The Westin Sydney

  • 1 Martin Place
  • Sydney,
  • New South Wales
  • 2000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a double room shared with a paying adult. Rollaway beds are charged at 90 AUD. Cribs are provided complimentary and available upon request.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 700 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by The little things that bother The Westin Sydney was great, but there were a few things that bothered me a lot. For example, on my bedside table was a Bose music/alarm unit that allowed me to plug in my iPad or Droid phone for music. I listen to music designed for helping sleep (critical when I jump time zones from the US to Australia), but the volume had a limiter on it that left it so quiet is was INAUDIBLE at full volume. Engineering replaced my unit but the new one was identical. The engineer explained "they all have a limit so they are not used too loud". Another example: Australia has great coffee, which I love. Thousands of coffee shops all around the city. I could get a fantastic large capacino for $4.50 AU ANYWHERE but the hotel. $7 for a smaller than large cup each there. This type of niggling made an otherwise great stay less than excellent. February 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Substandard Food and Beverages There is nowehere in the hotel where you can sit and eat 'normal' food, the closest to this is in the bar/lounge but then you have to sit on low level chairs and from an uncomfortable position. No 'coffee' shop style of food available other than eating in your room which is not to my liking. When I raised this matter with restaurant outlet AND the hotel front desk not one single person from the food and beverage department bothered to contact me. Nice hotel provididng you eat out. July 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location The only criticism is that we would have benefited from having a hotel compendium in our room, we had to ask where to have breakfast we also needed a doctor and chemist , which we found ourselves, we searched every where but to no avail. it is usually the first thing a travel picks up, is te compedium, where the pool is, where we have breast etc , We loved the place and do not usual complain , but found this lack of info quite unusual espeacially when we needed it . We be back October 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Be careful if offered a Heritage room generally an excellent hotel, with some Heritage rooms on the lower floors that are part of the old Sydney GPO. If you are offered one, make sure the room is not on the George Street side of the hotel - the road is busy with traffic, particularly buses, most of the night, making sleep elusive. I felt as if I was trying to sleep in a (warm, unusually well appointed) bus terminal. Reception staff on check out were not interested, I was simply told how nice the Heritage rooms are. June 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Smallest room in the House I had stayed in the Westin a number of years ago and was satified then at the rate and the room size. I was extremley disappointed this time at the size of the room on the 31 level for an excutive room for $800 for the night. Personally I will never stay at the Westin again and I will direct my staff to do the same. I was never asked once if I need anything or if the room was to my liking. Very disapointed at the value of this hotel for the money paid. Very unhappy Customer. November 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Were we unlucky? We decided to Stay at the Westin for Vivid with the kids as we hadn't before and heard great things. Check in was easy and the man at reception was very nice. We went up to our room, opened the door and there was a man in the room, we both looked at each other in shock and went over our room numbers which were both the same and then we backed out of the room apologising. How does this even happen? So embarrassed we went back down to reception and some other lady served us who seemed quite annoyed about it all but didnt even care that it happened, there was no apology, she just asked me who booked us in, so up to our new room which was luckily empty. We got settled and then of course the kids wanted the tv on, we tried for 10 minutes thinking was there some magical way to turn on this tv?, there wasnt, it was broken, we called for help and the technician was very nice and came up quickly, he had to pull out the cabinet and rewire something and it worked, we went out to enjoy Vivid and once we came back the kids turned the tv on again, and once again it wasnt working, what the??? again we rang the technician who came up to fix it again. Usually I dont care about this stuff but when you are staying at a 5 star hotel, you expect 5 star treatment which wasnt really the case, we have stayed at many a 5 star hotel and nothing like this has ever happened before. I dont think we would stay at the Westin again unfortunately :( May 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Getting Complacent Westin? As one of the best hotels in Sydney, my expectations weren't sky high, but I hated the fact there was no slippers, no toiletries (paste/brush, etc), computer was down when I checked in... internet fee was wrongly added to my bill even though it was included in the package. I've had better experiences at other 5 star properties in Sydney. Sorry to say that, but you've a reputation to keep, if not exceeded. April 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Victoria 21 Convenient location for Morningstar Conference May 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprise Birthday Getaway This hotel is so busy, but the staff are always calm and courteous. The rooms are comfortable, clean and very quiet. My tip would be to take the up sell option upon arrival for breakfast ... we paid $20 per person for a full breakfast the following day to later discover had we not chosen this option at check in we would be expected to pay $42 per person for breakfast. We had a great time and all agreed we would return ... very well placed, very central for our needs. December 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by charged for something I didn't order; very disrespectful maid service This hotel failed to live up to starwood standards. The maid entered our room and cleaned it after we specifically asked her not to do so. The lack of respect for our wishes did not leave us with a good feeling. To make matters worse, upon checkout, they had added a $120 restaurant charge that wasn't even ours! If I didn't thoroughly check my bill I would have been cheated. Starwood is usually fantastic but this hotel fell short of out expectations. Very disappointing. June 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sydney Westin sets itself apart from other properties! From the moment I arrived the service was outstanding and that did not change throughout my whole stay. I was valued for my SPG loyalty as well. Much appreciated. May 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dont post this review My booking was entered in with my last name first so when I booked in the name of "surname" it was found to be under "christian name". The same thing appears to be happening with my SPG which welcomes me as "Mr First Name". Additionally I took advantage of the express checkout knowing I had taken a bottle of water from the fridge. The sundry charge was for $29, far exceeding what I thought should have been charged for a bottle of water. The account is being questioned. July 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decrease in First Impression Standard Most disappointed Hotel has chosen to no longer include comp bottles of water in room, yes glasses are provided for tap water but bottles far more hygienic and can then be refilled with tap water if needed. Rooms also no longer contain 'What to do in Sydney', a very helpful monthly publication. In the room information about the Hotel can only be gained from 'Service Express" via telephone not the usual information folder. Food standard variable February 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful architecture a special feature I like the Westin, Martin Place Sydney. Great service, lovely breakfast, in a beautiful and unique buildng but I was frustrated with persistent electrical problems in the room that affected services (iron, TV and kettle) Staff gave me great tip to fix (restart power), but this wasn't a problem I expected to experience at a Westin and I didn't need the issue getting ready for a gala event in a hurry. But, this feedback should be tempered by the fact I would stay again. October 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Great Not a great stay. Hotel is ok, staff are ok, food is ok, rooms ok Just a bland experience from start to finish. We were on the top floor and were very disturbed by a night club out side the hotel. This club is open air and is really stopped us sleeping. I know that the hotel has no control over this situation. But beware, make sure you get a room facing away from the night club. My 8 year old son was not allowed in the executive lounge after 6pm. This meant we never got the nibbles or the drinks. Ridiculous. We asked for a suite nights upgrade for our three nights. Asked for this at least 8 weeks before we arrived. We made it clear we had our sone with us. No upgrade was made available. Good location for shops and attractions. Just an expensive, unsatisfactory stay and next time I am in Sydney I will be staying elsewhere. January 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few things 1) I stayed 6 nights. Breakfast was included in my meal, yet each morning when i went to the buffet, they would tell me it was not. I asked them to call the front desk and sort it out. This happened 3 out of 6 times. When I checked out, I discovered they charged me for each of the breakfasts. Not only did I have to make my case each morning to the breakfast hostess, I also had to convince the front desk this was a mistake. Each person looked at me like I was a liar, when in fact they could not communicate amongst themselves. 2) The key card to my room kept demagnitizing. You should have better technology, That's something that used to happen years ago. There was usually a line at the front desk, having to wait is bad enough after i've been up and down the elevator after discovering I couldn't get into my room. Other guests seemed to have this same problem. March 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great CBD Sydney hotel I have stayed at the Westin in Sydney twice this year, and both times my stay has been exceptional. The staff is warm and welcoming - especially in the lounge. The lounge staff quickly learned my name and my drink preferences, and each day were very quick to offer assistance. The hotel is also in a great location - an easy walk to the water, great restaurants, the Opera House, and more. This is a top quality hotel that offers everything you need - and a little more. July 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel in a terrific spot You can't beat the location of this hotel when staying in Sydney CBD. Quick walk to either Darling Harbour or Circular Quay and it's right next to the Sydney Westfield shopping centre. Rooms are a good size for Sydney CBD and have beautiful bathrooms. Staff were terrific and the actual hotel building itself is really lovely. April 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but areas of improvement Overall my stay was OK. Room etc was good but I was astounded to find on a Monday evening taht it was not possible at 10.45pm to get a drink at the bar. On asking for a drink, we were told that the bar was closed but we could get a drink from the room fridge or order room service and drink it in the lobby! We then that to wait 45 minutes to get a glass of wine, which only arrived after chasing reception. For an international city centre hotel this is not acceptable June 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely hotel - well located Well located and good quality rooms. Staff pleasant and adjoining post office building gives character. Only real issue is quality of breakfast in Exec Club is average - personally I don't like sloppy scrambled eggs but every hotel seems to do it that way. A little more food variety and staff at peak times will be helpful - it gets crowded up there. Would be nice to have own gym rather than the walk over to Goodlife and wait for equipment usage. I'll be back again. August 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service for a travelling mum I was so happy with my stay as I am mum that travels frequently with a toddler and an infant. Service was outstanding and the extra help when your hands are full was beyond my expectations. Thanking the Westin and staff. May 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel service needs real improvement What needs improvement: - Checkin: Room not ready; attention to quick solution unsatisfactory - treatment in restaurant needs improvement - amenities in room not filled up daily - swimming pool area very uncomfortable May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good follow up As a regular guest I know the Hotel well. This time I had a difficulty with a delivery of an important package to the Hotel. Unfortunately, it did not arrive even though Auspost said it had until 2 days late. The Hotel managed this and followed up for me in a thorough and professional manner - most appreciated. As a Platinum member my recognition was exceptional and appreciated. The only change I would make is the sloppy scrambled eggs in the Exec lounge..please! July 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous position for shopping. Beautiful Hotel. Lovely room. Very central for shopping and Theatre"s. The only complaint was, breakfast was not warm enough. May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed this hotel Love the combination of heritage architecture and modern comfort. Big deep bath, comfy bed and great heart of the city location. May 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Points To Improve - provide atleast a pair of sleeper for guest in the hotel room - atleast a bottle of complimentary drinking water daily - free Wi-Fi access for hotel guest & not getting the access code for 1 hour free access at the lobby May 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel in Sydney My husband and I have stayed at the Westin Sydney many times and each time we leave, we're already discussing our next stay. We have travelled around Europe and America extensively several times and around Australia and can honestly say the Westin Sydney is one of our absolute favourite hotels and is very hard to beat. Best hotel location in Sydney offering total luxury. We love it all - from the room layout, to the view of the beautiful clocktower, to the beds and showers (that shower head is THE best!), the staff and service, the buffet breakfast (a must have!), lunch & dinner in Mosaic and the Lobby Bar - we are never disappointed. Have celebrated anniversaries, birthdays, r & r weekends, engagements, girls weekends away - you name it and each time, we love it even more. Looking forward to our next stay! Thank you Westin! January 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly staff, great room and excellent breakfast Stay was fantastic - staff member, Ana, at the front desk was very friendly, got our check in sorted quickly and made us felt really welcome at the hotel. Have been staying at a few Westins and they have always exceed our expectations. The breakfast at Mosaic was excellent - staff members were quick at clearing up the tables and even asked if we need anything as some dishes are cooked to order. Looking forward to stay here again in my next trip over Easter. November 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location & Great Room Stayed one night to have a look and get a feel for the hotel L21 Tower - Extremely good room, great bed - excellent deep bath & spotlessly clean. Would love to have had the afternoon tea - did not realise when booking needed to book in. Great stay & worth a visit. Hotel has a nice relaxed feel. April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location in Sydney CBD Perfect location in Sydney CBD, within walking distance to the Opera house, the harbour bridge, shopping, fabulous dining spots. Easy access to and from the hotel when driving to other areas. May 5, 2014
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 25 next>>