The Westin St. John Resort

  • 300A Chocolate Hole
  • St. John,
  • Ilhas Virgens
  • 00830
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Quartos e tarifas

Fechar

Crianças por quarto

Esta informação nos permite identificar os quartos que acomodarão melhor o seu grupo e nos preparar para sua chegada.

Consulte os termos e detalhes do quarto para obter informações sobre encargos por cama dobrável e/ou pessoa extra.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 227 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service, Dirty Rooms, Concierge not helpful Stayed three nights Fri-Mon. Spg member: with that only perk was "free SLOW wifi...if i wanted faster service I would have to pay. Booked through spg website so no 3rd party. Received email from concierge asking for specific interests. Stated clearly that i needed a room without musty or moldy smells and that has been consistently used. ( I have learned even Westin, Hilton,etc need this reminder); asked for extra blankets, extra tea bags, upgrade if possible, early check in. No repsonse once this reply was sent; Resent this again 1 week before arrival; Called left message for early check in possibility; left phone number. No call back. Finally called again and was told no early check in avail. Check in at 3pm. No parking near front area. Had to park quite far away from paver walkway outdoor to reception building.No lobby at all. Simply 2 small front desks, 2 chairs by computers (business center). Four chairs by "concierge" desk/ villa sales. Was disappointed no bellman to assist me with my luggage and 3 add. bags. Was asked if I needed help as I opened the front door!There were Westin workers sitting in golf carts watching me haul all these things by myself and offered no assistance. At 3:40 pm I was told there were no rooms ready for me and I can find a seat a wait for one. There were no comfy chairs. Only 2 stiff chairs by "business center" so I stood. And stood. Waited 30 minutes. Finally a room was available. Carlos, the front desk worker, was nice and polite, but did not have the charisma to have the position he held for a Westin. Forgot to give me back my Visa and tossed on counter and said something off color, when it should have been placed in my hand and with an apology. When I explained that I was surprised my room was still not ready and check in was 3pm, he walked a few feet from desk and got on walkie-talkie and talked about my situation and I could hear everything. After another ten minutes or so, he said there was a room. I explained I hope that my requests were satisfied and he stated he did not receive requests. (?? what was the concierge letter for then?) He said I would be assisted to my room by a golf cart. i had to wait ten more minutes.After five minutes waiting for a cart, a gentleman walked in and wanted to check into his villa --which is on other side of property than my room. Within one minute he was checked in and when the driver came to take me, front desk told him to take this gentleman and his party to his villa.(despite the fact I had been waiting VERY long). We could share a ride. I carried most of my bags and driver assisted w/ two others. Waited in cart a few minutes and the villa gentleman said he was waiting for his wife to join him. We waited a few minutes and I asked the driver if he could please take me as I had been waiting for a long time and this guy just walked into the building. He asked the villa man if he would be OK if I was taken to my room and he would go back when his party was complete. He agreed. I showed the driver my key number. By this time I was tired and very thirsty. He drove me around and unpacked my things; together we carried bags up elevator and he took my room card and sighed and said we were in the wrong spot. He thought I was staying in the villas also. So we had to bring everything back into the golf cart and drive to the other side.. NO offer to set up luggage, orient me to room or property or amenities by Anyone! Two minutes later the phone rang. Concierge peppy and excitedly asked me how was my stay going at the Westin? I said I was tired and very thirsty and had issues getting into my room. I asked where the water bottles were in the room? (Most have them.)She said she didnt know and I should call the restaurant regarding the water bottles. But she wanted to book my trips and activities during my stay so to get in touch with her by 7:30 and as a bonus I could get a 15% off certificate for some stores downtown .... (SHE WANTED HER COMMISSION ON BOOKINGS... that is all concierge was interested in.... unbelievable. That is not a concierge!) I called restaurant and they said if I wanted water I needed to walk to the market store and buy a bottle. After examination, I noticed the moldy smell and checked the bathroom. There was mold all over the grout and cracked tiles, dirty floors, a penny under a pillow, and a desk that was missing draws, furniture scratched, and only one outlet for computers/phones behind furniture which required crawling on floor and moving furniture. I called down and said that the room was not acceptable due to the dirty/moldy/musty bathroom and the only main request I sent in was please NO MOLDY BATHROOMS! Said they did not receive any requests. (What happened to the replies sent to Concierge) Carlos told me there were no other rooms available. He would send " housekeeping" to see what they could do. Took photos and sent to spg/westin on Twitter and FB. In 10 minutes after pics sent to Twitter, Carlos called and said he was told he located a room for me to switch into and someone would be there in 15 minutes. I waited over one hour for anyone to arrive. I carried some bags and he carried others. I got on golf cart and he started to take me to my new room, meanwhile 3 people wanted a ride to the taxi area to get a taxi downtown. He drove them all the way over to that taxi stand before taking me to my 2nd room. Did not talk to me at all. Second room was on first level. I carried most of my things, he could not locate the room keys in his pocket. he tried all the ones he had. Then while he back-tracked, someone picked two keys off the ground and asked if he was looking for these. FINALLY, he got me into my room. Again, no offer to set up on luggage rack or orient me to room which was basically mirror image of previous room. Then he waited there expecting a tip. At this point, I was not tipping anyone. I said thanks and good-night. Room was a bit better with regard to mold level, but still seven or eight areas of mold on walls and around water faucet. Floor dirty. Hair and a straw under the sink area. Armpit hair in the sleeve of Westin bathrobe which was all wrinkled all over: used. Same situation with the other one. Wrinkled all over therefore did not attempt to put on. Sheets clean, bed comfortable. Desk more appropriate, no "missing" draws. Still a lack of convenient plugs. Decor just OK. No extra personal items that most upscale resorts have in rooms. TV channels limited and all with extra "TV product" commercials even at normal times like 8pm. No room service, no offer for comp razors or static guard if you forgot it. No milk for coffee as Kimpton and Hiltons and other chains offer. Bottle cap under bed ( floors not getting cleaned). Dirty stains on bathroom wall/door/floor. Wore my slippers while in room entire time. Went to buy milk at the "Marketplace" for my coffee/tea and 8 oz containers were all expired. Told this to manager and she replied:well what do you want? ME: milk that is not expired.HER;then you need to buy half a gallon. So that is what I had to do for 4.99 which considering the food costs, was not that bad, but I knew I would not use it all. Grounds well kept and pretty. Pool very nice. Marketplace had small assortment of snacks and beverages and lunch items, pastry/muffins/bagels,. Look at menu as there are many other things on menu than on actual display like make your own pizza. Asked concierge for times for car ferry, she handed me a Westin handout and said for me to call to confirm calls as they might have changed.! (Could not believe this!) Told her I had no reception on cell phone. She said call from room, she thinks it is no charge ( NO: little sign next to phone states local calls are 1.50). Last day wanted to snorkel a few spots a read about in Fodors. Asked different Concierge for road directions to specific spots I wanted to go to. She told me I did not need to go to the other side of the island to snorkel and I could just stay at Trunk Bay and Cinnamon Bay and snorkel. It was dangerous to go to the other side of the island and she would not recommend it. Went to snorkel renal on Westin and rented my snorkel gear and asked them and they were stunned and said best snorkeling is at one of the spots I wanted to go to. They said it is not dangerous and easy to drive to and short easy clearly paved walk. I suggested they connect w/ concierge so that both are on same page w/ recommendations/directions/ perceptions. Last night got food to go from Lemongrass restaurant. Spinach salad w/ edamine great. Salmon pretty good but very small portion. Rice pudding dry and not good. Health center lots of machines. Magazines from 2013. Steamroom out of order. Bathrooms dirty. Limited classes/ 3 x a week. Very small locker room with no water/fruit/ lotions, etc that other Spa Hotels have. Would never get a spa service here. Very large separate enclosed area for Villa sales. Was given 100$ credit for my delay of room. Considering a 40$ Resort Fee per day and taxes/fees and price of room I feel that this stay was completely NOT worth it. Just stayed at a Kimpton in Philly PA and Cambridge MA for less and got SO MUCH More in return, better service, much more friendly workers across the board, cleaner, more perks. If I come back to St John will go to Caneel Bay, if I go to large resort; Never again to St John Westin. The Westin Resort in Maui was so nice and not at all like this one in St. John. Room Tip: Had one room VERY moldy on 2nd floor, given a different room first floor - seemed better caulking in... See more room tips Stayed July 2014, traveled solo 1 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Location 1 of 5 stars Service August 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a Platinum Level Resort St John is "Breath Taking" The Westin St John is 3 Star Resort The Food /Restaurant is 2 Star The Management Responsiveness is 1 Star Overall Service is 2 Star The Price is 5 Star.... enough said ! Not a "Platinum Experience" :( July 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Split up Family Upon requesting a room for a family of 5 vacation I was informed i needed to reserve and pay for two rooms. I then asked to make sure my three young teenagers could be placed in a room connected. I was told I had reserved such rooms. Upaon checking in we were seperated both inside the rooms as well as outside wheree the patio area was also seperated by a wall. We were told that our last two nights were the only nights you could accomodate a connecting room. We agreed yet stayed in all morning into the afternoon where we finally went sightseeing and left the room. No calls or attempts to contact us that morning were made and no arrangements to have us moved were epidited. I had five nights of restless sleep worrying that everyone was safe and taken care of in their own rooms. An additional expese was nessesary to purchase double of everythingwe brought and planned to share as a family in the rooms conecting. Upon checking in I was told be the front desk that I didnt need to be connected to my kids, that they would be fine without their parents. We were extremely unsatisfied. We were also not informed of renovations until it was passed the cancelation policy to cancel. It was noisy and hot tub was not in working order as well as no main lobby August 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great hotel but construction was noisy Love the Westin, Have stayed there many times. Recently stayed in villas in oct & dec but main pool was closed. It was disappointing because that was our main draw with the kids. But they gave me a free stay to come back and when I did there was so much noise by the pool with construction of the villas, we could hardly talk and hear each other. Would go back but not until construction was done it was very stressful August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by No SPG Recognition First off I am a Platinum member and did not recieve a gift or even bottled water in my room. I booked four nights at the Westin St. John two with Resort Rewards and two with my SPG points. First they created two seperate reservations which was a nightmare to try and combine. They put me in two different rooms for the stay and I asked three months in advance to be put in one room and not moved. The room was very dirty there was brown mud or something on the wall and the floor had not been vaccumed. I was traveling with another family and they were put in a better/larger room even though they booked after me and did not have status. There was no additional bennefits for having platinum status and the staff seemed annoyed that I asked to have my room switched because we were near a very noisy ice machine on the first floor. I love St. John but would not go back to the Westin November 28, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Our Westin Time !! My wife and I stayed for 5 nights. The room was nice and the beachfront location was fabulous! We did have air conditioning problems the entire time. Maintenance came by three times to fix it, but did not correct the problem (would start up and roar like a Mack truck for 10-20 seconds and shut off again). This would wake us up continuously during the night. We did not like the food, breakfast or dinner at the Beach Cafe. We felt the quality of the food served was very average. The servers were not very personable, especially for the breakfasts! We would end up being very frustrated by our breakfast experiences and that is no way to start the day on a lovely, tropical island! Also, we've never been to a resort that would offer the same exact choices for every breakfast! No variety! We did not try to the Cruz Bay Prime, so we can't comment on that facility. We did not feel that the service and food choices were exceptional for a $500.00 a night room. There's more to a great resort than location and that's all they have. They need to work on the food and the serving staff; all other employees were great !!!! January 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is disorganised Having previously enjoyed a stay at this resort we were disappointed by our recent visit. February 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't bother complain with SPG corporate Admittedly this hotel is the only one in St. John that has a loyalty program i.e. Starwood and the hotel staff know exactly how to take advantage of that. Don't even bother complaining with SPG corporate office or social media. The hotel just ignores it. Check-ins Lack of competition has really grant the hotel a freeway to treat Starwood Platinum guest below bar than any mainland Starwood properties. The front desk staff was completely incompetent and dishonest. I arrived at the hotel 3:40pm after stardard checkin time. The two rooms assigned for me the first one of them is not yet cleaned and the other has noise in the toilet. I had to find to supervisor to get a clean and normal room after waiting for an hour. It was 5pm when I got into my room after running back of force in a hot day. Grounds: The hotel charge $40 per day for its very limited resort service. The pool staff all left around 5:30pm. Lots of constructions/renovating going on here as of late July, 2014 and would continue onto 2015 so don't stay here for Thanksgiving or Christmas unless want to tour construction sites during holidays. There are much better places to go at the price level this hotel demands. Transport You cannot park your car inside the hotel. The parking lot is quite far from the hotel. If you take hotel ferry from STT, it would be $120 per person round trip and it is much more expensive then public ferry with less frequency. RESTAURANTS I tried only Lemongrass Restaurant And Bar and there were less than 5 people there on a Friday night 7pm. The steak was too salty and does not come with any sides. So yes you need to pay $7 more to get some mushed potato. Overall The hotel owners split up the hotel into regular rooms and villas. You can not get upgrade from regular rooms to villas even there are availability. So if you book a regular room and you would get a regular room no matter your status. Westin St. John has studio villa (has full kitchen) available for the same 12,000 points as the regular room. But front desk staff told me I need to cancel my current reservation and rebook for the studio villa before they can move me. I have NEVER heard of cancelling a room that I already checked in not to mention my deadline for cancel the room has passed and by cancelling I will be charged more than $300 penalty for the reservation. So instead of doing a simple internal exchange, front desk staff deliberately made the change impossible. Extremely unhelpful during the whole process. August 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wedding Travel - November 2013 Let me first stay, Westin hotels seldom disappoint. This resort however, was in complete disarray. From the start, the ferry was not running when our flight landed, to walking in the empty lobby with nobody to greet us or at the desk, the trip was very disappointing. We were charged an exorbinant resort fee when half the resort was actually closed or under construction. No pool, no pool bar, no nice dining option and a '80s era room. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded our expectations My wife, three kids and myself stayed in one of the three bedroom hillside villas during the Thanksgiving week. These condos look brand new and a great place to stay for a family. Three bedrooms (king, queen, and two doubles), and three bathrooms. Kitchen, full size dining table, small living room, and a washer and dryer. The rooms were spotless and the beds were extremely comfortable. The Westin transportation to and from the resort from St. Thomas was flawless and made the trip hassle-free. This resort covers a large area and the hill-side villas are a bit further away from the center of the resort than the hotel rooms and requires a fair amount of walking or waiting for hotel staff to drive us to different areas of the resort using a golf cart. We rented a Jeep from O'Connor car rental which is on the Westin property. We would spend the days driving to the different beautiful beaches on St. John and come back in the late afternoon so the kids would have time to play in the nice pool at the resort. The beach at the Westin is man-made and not nearly as nice as the beaches on the rest of the island, but the Westin was a great place to come back to when we were finished exploring the island. We took an excursion out of the Westin dock to the Virgin Gorda Baths which was one of the highlights of our trip. The only slight negative was the service. Everyone was nice and helpful, but almost too laid back, although the same is probably true at most Caribbean resorts. December 5, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Underwhelming Honeymoon Experience My husband and I arrived to the Westin St. John after 11 hours of travel from California. We had just gotten married and were so excited to embark on our honeymoon! When we arrived at the Westin St. John, we were given our room keys and checked in to our room. As soon as we walked in, I knew we had been given the wrong room. I had reserved an Ocean View room and we were given a Pool Side room. When I went to the Reception desk to let them know we were in the wrong room, only then did they say they had OVERSOLD our Ocean View room and would charge us for the Pool Side room. We were speechless. Not only did the Westin St. John team NOT acknowledge that we were there for our honeymoon (no congrats, welcome note, etc.), the Manager seemed to not care much about what had happened. The Manager said he would charge us for the Pool Side room, but I told him we obviously didn't want the Pool Side room. Only after I continued to push back, did he offer us a $100 credit. That's it. After 2 nights in our Pool Side room, they said we could move to an Ocean View room, however by that point we didn't want to pack and unpack again so we stayed for 2 more nights. The Concierge team also told my husband and I "they would make it right", but nothing ever happened. Aside from the POOR check-in reception, customer service and overselling our room, the resort is still undergoing construction which does not make the stay nearly as relaxing as we had hoped. Luckily, we met a couple Westin St. John staff members (Dennis & Neil) who were super friendly and helpful so we always enjoyed seeing them around the property! August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does Not Live Up to Expectations Our room was not ready upon check in and after seeing my wife fall asleep on the lobby couch the concierge "found" us a room because he "felt bad" We walked all the way to one side of the resort with out bags to find out the key did not work. Upon returning to the front desk the concierge laughed out loud and said the key works fine but he gave us the wrong number and we had to walk to a complete different unit with our bags in the 90 degree weather. I am an avid boater and sailor and your watersports department is the most unprofessional I have ever dealt with. After being tested of sailing knowledge and knot tying and passing everything the staff tried to talk me out of a sailboat use with the list of rules and warning. After I still insisted on taking the Hobie out the staff finally said “well you better not get stranded because I don’t want to have to make a rescue on my last hour of the day”. I guess he forgot that was part of his job regardless of the hour of the day. If you don’t want people sailing then don’t have them on your beach for show. Finally your pool scene is far from the exclusive resort that you bill yourself as. There are people from outside the resort all over, drunks with foam coolers filled with beers pounding pool side etc. If I wanted any of this environment I could have went to a Florida hotel for ¼ of the price. We also heard 2 other horror stories other couples had during our stay, as well as the incompetence of the head concierge Carlos’ responses. St. John is beautiful and we will return, just not to the Westin. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful vacation! My husband and I just returned from a week long trip celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. What a wonderful hotel and island. We didn't bring our son along this time, but I look forward to sharing the Westin with him next year. It is a family paradise! We camped out on the beach most days when we weren't making excursions for sailing, snorkeling or other day trips. I couldn't be more pleased with my investment in this time away together. Our room was right on the beach! We'll be back soon! This could easily replace Disney World in our travel options! Fun for all! April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular stay in a 3-bedroom pool villa Seven of my family members just returned from a five-night stay at the Westin St. John. I was a little concerned ahead of our visit since there are mixed reviews here, and while I was there I kept thinking that I can't imagine any complaints when staying at such a special place. And I am a person who has stayed at several hundred hotels in the past decade and can be picky about them. We had a three-bedroom pool villa, which was spacious and comfortable with the Heavenly beds and perfect for our extended family. We could have never left the villa and been totally happy, although we forced ourselves to get out and enjoy the rest of the resort and the beautiful island. I have two small children (4 and 2) who could have swam all day in our private pool at the villa. My husband grilled our main course for dinner every night while my sister cooked up the sides in the full kitchen complete with everything we needed for meal preparation. There is a market in close walking distance to pick up groceries. We loved the parking right at our villa and the friendly security at booth welcoming us with smile and wave, providing 24 hr monitoring of who comes on villa property. My children loved the playground, the iguanas roaming around, the main resort pool and the beach as well. As other reviewers have noted, the beach here is not as clear and pristine as the natural beaches along the island's north side. But it was so convenient to walk over and we were all happy to lounge there. My older son loved the Kids Club the one morning we sent him and also enjoyed sundaes and other activities by the pool. He was thrilled to win the grand prize at bingo! I appreciated the friendliness of the morning crew at Mango Deli who made my iced lattes and the staff at the towel check-in. Loved that there was the little book and magazine exchange there and the freecycle shed by our villa -- we picked up some beach chairs, a baby float, sand toys and tin foil that we put to good use. And when we left we returned the items there for another user, along with other things we didn't want to haul back home. The grounds and landscaping were lovely and the renovations that were going on were not too disruptive. We didn't use the Westin transport from STT since it would have been so incredibly expensive for our group and instead took the very easy and much more inexpensive public ferry, which I would recommend to other travelers. One suggestion for the management: We loved that the main resort pool had the little shallow section for babies, but what would make it even greater would be an umbrella to cover that section. Babies don't need a suntan, and the families there were often kind of crowding in the corner that was covered from an umbrella on the side. Also, it would be helpful if somewhere on your Web site or in an e-mail to villa guests you could list all the amenities that are available in them, since there is so much provided. There were lists in the room of what we had in the kitchen or could request if needed, but it would have been very helpful to know that before we arrived when we were packing. Thank you for a wonderful vacation! May 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Coming to this resort in Dec and am concerned After reading all the reviews, especially with problems, I'm having second thoughts about coming down in Dec. I see that an Admin Asst replies to all the issues, but does he/she really address these problems with 'upper management"? I'd like to hear what improvements/changes they are working on. I know some of them are true because our son and friends came down last Sept. and experienced a lot of these issues, especially no electricity for 2+ days. Please SVO listen to your clients/customers and make the NECESSARY changes! Please respond to my review! June 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel - overpriced The room was nice, internet didn't work, the gym was way overcrowded and the restaurant staff was so slow that it was a minimum of two hours for every meal. most irritating of all were the constant calls trying to sell us a timeshare or alert us about resort activities. It disturbed the vacation! January 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs attention to be a 'Westin' This hotel is in a beautiful spot and one of only a couple of hotels on St. John. Upon checking in we were not greeted with a warm welcome by anyone on staff. The front desk clerk checked us in but did not go out of her way to acquaint us with the property, the facilities, or the island. When we arrived in our room, the first thing we noticed was a huge patch of the ceiling that was stained and crumbling from rain damage. it rained that evening and the rain came in through the ceiling. we moved rooms and while it didnt have a leak, it need an update as well. overall, not the quality one would expect from a Westin or a Starwood. November 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful resort, friendly staff Stayed here for our 25th anniversary getaway. The stay exceeded expectations. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The facilities were well maintained and clean. The most relaxing and reinvigorating vacation I have ever taken. July 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great place What a wonderful week in St John and the Westin is a great place to stay. Staff was outstanding, room service and shuttle service very good. Our view from the Bay Vista villa outstand. Private and quiet. December 13, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good until end of stay The Westin provided us with enough amenities to enjoy our stay. We encountered several annoyances on the day before we checked out. Our key cards stopped working which required going to the main lobby to wait for security to issue us new cards. Also, housekeeping only partially cleaned our room at 4 pm. This was after I had called at 12 pm to have the room cleaned. On the last day, housekeeping kept knocking on our door to see if we had left the room because they were eager to turn it over. Where was that eagerness to clean the day before? It unfortunately left a black mark on an otherwise pleasant stay. December 31, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I am a SPG Platinum member and I did not get much recognition. The following things were not satisfactory: 1. The door to our room was very difficult to open it was sticking on the door jam. 2. We did not get bottled water or shower gel. Had to request them several times. 3. The bed did not feel like a heavenly bed. The floor in our bathroom was not cleaned for days until I complained about it. 4. The bar tenders and wait staff at the pool were not friendly and some were rude. One of the bartenders when I approached the bar looked at me and turn around and went the other side of the bar where no one was sitting. I asked what the drink of the day was and she turned the sign slightly on the back bar to show me. I asked for waters with the drinks I ordered twice and never received water. This bar tender never spoke one word to me, that is totally unacceptable. 5. The Westin ferry service was good on the ride from St. Thomas to St. John. The return trip was poorly communicated on multiple occasions. Were told three different departure times and got a different story every time I called service express. we were told to have our bags outside our room by 4:00 am at the latest for a 5:15 am ferry (which were told departed at 5:45, 5:00 and 5:15 am) They never picked up our bags. I called service express for help and they were argumentative with me, but finally sent security with a golf cart. 6. The renovation construction noise was aggravating. One bright spot of our visit was Eric the concierge, he was great! July 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wouldn't go back The rooms are run down and have bugs. There is absolutely no service at this hotel. Better off going to the public beaches. I was so disappointed by this resort. April 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the most beautiful places on earth I first visited St John as a young adult 27 years ago, and stayed at what was then known as the Virgin Grand St. John (now it's the Westin St John). After my first visit, I concluded that St, John had to be one of the most beautiful place I'd seen. 27 years, 35 countries a dozen Caribbean islands later, my opinion hasn't changed: St John is the one of the most beautiful places on earth. The Westin is in great shape. They're still working on renovations, but the guestrooms are brand new and the pool is fantastic. But it's the PEOPLE that turn a hotel stay into something special, and it's here that the Westin excels. What trick do you employ to remember guest's names? It's magical! And how do you get your people to constantly SMILE? The staff at the front desk, the friendly people at the Mango Deli, and (most especially) SUE at the pool hut who helped us with our Cabana rentals. It would simply not be possible for Sue to have been more warm, genuine and helpful. It's so clearly obvious that she loves her job and her life, and her spirit is infectious. A few very minor constructions issues aside, my only real (but slight) disappointment was in the hotel's beach. While it looked pleasant, the seaweed made swimming a bit dicey. However, we spent several glorious days at Trunk Bay, a beach that has few peers, so we didn't really need to use the beach at the hotel. Based on some reviews that I read before the trip, I was really expecting to be charged extortion pricing for food and drink. I was pleasantly surprised to find that F&B pricing was in line with what you would expect to pay at any island resort. It is an ISLAND after all, and practically everything has to be shipped in; higher prices come with the territory! My family & friends have made it an annual tradition to vacation at the Westin Maui in Hawaii, but we're rethinking that tradition; alternating between Maui and St. John seems to be the new plan.See you in 2016! June 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did not meet my expectations I have been to may Starwood resorts and hotels all over the world. I had very high expectations for this Westin Resort and was very disappointed. - Slow service - Food overpriced and did not taste good. Tuna had funny texture, rice was cold - Room noisy. Crickets + u can hear your neighbors if they r in patio as if they r in ur room. Needs double pane windows to reduce noise. - Room old and not well maintained for a 5 star resort at over $400 a night - Beach loaded with algae. Once u swim deeper, water is great. - Umbrellas and lounge chairs old and cheap quality. Table under umbrella a joke. Cheap plastic and wobbly. Cannot even hold ur drink. - Club Cars all over the place and are very noisy. They should be replaced with electric quite ones. - Mango Deli- slow service, grumpy worker, wrong orders - Most bar, cafeteria and restaurant servers have no energy and seem unhappy rather than being cheerful and want to serve you with pleasure trying to make your experience a pleasant one. - Lawn maintenance walk me up every morning at 7:30 AM!!! Cutting grass, trimming hedges, etc.. - Resort had no fun activities or entertainment. Very boring. Nothing to do after 5 pm. August 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Most unfriendly staff Facilities are ok but after renovation rooms have still old doors. Water sports and pool are also ok however pool bar closes before 7pm although pool is 24x7. Cleaning in the rooms is poor, desks were not swiped. Worst of all was the staff rudeness, unfriendly assistance at the reception desk, the pool bar, the Deli and the restaurant. Really disappointing! The only proper assistance was received by the porters which were very nice. March 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay Away Until Renovation is done.... I have been both a guest and an owner for several years at this property. While I think it will go back to prior levels of service once the work is done- right now it is very poor. Rooms are not clean. Staff is surly. Island time takes on a whole new meaning in terms of slow. The whole property seems to have taken on an air of apathy. I won't stay again until they can assure me that it has improved. March 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best resort EVER This will be our 5th year straight returning to The Westin St John, our first year was absolutely amazing and just gets better each and every year. My wife and I have chosen to make The Westin our annual anniversary getaway. 5 years ago a resort employee told us he would see us next year, we replied with we don't normally visit the same place twice, we like to visit new places every year. Well, he couldn't have been any more correct, We cannot stop thinking about our next trip every year. Don't think it's to far fetched to say we will probably buy in the near future. Thank you to all the staff for making our yearly anniversary trip so perfect, see you November 2nd, 2013. July 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ocean front room that's horrible We recently stayed at the "Resort" Feb 21st-26. We had an Ocean front room steps from the beach, it might as well been up in the hills away from everyone. When spending $700 + per night, you expect great quality or even very good. This room was not even close, for $250 it would've been satisfactory. I took pictures of room 1614, the bathroom is a stall only no tub, the tile and grout on the floor was damaged, disgusting and was uneven. We wore flip flops in the shower. The bathroom sink would've been good in a low rent apartment, the shelves in the bathroom was a couple of shelves that were thrown in to have a place to put toiletries. The carpets were dirty and looked worn out, beds were ok for comfort but we put tshirts on the pillows for the pillow cases. We made some complaints but they were booked and we couldn't be moved to another room. That set of 1600 rooms was on the beach ( you would think it would be great) it was constant noise from the staff at all hours of the day and night. On Thursday morning at 6:50 am ( yes you saw 6:50 am) a staff member decided to power wash the sidewalk with a loud pressure washer and woke up everyone ( did I mention it was pouring rain at the time) there was no need for this and at that time was ridiculous!!! We will not ever stay there again, I took pictures I will be sending to Starwood because it was so terrible. That was their best upgraded room on the beach, becareful if you want t a nice resort, it's not!!!! The ground are well kept thou. March 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall great experience We stayed at the Westin St. John on cash and points reward. Overall, we loved our stay. We had a resort view room. The grounds were beautiful, the pool was wonderful and the beach was very nice. When we checked in however, there was no recognition of our gold status. Also, when booking online, the site said there was a refrigerator in every room, ours did not have one, but upon calling the front desk, one was delivered to our room. The grounds at the hotel are very large but along the pathways there was a lot of golf cart traffic. Much of this were shuttles to carry guests and they always stopped and asked if they can take you somewhere. However, the pathways are not large enough for both pedestrians and golf carts so you always had to stop walking and move to the side for the carts to get through. The reason I have an average for staff was the poolside service. Once we got our poolside chairs, we waited over half an hour for waiter/waitress service to get drinks. We had to stop a waitress and asked her if there was a happy hour or if any specials. Not only did she not know what the specials were but she could not wait to run away from us. We ended up going to the bar to get our drinks. Again at the bar, we had to wait over 20 minutes for the bartender to recognize our presence and she was not friendly at all when she did. Again, she was annoyed when we asked about happy hour specials. This was a very different experience than past stays at SPG properties in Mexico. Overall, we loved our stay and would definitely return. January 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by A mixed bag First off, the grounds and location are as pretty as it looks online. We live in the VI and still thought the beach and location are beautiful, another poster commented on the houses on both sides of the bay but we thought it actually looked nice they're nice houses and the nice boats in the bay. There are plenty of beaches in the park to go to if you're looking for complete isolation. The buildings look a bit old but are appealing in style on the outside though the architecture is a bit more South Pacific than Caribbean. Inside the room layout is nice, it's spacious and comfortable and nicely styled but the actual rooms themselves especially the bathrooms are a bit dated and worn...i.e cracked countertops, paint smudges and drips on the floor, old looking fixtures etc. We had a bit of an issue with the fridge which was constantly leaking as someone previous had mashed up the little freezer bin pretty bad. Also our shower was stuck halfway between tub faucet and shower head as the little knob had seized up. We noticed the grout all around the tub faucet was broken and missing leading us to believe this problem had been there a while. But it was clean enough and comfortable above all just not worth the price tag. The biggest disappointment was that we had gone for my wife's birthday and upon check in had been promised a bottle of champagne would be delivered to the room for her. After a few hours relaxing and at the beach and pool we checked the room and nothing was there so we asked again at the front desk as we were leaving for dinner and they promised again it would be there by 7 and the dining staff already knew about it. By the time we got back to the hotel there was still nothing and no messages either. I realize that it is a gracious gesture and is not to be expected but I would rather be told no they can't do anything than be promised twice only to have nothing come. That was the biggest negative to us. Service was great for the most part, very friendly staff...Ricky the bellman was professional and knowledgeable. The other service related issue was when we checked out the guy at the front desk was not nearly as personable or professional as the rest of the front desk staff and was a bit of a sour note to end the stay. I wouldn't eat in the restaurant again, while the menu looks good it was overpriced and my mixed tropical fruit consisted of out of season unripe mango, blueberries, maraschino cherries and unripe Papaya...unacceptable in this part of the world. All in all we'll probably be back again with hopefully better results because even with these issues it's probably the best chain beach resort in the VI January 3, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>