The Westin Sydney

  • 1 Martin Place
  • Sydney,
  • New South Wales
  • 2000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 768 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy room and no upgrade Although I am platinum with 260+ nights last year, I was given a standard room on a low floor. In addition, the room was directly across from the staff door for private dining and housekeeping, so every 10 minutes the door was slamming right across from me. Being jetlagged and trying to take a nap, this was not good. I called and asked for another room, but they refused to give me another room. I found this very surprising, but gathered that the staff at this Westin didn't care about status, and hence I'd not recommend this for Platinum members using points. Go to the Four Points down the road, where my friend stayed on points, and was given the executive suite. March 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unforgettable From the front desk greeting with a "you have been upgraded to the Presidential suite" to the next morning when we checked out, wow, what an experience. I have stayed here plenty of times and it was always meeting or exceeding my expectations, but this stay blew us away. The huge room and panoramic views of the city and the west were stunning. the room service was snappy and delicious for an afternoon snack and breakfast - the butler's pantry was overstocked and the bathroom exceptional. Thanks again to Mark Burns and his wonderful team for making our night so special at the Cancer Council Posh Ball..... March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptionally outstanding The stay was spur of the moment and a first time visit but my wife and I were greeted and treated as if we were part of the family. I can be a fussy guest but could find nothing on this visit to which to assign my fuss. Thanks to the staff for your professionalism and for taking such good care of us. March 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by city location hotel good location for city business March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location in the heart of the city Great location in which to discover Sydney's many attractions and bountiful shopping opportunities! March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience in Sydeny My family and I We had a wonderful experience in The Westin Sydney. Location is just perfect for anything. Right in the central of the busy city, but we can find the peace when we go back the hotel. Moreover, the hotel itself is a very classic and beautiful place to explore. One last thing, the complimentary "coffee" tea bag at the room is just perfect!!!! The tastes is till in my mouth. Could you please kindly let me know the brand of it? March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place Friendly staff at Exec Club. Comfortable beds and superb interior design. Hotel is conveniently located to everything. Would definitely go back! February 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall average, good location but not best. Heritage room comfortable, good bathroom, no views. Internet way too slow and at times unuseable even for basic email. Gym dark and very average. Breakfast misses fresh juice and no natural yogurt..at price it should have. February 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by AN SPG LIFE The Westin was like our second home for two years before Sydney became our permanent destination. The beautiful hotel located in Martin Place is a mix of modern elegance and historical charm. The Valet staff are always there to open your car door upon arrival and ready to assist with your luggage if required. The Lobby is grand with high ceilings surrounded by artwork and is the central point between the heritage General Post Office (GPO) building and the modern Tower rooms. Our frequent stays in Sydney and other Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) destinations soon meant we were SPG Gold Preferred Guests which entitle us to a Welcome Gift, Enhanced room (subject to availability) and a Late 4pm check-out on each stay. Having access to the SPG Platinum/Gold Preferred desk, always meant a smooth and speedy check-in and check-out process. The friendly service extended to the staff coming from behind the desk to hand you the room keys. The Westin is centrally located and close to The Rocks, the buzzing Westfield Pitt Street Mall, the iconic Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House. The Concierge service has been amazing and is a valuable resource of local knowledge and Sydney hotspot recommendations. Concierge has been very accommodating in obtaining last minute or hard to get reservations at fine dining establishments like Tetsuya’s and Quay. With SPG Welcome Gifts, acknowledgement of our 10th stay and Champagne on my birthday, it’s an alluring hotel to enjoy your return stays. January 25, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff couldn't care less This hotel doesn't care whether you are Starwood members or not. Overall they really don't care how you are. Breakfast area at Mosaic is poorly run and messy. Staff seem so overworked they are not cordial. The hotel room is dated. The hotel doesn't respect privacy - at least 2 times the room was entered into despite the do not disturb sign is on. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is very well located Excellent hotel with an outstanding lobby area. First class rating for a stay but overnight parking is very expensive and other more affordable overnight parking is a long walk from the hotel.(opera house) January 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Centrally located We stayed for 3 nights in the last week. The staff were very friendly, beds are wonderful, location is excellent. We were very disappointed to find pop spilled in the fridge and we found pizza under a luggage bench two days later left by previous guests. While staff were sympathetic and said they would advise the manager, we did not hear from him. A message from the manager at check out would have been appreciated. We did not feel well cared for. December 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No SPG Gold Benefits Offered I was really disappointed with my stay. I am a gold member but was not offered ANY gold benefits when I checked in. When I asked, I was told I could have a late checkout which I accepted, however the next day - housekeeping knew nothing of it and tried to check me out early. This was despite the DND light being switched on. December 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An outstanding stay This was a five-night stay on points. The stay started on a high note with early check-in. This was appreciated after 28 hours traveling. There was a nice upgrade to a room on a higher floor with a nice view of Martin Place. Also, there was the bonus of Executive Lounge access. I made extensive use of the Lounge both for breakfast, evening drinks and the occasional afternoon coffee or soft drink. Kudos to Jodie and her team in the Lounge. Great food and great service, all delivered in a professional and friendly manner. Special thanks to Sophia for her care and attention on the first evening. The room was comfortable and I always slept well. Housekeeping was efficient and timely on all days except the last. I made good use of the business centre once we had got past the key access problem. The one thing I take issue with at this hotel is that they do not provide complementary water in the rooms, even for Platinum members. I did mention this early in my stay and was provided with some water and the promise to have it available daily for my stay. The next day, it was not there. Again, I asked. It was provided for one more day but not for the remaining three days. The staff are always helpful, whether it is getting you a taxi or helping with luggage. Check out was speedy and friendly. This is a class hotel and I am looking forward to my next stay. December 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service far below acceptable Why does it need to be so difficult to provide service in line with pricing and branding of Westin? Probably because it's too easy for Westin Sydney. Business will come to them, guests who don't like the poor service won't come back. Who cares? Well, I do. It's a pity that this beautiful building, with great quality interior and bedding, is let down so badly by uninterested staff. We stayed 10 days at Westin Sydney, as we are relocating back to Sydney. Check in was a routine, no upgrade as recognition of my SPG Gold status (hotel booked out, was the reason mentioned), no complementary bottled water in the room. "Sydney water is perfectly drinkable, sir", was the comment from the Guest Services lady who answered the phone when I asked for some bottled water. Next morning, called 20 mins ahead to valet for our car, which still had to be fetched when we arrived downstairs (this was the case 6 out of the 10 days that we stayed). Checked again at front desk before we departed to request complimentary bottled water with turndown service every evening. Immediately promised, only happened without asking for it 3 out of the remaining 9 evenings, necessitating us to call Guest Service to ask for bottled water after returning to our room on the other evenings. Lobby bar downstairs appears understaffed (especially during weekends) as a simple cappuccino order requires more than 20 minutes wait and 2 reminders to wait staff before it is brought out to table. Breakfast buffet is good quality, but the same selection every single day. No variety, other than in the breakfast smoothie, which is the same every other day (they only do 2 flavours). SPG Gold members have complimentary use of internet, which had to validated upon check-out, as internet charges were on the bill. Also, a mini-bar charge on the bill, could only be "put aside for investigation", rather than simply credited from the bill, as if we would cheat the hotel for a $6.50 drink when settling a $ 6,000 bill. Really, Westin Sydney, get your act together. December 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by 5 Star Hotel - not! I have visited Sydney twice a year for the past 8 years and have always stayed at the Westin. It had never ranked as a top hotel in my book but given its close proximity to my office, I tolerated an average hotel. But given the cost of the room and to not have complimentary wifi for guests is absolutely unacceptable. Instead they offer free wifi in the lobby, but you need to go thru the hassle of getting an access code from the desk and then it is only valid for one hour. If everything else about the hotel is wonderful then I can understand having this as the one disadvantage but quite frankly everything else is very mediocre and the lack of complimentary wifi becomes the final straw. November 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Resting on its location laurels? as a platinum SPG member, not to even get any complimentary water in the room seems a little meagre. As i travel the world, as a firm SPG fan, this is the one hotel where my status seems to count for nothing at all. It is a really poor exception to every other Starwood hotel i use. this is not the first time i have made this comment, on this hotel, so perhaps management needs a shake up or repeat and regular customers are not valued - you decide. November 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Heavenly beds no longer heavenly I regularly stay at The Westin in Melbourne, which is wonderful) and have stayed at Westins in other parts of the world and always been happy with them, until this visit to Sydney (one night on 8.11.14 and 2 nights 13/14.11.14). The bed was too hard, even with the mattress topper. The staff told me all the beds had recently been replaced ;( There is no filtered water provided. There were no slippers the first time I stayed. I was unable to plug in my CPAP near the bed as the power points there are all unusual, and the staff were unable to provide an extension cord that could reach a normal power point, such as those near the desk. The gym available is a public gym which is so busy in the mornings you can barely get a place to exercise. The taps are awful. The water from the handbasin tap splashes out over the bench. The shower temperature varies unpredictably when you are not touching the tap settings at all and I was burnt twice while showering. I won't be staying at the Westin in Sydney again. November 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel is excellent but..... Exellent hotel.We always stay here while in Sydney.But the price of a bottle of wine in the cafe is absolutely ridiculous - $70 the cheapest. We had planned on an easy meal and a bottle of wine one evening but saw the wine list price and left.Being a Sunday we had to walk for a while until we something open. November 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by 15% SPG MEMBERS BEING IGNORED We came to have an afternoon tea with pastries around 5.06pm. Tax Invoice Chk 8770. Table 53/1. The new trainee lady was simply delightful and sweet. The teas and pastries were equally fantastic. We are simply happy. Ah hour later, we asked the Bill and being served with it shortly after. I as normally do, slip the cash payment with my SPG membership card. Shortly after, the change came back with no discount whatsoever with my SPG card next to it by another gentlement. The lady by then was too busy or dissapear nowhere to be found. We decided to leave as it is just a small amount. Not worth to be disputed further. However, what is the point of coming back if this is how Westin Sydney appreciate their SPG customer? Pointless isnt it? If its done by the lady on training, its slightly acceptable. However on the Tax Invoice, it was done by another person "329 Daniel B"? http://www.spgrestaurantsandbars.com/australia/sydney/lobby-bar--lounge-and-the-room?offer=4237 November 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel under performs Hotel is under staffed facilities are below par, executive club lounge is below par in food and standard great views poor lounge, business centre only by name not a place to do business 5 lifts but none never seem to arrive reception front desk poor service response for SPG platinum gold members quality of food is generally below par overall nice bldg great location not a place l would revisit in a hurry Sheraton in Elizabeth st much better also no day spa facility just pretend offering of a journey definitely no go November 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by True Heavenly Bed The hotel absolutely met my expectations in terms of comfort, price & quality, and location. However what is truly beyond all praise is the bed - the best sleep I've ever had. Thank you. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The bed was delightful I couldn't have asked for a more comfortable bed. There was a selection of pillows available. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks! Excellent facilities and location; helpful staff and blissfully clean. November 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by cold & unfriendly staff; poor service My recent stay at this far below average Westin property can be summed up as death by a thousand cuts. Cold and unfriendly staff at the front desk provided a less than ideal check-in experience. SPG Platinum recognition was horrible. Using hotel services like laundry, room service, and house cleaning was frustrating as there were quality issues. To top it all off, the hotel did nothing after receiving feedback of my experiences. On the plus side, the hotel is centrally located in the CBD and has quite modern amenities and room furnishings. November 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great situation in the CBD area My wife and I had one of our very best hotel experiences here. A great room (de luxe suite) which was most comfortable. The benefits of The Executive Lounge were huge-the staff went out of their way to look after us. We appreciated being slightly away from the touristy circular quay area. The hotel has a great lobby area-classy. Altogether this is a serious 5 star hotel November 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by fist choice in sydney Excellent Hotel, professional staff, and by far one of the better executive clubs in the chain, both the morning breakfast and the generous evening service. Hotels such as this particular Westin, makes the platinum benefit and recognition so very valuable. My thanks to Claire and all the staff for their assistance during our wonderful stay . November 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely Weekend Away We stayed 2 nights over the weekend and enjoyed our experience at the hotel. The only disappointing feature for us was the pool facilities being very basic. The room, food and service was fantastic. We liked the central location of the hotel. November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfection Plus Excellent customer service from beginning to end, he Westin to Sydney visitors. November 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great rooms and awesome breakfast Our room was great as well as breakfast although we did find a bitten apple on the table during our meeting in the conference room as well as a blow fly in the glass of juice! November 3, 2014
  • 2015-07-29T16:10:33.482-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_768, tr_768
  • loc_en_US, sid_1183, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 27 next>>