counter staff, Corners of room had duty in them . Behind corner of bed was FULL of dust dirt and others hair (was looking for a plug in). I understand that they want to keep the old world feel in the rooms as it is an older hotel ... But the trim and walls looked like they were salvaged from the Titanic that sunk years ago. Beat up and not painted well. I will NOT rush back. Many better hotels in Halifax for same money ! February 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location. The staff and hotel with a wonderful harbour view made our trip to Halifax more enjoyable. February 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very uneven experience We stayed at the Westin Nova Scotian the weekend of Feb. 15-17, 2013 and I have to say that while under normal circumstances I would assume the hotel would be quite exemplary, unfortunately it failed to deliver for us. The overriding issue for us was that the ventilation system was not working, such that our room was consistently 80+ degrees, despite attempting to set the thermostat at 60. We mentioned this to the front desk both on Friday, then again on Saturday, and both times we were told and engineer would be sent to check things out... it never happened. Saturday overnight it got so bad we slept with three windows open and no sheets on the bed, but it was still sweltering. When I mentioned my disappointment upon checking out on Sunday, I was told, "Oh, you should have mentioned this to us - we could have sent up an engineer!"... I confirmed that I had, both days, at which point the front desk staff blushed and said, "Oh!" and then just kind of apologized. Furthermore, we were given a room on the second floor, which unbeknownst to us was apparently designated as the "dog floor". So on top of the unbearable heat/humidity level in the room, at various points Friday evening and into the night a dog could be heard barking either in the hall or in the room next door... Again, hardly optimal. Beyond all that - and I agree it seems an unusual amalgamation of events - the hotel was great. Exceptional friendly staff, superb location near the Seaport Market, nice facilities (gym, pool), and a great restaurant (Elements on Hollis) ranked among the best in Halifax. February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Staff was great the staff were all very friendly and professional and tried there best to meet our needs February 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best for SPG Benefit recognition For someone that travels 100 nights a year in hotels, its hard for a property to stand out to a platinum SPG customer. This one does. Great front desk service, great SPG recognition, great rooms, nice views, just an all round excellent (and consistent) experience. Keep it up. February 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Staff This hotel has friendly helpful staff. They are interested in ensuring your needs are looked after. They provide, for a nominal cost, workout gear should you require it. Very accommodating. Responded to requests promptly. February 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service, quality and location Still the best hotel in Halifax. Super service, strategic location and Westin quality. The city is growing into this hotel with new office towers, markets, convention facilities and waterfront access. February 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel Room Needs improvement Hotel room was very dry and too hot. Thermostat did not work properly. Sink in washroom would not drain properly. Paint on windows was crumbling. February 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff! The Bellman and valet were amazing, very personable and extremely helpful. The bar was a disapointment, not one acceptable wine by the glass. Breakfast staff were slow. February 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location The staff were friendly and attended to any needs as they arose. January 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room I stay at the Westin on a regular basis but this stay was not the best. There was an odor in the room and the coffe maker did not work properly. January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Food and Beverage The staff was very knowledgable about the menus. They were polite and prompt. All of the food was delicious and there was lots of variety. I would recommend Elements to anyone visiting Halifax. Room service was equally satisfying. Overall, two great meals were had during my stay! January 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude and unprofessional staff The westin Nova Scotian perpetually make mistakes with my account. I am never credited the points or stays. The front desk staff is rude and unfriendly. In fact, it looks like it gives them pleasure to treat guest badly. Every time I stay there, I have to go through very frustrating situations to get my stays and point with SPG customer service, which in itself is a disaster. I would call it customer . Every stay is a disappointment and I recommend you stay somewhere else. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fruit basket Gift basket was a nice surprise. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Family Hotel This is a great Hotel to take the entire Family. It is far enough away from the Downtown Core that you don't feel like your in the busy part of Halifax and they treat the kids great. January 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Intro to Halifax My stay at the Westin Nova Scotian was a nice way to begin my very first trip to the Maritimes. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the building itself was sturdy enough not to blow away in the big wind that pounded relentlessly at it the night I was there. Stan from Vancouver January 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wish I had my wedding somewhere else.. Not happy at ALL with the service that I received while having my wedding at the westin Dec '12. Stayed at the hotel the night before and someone got beat up outside of my room at 2:30 AM so I went into my wedding on 4 hours of sleep!!! They were supposed to change my room over from ceremony/reception and they didn't! My GUESTS had to! And some of my guests even left!! The lady that was assigned to my file wasn't there the day of my wedding NOR did she pass along any of my wishes to the staff who were actually there that day. Ontop of it all during the whole planning process she kept trying to tell me what I wanted... and kept disagreeing with me when I told her what I wanted! AND she was two weeks late getting back to me about the catering menu then told me I had one day to get all the information to her because she was going on vacation!! There was also gum stuck to the floor of the venu!! Some of the breads that I ordered from their catering menu were STALE! So unprofessional! And to think I chose the Westin hotel because I wanted a higher class... I urge anyone planning a wedding to stay clear of the Westin. January 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some disappointments I booked a room for two nights from New Years Eve to the 2nd. We were welcomed and helped with our bags, which we much appreciated, but there were a few disappointments during our stay. First, the heat in the room was so high when we arrived that there was a window wide open to try to cool it off. In the current atmosphere of environmental concern and consideration, we were disappointed with the Westins disregard for energy efficiency. The next morning we went to Roys (?) Bar to have a light breakfast but the menu's breakfast items started at 13.00 which seemed rather high for a simple breakfast. I ordered a bowl of oatmeal and my husband ordered the muesli, both of which were lukewarm and my oatmeal was utterly tasteless. Later in the afternoon we decided to use the fitness facilities. When we walked into the pool room it was ice cold, so cold that steam was coming off of the water. It turns out that the fitness room was be renovated and workmen were walking huge sheets of mirror from the back parking lot to the fitness room. I should note that the outside temperature that day was -12 c. So, we got in the pool and tried to relax but it was another 40 minutes before the door was finally closed and the workmen stopped walking back and forth. Unfortunately we were unable to use the fitness room, which was part of the attraction for us coming to the Westin as we wanted to have a few quiet days after the holidays and have a spa-like vacation. January 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs improvment I was really excited to come stay at the hotel for New Years Eve. While my stay was excellent, a few things need improvment. 1. The pool was a joke, it shouldnt even be advertised as a pool but a big bath tub. 2. The rooms were really small 4. The buffet we had included in our package was ok, nothing to be excited over. some of the food was cold that was supposed to be hot .. not too impressed there 3. I had to pay with debit because i do not have a credit card i wanted to use for my room, therefore i had to pay the $200 upfront, which was O.K. .. but when trying to check out we had to wait for our room to be checked for me to get my deposit back which the person told me would only be 5 minutes, which turned into an hour, and at that point the room had not even been checked yet when i asked a different receptionist about my issue, she told me she was so sorry for the wait, and the room was being checked at that moment. I was not impressed, waiting in the lobby for an hour, hungary and just wanting to get out of there, for nothing. . January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff were great We were there on New Years holiday and even though the staff were constantly busy they were very gracious and attentive. Very friendly. January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Bring your own sewing kit They checked us in quickly even though there was a big lineup as it was NYE. Happy about that. I do not like that the fridge is full of things to buy. I wanted to put my own drinks in it and had to empty it all out to do that. Water is $5.95 plus tax a bottle. A little extreme? We asked for a sewing kit as my friend had a hole in her dress (there were none in the room!). We were at the hotel for a wedding/NYE.. can not attend with a hole in your dress! They brought us something that had only 4 threads and a needle in it.. The needle was so tiny that the thread did not fit trough the hole in it. The thread was bigger than the needle hole. Three of us tried for an hour to get it in, but in the end we gave up. We called the front desk to see if they had anything else she could use and they said no, sorry, that's all we have and hung up on her. Other than that, this hotel has nice rooms and beds. We knew they were busy and would not have bothered them if it wasn't important. We seemed to be a bother. Maybe they should keep kits in the rooms. January 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lovely but I always enjoy my stay at the Westin. I was quite disappointed with a couple of items this time out though. The bathroom was not clean and my heat did not work. Even after I asked maintenance to come and fix I still could not get the heat above 68. Warm enough when you are sleeping but when you are entertaining women wearing party dresses a higher temp would have been better. On the other side, I had room service which was delivered in good time considering the numbers being served that night and the people who took the order and the lovely girl who delivered were all very pleasant. December 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel and the staff were wonderful My family and I stayed at the Westin Nova Scotia on Christmas Day. It's become a tradition because of the beautiful property and outstanding staff. Alan greeted us warmly and during the evening Dave was very helpful. This has been our third Christmas here and we look forward to even more holiday time in the future. It's a great place for a Staycation. I also highly recommend the Christmas Buffet. The selection and quality of the food is exceptional. December 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Christmas 2012 We stayed over Chrismas Eve. We were able to check in early (noon) on the 24th and stayed past noon on the 25th at no extra charge! December 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect stay before Xmass As promised we got our Prefered guest upgrade, much appreciated December 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay Once again this hotel delivers. Consistency and great service can't be beat. December 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Comfortable stay The rooms are small but comfortable. The facility was clean and room service was prompt. December 18, 2012
  • 2015-04-18T18:27:44.314-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_308, tr_308
  • loc_en_US, sid_1081, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 next>>