The Westin St. John Resort

  • 300A Chocolate Hole
  • St. John,
  • Virgin Islands
  • 00830
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 232 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by getting better all the time We have been staying at the Westin St. John for 10 years and each year it has gotten better. The staff is anxious to help and the response time has gone from "when we get around to it" to "how can we fix that now". Smiles from everyone on staff makes you feel like you are at home. Great resort, great location, great management. Can't wait for our 11th year to start in December January 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Spring Break! Exceeded expectations across the board. My 8 year old daughter cannot wait to return. The staff was attentive. Janice at the bar was the kind of employee every employer should have. The location is perfect. Because of the time of our arrival, we took a cab to the ferry. Make sure everyone in your cab is going to Red Hook. We nearly missed our ferry because the cabby had a few stops to make. Rent the Blast boat for a day, they will take you wherever you want to go. Like my daughter, I can't wait to get back. May 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location in St. John Considering the location of this hotel, we could not have found a more beautiful place to stay. The restaurants were great and the people are very accommodating. I was celebrating my 50th birthday and of course my husband made sure everybody knew it. They were all over it!! Each and everyone made me feel so special. What a wonderful team of employees. Neil (golf cart driver) was the man of the week. He was always johnny on the spot and was just a joy to get to know. Thanks a million, Neil!! December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cannot Wait To Go Back! Loved the Westin St John. The staff were so friendly and helpful - our favorite was Neal who shuttled us around the hotel - can't say enough how great he was! The villa was beautiful - clean and fabulous. The pool was huge and the grounds were just gorgeous. I would HIGHLY recommend the Westin in St John - we will definitely be going back! December 15, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Second Stay - Love This Resort! This was my second stay at the beautiful St John resort. The staff is efficient and friendly, the rooms are clean (although the cleaning staff could be a bit friendlier), the pool is beatiful (the staff at Snorkel's is wonderful, friendly and fun). The grounds are impeccable and the shuttle service was good. My only critique would be the room decor is old and tired and needs updating. Overall, a wonderful stay that met and exceeded most of my expectations. I cannot wait for my next trip! August 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel was a great vacation for my family and I. I came with my family for 1 week at the St. John Westin in November. We stayed in a 2 room villa. The accommodations were excellent. The beach was very nice. I would recommend this hotel. The regular hotel rooms are not nearly as nice as the villas, and I probably wouldn't stay in those. The transportation around the hotel is by calling for a golf caddy. This sometimes takes too long. Also, the bathrooms at the pool have a very bad smell. I would recommend them being cleaned more often. December 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel Just came back and wish we were still there. Had an awesome time. Everyone is so friendly. This year we didn't even leave the resort. The kids love the pool and water trampolines and especially Ezmerelda. (parrot). The food was delicious and the bar staff is awesome! Everyone goes out of their way to help with anything you need. We also took the boat Island Time to The Baths and Virgin Gorda. The boat crew was awesome. We love Cruz Bay Watersports too. Thanks. November 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our April 2012 vacation We just returned from our first stay at the Westin Resort St. John. The hotel and it's staff were wonderful. Always pleasant and helpful. We took advantage of the hotel transportation to and from the airport & ferry and it was well worth the extra money. Our room in building 23 was wonderful. & clean. The bed very comfortable. We had some of our best dinners at Cruz Bay Prime - Jesse our waiter was outstanding! We look forward to our next stay! May 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stay Great place great people. Prices for food was a bit high for me. May 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Guest Relations Manager barely responsive The flights were delayed and we paid for a night at St. John Westin that we were not in the hotel. I spoke with the concierge twice, who left two messages for the Guest Relations Manager. I also left two very detailed messages for him, and one for his manager. Total of 5 messages were left beginning on Thursday and he FINALLY left a message for us the night before we departed at 5:30 pm when we were out... without a resolution - only asking us to call him AGAIN. In my messages I asked him to call my cell phone so we could connect, instead he left a message in our room, while we were out. All we were requesting was some type of recognition from Westin that were paying (dearly) for a room we were unable to use and a gesture of compensation - perhaps a complimentary breakfast or dinner. We were so disappointed in the lack of response from the Guest Relations department. July 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Resort But........ The male at guest services in the lobby did not know anything about the island.This was our 2nd trip there so we knew what was going on.He was just trying to get everyone to do the timeshare review.He told us beaches where closed,it was going to rain so we should just stay at the resort.Lies lies lies. Skip guest services in the lobby you are better off. Beautiful resort and the rest of the staff was great. April 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointed We went on our honeymoon here, and having been here 11 years ago with a better experience, I was a bit dissapointed. We arrived at 11AM and wanted to check in early, and had called a few days prior requesting this and were told they would try do so. When we arrived they didn't seem to have a record of this request and told us they'd try to get a room ready. Thus, we weren't notified until 245PM that we could check in early, just 15 minutes short of normal check in time, so we had to lock up our bags and sit around at the pool waiting. I know there is no gaurentee of early check in, but I've never had an issue with doing so at tons of other hotels and considering this was off-season I find it hard to believe theyy couldn't find a room to get us in. Further, the staff overall was not very friendly considering the price we were paying to stay there. I'm not sure if I would come again. August 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience I loved my stay at The Westin St. John. It was absolutely wonderful. Everything was there to accommodate my needs including taxis. Room was clean and sufficient. The staff was attentive, Roberta at the concierge desk helped with dinner reservations at Zo Zos, Carlos at the front desk was very accommodating and enjoyed talking with Antkia at the Beach Cafe & Bar . Can't wait to come back. June 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great family resort Great for families with young kids. Staff is responsive, helpful. Good amenities, don't nickel and dime you with beach chairs, floaties, etc. April 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful grounds We did enjoy our stay but was disappointed that the beachfront rooms were old. The food was extremely expensive and the pool bar only stays open till 5. So if you just want to chill with a burger for dinner you can't get it after 5:00. Bummer not everyone wants to get dressed and go to a expensive restaurant every night. Kids had a blast with pool volleyball. Overall I would go back August 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent facility...but watch out for race carts Very nice facility and location. Beach & pool excellent. My main comment is the onrush of carts along the "walkways"...you are constantly having to get out of their way, all the time. And they seem to be getting bigger - now they are beginning to have All Terrain Vehicles as carts. They should at least try electric carts so the noise would be more bearable. January 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by No Need to Leave the Resort! I loved our stay at The Westin St. John. I know that St. John has much to do/see/eat... but we really didn't leave the resort once! The pool was expansive and beautiful, the beach was clean and well-appointment with chairs/umbrellas/pina coladas/iguanas, the room was simple but clean and sufficient, and the four restaurants had limited but delicious menus. June 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by BIG LETDOWN Arrived @airport, told that my party had connecting rooms, took ferry to resort & rooms were 4 rooms apart!!! Paid for deluxe room so we could have a fridge, went to put milk in mine & I didn't have one. Called to get one & it was left outside my door for ME to bring in & install!!!!! Hotel did upgrade our rooms voluntarily to get my party in connecting rooms, and then I had no air conditioning x 2 days & was treated very rudely by a staff member known to be rude to the guests. My guests room had roaches. We changed rooms twice and they wanted me to change again. I was only there for 5 days. On my last day, I asked for a late checkout , due to all I had been through, and they refused to give me more than 1 hour. My ferry was @ 1:45 & I only wanted 1 room until 1:30, but still they refused. Beach water is FULL of sea weed & it is hard to find a spot to enter the water without getting covered in it. Stay Somewhere Else!!!!!!!!!!!!! June 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay other than maintenance issues We have owned a studio villa in the virgin grand portion of the resort for 12yrs. And have seen steady improvement to the facility. Although it seems that maintenance does not monitor the room conditions. This yr, when we arrived the ceiling fan was close to falling down, there was still a full can of garbage under the sink ,the water pressure was close to non existent ( we had to call maintenance continuously regarding this issue) the tile floors are never very clean. We had a Palm tree that needed to be trimmed in order to see the bay( I contacted maintenance and the issue was not resolved until we spoke with one of the landscape personnel ourselves) . I have been impressed with how quickly maintenance did respond to some of the issues, in the past yrs. it could take 2 days to get a response to fix the fan. We do suggest renting a car to drive up and down the hill, the shuttle service that is offered is not very reliable, of course the car would be for a lot more than that. The beaches on this Island are Fantastic March 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed We stayed at the resort on points for the final 2 nights of our honeymoon. After coming off a week long private yacht charter we were psyched for a hot shower and clean room. Unfortunately, we found a cockroach in our bathroom and when reporting this to the front desk it seemed this wasn't a big deal. The room was otherwise clean. We weren't offered an upgrade at check in and when I asked if any were available the front desk employee, Franique, rudely stated it was extremely busy and nothing was available. An upgrade would've been great as we could hear every word from the guests in the adjacent room. We had hoped for a little recognition of our honeymoon in our room. We received nothing. Not even a note. Then as we checked out we were surprised to find charges not disclosed during check in. For example the daily $40 "resort" fee was ridiculous. Other resorts charge $10 and mention the fee at check in. We noticed a $3 discrepancy in our room service bill and asked for a refund of that amount at check out. Similar to check in, Franique was again rude and was inconvenienced to make the change. She didn't bother to remove the tax on the error either. Yea, it's not going to break the bank but recovering with flair goes a long way and no effort was made to do so. Overall we left upset with the experience and frustrated with the charges. No effort was made to overcome the shortcomings and dealing with Franique only made it worse. I travel extensively, am a Starwood Gold member and at $500+ per night I expect an exceptional level service. We won't return nor recommend this resort to friends and family. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by attention to detail We vacation somewhere about every other month. This was our first time to St Johns and we were impressed with the Westin. The resort is beautiful and well maintained however the staff from front desk to housekeeping was exceptional. If you needed something they were right there to take care of your every need. Great vacation. December 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great secluded hotel Great hotel. Great pool. Great staff. We had a wondeful time. The watersport equipment provided by the hotel is fantastic. The only negative feedback that I have is that the hammocks are reserved for cabana rentals. I used one without realizing it and was asked to get off by the a hotel staff. September 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great resort but beware of sales safe for time share. This island sells itself. It's beautiful!!! We been coming to St. John since 1993. We own 2 time shares with the Westin. We had an issue with an explorer package and I've been in touch with the 800 # to resolve. The issue was we couldn't change the dates for the week we chose. We had to guess our kids spring break last year for 2015. At the time the sales person, Rob, told us it could be adjusted. When we arrived to the Westin this time, we were ask if we wanted to make an appt to review our time share. We said no because we were happy with what we have. Later in the week we were approach again about a meeting to see the time shares sales people. Again we no said, but mentioned the problem with moving the dates of the 2015 trip. We were told to go because they could definitely help us. So on Easter morning we got up and went to the meeting in hopes with some help. The sales help answer to our problem was to spend another $14,000 + and the would credit only 10% on what we spent on the explorers package. They didn't want to hear ANYTHING about our problem! WE FELT duped into the meeting and was VERY insulted. We totally understand the value in the resort. We feel the owners don't get any support from the sales people. Their only purpose is to sell more at any cost. With this we are very disappointed in the whole time share sales process. April 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is dated and in need of repair 50% of the staff were unfriendly. Acted with attitude and as if they hated their job, poor morale. The rooms are also in need of updating and maintenance. We actually had to move to a different room because of some noise comming from within the walls. The only positive was the location. June 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Resort My family enjoyed a week in St. John. The grounds were well manicured, the pool and beach were great, and the room was wonderful. We were in an SPG room(2200 block), it was great. Thanks to the staff for making our spring break very memorable. We will be returning soon. April 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfy Hotel With Good Pool and Food We enjoyed our stay. The suite was a great size and was near the pool and the beach. The grounds were well groomed, and the staff was very friendly, even when we were less than pleased about missing amenities in our suite and frequent problems with the door keys. June 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Relaxing Getaway We stayed in the villas across the street and up the hill. They are pretty removed from the resort, and super quiet. We didn't mind the walk down to the resort or calling their golf carts to take us. The villa was nice, comfortable and in pretty good shape. There was a market 1/2 block away that had everything we needed. The resort is close to town, and not far to the other beaches that had snorkeling. We were a little disappointed with the watersports/beach at the resort. They have limited, dated equipment, and lots of guests trying to use it. The property quits signing out equipment and selling food at the pool bar at 4:00. Kind of odd everything shuts down, no drinks, towels etc. after about 4:30. We did some dives with Cruz Bay. They were fantastic! The beach at the property is not nearly as beautiful as the other beaches on the island. So the resort is okay, but after realizing the $40 resort fee was high for what was there, and the headache of it all, We ended up spending much more time at other beaches, and had a great time! July 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by getting better every year 13th year of great vacations in St. John. Service gets better each year. Staff is very helpful. Lots of updates and changes making this a better place to stay. Villas are the best vacation spot in the Starwoods system January 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderfully relaxing! Excellent facility with all the amenities! A little far from town and taxi costs add up quickly. A complimentary town shuttle is an obvious solution and would be quite welcome! Service here is a strong point and should be appaluded! October 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by St John We had a wonderful time on the island of St. John. It is charming. The hotel provided us with all theinformation we needed to explore the island and have wonderful meals. Would come again in a minute. October 12, 2012
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>