The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun

  • Boulevard Kukulcan KM 20
  • Cancun,
  • Quintana Roo
  • 77500
  • Mexico
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 154 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best customer service I've ever received Upon arrival at the hotel we were immediately greeted with professionalism. Laura Peregrina our guest service coordinator was AMAZING! So whoever the manager at the Westin resort and Spa in CAncun should really commend here on an exceptional job well done. She took care of all our needs and anticipated the ones we didn't even know we had. The food was excellent for breakfast and lunch. I can't say about dinner because we didn't get a chance to have dinner at the hotel. All of the staff members did a great job as well and should be commended too. This is in fact the first hotel I've ever been to where the staff from the front desk to the maid services to the grounds keepers who did such a great job. Now I am writing this review to commend the staff on a job well done and to enlighten my fellow travelers. So to my fellow travelers; no this hotel is not a 5 star hotel and it does not hold up the Westin brand well. The rooms are totally outdated and sincerely needs a complete overhaul but you cannot I repeat cannot bet the 5 star services that you will receive here. I've stayed in Cancun on several occasions and before this stay would stay at the Westin Lagunamar. The property there is beautiful the rooms do uphold the Westin standards but the customer service on my last visit was horrible and that's why I choose to stay at the Westin Resort and Spa this trip and I must say again it was AWESOME!! Thanks to Laura and the entire staff at the Westin Resort and Spa for a beautiful vacation and a job well done. March 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Vacation, Amazing Resort! We just arrived back from the Westin Resort & Spa in Cancun and it has been without question our best vacation to date! The resort is beautiful, right on the beach with multiple pools and only a 10 minute drive from the airport. Staff: The staff was amazing, they were very helpful and friendly. From the front desk to the waiters in the morning everyone was happy to help and were pleased that we were there. Resort: Everything was clean and renovated, the Spa was very nice with a steam room & sauna and relaxation room with hot-tub in it. The room (we stated in the Royal Beach Club) was great, very spacious and comfortable beds & pillows (which surprisingly enough is a huge selling point because the last resort we stayed in Mexico felt like the bed was made out of concrete and the pillows were just towels wrapped in a t-shirt). Food: We did not have the all-inclusive package but we did have breakfast in the Royal Beach Club every morning and the food was fantastic, good variety and freshly cooked. The Mexican restaurant had the best fajitas!! I would say my only 'criticism' would be the activities at night, there was really not much to do after 7pm or so, but that is not a bad thing, my girlfriend and I personally like the quiet and relaxing vacation. The bus is a short & cheap ride downtown for the nightlife and activities. Overall: 5 out of 5 stars, this resort is quiet, luxurious, fantastic views, great food, wonderful staff and priced right. If you are thinking about different resorts in Mexico make sure this is the one you go to! March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff and Wonderful Location From the moment we arrived from the airport and met with the Front Desk Manager who helped us pick the right suite (he showed us two on two different floors) we knew we were in for a special vacation. The concierge desk was incredibly helpful and took the time to truly understand what we hoped to do for extra activities. The breakfast staff was very professional and addressed us by name after the first day. The hotel is showing a little age, but the pools and beach were first class and the updating is taking place to make it worthy of the Westin Brand. We will be back as it was wonderful in every way. January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect adult vacation We've stayed at this resort twice and we LOVE IT!! The Club tower is awesome!! The rooms are beautiful with large open deck overlooking bay or ocean. We just LOVE IT! We brought our 14 & 12 year old daughters with us for a long weekend last Spring- they were good sports but they were bored. This is a AWESOME resort for couples/friends but not super 'kid friendly' ~ very quiet! The Club Happy Hour WONDERFUL! The food wasn't great but it was fine. Breakfast fruit amazing- hot food was good not great~ Food around the pool was very good , reasonably priced but order early-- it comes on Mexico time :) September 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by STILL BEST PARADISE CANCUN RETREAT I just returned from my SIXTH stay over the past three 1/2 years at the Westin Cancun Resort & Spa , which has become my #1 preferred "escape retreat" from a professionally overloaded life--I try to get away for 5-7 days in January (post-holidays) as well as in late spring or late fall each year...someplace with a beach in a relatively peaceful environment and with a high level of consistency in providing comfort/indulgence and service (the whole point of an escape is to not have to deal with problems,etc). The first time I booked a room at the Westin Cancun Resort & Spa, I had some concerns given the inconsistency in reviews (mostly very high ratings but alternately very low ratings--nothing much in between)--and I am so thankful that I did. Since that very first visit to my most recent, my experience at the Westin Cancun has--consistently & without exception provided: 1) Spacious, very open-feeling rooms furnished with a Mexican cultural simplicity of style that I find enhances the sense of peacefulness--along with the luxurious comfort of SPG sweet sleeper beds/linens and bath products/towels. 2) the staff at the Westin Cancun Resort & Spa are outstanding: in 6 stays, every single staff person I have interacted with has been professional and more than courteous: sincerely pleasant, welcoming, and helpful/willing to assist. This is true for all staff ranging from on-site management to front desk to room service to housekeeping to bar to the guys that handle the beach desk for towel service but I especially appreciate the professional skills of spa therapists Minerva (body scrub) and Gerardo (massage)...and the bartenders at the Lobby Bar who make those amazing mango daquiris for me in a plastic cup to take down to the beach at night/look at the stars...my nightly ritual in paradise, the Westin Cancun Resort & Spa. 3) Speaking of the beach...the siting of the Westin Cancun is extraordinarily beautiful: the turquoise waters of Cancun are among the prettiest in the world and can be viewed/beachfront from many Cancun hotels but the beach at the Westin Cancun Resort & Spa is truly the BEST BEACH: lengthy white sand, always very clean, many lounges/umbrellas/palapas, AND has the best "swimmable" surf AND there is a reef just off the coast to the right side that doubles the surf breaking in the background for visual beauty (great for photos). Also to mention here: lounges on the beach are numerous, comfortable dense mesh all-weather fabric that allows any sand to slip away, and are able to be adjusted to all positions (including completely flat...not true of many other hotel on-beach lounges) and there are numerous umbrellas and palapas on the beach; lounges around the pool are equally numerous, sturdy wood frames with very thick (5-6") lounge pads that are super-comfortable and also adjust to all positions; pool lounges are arranged around the main pool in 3 tiers with more than a third/close to half having umbrellas accessible. I have ALWAYS had the choice of multiple lounge and shade/sun options no matter what time of day I come out to the pool or beach. Food and bar service is also outstanding with literally "running" waiters on both pool and beach: most often I am courteously approached to ask if I would like anything before I am ready...I ask that they come back in awhile...they do, I order, and very shortly they're back with my food and/or drink...most pool lounges have wooden side tables, as do the beach lounges under the palapas but if you have chosen a beach lounge in the sun/with no palapa table, the beach bar/food staff will bring a sturdy plastic side table out with your order. Finally, The Westin Cancun Resort & Spa is also located outside of the main "hotel zone" at the far end so it is VERY PEACEFUL, making it the most beautiful and relaxing place to stay. 4) having mentioned food...food at the Westin Cancun is well-prepared with some range to the menu but I highly recommend (and personally prefer to stick with) the mexican dishes and seafood (all of which were fresh/delicious): breakfast, try the huevos divorciadados (two fried eggs, one in red sauce/one in green sauce, served with tortillas, beans and mexican sausage) and the fried plantains; for pool/beach lunch or appetizers, the ceviche and the nachos are not to be missed (both accompanied with guacamole, fresh mild salsa/pico de gallo and, if you like, a hotter habanero salsa. Bar is excellent as well: pretty much anything you want but frozen mango daquiris are the best ever. Dinner the fajitas or try the Stones grill...haven't tried the buffet at dinner so can't comment. 5) all that food/drink = time to hit the spa: the spa is also excellent: a complete spa facility with a clean and light/airy feeling well-equipped fitness center (co-ed) looking out at the beach and the spa area (separate womens/can't comment on mens) has well-equipped locker rooms (robes, slippers, towels) and showers (including basic toiletry amenities), dry sauna, steam room, and jacuzzi; multiple treatment rooms and a very peaceful "relaxation room," where you can rest on very comfortable lounges as you wait for a treatment and/or after your treatment. Bottomline, the Westin Cancun Resort and Spa is truly a paradise retreat hotel where you feel like you have escaped to a very private and pampered environment. I have stayed at many SPG spa properties as well as other coastal spa hotels (non-SPG) and I now choose to return again and again to the Westin Cancun Resort & Spa Hotel rather than anywhere else when I need a truly restorative break. A final word about the negative reviews of this paradise...partly depends on what type of paradise you're looking for: a) if you want to be in the heart of Cancun action or in a party atmosphere, the Westin Cancun Resort & Spa is NOT for you...as stated up front, this property is the farthest of all hotels from the nightlife action and is more of an isolated beach-oriented retreat...there are MANY party/active nightlife options in Cancun so ??why even choose this property?? b) the Westin Cancun Resort & Spa is an older Westin property (particularly as compared to its younger sister property in the hotel zone) and it also offers simple luxury (everything very clean; much emphasis on comfortability in all furnishings, including beds/linens/towels; and the soothing sounds of surf and breezes, occasional birds and an ambient level of happy guest chatter) rather than a more synthetic environment of heavier elegance in furnishings and piped beach music... I love the, yes very basic, white stucco walls and blue tiled floors: the minute I arrive, I feel instantly happy when I slip off my shoes and enjoy the sound and feel of my bare feet walking across the broad tiles to open my balcony slider to the sound of the ocean/feel of the ocean breeze. BUT...if your definition of luxury or escape has more emphasis on or expectations of elegance and/or a more controlled indoor environment, then other elegant properties in the hotel zone are for you. I've personally never had a problem with air-conditioning or humidity/dampness in my stays but for those who have complained about such: you can't want/have BOTH open balconies or oceanfront patio rooms AND the stable air temperature/humidity control of a hermetically-sealed room. Also re: cleanliness: the Westin Cancun Resort & Spa is VERY focused on cleanliness: within hotel rooms/housekeeping services but also in round-the-clock attention to hallways, lobby, and pool as well as beach areas. This doesn't mean they follow every guest, every moment and some guests are...messy to say the least. I've seen guest messes (little kid spills to tipsy adults)--and I've seen them immediately cleaned up; I've seen sand and water from dripping bathing suits in the carpeted hallways--and I've seen it immediately vacuumed/dry-vac...kind of depends on when these complaining guests are taking their photos. My own definition of escape to paradise doesnt include photographing the small disappointments. June 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Old world Charm The hotel has an old world charm about it. The room we were in was on the main floor where we could walk out onto a Patio. we loved the rounded ceiling and soft colors. The staff at the pool attentively brought us food and drinks as well as chatted with us as if we were family. The beach was lovely, not crowded and fun to jump the waves. When we wanted less waves to swim in we walked down the beach a short ways. although we were only there as an interim stay before we moved to our timeshare at the Westin Lagunamar, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. April 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by RMKeeper From February 16th to the 23rd I stayed at your resort as a gold card member. Well I have to tell you this resort fell well short of your standards. My room was very dated in need of renovations Example was the entire bathroom was tired , all fixtures including the shower, toilet, sink and counter and tub were old and the mirrors had permanent marks on them in bathroom and actual hotel room. The pillows were very woren and should be discarded and replaced with new. The food at the resort was substandard. Ate 2 meals on site and went off site for all the rest of my meals at dinner. It seemed like you were trying to mix all inclusive food with customers like myself who paid for their meals and received all inclusive standards. I have stayed at numerous properties in your family and found this one to be far below the standard. Someone from head office needs to look at this property. Needless to say I would never stay there again and would not recommend this property. March 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great spot for a family vacation We styed here with our 2 girls ages 10 and 15 for a week vacation and could not hve been happier with the resort. It is impossible to single out any particular staff member as each and every person we encounterd was absolutely wonderful. I have never stayed at a hotel anywhere else in the world where EVERYONE went out of their way to make sure we were looked after. This place should be used a training site for hotel staff. El Palamar was a great spot for a family dinner or lunch but if you want a high end meal I would venture off the resort. We had dinner at Arrecifies one night and while the service was spectular the and the food was good, it was nothing special. The location is perfect, at the quiet end of Cancun beach. It was never over crowded, even though it was March break. The nightlife of Cancun is a quick cab ride away if you want it.SPG recognition was exceptional, something you don't always see at Resort Hotels. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Cancun and can see us returning many times. March 21, 2013
  • 2015-03-28T18:04:45.309-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co-hasreviews, tv_154, tr_154
  • loc_en_US, sid_1092, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 6 next>>