The Westin Ottawa

  • 11 Colonel By Drive
  • Ottawa,
  • Ontario
  • K1N 9H4
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age for Registration Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room. Valid photo identification is required at check-in.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 520 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Waited a while for a room - about 1 hour April 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by stay here when in Ottawa great location, nice pool with great outdoor deck for sunbathing, very nice room on upper floor with view of canal and Parliament. Breakfast brunch excellent. The Shore club very good but out second visit there the chef could not get the steak done right- too done then too rare- gave up on steak but manager of restaurant did the right thing-comped wine, dessert, and of course too off my husbands steak. Loved Ottawa and would stay at this hotel again for sure! Great biking in Ottawa! July 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Late check out I especially love the late checkout at 4:00 pm April 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by parking i had a terrible time parking.The lot was full l and had a hard time getting to hotel entrance ,,.finding it and getting someone to help me..An attendent walked around to the parking lot entrance and opened it to allow us to park and check in. This and another 20 dollars for parking.The hotel was very nice as was our room and other experiences. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel ever! I cannot get over the level of service we received at this hotel. Staff was so friendly and helpful. The atmosphere they create by being so friendly is contagious. Special thanks to the concierge team for recommending family friendly attractions. (we went to all of them) A great thank you to Noel Steele for taking the time to draw out a map to the perfect place to view the Santa Claus parade! You sir, made our day! This is the only hotel we will ever stay at in Ottawa.....!! November 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best location in Ottawa By far the best location in Ottawa. The staff was friendly and courteous. The rooms were very clean, the fitness facility tailored my every need and the hotel is connected to a three level shopping mall. FANTASTIC! Room key did not work on the second day of my stay, however the staff sent security to replace my keys. Also, it would be great if The Westin offered free WI-FI in all guest rooms. Bottom line, if your destination is Ottawa, the Westin is the only place to stay. August 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Client complaints regarding new elevator system were numerous. The Westin Ottawa is a Westin hotel and the amenities, location and rooms are great. The only complaint that I and many, many others that I met in the elevator had, was the new system that has been installed. In fairness to the Westin, the weekend I was there was during Winterlude so the hotel must have been close to capacity and therefore any elevator system would have been taxed BUT THIS SYSTEM IS A BUST! In this new system one punches in their floor number into a keypad outside the elevator and is directed to a particular elevator number. The system breaks down when 20 people are sent to a particular elevator and the first person on has a double baby carriage and thus only 4 people can get on that one but that elevator will stop at every floor that was originally punched in thus taking that elevator much longer to do its "run" I'm not a Luddite but some things cannot be improved. March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great conference hotel Love this hotel and always choose to stay there in Ottawa. Rooms are quite nice, and the conference and meeting facilities are great. Only complaints were that (1) wifi should be free; (2) I couldn't get a cup of 'regular' tea on a Saturday evening, the only place to go was McDonalds; and (3) the hot tub wasn't working the first day we arrived. All in all, nothing to complain about - great place! And I highly recommend the Shore Club restaurant in the hotel - outstanding! September 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely hotel I love the Westin/Ottawa. Its style is upscale contemporary, and it is clean, bright, relaxing and luxurious in all of its details, with the most spectacular views of our nation's capital, and the best location for our needs whether we are visiting this beautiful city on business or for personal time away. We appreciate the consistent excellent quality of all elements of this fine hotel and all of its wonderful staff. Many thanks again for a lovely (but too short!) stay. February 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointed This would have been a great stay, but it was totally ruined when we couldn't shower in the morning because the drain was blocked. I shouldn't have to feel like I'm on a naval frigate turning the water on for 15 seconds at a time to get clean. It soured the end of what had been a wonderful and special surprise evening. Worse, when I asked to speak to a manager about it, no one was available. And no one got back to me before I left. (in fairness, I was rushed) October 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Serious problem with elevators We stayed at your Ottawa location over the weekend and were not impress with the service and installation. Your elevators were not working and we had to wait everytime we had to take them (10min + sometimes). If your equipment are faulty you need to put personnel in place to help your guests or address the situation in order to improve the effeciency of this service. There were a lack of service personnel over the weekend at the hotel and that was noticeable. . May 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what I needed Travel quite often worldwide but first time to Ottawa. The familiarity of the staff in checking me in, greeting and answering all my very specific local questions (dinner, where to rent skates to take blow some steam off on the canal out front, etc) was WELCOMED and exactly what I have become accustomed to in every country I visit. It was refreshing the comfort I felt (almost like home) when I checked in! February 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wi-Fi I have this experience frequently when staying at the Westin Ottawa. The room wi-fi reception is atrocious. This is the same with various cell phones and computers - the signal is "fair", but mostly "poor" and downloading is at a snail's pace. The Westin Novascotian is Halifax is better but not great. However, Ottawa is appalling. As an SPG Member I receiver "complimentary" wi-fi, but this bonus is essentially meaningless given the connection speed. December 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A very expensive stay A very nice hotel with great comfort of course cost more than other. But not to include internet in the fee, even for members seems very strange. I really do not think the stay was worth the price. April 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ottawa Westin Great hotel in a great location. Had too many issues with the room. The shower leaked through the bottom of the glass door leaving a swimming pool after each shower. Eventually we had to turn the shower head towards the wall and scrunch up in the corner to shower. The water still continued to flood the floor. The bedside lamps were not functioning so an Engineer had to be called in and the in-room safe malfunctioned causing another visit from an Engineer. July 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great staff This was a "stay Vacation" for us. We only stayed for the one night but the staff treated us like we were there for 2 weeks. Every staff member, from the valet parking, to the registration desk, to the housekeeping staff were all first class. Friendly and couldn't do enough for you. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Family Day weekend The Westin Ottawa is situated in the perfect location with awesome views. Each staff member we interacted with was very welcoming and helpful; which was quite refreshing. The rooms were modern and clean and the beds were 'heavenly'. The parking is contiguous to the hotel but has a lot to be desired. This is something the hotel has no control over. Maybe level P1 could be reserved for hotel guests only. February 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pam...Paaaam......Paaaam While attending a professional conference I had become ill. Not just any kind of sickness, the type of man-sickness that only happens every two years. Burried under the blankets in my dimly lit room I had called for room service because I was obviously not fit for public viewing. The concierge, Zak, must have been confused by the dichotomy of pitches my voice had obtained, ranging from pubescent teen to a raspiness only a seasoned lady of the night could have. I asked for the soup of the day, and was delighted to hear it was potato bacon. Zak had also recommended the chicken chibatta depending on how hungry I was, and I was, so I ordered it with no regrets. It was delicious by the way. The food arrived excatly when he said it would but there was also a gatorade and a package of chocolates. It wasn't much, but it was greatly appreciated. I cannot remember the young man's name who delivered the meal, but he suggested that tea would help with my cold. Having passed on it earlier, I realized I clearly needed it and took his advice. It turned out to be a wise choice. I really appreciated the sincerity of the employees at the Westine hotel, who recommended good food and provided comforting service during my stay. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. April 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is great for a lot of reasons, especially when you need access to the convention centre - being able to walk to Rideau Mall is a bonus. Beautiful hotel and very convenient to shopping and conferences. Worked at the Ottawa Travel and Vacation show this pass weekent and really enjoyed staying at the Westin. However, i was very disappointed when I realized that my $40/day upgrade didn't give me anything extra. When I asked the front desk person she said it was for the view!!! Expensive view, but my co-worker also had the very same room with the same view and she didn't pay any extra. March 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel but elevators need work The hotel itself was comfortable and clean. Unfortunately, the elevetors were being refurbished and as a result were extremely slow and unsightly. I waited almost 15 min. one morning for the elevator to arrive. Hotel could also use some deserved maintenance - light beside the bed was out and could not be fixed, ice machine on our floor and the next floor up did not work and no sign to indicate out of service. Front desk staff were very friendly October 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bathroom I have stayed here many times before and was quite happy. This time around however, was not the same experience. The front usually tells you what type of room I would be getting and nothing was said. As I got to my room there were 3 long black curly puebs in bathtub. I did not know if I should rinse the tub or call but I decided to rinse the tub because I couldn't look at it any longer. This really questioned my overall cleanliness of the room. February 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Issues with my last stay Generally I am quite satisfied with the holet at this location. This time I had a couple issues. I came in about 11 am and was told the room was not ready but it should be ready within half an hour and I will be contacted. No body phoned me and I came back after 2 hours. Room was not still ready. I came back around 5.30 and was given a room but nobody contacted me to let me know. There was no remote conentol in my room. I had to ask for one. November 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good be better for the price Meats at the room was delivered cold :-( Price of the food is really expensive and moreover 15% of service fees + taxes are really stealing people. April 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Loved our stay and the renovations. Elevators are efficient, Bathrooms lovely. Linens felt like they were brand new. Staff pleasant and helpful. April 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rest Easy I had the best sleep I have had in a long time. The bed and pillows were amazing and I now want one just like it at home. The rooms were stylish and comfortable and had everything I could want including a cofee machine and a magnifying makeup mirror in the bathroom. Bathrooms were also very spacious. Service was prompt and the staff were friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Overall a great visit. September 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Avoid between Christmas & New Years During Christmas & New Year's, the Westin Ottawa has decided to fill the hotel with hockey teams. As a result the staff seem to get overwhelmed and cannot distinguish between "hockey" guests and Starwood Preferred guests. The frustration the staff experience with the overwhelming number of kids in the hotel spills over into poor service at check in, a severe decline in food quality & service in the restaurant. Had to check out early. December 29, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by not a city view great hotel and staff. but i booked 2 rooms and upgraded to city view. when checking in i was given rooms on 2 different floors not what i expected as we wanted to be on the same floor as our kids. one had a beautiful city view and ours was on a corner and a view of the hotel roof. not a city view i upgraded to. even the bell man mentioned we should try to change our room February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A regular visitor I stay at your hotel every time I come to Ottawa, which is 3-5 times a year. It is always a pleasant stay. the staff is efficient and friendly, the rooms are clean and well appointed, the mattress are great. Location is very important to me for client access (I deal with the Federal Government) and for restaurants and exercise --I run along the Canal. the only issue is your success. It is difficult to get a room some times. October 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice place The hotel was very nice. Rooms were large which made the stay comfortable. The fridge however was not cold at all, the elevator system was change and not something I would like to use again, and I am still irritated that I had to pay over $70 in parking charges as well as some other charges that showed up on my bill that I don't understand and will be calling the hotel to discuss. February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff Arrived in Ottawa on Friday afternoon and was welcomed by "Craig" as we pulled up to the hotel. He heard me mentioned that we were there for a birthday weekend. As we were checking in, he had asked my name. "Craig" had a bottle of wine, cheese and crackers delivered to our room. My spouse was so surprised! All the associates are so helpful, friendly and they went out of their way to ensure that we were having a wonderful stay! August 13, 2012
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 19 next>>