The Westin St. John Resort

  • 300A Chocolate Hole
  • St. John,
  • Islas Vírgenes
  • 00830
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar
  • Para hospedajes de más de 90 días, llame al 866-539-3446.
  • Solamente puede reservar con 550 días de anticipación.
  • Vuelva a revisar las fechas.
1 habitación 1 habitaciones , 1 adulto 1 adultos , 1 niño 0 niños
Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 262 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below Exepectations I will say that we have traveled to Caribbean resorts every winter for the past four years, and this Westin falls to the bottom of the list of our choice destinations. I would, unfortunately, agree with most of the reviews that say this hotel charges like a five star resort, but our experience was much more like a three star resort. First off, I am still struggling with the billing department to get our billing statement corrected. It has taken three plus attempts and they still cannot seem to straighten out that our package included breakfast (yet they charged for breakfast). They also had a charge on the bill from the last departing guests from our room for $100! I would also say the hotel just feels very much run down and in desperate need of a “face lift”. The breakfast buffet was a huge disappointment each and every day. It amazes me that this hotel can’t seem to figure out how to put together a “nice” and “eatable” buffet for $28 per person. The food in the hot plated area was stale and had obviously been sitting out for too long. The breakfast also lacked selection that we have seen at similar Caribbean hotels that offer buffet breakfast. We also found the staff to be very “hit or miss” in terms of their efforts to be friendly and helpful, or act as though they are doing us a favor. Unfortunately, I can’t recommend this hotel and we will not be returning. February 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean, beautiful and friendly propery We stayed here over New Years 2012 & were pleasantly surprised. We were staying on points and got upgraded to an amazing villa!! Thank you Westin!!!! Our unit was updated and very clean, we even had daily maid service. It was wonderful not to have to hurry in from the beach and shower to go to dinner, we BBQ most of the time. There is a nice starfish market 5 minutes down the street by cab. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews written. The property was just as clean & beautiful as it was 15years ago. The beach was nice and clean with plenty of chairs. We were a bit concerned w/ complaints about staff not being top notch but everyone we had contact w/ from the front desk to the pool bar to the snorkel gear was extremely friendly. Also the car rental on property was helpful in getting us a jeep for the day ( the island was sold out of Jeeps 2 months ago). My only complaint was the BUG BITES.. I had read on trip adviser ahead of time about this & did use bug spray but obviously not enough. By mid week I had 105 bites!!! OUCH.... We think most of them came from the early evenings when I would go out to the pool to BBQ. My family got very few bites & they seldom came out to the BBQ :-) The computers on the gym equipment didn't work to well & took a while to get started. We use the Westin Ferry from the airport & it was worth every dime!! January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Island get away! Our stay at the Westin St. John was very relaxing. I was amazed at the amount of children at the resort and I thought that noise would be a problem. The resort is spread out where this is not a problem at all. The staff were very nice and service was up to expectations. If you love hiking, snorkeling, and all water sports, St. John is a great island to stay at. We had a great time and can not wait to go back. January 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just the attitude,,,,, I have to confirm what I was reading here. The rooms and the place is great - clean - great food etc. But there is a problem with the staff - they are correct and some what friendly - but they act like forced labor. Nobody really wants to work - nobody is really personal or goes the extra mile ( some exceptions - they red t-shirt water sport people were great...!) Reception was a disaster - few people inside were hiding - one person miserable trying to work on the line - forget the SPG member line. Nobody ever there. The shuttle service to drive you like to the parking and so ....they always fly by- try to catch them - good luck... nobody ever stopped and asked if need transport. Seating hostess and waitress - same thing. They are all correct but nobody is personal or goes the extra mile.Even The vacation / concierge people trying to run ...away ....Compared to other SPGs....this is a little strange. Again the place is beautiful - well taken care off and food is great. But staff as a group needs that adjustment that the customer is why they have that job...We really felt like we bother them every time we needed help like ordering food or something. Yeah somewhat disappointed. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin St John exceeded expectations You arrive to a beautiful place that is even better than expected. At check-in, staff bend over backwards to welcome us and to recognize our SPG status. First class greeting for sure. They took us to our room with our luggage, but spent the time to take us around and show us the resort. This staff was proud to be here, and we could see that. The villa that we were upgraded to was WAY beyond our expectation. The housekeeping was outstanding too. Friendly, thorough, etc. Shuttles were always available. Staff is 5 star. All of our visit (it ends tomorrow) was outstanding. I cannot understand why some reports don't glow as they should. The only negative is the tiny Spa facility for my wife's nail treatment., and that didn't dampen our 5 star experience. We love this place, and our friends are coming for a wedding visit in two months. They too will be thrilled. January 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Still needs improvement This hotel is in desperate need of a complete overhaul both the cabana's (especially old wood exterior) and the service staff. This is a 3 star resort with 5 star prices. I spend 35 days/year in SPG properties and this continues to be the worst location. I would mention that I book SPG Hotels consistently while I am on the road because I have had a great experience at their other locations. Corporate headquarters needs to move quality employees that care and weed out the "systemic" bad service/attitude staffers. Not everyone just about 65% or so. I found the concierge and the front desk manager to be a few of the most competent and helpful people. I love this island and got married there so I keep coming back for a night or two to see if things have improved at this location and unfortunately they have not. Main issues on this trip…namely one of the staff cursed off my wife-unfortunately wasn’t there to get her name, multiple golf carts blowing past me while I was carrying 3bags and a diaper bag around my head from the parking lot, slow service/attitude at pool bar. Dinning at the Beach Café was a pleasant surprise as the food has vastly improved. But basically I found myself not being able to let my guard down and not relax on vacation due to these issues. The final straw was the $240 roundtrip for two ferry service that dumped us off at Redhook on our return. The 9am departure on the schedule specifically noted Cruz Bay Marina which is minutes from the airport but our Westin ferry was routed to Redhook (most likely to save fuel costs) where we were dumped on the back of an outdoor taxi for the 40minute bumpy ride. Extra fun with a 6 month old and a nice experience to finish your vacation. January 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Resort is beautiful Our 2 bedroom villa was amazing and very spacious and had a fabulous view of the bay. Loved the pool area and private beach. On the negative side, Cruz Bay water sports staff did not communicate to us what forms needed to be completed for the Virgin Gorda trip, nor did they tell us we needed cash for the customs fees. We found out about all of this as we were ready to board the boat. Very frustrating! Additionally, overall the food at the resort failed to impress us, it was mediocre at best. Cruz Bay Prime restaurant was somewhat better. And, if you don't like bugs, then be prepared! We even had the deet wristbands and used the deet spray when going out in the evenings, but were still eaten alive. January 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by wake up early very expensive for quality, food below ave if you want a beach chair get up early. December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful resort in paradise My wife and I went to the lovely resort for our honeymoon for the first week of dec and loved it!!! we had the 2 bedroom villas that were amazing to stay in. the grounds of the resort were just breath taking, I have been to a lot of Island resorts and this one was just great. as a spg member thay really want to make sure you are appreciated at all times. So me and the wife will be going back again next dec with another couple. see you 2013 dec December 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Please downgrade this hotel..not great or luxury Please down grade this hotel. This is a star 3. 1. Little to no service. Staff were rude and not helpful. Only staff that were great were the man and lady helping with restaurant reservations. And by the way, when my card didn't work in the ATM it was my problem. 2. Please get rid of the golf carts. I woke up every morning to them. Watch out walking on the path. 3. Gym - really not great. The buttons on the machines did not work well and could not watch tv 4. Room. Not bad but the tv did not work. Good luck having someone come fix this 5. Food was completely over priced and not that great. 6. Hotel completely outdated.Completely different than the picture 7. Great - pool and its in St. John December 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall Great Time Overall this is a great hotel..awesome pool, great beach, good bar and food, well kept grounds, clean rooms. Only two complaints would be the mosquitos and the friendliness of some of the staff (concierge? your job is to welcome guests and be attentive to their needs, be nice!) Great time! December 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to standards This hotel looks worn. Room amenities, beach mats, lounges, etc. need replacement. for this level of Starpoints, and a charge of $40/day, they should be much better. I've stayed at Sheratons hotels with better amenities for far fewer points. Tennis was non-existent for higher level players. Food at restaurant was not very good. After eating at restaurant on first night, we never went back. Our neighbors left unfinished food on the patio for a number of days, and the cleaning staff never removed it. So called "free" WIFI was virtually non-existent. December 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location in St. John Considering the location of this hotel, we could not have found a more beautiful place to stay. The restaurants were great and the people are very accommodating. I was celebrating my 50th birthday and of course my husband made sure everybody knew it. They were all over it!! Each and everyone made me feel so special. What a wonderful team of employees. Neil (golf cart driver) was the man of the week. He was always johnny on the spot and was just a joy to get to know. Thanks a million, Neil!! December 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Quality of stay far below expectations created by Westin's marketing campaign Resort marketing noted top notch accommodations with exceptional food and service...none of which were found to be true. Our initial room smelled of heavy mold and our second didn't smell much better. I called the service deck concerning the moldy smell in the first room and they verbalized they would call right back when aother room was located but we were never called back. After waiting 30 minutes I called the service desk again and they verbalized they had forgotten to check for another room or to call us back! Neither of the rooms had been cleaned...dirt and grass all over carpet on stairs and in each room. There was not a single wash rag in either of the two bathrooms. Decor was a bad 80's look and it appeared the room had not seen an update since original construction. Furniture was stained and not set up appropriately (cushions missing, lamp lights burned out, etc.) Staff at registration desk never smiled. or apologized for any of these problems. However, there were a couple of good points to mention. Our bed was very comfortable/clean, grounds were beautiful and a few select staff were very friendly and helpful. And given the Westin had a three night cancellation fee I was unable to afford to find my family another place to stay. Westin should have waived the cancellation fee after all the problems they caused us but I suppose that's why they lock you into the three night calcellation fee. Given the high expectations created by Westin's grand marketing campaign I felt like I really let my family down when we arrived. When we were checking out I really felt the cost of our stay should have been fully refunded given the circumstances. Westin had us backed into a corner with thier cancellation policy so we had no other choice but to stay and pay a huge rate for far less than average accomodations. December 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by attention to detail We vacation somewhere about every other month. This was our first time to St Johns and we were impressed with the Westin. The resort is beautiful and well maintained however the staff from front desk to housekeeping was exceptional. If you needed something they were right there to take care of your every need. Great vacation. December 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rooms need to be updated/remodeled. The rooms have not had any updating in 20 years. If you want to stay in a run down old hotel room then this resort is for you. If you want a nice newly furnished place to stay, look for someplace else. The outside grounds are kept very nice. The rooms are a disgrace to the Westin name. December 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel was a great vacation for my family and I. I came with my family for 1 week at the St. John Westin in November. We stayed in a 2 room villa. The accommodations were excellent. The beach was very nice. I would recommend this hotel. The regular hotel rooms are not nearly as nice as the villas, and I probably wouldn't stay in those. The transportation around the hotel is by calling for a golf caddy. This sometimes takes too long. Also, the bathrooms at the pool have a very bad smell. I would recommend them being cleaned more often. December 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay, not great. The choices on St. John are limited in this hotel category, so this may be as good as it gets. The good: Room was very nice and spacious. The work out room is fine and our massages were great. We stayed in the Villas up on the hill. The steakhouse, CB Prime, was excellent. The fair: A portion of the staff is slow and surly. Some of them provide great service and seem to care, but there is clearly a contingent that isn't motivated. The bad is the bugs. We're from Flirda and have noseeums, but they were absolutely ferocious. The view from our room was of the road which isn't very attractive. We were disappointed the front desk couldn't get us into our room earlier despite plenty of turnover the nighht before. December 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel Just came back and wish we were still there. Had an awesome time. Everyone is so friendly. This year we didn't even leave the resort. The kids love the pool and water trampolines and especially Ezmerelda. (parrot). The food was delicious and the bar staff is awesome! Everyone goes out of their way to help with anything you need. We also took the boat Island Time to The Baths and Virgin Gorda. The boat crew was awesome. We love Cruz Bay Watersports too. Thanks. November 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs attention to be a 'Westin' This hotel is in a beautiful spot and one of only a couple of hotels on St. John. Upon checking in we were not greeted with a warm welcome by anyone on staff. The front desk clerk checked us in but did not go out of her way to acquaint us with the property, the facilities, or the island. When we arrived in our room, the first thing we noticed was a huge patch of the ceiling that was stained and crumbling from rain damage. it rained that evening and the rain came in through the ceiling. we moved rooms and while it didnt have a leak, it need an update as well. overall, not the quality one would expect from a Westin or a Starwood. November 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by average stay My stay with you was disappointing in that while the facilities were average, the cost was above average. I don't feel I got my money's worth. The meals in the Beach Bar and Grill were excellent, the Cruz Bay Prime was below average. I would think that when someone pays these prices, they should be thinking "Wow", and I wasn't. November 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations! After reading some of the reviews on this property, I had some concerns that we would be disappointed. We were pleasantly surprised at the beautiful grounds, friendly staff, and the updated decor and great view from our hillside villa. We had a very quick checkin process and were upgraded to a larger one bedroom villa with a great view. We had rented a jeep so parking right outside our room was very convenient. We loved it! November 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Excellent. Excellent. Excellent. Excellent. Excellent. November 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pillows While I think the bed is quite nice, the pillows are far too thick. They should provide more than one type of pillow as I woke up every morning with a stiff neck. November 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brief weekend--Poor planning! Used SPG points to finally get to this property to celebrate my 50th birthday this past weekend. Was a little worried after reading some reviews that criticized rooms, bathrooms, beds, etc, but went ahead anyway. Wow--so glad I didn't let those negative reviews disuade me. What's wrong with some people? There was nothing to criticize about this place. Lived up to my expectations, and beyond. Rooms were classic Westin--comfortable, clean, relaxing. Beach and bay water was wonderful. Food was delicious. Somewhat high prices are to be expected in a resort on an island where everything is brought in by boat. Cruz Bay was super cute! The Westin boat service was convenient. Nothing--absolutely nothing--to criticize. Thanks to Mr. Shamir for his kind hospitality. Thanks also to Jamisha for welcoming us at STT and making us feel at home from the moment we arrived at St. Thomas. I would absolutely visit this hotel again, anytime. Although brief, it was a memorable birthday thanks to the staff at the Westin and this beautiful beach hotel. November 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by hotel in paradise great location, easy to get to wonderful beaches. lovely grounds, pools and villas. October 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WONDERFUL LOCATION/FACILITY My wife and I have been vacationing on the island of St John for over 20 years. We have always rented a private home and also rented a car. This year we stayed at the Westin and DID NOT have to rent a car. We took the taxi to town and/or restaurant . ----no driving and or parking problems. We spent our time at the Westin beach or pool swimming/reading and also went with Capt. Phil for a day of snorkeling . Very DISAPPOINTED with the music selections played on pool area speakers October 21, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dirty, Noisy, and did not meet expectations for the price This review is based on fact with this hotel and hotel only. The room was dirty and I have pictures to show the condition of the room. The room service was poor and not helpful. We ordered a Tukey BLT sandwhich with chips and salsa. We received an Italian sandwhich with tostitos chips and salsa. when we called the service desk we were advised that we had been charged for all items. I asked what had happened to the BLT and I was advised that they had run out so they figured they would sent the italian instead and still charge without informing me of such. I asked where the chips and salsa came from and I was advised they went to the store and bought it becuase they ran out. Every morning at the hotel there was work being done outside our room at 7:00 am keeping us from sleeping. The air conditioner did not work properly. The front desk staff was so unhelpful we refused to us them after being misinformed twice. We were told most of the restuarants on the island were closed. We rented a car and drove the island and found that every one they advised us of being closed was open and had been open. We were even told that westin employees had been dining at these restuarants but they were informing guest that they were closed. We ordered drinks and no two drinks ordered wree made the same. Every time we ordered something we had ordered previsouly it was made with different ingredients based on the bar tender. There were multiple gym appliances broken. The medicine balls were flat. October 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding & BY far best Carribean Location to go My wife and I travel every november to a new and exciting tropical location to celebrate our anniversary, We stayed here last november for 8 days, we commpletely fell in love with this place for everything from the amazing beach, outstanding staff, excellent food, gorgeous landscaping, perfectly clean rooms & outstanding views in every direction. We are returning again in 2 weeks from now to do it all over again, only this time were bringing friends with us. This is the 1st time were returning to our previous location, we could not help ourselves. Only this time we will be seriously considering purchasing a timeshare. I cannot thank the resort and staff enough for providing us with the perfect anniversary trip. As for anyone considering this location, dont put too much thought into it, you cannot go wrong here. Take the time and book the bad kitty excursion to go to the baths in the british west indies virgin gorda, ABSOLUTELY AMAZING DAY See you in 2 weeks. October 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin St. Johns Oct 2012 My wife and I along with my cousin and her husband spent the week of October 6th 2012 at the Westin St. John. We had a wonderful time because it was off season and quite, not a lot of kids, no crowds and we had the beach almost all to ourselves. We spent hours each day just standing in the sea water relaxing and enjoying the day. We rented a jeep ($100.00 per day) and explored other beaches which was great fun. Trunk Beach had good snorkeling, excellent for beginners. We rented a jeep a second day and explored the other side of the island which included a wonderful hamburger at a place called Skinny Legs (or something like that). All the guests were friendly, we met a number of really nice people. It was so relaxing. There were two drawbacks, the first being the distance from our room (building 34) to the beach, down a very steep hill (also up a very steep hill) and the "Island Service". To offset the steep hill there are free shuttle golf carts however it appeared there was only one driver which meant you waited. The second issue is what I call "Island Service" which loosly translates to I will serve you when I get around to it. This was particularly prevelant in the restaurants. Overall it was a good week and I would recommend it to our friends and family. We live in southern California so it took a little time getting used to the humidy. We were all disappointed by the Ferry & Bus drivers who had their hand out most of the time looking for tips. My cousin said the public ferry driver wouldn't touch their luggage unless they promised a tip! October 18, 2012
  • 2016-02-05 T05:52:42.492-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_262, tr_262
  • loc_en_US, sid_1098, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 next>>