The Westin St. John Resort

  • 300A Chocolate Hole
  • St. John,
  • Virgin Islands
  • 00830
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 257 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could be so much better On such a beautiful island on suck a pretty beach they could do so much better. The resort itself is nice. But for the cost the service was nonchalant, and apathetic. I felt like i was gouged every time i turned around. The golfs carts used by the staff was a constant traffic nuisance that got plain annoying. Rooms were comfortable but expected more for the price. The kids club staff was great and were wonderful to our childeren, cannot comment on the spa as we did not use it. Did enjoy the easy acces to the water through the dock at the propert. March 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst Westin Property I travel weekly for work and this is by far the worst Westin I have ever stayed at. The light in the bathroom was out, the lamps were missing the on/off handle, cockroaches in the room, staff didn't put ironing board away, had to ask the concierge 3 times for ferry schedule and finally had to call the actual ferry company because the hotel was incorrect. We rented the car and the lady in the car rental place was miserable and flat out rude. St. John is a beautiful island and I usually love Westin so this was a complete disappointment, especially because of the price you pay to stay there. March 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a 5 star resort Rooms well below 5 star standards Balcony moldy, small and dark Cracked tiles in bath. Dated Chaise lounges dated and dirty Room not cleaned til 5:00pm Over Priced for product- felt like a timeshare/dormitory. Room was labeled ocean front delux but very dark and depressing room March 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Although Forewarned, Disappointing Property Hopefully you’ll find our review helpful…. About a month before going on our family's winter break vacation, I finally read many of the recent reviews about the Westin St. John Resort & Villas and was somewhat surprised about some of them. I wish I had looked into them earlier when I was booking our trip months earlier, we probably would have booked elsewhere. Unfortunately, the property met our *much lower* expectations. First let me point out that we are SVO owners at Cancun, Maui, and Kauai. We have a good frame of reference on what a Westin resort should be. To that end, the Villas were relatively new and up to the Westin standards. But other than the “Prime” restaurant (the upscale on-site restaurant), most other things were not to Westin standards. We unfortunately could not get into the Villas during our scheduled week (Presidents Day week) and booked a “deluxe” 2-bed, pool/patio view room. The rooms are showing there age are not well maintained. We had mold growing in several areas of our bathroom and cobwebs on our ceiling. The back patio door handle was almost falling off (when we reported it, they sent an engineer to simply tighten the two Phillips head screws to fix it). On the 4th day of our stay, the in-room refrigerator broke and spoiled the food we had it in (it actually got hot inside). If our disappointment was limited to just the hotel room then our stay would probably have been more positive… it wasn’t. It seems that about half of the staff do not have a positive attitude. For certain, some were great. Unfortunately, many seemed not to care and were inattentive (beyond blaming it due to them being on “island time”). Food service at the main restaurant was consistently slow from arrival to departure. Our last breakfast was totally “comp’ed” due to a total breakdown of service. Forty-five minutes after we were arrived, simply breakfast food was served to my wife and two daughters. Drinks were delivered about at the 30-minute mark to them. I opted for the standard $26 Westin breakfast buffet – it was up to the usual standard. When the rest of my family’s food arrived, the waitress commented that I could get my buffet meal. I informed her that I had already finished a while ago but was *never* received my coffee and no longer wanted it (we were checking out and had to catch the ferry back to St. Thomas). I asked for the check. She seemed very surprised. Unexpectedly, she came back a couple of minutes later to say that we did not have to pay for the meal at all. I suppose a gracious gesture for the horrible service. The last comment about the main restaurant is a rather limited, boring food selection. In contrast, the “Prime” restaurant was fantastic and highly recommended by us if you still stay at this property. On a separate note, as expected, the Kid’s club staff was excellent with our kids and kept them wanting to return (great news for our future visits to other Westin properties). To sum it up, we didn’t have a "bad" time but I’m *very* glad I read the reviews from others warning us about this property – my expectations were tempered greatly. Unfortunately, the Westin St. John Resort & Villas simply does not meet the standards of the other Westin properties we own or have been to. We do not plan to return any time soon and do not recommend it to others – there are better choices within the SPG network (much less competing resorts). March 1, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ocean front room that's horrible We recently stayed at the "Resort" Feb 21st-26. We had an Ocean front room steps from the beach, it might as well been up in the hills away from everyone. When spending $700 + per night, you expect great quality or even very good. This room was not even close, for $250 it would've been satisfactory. I took pictures of room 1614, the bathroom is a stall only no tub, the tile and grout on the floor was damaged, disgusting and was uneven. We wore flip flops in the shower. The bathroom sink would've been good in a low rent apartment, the shelves in the bathroom was a couple of shelves that were thrown in to have a place to put toiletries. The carpets were dirty and looked worn out, beds were ok for comfort but we put tshirts on the pillows for the pillow cases. We made some complaints but they were booked and we couldn't be moved to another room. That set of 1600 rooms was on the beach ( you would think it would be great) it was constant noise from the staff at all hours of the day and night. On Thursday morning at 6:50 am ( yes you saw 6:50 am) a staff member decided to power wash the sidewalk with a loud pressure washer and woke up everyone ( did I mention it was pouring rain at the time) there was no need for this and at that time was ridiculous!!! We will not ever stay there again, I took pictures I will be sending to Starwood because it was so terrible. That was their best upgraded room on the beach, becareful if you want t a nice resort, it's not!!!! The ground are well kept thou. March 1, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is disorganised Having previously enjoyed a stay at this resort we were disappointed by our recent visit. February 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The value just is not there. The room was not thoroughly cleaned upon arrival...bugs in kitchen, silverware and dishes were dirty, as well as shower in mstbed. Not enough closet space, could not hang standard hanger in guest room. Room was a long way from pool and lodgenet was out 1/3 of our stay. Spa facility was substandard, yoga cancelled twice, despite 8am start, no prior notice and we were charged $45 per day? Tried to attend SuperBowl party, too many people, not enough seats/tables and $18 per plate for hamburgers and hot dogs? This is suppose to be top resort, fell well short. We will not return, nor recommend and we are Starwood Owners! Very disappointed! February 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unfortunate Very dirty room. A dead cockroach in the bathroom, mold in the floor and shower tiles, dirty floors. We reported it to no avail. The wait staff at the pool bar treated us like we were a bother. The resort restaurant was closed for repairs - something no one told us (not even the website) when we booked. Free watersports sparsely available so we could never use. Straw that broke the camel's back - finding bloody tissue in nightstand on day we were leaving. Room had clearly not been cleaned. We expected more. February 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relax and Restore is Right ! This Westin Property is beautiful, and the staff was wonderful. The transition from the airport, to the ferry and then on to the property was so smooth. I loved not having to stand on line at a front desk ! I barely realized that we actually checked in at the airport, and we were just handed welcome drinks and our key cards and scooped off to our room in a golf cart by our bellman. January 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Our Westin Time !! My wife and I stayed for 5 nights. The room was nice and the beachfront location was fabulous! We did have air conditioning problems the entire time. Maintenance came by three times to fix it, but did not correct the problem (would start up and roar like a Mack truck for 10-20 seconds and shut off again). This would wake us up continuously during the night. We did not like the food, breakfast or dinner at the Beach Cafe. We felt the quality of the food served was very average. The servers were not very personable, especially for the breakfasts! We would end up being very frustrated by our breakfast experiences and that is no way to start the day on a lovely, tropical island! Also, we've never been to a resort that would offer the same exact choices for every breakfast! No variety! We did not try to the Cruz Bay Prime, so we can't comment on that facility. We did not feel that the service and food choices were exceptional for a $500.00 a night room. There's more to a great resort than location and that's all they have. They need to work on the food and the serving staff; all other employees were great !!!! January 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, Nice Amenities, but Needs work to Be a True Starwood Level Property As a return guest of this hotel, I enjoyed the location and many of the ammenities at this Westin. Unfortunately, the service of the staff, primarily the front desk staff, was not up to standards. We experieced many delays in check in, several errors with our room, and a generally unpleasant attitude from many staff members we interacted. The hotel also had continued issues with wi-fi and other expected services. On a positive note, the staff at the 2 outdoor restaurant/bars were wonderful, and the house-keeping staff was pleasant when we interacted with them. I would recommend this resort based on location alone, but would be very hesitant to endorse the customer service, especially to another Starwood member. I don't feel that this property embraces the typical Starwood experience. January 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Wonderful Experience My wife & I stayed in a one bedroom hillside villa we obtained with a time share exchange. It was a very nice location. The resort has many amenities and a friendly, responsive staff. The restaurants are excellent but we bought food locally for our breakfasts and some lunches. The only negative we have is that the place is very expensive so one has to assume the philosophy that you get what you pay for. We would definitely go back. January 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Honeymoon Experience... I would like to start by staying that as a SPG Platinum member for 3-4 years, this is my first bad experience. I chose this destination for my honeymoon after endless reviews online and searching around for other options. I also liked that fact that as a SPG Platinum member, I ALWAYS am upgraded and have first-class treatment. I used points for the first five nights of my trip and paid out of pocket for the next two nights all in a King bed, garden view room. The SPG Platinum agent stated that it should be a problem getting upgraded (based on availability at the time) and I called the hotel two days prior and they also said I should be upgraded. Upton my arrival at the hotel, I was told that an upgrade was not available ant to try back the next day. This went on for the next couple days until I realized that it was not going to happen. If I wasn’t assured an upgrade, I would have just purchased a villa or suite to hopefully have an enjoyable honeymoon. Look, I understand the terms and conditions but no one went out of the way for us during our stay for ANYTHING. Besides the above, here is the laundry list of items wrong with the room we stayed in the “22” group of rooms: -Toilet didn't work, called to have service done on it. Had to call again to ask when he was coming. Finally came and when custodian left it still ran the same way. - Too many golf carts on the grounds -Was charged a $40 a day “Resort Charge” fee that was not stated anywhere when I purchased the room. When asked about this, I was told that this was for the “courtesy transportation onsite, fitness center, WI-FI” and other things that are outrageous especially for a Platinum member. -Mold in closet -Dead bugs/fleas in light fixtures in bathroom -Called for fresh bath towels to be delivered had to call about them twice before they brought them and once they did it was over an hour from the first time we called -We were offered beer and pretzels and cheese and wine upon our arrival at check-in... They never delivered it and we had to call to ask about it on a daily basis (don’t offer things if you can’t remember!) -We were also offered $10 per day at the Mango Cafe and were told the $10 would automatically be taken off from our room bill per day - this was not the case we had to call twice to have them remove it. - Room was unpleasant to stay in - not "five star" quality. -We could hear both neighbors on either side of us, one through the joining door the other through the vent in the bathroom. -We were told we would get two bottles of water per day for being platinum members, this service was only provided on 2-3 of the seven total nights stayed, one time we called and asked for the delivery another couple days we never got the water. Overall, I would give our entire stay one of five stars and that is only because of the location. The grounds were great and the people were nice, but there is a LOT of room for improvement at this hotel. For the entire trip, I did not feel like a SPG Platinum member and am second guessing my decision to choose a Starwood property as my honeymoon destination. January 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by In need of a facelift the property, location and staff are excellent. The buildings fall short of Westin expectation. We hope westin spends the $$ to update this lovely property because St. john is a gem! We enjoyed our stay and do recommend the hotel to others. January 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by What spa? So let me start by saying that often times while on vacation, my wife and I will take an entire day as a "spa day." when we booked this trip, I spoke with Matt (spa manager) and booked a spa package for both myself and my wife. We booked a three hour package that with tip totaled almost $900. Matt informed me that prior to, and after our treatments we would have use of the "facility" for the day. I figured as with most high end spa's that there would be the expected amenities available. When we arrived to the spa, we discovered the spa was located in the back hallway of the workout room. There are three treatment rooms, and literally a closet where nails and feet are done. You walk into a locker room that is reminiscent of a 1980's high school locker room. There is a toiled and a bench with lockers. No amenities to be found. While our actual treatments were okay, the facility was not remotely up to par. The rooms have the signature Heavenly Bed, which is by far the best thing about the hotel, and they did not disappoint in this area. The bathroom is a seperate story. The caulking was coming off of the tub, there was mold on the shower head and the grout, and the fixtures were coming off from the wall. The bathroom was so unacceptable I took photo's and sent them to Starwood. January 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent facility...but watch out for race carts Very nice facility and location. Beach & pool excellent. My main comment is the onrush of carts along the "walkways" are constantly having to get out of their way, all the time. And they seem to be getting bigger - now they are beginning to have All Terrain Vehicles as carts. They should at least try electric carts so the noise would be more bearable. January 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall great experience We stayed at the Westin St. John on cash and points reward. Overall, we loved our stay. We had a resort view room. The grounds were beautiful, the pool was wonderful and the beach was very nice. When we checked in however, there was no recognition of our gold status. Also, when booking online, the site said there was a refrigerator in every room, ours did not have one, but upon calling the front desk, one was delivered to our room. The grounds at the hotel are very large but along the pathways there was a lot of golf cart traffic. Much of this were shuttles to carry guests and they always stopped and asked if they can take you somewhere. However, the pathways are not large enough for both pedestrians and golf carts so you always had to stop walking and move to the side for the carts to get through. The reason I have an average for staff was the poolside service. Once we got our poolside chairs, we waited over half an hour for waiter/waitress service to get drinks. We had to stop a waitress and asked her if there was a happy hour or if any specials. Not only did she not know what the specials were but she could not wait to run away from us. We ended up going to the bar to get our drinks. Again at the bar, we had to wait over 20 minutes for the bartender to recognize our presence and she was not friendly at all when she did. Again, she was annoyed when we asked about happy hour specials. This was a very different experience than past stays at SPG properties in Mexico. Overall, we loved our stay and would definitely return. January 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Place To Stay My family of four went on an after Christmas vacation and had a great time here. Our hillside villa was very comfortable and spacious. The pools were great and we never had any trouble finding a chair. The only downside to the trip were the "no-see-ums". These are tiny bugs that bit us all over our bodies. Must carry bug spray at all times. Other than that we would definitely recommend this Westin. January 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by getting better all the time We have been staying at the Westin St. John for 10 years and each year it has gotten better. The staff is anxious to help and the response time has gone from "when we get around to it" to "how can we fix that now". Smiles from everyone on staff makes you feel like you are at home. Great resort, great location, great management. Can't wait for our 11th year to start in December January 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel - overpriced The room was nice, internet didn't work, the gym was way overcrowded and the restaurant staff was so slow that it was a minimum of two hours for every meal. most irritating of all were the constant calls trying to sell us a timeshare or alert us about resort activities. It disturbed the vacation! January 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by A mixed bag First off, the grounds and location are as pretty as it looks online. We live in the VI and still thought the beach and location are beautiful, another poster commented on the houses on both sides of the bay but we thought it actually looked nice they're nice houses and the nice boats in the bay. There are plenty of beaches in the park to go to if you're looking for complete isolation. The buildings look a bit old but are appealing in style on the outside though the architecture is a bit more South Pacific than Caribbean. Inside the room layout is nice, it's spacious and comfortable and nicely styled but the actual rooms themselves especially the bathrooms are a bit dated and worn...i.e cracked countertops, paint smudges and drips on the floor, old looking fixtures etc. We had a bit of an issue with the fridge which was constantly leaking as someone previous had mashed up the little freezer bin pretty bad. Also our shower was stuck halfway between tub faucet and shower head as the little knob had seized up. We noticed the grout all around the tub faucet was broken and missing leading us to believe this problem had been there a while. But it was clean enough and comfortable above all just not worth the price tag. The biggest disappointment was that we had gone for my wife's birthday and upon check in had been promised a bottle of champagne would be delivered to the room for her. After a few hours relaxing and at the beach and pool we checked the room and nothing was there so we asked again at the front desk as we were leaving for dinner and they promised again it would be there by 7 and the dining staff already knew about it. By the time we got back to the hotel there was still nothing and no messages either. I realize that it is a gracious gesture and is not to be expected but I would rather be told no they can't do anything than be promised twice only to have nothing come. That was the biggest negative to us. Service was great for the most part, very friendly staff...Ricky the bellman was professional and knowledgeable. The other service related issue was when we checked out the guy at the front desk was not nearly as personable or professional as the rest of the front desk staff and was a bit of a sour note to end the stay. I wouldn't eat in the restaurant again, while the menu looks good it was overpriced and my mixed tropical fruit consisted of out of season unripe mango, blueberries, maraschino cherries and unripe Papaya...unacceptable in this part of the world. All in all we'll probably be back again with hopefully better results because even with these issues it's probably the best chain beach resort in the VI January 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good until end of stay The Westin provided us with enough amenities to enjoy our stay. We encountered several annoyances on the day before we checked out. Our key cards stopped working which required going to the main lobby to wait for security to issue us new cards. Also, housekeeping only partially cleaned our room at 4 pm. This was after I had called at 12 pm to have the room cleaned. On the last day, housekeeping kept knocking on our door to see if we had left the room because they were eager to turn it over. Where was that eagerness to clean the day before? It unfortunately left a black mark on an otherwise pleasant stay. December 31, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by St. John Westin Not as good as the last time we stayed. Still a very beautiful place to stay. December 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cannot Wait To Go Back! Loved the Westin St John. The staff were so friendly and helpful - our favorite was Neal who shuttled us around the hotel - can't say enough how great he was! The villa was beautiful - clean and fabulous. The pool was huge and the grounds were just gorgeous. I would HIGHLY recommend the Westin in St John - we will definitely be going back! December 15, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Buyer Beware... I had heard tons of great things about St. John in general and some good things about the Westin specifically. It's in a great location on a relatively uncrowded island with fabulous beaches. However, the rooms are very tired and the minor Westin touches (i.e. Heavenly bed, shampoos, etc) don't go that far when the rooms are so outdated. Staff doesn't really care that much about SPG status, so don't book a lesser quality room hoping for a free upgrade, it likely won't happen. The restaurants and bar on the property are very expensive compared to the local spots in Cruz Bay or on other parts of the island. Lastly, I don't know if it was the time of year or what, but my boyfriend and I got bitten so badly by bugs that it looks like we both have chickenpox. We mostly got bitten at night in our room, which is disturbing (FYI, it was NOT bed bugs...we checked), but wished we had been warned. Needless to say, it was impossible to relax when you were constantly scratching and worrying about bug bites. Maybe the hotel should've offered complimentary bug spray (which ultimately did not help, despite the $12 price tag in the dive shop). It's too bad we didn't have a great experience because the island seems really beautiful...we just didn't get to enjoy it. December 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great place What a wonderful week in St John and the Westin is a great place to stay. Staff was outstanding, room service and shuttle service very good. Our view from the Bay Vista villa outstand. Private and quiet. December 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love St Johns Westin What a great resort! The hotel upgraded our room on the beach. We went with another couple and had a great time. Although we did not take our kids this time we would take them back. The resort has a lot for them to do. Beach is private and beach sports are solid. I would highly recommend renting a dingy and going around the island. It is amazing! The hotel has a great gym. The spa is small. If you want to save some money take the local ferry vs. the westin boat. Lunch and breakfast are fine at hotel but eat out for dinner (Not at resort)!!! December 9, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Place We got to Maui every year and St. Johns rates at the top with it. Only one way to say it's "Beautiful". Locals very friendly, very safe, beaches are awesome December 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded our expectations My wife, three kids and myself stayed in one of the three bedroom hillside villas during the Thanksgiving week. These condos look brand new and a great place to stay for a family. Three bedrooms (king, queen, and two doubles), and three bathrooms. Kitchen, full size dining table, small living room, and a washer and dryer. The rooms were spotless and the beds were extremely comfortable. The Westin transportation to and from the resort from St. Thomas was flawless and made the trip hassle-free. This resort covers a large area and the hill-side villas are a bit further away from the center of the resort than the hotel rooms and requires a fair amount of walking or waiting for hotel staff to drive us to different areas of the resort using a golf cart. We rented a Jeep from O'Connor car rental which is on the Westin property. We would spend the days driving to the different beautiful beaches on St. John and come back in the late afternoon so the kids would have time to play in the nice pool at the resort. The beach at the Westin is man-made and not nearly as nice as the beaches on the rest of the island, but the Westin was a great place to come back to when we were finished exploring the island. We took an excursion out of the Westin dock to the Virgin Gorda Baths which was one of the highlights of our trip. The only slight negative was the service. Everyone was nice and helpful, but almost too laid back, although the same is probably true at most Caribbean resorts. December 5, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Westin St. John - Hotel Rooms The fact that this hotel is located on the island of St. John is wonderful. It is also nice to stay in a place that has the option to go to the pool, hotel beach or drive/taxi to another beach on the island. This is our third time at this resort and will probably not stay here again. We first came in 2004 and back then, the hotel rooms were out of date. They have only gotten worse over the years with more wear and tear and no updating. The pictures on the website are very deceiving, most of these are of the villas, not the hotel rooms. The hotel rooms do not have updated bathrooms. The sink in our room was mauve with stains from over the years. The walls, tub and caulk were all also very old. No matter how clean the bathroom truly was, it just felt dirty because of the upkeep. The staff was nice and friendly, however the service was slow. Including shuttle service and requests to fix problems in our room. The food, spa and drinks were expensive, but this was expected at a resort. This trip we rented a car at the St. Thomas airport and took the car ferry from Red Hook. This allowed us to avoid the frustruation of the Westin Breeze (Ferry) that we had in the past. This also allowed us to explore the many beaches on the island. November 28, 2011
  • 2015-10-08T05:53:04.600-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_257, tr_257
  • loc_en_US, sid_1098, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 next>>