The Westin Sydney

  • 1 Martin Place
  • Sydney,
  • New South Wales
  • 2000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a double room shared with a paying adult. Rollaway beds are charged at 90 AUD. Cribs are provided complimentary and available upon request.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 627 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful hotel and very central too We had a wonderful stay at the hotel and found it to be very central in Sydney. June 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Go elsewhere Let me start by saying that we made the mistake of booking this hotel as part of a six night get away. Apparently, according to the management of the hotel this was our mistake as they do not cater for leisure guests but instead cater for corporate customers who only stay 1-2 nights. That’s right! Our mistake! It’s a pitty they don’t tell you however when you make your reservation or at least mention it on their website. We arrived at the hotel, dropped off by a driver as we were assured we wouldn’t need any transport given the hotel’s location. Upon arriving there were no porters or anyone to help with our bags. This wasn’t a problem, until (which was a common theme throughout the stay) we walk through the front doors and see them all crowded behind a computer at their desk. Obviously all pre-occupied. They were quick to offer assistance once they spotted us. Check-in by Bella was great, seamless and genuine. She explained where our room was, how to get there and explained about the executive lounge that we had access to. Perhaps the only delightful staff member we encountered. The room wasn’t bad. Dated with inappropriate art work and an outlook directly into the office building next door but certainly not bad. It was clean, reasonable size and a comfortable bed. The room itself however doesn’t have any power outlets by the beds and only one power point by the desk. This is perhaps because of their corporate clientele not requiring more but with two people it was difficult to make sure the phones and tablets were charged for the following day and usually requiring a midnight swap! We did request a power board from “Service Express” but we were delivered an extension lead, upon calling back we were told we could purchase a power board from the Coles around the corner (we did, it cost us $6). The hotel is in a great location and we didn’t need a car. Only a couple of minutes down the road are train stations, mall, monorail station, Hyde Park, Circular Quay, etc. The hotel also has access to a pool and gym, held in an adjacent building. These however aren’t operated by the hotel and are part of a busy chain of gyms within the city. It was well appointed however busy and tedious to find. (Down one elevator, across the walkway, through a hall, up another elevator then down some steps). Their business centre is the same and held in the same building. Due to the lack of facilities in their business centre, we were unable to utilise it. We obviously had some expectations going into the Westin. They boast themselves as one of the best hotels in Sydney given their location, brand and reputation. Unfortunately our expectations were let down especially around customer service and the general rudeness of staff at the hotel. When we ordered drinks at their bar & lounge on a Saturday night we felt we were burdening the girl behind the bar. After waiting for some time, we felt we had to go to her at the other end of the bar where she was talking to the other staff. It wasn’t busy. The drinks were made and thankfully her sourness wasn’t infused in the drinks we ordered. We were able to take a hint however and quickly left the bar as they started packing up around us. We weren’t the only ones in the bar nor was it late. We didn’t know what time the bar closes (they tell you late) however felt we were being pushed out without so much as any words from the staff. The Executive Lounge is another feature of the hotel, servicing guests who have either paid for an executive room (we chose to) or higher levels of the Starwood loyalty club. It offered daily breakfast, refreshments through the day and canapés of an evening. This was normally an interesting experience however. We were met our first morning by a very officious young man who without any greeting what-so-ever promptly asked “Remind me of your room number again?” We quickly told him our room number and then all of a sudden we appeared to be dismissed. Well good morning to you too! My partner was lucky (or unlucky?) enough to be offered coffee as we sat down. I wasn’t offered seemed to be continued to be ignored. The breakfast selection was good small variety of hot foods, muesli, cereals and pastries. They appeared however to be adverse to clearing plates once finished so you could read without them getting in the way of the newspapers. This was how it was run daily! I don’t expect to have a conversation with every staff member I come across, I in fact dislike the feel of over servicing you can get from some hotels but I do expect to be acknowledged. A generic greeting when we’d arrive for breakfast, a warm smile from behind the bar. This is where the Westin failed. Even walking through the foyer one evening again being ignored by staff, we decided to wish to the staff behind the front desk a good evening, again all crowded around the one computer, appearing to share a joke (or perhaps a funny youtube video?) Only one of them felt the need to look up, mumble something before quickly looking back to the computer. Not even any eye contact. While these seem like something small to pick at but when you encounter the behaviour from the concierge, front desk (apart from Bella), the Lounge/Bar and the Executive Lounge you start to feel VERY unwelcome. Not really feeling that any of the staff were approachable (they weren’t?) I made a post online to Starwood generalising how displeased we were. Their response? Go talk to the property manager on duty. So, I did! It was around 8.30 and people were checking out, so there was an obvious line waiting for the front desk so I went to the concierge desk. There was no one else there. I spoke to Ron (a member of Les Clef’s d’Or) who again without making eye contact (or even looking up from the paper he was reading), quickly dismissed me with a wave of his hand telling me to “Speak to someone on front desk”. I’m not sure why they gave him a radio and a phone when he can’t use either. But regardless, I went and lined up and quickly got a chance to speak to Rachel who was the manager on duty. She was quick to apologise that I didn’t feel like I was welcomed here and we talked about how they mainly cater for corporate guests. I explained how unwelcome we felt and that we were looking at leaving the hotel. She was quick to ask us not to do that and to stay on and that hopefully they could sort something out for us. I explained that our issue was that their staff were making us feel unwelcome and that I’m not sure what could be done other than us leave. We gave her the benefit of the doubt however and agreed to wait to see what solution could be offered. Now, my partner and I are two guys, in our late twenties. Our main issue was that we felt unwelcome due to the rude, abrupt, dismissive staff as experienced in Front Office, Concierge, Executive Lounge and the Lounge/Bar. Rachel came back with two proposed offerings to “Try and make things right.” First was free high tea in their lounge/bar one afternoon and the second was free breakfast of the morning at their restaurant. Perhaps this shows how disengaged staff here are from the top down with their customer’s needs. While I’m sure high tea at the Westin is nice, perhaps it’s not something you do in your late twenties…without your grandmother out for mothers days. Especially not when you had specifically mentioned your recent bad experiences in the lounge bar. Breakfast was also a seemingly nice gesture, aside from the fact that we were paying an extra $120 night for to have free breakfast every morning (as it was the only real benefit of the executive lounge). Upon further negotiation, we agreed that my partner and I would leave & that the Westin would provide us with a full refund for the accommodation and we would pay our incidentals, more than fair!! I had Rachel confirm this in writing (I still have the email). So my partner and I scrambled to find another hotel, back our belongings and first thing next morning we left with assurances that we would be refunded again the full amount minus the incidentals as soon as we left. Eight days later I received a partial refund. About a third of the money we paid to the Westin. They charged us the full amount for the room & also decided to take out a donation for Unicef, without authorisation. I again contacted the hotel and was met with a response basically telling me I’m lucky to get anything as they offered the high tea and free breakfast which apparently was quite generous. In general the Westin has left a very bitter taste in our mouths. One we’re now willing to share with absolutely anyone who’s willing to listen. This is perhaps a bit of a rant and perhaps the issues may seem petty but hopefully goes to show how very wrong the Westin gets it. This hotel is not suited to leisure guests, something they were quite quick to shove in your face the moment we explained we were unhappy. Something however they keep very well hidden on their website and something they don’t tell you when you’re making your reservation over the phone. August 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel and location We found this hotel to be exceptional. Top rated room, very clean and attentive staff. We would recommend this hotel. Arrived at 7:30 am and our room was ready within an hour and half. Even though our room faced a big clock and tower, the chimes stop at 9 pm and are quiet all night and early morning. Very quiet room. June 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin- great except for breakfast The Westin is a great place to stay however the queue/ wait for breakfast needs to be reviewed. The actual food was excellent however if queues were expected it would have been good to have prior warning or some sort of booking system. I haven't had this issue in the other Westins I have stayed in. June 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Service - Worst SPG staff ever After spending over $800 on two rooms and setting up a number of high level meetings we were consistently berated and embarrassed by the staff for sitting in certain areas of the lobby and restaurants....at one point we asked for a glass of water and were told we could only have that at the bar...I complained to the manager and while she listened and apologized she did nothing to address my concerns....DONT STAY HERE - they give AUSSIES a bad name - Can't believe you can get such poor service in a wonderful country June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved everything about the hotel We enjoyed our stay at the Westin very much. The staff were very friendly, the rooms were beautiful and the food was absolutely so fresh. Enjoyed everything about the hotel and its staff. Definately would love to return. June 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by little things wrong Have stayed at this hotel on numerous times. Always found the Westin to be of the highest standard. However, on this stay was disappointed by "the little things".No literature in the room whatsoever to inform travellers of what is available in Sydney or how to explore the hotel, this was no problem to me as I know Sydney well.Facility for express checkout was not made available, and on trying to contact reception, no one answered the phone. On checking out reception were very surprise and sorry. As i have said these were only small things, that unless addressed could detract from the Westin reputation. May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable The Westin Sydney....always reliable. June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Westin yet We stayed at the Westin Sydney for three nights at the beginning of an Australia/New Zealand tour. The place is great! It is a modern tower inside of a historic building. They have made the most of the old atrium with restaurants and a shopping concourse. The food is great in the lobby bar/restaurant. The oysters are especially good. The rooms take Westin standards to a new level - exceptionally comfortable beds, and you'll want to take the shower/bath set-up home. Staff is very friendly, and the hotel outside the lobby is super quiet - perfect for sleeping off the jet lag. Overall a great stay! May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable Great room, comfortable bed, modern facilities June 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lacking all the simple things This has to be one of the worst Starwood hotels I have stayed at. You charge a 5-star price for 3-star quality. You do not provide the basic things - leaving everything upon request. Whether it be a toothbrush or even replacing the laundry bag - you have to be the cheapest quality hotel I have encountered. Even when providing feedback to reception - you have the nerve to say not everyone needs a toothbrush or a laundry bag. This is one Starwood hotel I will never stay in again. Unbelievably unprofessional. April 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good facilities, not chocolate This hotel is very central and has a good range of bars and cafe's etc downstairs. The room is spacious and bathroom even better. It's a bit bureaucratic however. Coming in at night, I felt like taking a hot chocolate up to my room. No problem said the man in the bar, but there is a $9 room delivery charge. I wasn't allowed to wait and take it up myself. Fortunately there's a Max Brenner Chocolate place just down the street - so that's where I went as a matter of principal. Little things like this make hotels look money hungry and non-responsive to what the guest prefers. May 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded expectations Beautiful hotel centrally situated with all the comforts of a five star hotel. From the moment I arrived to the time I departed first class service all the way. The room upgrade was gratefully accepted and much appreciated. I'll be back. June 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb Did not know much about this hotel. I'm a frequent Westin customer in many places outside of Australia. This hotel is in a fantastic location in Sydney CBD, right in the heart. The GPO building is really nice. Stayed in a corner Tower Deluxe room which was very impressive. Room size and bathroom size were nice. Would definitely stay again and can't wait. January 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by wedding when arrived I was rudely meet with the secure person, one I did by mistake enter the wrong way, but in saying that he was so rude. he had told me that I need to park my car and get my own cloth out and make my way to hotel. 2. I had been to the hotel 2 week before arrived and as that our room would be avaaible as I have a wedding to attend at 2pm that day, when I arrived the room were not ready until 3 pm. by this time I was so mad. I had to get the manager to discuss this situation, I have stayed at westin all over the world and have always enjoyed them ,but this time that I need to have everything run on time was my worst stay ever. May 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reception I arrived at the Reception desk on the monring of Thursday May 29th to check into my booked room and was told I had slept there on the Wednesday night and was due to check out on Thursday May 29th. I explained I had not styed there on the Wednesday night. The resception clerk disputed my story and it wasn't until I spoke to the manager that my situation was resolved. The implication was that I mad it all up June 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great SPG lounge staff, not so good f&b As usual, fantastic spg lounge staff. However, the f&b service staff at the mosaic restaurant is found wanting. In room dining prices are too high. December 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am happy with this hotel At breakfast, I used some of the cutlery from the second place setting at my table, but not the serviette. When it was cleared, the waitress took the unused spoon and serviette and put them at another table. Does that mean that the cutlery which I used could have been touched (or even used) by somebody else before it was placed at my table? June 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bar Staff Training This hotel is lovely but the bar staff need more training to ensure they have communicated their requirements when guests are charging drinks to their rooms and have checked the room number and guest name before requiring the guest to sign again immediately below the first signature. June 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location Right In the center, this is a great hotel and excellent staff. Gave me my platinum benefits and everyone was very helpful. Had a great time at the hotel. June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by VIVID MEMORIES Staying at the Westin was very central to the Quay and other Vivid exhibitions in Martin Place. It was also great to see the GPO transformed from its prior existence. Centrally located to buses and trains at Wynyard June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Close to everything & amazing Loved this hotel, amazing interior & next to martin place & pitt st mall (shopping) - lots to see & do just in the hotel June 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Like Heaven The Westin Sydney is a magnificent hotel located in the heart of the city. The exquisite architecture and warm interiors are mixed with modern and luxurious amenities. The hotel is built upon the landmark Sydney General Post Office constructed in 1886. In 1996, the building was sold, and refurbished, and turned into shops, offices and the Westin Hotel. The Lobby & Check-in : The lobby is grand and welcomes travelers from all over the world with traditional and comfortable furnishings. I was greeted as soon as I arrived by the bellman and felt very welcome. He took my bags and showed me to the Starwood Preferred Guest Check-in line. The check-in process was simple and quick. I had two reservations – one paid and one reward reservation – and the hotel combined them for me and ensured I could stay in the same room the entire stay. Upon checking in, I was told about the Executive Lounge, free internet access (due to Platinum Status) and Westin Workout options. The Room: Wow! What else can I say? I was upgraded to an executive room with a king bed and it was spectacular (I’m not sure the pictures do it justice!) The room was modern and bright and made me feel at home. From my room, I could see the clock tower, which is beautiful, and had a great view of the city. The room had a king sized bed, desk and gigantic bathroom. The bathroom had a large soaking tub and separate shower. The wall separating the bathroom and bedroom was glass and had an electric curtain that could be raised and lowered as needed. I absolutely could have moved in and felt right at home. The room had wired internet connection – no wireless in the rooms. The room was very clean and housekeeping came by in the evening for turn-down service refreshing the towels and bottled water. Executive Lounge: The lounge was very nice, but very crowded. There was free wireless internet in the lounge and therefore there were always people (including me) on their phones and iPads and other devices. The appetizers were platted and served by the staff - so you were stuck with what they gave you. The appetizers were pretty, but not to my liking. There was cheese and veggies available for self-service. All drinks were complimentary and also served by the staff (alcoholic and non-alcoholic). While the staff was very friendly and very accommodating, it was a little odd to have to ask for a bottle of water or apple juice every time I wanted one. The hotel: A block from Sydney’s central shopping district (Pitt Street Mall and ueen Victoria Building), close to all major attractions and with easy access to public transportation the hotel is in the perfect location for visitors (business and holiday alike). The hotel’s restaurant is overpriced and service is poor. I arrived on Christmas Day, and there weren’t many dining options. I had a Caesar Salad with Grilled Chicken and a coke and with taxes my bill came to $48. The salad was good, but expensive (I should note that the coke was $6.) Under the hotel are a variety of restaurants and shops – however none of them were open during my stay since it was Christmas Day, Boxing Day and then everything was closed the day after Boxing Day because it fell on a weekend. I found myself walking down the street to the Pitt Street Mall and enjoying the restaurants and Westfield Food Court for most meals. Overview: I loved the Westin and will stay there any chance I get. The hotel and the staff are amazing January 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by breakfast crew need a rev Overall my stay was as I would expect having stayed here many times before, however the breakfast experience with an important client left a lot to be desired, we opted for al a carte so we could concentrate on discussions, wait staff were slow to attend to us and we had to get their attention, when the meals came they were both overcooked the eggs benedict were iike a hard boiled egg with the ham discoloured from heat (had it been ubder the heat lamps for an extended period?)and the sauce burnt, my omelette was also overcooked and had the consistency of rubber as we were running late (it had taken so long to get to us) we did not send the food back, May 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location, Great Service One of the most comfortable hotels in Sydney, ideally located with impeccable service in the club lounge. The rooms are well appointed and extremely comfortable. Cannot recommend this property enough. May 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by still one of my all time favourites it just all add ups, year after year May 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointing From the process oriented 'welcome' by the concierge team (and ongoing when standing at taxi section of entry and told "go to the taxi rank if you want a taxi"), the mould in the bathroom, showers that run boiling hot to cold and one of the blandest caesar salads ever made, the hotel has vastly declined since I last stayed there. Feedback to staff was accepted but no real effort made to solve the problems. July 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a wonderful stay. From the moment we walked in The Westin, Sydney. Everything was done to perfection. The food and service was great and the in room massage divine. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was luxurious As soon as you arrived at the hotel you felt special May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely disappointing customer service I had an extremely disappointing experience and i am still $290 out of pocket. The duty manager Laura Smith would not refund me for a mistakenly booked additional night which i made on my mobile. As it was pre-booked and 'i had signed the terms and conditions' which was repeated at me multiple times there was nothing that can be done. Just a simple refund is all i asked. So you keep my money, but you'll never ever get my business again - ever. And i'll never recommend you to any business colleagues or future businesses, as a result of your poor customer service. And i'll use social media, Trip Advisor and every single means possible to to relate how poorly you treat customers. With all the money i have given to your business and being a 'gold member' means literally nothing. Well that's what you get from me in future - absolutely nothing. April 6, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>