The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown

  • 2 Whippany Road
  • Morristown,
  • New Jersey
  • 07960
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to check-in.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 178 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by A little snow went to far I arrived at the hotel at the tail end of a snow storm. I was greeted and told that the restaurant was serving buffet style dinner only (which I will admit turned out to be outstanding) or only cold sandwiches from room service and that they had had a ton of cancelled reservations. My three main gripes are that despite the hotel being only partially filled, I was still given a room directly adjacent to the elevators on a non SPG Preferred floor. Additionally, roughly 1/4 of the channels on TV were working and there was no option for renting movies. The wireless connectivity was also a joke. I get it, it snowed, but if I'm stuck at the hotel it would have been nice to have some form of viable entertainment. February 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by As a Road Warrior I'm saying:very good hotel Really enjoyed my stay - nice room - terrific bed -- awesome restaurant April 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Quality has gone downhill. I have stayed at the Westin Governor Morris a few times and always had good experiences. However, this past time didn't quite meet my expectations. First, the air conditioning did not work properly in our room. We had the thermostat set to 65 degrees, and the room was 70, if not warmer, the entire time. Also, the phone next to the bed did not work. This isn't necessarily a big deal considering there was another phone on the desk, but it is still an inconvenience. We were also disappointed when we wanted to rent a movie through the TV and later learned that this feature is no longer available. We were surprised that there was no radio to plug our iPhones into either. There was only a small clock radio which is extremely outdated for this day and age. Most, if not all, the hotels we travel to have this capability. I live locally and usually stay at this hotel just as a treat for myself and my significant other to have a short getaway. I would stay again, but definitely wouldn't rush back. Perhaps a few minor upgrades would have made the stay more enjoyable. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin is my first choice when traveling for business or pleasure When entering the lobby at The Westin in Morristown NJ, you are greeted with welcoming staff, trendy decor, and clean surroundings. The rooms are always clean, the heavenly bed is simply heavenly, and the pub at this hotel is top notch. This hotel had struggled for years before the Westin took over. Now it couldn't be more successful. Bravo Westin. March 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to expectations We've stayed in many westin hotels before and have grown accustom to certain expectations. This was why we were surprised with the experience we had here. We checked in around 5 pm and the place was virtually empty, which is why we were surprised that our room was right across from an ice machine. We were heading right back out so we didn't have time to go change to another room at that point so we hoped it wouldn't be an issue. It just seemed odd with all the rooms available that they would choose to give us that room. Then we dropped off our luggage quick before heading back out and when we went to use the room safe it had a low battery, so we couldn't use that. And then worst of all when using the lavatory the toilet tank wasn't refilling with water so wouldn't flush properly. We had to open up the tank to jiggle the flotation device to get it to fill up. That happened a few times during our one night stay there. The hotel itself was beautiful especially the lobby but the rest of our stay just wasn't up to westin standards. March 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AHHHHHHHH! Our first time staying with you, were attending a wedding. This hotel was just wonderful. From the moment you walk in the door you felt welcomed. The rooms as the hotel are immaculate and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The shower pressure was wonderful (as isn't always the case in hotels) high end fixtures, luxurious towels and the fact they use green products is an added bonus. We immediately signed up for the rewards program !truly a wonderful stay. February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful weekend getaway We enjoyed a perfectly wonderful getaway weekend at the Gov. Morris. The staff was perfect, the room was great, and the restaurant was amazing and delicious. Every aspect of our stay here was delightful and relaxing ! We will be back soon !! March 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly good experience It is a fine hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The wedding we attended there was a really fine and well run event. The food and service was fine. There was one thing that should be rectifies: On Friday evening upon returning to the hotel the drop off point was a sheet of ice and we needed assistance from our driver to cross it. It should have been salted. We hen I told the desk clerk he said "Maintenance will take care of it, and I understand nothing was done until an employee slipped and fell on it. January 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good Food / Bad Water Pressure & Lack of Service for Status This hotel looks nice and has a good restaurant. That said, the water pressure is terrible - it was actually borderline impossible to rinse off my hair after shampoo / conditioner. Turning the various knobs and/or trying the 2 spouts did not help the water pressure situation. Another strange part of the hotel is that I was checking in right next to another gentleman. As part of their standard process, they thanked me for being a platinum guest and thanked him for being gold. They then proceeded to upgrade him and said so when telling him about his room but checked me into a standard room. To have higher status but not get an upgrade when it's available for the person next to me would suggest that the tiers of status are meaningless at this property. March 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Romance? My wife & I booked the romance package. We were upgraded to the suite which we appreciated very much since we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. the package was to include cham/choc covered strawberries & a spa basket. we switched the choc strawberries to a cheese & cracker platter (called 4 days prior to our stay) & was advised that it would be no problem. The cham/platter was not in our room upon arrival & we needed to call 2 times before it was finally done.The cheese & cracker platter consisted of 2 very sm pieces of cheese & 5 crackers with lots of fruit. The "basket" was a small bag. we did enjoy our stay regardless...just pointing this out for the future. The employees at the hotel were very polite & welcoming & the room was very comfortable. October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I have work with nearby Drew University, and the school has a corporate plan with Westin Governor Morris. At first I expected a standard deal with this type of association. Far from it... the hotel itself is beautiful, keeping the charm of what it "once was" with the contemporary feel of necessities for today's travelers. But, it is the staff and their helpfulness and accommodating natures that really makes the place grand. And, yes, will be future choice for when I have to stay in this area for future work with the university. September 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Outstanding hotel check-in personnel Each and every time we have stayed at the Westin Governor Morris in Morristown, NJ...the check-in personnel have been simply wonderful. Carine, in particular is kind and caring and always willing to please. Unfortunately, I can not say that for the restaurant waitstaff, they always appear and act as if you are 'bothering' them. Each and every time we have taken advantage of our free breakfast, the waitstaff has been quite unacceptable. This is a shame since the meal ends up feeling awkward and unpleasant. November 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room The hotel is clean - I was in town for business and 30 minutes late for my meeting because the alarm clock was plugged in the switch outlet....WHY? If it wasnt for a phone call I would not have made my meeting at all. March 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by blood on comforter & shower drain plugged The beds were so comfortable, however I woke up and found the lower corner of the comforter had blood on it. It was there all along as I didn't have any wounds or bleeding. The shower drain is plugged and near overflowing by the time my shower was done. Also, left light bulb was out in vanity. I was in room 450. On the bright side, the bed was so comfortable...just the blood made me very uncomfortable...like wondering if the bedding was even changed at all. One downfall was they had no indoor pool/hot tub. September 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly, Helpful Staff Stayed here for a weekend wedding. Lots of weddings here that weekend, but everything went smoothly. I was worried that the hotel might be noisy from so many weddings but that wasn't the case. I was in a room where I noticed mechanical noise coming from a nearby roof and couldn't sleep. The staff moved me to the other side of the hotel and were understanding and cheerful with helping me switch. They answered all my questions and helped me find a sitter for the wedding as well. I would recommend this hotel. October 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Frustrating visit this time I stayed recently for 5 nights; on four of those 5 days my room key had to be replaced because it would not work. The keys were kept separate from magnetic devices so either the room lock was faulty or some other reason but having to return to the lobby to retrieve new keys was very annoying. Secondly on two of the 5 nights a wake up call scheduled was not received the following morning; again very annoying. I've stayed at this hotel on many occasions and have never had this type of problem before November 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Shortly After the Storm We were there for a very lovely wedding at Bretton Woods this past weekend. We stayed in a handicapped room 320 to be exact. Several things were not ok for us. The bed was very close to the wall making it very difficult for my husband to get in and out of bed. The wall safe did not lock. The shower head was permanently attached to the wall and VERY difficult for a handicaped person to rinse the soap off throughly. There was not enough room and the ONLY place to sit in a chair was a desk type of a chair. November 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel was great, Breakfast a disappointment Very disappointed in the buffet breakfast. I stopped down around 8:15 and many of the food options were picked over or gone completely. To make matters worse the restaurant staff stood nearby chatting among themselves with no interest in me as a customer. The tipping point was the fact when the bill arrived a 15% gratuity was hard coded into the total. I am a 20%+ tipper with every meal, but had a hard time swallowing the forced 15% for a staff that seated me and never checked back. October 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by hotel stay Unfortunately our stay was during hurricane Sandy and the hotel lost electricity. The staff was wonderful but I feel it was unnecessary to pay full price for a room with no hot water or lghts. They should have given a hardship discount. Plus 2 glow sticks /room wasn't enough. There should be some emergency lights in the stairwell - not glow sticks tied to the banister. The staff was outstanding and tried to do everything for the cusotmers- thank you. I know it was a difficult situation. November 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Weekend Caveat I stayed at the Westin Governor Morris for one Saturday night in order to be near an early morning cycling event. The room was comfortable and initially the staff was courteous and helpful...... until: There were two weddings in the property the night of my stay! I wasn't expecting much to happen when I complained to the front desk, but was shocked to be treated with a total lack of sympathy. I was dismayed to be left feeling that I was the nuisance to the front desk staff. September 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Business stay - Served its purpose No frills let-down for a high expectation hotel. Several items need to be updated such as lack of double head shower (as advertised), lack of new windows (the ones in my room were noticably drafty), lack of guide on the TV, baseboard trim not cut correctly making it look like a lack-luster room, etc. overall it was a pleasent stay and the bed was very comfortable. The in-house resturaunt was good, but not stellar. January 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Recent Stay @ The Westin Governor Morris The hotel staff were very nice. The hotel and my room seemed dingy in areas. My room smelled. The first thing they asked me when I got there was if I wanted to receive extra hotel points for each night's stay by not having room service performed (Bed Made, Fresh Towels, etc.). I said I'd forgo the extra points and wanted my room service. This was my first stay at a Westin hotel in a long time, and I was overall disappointed. I would not recommend staying in this hotel. January 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awoken too early Although we only stayed for one night after a big Thanksgiving dinner at a friends house, we were abruptly awoken at 8:15am by [what appears to be] a Housekeeping Supervisor checking rooms and whether our room was 'occupied'. Well, obviously it was occupied, if she had read her report. So much for relaxing and enjoying the comfort of our bed. Although the Front Desk agent appeared concerned, I have received no follow-up as to why it happened. December 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Outlets galore I'm a repeat customer, and as a platinum SPG member, I usually get a room on the 6th floor. This week, however, I was on the 3rd floor and low and behold, they had extra outlets by the bed!!! I was SO happy and thrilled that they finally realized I want to plug my phones, iPad, etc in near the bed. THANK YOU! Now, if we can just get those on the 6th floor :) January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to unwind My husband and often share a quiet night on a special occasion here (anniversary, birthday) with the Westin's romance package. The hotel is upscade, modern, clean, beautiful. The restaurant is wonderful and the bar is well stocked. This time we were here for one night while we attended an family wedding off premise. The shuttle was convenient and safe and we had a wonderful time spending it with our family. We will definitely be back. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Maid There was a knock on our door that woke us up at 9:15am. When I opened the door I couldn't believe it was maid service! We were the parents of the groom and were delighted at the thought we could finally sleep in! That is too early for maid service...please correct this issue before it happens to other guests. All else was wonderful. Mark was very amiable and welcomed us to the hotel with a smile after a long trip prior to our arrival. Thank him for us! May 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not for business travelers If you are traveling on business and need to submit a bill for an expense report, don't expect to get it anytime soon. It was not delivered at check-out to my email as promised and 1 phone call with a "promise" to send it yielded nothing 3 days later. I just had to call again and who knows if I will really get it. Not acceptable and takes too much of my time for something simple. What's the point of being a Platinum member with this kind of service? August 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Place for Short Term Stay This is the nth time I have been in this hotel. This time was a bit dissapointing than any other time. The minibar has been removed fro the room, no snacks in the room for purchase. The bathroom floor was so stained, it felt like someone walked out of the mud with heavy boots and stepped on the tiles. The staff has been good all along at this place. I will go back to the place hoping management will pay attention to cleanliness after this review. January 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible for weddings We had our Wedding ceremony, reception and farewell breakfast events at this Hotel and the Hotel mismanaged our entire set of events. I was shocked to find out a Westin hotel could have such low performance standards. - They did not provide us an open bar for 5 hours as per the package. The bartender regularly abandoned the bar. He even refused drinks to our guests for no reason. Overall, they reduced the package by at least 1 hour but they charged us for it. - We had contracted for table side wine service but our guests barely got one pour of wine during the reception speeches. - They did not have enough cutlery for our 300+ guests even though they charged us for this number. Our guests had to eat dinner on dessert plates, share forks and spoons and were even asked by the hotel staff to use napkins that had already been used by others! - They messed up several items that hold great emotional value for a newly married couple. For eg., the staff led us into the ballroom at the reception before we were formally introduced by our MC (there was no need for them to get involved in our evening program as we had outsourced it to a day of wedding planner), they changed the size of the family table at the last minute leaving family members scrambling for free seats, -The staff is generally incompetent and rude and does not believe in customer care. - They tend to place several inaccurate charges on your credit card, so do check your credit card statement if you've been to this hotel. For all the reasons above, I would not recommend this hotel as the service does not match up to the price you pay. The hotel seems inexperienced and disinterested in hosting large non-corporate events. March 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel! I stay frequently at the Westin Governor Morris and recommend it very highly. It has all the quality features one associates with Westin including the heavenly bed, but more than this it has an incredible restaurant - the Blue Morel -- which is truly a gastronomic delight -- a very original menu, impeccible service, and a very pleasant atmosphere. The exercise facility has been recently upgraded and is spacious and well equipped. July 13, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>