The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown

  • 2 Whippany Road
  • Morristown,
  • New Jersey
  • 07960
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 212 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly good experience It is a fine hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The wedding we attended there was a really fine and well run event. The food and service was fine. There was one thing that should be rectifies: On Friday evening upon returning to the hotel the drop off point was a sheet of ice and we needed assistance from our driver to cross it. It should have been salted. We hen I told the desk clerk he said "Maintenance will take care of it, and I understand nothing was done until an employee slipped and fell on it. January 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gret Place to stay. The suite was beautiful. The complimentary buffet was excellent. December 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Continues to Improve Clock said the right time as I arrived in room, plus extra plugs available for phone, computer, etc.... Sounds like you have been listening to my comments over the last few months. Thank you. Was one of the coldest days outside, so understandable that room could not warm up quickly, but with two heaters in the suite, I expected otherwise...hence the 4 stars for room comfort December 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awoken too early Although we only stayed for one night after a big Thanksgiving dinner at a friends house, we were abruptly awoken at 8:15am by [what appears to be] a Housekeeping Supervisor checking rooms and whether our room was 'occupied'. Well, obviously it was occupied, if she had read her report. So much for relaxing and enjoying the comfort of our bed. Although the Front Desk agent appeared concerned, I have received no follow-up as to why it happened. December 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome This hotel is absolutely beautifully done and extremely accommodating. We had a great stay! December 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs improvement Staff needs education. Paid for a pet package. Front desk knew nothing of what is included and insisted that dog bed, bowls, etc that were included in the pet fee wasn't. They insisted on an additional charge. They couldn't even pull up their own website so that I could show them. Not even the night manager. I had to borrow a family member's neighbor's dog bed and bowls since we did not take any with us. Fortunately, the morning manager knew of the pet policy and refunded our pet fee. Also, we had no heat. Room temperature dipped to 64 degrees that night. Niether the heater nor AC worked. Unit was shut off. Not even the fan would turn on. December 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to unwind My husband and often share a quiet night on a special occasion here (anniversary, birthday) with the Westin's romance package. The hotel is upscade, modern, clean, beautiful. The restaurant is wonderful and the bar is well stocked. This time we were here for one night while we attended an family wedding off premise. The shuttle was convenient and safe and we had a wonderful time spending it with our family. We will definitely be back. December 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Hotel I stayed overnight for a reunion that took place up in the ballroom. The staff was very nice and had a great conversation with the banquet manager. After the reunion, many of us went down to the bar where ourselves and a wedding party were drinking and socializing after our events. I thought the bar manager was very rude kicking all of out for last call ten minutes early and many in reunion party made that comment. I thought the food at the reunion was average. The passed appetizers had no flavor (satay was horrible) and the desserts on the table, the eclairs and cream puffs had no flavor or texture and tasted like they had been defrosted. I have been to Westin's all over the world and this hotels food was very disappointing. I avoided the over-prices breakfast buffet for this reason (the hotel could have worked with the reunion committee to offer a discount for breakfast the next morning). Overall stay and service was good but your food prices for a suburban hotel were very expensive. The room service was more expensive then some hotels in NYC. December 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Felt like staying in a dorm We came into town for a weekend wedding. Apparently a number of groups of college kids were staying at the hotel for some form of engineering contest. The college kids spent Friday night running up and down the hallways and/or wandering around in large groups drinking beer and yelling at each other. We called the front desk and they made no effort to curtail the behavior. At the time we called, it was already 1AM and this had been going on for hours. The next day, the hallways were filled with large piles of empty boxes, beer boxes, and food leftovers. It's a nice hotel, but it was absolutely terrible facility and guest management. November 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This Hotel's rooms need upgrading The hotel it self was nice but the rooms (at least mine) was in need of some serious upgrading and had many issues that continued even after attended to. The rooms should also be checked for problems before assigning a guest to that particular room. November 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely hotel This hotel pays attention to little details - very nice when one travels all the time. November 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Frustrating visit this time I stayed recently for 5 nights; on four of those 5 days my room key had to be replaced because it would not work. The keys were kept separate from magnetic devices so either the room lock was faulty or some other reason but having to return to the lobby to retrieve new keys was very annoying. Secondly on two of the 5 nights a wake up call scheduled was not received the following morning; again very annoying. I've stayed at this hotel on many occasions and have never had this type of problem before November 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Outstanding hotel check-in personnel Each and every time we have stayed at the Westin Governor Morris in Morristown, NJ...the check-in personnel have been simply wonderful. Carine, in particular is kind and caring and always willing to please. Unfortunately, I can not say that for the restaurant waitstaff, they always appear and act as if you are 'bothering' them. Each and every time we have taken advantage of our free breakfast, the waitstaff has been quite unacceptable. This is a shame since the meal ends up feeling awkward and unpleasant. November 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel close to historical sites Outside of the glitch with the thermostat/heating unit, my stay was very good. Historical landmarks and museums within walking distance. I really liked the walk/run trail. October 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel was great, Breakfast a disappointment Very disappointed in the buffet breakfast. I stopped down around 8:15 and many of the food options were picked over or gone completely. To make matters worse the restaurant staff stood nearby chatting among themselves with no interest in me as a customer. The tipping point was the fact when the bill arrived a 15% gratuity was hard coded into the total. I am a 20%+ tipper with every meal, but had a hard time swallowing the forced 15% for a staff that seated me and never checked back. October 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely Disappointed Too many complaints to list (I've actually been waiting for the manager to contact me in regards to the feedback card I left; I spoke with her and she said she would definitely be contacting me. Nothing yet. Very disappointed for several reasons- most of all the house keeping staff. October 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Romance? My wife & I booked the romance package. We were upgraded to the suite which we appreciated very much since we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. the package was to include cham/choc covered strawberries & a spa basket. we switched the choc strawberries to a cheese & cracker platter (called 4 days prior to our stay) & was advised that it would be no problem. The cham/platter was not in our room upon arrival & we needed to call 2 times before it was finally done.The cheese & cracker platter consisted of 2 very sm pieces of cheese & 5 crackers with lots of fruit. The "basket" was a small bag. we did enjoy our stay regardless...just pointing this out for the future. The employees at the hotel were very polite & welcoming & the room was very comfortable. October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by windws Everything was great with our stay.The only thing I would say is to clean windows in room and have a fan in bathroom. September 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Front Desk Keeps Trying Car service booked with night front desk staff. Car was 25 minutes late the next morning. Prior to late arrival of car, I asked the day front desk staff about the car.... fantastic response... "You never booked it with me, I wasn't working the desk last night". September 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fall Wedding My wedding was held at a nearby venue and our guests predominantly stayed at the Westin on Wed/Thur/Fri for a Friday night wedding. We had roughly 50 rooms and very little added requests of the hotel. We had gift bags waiting downstairs, some additional options in the presidential suite, and a number of guests with very specific whisky requests . . . otherwise no hassle at all. Unfortunately we were repeatedly dissapointed in the lack of effort and unsatisfactory service put forth by the bar staff, front desk, and certain members of the management. The shining star amongst our interactions was with Kerwin (sp?) who went above and beyond to help us book a few late rooms, which we were told was a real help to the hotel because they didn't think they'd book them otherwise. Kerwin was mentioned more than once at the wedding itself as being particularly helpful. Overall, the hotel was impressive from an achitectural standpoint or maybe a mattress-comfort point of view, but not much more than that. September 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charging Error, Overall Nice Our stay was overall a great stay. We came for a wedding for a single night. The room was spacious, the staff was extremely friendly (in a REAL way, not in a stepford wives way), and the shuttle to and from the wedding was extremely appreciated. The tub was a bit grainy -- not dirty, but perhaps dried cleaner? Nothing worth a squabble, just notable. The only real issue we ran into was the fact that despite our CLEAR instructions that we would be paying for the room in cash, the credit card we put on file (for incidentals, normal protocol for hotels nowadays) was charged for the full stay. We were told that a $50 would be placed on the card but NOT charged unless we used room service, left the room in poor condition, etc... We are now left with over-draft fees from our bank. The front desk staff attempted to mend the situation by giving us drink credits at the bar....at noon....when the bar is not open. We managed to squeeze a bottle of water and kid-sized bottle of Coke out of them before we left. Just be sure YOU KNOW what's being charged to which credit card. Everything else was flawless.... September 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel not up to par Keys did not work. Shuttle service a joke. Waited an hour to be picked up. Driver wanted to drop me short of my destination and let me walk. September 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Once over The hotel space was a good fit for the conference I attended. My room didn't seem fresh, though. It was as if it had been quickly cleaned over a week before I checked in. Also, the room keys don't seem to work efficiently. I had to enter the key into the slot three times before the door would unlock. The lobby area was nice, and the restaurant food was good. September 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Westin I've stayed in This was the worst stay I've ever had at a Westin. There are only two elevators and the maids use these elevators. It took us 15 minutes to get from the 5th floor to the lobby. Worst of all our key cards did not work. We were told the battery died on the door. The "engineer" didn't fix our door until after we left to go to the reception (2 hours later). I will never recommend anyone to stay here. September 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by blood on comforter & shower drain plugged The beds were so comfortable, however I woke up and found the lower corner of the comforter had blood on it. It was there all along as I didn't have any wounds or bleeding. The shower drain is plugged and near overflowing by the time my shower was done. Also, left light bulb was out in vanity. I was in room 450. On the bright side, the bed was so comfortable...just the blood made me very uncomfortable...like wondering if the bedding was even changed at all. One downfall was they had no indoor pool/hot tub. September 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable Pretty lobby and entrance to hotel. Very comfortable bed. Liked the fact that coffee machine was in room. Would definitely stay in Westin Hotel again September 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could Be Better Having just moved from another Starwood property in the area, the Westin Governor Morris does not compare favorably as far as guest rooms are concerned. The common and dining areas were excellent and stuff very friendly. However, the standard rooms were comparatively small and mine in particular was terribly maintained - toilet did not flush properly, broken (therefore empty) minibar and a huge crack in the ceiling. Quite disappointing. Overall this property is not on par with most other Westin properties if you are actually staying as a guest. Those only dining or visiting the bar may be more satisfied than I was. September 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps improving Clock finally set at the right time as I entered my room. Mild concierge services are now reappearing. Overall a comfortable stay. Blue Morel manager and staff are fantastic. Sold out the next week and the week after, so will have to move my team elsewhere... too bad for us. September 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overrated The desk clerks are very helpful. I am 57 years old and stayed at a lot of motels and I have never been told I can not bring a six pack of beer in to my room, over priced and overrated. September 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great facilites. Great price. The rooms are clean and modern. The Heavenly bed is really comfortable. Quite possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. The room rate cannot be beat. I will be considering the Westin for all my accomodation needs during my travels. September 9, 2013
  • 2015-05-12T18:45:11.762-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_212, tr_212
  • loc_en_US, sid_1145, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>