The Westin St. John Resort

  • 300A Chocolate Hole
  • St. John,
  • Virgin Islands
  • 00830
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 248 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb This was our first family trip and it was blast granted we all didn't expect such great hospitality from the entire staff we encountered. We were call by our last name with every staff person we has contact with... i would surely recommend The Westin to anyone I can't wait to come back and visit again..... June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin St John - excellent family vacation We loved our stay at the Westin St John. Staff was very friendly, the 3 bedroom villa was amazing and the property was in great shape. We had one small issue with a piece of luggage and the staff got right on it and fixed the situation before we knew what happened - great job! June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Memorable vacation Recently returned from a fabulous vacation at the Westin St. John. Can't say anything negative about the resort. Most important, the entire staff was very friendly and accommodating, lots of smiles. Always good morning, etc. Our concierge, Karen, was extremely helpful. It was our first time on the island. Loved her enthusiasm. Meals were very good, rooms clean, the entire resort is well kept. We had a beachfront unit on the second floor with direct access to the beach. We enjoyed Cruz Bay Watersports. We will definitely return! June 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Super Restful This is our second trip to the Westin St. John and it is certainly our favorite Island getaway. The staff is terrific and our units have been comfortable, clean, and extremely restful. The food, activities, and amenities are all first rate, though I have to mention that the fitness center could use some upgrades. Much of what you'll buy anywhere on the island will be somewhat pricey, but it's not any more so than other secluded island areas. I heartily recommend the Westin St. John. June 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Island Paradise! My husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary this past week at the West St John Resort and our stay could not have been more perfect! Friendly staff, amazing food, tasty drinks and the most relaxing place in the entire world! The facility is beautifully maintained and looks like a tropical paradise! We discovered so many wonderful things to do and see on the resort and in Cruz Bay but there's still plenty more to do on our next trip! Thanks!! June 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phenominal I am working in the islands and being a Starwoods Platinum member, thought I would give the Westin a try. Best decision ever ! Incredible staff that took care of every need. The food was excellent and served with a smile. The rooms are very clean. I have been here 3 weeks and would HIGHLY recommend this property. Get to know the staff and they will embrace you as family. May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Time We have just finished our stay at the Westin St. John and couldn't ask for anything better. We went during April 19 thru April 26 and the weather was great. Our Villa was in the Bay Vista area making it close to everything on the resort. The Villa was updated and very comfortable. The staff personnel especially Ashley at concierge desk and Evan with Penn Taxi Service were a delight and very helpful. April 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tropical paradise My husband, 2 children along with 2 friends went on this vacation together from Jan 3 - 10 2013. We brought them back to St. john to see all the amazing sights we saw when we were on our honeymoon here in July 2011. The Westin has the best ammenities along with the best staff! Very friendly and hotel was very clean. After visiting twice we bought a timeshare!! Now we will have many more trips to St. John! April 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really enjoyed our time here! My husband and I are Starwood owners and this was our first time here at this resort. Plus: beautiful property, friendly staff, great location, shuttle/ferry service to and from St. Thomas was excellent (worth the price we paid). Our room was not near the main pool, but it was nice to have a small pool next door. I would try to request a villa closer to the main pool if we were to bring our kids. Improvements: need sidewalks or walking paths so your not competing with golf carts. April 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful vacation! My husband and I just returned from a week long trip celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. What a wonderful hotel and island. We didn't bring our son along this time, but I look forward to sharing the Westin with him next year. It is a family paradise! We camped out on the beach most days when we weren't making excursions for sailing, snorkeling or other day trips. I couldn't be more pleased with my investment in this time away together. Our room was right on the beach! We'll be back soon! This could easily replace Disney World in our travel options! Fun for all! April 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by NO BED?! Staff not helping! We arrived yesterday at your resort, and must say that we are completely dissatisfied with the accommodations and the service we are getting. My wife and I are traveling with our three sons ages 7, 10 & 13. We booked a one bedroom villa seven months ago that was supposed to have a pull out couch for our two younger boys and a rollaway bed for our 13 year old. When we checked in at the ferry counter we were told that our one bedroom villa will have a roll away bed. Then when we arrived at your resort, we were told that a bed was not available for our 13 year old son, but the hotel was "working on" getting us a bed or another room with accommodations for five. After numerous discussions throughout the day it became obvious and extremely frustrating that nothing was going to be done. Needless to say, this put a huge damper on our first day. Instead of relaxing and getting acclimated to the resort, we were focused on making sure our son had a bed to sleep in. This is not how we wanted to spend our first day at the Westin, St. John. At the end of the day nothing was done. Even after many discussions with the front desk manager, my 13 year old slept on two chairs put together as a makeshift bed. If we had any idea that there was a chance that one of us would not have a bed, we would have not chosen to stay at the Westin, St. John. It is completely unacceptable for a hotel to not provide a bed for a guest. It is the most basics need that must be met before all other amenities are to be provided. I normally do not write reviews, but as you can see we are very frustrated and disappointed with the Westin staff for allowing something like this from happening. March 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed We stayed at the resort on points for the final 2 nights of our honeymoon. After coming off a week long private yacht charter we were psyched for a hot shower and clean room. Unfortunately, we found a cockroach in our bathroom and when reporting this to the front desk it seemed this wasn't a big deal. The room was otherwise clean. We weren't offered an upgrade at check in and when I asked if any were available the front desk employee, Franique, rudely stated it was extremely busy and nothing was available. An upgrade would've been great as we could hear every word from the guests in the adjacent room. We had hoped for a little recognition of our honeymoon in our room. We received nothing. Not even a note. Then as we checked out we were surprised to find charges not disclosed during check in. For example the daily $40 "resort" fee was ridiculous. Other resorts charge $10 and mention the fee at check in. We noticed a $3 discrepancy in our room service bill and asked for a refund of that amount at check out. Similar to check in, Franique was again rude and was inconvenienced to make the change. She didn't bother to remove the tax on the error either. Yea, it's not going to break the bank but recovering with flair goes a long way and no effort was made to do so. Overall we left upset with the experience and frustrated with the charges. No effort was made to overcome the shortcomings and dealing with Franique only made it worse. I travel extensively, am a Starwood Gold member and at $500+ per night I expect an exceptional level service. We won't return nor recommend this resort to friends and family. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Has everything you need or want We loved this hotel this past January. Very Relaxing and beautiful. It has everything but a swimup pool bar. We are going back for sure! We've been trying to re-book it for next January since we left and reservations haven't opened up yet??? March 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by BEAUTIFUL RESORT Well maintained and beautiful resort. Although the resort prices on food is a bit high, the quality is excellent. Only negative issue during my vacation, was an employee asking for a tip, vice staying focused on doing their job. I felt a times, there was a sense of entitlement with employees and they should be reminded why they were there. March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer service needs management attention The resort itself was amazing , however, a bit tired, lobby needs help but what kept our rating from being over the top, a number, indeed not all of the staff need to raise the bar on customer service. I was told in a very unprofessional manner to get off the dock while taking pictures of the sunset do to the expected arrival of the Westin Ferry. Not sure why my presence would be a concern even so the discourteous manner in which I was asked to leave should be a deep concern to management. Very rarely did the staff driving golf carts ask us if we needed a lift to and from the lobby, restaurant etc, and finally with the exception of Carlos at the front desk trying to arrange for early morning departure was a mini nightmare. Carlos saved the day and should be rewarded for stepping in and actually providing customer service March 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Another Disappointing Stay My family along with my in-laws were at the resort this past February to celebrate my MIL's retirement and a wedding anniversary. It is too much to cover in one review, but the majority of the stay was a disaster. Before I go into some of the details, I want to say up front, the staff itself is wonderful and very nice but the Management is incompetent. We were placed in the incorrect accommodations and were told different stories and reasons as to why from multiple “managers” on site (we were never moved to the correct accommodations) and the Villa that were placed in was in awful condition. Items such as the ceiling fan, dishwasher, and microwave were broken or barely usable. In addition, the filth in the room was so bad, that there were piles of dirt in the bathroom. In fact, the Director of Rooms commented that the room would fail inspection since it was in such bad condition. After 4 days of being unhappy and complaining FINALLY our issues were addressed as our Villa was used as an opportunity to train the staff at the resort on how to ensure a room is ready for a guest to use. I was embarrassed for the resort that they could do this to a guest. This was a very special vacation which was ruined by incompetence at the resort and since I had a similar issue back in 2011, we will never return to the resort again. March 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 Great Location, but that is it!!! The location is great, but it is St. John's so that is not saying much. Upon arrival the Westin receptionist at the airport was not polite and offered little help. Found out that it cost 120 dollars for round trip ferry fee to and from the resort. Which was nice at first thought, but realized the ferry only ran until 5:30 which limited possible time spent on St. Thomas. We were charged a 40 dollar resort fee and we arrived at the hotel around 6:30PM that day and the last day when you have to check out at 11AM. As a platinum member, no room upgrade was given (well let me correct that statement). We were upgraded from Garden View to Pool View (NOTE: there was no view of the pool and on top of that, the additional noise from the kids and human traffic made it more of a downgrade). The room itself was in poor condition. It smelled like mildew, the bathroom was in need of a deep cleaning (stains on the floor, the bathtub drain was broken, there was mold everywhere in the shower), the AC unit barely worked (we had it set to 65 degrees and it never got below 75, and rarely blew cold air). There were stains on the dressers, which I could wipe off which is indicative of poor housekeeping. Worst part, 4 of the 6 days we found huge cockroaches in the bathroom. The staff at the restaurants were for the most part rude and not pleasant. Food was overall mediocre, nothing special. Extremely over-priced (which is to be expected). Resort is filled with families and children (which is fine if you want that sort of thing), but makes for early morning noise, noise at the pool, etc. I am a fiend (for lack of the better term) for SPG points. We used the green option to receive an additional 500 SPG points, however the island is windy and it blew off of our door every day but one. On top of that, we received the 5$ voucher and it mysteriously dissapeared from our room (so I was not able to received any additional points). Overall as a platinum member, I have had better experiences at 4 points. The location is great, but spend your money elsewhere. February 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wonderful island, friendly staff but poor attention to guest problems We loved St. John and the Westin does provide a comfortable base from which to explore. However we encountered two problems not acceptable at this level of hotel service and price. We had a maintenance issue in the bathroom that, despite promises, was never attended to. But worse, there was renovation occuring in the room just below us; the use of wall-shaking power tools early in the morning was absolutely unacceptable. We did receive, after insisting, some minor financial compensation but the front desk staff seemed unconcerned with what was a major problem for a Caribbean "peace and quiet" vacation. February 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below Exepectations I will say that we have traveled to Caribbean resorts every winter for the past four years, and this Westin falls to the bottom of the list of our choice destinations. I would, unfortunately, agree with most of the reviews that say this hotel charges like a five star resort, but our experience was much more like a three star resort. First off, I am still struggling with the billing department to get our billing statement corrected. It has taken three plus attempts and they still cannot seem to straighten out that our package included breakfast (yet they charged for breakfast). They also had a charge on the bill from the last departing guests from our room for $100! I would also say the hotel just feels very much run down and in desperate need of a “face lift”. The breakfast buffet was a huge disappointment each and every day. It amazes me that this hotel can’t seem to figure out how to put together a “nice” and “eatable” buffet for $28 per person. The food in the hot plated area was stale and had obviously been sitting out for too long. The breakfast also lacked selection that we have seen at similar Caribbean hotels that offer buffet breakfast. We also found the staff to be very “hit or miss” in terms of their efforts to be friendly and helpful, or act as though they are doing us a favor. Unfortunately, I can’t recommend this hotel and we will not be returning. February 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean, beautiful and friendly propery We stayed here over New Years 2012 & were pleasantly surprised. We were staying on points and got upgraded to an amazing villa!! Thank you Westin!!!! Our unit was updated and very clean, we even had daily maid service. It was wonderful not to have to hurry in from the beach and shower to go to dinner, we BBQ most of the time. There is a nice starfish market 5 minutes down the street by cab. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews written. The property was just as clean & beautiful as it was 15years ago. The beach was nice and clean with plenty of chairs. We were a bit concerned w/ complaints about staff not being top notch but everyone we had contact w/ from the front desk to the pool bar to the snorkel gear was extremely friendly. Also the car rental on property was helpful in getting us a jeep for the day ( the island was sold out of Jeeps 2 months ago). My only complaint was the BUG BITES.. I had read on trip adviser ahead of time about this & did use bug spray but obviously not enough. By mid week I had 105 bites!!! OUCH.... We think most of them came from the early evenings when I would go out to the pool to BBQ. My family got very few bites & they seldom came out to the BBQ :-) The computers on the gym equipment didn't work to well & took a while to get started. We use the Westin Ferry from the airport & it was worth every dime!! January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Island get away! Our stay at the Westin St. John was very relaxing. I was amazed at the amount of children at the resort and I thought that noise would be a problem. The resort is spread out where this is not a problem at all. The staff were very nice and service was up to expectations. If you love hiking, snorkeling, and all water sports, St. John is a great island to stay at. We had a great time and can not wait to go back. January 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just the attitude,,,,, I have to confirm what I was reading here. The rooms and the place is great - clean - great food etc. But there is a problem with the staff - they are correct and some what friendly - but they act like forced labor. Nobody really wants to work - nobody is really personal or goes the extra mile ( some exceptions - they red t-shirt water sport people were great...!) Reception was a disaster - few people inside were hiding - one person miserable trying to work on the line - forget the SPG member line. Nobody ever there. The shuttle service to drive you like to the parking and so ....they always fly by- try to catch them - good luck... nobody ever stopped and asked if need transport. Seating hostess and waitress - same thing. They are all correct but nobody is personal or goes the extra mile.Even The vacation / concierge people trying to run ...away ....Compared to other SPGs....this is a little strange. Again the place is beautiful - well taken care off and food is great. But staff as a group needs that adjustment that the customer is why they have that job...We really felt like we bother them every time we needed help like ordering food or something. Yeah somewhat disappointed. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin St John exceeded expectations You arrive to a beautiful place that is even better than expected. At check-in, staff bend over backwards to welcome us and to recognize our SPG status. First class greeting for sure. They took us to our room with our luggage, but spent the time to take us around and show us the resort. This staff was proud to be here, and we could see that. The villa that we were upgraded to was WAY beyond our expectation. The housekeeping was outstanding too. Friendly, thorough, etc. Shuttles were always available. Staff is 5 star. All of our visit (it ends tomorrow) was outstanding. I cannot understand why some reports don't glow as they should. The only negative is the tiny Spa facility for my wife's nail treatment., and that didn't dampen our 5 star experience. We love this place, and our friends are coming for a wedding visit in two months. They too will be thrilled. January 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Still needs improvement This hotel is in desperate need of a complete overhaul both the cabana's (especially old wood exterior) and the service staff. This is a 3 star resort with 5 star prices. I spend 35 days/year in SPG properties and this continues to be the worst location. I would mention that I book SPG Hotels consistently while I am on the road because I have had a great experience at their other locations. Corporate headquarters needs to move quality employees that care and weed out the "systemic" bad service/attitude staffers. Not everyone just about 65% or so. I found the concierge and the front desk manager to be a few of the most competent and helpful people. I love this island and got married there so I keep coming back for a night or two to see if things have improved at this location and unfortunately they have not. Main issues on this trip…namely one of the staff cursed off my wife-unfortunately wasn’t there to get her name, multiple golf carts blowing past me while I was carrying 3bags and a diaper bag around my head from the parking lot, slow service/attitude at pool bar. Dinning at the Beach Café was a pleasant surprise as the food has vastly improved. But basically I found myself not being able to let my guard down and not relax on vacation due to these issues. The final straw was the $240 roundtrip for two ferry service that dumped us off at Redhook on our return. The 9am departure on the schedule specifically noted Cruz Bay Marina which is minutes from the airport but our Westin ferry was routed to Redhook (most likely to save fuel costs) where we were dumped on the back of an outdoor taxi for the 40minute bumpy ride. Extra fun with a 6 month old and a nice experience to finish your vacation. January 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Resort is beautiful Our 2 bedroom villa was amazing and very spacious and had a fabulous view of the bay. Loved the pool area and private beach. On the negative side, Cruz Bay water sports staff did not communicate to us what forms needed to be completed for the Virgin Gorda trip, nor did they tell us we needed cash for the customs fees. We found out about all of this as we were ready to board the boat. Very frustrating! Additionally, overall the food at the resort failed to impress us, it was mediocre at best. Cruz Bay Prime restaurant was somewhat better. And, if you don't like bugs, then be prepared! We even had the deet wristbands and used the deet spray when going out in the evenings, but were still eaten alive. January 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by wake up early very expensive for quality, food below ave if you want a beach chair get up early. December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful resort in paradise My wife and I went to the lovely resort for our honeymoon for the first week of dec and loved it!!! we had the 2 bedroom villas that were amazing to stay in. the grounds of the resort were just breath taking, I have been to a lot of Island resorts and this one was just great. as a spg member thay really want to make sure you are appreciated at all times. So me and the wife will be going back again next dec with another couple. see you 2013 dec December 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Please downgrade this hotel..not great or luxury Please down grade this hotel. This is a star 3. 1. Little to no service. Staff were rude and not helpful. Only staff that were great were the man and lady helping with restaurant reservations. And by the way, when my card didn't work in the ATM it was my problem. 2. Please get rid of the golf carts. I woke up every morning to them. Watch out walking on the path. 3. Gym - really not great. The buttons on the machines did not work well and could not watch tv 4. Room. Not bad but the tv did not work. Good luck having someone come fix this 5. Food was completely over priced and not that great. 6. Hotel completely outdated.Completely different than the picture 7. Great - pool and its in St. John December 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall Great Time Overall this is a great hotel..awesome pool, great beach, good bar and food, well kept grounds, clean rooms. Only two complaints would be the mosquitos and the friendliness of some of the staff (concierge? your job is to welcome guests and be attentive to their needs, be nice!) Great time! December 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to standards This hotel looks worn. Room amenities, beach mats, lounges, etc. need replacement. for this level of Starpoints, and a charge of $40/day, they should be much better. I've stayed at Sheratons hotels with better amenities for far fewer points. Tennis was non-existent for higher level players. Food at restaurant was not very good. After eating at restaurant on first night, we never went back. Our neighbors left unfinished food on the patio for a number of days, and the cleaning staff never removed it. So called "free" WIFI was virtually non-existent. December 25, 2012
  • 2015-05-06T19:50:06.851-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_248, tr_248
  • loc_en_US, sid_1098, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>