The Westin Sydney

  • 1 Martin Place
  • Sydney,
  • New South Wales
  • 2000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 784 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great 5 Star hotel in a central location This is a super 5 star hotel offering all luxurious amenities. The rooms are very comfortable and of decent size. The staff members are most efficient, friendly and eager to assist the guests. One can't dream of a better location , right in the centre of the city and every attraction within walking distance. My wife and I will most certainly visit this hotel again when we are nexzt in Sydney October 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! The location is great! One of the things I like is being able to go downstairs and have access to so many restaurant choices without having to leave the building. I would warn you though, they are not open on Sunday. The hotel is nice and quiet. I did not hear any construction noise even though the hotel warns you on their site about construction next door. The rooms were VERY quiet. I would definitely return to the hotel. The club was nice too. I wish they varied breakfast a little more. It was always the same choices. The breakfast was great but changing t up a little would be nice! I am SPG platinum for life and I found the hotel to be accommodating, especially regarding my SPG benefits. The gym is not actually located in the hotel but downstairs and ran by another company. It needs HELP. Typically Westin gyms are wonderful. I wish the hotel had their own gym!!! October 28, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by undergoing renovation Sadly I can't say this was our best stay at the Westin Sydney. The rooms are tired and in need of renovation, which I believe is ongoing. Both the noise from this work and the entrance works detracted from our stay. We gave up waiting in the breakfast queue on Sunday morning but had to wait patiently for dinner there on Sunday night. Lack of staff seemed to be the problem? The location is excellent and no doubt the Hotel will be excellent again in due course! Michael October 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The service is outstanding My family could not have been happier stayiing at the Westin in Sydney. The location and hotel were amazing and special mention should go to all the staff - they were exceptional October 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely stay with some improvements needed First of all, the hotel locates in a very nice building and location. Love the classic look of the room! But I don't feel privileged as a SPG member during the 4 nights stay. For example, I don't get complimentary mineral water/drinking water in the room like how Fourpoints does. Otherwise, it would be perfect! August 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great establishment Thanks for a great stay. The staff, the room (SPG floor) were fabulous August 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay Large modern rooms with a great central Sydney location. Top notch service from all the staff. Wished we could have stayed longer. July 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location , average executive lounge The Westin is central. In fact in the GPO so everything is close by. Staff are responsive, rooms are modern , clean, and you couldn't want for more. But to make this a fantastic hotel from a great place there are three things the Westin need to improve. 1. Upgrade platinum members to suites. The hotel was quiet and there was no reason except the reception staff had no authority to do so. 2. The executive lounge needs to be updated so that a few more canapés and nibbles are available. Staff only need to walk around the corner to the Sheraton and find out what a fantastic executive lounge should be. 3. The health centre is ok but not cutting edge. Sydney should be right on the forefront of what a great health centre should have. Pls invest in up to date equipment and an area which celebrates Sydney views. Aside from my picky three improvements, this place is a must stay location for anyone coming to Sydney. July 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Thi Hotel has a very good location in the city We Loved this hotel in the beginning 16 yrs ago when it first opened. We have since seen a rather rapid decline in ammeties,service,food,staff and the overall comfort of this hotel. It has been a great disappointment to us since you use to have an outstanding hotel - July 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Westin This... is... a... Westin? My husband and I kept saying that during our five night stay. Unlike the bland-beige-boring Westins in the States, this property is spectacular. Part new building, part old post office, the property had both character and modern amenities - it was a great, balanced combo. Although a Platinum upgrade wasn't available our first night, they were kind enough to move us into a wonderful suite the second night through the end of our stay. This was only one example of the great service we got - from our amazing check-in experience (if only we could remember her name!), to the perfect concierge restaurant recommendations - this property felt more like a St. Regis than a Westin. While the room furnishings are starting to show their age (purely in style, not condition), the marble and glass shower was one of the best we've ever experienced (and the water pressure was spectacular). The club lounge breakfast was also top notch. All in all, highly recommend this property when traveling down under. May 25, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worse SPG hotel in Sydney As a SPG platinum member, I must say this is the worse hotel in Sydney. I tried Four Points by Sheraton (Sydney) and Sheraton on the Park (Sydney). Both hotel have exceptional staff with outstanding services. I always tried to avoid Westin Sydney since 2 years ago. Because they no longer offer complimentary bottle to Platinum member. The staff just told me to drink tap water or buy water from convenience store because the hotel want to save cost and using bottle of water is not environmental friendly. Wow... what a great reason. I tried to avoid Westin Sydney as much as I can. Unfortunately, other SPG run out of room availability and I just tried one more time @ Westin Sydney in May 2015. Without any further expectation, this stay was disappointed. I will NEVER stay in Westin Sydney again. If other two SPG properties not available, I will choose other hotel instead. NO SPG recognition at all, not available to use the lounge on day of arrival because I arrive hotel too early. Asked the staff to call me when my room is ready. No one give me any call. I was walking along the city and wait for my room until 7:30pm. I have no option and was so tired so just head back to hotel and ask whether my room available or not. The staff told me my room was ready for a long time already. What a great service again from Westin Sydney. Good luck if you choose to stay The Westin Sydney. May 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Perfect location which enabled a perfect stay in Sydney. Amazing breakfast! Very modern and clean. Excellent service from all staff - well done! Will definitely stay again soon. Loved the old GPO architecture - unfortunately we didn't encounter the resident 'ghost'. May 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing 5-star hospitality in the heart of Sydney CBD Located in Martin Place (the heart of Sydney CBD) with its fabulous heritage wing this hotel provides an exemplary 5-star experience with impeccable service & warm hospitality. The complete experience from check-in to the Executive club lounge & last-but not the least the amazingly courteous & helpful staff makes you feel at home in luxury, thereby making the experience a memorable one wanting to come back to stay here in case you're in Sydney. May 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a pleasure This hotel is perfectly situated for us and we always enjoy our stay here. It seems they go out of their way to help - even to the point of always letting us stay in the same room, which we have grown quite fond of. Because of injury I have not been able to travel recently but we are spending a weekend there at the beginning of July 2015 and we are both very excited about returning to an hotel we consider a 'home away from home". April 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy room and no upgrade Although I am platinum with 260+ nights last year, I was given a standard room on a low floor. In addition, the room was directly across from the staff door for private dining and housekeeping, so every 10 minutes the door was slamming right across from me. Being jetlagged and trying to take a nap, this was not good. I called and asked for another room, but they refused to give me another room. I found this very surprising, but gathered that the staff at this Westin didn't care about status, and hence I'd not recommend this for Platinum members using points. Go to the Four Points down the road, where my friend stayed on points, and was given the executive suite. March 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unforgettable From the front desk greeting with a "you have been upgraded to the Presidential suite" to the next morning when we checked out, wow, what an experience. I have stayed here plenty of times and it was always meeting or exceeding my expectations, but this stay blew us away. The huge room and panoramic views of the city and the west were stunning. the room service was snappy and delicious for an afternoon snack and breakfast - the butler's pantry was overstocked and the bathroom exceptional. Thanks again to Mark Burns and his wonderful team for making our night so special at the Cancer Council Posh Ball..... March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptionally outstanding The stay was spur of the moment and a first time visit but my wife and I were greeted and treated as if we were part of the family. I can be a fussy guest but could find nothing on this visit to which to assign my fuss. Thanks to the staff for your professionalism and for taking such good care of us. March 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by city location hotel good location for city business March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location in the heart of the city Great location in which to discover Sydney's many attractions and bountiful shopping opportunities! March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience in Sydeny My family and I We had a wonderful experience in The Westin Sydney. Location is just perfect for anything. Right in the central of the busy city, but we can find the peace when we go back the hotel. Moreover, the hotel itself is a very classic and beautiful place to explore. One last thing, the complimentary "coffee" tea bag at the room is just perfect!!!! The tastes is till in my mouth. Could you please kindly let me know the brand of it? March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place Friendly staff at Exec Club. Comfortable beds and superb interior design. Hotel is conveniently located to everything. Would definitely go back! February 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall average, good location but not best. Heritage room comfortable, good bathroom, no views. Internet way too slow and at times unuseable even for basic email. Gym dark and very average. Breakfast misses fresh juice and no natural yogurt..at price it should have. February 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by AN SPG LIFE The Westin was like our second home for two years before Sydney became our permanent destination. The beautiful hotel located in Martin Place is a mix of modern elegance and historical charm. The Valet staff are always there to open your car door upon arrival and ready to assist with your luggage if required. The Lobby is grand with high ceilings surrounded by artwork and is the central point between the heritage General Post Office (GPO) building and the modern Tower rooms. Our frequent stays in Sydney and other Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) destinations soon meant we were SPG Gold Preferred Guests which entitle us to a Welcome Gift, Enhanced room (subject to availability) and a Late 4pm check-out on each stay. Having access to the SPG Platinum/Gold Preferred desk, always meant a smooth and speedy check-in and check-out process. The friendly service extended to the staff coming from behind the desk to hand you the room keys. The Westin is centrally located and close to The Rocks, the buzzing Westfield Pitt Street Mall, the iconic Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House. The Concierge service has been amazing and is a valuable resource of local knowledge and Sydney hotspot recommendations. Concierge has been very accommodating in obtaining last minute or hard to get reservations at fine dining establishments like Tetsuya’s and Quay. With SPG Welcome Gifts, acknowledgement of our 10th stay and Champagne on my birthday, it’s an alluring hotel to enjoy your return stays. January 25, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff couldn't care less This hotel doesn't care whether you are Starwood members or not. Overall they really don't care how you are. Breakfast area at Mosaic is poorly run and messy. Staff seem so overworked they are not cordial. The hotel room is dated. The hotel doesn't respect privacy - at least 2 times the room was entered into despite the do not disturb sign is on. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is very well located Excellent hotel with an outstanding lobby area. First class rating for a stay but overnight parking is very expensive and other more affordable overnight parking is a long walk from the hotel.(opera house) January 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Centrally located We stayed for 3 nights in the last week. The staff were very friendly, beds are wonderful, location is excellent. We were very disappointed to find pop spilled in the fridge and we found pizza under a luggage bench two days later left by previous guests. While staff were sympathetic and said they would advise the manager, we did not hear from him. A message from the manager at check out would have been appreciated. We did not feel well cared for. December 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No SPG Gold Benefits Offered I was really disappointed with my stay. I am a gold member but was not offered ANY gold benefits when I checked in. When I asked, I was told I could have a late checkout which I accepted, however the next day - housekeeping knew nothing of it and tried to check me out early. This was despite the DND light being switched on. December 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An outstanding stay This was a five-night stay on points. The stay started on a high note with early check-in. This was appreciated after 28 hours traveling. There was a nice upgrade to a room on a higher floor with a nice view of Martin Place. Also, there was the bonus of Executive Lounge access. I made extensive use of the Lounge both for breakfast, evening drinks and the occasional afternoon coffee or soft drink. Kudos to Jodie and her team in the Lounge. Great food and great service, all delivered in a professional and friendly manner. Special thanks to Sophia for her care and attention on the first evening. The room was comfortable and I always slept well. Housekeeping was efficient and timely on all days except the last. I made good use of the business centre once we had got past the key access problem. The one thing I take issue with at this hotel is that they do not provide complementary water in the rooms, even for Platinum members. I did mention this early in my stay and was provided with some water and the promise to have it available daily for my stay. The next day, it was not there. Again, I asked. It was provided for one more day but not for the remaining three days. The staff are always helpful, whether it is getting you a taxi or helping with luggage. Check out was speedy and friendly. This is a class hotel and I am looking forward to my next stay. December 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service far below acceptable Why does it need to be so difficult to provide service in line with pricing and branding of Westin? Probably because it's too easy for Westin Sydney. Business will come to them, guests who don't like the poor service won't come back. Who cares? Well, I do. It's a pity that this beautiful building, with great quality interior and bedding, is let down so badly by uninterested staff. We stayed 10 days at Westin Sydney, as we are relocating back to Sydney. Check in was a routine, no upgrade as recognition of my SPG Gold status (hotel booked out, was the reason mentioned), no complementary bottled water in the room. "Sydney water is perfectly drinkable, sir", was the comment from the Guest Services lady who answered the phone when I asked for some bottled water. Next morning, called 20 mins ahead to valet for our car, which still had to be fetched when we arrived downstairs (this was the case 6 out of the 10 days that we stayed). Checked again at front desk before we departed to request complimentary bottled water with turndown service every evening. Immediately promised, only happened without asking for it 3 out of the remaining 9 evenings, necessitating us to call Guest Service to ask for bottled water after returning to our room on the other evenings. Lobby bar downstairs appears understaffed (especially during weekends) as a simple cappuccino order requires more than 20 minutes wait and 2 reminders to wait staff before it is brought out to table. Breakfast buffet is good quality, but the same selection every single day. No variety, other than in the breakfast smoothie, which is the same every other day (they only do 2 flavours). SPG Gold members have complimentary use of internet, which had to validated upon check-out, as internet charges were on the bill. Also, a mini-bar charge on the bill, could only be "put aside for investigation", rather than simply credited from the bill, as if we would cheat the hotel for a $6.50 drink when settling a $ 6,000 bill. Really, Westin Sydney, get your act together. December 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by 5 Star Hotel - not! I have visited Sydney twice a year for the past 8 years and have always stayed at the Westin. It had never ranked as a top hotel in my book but given its close proximity to my office, I tolerated an average hotel. But given the cost of the room and to not have complimentary wifi for guests is absolutely unacceptable. Instead they offer free wifi in the lobby, but you need to go thru the hassle of getting an access code from the desk and then it is only valid for one hour. If everything else about the hotel is wonderful then I can understand having this as the one disadvantage but quite frankly everything else is very mediocre and the lack of complimentary wifi becomes the final straw. November 21, 2014
  • 2016-02-06 T05:35:40.983-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_784, tr_784
  • loc_en_US, sid_1183, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 27 next>>