The Westin Grand, Berlin

  • Friedrichstrasse 158-164
  • Berlin,
  • 10117
  • Germany
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 432 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Berlin at its best What a great hotel to stay in to enjoy Berlin 5stars all the way with me. August 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staffs are not helpfulness Especially front desk staffs August 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great amenities The room, the staff, the amenities, and the location make this a great hotel. The design of this hotel is also an added feature. August 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location, good services The Westin Grand's position is fantastic, right in the middle of Berlin, close to many of the highlights of the city, and in a perfect position for public transport. Getting to and from the airport is very easy with the TXL bus which runs every 5-10 minutes and stops around the corner from the hotel. Breakfast is generous and very good. As a SPG Platinum I enjoyed free continental breakfast which consists of a huge selection from the buffet - unless you really crave for made to order eggs, there's no need to upgrade the breakfast to the full one. I was upgraded to a junior suite with garden view. It was a very comfortable room, large and quiet. The only remark is that there is no door between the living room and the sleeping room, so you can't use the living room as a separate space if someone is sleeping. The gym is well equipped and the swimming pool is quite nice. It's round, so not really optimal for lap swimming, but enough to provide some comfort after working out or after a long day out. Be careful because the floor around the pool gets REALLY slippery, that is something the hotel should address because in my opinion it can be quite dangerous. The hotel offers bicycles for rent. The possibility to rent the bikes at the hotel is very handy, but rather expensive compared to other outlets. The bikes are ok, but some are missing lights or locks, so there's room for improvement. However, I found it a good service from the hotel and I was glad I could rent the bikes directly there. Check-in and check-out was fast and efficient, and in general all the staff was polite and efficient. August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice hotel, good location, great breakfast Hotel had everything i needed. the bar could have been open later but thats just a small thing. there is no gift/sundry shop. August 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Westin I ever stayed in... This hotel is horrible. Why? - Checked in and a woman took my car keys. Never gave me a ticket, then were surprised when I showed up without one. - They put me in a room with broken A/C, boiling hot. Suffered on night 1, complained that morning and told them I wanted it fixed, came back to a hot room. Desk told me they investigated, not broken, sent another guy up who acknowledged it was broken but they were now completely overbooked. COMPLETELY unacceptable... COMPLETELY. - Internet is totally unstable. Freezes regularly for over a minute, doesn't recover properly between sessions, and is unresponsive even at 1am in the morning. Again, completely unacceptable for a paid service. I obviously stay at a lot of SPGs, and I generally target Westins. I will not stay here again. -Rick August 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin Grand is my home in Berlin This hotel is a perfect spot to stay in Berlin in terms of atmosphere, service and location. The wonderful staff is one of the strengths of the Westin Grand. The breakfast buffet is a must-see and must-taste. I already am a constant guest and will be for my further Berlin stays. August 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic stay Brilliant location, amazing foyer, clean rooms with lovely comfortable beds. Breakfast was delicious with a huge choice. We had a garden view on the fourth floor which was great. Friendly staff. - we would definitely return. August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 6 days in Westin Grand Despite street labor outside quiet. Magnificent breakfast, charming personal. Only flop: internet acces via Wlan too expensive July 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience As a lifetime gold Starwood member I travel to many hotels. This was one of the worst I have ever stayed in. The room had the smell of a dead rodent. The housekeeping and engineering staff acknowledged the smell but could not fix it. The front desk did not seem to care and told us there were no rooms available for us to move to. For a property this large I found this hard to believe. We had a room with two parts so we stayed in the bedroom that did not smell as bad as the living room. I note this hotel is a franchise, it was not up to a Starwood standard in any way. July 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Become again Clean and comfortable room. Breakfast satisfied even the most demanding and is of high quality . The staff is very kind. After a day out to Berlin you can relax in the hotel's swimming pool. Experience certainly to repeat July 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by birthday upgrade! the westin berlin kindly upgraded my stay to a themed suite (the lessing room). it was so big, i almost got lost in it! thank you for the lovely and generous gesture. really made my birthday stay memorable! July 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Berlin is proud to have Westin The Hotel location is perfect, Staff are very friendly & helpful, Rooms are very comfortable. My family & me enjoyed our stay at Westin & recommend others to stay at. July 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel Great hotel. Very clean , The hotel is not new but rooms are totally renewed, The breakfast was above all expectations. Rooms are comfortable. There is no free WIFI, I believe for such price and hotel level free WIFI should be provided. July 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Berlin Excellent Location is outstanding. Couldn't be better. Staff was efficient and pleasant - If I return to Berlin I will stay here no question! Fantastic hotel. July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Wonderful hotel, delicious breakfast and great location. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely hotel, great location. I had a very comfortable Garden room which was nice and quiet. The staff were friendly, efficient and courteous. I was disappointed that the Westin does not offer complimentary wifi to its guests. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Optimal choice for first stay in Berlin. After four days in Berlin, we would still choose the Westin Grand over other alternative hotels. We have never visited Berlin. The concierge desk and communications office provided a lot of valuable information and assistance for a couple that had never visited Berlin. June 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by You don't want to stay here While the location of this Westin is very good for tourists, there are a number of large and small reasons why you don't want to stay here. First is the major road construction project taking place outside your window. Noise begins every weekday at 7:00. Then there is the Wi-Fi. There is no free Wi-Fi, even in the lobby. I signed up for five days of internet access for €75. But I didn't get it. Every time we logged on, no matter which device we used, Wi-Fi did not work. Every time we wanted to use the internet, we had to call an off-site support number, and wait on hold until reaching a service rep who could temporarily rectified the problem. Then, during a rainstorm, it did not work at all. I complained to the front desk on the very first day, and received a shrug of indifference. For this reason, I cannot recommend this hotel to business travelers. (I will say that the charge was removed from my bill at checkout, but that did not make up for all the time I spent on hold trying to resolve this problem several times each day.) Our room was of good size but lacked character. It could have been in a hotel in Peoria. Our hallway and the main lobby often stank of cigarettes. The fitness room was adequate, but the button used to summon the elevator to take you back to your floor did not work. The concierge staff was very good. Their dining recommendations were appreciated. June 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by location location allowed us to walk to most of the highlights in Berlin that we wanted to see. also many great restaurants in area June 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A hotel good to its guests I was satisfied with the service of the hotel. It is compatible with its 5-star hotel status. The hotel did not take advantages of its guests and genuinely treated its quests in the best way it could. June 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Central Location Great location. Hotel good, staff ok but nothing special - not very friendly. Hotel décor dark, bedroom décor dull. Stayed in a Junior Suite, Shower fantastic, bathroom lovely with double hand wash basins. Bedroom spacious, bed very comfortable BUT NO window in bedroom. and on a personal note the living area was lovely and large but not much furniture, TV looked small and felt small in the living room. We didn't use the Spa as we felt it was expensive and we were only there for a weekend so wanted to visit the sights, but the pool was lovely. Location of hotel really great, near checkpoint Charlie and the Brandenburg Gate. June 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to standard of Starwood Hotel Given room next to very loud construction after specifically asking not to be located next to construction when made reservation. Tld no other rooms. Then after I complained, offered room upgrade. Then after 20 minute wait, said room not available. Put on twin bed room ( It was our wedding anniversary. Told no other rooms. After I called Starwood Ambassador, room upgrade located for next day. Told bringing wine to us for trouble-wine never arrived. Next morning got call from day supervisor saying they had upgraded room but on side with construction. After much complaining, finally got upgraded room on garden side, which we had to pay extra for, even though hey had no alternate room to give us. June 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very central to Berlin's attractions I stayed a couple of times at the Berlin Grand - was upgraded all the times, staff was good, and it is a very central location from where I had good access to most of Berlin's attractions. June 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recommended, but not up to Westin standards I recently completed the second of two stays. The hotel is very nice and the location is great. But the service was substandard. Problem 1: The first stay was 5 nights and I was told that even though I am Starwood Platinum, the they could not upgrade me to a suite because they did not have one available for the full time. That's fine, but I checked in again for one night -- after a 1-day side trip outside Berlin -- and did not get upgraded to a suite again and was told none were available. But that was not true (see problem 3). Problem 2: Not only that, but when I requested a garden view room for the 1-night stay (after being told that there were no suites), I was told that would cost 60 Euros extra. I had to complain just to get the nicer room at no extra charge, which should have been a standard policy for Platinums. Problem 3: I checked in the second time at about 7 PM and then looked on the web site after going to dinner and there were multiple suites available for sale. Problem 4: When I chose the continental breakfast for the initial stay, the front desk told me it included everything but eggs and the other hot/premium items, and that was fine. But when my wife and I got to the breakfast room, the desk attendant told us it only included coffee, juice, toast and marmalade in a very cut manner, which - if true - is not up to normal Westin standards I am used to from other Westin stays. There were three other issues of lesser importance, but still annoying: (1) When we got the marginally nicer room on the second stay, there was a welcome fruit selection in the room (with someone else's name on it) . . . we have often gotten this at other Starwood properties from Sheratons to Luxury Collections (including other Westins) but we didn't get it here for any night of our 5-night stay. (2) We received small chocolates with the turndown service the first two nights, but not the other four. (3) The front desk staff was very uneven . . . a few people were nice and helpful, but others gave us the impression that they were unhappy about having to answer questions or do ANYTHING beyond the minimal service of checking us in. I would recommend this property for its location, but definitely not for the quality of its service. June 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant Stay Apart from electricity shutdown and the lights switching on in the middle of the night ( Should have been mentioned whilst booking is made) the stay was very comfortable and pleasant. June 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Berlin stay I thought the service, especially from the concierge desk was mediocre at best. We asked for restaurant suggestions and were suggested the same mediocre restaurant by every concierge we asked. It would seem there are kick backs for hotel guest visiting the restaurant?? The other point that was frustrating was the shower set up in the room. It was not nay small but left water all over the bathroom floor. May 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great features Excellent location, courteous and efficient service and excellent food contributed to an enjoyable stay. May 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful A friend and I had the opportunity to stay at the Westin Grand on Friedrichstrasse on a quick jaunt to Berlin. While the location is in close proximity to many tourist sites, it was pretty dead especially in comparison to Kreuzberg or Alexanderplatz. Most shops and restaurants in the area are not open on Sundays which is a problem when you're only there for the weekend. In terms of the room, it was fairly comfortable. The beds are soft, which can be good or bad depending on your preference (i felt as though the bed was trying to swallow me alive). The walls are thin so you can hear your neighbors talking well into the night. Cleanliness was marred by a stained towel, but was otherwise satisfactory. Additionally we were only provided with one bathrobe as opposed to the usual two. We did not take advantage of the spa or fitness facilities largely due to time constraints but also the spa prices were astronomical in comparison to American hotel spas. Service was the highlight of our stay; we were greeted by friendly and helpful hotel staff who forgave our stilted German and spoke excellent English. May 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location Location in the shopping and histories building just only by walk May 26, 2013
  • 2015-07-05T13:54:42.080-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_432, tr_432
  • loc_en_US, sid_1105, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 16 next>>