The Westin Ottawa

  • 11 Colonel By Drive
  • Ottawa,
  • Ontario
  • K1N 9H4
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age for Registration Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room. Valid photo identification is required at check-in.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 550 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor value Elevators being upgraded so they're a mess - expect to wait. TV takes an age to change channels. Parking is awkward and expensive. Plumbing is noisy. I'm unlikely to stay here again - there's better choices in Ottawa. And Westins rarely have enough people checking guests in so expect a wait for this too. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our stay this time surpassed our expectations! We were celebrating a special occasion this weekend and the hotel staff went above and beyond to make our visit memorable. Their service, hospitality and generous complimentary surprise gift, was a wonderful perk. We had 2 gorgeous, comfortable, relaxing, deluxe rooms booked. The views were spectacular. Everything was extremely clean. The dining facilities (Shore Club for dinner and Daly's for buffet breakfast) were superb and we even enjoyed lounging in the warm ambiance of the lobby. We definitely highly recommend this hotel to future guests. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has the most comfortable beds. THIS HOTEL HAS GREAT BEDS & NEWLY RENOVATED SHOWERS AND AN OUTSTANDING SHOWER HEAD. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Plat Upgrade Very friendly front desk staff, both on check-in and check-out. As Plat was upgraded to a large suite with an excellent bathroom. Huge shower with plenty of hot water and pressure. Doormen need to be a bit more present; once I had to call the hotel to have them send someone out. Elevators are a nightmare but are in the middle of being replaced or upgraded. Hope that moves with haste! Excellent location with much to walk to. January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by small stuff This is an excellent hotel, and the staff walk around the lobby such that if you even look puzzled, they will approach you, as opposed to having to look for staff at their station. My only comment was that the coffee machine is difficult to use . January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Examplary Customer Service After notifying the reservation desk that we would be checking in very late (highway 417 closed because of an accident), we arrived at the hotel to find out that we had been upgraded to a deluxe king room for the duration of our stay. Very thoughtful and appreciated. January 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I expected better. Were my expectations too high? Maybe they were. Maybe I had too high expectations, having recently returned from a stay in Las Vegas at a strip hotel. I chose this hotel because I felt it was among the best quality hotels available in downtown Ottawa. It was newer, with more modern features, and while it wouldn't have the old time charm of some of the other downtown hotels, I didn't want charm. I wanted modern, clean, quiet. I wanted the hotel I'd stayed in while in Las Vegas. So I happily paid the high room price for a king sized bed room, city view, for two nights. It's my own fault I didn't look into parking, so tack another $30 a day on for parking. I realize space is utilized to its maximum capacity, to ensure more rooms. So I wasn't upset when my corner room looked nothing at all like any of the pictures and seemed very small. It was clean and neat and there were no repairs needed anywhere, so it would do. There was a huge window in our room, looking over the "city view" that was listed on my booking. Okay, overlooking the roof of the Rideau Centre is technically a "city view". I could live with that. Here's where expectations crashed though. While looking over the view, I could hear cars go by. Horns honking. I could hear someone set up on the corner (I could see them too), with a guitar plugged into an amp, singing and playing. City noises. I was on the 14th floor. (Were my expectations too high since from the 8th floor of a room right on the Las Vegas strip I heard not one sound, not a car horn, none of the ongoing advertisements that run 24/7, not a whisper!) Upscale, modern hotel that doesn't have sound cancelling windows. Why not? Do your guests really want to hear the street noises? I didn't. I could have lived with this outside noise, especially since it was much quieter at night, when the city shut down. But the other noises from the hotel were unacceptable to me: the ongoing sound of other people's toilets flushing. From next door, from several doors down. From the floors above, and the floors below. In a hotel of this size, imagine how often that was heard. A lot. Throughout the night. During the day I could hear the actions of housekeeping in the floor above us. I could actually hear the vacuum running. I could hear the water turned on as the sink was being cleaned, and that ongoing toilet flushing as that bathroom was made clean for the next guest. (Yes, our bathroom was very nicely cleaned for us when we got there, no complaints about that!) Throughout our stay I could hear conversations from other guests, as they walked down the hall. Since I was at the end of the hall with only two other rooms near us, and a stairwell between us and the next room, I didn't get a lot of people down that hall. But I could hear word for word conversations from every one of them. Hard enough by day, but at 2 am, when those guests are returning from an event, I don't want to hear them! I wanted modern, clean, and quiet. And while two out of three isn't normally bad, in this case, since it ruined my rest and my sleep, the lack of quiet made me very unhappy with my stay. If you are the kind of guest who doesn't have high sensitivity to noises and can sleep through anything, then by all means, this hotel is lovely. If, like me, you value the quiet and don't want to hear anyone while you are trying to sleep, then find another place to stay. January 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Thank you to Desiree at the concierge desk who went out if her way to help me - she was oitstanding January 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel review We had a lovely weekend visit. The room was unbelievably comfortable and suited all our needs. The heavenly beds were truly, heavenly. I slept so well. The location of the hotel was perfect for all shopping, dining and sightseeing. There is a LOVELY sauna in the changeroom. A couple of drawbacks for me, the whirlpool was occupied by children who clearly did not meet the age requirments and hotel staff did see this and said nothing. The wifi is not included in the price, you pay an additional $13.95. The lobby is not licensed so we were not able to bring our drinks to the lobby and sit and chat by the lovely fireplace. In addition, it was VERY cold that particular weekend and the draft from the doors was a bit of a nuisance. Aside from these small issues. I would absolutely recommend staying at this hotel. The beds are worth the cost of the room alone! Fantastic sleep! and very helpful and pleasant staff. Thank you! January 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel was great minus 3 fire alarms The hotel was great we had a perfect room we had an issue with smell in the beginning and within 10 mins someone was there to fix it! It was a great night until around 4 am when the fire alarms went off not just once but three times... It was horrible we would just get back upstairs and the other one would go off. Needless to say there was no sleep obtained during the rest of the night. But I know this had to be a fluke thing as the hotel itself was great just some punk kids smoking in there rooms. January 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff! I had the most amazing experience with the housekeeper from my floor. My 10 year son was sick during our stay and she treated him as though he was her grandson! She ordered a bowl of chicken noodle soup and gave us extra bottles of water. She checked in daily with a hand written note to see how my son was doing! She gets my vote for employee of the year for helping a 10 year old feel like he was at home! January 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Despite the 3 fire alarms at 3, 4 & 5am, very good - But no FNC We arrived early and were allowed to get into our room immediately which we really appreciated. We were allowed to use the service elevators as the others were in repair and very busy - being New Years Eve. The rooms is very comfortable with a big flat screen tv - but did not carry the Fox News Channel (BTW FNC is the # 1 cable news network in the US). Beds very comfortable despite the fire alarms. January 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the trip Westin Ottawa was beautiful and clean. Employees are friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful time. Having the mall attached to the hotel was convenient too. January 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A series of unfortunate events We had booked a night based on a previous stay and were looking forward to a view of Confederation Square and possibly the hill. We had an email offering a corner room for $10 and accepted. After checking in we found that our room was surrounded by a minor hockey team. We called the front desk and were moved to a suite. However we lost our view and had only the roof of the Rideau Centre to look on. The clerk at the front desk told us that normally hockey teams stayed on the same floor so we were left wondering why we had been put in the original room. Some forethought by management could have avoided the whole thing and we could have had our requested view. December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thsi hotel is exceptional The Westin is provides exceptional service, clean comfortable rooms, and is in walking distance to all your shopping, tourist needs. I live 2 hours away and choose The Westin intentionally for a weekend getaway. i used to live in Ottawa and find that The Westin is your best option to get everything you want out of a hotel. The location is perfect too. Everything is in walking distance. December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great property, extremely well run I always try to stay here on business and with the family when we visit. The rooms are great ( request canal view) staff are superb (Andrew at concierge desk and many others), food very good - Shore Club superb,gym excellent. Have had over 15 stays here this past year and hosted 2 corporate meetings with over 30 guests each, with multiple events. The stays and the events all exceptionally handled. December 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great update The renovated rooms are very well appointed. The view of the canal and Parliament Hill is wonderful December 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dissapointing holiday stay My fiance and I go to Ottawa often and in the past we've stay in the Westin Ottawa which we see as one of the higher end hotels in the city. This past experience (a couple of days ago for 2 nights) was less than memorable due to the fact a children hockey team was staying and they were very loud; we had a corner room which is not cheap and we were constantly bothered by both children and adults been very noisy in the room next door and the halls. We felt the staff at the hotel did very little to make sure guests not part of this hockey team felt confortable or offered any measures, suggestions to prevent this. Also in terms of facilities we found the elevators outdated, slow and very un-reliable making things even worst at peak times. Overall we were dissapointed to have choosen this hotel to have some quiet time after a hectic holiday visit with family. December 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff and room were great Staff was very attentive. The complimentary beer and crackers was very appreciated. Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. We are looking forward to our next stay. December 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay This hotel is located within walking distance to all major attractions in downtown Ottawa. It offers excellent service, it is clean and even though it is located on one of the busiest streets it is quiet. Beds are comfortable. Excellent value for the amenities it offers December 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel; 'green' program needs work I loved the idea of the 'green' program' as i don't need my sheets changed or new towels when i'm only there for a few days. I don't like, however, that participating in the green program means my bed isn't made and coffee/sweetner are not restocked - and there is nowhere to hang towels to dry except over the shower. This isn't worth $5 and becomes more of an inconvenience than it's worth - even for the environment! December 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable This hotel is very comfortable which includes the cleanliness and the attention received from the staff. December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service Thank you for the great food and service all around. Everyone is so friendly and go our of their way to ensure we are well taken care of , 5 star expereince for my wife and i ... . December 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Frustrating experience The hotel itself was very nice, and the rooms were excellent. However, the elevator renovation project could not have been more inconvenient for guests. It would take 5-10 minutes to get to my destination. More frustrating was the internet connectivity, which required re-signing in each time you checked email. These are not acceptable issues for business travelers today. December 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's hard to stay anywhere else... We don't live very far from the Westin in Ottawa, but when Christmas time comes and our holiday party is scheduled, it really does not matter where the party is in Ottawa, we choose to stay at the Westin. Although I have scheduled 2 holiday parties at the Westin through my previous employer and as always it was amazing. It's perfect location for Holiday shopping being attached to the Rideau and center and close to downtown. The beds are so incredible, the service is amazing and the views are always awesome. When we come into town to spend the night, it's the first place we check availability and that hasn't changed. Thank you to the Ottawa Westin for always being friendly, outgoing and consistent for all these years :) December 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff was excellent but dog barked for two nights I normally love my stay at the Westin. The staff at this hotel is incredible and the rooms are very clean but my most recent stay was one of my worse experiences at a hotel. There was a dog that barked every night during our stay. The first night it barked until 4 am. On the second night we did call the front desk and they indicated they would send security but the barking didn't stop for several hours. It was approximately 2 am before the barking stopped. I would stay again because of my several visits that were so postive. However in the future I would request a room away from pets. December 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ease and Comort at the same time As an event planner, who was hosting a holiday lunch for 650 people, it was nice to stay and be cared for the night before, so I could wake up relaxed/fresh and ready to go! December 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice hotel!! Surpassed my expectations...very nice room, clean, etc. Extremely friendly staff and overall a wonderful experience. December 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fix your elevators!!!!! I am somewhat shocked to see that a fine hotel such as the Westin Ottawa has such dreadful elevator service. This has been the case for some time now. You really need to fix this. On another front, I was also surprised to see a $13 Wifi charge on my bill. When you pay $270 a night for a room, you expect this service to be free. December 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyable Loved this hotel and if I return to Ottawa, I would stay there again. I have back and neck issues along with fibromyalgia so having a good night sleep is a huge deal with me. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. The air in the room is well circulated and not stale or stuffy like most hotels. The location is great for those wanting to shop or explore some sites. The staff were wonderful too!! December 3, 2012
  • 2015-03-31T17:50:40.075-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-15, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_550, tr_550
  • loc_en_US, sid_1083, prod, sort_default
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 20 next>>