Rated 5 out of 5 by Smitty17 I love Westin hotels!
You have to experience this Westin in Savannah to believe it. It has every thing you could WISH in a hotel. Truth be told, it was more like a resort than a hotel.
I am usually not a fan of hotels in major cities, you overpay for a tiny space. Even suites in cities are tight in comparison.
Not this place, the grounds were beautifully maintained & they offered every thing you could think of.
The only downside is the check-out & check-in process are so slow. And the people working the desk could care less that you just waited a 1/2 hour in line. In this day & age, that service should be streamlined a bit.
June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ljameslaw Dont be deterred by Ferry
I thought staying across the river would be annoying. It wasn't. This hotel is just lovely.
December 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cat26 Disaster Week Stay
Our stay at the Westin Savannah has been a nightmare from the day of checking in when the hotel had given away our reserved and confirmed Suite. Since that day we have been asked to move 3 more times, with once instance the hotel failing to move our luggage as promised and instead all of our belongings were left unattended in a Suite. Luckily our key still worked and we were able to move our own luggage for the second move. Because of the room nightmare access to the internet was prohibited thus preventing us from working in our room until resolved. We would not recommend this hotel
May 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by AJ6871 Overpriced for a underwhelming stay!
We were in Savannah to attend a wedding and choice this hotel because it was the venue for the reception. The young lady (Sammie?) who checked us in was not exactly friendly or nice. She wasn't rude but her customer service skill do need some polishing. When we had questions about the hotel she gave us a brochure and said this should answer most of your questions. Apparently it was too much to answer a couple of our questions. Also when we inquired about the late check out on Sunday she neglected to inform us of the additional cost. The room was ok but not what we were expecting especially for how much it was costing per night. The bathroom had an unusual layout and smelled of mold. Also because of a paper mill that is located near the hotel, our room smelled of burning sewer. When we called the front desk to inquiry about the smell we were told 'that's just the way it is in Savannah'. The smell was very strong some nights and made sleeping difficult even though the beds were comfy. I plan to return to Savannah but I will not stat at this location. I will never stay here again.
October 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by bmrubin Good Times
Hotel has lots to offer, its very relaxing.
December 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by ValPlatt Great Rooms Terrible Restaurants
The hotel itself was great but we had a terrible experience with the dining.
We made reservations at Aquastar prior to arriving for Christmas night. Upon arrival we went by the restaurant to confirm the reservation and look at the menu. We asked the manager what he recommended as we were dining with them that evening and he raved about the Oysters, Carpaccio, Shrimp and Grits and Filet, we were very excited to be dining there that evening. When we arrived to dinner we were given a limited menu of Turkey, Beef Wellington with a salad and dessert for $55. We were not happy with these selections and told the server that it was not brought to our attention at the time of reservation or confirmation of reservation that there was a limited menu and we certainly were not interested in the selection provided for an inflated $55/pp. Since it was too late to get any additional reservations off of the island at this late time we then opted to eat at the Midnight Sun Lounge. The experience was absolutely the worst service and food I have encountered. We sat at a table that was dirty and after not receiving even an acknowledgment after 5min we moved to a high top table that opened up hoping we would be in better view of the staff. The table was dirty and a manager came by and cleaned the table which we informed her that we were ready to order. We witnessed at least 4 other families leave after not receiving acknowledgement after extended periods of time. We asked the manager what the bagna spread was and she said she thought it was a ground beef spread, she then asked another server who said it was a bean spread.... when it arrived it was simply a sundried tomato spread... I would think the management and staff should know the items on their menu. We also ordered the quesadilla's which arrived with no cilantro or guacamole and then the shrimp salad never arrived. When we told the server that we no longer wanted the salad he let out a big huff and said sorry I have been here at 7am. It is not my fault that your restaurant was understaffed or that your staff had to work a double. They were clearly understaffed and while I did appreciate the smile from the manager none of the other staff could break a smile which would have been nice especially on Christmas. We had intended on ordering additional drinks and trying the chocolates but the experience was so terrible and the staff clearly wanted everyone out of there that we decided to call it a night and relax in our room out of their way.
The next evening we gave AquaStar another shot. The hostess and our server (I believe Brittany) were both VERY sweet and remembered us for the night before and made sure we had a great table which was very much appreciated. Brittany was great but again I do not know if the restaurant was understaffed again or what the issue was but we ordered 2 martinis which after eating our bread, appetizer and receiving our entrees they still had not arrived. I informed her that we no longer wanted them. I was very disappointed as I wanted a cocktail to start and then a glass of wine with dinner which was clearly not possible. When the drinks came she informed us that they were on the house which was a nice gesture but the drinks were terrible and could hardly be imbibed. We did order room service for breakfast one morning which was very good... perhaps because it wasn't ruined by the understaffed personnel.
The room was very nice and comfortable, the valet and luggage staff as well as the check in staff were all very pleasant. It was unfortunate that our experience was less that perfect due to the experience that had with the restaurants. I have recommended this hotel to others however I have informed them that the dining is less than desirable and the trip across the river is a must. I strongly recommend that your team looks into this area that is hindering your guest from having a perfect experience.
December 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by J1155 Mediocre
Lots of issues. Overall mediocre. Reported broken bottle on walkway to parking lot, but still not picked up days later when we checked out. Electronic room key did not work in parking lot. Housekeeping didn't replace empty tissue rollers, wash cloths and shampoo after several days. Too few hangers in room. Aqua Star breakfast service unacceptable. Ordered, but later had to go searching for waitstaff after lengthy wait. Eventually got cold food and waffles without butter or syrup. Had to go find someone again, and waited again. Food very cold. Noticed other customers with similar problems looking for waitstaff, who seemed to disappear. On the other hand, Sergii was great at dinner there. Prior to checkout, called about 2 errors on bill received under door. One charge for parking, but this was included in our deal. A bar charge for someone else put on our bill. Second bill slid under door with only one error corrected. Went down to desk to get it straightened out. The hotel is a nice facility, and the dinner food was good, but the staff and service are mediocre. I would not recommend this hotel or return.
June 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Marshallm21 This was not a good experience
This was my first of many trips in the next few years to Savannah. I like Westins so I decided to pay more and give it a try. Unless you give me a reason to stay there again I certainly will not.
The room was ok but did not smell great and my bed smelled like sweat. Gross. When we went to breakfast in your hotel we waited for 10-15 minutes at the table. No one said hello, no one brought coffee/water etc...Service was awful. We got up and left. Next I went to checkout and told the agent behind the counter about my dissatisfaction. She could have cared less. Handed me my receipt for my stay and never said thank you and never said anything about see you next time. Believe me there won't be a next time and likely never again at any Westin.
June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vincos Seems Like Savannah's Best Option
Located on an island opposite Savannah’s historic downtown, I worried about the logistics of getting back and forth but found the complimentary municipal shuttle literally at the doorstep of the hotel to be a real pleasure and actually really enjoyed returning the this lovely retreat from the hustle and bustle of downtown. The property is relatively new and very well-maintained. As a Platinum I was upgraded to a high floor with a superb view over Savannah..although I would have loved a balcony. Room as expected of the high Westin standard. The pool area is also very attractive. Staff are extremely courteous in Southern-hospitality style and the young concierge was very helpful in setting up my various sightseeing, dining and transportation needs.
September 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Scottishtraveler Recent stay
I found the property to be outstanding and the separation from downtown Savannah a real bonus. The ferry worked really well
Hotel staff were outstanding
One funny note
I seemed to get some one else's breakfast order ( yes I had ordered but got something different) but it was good and nobody wanted to retrieve it
Overall well done
September 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bobbie My experience
My husband was trapped in your elevator for over an hour. The alarm buzzer was ignored and the emergency call button was programed to an office that was closed and unoccupied. I called the front desk and was told "OK I will report to HOUSEKEEPING?". 17 minutes later a friend went to the front desk and was told they were unaware of anyone stuck in an elevator. My husband was "rescued" after being stuck for over an hour.To further add to insult a phone message told me we were comped $50.00. What an insult!!
December 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by ToniCTravelAmeniti1 If you visit Savannah, this is your nirvana!
This is the best property in Savannah. Location is ideal: secluded yet close to everything. The free boat ride to the historical downtown was a breeze that my family enjoyed.
Spg recognition superior: I was upgraded to a huge hospitality suite without asking for one and before my arrival. My platinum amenity was upgraded to full breakfast.
The spa and golf club are great. Service is excellent. This is one of the rare downtown resorts anywhere. If you visit Savannah, this is your nirvana!
July 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by WCAB 44th Anniversary
Our great 3-night stay began when Sean took us to our room. He was very informative and helpful. Next Cassandra, the concierge, did a great job of helping us to plan our stay, including restaurants and places to visit. Later, we enjoyed the fireworks with dessert by Chef Ennius. He was quite helpful in explaining the 1st Friday events and suggesting the great dessert choices we made. He and Carlos, our waiter, were instrumental in making this one of our most enjoyable anniversaries ever....and we have had 44! Out stay included breakfasts in the Aqua Star, drinks in the Midnight Sun and a round of Golf. Would recommend it to anyone!
October 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by traveler3217 Awful!!
Beware this is the worst run hotel in the chain!!!!!
December 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by me0102 Not A 4 Star Hotel
Upon arriving the hotel itself was beautiful and a great location. Staff was friendly and helpful. There were black hairs in the tub, room was hot and never cooled off. Remote didn't work. Called front desk and she sent up an "engineer". He changed the batteries but I still had to stand right in front of the tv to get it to work. Hardly any channels. No fitted sheets on the mattress so when I would move around in the night, bottom sheet came off. Comforter weighed 50lbs. Second night I was there, remote stopped working again. Called front desk, she said she would send up an engineer, however, he never arrived. They were not real remotes, some kind of generic plastic throw away. Empty toilet paper rolls were not replaced. Plug for wired internet in room was broken. Couldn't get wireless internet to work. Hotel only worth $130 per night. Couldn't wait to stay here, was greatly disappointed!!!!!!!
August 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Johno Poor value, no etra effort for SPG Platinums
Nice building, but an outrageous daily resort fee (for what I'm not sure). Parking lot is a long distance from the building. Not a service oriented staff. No recognition of my SPG Plarinum status, poor upgrades and you have to ask for the poor upgrades to even get one. Not a great family hotel destination. Overall, for the money and service, pick another hotel in Savannah.
December 16, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Jay007 Restaurant Oddity
The Westin Resort was everything you expect for a Westin, except the restaurant service. Dining on a Saturday evening at Aqua Spa, we had to wait 5 minutes before the hostess even showed up at the front. Once seated, the waiter seemed confused about the menu...the selection I made from the menu was actually printed in error (yet rang up on the check as being what I ordered also)...and the busers tried to take away our plate of oysters 2 minutes after they arrived at the table, when clearly only 2 had been eaten. The food was fine...nothing stellar...but the service from arrival to departure at Aqua Star was just off.
December 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by floridagrl10 We had a great stay
We just returned from our stay at the
Westin Savanah resort.
This is a grand resort redone to perfection.. The location to the historical
section of Savanah is great. So close to
all the fun places to go but far enough to be relaxing.
We were upgraded to a river view room as
we are Starwood members. We loved
the resort and will be back soon.
September 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Jason1976 Westin Resort Savannah lacks customer service
Had several issues, including incorrect room, dirty towels from previous guest left in shower, valet never parked car, it sat on the curb where we parked it during our stay even though we were issued a parking ticket from the valet rep. No response from PR or GM when emailed problems.
February 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by JRP04 Beware the resort fee.... And good luck getting it back.
I booked two rooms using Starwood points. At checkout we were charged $44.00 for "Resort Fees". The fees were not disclosed at time of booking nor at check-in (although it was in the fine print of the email I received after booking). At checkout I was told what the resort fee covered - internet, fitness center (shouldn't Platinum get these for free?), driving range and self parking. Would have been nice to have been told about it ahead of time so we could take advantage of it. The supervisor on duty begrudgingly reversed one of them, telling me he was doing it as a "one time favor" for me.
I love the location but would expect more service friendly attitude before staying here again.
July 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jim75 Exceeded our expectations
My wife and I had spent a week in Hilton Head with friends and decided to extend our vacation by staying an additional day and a half in Savannah. I reserved a night at the Westin Savannah Harbor. We had a an awesome time enjoyring the city and our view from the room.
We were with a friend our first night back and the friend asked what was the highlight of our trip. My wife said she loved the entire trip but the great hotel view was as the top of her list. We were given a top floor balcony view over the river. We spent three hours on the deck with a bottle of wine, a great view of the city and fire works to top it off.
Kudos to Starwoods for making our extended vacation extra special!
October 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by klc27 Room wasn't up to standard
My room wasn't clean - the toilet had stains from a previous guest and one of the beds sheets had a very large stain on it. I cleaned the toilet myself and slept in the other bed. The alarm clock didn't work in my room and I mentioned it to the front desk clerk the following day to which she suggested I just ask for a wake up call. I asked that she replace the alarm clock. When I arrived at my room that evening the alarm clock had not been replaced so I decided I'd call for a wake up call. One of my phones didn't work so I used the other to order the wake up call. The next morning I was awakened by a man from security knocking on my door telling me I didn't answer my wake up call (15 minutes after my scheduled time). Evidentially the ringer on the other phone in my room didn't work! I had to again tell the front desk of this issue - which finally got resolved on the 3rd day, after I insisted. This made me late for meetings two days in a row. I've stayed in a lot of hotels and I was very disappointed in this one. I also was disappointed in the attitude of the staff when I did have problems - they seemed nonchalant about it and offered nothing other than a shrug of the shoulders and a 'sorry you are having problems' - like it was my fault nothing in the room worked.
April 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Grandma12 The noisy gnat box
The savannah speedway was located right behind the hotel and the noise from all the cars were unbearable especially at 9:00 in the morning. There was dried urine stains on the bathroom floor. We had an outside wedding and the gnats were awful. We woke up around 2 a.m. to an awful sewage smell. Let's just say, I had a miserable time
October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by caniche39 Courteous, caring staff
I would like to brag on the nice lady who was working the front desk around 1:00 AM 2/6/12. I know her name and I wish I was allowed to say it on this form. She was so warm and welcoming and thoughtful. I sent a thank you to the info@westin email address but I don't know if anyone saw it yet. She was terrific. It was our first time traveling with a pet and she could tell we were nervous. She answered all of our dog questions and she explained the dog friendly areas on the grounds. She surprised us with gourmet doggie treats, which our dog loved. She also surprised us with anniversary goodies.
February 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Runnergirl8 Awesome experience!
I normally don't write reviews but felt that this hotel deserves one. From the moment I arrived the staff was very attentive and so friendly. Everyone went out of their way to make sure my stay was a memorable and enjoyable one, without any coercion or prompting. I don't know if I've ever met a friendlier hotel staff; and I have stayed in 5-Star hotels. The room was always clean, the customer service is excellent, and the restaurant had the. most. incredible. food!! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Savannah, and I will definitely be staying here every time I return.
December 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by PSS1 Nice Hotel....August can be a challenge!
Observations: The hotel is nice and located in a good spot to visit downtown Savannah. The ferry is very convenient. The pool is a little small and it would be great if they used some of the extra space to create an adult pool. The rooms were OK, but needed updating. We had 'golf course' view balcony. Unfortunately, it really only overlooked the parking lot and air units. Although we knew August would be hot, we did not anticipate the mosquitos. They were very bad. The bugs at the pool were tolerable, but annoying. The golf course was terrible even with bug spray. I don't know how they can charge a full round rate in those conditions and not make people aware of the situation. That was very disappointing.
August 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Baileca Slim on kids activities....
Stayed for a week. The staff were wonderful. The location and views of Savannah can't be beat...... The common areas could use some updating and general cleanliness could be improved.
The biggest disappointment was the programming of activities. On check in...I was provided a schedule of events
/activities for kids and/ or adults poolside. Id say maybe 25% of these activities actually took place. And often the staff knew nothing about the scheduled activities.
With that said ......I still think the Westin in Savannah is a great place to stay.
August 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mka6891 Needs More Staffing
The hotel was very nice, great amenities and great location. We were very disappointed with the staffing levels in the hotel restaurants. We went to have breakfast and were told it was a 30 minute wait, but most of the tables were empty, they just needed to be cleaned. The hostess said she had a bad foot and couldn't help. The other workers, including a woman who looked like a manager, worked at a snails pace. There were about 20 people other than ourselves who were waiting, but it didnt seem to be an issue with the staff. Several people decided to do to go orders from the buffet. We went and ate elsewhere. Working in the hotel industry for over 20 years, i would and have sacrificed profit to enhance the guest experience, this hotel does not do that.
June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pammietravels Nice but a little disappointed
We reserved the King Deluxe with balcony/river view for 5 nights. We also reserved a fridge & microwave. Front desk staff super friendly. We did not use the valet service; self-parking within short walk. Our room on the 16th floor had a super view w/small balcony. Room was smaller than expected, especially with price. Air conditioning was poor from day one but we did not complain (we hate complaining) until we checked out (no recompense offered). Pillows really bad. Very clean. Locale set apart from all the hubub of Savannah, which we wanted. Husband awoke with back pain but I did not. All in all, we'd go back but because of the small-ish room, we'd probably get a suite. BTW, we had our 5.5 lb. dog with us so the pet-friendly aspect was very important to us.
August 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tim627 From the start great service
We arrived late and wanted a different view than what was given. Staff handled this so nicely, offering to work with us.
This is what wowed me though... the conference let out and many were waiting in line for elevators. The staff took over the situation like pros - next thing you know the piano player was playing and a staff member was helping fill the escalators.
They kept my golf clubs by the door - stored away until I needed them.
Staff was always happy to serve. It was not fake, from my good morning to my welcome back.
June 16, 2013