The Westin Sydney

  • 1 Martin Place
  • Sydney,
  • New South Wales
  • 2000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a double room shared with a paying adult. Rollaway beds are charged at 90 AUD. Cribs are provided complimentary and available upon request.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 714 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely disappointed with staff and manager service My partner and I enjoyed our stay in the Executive Suite, and found the staff pleasant and helpful. Our experience was tarnished when our checked luggage was mistakenly given to another unknown guest, and somehow found its way from Sydney to Newcastle. The staff appeared to accept little responsibility for this incident, and the weekend manager did not return our call. We were told on the Saturday that our luggage would not be returned until Monday, and there was no offer made to compensate us for items that we were now without and needed. We had still not heard from anyone at the hotel by midmorning on Monday, so I called and was promised a return call by the manager within half an hour. After an hour, I called back and was finally put through to a manager. I was informed that I would now need to wait a further 24 hours before I received my luggage, and was told that this was the same as when an airline lost luggage in transit. I explained to the manager that I was now needing to purchase a number of items that I needed as a direct result of their error, and was told in response that his luggage had once been misplaced by an airline. Again, no offer of compensation was offered. I have been appalled at the apparent lack of care and concern show by staff in this situation. I have been left with an understanding that once you leave the premises, they no longer feel an obligaton to provide adqeuate or satisfactory customer service. I understand that mistakes happen, however the way in which the Westin Hotel has responded to their error has been unacceptable. November 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location, couple gaps My wife and I travel a lot and are big SPG fans. We are platinum members. I never write reviews, but thought I would this time because with a few improvements the Westin Sydney would be 5 stars. First of all the Westin Sydney is a very nice hotel in a great location. A 10 minute walk to Circular Quay or Darling Harbour, the Sydney Eye is like 200 meters away, China Town is also an easy walk. We booked 3 nights over Easter Weekend and used our suite night awards for upgrade. We were given a suite on the 15th floor that is very nice. No issues at all with the room. Here are the issues we have had. We stayed at another SPG brand hotel in Sydney for 2 nights prior to checking into the Westin. On the morning we were leaving he other hotel to move to the Westin I called the Westin to see if our room would be ready. The Westin staff would not tell us over the phone if our room was ready or not which seemed strange, but they said this was policy. We took a risk and came on over to the Westin at like 11:30 leaving a room we could have stayed in until 4:00. When we arrived in a taxi the doorman helped get our bags and directed us inside, as he was directing us he said your room probably won't be ready. Not a huge deal, but why would the doorman say that, not really his role and not what weary travellers would want to hear when they first arrive. When we went to the check in desk our SPG level was recognised and our room was ready. We were not told of any platinum benefits, not told about breakfast, happy hour, etc, we were not given a sheet that shows your amount of SPG points and what you can do with them in the hotel which is common at many SPG properties. Again, not a big deal, but a bit sloppy for a hotel at the price point of the Westin and not as good as I normally experience at SPG hotels. We also never received a call after we got in our room to see if everything was okay, in comparison to another recent SPG stay this was a disappointment as we got 2 calls there (one from the front desk and one from the concierge). The other small things I noticed during our stay: a vacuum cleaner was left in the hallway on level 15 for an entire day (again sloppy), we went to breakfast at Mosaic and arrived at 10:15 on Easter Sunday. When we arrived we were told the buffet was closing in 15 minutes, you would think breakfast on Easter Sunday would go until 11:00, but no biggie if we had been told at checkin. We were seated and started eating, we were told by 3 different staff that the buffet was getting ready to close, again not a huge deal, but they were much more interested in running us off so they could clean up instead of providing good service. The lounge on level 28 is nice, not as large as a lot of Starwood properties (looked like 3-4 rooms converted into a lounge). The canapés and drink service in the lounge were nice, the canapé choices were limited in comparison to other SPG properties. Overall the Westin is a great hotel and with a little improvement in these areas it would be even better. Cleanup the checkin issues, serve breakfast until 11:00 on the weekends and focus a bit more on customer service and you will get a 5 out of 5 from me next stay! April 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbiased review Enjoyed our stay. Loved the hotel & location overall. Toilet Facilities on lobby level and below in downstairs bar area very lacking. Club Lounge on lobby level had very slow & poor waiter service. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clearly Consistent 10 years ago we stayed at the Westin Sydney for the 1st night of our honeymoon. 10 years later we stayed again - and the experience was excellent, again. Last time we missed breakfast, but this time got to experience the full buffet. Would loved to have sat for longer and tried everything. Buffet included at least a dozen cereals, 4-5 breads and muffins, selection of pastries, 3 standard juice selections and 2 additional special juices (and a smoothie). Then there is the hot food, cheeses, fresh fruit, etc, etc, and Mosaic (the dining area) is a beautiful spot to start the morning. The bed was great. The bath and shower are fantastic. Ok, I am not regular traveller, so perhaps these features are common - i have read reviews from others who travel regularly, and they don't mention some of these features, however if you are looking for the once in a while break from the kids in the city - then I highly recommend the Westin. 24 hour Valet Parking was great. We were able to walk to the Quay, The Rocks, the casino and places in between. If I was forced to find a negative (well really a minor annoyance) then it would be that the airconditioning in our room when set to 22 degrees, seemed fairly warm/hot, but when reduced to 20 was quite cool. Really only noticeable at night. When I did adjust the temp, the controller seemed a bit loose and well worn. But this small thing was hardly sufficient to put a dampner on our trip - though for an irregular visitor to the city, getting into PITT Street was a little tricky. Came into contact with at least a dozen staff members throughout our stay, and all were courteous and happy to help. Thanks so much for making our 10 year Wedding Anniversary memorable. November 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Falls Short This hotel should address the following, 1. Staff an SPG desk 2. Provide complimentary water for guests 3. Help guests with luggage 4. 1.5% surcharge is rude. My understanding is that VISA only charges around 0.7% Redeeming features, 1. Great restaurant and bar 2. Proximity to local attractions 3. Great gym 4. Friendly customer service August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful place I really enjoyed my stay. The surroundings are beautiful, staff very friendly and helpful, and the room was extremely comfortable. August 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to Westin standard To say I was underwhelmed and disappointed sum it up best. No recognition of SPG status on welcome, initial agent had many issues finding reservation ( she was new so understand that), asked colleague "he has been upgraded but room not ready", colleague response ever so indiscreetly "just put him back in the old room". That really spelled out how this stay would go throughout, poorly trained staff to anything I asked was typically "no", "your not correct" or some slight derivation to those words. Another example of why I think the entire team needs a customer retrain is the issue I had in "The Bar"....in one of the elevators a sign said very clearly in big large letters"15% off" and in slight smaller letters "at the Bar and the restaurant". After a beer and some ever uninspired food at the bar, I asked the water about this, he had no idea and couldn't even get the words out of his mouth just pointed at bar manager (strike 1). Bar manager came by and in no uncertain terms said "no", I didn't know what I was talking about, he knows and has never heard this. I suggest he look in the elevator I referenced so he could see the sign, but he did not have time. Pretty disappointed to be talked to this way, but hey everyone has a bad day (strike 2). Finally another worker at the bar, seeing I was getting pretty frustrated for the MOD for the property.....progress right. No, unfortunately Claire's first words from her mouth were "no I was not right and that they were not like other Westin properties that may be offering food and beverage discounts"(that was a fair statement and true given this property so far did not offer me anything as an SPG platinum guest). I continued speaking to Claire and references the elevator, she said she had never heard that or seen the sign , but. Like everything they are subject to terms and conditions....no matter what I said she kept telling me I was wrong and why she and everyone before her were correct. Now I am Ina customer facing business and if I behaved like this, I would be out of business. Claire and the team topped off a poor experience at the Westin Sydney. It really was not about the 15% which was less than $4on my bill and more about the extremely disappointing ways each person from direct line wait staff up to hotel manager on duty handled an easy situation. I travel all around the world, typically stay in Starwood properties so this was a logical choice.next time I am in Sydney will think long and hard about where I stay based upon this experience. December 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ridiculous price escalation I stay at the Westin as much as possible when I am in Sydney on business. The location can't be beat. I was in Sydney last week with three of my colleagues and I recommended the Westin. When booking the room, one of my colleagues, who sits next to me, was booking on the Westin website at the same time as I was. She got her rate at around 280/290AUD per night. I decided to be smart, and use the SPG website. My rate ended up at around 320 per night, but I assumed that because I was there on the Wednesday night , and my colleague was not, this was the difference. When I clicked the submit key, I received an error message telling me to try again later. I needed to get a confirmation, so I went to the regular Westin website. I received a rate of 360 per night. Calling Westin customer service did not help, as the people on the phone, even the service manager, just kept repeating the same line - The room is no longer available. the manager, even suggested that this is similar to an airline website, where the prices change, depending on availability! I'm sorry, but a time differential of less than 5 minutes should not make a difference, in my opinion But then, what do I know? I'm only the customer. She said that she would do me a favour and call the Westin, who also told her that the room rate was no longer available. I could have the room for 360 per night. Seeing as all my other colleagues had booked already, I said fine - if there's nothing you can do for me, I have no choice - I'll take the room. When I finally received my email confirmation, imagine my surprise when i was being charged 370 per night! I just shook my head, realizing the uselessness and futility of calling up . Is this service? All people seem to be able to tell you is NO. And then to quote a rate, then confirm the room at an even higher rate, it is just ridiculous, and smacks of the worst example of price gouging. With other hotels, they will apologise and give you some incentive - a nicer room at that rate, free internet, something. The attitude that I received was - take it or leave it. If you like, I can provide the screen shots and names of the people with whom I spoke. I realize that this is already long, so will just quickly list the other issues: -no more free water in the rooms -housekeeping coming in to service the room, even if I had the Do Not Disturb sign lit -no electrical outlets near the bed (brought this up before, and this is something that I don't understand; other hotels have them for the convenience of their guests) I am not really expecting anything; but am hopeful that something gets done, especially about how the prices are provided online. March 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I highly recommend the Westin Sydney Great hotel, great rooms, in a great location. We stayed 8 nights and enjoyed every bit of it. There is so much to see and do in Sydney and the concierge was very helpful in helping us navigate the city. If you have a chance to visit Sydney during "Vivid" I highly recommend it because the Westin is located at Martin 1 which is where one of the "Vivid" attractions is located. We are Platinum members so access to the Executive Club lounge was a nice amenity. The staff was very attentive to our needs. They knew exactly what we wanted as we walked in the door, especially Emily and Megan. I look forward to coming to the Sydney Westin again and will highly recommend to anyone visiting Sydney. June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice hotel with good location Had problems with our Delta Diamond and SPG status match. Staff don't have concerning information. Need to show everything. Rooms could be bigger for such prices. August 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to par with previous stays This is a unique hotel with its blend of heritage and modern. It is well situated in the CBD. My overall rating is "average" because, on balance, there was an equal number of positives and negatives. The Platinum recognition about average with an upgrade from a superior to deluxe room and Executive Club access. The Suites Night Reward request could not be met. For the first time, we had booked one of the heritage rooms. As nice as it was,in some respects, it did not compare to the room that we had just stayed at a Brisbane heritage hotel (not Starwood). Our first problem was when we asked about Wi-Fi access in the room. We were told by two different employees that it was not available and were advised to go to the Executive Lounge for Wi-Fi access which would be available in two-hour time slots. This we did, only later to get a letter under our door to let us know that it was, indeed, available in the room. The next thing was complementary water. Their was none in the room. I called Guest Services and was told that this had been discontinued. Glasses had been provided and we could drink the tap water. In my frustration, I told the service agent that "You must be joking!!".I insisted that bottled water be provided at no charge either in the room or in the mini-bar. It was for the rest of our stay. That first evening, the service in the Executive Lounge could be best described as "indifferent". Coming back to our room, we found that there was no turn-down service. I was advised that this was only on request. It was requested for the rest of our stay. The next morning the shower was not working properly. You could only get the hand-held shower head and not the large rain shower head. At this stage, I sent an e-mail to the General Manager indicating our disappointment. I received an answer from the GM's assistant and from then on, the Executive Lounge Manager, Jodie helped to make sure that things ran more smoothly. The plumbing problem was major in that it took an hour to fix. This obviously should have been caught before we checked in.. Jodie made sure that service in the Executive Lounge was much improved. Our room was quite noisy. It was just across Pitt Street from what appeared to be major construction taking place a 5 Martin Place. The outside windows were quite dirty. Our room was next to a housekeeping service room and there was always activity there. One day the room service breakfast plates and a table were left almost outside our room from early morning until after 6pm. Service and food at the Mosaic restaurant was poor and they started setting up breakfast before we had finished dinner. There were quite a number of guests in the restaurant at this time. No discount on the bill (for SPG members) was given at this time. It was only given after check-out. Apart from Jodie, there seemed to be few people in Guest Services that were willing to address problems and provide some compensation for our inconvenience. November 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is an excellent hotel. We have stayed at this hotel many times and it constantly delivers a first class experience. The rooms are well designed, tastefully furnished and offer an elegant blend of functionality and comfort. The location is perfect for business or leisure - esp.shopping, and the hotel and its immediate surroundings offer a wide range of excellent dining options. And all this is complemented by the hotel's insertion into a heritage building. It's not cheap, but one gets what one pays for, and then some. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable bed This hotel has to have the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in a hotel - absolutely devine!! It made is very difficult to get out of in the mornings. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hotel, goes beyond my expectation Stayed for one night and i wish i had booked my trip for 2 nights, such a relaxing atmosphere and certainly a top notch hotel. You cannot ask for more. Great staff, great room, great restaurant that serves excellent breakfast and the lobby bar is such an excellent place to have a light meal and have a drink. Location is perfect. Shopping is at your doorstep. and it's so central you can basically walk to everywhere! Coming from the airport was easy as the train station is just an easy stroll to the hotel. Certainly a 5 star hotel with 5 star service and quality. Will definitely stay in Westin again for my next trip to Sydney. April 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by little things wrong Have stayed at this hotel on numerous times. Always found the Westin to be of the highest standard. However, on this stay was disappointed by "the little things".No literature in the room whatsoever to inform travellers of what is available in Sydney or how to explore the hotel, this was no problem to me as I know Sydney well.Facility for express checkout was not made available, and on trying to contact reception, no one answered the phone. On checking out reception were very surprise and sorry. As i have said these were only small things, that unless addressed could detract from the Westin reputation. May 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed feelings A nice hotel in a good location. Good facilities. The only problem is the executive lounge. If you are traveling with a family, be warned that you will likely be refused access. We were turned away at 4:30p looking for soft drinks for our kids, even though the policy clearly states 6-8p is the only time kids aren't allowed (even supervised, for whatever stupid reason). This seems to me to be a violation of the terms of our stay, but the front desk staff just referred us back to the "lounge manager" who would not accommodate us. Won't stay there again, and there are better options near Circular Quay if you're looking anyway. June 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Up To Usual Standard Disappointed that I received no complimentary bottled water and free Wifi, for the cost this should be included. August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by comfortable The best bed and shower of any hotel I've stayed at. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great staff always very professional and friendly. staff remember me & my family and are very helpful. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service and room size We had a great experience with excellent customer service even when there were a few hiccups with room service they were quick to respond with an apology. The room size we had was great especially with a toddler. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Rooms I stayed in the Westin Sydney for 4 nights, first 2 nights I tried the Tower Rooms and the last 2 nights I stayed in the Heritage rooms. The Tower room was very bright in colour, beautiful modern design with a beautiful bathroom overlooking the bedroom. The room was small though. The last 2 nights I stayed in the Heritage room which was full of character, beautiful large room with high ceilings. In my next visit to Sydney for sure i will be staying at the Westin and at the Heritage room, highly recommended. The location of the hotel is perfect, it is in the heart of the city and in the middle of the shopping area in town. June 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gold Coast, Queensland. Australia My husband and I stayed at the Westin Sydney for 4nights. We stayed in a Deluxe suite which was very comfortable, definitely a home away from home. We had two complaints. The heavenly bed was very worn on one side and the sheets were not the usual soft linen of bygone days. Housekeeping were helpful and found a replacement mattress for us. This has never happened to us at a Westin/Sheraton brand hotel. Room Service toasted sandwiches were a mistake, hardly toasted, cheese was not melted and cold with no presentation, cut once. Five star price although. This was unfortunate for Westin, as we love this hotel and have stayed here a few times whilst visiting Sydney. . August 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by I expect more from Westin I have stayed at other Westin before. It's always been good experience. However, I am very disappointed by Westin Sydney. The hotel room itself is fine. Staff is good too. However, the house keeping service is very bad. There were several times they didn't put new towel to my bathroom and I only realized it after I took my shower, leaving me no towel to dry myself. Also didn't replenish the shower gel/shampoo. If it's one time mistake, I can forgive it. But I had to call 3 times to within a week for all these problems.. So, in all this particular hotel is not up to the 5 star standard. For the same amount of money, I could have picked a better hotel. Disappointed. November 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business luxury Everything you need, good quality furnishings, great location. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel Central location, beautiful foyer in the old post office building, spacious room, very comfortable bed, and bathroom very clean and overall the room was excellent. Wi-Fi Internet was a bit slow. August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Westin yet We stayed at the Westin Sydney for three nights at the beginning of an Australia/New Zealand tour. The place is great! It is a modern tower inside of a historic building. They have made the most of the old atrium with restaurants and a shopping concourse. The food is great in the lobby bar/restaurant. The oysters are especially good. The rooms take Westin standards to a new level - exceptionally comfortable beds, and you'll want to take the shower/bath set-up home. Staff is very friendly, and the hotel outside the lobby is super quiet - perfect for sleeping off the jet lag. Overall a great stay! May 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A very good business hotel in sydney Westin in Sydney is a solid business hotel well located in the CBD and has much of what people on business expect to get when they stay at this level of property. I was not overly impressed with the responsiveness of the staff. Sometimes the services was a bit slow. The quality of the food from room service was disappointing. Directions and recommendations from the concierge were often a bit confusing and not quite accurate. For example, I was sent one block to a Spanish restaurant, but upon arriving there, found it was under construction. The concierge should have known this. Otherwise, it was a pleasant enough stay. February 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close to the CBD but.......... We usually stay here when visiting Sydney but this time wasn't as good as it used to be. Celebrating a birthday, thought they would acknowledge but nothing, we would not mind paying for bottle of champagne on ice but zilch, nothing. We ate the mini bar out on the first night, went back to do the same the next night and it was not restocked. We were devasted! No choccies, nothing! I'm not sure what benefit you receive by being a Starwood member. July 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Westin - you've gone downhill!! i have always been your biggest fan. Stayed in the hotel many times and strongly recommended it to others as the " must stay "place in Sydney city" .not any more. i made a point of booking 5 rooms there ( not the first time i have booked multiple rooms ) over a few nights for my team , notwithstanding the fact that the conference we attended was up the road at the Hilton. ( I told them already the mistake i made staying with you ). After being given a room on the fourth floor at check in i asked for a floor on a higher level. The check in person politely rejected this and informed me this wasn't requested prior ( i have since found out that absolutely this was requested by my P.A. ) Dissatisfied I asked to speak to the manager , at which time i had the misfortune of meeting your unpleasant on duty manager Courtney whom i made the same request of. I informed Courtney that I had booked , and was paying for , 5 rooms there and that i was a Starwood member and that i thought there were " Starwood floors " on higher levels for Starwood members. She informed me none were left and that I could take the fourth floor or pay extra to be on a higher floor. i told her this wasn't a great option or outcome for me and I was unhappy. She then , in a stern and unfriendly manner informed me that " I had been given two choices ( how generous ) and that was that. So I was made to pay the extra $ , (pretty much for what I already booked and paid for - very ordinary of you ) leaving me feeling really sore and crap , which i still do.Not quite the experience you expect in checking into a 5 star hotel. The rooms used to have a beautiful odor and distinctive smell , not any more. Not sure why..The wake up call I booked , never came ( just as well i didn't trust you and put on my own alarm ). Then there is a credit card charge imposed per room ( I believe ) , even though i paid for all rooms one one card. I'm not even sure this is legal. I felt and feel , " nickle and dimed " by you and believe you have lost the art of good customer service and the care factor which i held you in high esteem for. As an active traveller and loyal and supportive Starwood member you did nothing to enhance the fine reputation of the brand you have been known for. if your attitude is that of Courtney's , no doubt i will be the one to blame and she has acted in the interests of your organisation , but aren't you supposed to look after and make your customers feel good? very disappointing.. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Room Allocated I was allocated Room 337 in the Heritage section. It was late and the noise from George St was unbearable. I felt I was in the middle of a race track and the noise from the street equally unbearable. As soon as I made the staff aware I was re-located , same level but in a quite part. which was absolutely fantastic . I thank the staff very much. I was also accommodated in the restaurant for Sunday lunch . I wanted to increase my booking from 2 to 6. At first they were unable to do so, but after checking they did. Excellent service, excellent food. I even had dinner with a friend on Sunday evening! Overall great job! April 2, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 25 next>>