The Westin St. John Resort

  • 300A Chocolate Hole
  • St. John,
  • Virgin Islands
  • 00830
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 245 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT RESORT PROPERTY We just spent six nights at our Bayside Villa, the Grounds are very well kept, We ate dinner at Cruz Bay Prime and the Dinner & Service was excellent. The Bar Service at Snorkels is very poor , the ladies working there tend to ignore you and are not very friendly, The only friendly staff is the concierge's desk , they are very helpful , but also want to make sure you attend a owner's update at the time share office. We will continue to go to this resort as St John's is a special place, but the service has to be up to the standards of a Westin property. June 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay My wife and I recently stayed at the Westin St. John for our honeymoon. Our experience was absolutely wonderful. The resort is amazing. The grounds are gorgeous and there are many amenities available. Everyone was so kind and willing to assist us in any way. Our one bedroom hillside villa was very nice, with a beautiful view from the balcony. The location is excellent, as several of the island's finest beaches are only minutes away. Taxis are always available. We have no complaints whatsoever and would certainly recommend this resort. Hopefully we'll make it back for an anniversary sometime in the future! May 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Starwood Hotel/Resort I Have Encountered To begin, I travel frequently for work and stayed at Starwood properties over 100 nights last year. Though the majority of my stays are not at resorts, I can speak to the experiences I have had at other hotels. Overall, I have had wonderful stays with Starwood, and I have never had an experience like this at any of the other properties. Top dissatisfier: Bad service is systemic. To start, the check in experience was less than desirable. I had requested a My-24 early check-in, and didn't receive an email back from the resort that I was not granted it until I had already left for vacation. My guests and I waited by the beach, which was filthy until we were called that one of our rooms was ready. Keep in mind, it was already past when we should have been able to check in normally. The front desk wasn't entirely rude, but not friendly or welcoming either. Next came our dining experience, which I am not making up. We had walked down for brunch the next morning. When asked at the hostess stand if we were having the buffet, we responded no and asked if we could have a table in the sun. The women literally rolled her eyes. We were not brought water or menus. Our server eventually came over, handed us the menus, and told us that we had to get our food order in immedately since we weren't eating the buffet. We responded that we had not seen the menus yet and would need some time. Also, could we have a glass of water? She said not until we get your food order in. Once we ordered, the food and water came and they brought me the wrong dish. By the time the correct food came, the table had already finished their food. No one came to pick up our check, so we found the manager to run our card. She walked over with our receipt and asked if we had a pen. Second dissatisfier: The Rooms. I had used my room upgrades on one of the rooms and the other I had booked with more points to get an ocean view. I was "upgraded" upon check in to a two bedrom Villa. Buyers beware: the photos of the villas on the website are of their newly renovated villas. Though, they are also still using their grossly outdated onces as well. The furniture is stained, and the tiled floors are cracking. I had read we'd have a kitchenette, which is partially the reason why we were staying there. Our two bedroom villa had a coffee pot, a microwave, and a mini fridge. There was no sink, utensils, or dishes. The one positive: The rooms are clean, and the grounds (with the exception of the beach) are maintained well. If I could take my points back and stay elsewhere, I would. Please consider other options before staying here. May 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by So happy with our stay Chalk up any really negative reviews to a) flukes and b) people who showed up in bad moods and looked for the worst. This hotel would be a solid 4-star place with a couple of very easy fixes. 10% of the lounge chair pads were dirty and 10% of the towels were too worn to be offered to guests. Choose from the 90% of clean chairs and towels, and you'll be happy. Room was in building 15 - had nice updates, very clean, great view of the water (only expected pool view, so very happy here). The food was great across the board at the steakhouse, beach place, and poolside. Focus on the beautiful views, friendly staff, great food and drinks, family-friendly environment, etc., and you will have a wonderful time. Don't get on your hands and knees and inspect the carpet with a magnifying glass - you'll waste your vacation time (and still won't find anything negative). May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Spring Break! Exceeded expectations across the board. My 8 year old daughter cannot wait to return. The staff was attentive. Janice at the bar was the kind of employee every employer should have. The location is perfect. Because of the time of our arrival, we took a cab to the ferry. Make sure everyone in your cab is going to Red Hook. We nearly missed our ferry because the cabby had a few stops to make. Rent the Blast boat for a day, they will take you wherever you want to go. Like my daughter, I can't wait to get back. May 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing The staff were wonderful. However, the remainder of the experience was disappointing. The quality of the facility did not equate to the cost of the experience. I wrongly expected more. Attention to detail was remiss (e.g., discolored tiles, moldy ceiling, toiletpaper holder falling off the wall, running out of half and half at the deli in the morning). We have traveled a number of places, this was by far the most dissonant in terms of what I expected and what I experienced. May 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our April 2012 vacation We just returned from our first stay at the Westin Resort St. John. The hotel and it's staff were wonderful. Always pleasant and helpful. We took advantage of the hotel transportation to and from the airport & ferry and it was well worth the extra money. Our room in building 23 was wonderful. & clean. The bed very comfortable. We had some of our best dinners at Cruz Bay Prime - Jesse our waiter was outstanding! We look forward to our next stay! May 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Continues to just not quite be there We have been coming here every yr for over 20 yrs and are owners. Many things ARE better, some just can't reach the bar. The pool bar staff are totally indifferent and always have been. Returning guest/owners are not recognized, rooms have been upgraded but the carpet is destroyed and has been. New doors and windows but left huge gap open to air in wall..good thing we have duct tape! Lots of ways it could be great, just isn't. Step it up and this is five star. Currently not. We love the island so bought time here, resort could be much more special without much effort. For example, offer owners storage for their gear for a fee..only few units have any storage, deliver the stored goods to the room and pick up again when you leave. Rubbermaid tubs stored in a cargo trailer wouldn't cost much to do and would be pure profit and convenient; have an enthusiastic manager around at the main pool to greet guest and encourage friendliness for the bar and wait staff, offer owners a free or discounted trip over on the Westin Breeze which is a gouge job on price,run real Happy Hours and events at the pool daily. May 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This property is not worthy of the Westin name I never take the time to write reviews but felt obligated to alert others to the shambles that this property has become. Public and private areas of the property are in dire need of an overhaul, updating, cleaning and basic maintenance. The beach towels are threadbare, the lounges are mildewed, the paint is scraped off the furniture in the patio lounge, the public bathrooms are dirty with overflowing trash etc.., seaweed piles up on the beach as if this were a 2 star property, beach & pool service only made the rounds one day of our 5 day stay, service is slow, erratic and most often comes with a giant "i'm doing you a favor attitude". And while the bed linens have been updated in the beachfront rooms, the bathrooms have not and are literally the size of a gas station and absolutely filthy with stained shower floor grout, etc. Maid service is just the bare minimum, no bathrobes, etc. I have stayed at dozens of Westin properties all over North America and am still unable to believe that this "resort" carries the Westin name. I know the hotel offerings are slim in St. John, but this is a travesty. Beware! May 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by love this hotel...except........... I stay at this property twice a year and actually own a time share here as well. I love coming back because of the warm and friendly staff. My only complaint is that the non smoking rule is not enforced. Our hotel stay was in bldg 10 which is beach front. We enjoyed early evenings on our balcony (first floor) and every night our neighors would sit outside and smoke. We are not smokers and did not appreciate this at all. April 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Resort But........ The male at guest services in the lobby did not know anything about the island.This was our 2nd trip there so we knew what was going on.He was just trying to get everyone to do the timeshare review.He told us beaches where closed,it was going to rain so we should just stay at the resort.Lies lies lies. Skip guest services in the lobby you are better off. Beautiful resort and the rest of the staff was great. April 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wouldn't go back The rooms are run down and have bugs. There is absolutely no service at this hotel. Better off going to the public beaches. I was so disappointed by this resort. April 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Resort My family enjoyed a week in St. John. The grounds were well manicured, the pool and beach were great, and the room was wonderful. We were in an SPG room(2200 block), it was great. Thanks to the staff for making our spring break very memorable. We will be returning soon. April 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bait and switch! Three major problems with the Westin. 1) The rooms are no where near the standard of what most Westin's look like and the 1 bedroom suite did not even remotely resemble the pictures on the website. The room smelled musty and the room looked liked it was built in the 70's and has not been updated since. 2) The service from 90% of the staff whether front desk or getting served a drink at the pool bar, was just horrible! If you like a place where you are pampered do not go here... their excuse for the poor service is "Island Time" 3) We did the time share tour, and that is where most of the suite picutres are from, but of course you have to buy a time share to get into those rooms. Come on Westin you can do wway better than this!!! April 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Please remodel! Love the island and would return year after year if Starwood would drop some cash and remodel the very outdated and worn hotel guest rooms! We want to return but are forced to make another choice as we don't want to re-expierience substandard room conditions. April 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good not Great This hotel is showing it's age and has a few areas it could work on. I booked using points in August and requested a room with a balcony in buildings 11-16 based on traveler reviews. We were put in Building 20 in the only room without a balcony, but after about an hour of effort they switched us on the second night to building 21 with a balcony. These two buildings are the most dated of the entire resort, or so we heard. It was clean and comfortable enough but had a musty smell and decor circa 1980. Some positives: - Some of the staff - Terri at the concierge desk, CJ and Chelsea at the Kids Club, all of the cleaners, gardeners and half the front desk staff were outstanding. - Activities for kids are very good -Pool is great Some negatives: -Dated rooms that need a serious update -Service at the beach cafe and pool cafe was spotty...slow, as expected throughout this region, but some extremely unfriendly staff -Taxi drivers were generally awful with two exceptions (the two female drivers we had were great) Overall, it was a great vacation but a focus on upgrading the rooms (or at the very least, accomodating early bookers), and an overhaul of the service to make it more consistent would turn this into an annual trip for us. Next time I would rent a car in St Thomas and book a villa. April 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place This was out fourth stay in St John's and we continue to love it. My only complaint is that the staff fails to enforce the non smoking through out the propertty April 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed Results - But Had A Great Time Noteworthy positives: - Kids Club was great. CJ (counselor) was super and my kids wanted to go back. We felt they were in good hands. - The island is stunning. - Cruz Water Sports, who handled boat rentals and a sunset cruise for us, was fabulous. Very professional and helpful. - The pool area was beautiful, but if you want any shade you have to wake up at the crack of dawn, hike to the pool, and reserve a chair. They are all reserved early, even though the reservers may not show up until mid afternoon. Frustrating. - Landscaping and grounds are beautiful, very well kept. Room for improvement: - Rooms are a bit old and dated. - Our villa turned out to be way up a hill, too long for the kids to walk, so we were constantly at the mercy of calling or waiting for a shuttle. - The staff was very friendly, though often very slow (restaurant and front desk). Shuttles were very easy to find, however. - Food was fair in the Beach Cafe and Snorkles cafe by the pool. But the drinks - which I expected to be made fresh in the tropics - were all from premixed bags and not good. - Poolside service was almost nonexistent. We would have ordered much more food and many more drinks had it been easier. If we have a chance, we will return, but we will likely spend more time away from the hotel facilities - other restaurants were exceptional and beaches very nice. March 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware of real-estate sales pitch The Westin St. John has some pluses. The rooms are decent, the staff is almost without exception friendly and obliging, the pool is big (and towels plentiful), and we had a great day trip with a swell crew to the "caves and baths" in the British Virgin Islands. But it's very pricey. It's very noisy (including nonstop "rock" or Muzak around the pool). There's very little to do when it rains (which happened throughout our visit). The beach is mediocre (though if you drive, of course, St. John has multiple lovely beaches). And housekeeping, though competent, is infrequent. (Just once during our week.) Our biggest issue this visit (which was our second--and LAST) was severe mistreatment in connection with Starwood's relentless effort to get you to buy a "time share" in one of their "Bay Vista" units. (Yes, you can see the bay from a few of these.) Whether one would WANT such a thing depends, of course, on your view of time shares in general; whether you're happy with a unit that has spacious (tho dim) bathrooms but scant play-space for kids; whether you want to cook for yourself (there's no real oven); and whether you welcome a long trek up a steep hill from the only available parking. (This we found to be a major hassle when burdened with groceries, snorkeling gear, etc. There are roaming golf-carts but they're almost never at the parking lot when you want one, especially in the rain!) During our first visit, we had agreed to return via a "deal" that Starwood calls the "Explorer package" whereby they give you a discounted rate on a potential time-share unit so that you can test-drive it, so to speak, in return for listening to another of their high-pressure sales pitches. Moreover, if you're a married couple, both must attend that pitch or they instantly cancel the "deal" part and retroactively charge the (very high) "rack rate" for your unit. As it turned out, my wife had to go to China to speak at a medical conference during our week in St. John and I made the grievous error of telling the truth--at a cost of thousands of $$. (Had I fibbed and said we were recently divorced, or she had died, or that my adult daughter was my wife, we would have saved a bundle.) Never mind that we've been good Starwood customers over the years with "SPG" status. This may well be the end of our relationship with that company--and certainly the last time we succumb to their time-share marketing! March 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not Up to Par We have visited this resort many times and are owners in Bay Vista. That in itself says how much we love the Westin St. John. However, this year we had numerous issues -- all with Housekeeping (not the Maid service). We arrived on the 5:30 ferry and were shown to our loft. We had asked for a queen air mattress and extra bedding long before our arrival. It wasn't in the room so we called Housekeeping. There were no sheets on one of the pullouts and the other pullout had dirty sheets - sand and hair visible. When we got back from dinner there was still no clean linen. After several phone calls we went to the desk at 10:30 p.m. requesting linens. That finally did the trick but after a long day of travel this was certainly not up to our expectations and was very disappointing. We never did get the air mattress. We moved to another unit after a couple days and again found Housekeeping to be unresponsive. The rest of the resort was wonderful. The Beach Cafe and Snorkles food and service were great, especially Timmica, Cynthia and Shirley! They do a fantastic job and are so friendly. Also, the shuttle service was greatly improved this year! Very prompt and seldom had to wait more than a minute or two. Overall we still love to vacation here but improved communication is definitely necessary. March 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could be so much better On such a beautiful island on suck a pretty beach they could do so much better. The resort itself is nice. But for the cost the service was nonchalant, and apathetic. I felt like i was gouged every time i turned around. The golfs carts used by the staff was a constant traffic nuisance that got plain annoying. Rooms were comfortable but expected more for the price. The kids club staff was great and were wonderful to our childeren, cannot comment on the spa as we did not use it. Did enjoy the easy acces to the water through the dock at the propert. March 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst Westin Property I travel weekly for work and this is by far the worst Westin I have ever stayed at. The light in the bathroom was out, the lamps were missing the on/off handle, cockroaches in the room, staff didn't put ironing board away, had to ask the concierge 3 times for ferry schedule and finally had to call the actual ferry company because the hotel was incorrect. We rented the car and the lady in the car rental place was miserable and flat out rude. St. John is a beautiful island and I usually love Westin so this was a complete disappointment, especially because of the price you pay to stay there. March 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a 5 star resort Rooms well below 5 star standards Balcony moldy, small and dark Cracked tiles in bath. Dated Chaise lounges dated and dirty Room not cleaned til 5:00pm Over Priced for product- felt like a timeshare/dormitory. Room was labeled ocean front delux but very dark and depressing room March 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Although Forewarned, Disappointing Property Hopefully you’ll find our review helpful…. About a month before going on our family's winter break vacation, I finally read many of the recent reviews about the Westin St. John Resort & Villas and was somewhat surprised about some of them. I wish I had looked into them earlier when I was booking our trip months earlier, we probably would have booked elsewhere. Unfortunately, the property met our *much lower* expectations. First let me point out that we are SVO owners at Cancun, Maui, and Kauai. We have a good frame of reference on what a Westin resort should be. To that end, the Villas were relatively new and up to the Westin standards. But other than the “Prime” restaurant (the upscale on-site restaurant), most other things were not to Westin standards. We unfortunately could not get into the Villas during our scheduled week (Presidents Day week) and booked a “deluxe” 2-bed, pool/patio view room. The rooms are showing there age are not well maintained. We had mold growing in several areas of our bathroom and cobwebs on our ceiling. The back patio door handle was almost falling off (when we reported it, they sent an engineer to simply tighten the two Phillips head screws to fix it). On the 4th day of our stay, the in-room refrigerator broke and spoiled the food we had it in (it actually got hot inside). If our disappointment was limited to just the hotel room then our stay would probably have been more positive… it wasn’t. It seems that about half of the staff do not have a positive attitude. For certain, some were great. Unfortunately, many seemed not to care and were inattentive (beyond blaming it due to them being on “island time”). Food service at the main restaurant was consistently slow from arrival to departure. Our last breakfast was totally “comp’ed” due to a total breakdown of service. Forty-five minutes after we were arrived, simply breakfast food was served to my wife and two daughters. Drinks were delivered about at the 30-minute mark to them. I opted for the standard $26 Westin breakfast buffet – it was up to the usual standard. When the rest of my family’s food arrived, the waitress commented that I could get my buffet meal. I informed her that I had already finished a while ago but was *never* received my coffee and no longer wanted it (we were checking out and had to catch the ferry back to St. Thomas). I asked for the check. She seemed very surprised. Unexpectedly, she came back a couple of minutes later to say that we did not have to pay for the meal at all. I suppose a gracious gesture for the horrible service. The last comment about the main restaurant is a rather limited, boring food selection. In contrast, the “Prime” restaurant was fantastic and highly recommended by us if you still stay at this property. On a separate note, as expected, the Kid’s club staff was excellent with our kids and kept them wanting to return (great news for our future visits to other Westin properties). To sum it up, we didn’t have a "bad" time but I’m *very* glad I read the reviews from others warning us about this property – my expectations were tempered greatly. Unfortunately, the Westin St. John Resort & Villas simply does not meet the standards of the other Westin properties we own or have been to. We do not plan to return any time soon and do not recommend it to others – there are better choices within the SPG network (much less competing resorts). March 1, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ocean front room that's horrible We recently stayed at the "Resort" Feb 21st-26. We had an Ocean front room steps from the beach, it might as well been up in the hills away from everyone. When spending $700 + per night, you expect great quality or even very good. This room was not even close, for $250 it would've been satisfactory. I took pictures of room 1614, the bathroom is a stall only no tub, the tile and grout on the floor was damaged, disgusting and was uneven. We wore flip flops in the shower. The bathroom sink would've been good in a low rent apartment, the shelves in the bathroom was a couple of shelves that were thrown in to have a place to put toiletries. The carpets were dirty and looked worn out, beds were ok for comfort but we put tshirts on the pillows for the pillow cases. We made some complaints but they were booked and we couldn't be moved to another room. That set of 1600 rooms was on the beach ( you would think it would be great) it was constant noise from the staff at all hours of the day and night. On Thursday morning at 6:50 am ( yes you saw 6:50 am) a staff member decided to power wash the sidewalk with a loud pressure washer and woke up everyone ( did I mention it was pouring rain at the time) there was no need for this and at that time was ridiculous!!! We will not ever stay there again, I took pictures I will be sending to Starwood because it was so terrible. That was their best upgraded room on the beach, becareful if you want t a nice resort, it's not!!!! The ground are well kept thou. March 1, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is disorganised Having previously enjoyed a stay at this resort we were disappointed by our recent visit. February 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The value just is not there. The room was not thoroughly cleaned upon arrival...bugs in kitchen, silverware and dishes were dirty, as well as shower in mstbed. Not enough closet space, could not hang standard hanger in guest room. Room was a long way from pool and lodgenet was out 1/3 of our stay. Spa facility was substandard, yoga cancelled twice, despite 8am start, no prior notice and we were charged $45 per day? Tried to attend SuperBowl party, too many people, not enough seats/tables and $18 per plate for hamburgers and hot dogs? This is suppose to be top resort, fell well short. We will not return, nor recommend and we are Starwood Owners! Very disappointed! February 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unfortunate Very dirty room. A dead cockroach in the bathroom, mold in the floor and shower tiles, dirty floors. We reported it to no avail. The wait staff at the pool bar treated us like we were a bother. The resort restaurant was closed for repairs - something no one told us (not even the website) when we booked. Free watersports sparsely available so we could never use. Straw that broke the camel's back - finding bloody tissue in nightstand on day we were leaving. Room had clearly not been cleaned. We expected more. February 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relax and Restore is Right ! This Westin Property is beautiful, and the staff was wonderful. The transition from the airport, to the ferry and then on to the property was so smooth. I loved not having to stand on line at a front desk ! I barely realized that we actually checked in at the airport, and we were just handed welcome drinks and our key cards and scooped off to our room in a golf cart by our bellman. January 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Our Westin Time !! My wife and I stayed for 5 nights. The room was nice and the beachfront location was fabulous! We did have air conditioning problems the entire time. Maintenance came by three times to fix it, but did not correct the problem (would start up and roar like a Mack truck for 10-20 seconds and shut off again). This would wake us up continuously during the night. We did not like the food, breakfast or dinner at the Beach Cafe. We felt the quality of the food served was very average. The servers were not very personable, especially for the breakfasts! We would end up being very frustrated by our breakfast experiences and that is no way to start the day on a lovely, tropical island! Also, we've never been to a resort that would offer the same exact choices for every breakfast! No variety! We did not try to the Cruz Bay Prime, so we can't comment on that facility. We did not feel that the service and food choices were exceptional for a $500.00 a night room. There's more to a great resort than location and that's all they have. They need to work on the food and the serving staff; all other employees were great !!!! January 30, 2012
  • 2015-04-25T18:51:33.369-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_245, tr_245
  • loc_en_US, sid_1098, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>