The Westin Nova Scotian

  • 1181 Hollis Street
  • Halifax,
  • Nova Scotia
  • B3H 2P6
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children 18 years and under stay free in parents room with existing bedding.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 225 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room comfort and Noise...... During our stay we were in room 231, the thermostat did not control the heat in the room and it got so hot you had to shut the fan off completely and open the window as much as possible! There was a party or wedding or something going on downstairs that we were not notified of when we checked in that went on late in the night and not to mention the screaming people in the halls walking the halls till 3 am! this was our 3rd stay at The Westin and we only had 1 good night there out of the 3, not sure if I will go back there or not, March 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hey it's an old building! Let's face it, it is not the Westin in popular big cities that has current day modern appeal, so reading the reviews those other guests need to recognize and live with that. BUT there are things that can be worked on. It was a quiet night, Monday, and I had to valet my own car, not that I cared but not a good start. Once I finished the check in process I had no idea where the elevator was. Simple things that should be standard hotel protocol. It's old so the HVAC , pool, elevators all work differently but that adds to glorious 1950's charm! March 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old, outdated and substandard As compared to other hotels in Halifax this would be my last choice. Its old, outdated and substandard as compared to other hotels available. Also, given the rates this hotel should be much better. The room was not very clean, garbage was left from previous guest, the coffee maker still had an old used filter pack in it, and don't they ever dust the furniture/lamps etc? Also the "Heavenly" beds were not so heavenly after all. I will not be staying here again, I only did so this time because it was convenient to my needs at that time. September 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfort and Convenience The rooms are very comfortable, great view on the harbour side and lots of fabulous restaurants in walking distance...Cafe Chianti, super delicious and awesome service. I love the distance to the farmers market as well! The cable reception in the room seemed a bit off and fuzzy while watching tv. March 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generally a nice stay I enjoyed most things about this hotel stay. The location is great, easy to walk around Halifax, and there is even a grocery store right next door. The staff is friendly, the valet parking was good and quick. The restaurant was also good. The only real complaint I have is I paid for a harbour-view upgrade, and I did get a nice room, but the window seals were broken and the condensation inside the windows ruined the harbour view. The upgrade was probably worth it just for the room itself, but it is touted as a harbour view upgrade, without a real harbour view. If it wasn't for that issue, I would have rated the hotel a 5 star. June 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad service I was terribly disapointed in the service provided by in-room dining... I ordered a meal with a glass of wine. The waiter showed up with my meal and a BOTTLE of wine. I informed him I only needed a glass of wine and not a bottle. He said we would return with a glass of wine. 30 minutes later he had not been back. So I called room service express to follow up and express my disapointement and cancel the wine (I was done my meal and did not want it anymore). The room service manager said: 'Why didn't you keep the bottle?' So it's my fault you screwed up my order? Plus I was being honest in returning the wine. This is not the kinfd of reponse I expect from a Westin employee. Another 30 minutes later the waiter showed up with a glass of wine -- the message had not been given to him. Clearly the in room dining Manager needs to step up his game and service. Other feedback: Mini bar was not refilled and the wine glasses were extremely dirty. Not what I expect when I pay 209$ a night for 3 nights. June 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst brand promise in the Westin brand No recognition to Platinum members on arrival Room was very hot, mising shampoo, laundry bag Exercise room very hot. Felt like a sauna Restaurant service poor Rooms are old and poorly kept. Sink was clogged. Overall, the worst Westin I ever stayed . Poor brand experience. April 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another great stay. I have been a guest of this hotel on and off for more than 10 years, and I believe it is continually improving. In particular, the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. On the downside, the challenges of maintaining / refreshing old infrastructure are ongoing. The windows, as someone else mentioned, need work so that you can actually enjoy those harbour views. Also, on this visit, I noticed there was no way to turn off the ventilation system in my room. The fan made quite a lot of noise even on its lowest setting, and changing the temperature setting had no effect either. June 30, 2012
2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>