The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto

  • 1 Harbour Square
  • Toronto,
  • Ontario
  • M5J 1A6
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children 17 and under sleep free in existing room bedding. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with government -issued photo identification to reserve a room. Guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 957 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice touch from the hotel. We staid on a Saturday night to take in a Leafs game to celebrate my wife's birthday. After getting back to the room after the game we were presented in our room with two pieces of cheesecake done up with her name and happy birthday written in chocolate. Very nice surprise for my wife and just from the checkin person asking when we checked in. Nice job by David who signed a very nice card that accompanied the deserts. And to top it off the leafs won in OT. Great little stay. October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING Our stay at the hotel was fantastic. Our room had an awesome view of the lake and Toronto Island which I confess is something that never ceases to impress us and I am sure will be equally impressive to others.. Our experience at Toula, the rooftop restaurants at the hotel, was superb. The manager, Baldo, took exceptional care of us and every facet of the dining experience was phenomenal. Watching the sun set over the lake while we feasted on mouth watering scallops and juicy steak (or veal in the case of my wife) is an experience we will not soon forget. The meal, washed down with some excellent champagne, was a great prelude to seeing Les Miserables. We both thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast buffet at Mizzen (the hotel's restaurant beside the main lobby). The selection of fresh fruits and pastries was excellent and I particularly enjoyed the breakfast quesadillas. All of the staff at the hotel demonstrated the friendliness we always receive at the Westin. The Westin Harbour Castle remains our favourite Toronto hotel and one we will continue to recommend highly to all of our friends and family. Once again I offer a big thank you to all of the hotel staff for making our stay in Toronto a memorable one. October 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Old and in need of revamp I stayed here twice between September and October. First time I was given a room with a tiny work table which was no where near a power outlet, and there were two flies in the room some how, which got be very agitated. The airconditioning vent also stuck out like a sore thumb in terms of room configuration. I had to ask for a room change which the staff promptly acted upon the next day, so that was all good. That day right after, they forgot my breakfast order I placed the night before! Again they had to rush out the breakfast but they did not charge me for that. More issues. My room key was not able to access the room and I went up and down a good 5-6 times just to figure out and tell the front desk that the key was not working. In hindsight, I should have demanded that some one gone up with me (in fact I would expect that for a Westin hotel) and figure out what is going on until it works instead of having the guest shuttle back and forth. On my second stay, I was selected to be upgraded to the suite level. As much as it was prestigious in a marketing way, the wooden panels of the presidential floor were chipped off and lacking lustre. It felt like a 1980s hotel that needed restoration. Definitely please do something about that. However, the staff service and promptness was good, despite the poor condition of the hotel. October 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel was not at all what I expected. The hotel was not clean; my north tower room was very old and outdated. TV would constantly skip for a couple of minutes at a time, bathroom faucet leaked at the base, so vanity was always wet. October 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel - Needs Better WiFi In today's day and age, the hotel should have free WiFi available continously. The room rate of $15.00 per nite seems excessive and the free wifi in the lobby (available for only one hour at a time) was slow and often booted me off the system. October 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean and Cozy The westin harbour castel at Toronto was clean and cozy. I really enjoyed at westin. October 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good place to stay in Toronto This hotel has been updated over the years and is in very good condition. it is a bit out of the downtown core but it is just a 10 minute walk to the action. October 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Staff, clean room, but odd smells The hotel had a odd smell in the lobby and hallways that ruined the experience. I am not sure what it was. I expected more from the hotel due to the 4 diamond rating. Definitely not up to Westin standards that have previously experienced in my travels. October 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some bad, Some good I don't expect this review to be posted, just want to bring to your attention a room that isn't up to your standards (547). I was moved to a different room which was very acceptable. October 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing! When we walked into the lobby, we were very impressed. The staff were knowledgeable, friendly and efficient. That was where the positive ended. The room was dusty, especially beside the night stands and under the dresser. The carpet was dirty and ripped on areas. Lots of marks on the walls. Bathroom was ok but mildew spots in the shower. Not what I was expecting for $279/night! I would not recommend this overpriced, run down hotel nor would I return! September 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cleanliness I stay here a few times a year and enjoy the hotel but on my last visit the bathroom had not been well cleaned - hair left it the sink. September 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by SPG recognition I was not offered a Starwood preferred guest unit on a floor designated as such on Sept 23, but I did get the SPG room for my stay on Sept 9: it was GREAT!! The room on Sept 23 did not have a fridge: is this not standard? ***I hope this feedback will not appear on your site*** September 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic in Every Way This was my first time staying at a Westin property. I typically utilize a different hotel chain, but this hotel was a recommended hotel for the conference I was attending. The hotel was comfortable, accessible, and the staff were excellent in every way. Check-in staff were friendly and efficient. My room view of Lake Ontario and the CN Tower was outstanding. One evening, I needed a cab. After waiting a bit for a cab, the one that arrived was not able to take a credit card. I said that I would be willing to wait for another one, as I didn't have any cash. After waiting a bit longer, the employee actually paid cash for me to take a cab to my destination because he felt I had been waiting for a while. This was going above and beyond and demonstrated fabulous customer service.The concierge assisted me in purchasing/printing a bus ticket to the airport. It was extremely easy to get to the airport from this hotel, as the stop was directly acros the street. I loved Toronto and would absolutely return to this hotel. September 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Hotel for a Conference Stayed at this Westin for a work conference. My spouse and I almost always stay at a Starwood property when we travel, and we are SPG Gold members. The conference food was excellent, the room service was good, and I found the hotel staff overall very good and the service great. There are a couple issues that I think ought to be addressed by the hotel. Not sure if it was just our room, but every night I could hear the word for word conversation in the adjacent room, which kept us up at night. I also ordered a breakfast to be delivered by room service the morning of my departure as I had to check out quite early, so ordered it delivered at 6am. It never arrived and I ended up having to get breakfast on the road. Other than these two issues though, the hotel is absolutely wonderful. Would highly recommend the hotel lobby bar. September 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, a lovely hotel The hotel is very nicely appointed with a lovely lobby area; valet and front desk staff very courteous and helpful; delicious food, albeit pricey; very comfortable bed. A few issues: the coffee pot overflows due to the large coffee pod stuffed into a small holder. The water cannot drain through fast enough, so it leaks all over the place. Skipped the coffee and drank tea instead (after cleaning up the mess). The location of the ice machine is creepy. (26th flr.) One must enter through a door into a hallway with service elevators and equipment alongside the wall, go to the end and then turn right into a separate room with more supplies and an ice machine. Too remote and utilitarian, and not a place I'd ever want to find myself alone again. Nevertheless, I would definitely stay at this Westin again if in Toronto. September 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Complain Cancellation fee for shorter visit especially when told at ck in not accecptable . Internet too expensive in this day and age. Your no room clean up is not well explained at ck in and has nothing to do with green policy September 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is grossly overpriced The room rental is very expensive and offers little service compared to other hotels of the same price range. The wifi is charged to guests and can only be used for 1 hour in the lobby. That is unacceptable. The breakfast buffet is very pricey and the food is not good quality. I do not recommend this hotel at all. September 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is getting tired There was an overall unpleasant smell in the room. It was almost like the hotel was trying to mask an odour and had sprayed it with a febreze type of spray. The front desk said it is some type of eco spray that is circulated in all rooms to give them a fresh smell. My wife and i found the smell sickening. In addition the sink taps and toilet were leaking. September 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Issue with Staff and Iron/Ironing Board Issue with Staff and Iron/Ironing Board. The staff who checked me in was not well trained in customer service. She was not helpful in finding a new hotel. She gave up easily without picking up the phone. I was disappointed. In addition, the iron and ironing board were dirty and almost ruined a shirt. For $340/night, that is unacceptable. September 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by not as expected The cleanliness of the room was quite disappointing, bathroom there were hairs in the tub, on the floor and soap water spots on the counter. We wanted to take a coffee with us on our walk but when I went to put a lid on the cup the lid was full of crumbs. Housekeeping was in the hallway she did give me new cups and lids. I was also expecting a call from the manager but he never did call me back it was regarding to a “lack of communication” in the bar that evening. September 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A huge disappointment It has been several years since we stayed at the Harbour Castle Westin. Obviously, things have gone way down hill at this property. We arrived just after 2 pm on Saturday, Sept 14. We stood in line for over 20 minutes waiting to check in. This has actually happened to us in the past - BEFORE computers were invented!!! The inadequate number of staff at this busy time did not excuse the fact that the whole process appeared to be handled in an extremely protracted, inefficient manner. The young man who checked us in fumbled through the process, mumbling incoherently, calling me by a name not even closely resembling my actual name (how do you get Donna from Mary on a computer screen?). He held us up unnecessarily, muttering all sorts of inane, useless instructions for anyone who has ever checked in to a hotel. He wrote something on a piece of paper for us, but it was completely illegible. He seemed clueless as to how to handle a check-in in an expeditious manner. Our room, a non-smoking lake-view corner suite was clean and spacious, but the air was hot and humid, the decor was tired and the room reeked of stale cigarette smoke. The porter turned the A/C down to 66 degrees and 10 hours later it was not much cooler and still humid. in fact, the air on the entire 17th floor in the north tower was noticeably warm and damp each time we exited the elevator. There was no mini bar - ridiculous! Pressed for time to get ready for a wedding, we did not bother to complain about the room, but we did go to the lobby in hopes of getting a drink and quick snack. At 2:20 pm on a glorious Saturday, the lake view lobby bar and Starbucks kiosk were closed, and we had to go sit in the dark, cavernous, overpriced restaurant - ludicrous! We were annoyed after being directed to the restaurant by the lobby bar-tender at 2:20, to discover that the bar had opened at 2:30. Why did he not tell us that? Service in the restaurant was agonizingly slow. I heard many similar complaints about check-in delays, problems with rooms and noise on the same date as our stay. Westin needs to step up their game at this property. They are not taking advantage of the five-star setting and the quality of service at the front desk and room amenities are at best 2-3 stars. There is absolutely no way we will be back to this hotel. September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel Excellent hotel from when you pull up to check out. The front desk was very courteous. MIMI at the Mezzin restaurant for Bfast was exceptional in service. DID NOT LIKE TOULA RESTAURANT. Took 2 hours to eat and we didn't make it to a show, unbelievable. But everything else made up for it. Next time Ill just get room service. September 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wstin Harbour Castle Hall on 6th floor was musty smelling when you exited the elevator. Balcony Sliding Doors did not lock, Bathroom Floor Grout stained and required cleaning. Water flucuated between hot and cold when you expected hot water during a shower. Enrolled in Green Program but had to ask for the Green Card on two occassions. Resturants were not abundant in this area. September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel and excellent staff, with some bottlenecking during peak hours. It has been one month since I checked out of the Westin Harbour Castle and I have spent a lot of time reflecting on my stay. First of all, I must give a big thumbs up to the staff; My fellow conference attendees and I were almost always treated with great courtesy and consideration, the exceptions to this are so few and specific that I won't detail them. I would, however, like to give special mention to a few staff in particular who stood out and went above and beyond to ensure our stay was enjoyable: Bronwyn at the Front Desk was very helpful in alleviating any pre-arrival anxieties I had, assuring me of room confirmation and helping me to plan for how I might best manage my tight breakfast schedule on a budget. So helpful and friendly. Bronwyn, I really appreciate that you spent the time on the phone with me to answer my many questions at what was probably the end of your overnight shift. Thank You! Monica was very courteous and efficient when my roommate and I were checking in. Although our delegation arrived earlier than check-in time (and no room was understandably available upon arrival), she was apologetic of that fact rather than being justifiably frustrated at so many arriving for early check-in. Thank you for your patience and friendly demeanour, Monica! I was in charge of setting up my delegation's courtesy suite and your staff were also very helpful with regards to this: A bell person, Warren, brought up two trolleys' worth of goods and unloaded them nearly himself. While I was in charge of setup, I had no budget for giving him the sort of tip he deserved (or any tip at all). I sincerely hope he receives some Kudos for his excellent and helpful service, especially when he would have earned more in tips by helping several individuals rather than helping me over the same period of time. I really appreciate his help. Thanks, Warren! On check-out day, Yahya helped navigate our trolleys (which a colleague and I loaded) to a storage area, and, later, Danny helped us move them from our storage area to our bus for loading. These gentlemen did so knowing there was to be no tip given the budget-less position in which I found myself, but they worked tirelessly and efficiently to ensure our satisfaction. I tip my hat to your fine employees! During our federation's formal dinner, my table was served by a cheerful and observant staff member, Abdul, who ensured our comfort, considered our members' preferences and dietary requirements, and made us feel like we were special guests. Thanks for the great service, Abdul! The cleaning staff member assigned to my room, Marissa, was thorough in keeping my room clean and stocked with towels. I appreciate your helpfulness and your quiet and kind nature. These staff (and the countless others whose names I did not get and/or who worked in support of these front line workers) really helped to make sure that my stay was enjoyable and stress free. There was a lot of work to be done as part of my federation's annual general meeting as well as for my local's hospitality suite, so I really appreciate that I did not have to spend time trying to remedy problems with regards to my own room. Of the many times I have attended this meeting at the Harbour Castle, this recent trip was my best personal-stay experience. I must now mention one staff member in particular, one whose regular personal inquiry and assistance most assuredly contributed to the positive experience I had regarding my personal-stay, and especially regarding my local's hospitality suite: Aditya. When unloading the bus at the side of a busy, construction-laden street during a busy time when hotel trolleys were difficult to acquire, Aditya really helped to save the day, bringing two carts and staff to assist with our unloading of the bus. Though rooms were not available at our time of (early) check-in, Aditya made regular inquiries on our behalf as to the room status and promptly informed us when the suite was available so we could unload the trolleys, and sent Warren with us to help do so. When our suite required any extra furnishings, be it a fridge, an extra table, table cloths...Aditya oversaw the expedient delivery of such, even despite it being a very busy few days. Additionally, (and this really struck home for me) Aditya would ask me personally and by name, every time our paths crossed, how my stay was going and if I needed anything for my room or for the suite. This is rare and much appreciated service excellence for which I truly hope he is awarded some recognition. Of course every trip has some room for improvement and I will list a few recommendations, but please know that my overall impression of this venue was quite high for this recent stay. The recommendations I have are largely in regards to how things seemed to 'bottleneck' quite easily for a hotel so used to large conventions. Recommendations: 1) CHECK-IN It is never fun to stand in line for almost an hour -especially without a water table. Might a ticket system (like at a meat counter) or, even better, a table reservation-style paging system be made available for future use? This way, the arriving delegates could sit in the restaurant or bar area and converse while waiting for their turn at the check-in desk. 2) ELEVATORS Our federation's meeting schedule is posted and known by your staff. During the peak hours (the half hour before starting in the AM, during lunch and dinner breaks, and for the half hour at the end of each day's session), the elevators could be split for specific use: From the Main floor and lower levels, reserve one or two elevators from each tower for service only to the top half of the hotel and another one or two for service only to the bottom half. Marked as express elevators, these would avoid the stop and go slow-down we always encounter at these peak times (when we are all in a rush). 3) ROOM READINESS Understanding that many delegates arrive well-before your usual check-in time, we nonetheless have many delegates whose rooms are ready long after their expectation. As the large number of rooms required is known well in advance, might there be some way of more quickly prepping (or keeping unoccupied the previous night) rooms for our members? 4) WI-FI While I recognize that it is normal for hotels to charge for Wi-Fi access, given that we are such a large organization and that we are already spending so much on the meeting, it would really behoove our members to be able to access free wi-fi as part of our stay, especially given that some of our members do not receive a strong cellular signal in the basement. Overall, I had a great stay and I look forward to next year when I will once again be able to enjoy the comforts of your facility and the hospitality of your exceptional staff. Please give my regards and gratitude to your staff, especially those whom I mentioned by name. Thank you, once again. Sincerely, Shawn C. September 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by not a happy camper well,, it took 40 min to check in at 11.20 pm at night because front desk computer system could not find my pre-paid booking.....then valet guy told me i could not pay for parking on the room bill....so i had to go in and get front dest to tell him to give my $ back and they put it on the bill. in the morning... in my rush to leave... they told me my room was not paid for and that i had to settle my account. i was late for my meeting as a result of this. i was offered a Murphy bed room....btw.. don't look between the wall and the Murphy bed ...this is an area about 1.5 ft wide that is very unclean. bathroom floor was not clean. pillows were horrific and there was no bathrobe. If i looked hard to the left i could see the water through the dirty window. i have stayed at this property in the past and have been happy with my experience. it has been at least a year since then as i have been staying mid-town for location.... what has happened to this place??? September 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is great Thank you so much for the great service, I was especially impressed that arriving late that there was great food and wine list available at the extended bar. It was great to see that I could have the most wonderfull meal that most hotels will take advantage of. I had the pleasure of attending the Unifor convention on the long weekend I have the most respect for all of the employees that I am sure went above. Thank you all Excellent September 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by TIFF2013 Overbilled by $2128.39 and accounting at the hotel has still not gotten back to me or company. September 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed I was disappointed that the hotel charges for Wi-Fi in the room and that the business centre charges $6.95 for 15 minutes to use the web. I will not stay here again. September 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is good The lake view was spectacular . The lifts were excellent, stable and fast. The rooms were clean. Heavenly bed is more comfortable than I expect. Breakfast is so fantastic and yummy with good varieties. Only one drawback is the noise during toilet flushing, its up to 80dB by smartphone apps. September 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not impressed Very disappointed with the hotel. Was chosen as the hotel to stay due to a conference in TO. Expected so much more. The a/c in the room didnt work. Was brought a fan and told I'd get 1,000 spg points. For 4 days/nights of heat. Nothiing to be excited about and my room was on the penthouse floor. Would not and cannot recommend anyone to stay here. September 3, 2013
  • 2015-04-24T18:59:18.800-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-14, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_957, tr_957
  • loc_en_US, sid_1084, prod, sort_default
<<prev 12 13 14 15 16 ... 33 next>>