The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto

  • 1 Harbour Square
  • Toronto,
  • Ontario
  • M5J 1A6
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 996 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel but I expected more The check-in and check-out processes were swift and the service was wonderful. The room itself is relatively large for a hotel room with an amazing view of the lake. There are a lot of good things about this hotel and that's why I would still recommend it, BUT given my experience with Westin (and other) hotels globally, I expected a bit more if the Westin Harbour Castle wants to be considered high-end. Specifically, (1) the in-room fridge, while it's a tremendous and valuable perk, doesn't actually work. Even though it's plugged in, the hotel has turned it off. The ONLY way to keep things cool is to put ice in a bucket in the fridge. (2) The bathroom had no towel racks by the sink. Where am I supposed to hang my hand towel and face cloths?? (3) We had the buffet breakfast for $25 each. It was severely lacking compared to other hotels. There was no fresh juice (the containers were empty), no fresh omelett or waffle station, no granola or fresh cheeses and limited fruit options. The bacon was under cooked, and you only had 1 option for eggs which was scrambled. It should be sold for $15 each, not $25! I also had dirty glasses at our table. August 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent family stay We stayed as a family (traveling with 10 year old, 6 year old and infant) and loved our time spent here! The baby was given a welcome bag at check in (toy duck, outlet covers, night light, etc) and the big boys got water bottles. Check in was a bit slow (we arrived right at 3pm and the line was long). We opted to pay the extra $10 for valet parking (regular parking was 30 but a couple block away from what we heard). Longest wait for the car was 20 minutes but we are pretty sure they forgot about us! We were on the 9th floor in a "non-lakeview" room... well we had a pretty darn good view of the lake! The kids loved watching the boats come and go. Everyone in the hotel was so helpful, from getting us extra towels, to suggesting that we go to the lowest level as it takes you out at the street and was much easier to access than taking a stroller down the front stairs. Kids were treated to popsicles the night we arrived (person wandering the main lobby with them), and got to see a snake up close and personal the second day. Kids were also thrilled to have freshly popped popcorn when they got out of the pool... we didn't watch the movie but the boys loved the treats. We walked the harbourfront often, went for a lovely trip through the islands. It was a very short trip to the Rogers Centre and CN Tower. Checkout was a bit tricky as there were so many people checking out that the elevators were all packed (we wanted to swim first and ended up taking the four flights of stairs down and back up after our swim). To get help with the luggage we just called the front desk and someone was up in no time to help with loading up and carrying down everything. Cleanliness.... I am a stickler for clean and found the room was generally spotless. The bathroom... well the grout could have used bleaching and the baseboards had that look of needing a scrub on the tops (accumulated dust and whatnot). It would have been nice if you could have drawn in some fresh air from outside as the room had a bit of a stale smell (the only "window' that could open was the size of a mail slot... guessing safety?) but you quickly got used to it. We ran the air conditioner and fan most of the time. We found the stay so relaxing we are going to do it again! The location was excellent, the service was great, the hotel was quiet (despite being fully booked the nights we were there). LOVED IT! August 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendliest staff ever From the minute we checked in the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. They truly made it their job to see that we were taken care of. All of the Westins have very comfortable clean rooms, but this one seemed extraordinarily clean and had a magnificent view of the lake. I was told every room in the hotel had some view of the lake! August 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Harbour Castle Stay was fine, but cannot believe no free WIFI in rooms!. Get with it Canada August 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel We stayed there for a relaxing weekend and everything was excellent from start to end. The hotel room was spacious with an excellent view of the lake and was very clean. The staff were great too right from valet parking, check-in staff and service staff. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying there. August 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stayed at the Harbor Suites Penthouse Penthouse was fantastic! Should have a balcony though. August 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent stay Only stayed one day to go to the Beaches Jazz fest but the staff was excellent at check in and obtaining information and direction to the Beaches. Took the cheapest non-refunable room and it was more than we anticipated. Parking was a block away at $30 for self park but that downtown TO for you...so no complaints...just a couple very satisfied customers! July 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Very nice hotel in a very convenient location on the harbour front of Toronto. Clean, comfortable, great amenities. The pool area and sun deck were outstanding. Only negatives are self-parking ($30) and the fact that wi-fi is not offered free in the guest rooms ($10). Also, the business centre is not complimentary ($7). July 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by close to everything hotel good quality for the money, just do not eat at the revolving restaurant, terrible July 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Confidential for Westin I was very disappointed in this hotel for a Westin. The rooms need a thorough upgrade. Bathrooms are very yesterday. Very disappointing. Please put real glasses in rooms. Suite configuration for up grade was 2 separate rooms and you had to open each door if you went from one to another. Very poor. Front manager and staff were excellent but facility is below Westin standard by a long shot. "Italian" restaurant was extremely poor. Would never recccomend . July 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice People but... When we arrived, the check in procedure was well-greased and we were up to our room quickly. However, the room safe was loose and a repairman had to come up to fix it. Then, our television came on spontaneously at odd hours, daily around 1 to 2 AM and had to be turned off. It also came on at other hours, as if the people next door or somewhere could control the darn thing. The staff are great and very efficient, pleasant, and helpfull. Location is central and the view of the lake is a bonus. July 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service Best ever service. I suffered an injury and not only did hotel staff assist with medical care, they even went to my room to read my medicine bottle while I was in the E.R.! July 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location Waking up and seeing the water every morning was priceless. The room was large and comfortable. The staff were very nice as well. There are stores to shop and places to eat and on the water and in walking distance from the hotel. I cannot wait to go back July 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed the Westin, not Toula The Westin rooms and staff are really nice. We had a great lakeview. First time staying here and I was quite pleased. However, I would not recommend Toula within the Westin. Seemed over booked. Toke an 1hr plus to get our main course. I had requested a birthday message to be written on the dessert plate as we were celebrating a birthday - they did not remember. July 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hidden Costs, Little Reward I recently stayed here for a week. The lobby was great, the room was to be expected, and the view was wonderful, but that's all your rate pays for. I took a bus to get here from the airport and there was no ramp to get up the huge set of stairs to the front doors. I guess you could wheel your heavy luggage all the way up the valet entry, but it's very inconvenient. Upon arrival, I set up my tablet but quickly learned that internet access is a whopping $17 per day. I didn't realize this at the time of booking and at no time was I told before I went to log on. 1st hidden cost. Later in the week, I decided to rent a car for some day trips. It was only after I gave my keys to the valet and I was back in my room that I noticed on the valet ticket I would be charged $40 per night for parking. None of the staff, valet or front desk, had ever mentioned I'd be paying for parking nor did it say it on the website. 2nd hidden cost. There is a coffee machine in the room, but the hotel only provides one pod for your stay. If you want additional coffee, you must buy it from the store downstairs. It's a very unique coffee pod that would take a lot of shopping around to find. 3rd hidden cost. Say you were bored and you wanted to rent a movie on-demand. The cost at this hotel is an excruciating $17. I'd like to point out that this is the same movie you could rent on Amazon for $4 or on Redbox for $1. Not a hidden cost, but certainly an outstanding up-charge. The televisions at this hotel do not allow for you to hook devices up as some hotels do, so renting elsewhere and watching through HDMI cable is not an option. This hotel needs to get a lot better at disclosing its costs before you book. They are very ticky-tacky about charging you and as a guest, it makes you feel very unappreciated. I'd still like to know where all of the money for my rate was going to (besides to line the pockets of their executives). July 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Will definitely return Excellent buffet breakfast to start the day! Staff very attentive in all parts of the hotel and helpful when called upon. Good location for subway system, attending both baseball and hockey games(both within walking distance) as well as good restaurants within walking distance. A bonus for families wanting to go to 'Centre Island' the ferry is right there at your door step! Will definitely plan to return when we are in Toronto and want to be in that part of the city with or without a vehicle. Airport service is about 30 min. without traffic. July 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by stay review not pleased at all. room not clean as expected and the noise level at night was disguisting. needed to call front desk. July 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A little Oasis... With our house under construction, I decided LAST minute to book a night away for me and my husband - a little stay-cation because I actually live in Toronto. The Westin had a great rate so I booked it not knowing what to expect. All I asked of the staff was a quiet, cool room. When I arrived, I was immediately upgraded (without asking for it) to the 30th floor with a waterfront view. That night we slept like babies and kept saying what a GREAT way to spend a night. Thank you Westin Harbour Castle! June 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location My room overlooked Lake Ontario. Getting up in the morning and looking out over that view was the perfect way to start the day. Our conference was at the hotel so not much walking required, but this hotel has easy access to the Air Canada Centre, Queen's Quay and downtown Toronto. June 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tobacco smoke issues Good location. Great view of lake. Good service by bell. Room was fine when we checked in but upon return from evening out, room had strong aroma of tobacco. Hotel does not have deionizers and couldn't change room. HVAC was loud and didn't help smell (may have made worse). We were told room would be 'fixed up' the next day. Whe re returned to room later in day, only had fragrance mixed in with tobacco smell, not deep cleaned and no change in HVAC filters as we suggested. We finally had our room changed but new room also had smell of tobacco, though less. Hotel needs deionizers, ability to deep clean rooms, and willingness to change filters and do whatever is needed to make the room tolerable. Different type of smoke detectors should be evaluated to 'catch' offenders who make others miserable. June 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always an enjoyable stay Here for a conference this visit but always feel I've gotten value for the money and feel special! June 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very nice hotel. Enjoyed our stay at the this hotel. The only complaints we have is parking should be free($40/day), billing issues, buffet is overly priced and food is so so. We took the upgrade for a lakeview room and breakfast for two. Even though our breakfasts for two days were included the hotel adds it to your bill then takes it off. With us they forgot to take it off. When we checked out they took one off and the other was charged to our credit card. Being the weekend(sat) we now have to wait until monday to staighten things out. We think it's silly to add breakfast to our bill if we've already paid for it by upgrading. This hotel is very quiet never hear any noise. It is close to many attractions and the view is beautiful. We would love to visit again, but the parking would have to be waived. You can get a bluejays package that includes valet parking, field view room and breakfast for two for a really good price. We're thinking about staying there due to the parking fee at this hotel. June 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel As usual, we had an excellent stay at this hotel. Thrilled to get a room on the 27th floor overlooking the lake - what a view! Our corner room was tucked away and so quiet! Front desk staff were very friendly and service-oriented. Ideal location during the summer months because of easy access to Toronto Island ferry service and the promenades along Queens and York Cays. June 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by poor service I arrived at 3:15pm for the 3pm check-in for my SPG reservation with my 6 yr old on a PD day. I was told my room wasn't clean and ready yet, but that the front desk called housekeeping to request a rush cleaning so we could check in. It was 2+ hours of trying to manage my disappointed daughter in the LOBBY -who just wanted to go swimming ! At 5:30pm when my reserved room still hadn't been cleaned- no matter how many times the front desk called to request it be cleaned. I had to demand at least a temporary room so we could get ready for the show/tickets we had planned our trip aroiund. We made it to the show but the promised swimming on her PD day at the hotel didn't. I was then assured that our luggage would be moved to our reserved room while we were at the show. But NO I had to wait with a tired child in the lobby again- while the current shift tryed to figure out if my room was ready and where my luggage was then wait for luggage to be delivered so I could put my child to bed. The front desk offered to reduce my rate and pay for the taxi to our show, but that doesn't make up for the disappointing service and ruined plans for a 6 year old. During my 2 + hours in the lobby waiting to check in, I requested to talk to a Manger 3 times but was told they were too busy. Very poor service to any customer and I'm SPG GOLD ! June 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good and Bad Room 2118 Enjoyed the Great Lake view. Noise of the airplanes not a problem, just the airflow in the room made it stuffy, probably cause of the small window. Fridge not cold enough to be a fridge, had some water leakage in there. Shower head leakage, so did not get full shower power. Hot tub not really hot nor whirlpool like, unless those jets are there for no reason. Front desk service excellent especially from Ms. Arce and Ms. Nurse, except from one (Rxxxxxxx) who at first didn't believe I cancelled the newspaper G&M for three rooms. June 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bill and Reservation Issues Was at this Westin in March and had problems with very noisy people in room next door that warranted calling security at 1;30 AM. Hotel was kind to extend a comp night for a return visit. We said OK and added an additional night. The bill as of today is still wrong and a correction to my credit card has not been transacted. I called before we got there since we were given 2 confirmation numbers for the same weekend. The room charge for one night was wrong and i brought it to their attention. I did this before I got there. I did it when I checked in and was told it would be taken care of/adjusted. I even had the e-mail where an employee of the hotel quoted the price as proof of what the charge should have been. The adjustment was not and has not been. Very frustrating. Nice property, staff does not have their act together. Will look at other places to stay next time in Toronto. June 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the Westin I remember It's hard to rate this hotel a Cat 4, more like a 3. Has always been my favourite until now. Just because they charge 11.00$ for a beer and 25.00$ for breakfast , doesn't make it a 4 star. My room was hot and the AC wasn't working properly. There was a layer of dust over everything. The remote was sticky as was the phone and there were long hairs in the tub. They need to watch these things because they can really put people off. June 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room Below Clean Standards Room was not cleaned properly from previous guests in drawers, closet, carpet, bathroom with hair, dust and other dirt particles. Shower pressure was unacceptable, even though shower head had an engraving about paradise. Inadequate shower amenities. Kept asking for shower gel and staff kept sending only one small bottle. Room was very worn and stained in areas, with short internet cable raedy to fall apart. June 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't wait to return Loved the "Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto". It's truly a resort type destination. My room had a wondeful view of the harbor and Toronto islands. It was extremely clean as if I had cleaned it myself. It was also a very quiet room and I felt as if I was alone in the hotel until I went to the lobby. I heard no hallway noise or running water from the other rooms. Oh and I won't forget the room service and excellent dinners. It was top of the line. I am planning to return as soon as possible. PS - My dog loved it also. June 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed this time We have stayed at this hotel numerous times and we were very disappointed this time. We specifically indicated we wanted maid service and none came despite a check at 1700 to see if the maid had come by. At 2200 that night still no service. The heavenly bed has lost the "heavenly" aspect and the room smelled like it had been smoked in recently. We like the location of this hotel and the rooms have always been great until this trip. May 30, 2012
  • 2015-07-28T16:22:34.185-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-31, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_996, tr_996
  • loc_en_US, sid_1084, prod, sort_default
<<prev 29 30 31 32 33 34 next>>