The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto

  • 1 Harbour Square
  • Toronto,
  • Ontario
  • M5J 1A6
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1025 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel located right downtown The staff are very professional and polite, you clearly see they will do almost anything to please and satisfy the customer. This means repeat customers. I am already planning my next trip!!!!!!!! September 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall a good stay This was a one-night stay for a concert at the Sony Centre. At check-in we were upgraded to a suite without the need to use Suite Night Awards. Getting to the suite which was in the North Tower (Rooms 2043/2044) we found an odd configuration of rooms and connecting doors with each room having a queen bed (In the parlor room, it was a Murphy bed). This was not suitable. A call to Service Express, and discussions with the Front Desk, got us a room change (to 2843/2844). Similar configuration of entrance door (keyed) to a vestibule with two more (keyed) doors to the 2 rooms. Much better, however, than before since only one bedroom (with king bed) and another room with own bathroom, sitting area, desk and dining table. Before the concert we went to the Chartroom Lounge for an early dinner. Nice meal and good service. We returned after the concert for a drink. The bar was quite full with conference people and was noisy. However, the service was efficient. Our main problem was in sleeping at night. There was a strange hum or whirring sound that went on-and-off most of the night. With this noise problem, and my inability to find a suitable pillow, I had a very interrupted nights sleep. One of the bed-side lights was not working and one of the blinds in the sitting room did not go up or down. The rooms are quite spacious but very much showing wear and tear. Check out was pleasant and efficient. On mentioning our "problems" with the stay, we were awarded a generous number of Goodwill StarPoints. I also mentioned that for future visits I would like a room in the South Tower. The views are better than from the North Tower which has condos to the West. Also, with the conference attendees mainly being housed in the North Tower, there is more demand on the elevators. For our stay, only 3 of the 4 elevators were working in the North Tower. We left on a positive note and were encouraged to contact the hotel before our next visit so that our room preferences could be met. September 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Double billed I had a very comfortable stay at Westin Harbor Castle but was double billed for my room charges. The staff was very uninterested in fixing the situation and have failed to provide me with evidence of a credit being issued September 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay at the Westin Harbour Castle I had a nice room with a great lake view. I was attending the Ed Sheeran concert at the Air Canada Centre. The hotel is within walking distance and also next to the Toronto Island Ferry which took us to Centre Island. A big thank you to Veronica, in Service Express, who treated us to dessert when placing our In-Room dining order late at night. We were there for a special occasion, so her gesture was very sweet and appreciated. Thank you for a memorable stay..... September 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by the hotel is well positioned and offers high standard comfort and food wonderful stay for our golden wedding anniversary Staff were excellent ,attentive and helpful The hotel is in a great position close to the harbour and lakeside walks we enjoyed a lovely lake view room Thanks to all September 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Location & Fantastic Staff We stayed at this hotel for a very special occasion. While the hotel is beautiful, is in a great location & the rooms very comfortable, nothing can compare to the staff. Thomas at the front desk went out of his way to make our stay special. His thoughtfulness and attention to detail made our trip! In addition, all of the hotel staff were very friendly & professional. This was my first time staying at a Westin hotel & I have already booked another stay. September 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small bathroom The only shortfall to a great stay was the tiny bathroom with a door which refused to stay fully open. September 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it! I have no idea what everyone who made bad reviews is talking about, I love this hotel. I brought my two friends to this hotel who had never been, telling them that if been here and they would love it. By the end of the stay, they didn't want to leave. The staff was excellent no matter who it was, from check in, to baggage, to the room service ladies, and even the lady I talked to on the phone when I called to ask a question long after I checked out on Monday. I always got smiles and they were all very polite. Everything went well, billing was perfect, the restaurant was superb, everything was neat and clean and polished, and the rooms were in excellent condition. It has a gorgeous view whether you are facing the lake or the city, but if you don't like light, ask for away from the city and close your curtains. If noise isn't your thing, ask for city side because sometimes the bigger jets landing at the nearby airport make a bit of noise, but nothing severe. If you're looking to book a business convention or a special event that's pretty formal, I very much reccomend this hotel, because there is no rowdy people around, and there's a fabulous fine dining restaurant both in the south tower, and also a place called Miller Tavern across the road that serve amazing food. The only small complaint is that we chose the green option at check in to not have room service all weekend. We were told they would come on Saturday to freshen everything like normal which was appreciated, but they did not show up and we had to call for it. Make sure you let them know you for sure want it! September 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Toronto's Best This SPG member is a huge fan of the Westin Harbour Castle. I've stayed here at least 2 dozen times in the past few years, for conventions, weekend-getaways, and local concerts and sports events. I see it as the best bang for the buck in downtown Toronto, depending on what you want. I guess part of the evaluation of a hotel stay is asking the question 'what do you want out of your hotel experience?' For me, I don't stay at the Westin Harbour Castle to be dazzled by a tv-chef driven restaurant or a hip late night club or the latest in gadgets and in-room gimmicks or the color of the tiles and mood-lighting in the elevator. I also don't stay here to avoid all humanity, after all, it's the fourth-biggest hotel in Toronto. I stay at the Westin because I want a relaxing, business/leisure oriented hotel with easily accessible amenities (a great pool/ large gym/great buffet, easy office-center, large conference facilities), a GREAT and convenient location, super-responsive staff, and SPG-level recognition and service. I also don't want to wait in long check-in lines or deal with invasive security as the lobby transforms into a nightclub. Relaxing at the Westin is effortless and easy, despite its size. Some of the reviews here don't sound like the Westin that I know. I've always received excellent customer service from the front-desk, never had a problem on my bill, found the breakfast buffet staff and food to be outstanding, and always appreciated upgrades when available. Every complaint or problem, big or small, has been immediately addressed. I've never seen a room in disarray or in need of repair (though a few have older televisions, which isn't ideal). SPG recognition has been outstanding. I keep my expectations realistic for a property of this size. Sometimes the hotel is booked with two or three big conferences (or two or three large concerts nearby), and these folks actually pay a year in advance for the guaranteed suites and upgraded rooms. So, at those times, I'm not mad when super-SPG upgrades aren't available or the bar area gets a bit crowded - even if the crowd isn't my style. That's to be expected at large convention-hotels sometimes. But, generally speaking, I've found that the hotel pays *great* attention to Gold and Platinums and already has made an attempt to identify upgrades before we even arrive on property (I can see the upgrade in my SPG app). And, at those crazy-sold out convention or concert moments, I still have fun watching as the convention/concert folks take over and occasionally have style clashes (like when the religious high school principals conference and the teenage science-fiction convention both were there dressed in character). I've stayed here for plenty of concerts, and the hotel does a great job ensuring that the property works well during those events. I suppose that since there are two hundred concerts and events a year within a few blocks of the hotel, sometimes a few guests get rowdy or there are lots of cars in valet. But that happens at every big hotel in every big city - everywhere - and I don't blame the hotel for that. It's true that if you're looking for the super-refined white-glove butlers, rose-petals, and high-tea at noon, and nobody under the age of 35, this probably isn't the ideal property. But if you feel comfortable around lots of different types of groups and families and business travelers and the diversity of Toronto's many different cultural and entertainment options, this is definitely the perfect place. There are things about the hotel's business-model that are not perfect, but I think it's a function of some outsourcing - typical of large hotels. The hotel is big and has chosen to contract with outside companies for certain things. Sometimes that's good. The hotel's spa is run by an outside company (actually a small lovely family business), but the spa delivers an amazing service with a smile. I'd go back in a minute. But sometimes these outsiders aren't quite as perfect. For example, the hotel's upscale restaurant isn't directly owned/managed by the hotel, and sometimes the service up there is indeed slow, though the food and views are great. Likewise, the valet and gift-shop operations are run by outside companies, so when my car takes awhile (sometimes) or the gift-shop charges seem unreasonable, I chalk it up to these outside vendors taking advantage of supply and demand. And that's why, most often, I self-park nearby or get food and other products across the street at a bunch of great local businesses (grocery stores, coffee-shops, late-night diners, and five-star restaurants). I've tried the upscale boutique Queen St. hotels and the uber-fancy properties in Yorkville, but for what I'm looking for, the Westin Harbour Castle beats them hands down. So, based upon what I've seen, who enjoys staying here? Simply put, it's a great choice if you're hosting a wedding, planning/attending a conference, going to the waterfront festivals or the ACC or the theater or the Distillery District, looking for a value rate on a crowded weekend (it has tons of these weekend special rates), need 'business-friendly' options for printing, internet, etc., or simply want to avoid the drama and hassle of being smack in the middle of downtown on a busy weekend. If you need white-glove treatment, bottle-service on a rooftop, or prefer a whisper-quiet lobby with businesspeople all reading the Finance section and sipping 40-year old scotch, this probably isn't the best option. Realistically, it's not supposed to be a super-sexy trendsetting property or an intimate island hideway. It's a large well-managed big-city Westin - trying to cater to all of us (ages 8 to 80, there for a million different reasons). It does THAT very well. I'll take that over tea and scones any day. September 4, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Billing When checking out I had been charged for the breakfast even though I had selected and upgrade which included it. They removed it and I told them there would be one for the checkout date. When I received my credit card statement a breakfast charge was made to my credit card. I week of August 2nd I contacted the Hotel and left a voice message. On August 19th I contacted the hotel and they said they would credit my credit card. On August 31th I contacted they Hotel and was informed that the credit was rejected because they used the wrong expiration date and there was no followup. I am sure that if this as a charged I would had been contacted but there seems to be no concern about correcting errors for customers. My cost was three international long distance calls and a lost due to a change in the exchange rate. September 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing customer service From check in to check out, this was an amazing experience. The woman who checked us in, Laura, was absolutely wonderful and she made our stay so enjoyable. It was our wedding night and she made us feel so special; I'd stay again in a heartbeat! September 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tired hotel - Not Westin standards Very disappointing. I am a long time Westin fan, but this hotel is not Westin quality. Rooms are old and in dire need of refurb. A/C makes a knocking sound. Balcony door was open when I entered the room letting in summer humidity. Guest parking on site @ $45 is outrageous. Manager was meant to call to address my concerns and never did. Cutting my stay to 1 night and finding another hotel. August 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Rooms, Disappointing Staff I should start by saying that my first impression of the hotel was very good. My wife and I were greeted by valets that offered to unload and park the car, and the main lobby was grand and welcoming. The room was what I have come to expect from the Westin; clean, comfortable and relaxing. I also really enjoyed watching a football game in the lobby bar. However, the employee that checked me in was not very good. He was in a significant hurry and insisted that as an SPG member I was not entitled to free wifi, even though both the SPG and hotel websites stated I was. Even after showing him the website on my phone he still insisted that I was not entitled to the wifi. Only after asking to speak to the manager, which in the end did not happen, was I given free access to the wifi. While this interaction was not great, we did have other great interactions with housekeeping and the lobby bartender. Lastly, at peak times my wife and I did have to wait a few minutes to get an elevator to our room on the 32 floor. All in all, I would certainly stay here again. The location was perfect with easy access to the harbour and downtown. However, in the future I hope that the check-in staff are fully aware of the hotel, and SPG, policies and maybe a little more welcoming. August 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the quality we paid for Our stay at the westin harbour castle was ok at best. We requested early check in but our room still wasn't ready at 3:00 so we had to switch to a downgraded room. We ordered room service as a special treat for our girls and the order was all wrong and the person who brought it up was rude. We called down for wine glasses and they never arrived. Plus if you as for more than 5 items (e.g. 3 glasses and 3 plates) they charge you to bring it to your room! We always stay at Westin hotels (the one in Montreal was fantastic) but definitely won't be going back to the Harbour Castle. August 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by No surprises - met all expectations I had reserved 3 rooms for a family event and the hotel did not disappoint. From early check in / bedding requests / late checkout / and a number of other requests in-between everything went off without a hitch. All 3 rooms were upgraded (luxury waterfront view on a high floor) despite the hotel being sold out, and everyone received the platinum breakfast amenity - not just the platinum member and guest as is required. Definitely a place to keep coming back to, over and over again. August 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by We recieved what we expected We visited Toronto to attend a family wedding, we booked the Harbour Castle because of the proximity to the reception location. When we checked in the Hotel was very busy, the front desk was very friendly and were able to accommodate our request for adjoining rooms. Thank you Matt for going the extra mile. The weekend was fantastic and the Hotel Staff were all great! Thank you. August 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Liked the hotel but had to pay for business center We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Great location. Hotel is very clean. My only issue was being charged $15 to use the business center. My experience has always been a complimentary service. August 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs upgrades Too expensive for what you get. paid $16.00 for a glass of wine in the lobby bar. August 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic! From the moment I arrived, the service from all staff was superb. Accommodating, professional and incredibly helpful. I had the opportunity to use the fitness facilities, which were excellent. Room service was exemplary; enhanced by the quality and prompt delivery of my rather excellent breakfast. The view from my room on the 30th floor was incredible, encompassing the lake in its entirety. Despite the size of the hotel, the personalised service from all staff was superb. The service from Alice in the Lounge was fantastic and certainly beyond my expectations. I will certainly be back when I visit Toronto... August 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Great location by the waterfront. We were a family of 4 there for 3 nights. Let down by housekeeping, they didn't refresh the room after the first night. We'd been out all day and didn't get back until 8pm so I phoned the relevant person. Of course she apologised. I said not to worry about beds, I could make those but as we were 4 people could we please have towels and replenish the tea/coffee, etc. that came within 5 mins bit the towels never arrived. August 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wedding Event Planner FAIL I thought I should let you know that we did not receive: Complimentary breakfast in bed for the bride and groom Complimentary Sparkling Wine & chocolate covered strawberries in Bride & Groom’s room on the wedding night. We were not contacted at all during our stay Friday and Saturday night. I had sent an email asking where we could take pictures on site so my parents did not have to walk too far. I received an out of office message for The event Planner, until the Monday, after our wedding. The remote Reservation desk passed on my question to the hotel, too see if a back up could assist. I received a response at 8PM on July 2. I did not see the email until after the wedding. As you know a wedding is very stressful and checking my email was not a priority. A voice message in our room, a note under the door, a message on our account at check-in would have been appropriate. I also asked the front desk and the concierge a location for pictures. I now understand there is a spiral staircase that would have worked well. Our day went very well, but I was disappointed in the lack of engagement of the hotel and "event" coordinator. We were offered 2000 points. 2500 points is equivalent to a $25 dollar gift card. So our concern is not worth $25 dollars to the hotel?? Our whole wedding party stayed at the hotel. I would not recommend this location for weddings. I tried to contact the manager, but there is no information online to forward my concern, therefore have resorted to this post. July 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Outdated hotel Let's start with pros. The hotel locate by the harbour front of Ontario Lake, which is an amazing location. The cons: room is outdated. I stayed on 31 floor and lakeview,; however, the view is not that good. The hotel also does not have a lounge. July 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location, good hotel This hotel is not perfect but if you want to be close to downtown but also close to the lake to enjoy a walk or a good run, this hotel is ideal. The public areas are a bit dated but the rooms are quite comfortable and many have great views. The pool area is quite nice and the gym is good as well. SPG Gold recognition is not ideal, however, as room upgrades don't seem to be frequently offered. Also the food in the hotel is very expensive, and the room service delivery charge is exaggerated; removing it would make ordering room service much more likely in my book. All in all a good hotel, I enjoy it. July 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing weekend at Westin Toronto! my weekend stay at Westin Harbour Castle toronto on 27- 28/6 was totally unacceptable due to poor risk management and lack of staff to control the chaos due to the musical event. our experience during the stay : 1. walk down to lobby from 10/F with my children due to failed lifts services 2. people banging on our bedroom doors at 3am 3. queuing for valet parking for over 30min 4. food quality at the Italian restaurant at the top floor was poor 5. total chaos at the lobby and lifts 6. over occupancy and high risk on fire safety July 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway This was a most relaxing way to spend time with access to water and city views. The pool/spa facilities are excellent. It's an upscale environment that doesn't disappoint. July 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The location and staff members was excellent All was excellent, the staff at the front desk was excellent, and helpful, the location is wonderful, and I would visit again. Except for the room cleaning and water to drink, one bottle of water when you have two people in the room? Overall rating is excellent, need to improve on the cleaning. Also need to arrange for entertainment on the out side seating area July 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay beyond expectation I booked the hotel weeks in advance. We stayed with my wife on June 27 and 28. The hotel was crowded with teenagers that got a concert cancelled because of bad weather, so the hotel was NOT responsible for that in any way. You could see them everywhere but they did not bother us at all. I would say they were well behaved and nice kids. We got a room on a high floor and we had an excellent night of sleep. We have dinner at Toula restaurant. Kenny welcomed us and he was polite and the level of service was excellent. The food was superb, nicely cooked and very tasty. We had a great supper there. On Sunday I requested a late check out because our train was leaving Union Station at 5 PM and it was solved immediately. Our rate included breakfast and it was superb. We would be back to this hotel for sure. July 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointing Weekend This was my first vacation in 8 years that was all about me and because I am a Starwood Member I selected my hotel based on their list of qualified hotels. There were some great things about the hotel that I feel are important to mention, my flight arrived early and I therefore arrived at the hotel early and the first person to meet us was the wonderful concierge David. David quickly informed me that I could let the desk know that I had arrived and then I could leave my luggage at the luggage desk and could start my sight seeing, which David was quick in assisting me get on my way. The front desk clerk was curt and cut me off when I tried to give him my explanation on why I was at his desk, but he did tell me that he could give me a room even though I was extremely early for check in, I told him I was fine with waiting but he proceeded with registering me. While checking in and heading to my room I quickly noticed the very large groups of young adults (19-24) who were toting coolers and who were barely dressed running through the lobby and riding on the elevators. On the first night June 27th When I exited the elevator at the end of my night there were beer cans on the hallway floor. I was woken up several times by intoxicated young people in the hall, which I tried to overlook but at one point I had a young female screaming at the top of her lungs outside my room at which point I had to call the front desk for security. On night 2 June 28th I was woken as was everybody in the hotel by fire alarms. All I can say is I am glad this was not a business trip as I would not have been rested for any work the next day. My last issue is a billing issue which I called about today and I was requested to call back tomorrow and speak to accounting, I am hoping after all of the issues this weekend they are able to fix the over billing issue. I must state that one of the most enjoyable encounters at the hotel was the concierge David who was so pleasant and helpful and is incredible at his job he even remembered our names after the first conversation. July 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wedding party Hotel was full of teenagers running the halls all night. Why book to them? Room was not made up until very late in the day. I specifically refused the extra points because I wanted it made up as we prepared for the wedding. All of our other guests complained about this lack of good housekeeping. June 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing! There were a few things that we were very disappointing while being at Westin Harbour. I booked 2 rooms, weeks and weeks in advanced. When I called to find out about parking, it was not mentioned that I had to pay for it. We had to wait for over an hour to get one of our rooms and nobody seemed to be able to help us out when we asked. The small fridges in the rooms didn't work. The TV and reception in both rooms didn't work. For a room which I am paying such a price for, I would have expected a much better experience! Because of the location of the hotel and the location of the event, it was the logical choice but the chances of me and my family returning, a very slim! June 14, 2015
  • 2015-11-30 T08:31:45.385-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1025, tr_1025
  • loc_en_US, sid_1084, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 35 next>>