The Westin St. John Resort

  • 300A Chocolate Hole
  • St. John,
  • Virgin Islands
  • 00830
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 199 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by As good as advertised My wife and I stayed at the Westin on St. John the last week of June. We were very impressed with the resort and staff. There was some construction going on around the shops and fitness area, but it didn' take away from the resort experience. I've read reviews from people that have a problem dealing with renovations during their stays, but it's never been a problem for us. I'd rather know that the place is trying to improve as opposed to letting things go. We stayed in a deluxe beach front room that was wonderful. The maid service was excellent, as was all the resort staff. The only issue was a slow bath tub drain the first day we arrived. I called the front desk and was told someone would be there in 10 to 15 minutes; the staff member arrived in less than 10 minutes and took care of the problem immediately. The food at the resort is indeed on the pricey side ($18 for a cheeseburger and fries), but to be fair the food is excellent and they give you plenty to eat with your order. Our room had an iron and ironing board, safe, and a small fridge (no microwave). The A/C worked great and the bed was extremely comfortable. Don't bring your beach towels, they're provided free of charge at the pool. The fitness center is nicely equipped and the deli at the resort has first class pizza and sandwiches / salads. I would highly recommend the Westin to anyone. If you may be one of the ones that complain about everything imaginable under the sun when you go on vacation, then maybe you need to get over yourself just a little bit. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, Nice Amenities, but Needs work to Be a True Starwood Level Property As a return guest of this hotel, I enjoyed the location and many of the ammenities at this Westin. Unfortunately, the service of the staff, primarily the front desk staff, was not up to standards. We experieced many delays in check in, several errors with our room, and a generally unpleasant attitude from many staff members we interacted. The hotel also had continued issues with wi-fi and other expected services. On a positive note, the staff at the 2 outdoor restaurant/bars were wonderful, and the house-keeping staff was pleasant when we interacted with them. I would recommend this resort based on location alone, but would be very hesitant to endorse the customer service, especially to another Starwood member. I don't feel that this property embraces the typical Starwood experience. January 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The value just is not there. The room was not thoroughly cleaned upon arrival...bugs in kitchen, silverware and dishes were dirty, as well as shower in mstbed. Not enough closet space, could not hang standard hanger in guest room. Room was a long way from pool and lodgenet was out 1/3 of our stay. Spa facility was substandard, yoga cancelled twice, despite 8am start, no prior notice and we were charged $45 per day? Tried to attend SuperBowl party, too many people, not enough seats/tables and $18 per plate for hamburgers and hot dogs? This is suppose to be top resort, fell well short. We will not return, nor recommend and we are Starwood Owners! Very disappointed! February 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic grounds, nice rooms - but some issues Last time I visited was 10 years ago. Location is great. Grounds and buildings have been updated, the pool-view room (1214) was very nicely appointed, clean, bed was great. The beach and pool are very well-maintained and lovely. The amount of equipment you can rent/borrow for watersports is fantastic, and thankfully the process is painless. I really like this resort but I'm going to be tough on it because it could be even better. First, it was often difficult to walk around the property on the brick-paved roads because there was constant traffic from staff driving golf carts, morning-noon-night. There aren't many walkways so you have to step on to the grass and move for the carts. Even with ongoing construction, it seemed excessive and should be addressed. Staff didn't seem overly concerned with forcing guests on to the grass, either. Some other minor things: I tried room service one night, "whole-wheat linguine with basil" and it was terrible, pasta tasted microwaved and was so salty I could barely eat it. One day the maid service replaced towels but didn't make the bed (they were probably confused because I pulled the sheets up before leaving?) Could only take hot showers in the room, no cold water (?), two separate concierge weren't very helpful making restaurant reservations and there was no mention of a SPG Gold room upgrade (or attempted upgrade) at check-in. Besides the minor annoinances, this property is a solid option on St. John and I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay on the island. July 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Westin St. John lacks customer focus I posted this review on another site & received a response by the manager in which I emailed per the response. I expected at least a response acknowledging receipt of my email & have given it ample time so I am posting here as this is another example of where the Westin St. John really needs to improve their customer focus. Here is my review: We just returned from a trip & 4 night stay to the Westin St. John. The island of St. John's beauty and beaches made this vacation stellar. I have done my fair share of traveling & stayed at a variety of different level properties over the years & the Westin St. John has been the most disappointing travel experience I have ever had. We read reviews prior to booking, but in the past few months as you can tell by increasing number of issues and poor reviews here that the quality has dramatically slipped. Our stay there compelled me to write this review to help other travelers planning a trip to this amazing island. PROS Well maintained grounds Ferry Service to & from STT (included with our package) Heavenly Bed & Good Linens Taxi availability CONS Food--both cost & quality Customer Service Construction (It is very loud in buildings 14, 15, and 16) Renovated rooms don't show signs of upgrades Exorbitant & Misleading Resort Fee ($40 per day resort fee) ROOM ISSUES & FRONT DESK SERVICE: While I know room requests aren't guaranteed, I had called when I booked the trip months ago & also two days before to request a king bed room with a balcony for my party of 2. I confirmed they had my request noted. The resort handled all your luggage from the airport all the way to your room. We arrived on a full shuttle, so we were without luggage for several hours while they unloaded and delivered it to the room. When we arrived to our room, we were greeted with a ground floor room with double beds. The room itself was nothing special & the fridge leaked so the carpet in front of one of the beds was wet. These rooms were supposedly renovated already but didn't appear to be refurbished in the slightest. I then went to talk with the front desk about changing rooms & accommodating my original request of a king bed, second floor. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice & said we would be moved the following day & to have our luggage ready by 11am which we did. We spent most of the day out of the resort but upon our return that evening, we received room keys to our new room at the opposite end of Unit 16 on the first floor again but with a king bed. Upon entry to our room, we noticed the ice machine & service closet right next to it. The door didn't close properly & the adjoining door to the next room had about an 1 inch gap underneath which transferred a lot of noise in between the rooms. The following day we woke up to the ice machine, construction, and gardening power tools-- the resort was noisy starting at 7 AM and lasted all morning long. I went back to the front desk to see what else they could do. I was greeted by the front desk manager with a resounding "There are no other rooms we can move you too". Frustrated by this, I proceeded to call Starwood directly to complain. In doing so, a few hours later, we were told that there were rooms to move us to but we would have to wait until the next morning to be moved again. We decided at this point that we were too tired to move, pack up everything again. We had alleviated the noise situation ourselves by placing towels in the gap between the rooms. They also sent someone from engineering to fix the door closing issue but it still didn't seal properly even after doing so but did close & lock. On the last night, we wanted to take advantage of the resort fee we were being charged & kayak the next day before heading home so we called for a late checkout. I was told that someone was checking into our unit early & it couldn't be accommodated. I called the following morning & was able to get 1 hour extra despite the putout attitude of the "Service Express". TIP: If possible, go for a room on the spa side to avoid construction. Bring a change of clothes in your carry on if possible so can you head to a beach or the pool in case there is a delay with your luggage. (You can not take it to your room yourself getting off the boat). RESORT FEE: This fee is advertised that all "non motorized watersports" equipment is included. We found out at checkout that we were billed additionally for our snorkel gear rentals without being told by the staff in advance that this was an additional cost. The rental staff acknowledged that the confusion happens frequently. Snorkeling in St. John is a must and extremely easy to do. We would have rented regardless, but disclosure is an issue. TIP: Buying some higher end snorkeling gear online and bringing it with you is cheaper and much better than the rental gear. There is a dive shop in town that has a larger selection. FOOD: "Our experienced culinary staff brings the color and robust flavors of Caribbean cuisine alive." A $15 burnt hot dog, some condiment packets, & chips should give you some indication of the markup, quality, and their definition of "Caribbean cuisine". TIP: Make sure to visit the St. John Market right outside of the resort. Buy some fresh fruits from town and bring it back with you while you are out. Room service should be used as a last resort. FREE WELCOME GIFT: It is a silver tone plastic starfish that is a knockoff Tiffany's design & not worth the time spent on the sales pitch to receive. They made you fill out your email and personal information & try on something before you can look at it. Extremely disappointing. THE GROUNDS: The landscape and resort looked beautiful. St. John as an island can't help but be a tropical paradise. There were plenty of natural fauna and wildlife both in the bay and scattered throughout the resort. Everything is connected through a pedestrian path that was shared with the staff riding around in their golf carts. The carts are often swerving about as people scramble to figure out which side of the path to walk on. There are shuttles that will pick you up and take you anywhere in the resort. Many of them are dedicated to giving sales tours for timeshares. FERRY SERVICE: Since this was our first time in St. John, one reason I chose the Westin was because of the transfers to & from STT being included in our package from Delta vacations. TIP: When checking for travel deals, be sure to take in to account the $40 resort fee per night & $60 each way per adult transfer costs. Expedia & Travelocity didn't offer those included but Costco Travel & Delta Vacations did. There is also a public ferry you can utilize. The Westin deals on the Starwood site never worked out to be any savings when I was researching rates even with offering a free night. TRANSPORTATION: There was always a taxi available & we had no issues getting to where we wanted to go. For those who want to explore more cost effectively & don't mind the hilly roads, a jeep could be rented on site at resort. It seems this hotel has stopped trying to deliver a quality experience for its guests. I expected more from a Starwood Hotel, especially one with these rates. Despite the Westin, I thoroughly loved St. John & all it has to offer. Everyone we spoke to raved about the service & how accommodating they were at another resort, so they will be where I go next time. Room Tip: Try to get a room near the spa side while they are still doing construction. May 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Westin St. John - Hotel Rooms The fact that this hotel is located on the island of St. John is wonderful. It is also nice to stay in a place that has the option to go to the pool, hotel beach or drive/taxi to another beach on the island. This is our third time at this resort and will probably not stay here again. We first came in 2004 and back then, the hotel rooms were out of date. They have only gotten worse over the years with more wear and tear and no updating. The pictures on the website are very deceiving, most of these are of the villas, not the hotel rooms. The hotel rooms do not have updated bathrooms. The sink in our room was mauve with stains from over the years. The walls, tub and caulk were all also very old. No matter how clean the bathroom truly was, it just felt dirty because of the upkeep. The staff was nice and friendly, however the service was slow. Including shuttle service and requests to fix problems in our room. The food, spa and drinks were expensive, but this was expected at a resort. This trip we rented a car at the St. Thomas airport and took the car ferry from Red Hook. This allowed us to avoid the frustruation of the Westin Breeze (Ferry) that we had in the past. This also allowed us to explore the many beaches on the island. November 28, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointed We have stayed many times at the Westin in St John and have always enjoied it. Last year we really noticed that the rooms had major wear and tear and smelled of mold. This year we thought we would try again and request one of the renovated rooms. Our renovated room was gross and not what I would consider a Westin standard. The cement walls are painted so many times there is thick sticky shinny paint in terrible colors. The renovated tile is lathered with grout right up to the paint and the corners are filled with dirt and grime. I am disappointed again. We checked in and were expecting with Gold status that we could have an early check in, that was not granted (traveling with an infant that was hard) then the ground floor accommodation we expected from our reservation was not granted either. Then we called the staff three times to let them know or disappointment and nothing was done to rectify the situation. They did offer to move us the second morning but were not being very realistic considering we traveled with two children. Basically was glad to get out of the hotel. Grounds looked nice and the staff aside from the front desk and management were friendly. Over all very upsetting. Hotel upkeep terrible. October 26, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Off season or renovation? Not a pleasant stay We stayed here mainly for the proximity to the USVI national park and it's a Starwood chain. I've had many pleasant stays at other Westin resorts or hotels and We've always enjoyed it but this resort definitely fell short to our expectations. Instead of lengthy essay I'll summarize the pros and cons: Pros: -Nice beach, not overly crowded (maybe it's off season) -Water sport rental service is good -Vacation desk staff is knowledgeable -Plenty of Jeeps in the car rental (you'll need it for unpaved, hilly and bumpy roads in the national park) -The ferry service to/from airport is convenient Cons: -No luggage rack in the room - had to ask for it -The faucet in the sink is rusted and it splashes on us every time we turn it on - talked to service and it's improved -Pool is under renovation. The only full service restaurant for dinner is beach cafe as they closed Cruz Bay Prime (seasonal?). Mango Deli is another food choice but during vacation we really wanted to eat in a restaurant instead of a deli - we've done enough during work days -We ordered dinner to our room and the beer came in a bottle. No bottle opener in the room or on the tray. Had to call them again to open it -Long wait at the vacation desk (30 mins) Since it's off season, I recommend going out to Cruz Bay for dining, even though some are closed too, plenty of good ones are available and have no wait. You can find menus at the vacations desk and ask them to make reservations for you. October 1, 2013
2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>