The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown

  • 2 Whippany Road
  • Morristown,
  • New Jersey
  • 07960
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to check-in.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 209 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hard to reccommend Arrived Christmas day and was greeted promptly. The person at the desk had a very thick accent and was hard to understand. Everyone was extremely nice, though. They did upgrade me to a very nice and large room on the 6th floor. The reason I'm giving such a low rating is that the facilities and furnishings were old and in dire need of replacement. The bed was lumpy, the thermostat didn't work correctly so the heated and fan ran all the time. Even when on it's lowest setting. The heater was also extremely loud. we had to shut it off and open the windows so we could sleep. Not what you would expect from a Westin. December 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel gave our rooms away This was a business trip and had seven rooms reserved that had to be prepaid. Two persons flights were delayed and did not arrive until 10p only to find out that the hotel had given the rooms to someone else. One person was given a 'suite' which was a double bed with a couch and that was the only room available. The other person had to stay at another hotel 25 miles away. While standing at the desk, another guest arrived and checked in. The manager was asked why they had a room and was told they had "status". June 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good choice as a smaller & well-designed business hotel I like this Westin for it's cozy and quiet atmosphere. It's nicely located in Morristown and offers well designed rooms with a modern shape like you'd expect it from this brand. As a Platinum SPG member I was upgraded to the Executive Floor on my last stay which has very spacious rooms with additional couch and work space. One of my favorite hotels in the Parsippany/Morristown/Madison/Summit/Springfield area. December 19, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cancelled my reservation for showing up at 1am e I worked late at the client site and went to check in at 1am and the hotel had cancelled my reservation as a no show despite having told that I will be coming late. They did not care I was a platinum member. This property has really bad inventory management. In another night they asked me to give up my room for someone else who needed a bigger room. Are you kidding me? June 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great night stay My wife and I stayed here for a wedding. We had numerous friends staying in the hotel which we asked the receptionist (Christian) if we could be all on the same floor. He not only did so he got all of us almost adjoining rooms. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. One of my best stays ever in a hotel! Would recommend to any one and would stay again. Thanks again! March 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Comfortable with a Wonderful Restaurant We had a very comfortable and spacious room which was well appointed. It had the quality features we expect from a Westin. The added benefit was the wonderful restaurant in the hotel, the Blue Morel. My wife and I would likely come back to this hotel for no other purpose than to dine in the Blue Morel. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ms. The dining room was not open for business until 5:30PM. However the host mentioned that we could have early dinner at the bar. We were glad that we did. The Bartender made the most delicious peach Martini; the dinners were well-prepared - Scallops and Rack of Lamb, with the fresh ingredients. The flat bread was very tasty. August 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recent Stay.. Rooms were clean, however the room that I had was in the corner of the hotel and right next to some loud HVAC components. The noise actually caused a vibration that I felt most of the night. Additionally, the toilet ran consistently the entire evening. Fix those items and you will have a happy customer. December 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was great! The hotel seems to be an old building, but I was very surprised to see modern amenities inside! I was there for a work conference, the staff was super helpful and the food was wonderful! I wouldn't change a thing about my visit at this location! August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel I've stayed here for the past month and it's been great. The staff has been very responsive and helpful. August 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Attentive Front Office Manager We have chosen this hotel to be our weekend location to unwind since I travel 4 days week. Thefront office has been simply amazing and resolved past issues w/ grace. December 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ms. This hotel has nice bedding, twin shower heads for the guess. We love the Martini, entree in Blue Morel. August 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory stay For one reason particular, then in hind sight multiple reasons. First, upon arrival to the hotel I walked through a cloud of cigarette smoke from patrons of the club. I was not greeted by anyone to assist me with my bags at the door and upon check in the clerk watch me fumble with my hanging clothes in order to obtain my credentials. Once I was checked in, I was then offered assistance with my bags. Seriously? At that point, no thank you. The lobby was booming with DJ music from an upstairs wedding. Understandably that the hotel had several weddings in attendance but that killed the idea of me returning to the lobby or lounge to relax with friends that evening. None of the above reasons would deter me from returning. I came to the hotel to relax and finally get some rest amongst a busy travel week. At 6:40am Sunday morning a guest's dog began to bark; 6:45am I called the front desk; 7:00am-7:10am a noisy security guard attempted to address the guest; the dog barked from 6:40am-8:50am on a Sunday morning. Completely distressed and angry it was a worthless stay. I adored the Governor Morris as child and thought it would be a perfect stay when returning to my hometown. I was extremely disappointed. January 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs improvement Staff needs education. Paid for a pet package. Front desk knew nothing of what is included and insisted that dog bed, bowls, etc that were included in the pet fee wasn't. They insisted on an additional charge. They couldn't even pull up their own website so that I could show them. Not even the night manager. I had to borrow a family member's neighbor's dog bed and bowls since we did not take any with us. Fortunately, the morning manager knew of the pet policy and refunded our pet fee. Also, we had no heat. Room temperature dipped to 64 degrees that night. Niether the heater nor AC worked. Unit was shut off. Not even the fan would turn on. December 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by You over booked!!! We waited in the lobby for 2 1/2 hours.... Only to be told that you over booked!!! (this reservation was made 4 months ago... With a wedding group) we had to share a room with my parents!!! "just because you make a reservation, it does not guarantee you a room"..thanks Omar!! . He informed us that we were not preferred customers! Awesome!! did I mention the tour bus of 100 that arrived at 10:30 pm... Hope they enjoyed my room!! Huge disappointment! The first night we did not get charged for... Because it was your error... The second night should have been no charge also... For the inconveniences you put us all through. Terrible experience! October 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good place to stay They let us check in early in order to get ready for a wedding, which was much appreciated after a 3.5 hour drive. The room was spacious, the king size bed was comfortable, the shower worked well, etc. Only issue I had was the door took a few seconds to open once the keycard was inserted, and it only opened when I turned the knob up, not down which was just odd. I found the sliding doors to be a novelty, but in the morning I could hear those doors sliding and banging all around me as people rose and took showers, used the bathroom, etc. That noise was a little excessive but not enough to keep me from sleeping. Overall, I enjoyed my stay. July 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I arrived very late - after 1AM - with a meeting at 8AM to following morning. The first room I was given was not made up - bed was not made and towels were laying around the room. The staff was very apologetic and gave me another room. This room was prepared, but very hot. I turned on the AC and it took 30 mins to cool of to a comfortable temp. The following morning, I ordered room service for breakfast at 6:10 AM and got ready for my meeting. By 7:15 when nothing arrived, I had to cancel in order to be at my meeting on time. No one asked me about my stay when I checked out. As a platinum member, I expect more and generally receive better service. June 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Felt like staying in a dorm We came into town for a weekend wedding. Apparently a number of groups of college kids were staying at the hotel for some form of engineering contest. The college kids spent Friday night running up and down the hallways and/or wandering around in large groups drinking beer and yelling at each other. We called the front desk and they made no effort to curtail the behavior. At the time we called, it was already 1AM and this had been going on for hours. The next day, the hallways were filled with large piles of empty boxes, beer boxes, and food leftovers. It's a nice hotel, but it was absolutely terrible facility and guest management. November 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by good hotel, unacceptable dining I stay at the hotel quite often. Never have been a fan of Blue Morrel but this visit hit a new low. Breakfast; tepid coffee, had to get up fom the table and find salt and pepper from another unoccupied table, same with sugar. When I picked up the spoon to stir my coffee there was a chunk of hardened something on it. When I called someone over and pointed out how that was unacceptable, the server showed up and while I was pointing out this disgusting spoon, she said not a word, dropped the bill on my table and walked away. Mediocre food, overpriced, and lousy service. Unacceptable experience. I used to recommend this hotel, I won't until the dining experience improves. June 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could Be Better Having just moved from another Starwood property in the area, the Westin Governor Morris does not compare favorably as far as guest rooms are concerned. The common and dining areas were excellent and stuff very friendly. However, the standard rooms were comparatively small and mine in particular was terribly maintained - toilet did not flush properly, broken (therefore empty) minibar and a huge crack in the ceiling. Quite disappointing. Overall this property is not on par with most other Westin properties if you are actually staying as a guest. Those only dining or visiting the bar may be more satisfied than I was. September 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff Your reception agent named "Y" must be commended for her helpfulness in assisting us with directions to the hotel. She stayed on the phone with me guiding me to the hotel when our GPS was not working properly due to road closures due to a terrible accident on I 78. She even arranged for the shuttle bus to take us into Morristown to a concert at MPAC. We would have missed that if it weren't for "Y" and the driver of the Shuttle. The bar staff were very friendly too. The rooms were spotless and the beds heavenly, We will return. December 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by No options for smokers I completely understand the policy of not allowing smoking within the hotel. However, the hotel did not offer easy access to the outside, even when requested. There weren't any sheltered smoking areas. I had to come down through the lobby to get outside. The noise from the wedding was unbearably loud and kept me awake--which made me feel the need to smoke--I had to get dressed to go down the elevator to the lobby and out the front door. Please do not write to me and repeat your non-smoking policy. I want you to explain why you make absolutely no effort to provide the few smokers with easy access to the outside. July 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Typical Westin experience, but with a few flaws This hotel offers a very standard Westin experience. A few concerns lowered the bar for me: 1) The air conditioner unit in my room was ineffective. Despite lowering the temp to 65*, my room was above 75*. 2) Breakfast options were disappointing, but this is a categorical critique of most Westins. It's ridiculous to charge a 20% gratuity PLUS a $2.50 delivery fee for an already up-charged $7 bowl of mediocre oatmeal. The lack of alternate breakfast options (I was told by staff that Blue Morel does not serve breakfast) made this particularly frustrating. Outside of these issues, the rest of the accommodations were as expected. My room was clean, the beds were great, the staff responsive, etc. June 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay Because there are not many options, this one is safe. Everything was fine. Clean. Staff was eager and polite but not knowledgeable or helpful. My reservation name was screwed up but they had my SPG number and said all would be fine. Instead, I spent $447.12 and have no points because the name did not match my number. I had asked them to fix the reservation but was assured it would be fine. No , it was not. This made my entire experience one star lower than it might have been. Bad instructions on how to get to gym/pool which are awkwardly off premises, did not help either. September 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A little snow went to far I arrived at the hotel at the tail end of a snow storm. I was greeted and told that the restaurant was serving buffet style dinner only (which I will admit turned out to be outstanding) or only cold sandwiches from room service and that they had had a ton of cancelled reservations. My three main gripes are that despite the hotel being only partially filled, I was still given a room directly adjacent to the elevators on a non SPG Preferred floor. Additionally, roughly 1/4 of the channels on TV were working and there was no option for renting movies. The wireless connectivity was also a joke. I get it, it snowed, but if I'm stuck at the hotel it would have been nice to have some form of viable entertainment. February 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff We want to particularly thank the management for upgrading our room. The room was lovely and the wine was enjoyed! We also want to take note of the check-in desk staff for being particularly attentitive and pleasant. He truly made us feel welcome. We will definitely be back and will post a positive comment on Trip Advisor. November 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good Food / Bad Water Pressure & Lack of Service for Status This hotel looks nice and has a good restaurant. That said, the water pressure is terrible - it was actually borderline impossible to rinse off my hair after shampoo / conditioner. Turning the various knobs and/or trying the 2 spouts did not help the water pressure situation. Another strange part of the hotel is that I was checking in right next to another gentleman. As part of their standard process, they thanked me for being a platinum guest and thanked him for being gold. They then proceeded to upgrade him and said so when telling him about his room but checked me into a standard room. To have higher status but not get an upgrade when it's available for the person next to me would suggest that the tiers of status are meaningless at this property. March 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Romance? My wife & I booked the romance package. We were upgraded to the suite which we appreciated very much since we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. the package was to include cham/choc covered strawberries & a spa basket. we switched the choc strawberries to a cheese & cracker platter (called 4 days prior to our stay) & was advised that it would be no problem. The cham/platter was not in our room upon arrival & we needed to call 2 times before it was finally done.The cheese & cracker platter consisted of 2 very sm pieces of cheese & 5 crackers with lots of fruit. The "basket" was a small bag. we did enjoy our stay regardless...just pointing this out for the future. The employees at the hotel were very polite & welcoming & the room was very comfortable. October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I have work with nearby Drew University, and the school has a corporate plan with Westin Governor Morris. At first I expected a standard deal with this type of association. Far from it... the hotel itself is beautiful, keeping the charm of what it "once was" with the contemporary feel of necessities for today's travelers. But, it is the staff and their helpfulness and accommodating natures that really makes the place grand. And, yes, will be future choice for when I have to stay in this area for future work with the university. September 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly good experience It is a fine hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The wedding we attended there was a really fine and well run event. The food and service was fine. There was one thing that should be rectifies: On Friday evening upon returning to the hotel the drop off point was a sheet of ice and we needed assistance from our driver to cross it. It should have been salted. We hen I told the desk clerk he said "Maintenance will take care of it, and I understand nothing was done until an employee slipped and fell on it. January 13, 2014
  • 2015-03-27T17:37:52.100-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_209, tr_209
  • loc_en_US, sid_1145, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>