The Westin Sydney

  • 1 Martin Place
  • Sydney,
  • New South Wales
  • 2000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 768 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by A bit dissapointed for this quality hotel Had to wait 15 mins to check in despite only two people being served. Room shower diverter was not working so both showers ran at once. Didn't have my SPG card and despite trying at check in and check out my number could not be found. Have logged on with details however the site doesn't allow me to record my stay. March 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel in Australia!! I don't usually write review but I will have to share my stay at the Westin Sydney. I am a SPG member and Star privilege member for many years. I travel a lot and stayed in many hotels. The standard in the Westin Sydney is more than any other hotels in the world. This heritage property itself is massive and well maintained! They also have the best restaurant called "Mosaic" and their food and service are 5 stars, especially I loved breakfast. The location could be the best in Sydney, easier to access anywhere in the city by walk. I highly recommend this hotel and will be my preference if I need an accommodation in Sydney!! Thanks for all your outstanding service and offers :) March 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Short Stay gone Bad I had booked a two night stay even though i was technically only sleeping for 1 ntg (coming in on a redeye flight - wanted to make sure my room was ready). Things started to go wrong: 1. Took the front desk forever to check me in (new system apparently) 2. I was given a handicap room (since I was staying only 1 ntg and had to head out for mtg right away i decided it was no big deal). Came back from mtg for a short while got a note that the room shower was actually broken. I was dead tired so just said as long as I can shower I am fine. 3. Had a mild allergy reaction asked if they had any OTC meds in house - they didn't, calling for the hotel doctor would be hours (I was leaving in a few hours) - kept offering me panadol/painkiller 4. No complimentary bottled water (it's the environment we are trying to save so we removed all the plastic bottles but we are happy to sell you $7 bottle of water also bottled in plastic). I couldn't wait to get out of the hotel. This was my second stay in the hotel first time was pleasant not sure what happened this time around. I am an SPG platinum with lifetime Gold so I am a heavy user of the starwood properties. March 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I am a SPG gold member and previously stayed many many nights at westin hotels. I took my family for a holiday in Sydney and booked two rooms. I was supposed to provide a connecting room when I booked over the phone. During checking in, the receptionist even couldn't find my bookings, couldn't find my SPG number, no connecting rooms and finally got the worst rooms (dark - no sunlight) I ever stayed at Westin (not even offered an upgrade). Very very disappointed and i felt like the loyalty didn't mean a thing. I get much better services from other hotel chains.. March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bob I would only comment --Everthing is almost Perfect !!!! March 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude Staff I am a Platinum Starwood member of over ten years and this is the first time I have experienced such shocking service and lack of helpfulness from a managerial position. I have never been treated so badly in any hotel in the Starwood group. March 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Internet connection; business THE worst hotel on earth when it comes to internet access/connection. They DEFINITELY don't care about business people!! In this day and age, we can't live or work without internet. The Westin hotel makes you feel it's 1990, and even then I had better internet access. It's a total disgrace. And, they charge a fortune, for at best snail's pace internet access, if you are lucky to get it for a few minutes!! March 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few things 1) I stayed 6 nights. Breakfast was included in my meal, yet each morning when i went to the buffet, they would tell me it was not. I asked them to call the front desk and sort it out. This happened 3 out of 6 times. When I checked out, I discovered they charged me for each of the breakfasts. Not only did I have to make my case each morning to the breakfast hostess, I also had to convince the front desk this was a mistake. Each person looked at me like I was a liar, when in fact they could not communicate amongst themselves. 2) The key card to my room kept demagnitizing. You should have better technology, That's something that used to happen years ago. There was usually a line at the front desk, having to wait is bad enough after i've been up and down the elevator after discovering I couldn't get into my room. Other guests seemed to have this same problem. March 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by very unhappy with fees I made a reservation at one price but when i changed as i though my daughter may be coming i thought the rate i was quoted was the same instead at check out the bill was not what i had agreed to so very unhappy unhappy with how it was handled the first rate was in the 300 the check out per night was 650 very unhappy with how this was handled they gave me extra SPG points as if that would solve the issue. March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel , but I love staying at the Westin, however I find it really annoying when I book via SPG membership and pay substantially more than a non member on any one of 6 discount hotel room sites for the same night and room. SPG please sort this out or the membership has no real value. March 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place! Great location, excellent atmosphere! March 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed The idea was for my sister and I to finish our business in Sydney, have a quick dinner and instead of driving 2.5hrs home, stay in a comfortable hotel, relax, watch a movie and enjoy. After eating and coming back to the room about 8.45 we figured out the Movie system did not work, at about 10.45 we had to finally kicking out the technician and say it just isn't going to work. He kindly said we could change rooms but by this time the evening was over, the relaxation gone. A real disappointment. February 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel in Sydney Everyone told me this was the best hotel in Sydney and it very probably was. The room was fab don't know what sort of upgrade but lovely, yes we ate the food very nice indeed if a little pricey, and a very good gym too. depends where you like to be based but it was close to the metro and walking distance to key landmarks. a 5* hotel and every bit the part. thank you Westin Sydney. February 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service I want to thank you for the great service and excellent support your staff provided during my stay. Everyone was very welcoming including Peter the baggage handler and Don the concierge. I do appreciate his help before arriving, arranging the transportation and .support during the time. I highly recommend this hotel for all. The rooms were wonderful. February 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by bond ? paid in full via online booking a rate of $365 - prior to arriving at hotel, yet upon actually checking in to the hotel, my card was charged $510. I was NOT told of this added rate at all. No mention whatsoever. It was only when my bank queried it that I even found out. When I rang the desk to ask what rate I was on they say, '$365'. So I said, 'why then was I charged $510'?. Front desk then says, 'oh yes, we take a bond'. As if this is totally normal and I am the idiot for not knowing this. It might be nice if you actually advise your guests that you are taking almost double the rate - without telling them - when they check in. Pretty dissapointing for a hotel of this standard and comes across as arrogant. February 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't bother. Don't bother. Great location, there was zero customer service. We weren't acknowledged as SPG members or treated accordingly. For example on arrival our luggage was taken by concierge but not delivered to the room, check-in staff couldn't find my reservation, cigarette butts on lobby floor. Also very weird lighting from the very dark/subtle lighting at Check-In to the glaring, cheap and confusing light system in the rooms. Not a relaxing room environment. There is a disconnect between all staff and departments. Staff did not know or care about us during our stay. Their arrogance and ignorance on basic knowledge such as where to pre-pay for valet parking made The Westin look like Fawlty Towers. When did AUD $70 Valet Parking become a self-service situation? I expect staff to know where my car is located and no one wanted to take responsibility. I was told to go inside and speak to Concierge, yet there was no one at the desk, so Reception had to call for staff. No one apologised for the inconvenience and the staff were more interested in finding taxis for conference guests but not paying hotel guests. This lack of communication made our stay infuriating and The Westin staff looked unprofessional and lazy. We strongly recommend staying elsewhere. February 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a good experience One of the best hotels in Sydney. Fantastic rooms and excellent service all round. February 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decrease in First Impression Standard Most disappointed Hotel has chosen to no longer include comp bottles of water in room, yes glasses are provided for tap water but bottles far more hygienic and can then be refilled with tap water if needed. Rooms also no longer contain 'What to do in Sydney', a very helpful monthly publication. In the room information about the Hotel can only be gained from 'Service Express" via telephone not the usual information folder. Food standard variable February 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Room - Poor Valet Service We booked a room in the tower and were delighted with it. The layout and furnishings were great. The facilities were varied and good quality. Check in was very slow, three seperate counters meant no way of processing people in order of arriving. It was a case of picking a queue and hope for the best. The room was ready an hour early so that was nice. The big let down is the valet service. You are required to remove your bags from your vehicle and then be addressed by the valet with "you don't want me to take your bags inside, do you?". A reasonable walk dragging bags to reception with no offer of assistance from luggage counter staff or others. On departure a wait of nearly 20 minutes for our car to be brought up. Other people were also waiting for theirs and had to keep asking where their car was. One couple asked to be given their keys so they could go get the car themselves!! More staff and better trained staff are needed in the valet section, particularly on busy times such as a weekend as was the case with us. February 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The little things that bother The Westin Sydney was great, but there were a few things that bothered me a lot. For example, on my bedside table was a Bose music/alarm unit that allowed me to plug in my iPad or Droid phone for music. I listen to music designed for helping sleep (critical when I jump time zones from the US to Australia), but the volume had a limiter on it that left it so quiet is was INAUDIBLE at full volume. Engineering replaced my unit but the new one was identical. The engineer explained "they all have a limit so they are not used too loud". Another example: Australia has great coffee, which I love. Thousands of coffee shops all around the city. I could get a fantastic large capacino for $4.50 AU ANYWHERE but the hotel. $7 for a smaller than large cup each there. This type of niggling made an otherwise great stay less than excellent. February 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent services and facilities The staff at The Westin were polite, efficent and friendly. I had an issue with my room key not working and this was sorted very quickly. The hotel has great facilities and the fresh juices at breakfast were fantastic. February 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 7 night stay An all round great stay, Westin at it's best. February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience I am in the travel industry and stay at lot of hotels over the world. This has such a great feel.. Busy, vibrant and classy. Well located, and has a real city New York type of feeling. One criticism is the pool area is below par and access is a pain in the butt. Staff outstanding and couldn't be more friendly and efficient. One of the better hotels I have enjoyed. It was a pleasure. February 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Understated luxury Stayed at the Westin last weekend , benefit of a secret hotel deal. Have been to most of the 5 star hotels in Sydney, but none of them can compete with the Westin for understated luxury, service, friendly staff, cleanliness, food, architecture and some brilliant little touches that help make your stay special. BUT it was marred by two incidents. One night there was a small explosion in my room, then all the lights went out. I rang reception and within 5 minutes a maintenance man came, managing to get some of the lights working again. During the next night, there was a tapping noise in my room, When I got up, there was water dripping through the ceiling. I put a water jug under the drips, to minimise the damage. Despite these problems, the wonderful atmosphere the Westin offers made my stay memorable February 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Different rules to other SPG hotels The hotel was a fine for this level of hotel. My concern is their policy on SPG which they will not honor if the hotel booked with a third party even if a reputable travel agent. We have booked all our business and private travel through this agent over the last 5 years and never had this negative stance. We stayed at another Starwood hotel in the city 3 weeks earlier and they had no problem. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even better than expected Our ship arrived early in the morning and we expected to have to kill time until a room was ready, the instant check in and availability of a room was much appreciated. We happened to be in the room both times the housekeepers were present, they were friendly and efficient. Location to CBD, Circular Quay & Darling Harbour is all perfect. January 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A touch underwhelming Purpose was for business. Although I am a SPG member, its really poor form to charge for wireless internet usage. No one does this anymore. Was given 2 double beds, despite requesting a king size bed. The room should have a converter plug, non Australian plug, or at least a USB connection for charging. January 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thoroughly beautiful First time at the Westin and look forward to staying again in Feb January 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by lacking of flexibility This was my first time that the hotel rejected my late check out without any good reason. The original check out time is 11am but I want to extend it two hours more which was talking 1pm. Staff in reception just said it very firmly that there is no room to extend to 1pm. It was so disappointing on this response. January 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Delightful stay We had a wonderful stay. The bathroom was lovely, the room was clean and spacious. I made our anniversary weekend special. January 20, 2014
  • 2015-07-29T16:10:34.396-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_768, tr_768
  • loc_en_US, sid_1183, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 27 next>>