The Westin Ottawa

  • 11 Colonel By Drive
  • Ottawa,
  • Ontario
  • K1N 9H4
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age for Registration Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room. Valid photo identification is required at check-in.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 524 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel in the perfect location This hotel is top-notch, and just steps away from numerous must-see attractions for the Ottawa visitor: Parliament Hill, Rideau Canal, Byward Market, Rideau Centre shopping mall, etc. etc. etc. While not much to look at on the exterior, the inside of the hotel is modern, clean and well maintained. Staff are extremely courteous and interactive. Elevators can take a while to get to you, and seem to have a mind of their own now and then, but generally get you to your floor quickly once you're in them. Parking at the hotel is simple and convenient. The Westin Ottawa is an all-around great place to stay. August 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location but..... Charging for Wifi is outrageous. June 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Expensive and you must pay for everything My favourite hotels in Ottawa were overbooked, so I decided to book at the Westin. Years ago, I had switched from the Westin to other chains. Although the hotel was a nice place to stay, there were fees for everything (internet, etc.). My biggest shock was when I was charged $2.00 plus tax for every call I made using a toll-free number to access my calling card (in one case, due to the during of the call, I was charged 7.44 plus tax). If I had gone to a pay phone, it would have cost me nothing (I wouldn't have even had to pay the $0.25 for using a pay-phone, as I was going through 1-800 numbers). Why use the phone at the hotel. Better yet, why stay at the hotel, when you are paying for something that you don't have to pay for anywhere else. I spoke to the Manager and she told me that there was a sign next to the phone. Does that mean the telling a guest they must pay justifies charging the guest for something which anywhere else would be free? The total cost for me to use the phone (which I used to access my toll-free long distance calling card) for one night was $25.00 plus taxes. How totally disappointing. June 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect location, great rooms My family and I recently stayed at the Westin Ottawa hotel for Winterlude. Our room had a beautiful view of the Parliament buildings and Rideau Canal. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed using the pool, although it was busy due to Family Day. While the elevators are slow due to being upgraded, it didn't impact our stay. We tried the Winterlude discounted lunch buffet, and while the food itself was good I was surprised at the price for the type of food offered. I expected more and better offerings than chicken fingers and macaroni and cheese. Also, the cost of drinks was ridiculous!! $5 for a regular coffee. My recommendation is to stay at the hotel but eat elsewhere. February 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Average at Best I stayed at The Westin and it was average at best. I don't think that it had enough perks or comforts to be qualified as a 4 star hotel. The room was clean and quiet even though I was potentially on a noisy floor. The floor with the fitness centre and pool. If I had to stay in Ottawa again I don't believe I would stay here at the rate I paid. I could have stayed at a different hotel for less money with the same offerings. May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great meeting and event facilities I was very happy with my stay. I always have a hard time sleeping in hotels and I still slept well. Bed was comfortable but pillows was a bit big for my neck giving me slight stiffness. June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel This hotel is excellent in every way: location, amenities, comfort, service; my only wish was the room had a bathtub. The spray from the shower head was the best ever! June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location I always stay the Westin because the facilities and room of the top quality and the staff is polite and helpful. It is also in perhaps the best location in Ottawa for doing business and easy walk to centre city clients and in the evening a close by Market are for numerous and good restauratns. May 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Confort and accessible Always a pleasure to stay at the Westin Ottawa, everything is close by. Room is clean and very comfortable. Thank you! June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by best hotel experience ever!! I can't say enough great things about The Westin Ottawa. Every staff member from the valet to the housekeeping staff is courteous, smiling, helpful, knowledgeable and competent. I felt completely at home and welcome. The fruit water at check in is such as nice touch. The offers of water bottles while waiting for check in is very thoughtful. All the staff members are AMAZING and make you feel like part of the family. The room was extremely restful and comforting. I had the best sleep I've ever had in a hotel room. I would DEFINITELY stay here again. BEST hotel experience EVER. Thanks again!! August 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location and very friendly staff Well to say the least this hotel was just excellent in all areas: outside staff, front desk and friendly maids. Everyone went out of their way to assist. Why the four stars on the room? Just minor issues. The toilet handle when used caused the inside mechanism to sometime not work and when it did, the mechanism hit the top of the tank causing great noise. On two occasions I had to remove the top and manually push the relief valve. No big deal actually. I did mention this on my departure and I am sure this will be looked after immediately. The second issue, and for which I forgot to mention to the front desk on departure, was that the shower did not drain very well and at times seem to back feed into the shower. Just needs purging I imagine. The other issue on the room, a deluxe room overlooking the Rideau and Parliament buildings (excellent view), that it is advertised as a Deluxe room with bath. There was, to my wife's dismay, no bath, just a shower. When I inquired, I was advised that King rooms have only showers whereas double beds have the shower and tub. Since it was a short stay and that I would not have the king and feared we would loose such a grand view, we stayed put. Other than that, it is an excellent room. KUDO TO MANAGEMENT: I personally would like to take this opportunity to express my gratitude for your kind condolence letter regarding our loss of the RCMP members in Moncton. Your kind words and individual letters to all our AGM members was greatly appreciated and discussed in several sessions as a class act. Thank you Ross. Please pass onto your staff our thanks for their assistance during our stay. Bob June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect stay The staff, front desk, door attendants, room attendant were all amazing. Room attendant even left me a thank you note for leaving a tip after my first night. That was a first for me! Room was renovated and everything was great. Attended meetings with food. Staff was great, good to see management checking on meetings and food service at meeting. May 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location Hotel was nice and roomy. Great view and location. Was a bit noisy because we were located near elevators. Otherwise had a wonderful time in Ottawa June 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Is elevator ever going to be completed? I've been staying at this hotel for the last few years for a conference. Overall, the hotel meets my expectations. However, the elevators have been an issue for at least the last 2-3 years. The Westin Ottawa has been trying to fix and/or upgrade the elevators for that span of time and it's not yet fully operational. During peak times, you may have to wait to 5-7 minutes for an elevator, and even then you might not get on. Especially for a conference, when one may need to run up to the room and head back down, it delays things. I've been very dissapointed with this aspect of the hotel. October 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff was excellent but dog barked for two nights I normally love my stay at the Westin. The staff at this hotel is incredible and the rooms are very clean but my most recent stay was one of my worse experiences at a hotel. There was a dog that barked every night during our stay. The first night it barked until 4 am. On the second night we did call the front desk and they indicated they would send security but the barking didn't stop for several hours. It was approximately 2 am before the barking stopped. I would stay again because of my several visits that were so postive. However in the future I would request a room away from pets. December 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location and Class Having not stayed at a Westin before I had heard great things and was interested to find out for myself. Upon arrival we were greeted by the staff, whom were accomodating throughout the duration of our stay. The location was perfect - within 10 minute radius of walking you could get to the NAC, Convention Centre, Rideau Centre, Byward Market, War Memorial, Sparks and Elgin street, Rideau Canal and many other fabulous sights. My only complaint which wasn't even THAT big of a deal was the parking. It was a long way away and very expensive for not being close to the hotel. All in all we had a fantastic weekend and will not be staying anywhere else but the Westin each time we come to Ottawa from here on out. February 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff member makes the difference My husband & I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and the occasion was acknowledged in a very nice manner by a certain staff member at the front desk of the hotel. Not only were we given the exact same room we celebrated our honeymoon in 25 years ago, but we were also treated to champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. We enjoyed our stay immensely. May 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surpassed expectations From time to time we like to steal away for a night downtown in Ottawa. This past weekend we decided to give the Westin a try as it had been many many years since we had stayed there. This is not the Westin hotel of years gone by...it is modern and welcoming; staff cater to your every whim, its large windows on the higher floors offer incredible views of the city. Don't forget to have breakfast at Daly's; while you savour exceptional food you will love the view of the Rideau Canal. For anyone looking for a modern, elegant 5 star hotel in an incredible location look no further.... June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great proximity to downtown attractions. Beautiful hotel in the downtown area and close to lots of attractions. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were spacious and clean and our view of the Parliament buildings was great. Breakfast buffet was tasty. We would like to see Free Wifi in the rooms instead of going to the lobby to check emails. May 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent room but lacking in some details The hotel does some things very well, but is lacking in other areas. The lobby is warm and inviting. My room was clean, nicely decorated, spacious, and very comfortable. The elevators are being worked on however, the wait time was far too long and there were no acceptable alternatives. I was invited to use a service elevator but left the elevator with my hands covered in black dirt. I tried to take the stairs but couldn't get all the way to the lobby. I was also very annoyed that I had to pay for internet access. If I can get free internet at a discount chain, I expect to get it at a Westin. Very few hotels charge for internet access anymore and it seemed like a money grab. As did the prices on the breakfast menu. October 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Special needs My daughter has special dietary needs!! I requested a microwave for our room as I prepared several days of prepared food for her. I was given a micro for the room and we had a fridge to store everything!, the bell hop Vallet parking... All were very helpful with directing us to several floors in the hotel and how it's connected to the mall! We never felt like we weren't informed.. And found things by a surprise like in many other places we've stayed.this was a very pleasant stay all around!! It was my sons soccer tournament for the weekend! This is a superior hotel!,, I travel a lot with my children to many far destinations and the Westin Hotel Ottawa goes far and beyond good service and promptness also. Thanks again August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Service The Hôtel staff was truly outstanding. We had a great stay. I still think that your elevator system is a disaster. Luc May 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is Beautiful and Great Location This hotel was amazing for it's customer service, rooms are very nice, location couldn't be better! The only thing I was not happy with is that if I wanted internet access in my room, it's an extra $15 charge per day and there is no WiFi in the rooms??? I couldn't believe it! I thought it is standard in every hotel room, especially for business purposes, that WiFi is would be standard. I highly recommend the hotel revisit this policy, update your equipment to provide wireless access and don't charge extra. This will be a deciding factor for me on my next hotel stay. February 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's hard to stay anywhere else... We don't live very far from the Westin in Ottawa, but when Christmas time comes and our holiday party is scheduled, it really does not matter where the party is in Ottawa, we choose to stay at the Westin. Although I have scheduled 2 holiday parties at the Westin through my previous employer and as always it was amazing. It's perfect location for Holiday shopping being attached to the Rideau and center and close to downtown. The beds are so incredible, the service is amazing and the views are always awesome. When we come into town to spend the night, it's the first place we check availability and that hasn't changed. Thank you to the Ottawa Westin for always being friendly, outgoing and consistent for all these years :) December 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Central Location and Convenience The Westin is well positioned to serve conference delegates. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. In this day and age I find an extra charge for WIFI an inconvenience and the "Green room" program where they give you a $5 credit and don't enter the room for the duration of your stay is a major discomfort. May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay I was very impressed with my stay at The Westin Ottawa. Every staff member I encountered from the time I got out of the car on Saturday to the time I left on Wednesday was fantastic, friendly and welcoming. This included the staff at the door, the front desk, service express, banquet staff and housekeeping. I will definitely be back! The room was clean, the hotel was spotless and the food was great. It was a very enjoyable stay. The location is great since it is attached to a mall and smack dab in the middle of Byward Market with shopping and restaurants galore. January 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great team makes the hotel from car valet over to reception across to concierge and the bell hop and friendly room cleaning staff the attention and responsiveness is always great rarely have i not had quick attention to my requirements location is of course a plus But the Staff is what makes this place a home away from home I forgot do go enjoy the brunch at least once value is really good especially if you have the luck to get Gary and his magic to serve you May 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointing Well, I stayed at this hotel back in the summer and had a nice experience. Everything was fine except the elevators (which has been mentioned several times by previous posters). Fast forward to last month --- attempting to book a function here. NIGHTMARE! Worst customer service I have ever experienced. Staff member was rude, and could barely be bothered to give me the time of day. She just gave me the run around and I was lied to by a staff member. They made booking with them such a painful experience, I ended up taking my business elsewhere. When I called to discuss my concerns, I left messages and no one could even be bothered to call me back. Extremely disappointed and won't be keen to give them any of my business anytime soon. December 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel but how can they justify charging guests in their rooms for internet access? Internet access is a basic facility of modern life. Charging separating for internet access, but not for television access makes no sense. It's just plain greedy. And the amount is ridiculous comared to what I would pay for internet access at home. It is not like consuming a drink or eating food from the bar. Hotels should have an all-in price which includes internet access. Not impressed. And that is not even taking into account the annoyance created by the elevator renovation which mean you can wait 10 minutes for te elevator to arrive at peak times... February 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Interesting Experience Overall my experience with this hotel has been nice. The hotel personnel, from the front desk staff to cleaners, have been extremely friendly. Also, the location of this hotel is amazing. You are minutes away from the parliament hill, some good vibrant local bars, and of course literally seconds away from a shopping mall. Two things I wish would have been different: 1) the elevator design is out of this world strange - you are asked to select which floor you wish to go prior to boarding the elevator - what if you change your mind after you get on it? what if you don't feel safe/comfortable (you can't get out on any other floor except for the one you have selected)? 2) I understand it is a big hotel and there are at least 2 conferences going on when i was there, but i didn't think consistently waiting for 40 minutes for things (e.g. slippers) to get delivered to my room was a reasonable. Also, when I asked for my room to be cleaned at 5pm (i don't know why it wasn't cleaned during the day), it took them at least an hour to respond. Despite these minor imperfections, I would still recommend this property to others. May 18, 2014
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 19 next>>