The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto

  • 1 Harbour Square
  • Toronto,
  • Ontario
  • M5J 1A6
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children 17 and under sleep free in existing room bedding. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with government -issued photo identification to reserve a room. Guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 913 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cleanliness Hallways and room carpets were dirty August 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just average Nothing exceptional about this hotel December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Theater Weekend Excellent stay, staff very helpful September 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just average Not the hotel that it once was. March 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Comfortable My stay was very comfortable. January 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by My home hotel. Home away from home. BEST May 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exceptional Customer Service Last July 2012 I was at Westin Harbour Castle Toronto and it was a great experience and a very pleasant staying. But I��m writing this review because I want to recognize Front Desk and Housekeeping staff personnel who made the difference. First, I want to thanks the Front Desk. I had to leave without any notice, one day before as it was booked, and Front Desk Assistant Director immediately accommodate my request, providing all help necessary and with no impact to myself. Secondly, I want to thanks the Director of Housekeeping. Once I left the Hotel, I discover there was an issue with some shirts I sent to the hotel laundry service while there. Once contacted, the Housekeeping Director immediately resolved this issue without any questioning, and in a kind and caring manner. I wanted to share this experience as a real testimonial of “Westin emotional connection with guests”. I really have to say that Front Desk Assistant Director and Housekeeping Director turned a difficult moment and an issue into a positive experience, and an exceptional customer service. At the end, at least for me, it is not just a matter of good money spent, but much more a matter of behavior, kindness and sincere attitude and willing to deliver a great experience to your customers. And this is exactly what they did. Thank you! October 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by poor service I arrived at 3:15pm for the 3pm check-in for my SPG reservation with my 6 yr old on a PD day. I was told my room wasn't clean and ready yet, but that the front desk called housekeeping to request a rush cleaning so we could check in. It was 2+ hours of trying to manage my disappointed daughter in the LOBBY -who just wanted to go swimming ! At 5:30pm when my reserved room still hadn't been cleaned- no matter how many times the front desk called to request it be cleaned. I had to demand at least a temporary room so we could get ready for the show/tickets we had planned our trip aroiund. We made it to the show but the promised swimming on her PD day at the hotel didn't. I was then assured that our luggage would be moved to our reserved room while we were at the show. But NO I had to wait with a tired child in the lobby again- while the current shift tryed to figure out if my room was ready and where my luggage was then wait for luggage to be delivered so I could put my child to bed. The front desk offered to reduce my rate and pay for the taxi to our show, but that doesn't make up for the disappointing service and ruined plans for a 6 year old. During my 2 + hours in the lobby waiting to check in, I requested to talk to a Manger 3 times but was told they were too busy. Very poor service to any customer and I'm SPG GOLD ! June 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible all round. My wife, 4 children and I stayed for 5 days at the Harbour Castle for a confrence. We were extremely disappointed with the customer service of the hotel, ammenities offered, and the overall money grab that this hotel pulled. The very first thing we noticed was that internet was not offered, rather it was an extra fee each day, it was supposedly free in the lobby but it never seemed to be working properly when I tried. And it was not offered in the main confrence/meeting hall either.The business office was full of computers that you could rent per minute....brutal.) During our confrence banquet the wait staff were rude to our table, and splashed salad dressing all over my wife and several others seated, then didn't apologize or acknowledge what had happened. The room TV was broken for our entire stay. They had a kids play room that was always locked and several staff had no idea about it or where to find it, and when we did find it, our room keys wouldn't open it. Lastly, when checking out I was accosted in my room by a hotel employee who first rudely told me to wait as he used the room phone, then demanded to know what had happened in the room, when I told him that my wife and 4 children under age 7 had stayed in the room he didn't believe me. I was appalled. To sum up, an overpriced, money grabbing hotel! A terrible experience. March 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We wished we could have stayed longer Very elegant hotel! Room was clean. Beds were pillow top style. Lots of pillows on each bed. There was a nice little ledge by window that my daughter sat on and enjoyed the view we ended up getting. We enjoyed our stay very much. I would recommend this hotel highly. The negative side was just a communication problem. I asked for a view of the CN tower on booking and again on check in but I did not receive that nor was I told I would not receive that view. (maybe you can not see it from the rooms - okay but I was still not told anything) I did receive a nice view of the city - completely opposite side to the tower tho. I was disappointed to learn this when I got to my room. If people "fight for harbour view" rooms, I was hopeful my request would be easily met then - communication on hotel's part was poor on this issue. We went to the restaurant, enjoyed the CN tower view on our way to our table and then headed back to our room after we ate. We still enjoyed our stay. Wish we had more time to enjoy the pool or listen to the piano player (beautiful!!). There is also a bag check service which was worth its weight in gold. We were back packing because we did not book a car, and were allowed to check our bags for the day. This was great as we walked all over the city and picked our bags up in the afternoon when our site seeing was done for the day. October 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel was unsatisfactory The room was clean and comfortable but the staff at the hotel were abrupt and unfriendly. The parking lot was full so they told me I had to park 1 block away then they realized I was a preferred guest and then they parked my vehicle. The parking was $40.00 per day. - too expensive. I was quoted 179.00 plus birth year 1957 for a rate for room. They won't accept the birth date of the person I was travelling with, only mine, 1961. Not a big deal $4.00 difference but not what I was quoted. The room rate was $179.00 when I got my bill it was $209.00. I spoke to the front desk and they changed it no problem. When checking in the girl spoke so fast we had to ask her to repeat what she was saying three times. I'm still not sure what she was offering. Something about a $5.00 credit or no fresh towels.?There was a refrigerator in the room but it didn't work. The front desk told us to put ice in a bucket and put it in the fridge. There was no microwave. When we asked for one it was $35.00 per night. I stayed in this hotel 4 years ago and the staff was very pleasant. This time it was not the case. I realize the hotel was busy as the staff told us there was a dance competition but regardless that's no excuse. You can be busy but you can be pleasant. The reservation staff was wonderful, very helpful and accommodating. I received confirmations by email, etc. March 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel with a Few Drawbacks Great Location and Decor. Surprising a hotel of this nature offered no free wi fi access and even the internet access in the room was $8 for 15 mins! Even when I went down to the Business Center to try the internet it too was $8 for 15 minutes! The breakfast buffet was very nice except the fact that the seating for this was actually in the main lobby area and not in the Restaurant area? Perhaps the Restaurant was closed for some reason, but the seating in the Lobby area was more for socializing and not eating a meal, especially with a young child. Breakfast was included in our Hotel Package but yet it was charged to our bill, no problem as front desk removed the charge but i am glad I reviewed the bill as I normally just do express check out. Also, I did not receive any upgrade with my Starwood Membership Rewards Card nor we were offered an additional discount with our CAA Card even though I asked the front desk and later found out from another guest that they got upgraded and received a discount by presenting there CAA card. The pool deck was quite wet and dirty in some areas as many people were wearing outside shoes in the pool area. I know it was Family day weekend so it was busy to say the least. The pool staff was extremely friendly and pleasant, can't remember her name but she worked on Saturday Feb 18th in the evening when we visited the pool area. February 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worse Service - a The service provided was extremely bad. I will remember this night for the rest of my life because it was my special wedding night on June 2nd, 2013. I bought a romantic package for my room. Even though I was not expecting anything that late at night, reservation rep got me excited over the phone, they said they will present this and that with our romantic package. Nothing. I got nothing. When my wife and I entered the hotel. We asked for our room key. We were given the room. I inquired about the items that were supposed to be included with our package, I was told, "sorry we don't have the package available." instead we will give you free parking. I don't like hotels when they offer you things different prior to booking. I informed the reservation rep that I will be arriving at the hotel late at night after my wedding reception. And they got me so excited, and in the end nothing but disappointment. They charged me full amount for the package and didn't even give me single thing that was supposed to be included in the package. I called in the manager. Instead of simply apologizing and saying, sorry. He only said, "oh, how can I make you feel better". wow how can he make me feel better?! Come-on. Just give me some or full refund. I wish you guys communicated the correct information. This is not a good service at all. Best Regards, Very Disappointed Customer June 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Chocolate, slobber and stains First off I want to say I love this hotel. It's an amazing property and has always been good to myself and my family. Even stayed here on my wedding night! This time however, our room (747) was definitely not cleaned to the standards you'd expect at a Westin. Upon entering the room for the first time we could see the lower parts of the windows looked as though a small child had drooled and spilt chocolate milk all over them. A quick glance at both of the beds in the room revealed the same brown (assumed) chocolate/chocolate milk splatter all over the bottoms of the matresses and the sheets themselves! It was also obvious that whoever put the sheets on the bed didn't care because they appeared to just be thrown on. Luckily It didn't take long for housekeeping to arrive to replace the bedding and clean up as much of the muck as they could but during that time we even found the same large brown stains on the lamp shades. Made for a really uncomfortable check in because you have no idea what actually made those stains! or how they got on just about everything in the room.Gross. Then to top it off the AC unit just outside our door was leaking on the floor profusely. Which made for many wet socks on trips to the ice machine. We were told "it's just condensation" but that definitely wasn't the case, it was an actual pool of water that you could splash in it and it remained completely soaked for the two nights we were there. July 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great waterfront Toronto hotel First of all, keep in mind the first thing I noticed about the TA reviews before I stayed here was that they were all over the map.. . .many people saying it was terrible, needs renovation and then many people saying it was great so I did have some trepidation about staying here as there was no general consensus.. .well there was some truth to both but in general it was more positive than negative. My wife and I decided to stay here on a last minute Toronto getaway (we had originally planned a trip to Louisville KY for the kentucky derby but when those plans fell through we decided to go some place close by and different and decided on Toronto). So here is the scoop... . . Hotel location: It is located on lakefront location; the area really has a dearth of places to eat and do but this is a function more of a failure of the city of Toronto not a failure of the hotel itself . . . any other city the lakefront would be prime location (look at Chicago) but I guess all one has to do is look at who is running Toronto to see that city development is not in Rob Ford's priorities. You have to factor in that you will take cabs to where you need to be in downtown Toronto; places are close but taking a cab may be your best option. We had a car and found parking in Toronto a pain and would have taking a cab to certain locations (and we did when we went out to eat at Richmond Station). BTW there is a taxi stand outside hotel with about 10 cabs lined up all the time. Check in: we arrived late around 11:20 pm on Friday evening and noticed that there was a long line in check in and that there was a "Elite check in line" with only one person in front so being platinum we went to elite. . .but the regular line moved fairly quickly and quicker than our line as the person in front of us keep on asking a million questions to the front desk clerk but any how that wasnt a reflection of the clerk (he was polite and answered all her questions but I was getting impatient and almost was about to get into the regular line it was moving that quickly)... Well Checkin with Juan was pleasant (when we got to him finally) and he upgraded us to a nice high lakeview room (Rm 3122). everytime we went into the lobby there seemed to always be a line .. . .maybe they need to have another clerk to speed things along but remember this is a large hotel (I believe 35 floors). Rooms: We had a nice lakeview room (3122) I believe in North Tower and the room was standard king sized bed (looked like most Westins). IT was a nice room overall with comfortable heavenly beds. Breakfast/Restaurants: We are platinum so we got a complimentary breakfast for two ($18 CAD per person) which was standard fruit, cereals, "cold food" and pastries.. . . for an additional $8 CAD per person we could add on the "warm" items like eggs, bacon, etc. I personally have encountered this issue at other Westins where you get a comp breakfast as Platinum but dont get the warmer items and find it to be unacceptable as adding on those additional items isnt a big deal. We travel a lot and we have had a comp breakfast be a wonderful breakfast (i.e. Maria Cristina, Madrid Palace etc) and not be just limited to the cold breakfast items. We also ate at the restaurant bar when we arrived late and had some wine and a couple of dishes (chicken breast and a salad) which were delicious but as others have said overpriced. We were tired from our drive and just wanted the comfort of eating close by. Public spaces/pool, gym etc: This is a big hotel so the public spaces are great. We used the lounge area, pool/hot tub and gym and couldnt complain. Agree this hotel problem needs a renovation but it isnt a slumhouse falling apart. It needs some refreshing but is adequate for size and probably age. Valet/Parking: Parking is a pain in Toronto or any big city; the cost is 35 CAD for self park or 45 CAD for valet with in/out privileges. Personally 10 bucks diff is not a big deal for the convenience of having valet . . .yes parking is expensive but that is true of any big city (Chicago/NYC/SF charge 60+ a night) Service: Service was superb! Everyone was attentive and friendly everywhere and could not complain. In fact found David at Concierge to be a delight; he was so helpful with all of his amazing recommendations and gave off an enthusiasm usually not seen in most employees .. .kudos to his enthusiasm and amazing recs! In addition, Jennifer Moon (Guest Experience) surprised us with a nice chocolate covered strawberries...delicious! Thanks for the nice customer service touch. . . . Overall: Would stay here again as love SPG and it is a decent hotel in the center of Toronto. . . . ..and service and amenities are what you would expect from SPG May 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service Made This Trip Excellent Service is a dealbreaker or a dealmaker in the hospitality business, and this Westin's service was top-notch. From Juan at checkin to everyone at ServiceExpress, my boyfriend and I were impressed. Juan started off the whole stay to a great start with his warmth, friendliness, and professionalism. The room was great, with an incredible view of the lake. It was spacious and had not just one but two chairs for relaxing in, which was greatly appreciated after a long day of walking around Toronto. The hotel room is close to a bus stop and the subway (have to walk a few blocks or take the bus to get to Union Station, not bad at all). Cabs are easy to hail as well. The amenities were great: room safe, mini fridge for beverages, flat panel TV, the Heavenly bed and pillows, and robes and slippers were all wonderful to have available for use. The internet was always stable and steady. Room service was super prompt and delicious (love their fries and burgers!). Showerhead was awesome and pressure was always perfect. Nothing beats a hot shower at the end of the night. Another incredible service shout-out was to whoever followed up each of our calls to ServiceExpress with a confirmation that we got what we needed. I still haven't had that from any other hotel to this day, so that was pretty cool and considerate and greatly appreciated. A little effort goes a long way and the Westin knows it. Thanks for making the last part of our stay so awesome!!!! Will definitely stay here again. February 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel fell flat of my expectations I was very excited for my stay at the Westin Harbour Castle, but this property certainly did not meet my expectations. Check in was pleasant. We had an early flight and the hotel did check our bags when we got there so we could explore the city, which was appreciated. The hotel said they would call us when the room was ready, I requested an email in case I didn't answer. I missed the call but I never did receive the email I requested. The room was mediocre. The deadbolt in our room did not work. Also I was promised a welcome amentity as noted on my reserverations but I did not receive one. When I called front desk they looked into it, but nothing was done as they had nothing to offer me, even though I had this in writing. Anything would have been appreciated but owership was taken for this issue. I also requested 2 seats on the shuttle to the Vaughan Mills Outlets. I was given a confirmation number for the shuttle. The next day when I went to get my bracelets for the shuttle, the company had no record of my reservation from the hotel, but luckily there were still some seats available. It was not very practical that the hotel did not have any vending machines. The pricing for room service was not reasonable and at 2am in the morning it's not practical or safe to venture the streets of Toronto for a bottle of water. Overall, I did not feel satisfied as a customer and my customer service experience did not make me feel like a preferred guest. The hotel also could be renovated, it looks a bit dated. June 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by overnight getaway found to be average hotel. was a conference going on at time of check-in, & waited a bit in line. a one night belated "honeymoon" with husband. person who booked reservation for us was very friendly. person who checked us in was very rushed. i had gift cards. wanted to use them upon check-in. she said i couldn't and had to wait until check out to present them. i explained that this is not what i was told when booking over the phone. i had gift certificates in hand and didn't want to misplace them or drag them out the next day. why couldn't i use them while i was checking in i asked? after consulting with her computer she made it happen. i had to ask her what direction to our room, she did not offer directions until i asked....and it's a large hotel that we had never visited before. ...she started talking to co-worker thinking was done with us, but we didn't know how to get to room. asked front desk to bring extra towels while we went to watch a play. came back and no extra towels in our room. bed had "body rutts" of where people had slept. way too soft for our liking. woke up sore and needing sleep. there was used soap in the bathtub, and dried up pee on the toilet seat. our hotel "neighbour" kept us up all night while they partied on the terrace. when checking out, lady at front desk asked how our stay was. i told her all of above. no apologies. her response was that she was suprised with the lack of comfort from the bed and the Westin was "world famous" for their pillow top beds and "thank you for saying with the westin". i told her i probably wouldn't be back. her response was "enjoy the rest of your weekend" October 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the best but not the worst Hotel lobby was very nicely decorated and the staff are very alert and are quick to tend to guest needs when it comes to checking in. Room was good and bed comfortable. Location is not really convenient since you have a 10 minute walk to reach the downtown core and any potential shopping/restaurants, unless you have car or take a taxi. Where I had an issue was with the room located next to mine and the staff's response. The night before I set my wake-up call for 9AM, but unfortuantely an alarm clock in the room next door went off in the early hours of the morning and kept going off consistently for at least 15 minutes. When I called down to the front desk it took the switchboard 3 separate attempts to try and connect me with no success. The switchboard registered my complaint and said they would take care of it. 10 minutes later the alarm is still going off so I call back at which point I am informed that the alarm was coming from a person's cell phone and that they would need to send security because it is private property. The alarm is finally stopped just before 6:30AM which I was thankful for, but then I get woken up again this time by the front desk staff at 7:30AM, letting me know they recevied my complaint and wanted to see if everything was alright. Although I appreciated the follow-up, it would have made more sense to check if I had a wake-up call scheduled prior to calling my room and ensuring that the call wouldn't disturb a guest. I not recommending this hotel primarily because of the location. Although the next door room experience and subsequent follow-up were not the best, the chances of a similar situation occuring is minimal. November 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Never Again! As soon a we got into the room, noticed a dirty towel had been left on the bathroom floor. Called CS and they apologized and removed it. Sure sign that the bathroom floor was not cleaned after the last guest. The next morning I went to make coffe and noticed that only decaf packages were in the slot. Another sure sign that housekeeping had no attention to detail. This was also the case the second morning. When I was packing I bent down to look under the bed to ensure nothing had rolled under - and I was absolutely discusted ...giant dust bunnies, along with other visbile "things". I am so grossed out, having had to spend two days in that room. Also shocked to see that Internet was not free! Was told by staff that all Starwood hotels charge for Internet. will ensure I do not select Starwood for any future stay. Was there for a convention - the hotel was busy - pool ran out of towels, and the backage storage was too full to store our bags. Was obvious the hotel is not equipped to handle this type of business. Had a long shower when I got home! Was surprised that a hotel at this price point would not have been clean and better able to handle a volume of customers. This was a personal visit, but I do travel a lot for business, and will make a point of removing this hotel chain from our company list. A friend made the same stay - she complained about the internet and they gave it to her for free -here's a little customer service advice - always assume what you do for one will be public knowledge, and don't bend over backwards only for customers that complain. And having to drive a block to park my car, and then haul all my luggage that you couldnt store was really inconvenient. What a lot of work it was to stay at your hotel. January 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, tired public areas, terrible restaurant After an absence of many many years, I returned to the Harbour Castle to find a hotel that is but a shadow of its former self as a premium 5 star Hotel. The facility could certainly use freshening up. The elevators look tired (brass not polished, scratches), the hallway have scratched wallpaper and the room had chipped paint on the bathroom door and floor moldings. Both restaurants were a big disappointing. The Toula restaurant particularly needs refreshing, with the seriously chipped chairs, the tattered (and dirty) menu, the wall & ceiling paint in dire need of freshening up. The food too was not very good. The "Risotto" was not made with Arborio rice which it should be. The rice was still hard (under-cooked). Our appetizer of aged Tuscan cheese was actually a semi-ripened swiss type cheese (with holes). The menu also offered "Giudecca Salad" with bacon bits as an ingredient.. This is ludicrous a "Giudecca" means "Jewish" in Italian. Consequently pork (bacon bits) cannot be part of the recipe. You cannot just write anything on a menu hoping that all your customers are mental midgets. Your chefs should be doing much better, both in menu accuracy and in cooking accuracy.The Mizzen restaurant too was disappointing, with dirty dishes, curdled coffee cream, and erratic.service. We had to chase after the waiter to get our bill! All this is very disappointing for a facility that bills itself as a premium hotel. Also, you website makes no mention of the exorbitant $40 parking fee. Finally, there was no-one at all at the front desk for close to 10 minutes when we wanted to check out. This is unacceptable. When I complained, I was given some glib reply.The music in the lobby and elevators was way too loud. It's a shame that you have become a buyer beware facility rather than the class act it once was. This is quite regrettable. April 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hidden Costs, Little Reward I recently stayed here for a week. The lobby was great, the room was to be expected, and the view was wonderful, but that's all your rate pays for. I took a bus to get here from the airport and there was no ramp to get up the huge set of stairs to the front doors. I guess you could wheel your heavy luggage all the way up the valet entry, but it's very inconvenient. Upon arrival, I set up my tablet but quickly learned that internet access is a whopping $17 per day. I didn't realize this at the time of booking and at no time was I told before I went to log on. 1st hidden cost. Later in the week, I decided to rent a car for some day trips. It was only after I gave my keys to the valet and I was back in my room that I noticed on the valet ticket I would be charged $40 per night for parking. None of the staff, valet or front desk, had ever mentioned I'd be paying for parking nor did it say it on the website. 2nd hidden cost. There is a coffee machine in the room, but the hotel only provides one pod for your stay. If you want additional coffee, you must buy it from the store downstairs. It's a very unique coffee pod that would take a lot of shopping around to find. 3rd hidden cost. Say you were bored and you wanted to rent a movie on-demand. The cost at this hotel is an excruciating $17. I'd like to point out that this is the same movie you could rent on Amazon for $4 or on Redbox for $1. Not a hidden cost, but certainly an outstanding up-charge. The televisions at this hotel do not allow for you to hook devices up as some hotels do, so renting elsewhere and watching through HDMI cable is not an option. This hotel needs to get a lot better at disclosing its costs before you book. They are very ticky-tacky about charging you and as a guest, it makes you feel very unappreciated. I'd still like to know where all of the money for my rate was going to (besides to line the pockets of their executives). July 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extraordinary kindness and generosity It had been over 12 years since my husband and I were able to take a trip to rejuvenate our souls and rekindle our college romance. Our two beautiful daughters age 12 and 5 have been the centre of our lives. Life got busier and more challenging, and when we decided on a whim to uproot our family from the city to move to Muskoka for a less stressful more humbling lifestyle, the downturn of the Canadian economy in 2008 threw us some unfortunate curve balls that disillusioned us, and essentially continued to make it difficult for us to save for a trip. Muskoka was hit hard by the economical downturn, and as such, it affected us as educated professionals. We won tickets to the Toronto Boat Show and a one-night stay at The Westin Harbour Castle on a local radio station because my 12-year-old daughter encouraged me to call in. In just a single evening and over the course of a couple of days, I can't praise the staff of The Westin Harbour Castle enough for their compassion, outstanding customer service, kindness and generosity. The staff made our stay incredibly memorable, and they made me forget about the stresses of the last 5 years of our lives. The young lady who checked us in was simply adoring, professional, thoughtful, patient and above all benevolent! To further exemplify the kind of individuals The Westin Harbour Castle has working for them, this young lady had another staff member bring a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries and truffles to our room with a card that read: "Dear, Mr. and Mrs. F, I hope you are able to have a relaxing stay with us free from your children and puppy. Please don't let another 12 years go by before you have another getaway." Needless to say, I cried. Thank you so much for your outstanding hospitality. I hope our career goals, aspirations and successes lead us back to you in the future. I would love to experience The Westin Harbour Castle again as well as share it with my children. They were delighted to have mommy and daddy smiling because "they had soooo much fun!" It had been a long time waiting! January 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dissatisfied I would have to rate my experience as extremely dissatisfied We stayed a total of 3 nights in different hotels in Toronto and decided on our last night that we would forgo the budget and splurge a little and stay right on the waterfront for our last night. Although the room was lovely - beautiful view of the water - the experience was unacceptable. This was our last night/day in Toronto and we were looking forward to sleeping in and ordering room service and enjoying the view from our room before catching our flight at 2pm. However, that proved to be impossible since at 7:30am until we finally decided to just get up and leave, there were children running up and down the hallway screaming and slamming doors for almost 2 hours (or at least until the time we left). We were in room 1718 – which was just off the main hallway – in a small private corridor that we shared with another room which was obviously occupied with a family. And this family was obviously travelling with another family down the larger hallway on the other side of the building somewhere. In total there must have been about 5-6 children and they seemed to be running around between the two rooms screaming and hollering and slamming the doors as they left one room and went to the other (and they had the flip lock thing turned so it would just bang against this every time). Now I understand that families need to travel and stay in hotels as well – but there was no control in keeping these children in their room or quiet and this is what I am very disappointed in. I would be surprised if we were the only guests disturbed by this situation. When I checked out I mentioned this to the Front Desk and all they had to say was that if I’d let them know they would have let security know right away – well unfortunately it was too late by that point – our morning was already ruined (we were awake) and we did not get what we paid for. And the coffee coupon that they offered us was completely unacceptable. July 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs some training... When I checked in the clerk asked me if I wanted to participate in the Green Program. I said yes and that I wanted the points on my rewards instead of a lunch voucher. She said ok and provided no additional instructions. When I got to my room there was also a sign on my bed that I was supposed to hang on the door - she didn't give me clear instructions on what I needed to do in order to get my points. I hung the sign on my door just to ensure I was following policy and was given a $5 food and beverage voucher. I then had to go to the front desk and wait in line to sort it out which was a pain. Additionally, when I checked in; as part of my room fee I was able to have free continental breakfast - I asked about where the breakfast was and asked to ensure that they had me down for free continental. She said yes and showed me where it was - but did not give me the vouchers; and I didn't realize I needed them. Again something that I had to sort out with the front desk. Also within our rate we are supposed to get free internet. I incorrectly had the wrong rate selected when I booked my reservation - I realized this when I went to get online and it was asking for a form of payment. I called the front desk and was passed around to several people - and was on the phone for over a half hour. Then I was told I needed to call group sales; and sat on hold for 45 minutes and no one ever picked up. I finally hung up and called the front desk again and had someone helpful provide me the right information and got me squared away. However, when I checked out of the hotel the charge was still on my folio. I had to again call and get the charge removed (which they did after I called). When I had dinner in the Chart House I was charged $10.00 for a diet soda + refill that was in a small bar glass. When I realized I was charged this I again went to the front desk for clarification and they removed it from my bill. I appreciate that they fixed all the wrongs - but it took a lot of my time to get it all straightened out - which was extremely frustrating. August 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pretty location - hotel needs improvement I have not stayed in a Westin hotel since the one opened in Hilton Head many years ago. Back then, Westin was kind of a hip brand, sleek and upscale. This location needs to be renovated. The entrance was probably built in the 70's and is not easy to navigate with steep slate steps, and depressing entrance. It all needs repaving and a major facelift. The lobby is devoid of any plant life, greenery or pictures. It's dark furniture, dark carpet and gloomy. The gift shop is not inviting, the Starbucks is in a small corner. Not bright and airy at all. The rooms have dark carpet, army green couch, dark wood, small bathroom with outdated fixtures and it all needs to be cleaned thoroughly and needs to smell much better. The redeeming feature was the harbor view. However, the hotel doesn't really capitalize on this feature as all the sitting areas at the pool are on the 5th floor that looks towards the city. The area at the pool that looks towards the harbor is filled with enough kids water toys to fill a Toys R Us. Not sure who the is hotel catering too. Probably younger business travelers or young families with toddlers. The elevators haven't been cleaned in months, the hall carpets are dusty, the light fixtures are dusty. Our room had so much dust, I wrote "Dust me" on the dresser but the maid never cleaned it. The carpet had pink toenail clippings on it. Yuck. Repeated requests for shower cap and other items were not part of Housekeeping staff but several days later, one finally showed up. No cotton balls, no q-tips, nothing other than shampoo and conditioner are in the bathrooms. The restaurant - Mizzen, was well serviced and the breakfast, while expensive, was very nice. Concierge was very busy and seemed to need more staff. Front Desk said all the right things but didn't seem to want to really help you. Manager made somethings better on the final bill. Probably would not recommend hotel. The location for shopping, museums is quite a hike uptown and there is not public transportation and a cab will cost $10 each way. The hotel needs a shuttle. September 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little disappointed this time.... I have stayed at the Westin Harbour Castle a few times, my past two visits could not have been more opposite. My one night stay in May was fantastic; friendly, attentive staff, beautiful platinum room upgrade in the north tower with an expansive view of the lake, and an overall very nice atmosphere to the entire hotel. In contrast, my stay on June 1, 2013 started off with a not-so-pleasant front desk attendant, which was a little shocking since my previous experience exceeded my expectations. No room upgrade was available, which was understandable based on how busy the hotel seemed (took 20 minutes just to drive up to drop my car off at valet). While the south tower room was a decent size, there was no lake view as described in the room description during booking and reservation confirmation (it looked out over the road construction and nearby condo buildings), the entire section of wallpaper between the front door and closet was pealing off from the baseboard up to about 3ft off the ground, the bedskirts were splattered with dirt and grime, and there were what appeared to be food splatters across the headboard and up the wall. The room had obviously been cleaned very quickly (again, the hotel seemed extremely busy), this was evident by the disheveled bedding on the one bed and the two empty water bottles left in the room - one under the bed, the other behind the curtain. I called guest services in hopes of changing rooms, but was put on hold for over 10 minutes.... at that point I just gave up and left for my dinner reservations.... by the time I returned to the hotel it was past midnight and not worth the effort to try changing rooms. With all of this said, I'm conflicted... I'm not sure if my stay in May was a pleasant exception to the regular, or if my stay in June was a disappointing exception to their regular due to the high number of guests. I booked this room using my SPG Starpoints, which is a major reason why I didn't push the issue of my displeasure during my stay, but as a colleague recently reminded me, these points are earned and hold cash value... I surely hope I was not given a subpar room as a way to deal with a full hotel and because I did not book with my credit card. June 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by A Disappointing Stay The stay did not begin well as the place was somewhat chaotic as I drove the car up the ramp for check-in. Self-park was offsite, a 5 minute walk in the rain and cost $30/night.. We opted for valet parking. At check-in we were offered a SPG room on the 34th floor. This did not seem to be an upgrade. I asked about an alternative and was offered a corner room that had a little more room. We took this on the assumption that it would be outfitted the same as our original room assignment. This proved not to be the case. I mentioned this to the front desk later on our first night. There were very few bathroom amenities (no shower gel) and no complimentary water. The room had a rather tired look. No offer was made to change room. Sometime during the night, a note was slipped under our door for complementary buffet breakfast. The next morning I took a list of a number of things that were not at par for the room and handed it in at the front desk. The main problem was a very noisy air conditioner. With the design of the room, when I sat in the lounge chair, I could not hear the TV. The noise also made for a less than restful night (hence rating for room comfort). The switch on the standard lamp did not work , there was lint on the cover of the of the exhaust fan in the bathroom and the taps leaked at times. Coming back to the hotel in mid-afternoon, none of the items had been attended to. The room had not even been made up. After dinner outside the hotel, I called service express with my concerns. After talking to Kim and Gus, a couple of technicians arrived and said that sound level for the AC was usual and the taps did not leak. Since it was late, I said it was pointless in fixing the lamp. We did get bottled water but no bathroom supplies. Gus did arrange for extra Starpoints but I would have much rather someone had dealt with my concerns in a proactive manner. We did use the pool which was quite nice. The food in the main restaurant was quite good (at least for breakfast) but I prefer a dining room with some natural light..C heck out was fine but, at that stage, they had not added parking to the bill. This came very much later in an e-mail update of the billing. I doubt that we will return to this hotel. August 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Attention to Detail Please My Company has just chosen The Westin Harbour Castle as our new hotel in Toronto and i was looking forward to coming here as i enjoy staying in Westin Hotels. We arrived in the evening after a long tiring flight to be met with having to lug our cases up a large flight of stairs unassisted. I had too much luggage to be able to carry them up together, therefore had to make two journeys. This meant having to leave some luggage at the bottom unattended whilst carrying the case up. Then leaving the case at the top unattended whilst going down to get the rest. On my last trip up the stairs i saw a small black inconspicuous phone on the wall saying call if assistance needed. Bit late by that time. I appreciate that building works are taking place at the entrance however, in my opinion, this does not excuse the lack of forethought or attention. Your bell captains must be aware of the situation and station assistance at the bottom of the stairs to assist your guests. The stairs, although salted, were steep and dangerous and not the welcome i was expecting from such a prestigious brand. On leaving the hotel (as no assistance was offered by the staff) I opted to use the fairly steep ramp down to the road, however, this then entailed having to walk on the road (no pavement) getting in the way of traffic to get to our transport. Also not an acceptable option. Upon reaching reception, we were met with overly loud 'relaxing' music which was so bad we could hardly hear each other speak. We did ask for it to be turned down and this was done. Again, not the welcome i was expecting. My room, however, was nice and i had a fantastic view over the harbour. Lovely bed as always! Shower bit low for me. The Starbucks was only open for a short period in the morning only; i would have liked to have a coffee and sandwich in the afternoon. There are no decent coffee shops within the vicinity and i do not understand the need to close it during the day. The gym was well kitted out and appreciated. I am very tall and the ceiling height is low; this felt restrictive whilst on the CV equipment. Overall the stay was OK but i expected more and i do hope that the issue with the stairs leading to the entrance is addressed before someone is seriously hurt. February 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A huge disappointment It has been several years since we stayed at the Harbour Castle Westin. Obviously, things have gone way down hill at this property. We arrived just after 2 pm on Saturday, Sept 14. We stood in line for over 20 minutes waiting to check in. This has actually happened to us in the past - BEFORE computers were invented!!! The inadequate number of staff at this busy time did not excuse the fact that the whole process appeared to be handled in an extremely protracted, inefficient manner. The young man who checked us in fumbled through the process, mumbling incoherently, calling me by a name not even closely resembling my actual name (how do you get Donna from Mary on a computer screen?). He held us up unnecessarily, muttering all sorts of inane, useless instructions for anyone who has ever checked in to a hotel. He wrote something on a piece of paper for us, but it was completely illegible. He seemed clueless as to how to handle a check-in in an expeditious manner. Our room, a non-smoking lake-view corner suite was clean and spacious, but the air was hot and humid, the decor was tired and the room reeked of stale cigarette smoke. The porter turned the A/C down to 66 degrees and 10 hours later it was not much cooler and still humid. in fact, the air on the entire 17th floor in the north tower was noticeably warm and damp each time we exited the elevator. There was no mini bar - ridiculous! Pressed for time to get ready for a wedding, we did not bother to complain about the room, but we did go to the lobby in hopes of getting a drink and quick snack. At 2:20 pm on a glorious Saturday, the lake view lobby bar and Starbucks kiosk were closed, and we had to go sit in the dark, cavernous, overpriced restaurant - ludicrous! We were annoyed after being directed to the restaurant by the lobby bar-tender at 2:20, to discover that the bar had opened at 2:30. Why did he not tell us that? Service in the restaurant was agonizingly slow. I heard many similar complaints about check-in delays, problems with rooms and noise on the same date as our stay. Westin needs to step up their game at this property. They are not taking advantage of the five-star setting and the quality of service at the front desk and room amenities are at best 2-3 stars. There is absolutely no way we will be back to this hotel. September 16, 2013
<<prev 28 29 30 31 32 next>>