The Westin Melbourne

  • 205 Collins Street
  • Melbourne,
  • Victoria
  • 3000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. A maximum of two children are allowed in Deluxe Rooms with two double beds. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 427 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sept Trip Great stay as usual. Always stay at the Westin in Melbourne and Sydney. September 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Little missed opportunities Enjoyed our stay, but felt that the overall experience could be improved by the little tokens. For example, we've stayed at other Melbourne hotels on our anniversary, and all have recognised it in some small way (because I make a point of referring to it during the booking) - whether it be a card, chocolates, wine or other - no acknowledgement from the Westin. I wasn't told when given the room key what floor the room was on, and there were a few stray hairs in the bathtub. Nothing earth shattering, but little things that can be improved to increase the satisfaction of the stay.Bed was very comfortable and I loved the rain shower. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Breakfast buffet should serve lemon slices with the smoked trout and salmon. September 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anticipation disappointment We arrived at 5pm only to be told that our room is still not ready ( check in is meant to be 3 ) - The front desk clerk was rude and only offered for us sit and wait and have a drink on the house. We needed to get ready to go to a show. Left my car in valet but the next morning found my Rayban sunglasses on the floor with a chip in it ( not happy ) - how do they drive the car for this to happen ???? Bedding was uncomfortable my sister woke up with a neck pain we were there for her birthday asked for chocolates and a card to be in the room on arrival - the chocolates arrived later but am still waiting on the card. Cooked breakfast was ordinary - variety was good though Was looking forward to staying but left grately disappointed. I am a travel consulatant and will be wary to have my clients stay after how I was treated. September 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Only a good location... After I contacted the Hotel directly, for a feedback from the GM; which didn't happened since March 2012, therefore I post my review here. The hotel distinguishes between paying and non-paying guest (using Starpoints or free nights from Starwood promotions)! The Westin Melbourne belongs to the group of Starwood hotels which don’t bother about you when you use your SPG points or free nights out of a Starwood promotion. I am deeply disappointed with Starwood that they call The Westin Melbourne a Starwood hotel!!! Here is the conversation, I had with the hotel: "Dear Hotel, many thanks for your kind email, which I much appreciate. With deep concern I recognize, that you distinguish between paying and non-paying guests. I acknowledge your statement about the room upgrade issue, whereby the SPG reservation system stated differently on that particular day. May I ask, if you or your GM ever checked you breakfast offer? Let it put me this way, after being forced to put "pressure" on your team, your team was able to tell me what can be done; and not only what can not be done. As a vegetarian eater I felt not at all appreciated. The breakfast service is more like the military cantina service which I experienced 25 years ago. Noisy, crowded and nothing proper to eat! Due to my last three experiences in your hotel, it is most unlikely that I'll chose the Westin Melbourne again. Your hardware is excellent but unfortunately the "software" has big steps to go, to become an Westin which I am used to. This due to the fact, that I spend within the last 4 years, each year between 90 and 130 nights in Westin hotels throughout the Asian region. Starwood hotels can be categorised into 2 general groups, the one which distinguish between paying and "non-paying" (Using points etc.) guests. Dear Hotel, I am fully aware about the terms and conditions of the SPG program and the fact that no room upgrades can be promised. It is not about any upgrade, it is about the way the front office in your hotel does not even bother to distinguish between a "regular" guest and a guest with SPG Status. Further I think that you have a "virtual" GM. Kind Regards U. S. On 22 Apr, 2012, at 3:19 PM, " "Hotel wrote: Dear Guest., Greetings from The Westin Melbourne. We want to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey form regarding your recent stay with us. It is always delightful to receive such great feedback and high scores. We are extremely happy that our associates provided you with our very instinctive and personal Westin Service. It is one of our priorities to make all our guests feel welcomed and cared for during their stay and to leave feeling refreshed. We are concerned however that you gave the hotel a low rating in regards to Starwood Preferred Guest benefits. I understand that this is in regards to not receiving an upgrade as one of our Platinum members. Firstly, we do our best each and every day to provide our Platinum guests with upgrades to our Corner Spa Studios, or Regent Suites, subject to availability. On this particular stay, unfortunately we had guests staying which were paying the full rate for our suites, and therefore were unable to accommodate an upgrade for you. We understand this is frustrating, however we do our best to upgrade where availability sees fit. As we do not have a club lounge at this hotel, we do understand that our Platinum members can feel as though they do not receive the same benefits here, as they do at other properties. We would also like to apologize for that. We hope to welcome you back for another renewing stay in the near future. Please contact me directly when you are planning your next visit as I would be delighted to personally look after your reservation. Kind regards “Hotel”. " A standard email on a feedback.... June 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This could be better First time at your hotel Chose to stay here proximity. I liked your hotel room was suitable however the breakfast buffet leaves a lot to be desired.i travel frequently and stay at high level hotels,so just a few tips that I can see,your hot food servers are way too high .stretching up to see your choices let alone spoon it out I have never seen an area where food is not at normal level. The other thing is the choice of bread for toast should be not be packet helgas sliced bread.with all the amazing selection of food in melbourne you should put thought into a better selection,the Asian waitresses were very lovely,as were the rest of the staff doorman were great.in saying that I'd stay again it's good just need a bit of work on the buffet August 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding features in the heart of the city The Westin Melbourne is a welcoming oasis in the heart of the city. The staff are friendly and the hotel has a wonderful warm and welcoming vibe. September 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cbd central Clean and roomy. Very relaxing. Staff great September 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best place to stay in Melbourne! I have stayed at the Westin Melbourne multiple times. The staff is attentive and very friendly. The hotel is immaculate - good gym facilities, pool, suana, steam room etc. There is a Starbucks at the base of the hotel and ample dining both in the hotel and nearby. Shopping is all around you and in walking distance as well. Ian the doorman always smiles and greets you when you arrive - amazingly, he remembered me by name when I came back my second time to the hotel. The location is safe and great for female travelers in my opinion. About a 1/2 hour cab ride from the airport and located in the heart of shopping and nightlife. I HIGHLY recommend the Westin Melbourne. April 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home away from home From the moment Brad takes the car keys untill he hands them back in the morning it is just like I have not left home. Nothing is a problem, everything works and is seamless even down to handing me a cool bottle of water when I return from my afternoon run along the Yarra. September 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by rooms The Westin Melbourne is generally a great hotel, great staff, good facilities. Only negative and it's a big one for me is the internal rooms. It's very claustrophobic, dark and depressing. I've raised this regularly and sometimes I get an external room. For me it's really a depressing feeling everytime I get an internal room and sets the tone for the visit. December 2, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Avoid breakfast if possible Good hotel, but service needs work - are staffing levels sufficient? Don't eat breakfast there. Green eggs in the bay marie was not a good look and 30 minutes to deliver GF toast on our fourth morning was met with a wide range of creative and dishonest excuses. A further 10 minutes to find a concierge delayed our expected departure by 45 minutes. July 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Seriously Dissapointed In preparing to chair a Board Meeting to release the annual results the wi fi worked on the first night and then would not work during the morning. In the end I went to Macdonalds and the free wi fi worked first time. Wi fi works all the time in third world countries and is not charged for. Will consder changing hotels in future August 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor execution Wifi was included then billed... 2 weetbix breakfast with two coffees $40.00....never again One AFR $3.00 I have never seen this before Credit card loading.....appalling. September 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A One Night Very Relaxing Stay As we come to expect, the Westin Melbourne has delivered exceptional service. From the staff member who took our car and luggage to the receptionists checking us in and out. We enjoyed a late lunch and a buffet breakfast in the Allegro Restaurant serviced by friendly and welcoming staff with smiling faces. August 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Room sizes The room sizes are amazing in this hotel. They are spacious, comfortable, modern and clean April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy to visit again After visiting only a few weeks before, I was very happy to check into The Westin Melbourne again and I was not disappointed. This time into a City view room with a great outlook over Swanston Street with its horse-drawn carriages and trams. All of the staff seemed to be up to their usual impeccable standard, breezing me through check-in and a late check-out. The room is well laid out, very comfortable, great bathroom and an outstanding super-comfy bed. Breakfast at Allegro was very relaxing with a leafy outlook over Collins Street. This hotel has great staff and a fabulous location. February 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory check in services with no lounge service I have to say the location and the rooms of Westin Melbourne is excellent. However, the check-in service is not satisfactory. As a platinum memeber, it is expected to stay on a high floor. Unfortunately, the staff offered a 2nd floor room which was facing the main street. I could hear the noise of the tram clearly (the tram runs till midnight). So later on, I had to request the front desk staff to help re-arrange another room which was inconvenient to us. Also, there is no lounge in this hotel and this is another drawback of this hotel (no lounge service and breakfast served). October 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by grateful return. After originally booking another hotel on Collins st, it didn't feel right - we cancelled that one and booked the Westin again. Instantly, their confirmation email starting with 'welcome back...' was a sure comfort and a sigh of relief. Flying into Melbourne at 6am, I wasn't expecting a room ready and was prepared to wonder the street cafés and wait - much to our surprise, our room was ready and straight up we went within 5 minutes of arriving. Swift service at an ungodly hour is much appreciated! Once again, our expectations were greatly surpassed with the size of the room, the amenities, and the balcony that our room had! It was a great start to our holiday - watching Melbourne wake up from our balcony as we prepared for the day ahead. Room service was excellently fast and the taste was just as fresh as the hotel it self. Whilst the prices are quite exorbitant; it's definitely worth it. The only, minute downside to our stay was the service in the Martini Bar. After walking in and finding our own seats and getting our own menus; our presence was still unnoticed. The bar was not at its full capacity; not flat out busy, but not awkwardly dead either. Thinking they didn't offer table service, I approached a staff member and enquired, only to be shot back with a brief 'yep' and that was all. Assuming some sort of basic conversation protocol would follow, I was left standing at the bar, trying to order drinks - until a further 8 minutes later, I was approached and asked if I 'needed help...' once the drinks arrive (14 minutes) later; which to their credit were quite delicious - we departed to try our luck at other bars. I would very much like to think that this was a one off occurrence and the service from staff in the Martini Bar is a lot greater. Other than this minor draw back - the stay, as always, was flawless and extremely revitalising. Until another SPG property opens in Melbourne, there is no other place I would ever consider staying - the one time lapse in judgement was not long lived - cancelled within three hours of booking. The Westin makes me feel like I'm home. I don't know what it is that does it, but it's there. April 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, great location! We arrived in March for a 5 night stay. The building is beautiful. Wonderful, wonderful location. Staff is pleasant and everything runs so very smoothly. Had wine out on the deck to enjoy the warmth and view. The waitstaff was very attentive. I'm a platinum plus and we reserved/submitted our "suite requests" 5 months ahead. we checked in we were informed the upgrade wasn't available. :( My wife politely asked them to move us if something did open up. No luck. Our room is tastefully decorated. We have a high floor request on my account but are situated rather low. Our main view is of a run down building across the way. Not so nice, but it is fun to watch people in the park below and the tram cars come and go. March 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is overall exceptional This hotel is exceptional August 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed again. My last stay here was poor, but I wanted to give the hotel another chance as I generally like the Westin standards worldwide. As a platinum member, I was offered no specific welcome or room upgrade on arrival which is unusual , and was given a room on a low floor again after a bad experience the last time with noise etc. I then asked for a shirt to be pressed, as I had an urgent business meeting to be told that express laundry would only be back at 1pm. It was 7 am at the time of calling. Is that the best you can do for a double charge and express pressing service?? August 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel in the heart of Melbourne Nice hotel, but on an international scale not a 5 star property. Good sized rooms with the usual great beds which Westin is famous for. But an uninspiring bathroom with very cold floors. I am wondering how many guest are able to find those hidden light switches on the inaccessible side of the side tables. And yes, I experienced a world first after 30 years extensive travelling around the world. A 5 star hotel who locks its doors after midnight and the guest have to use their room keys to enter it through a small side entrance into a completely deserted lobby. August 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great weekend We started the weekend with a beautiful high tea. the staff were fantastic and told us all about the tasty courses we had for the high tea. we then did a bit of shopping only to come back for a swim and sauna in the excellent pool. we went out for dinner and a show on the Saturday night and came back and had a great nights sleep on the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. All in all The Westin was absolutely brilliant and i would not hesitate in recommending it to anybody August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a pleasure Once again, The Westin Melbourne met my expectations... A quick spur of the moment Easter break holiday trip to the east coast was capped off with another fantastic stay. As SPG Platinum guests, we took advantage of late check out - a great little perk that allowed us to sleep in and really just chill through the day, instead of rushing here and there doing last minute things. We opted not for the breakfast, only because we're not up early enough!! The only down side, is I've never been offered room upgrades! Not that a standard room is anything to scoff at, it's by all means still a superb room - but experiencing a suite, would just add to that specialness! The Westin and its staff are aways a great pleasure to deal with when I'm in town. Thank you. April 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Favourite no more This used to be one of my favourite hotels: it was pictured on my 2011 membership card. My experience on this particular 3-night stay was memorable from a negative point of view. The room assigned on arrival was 210 which was on the lowest level where there are rooms. This is not acceptable for a Platinum guest. This was changed to 721 after some discussion. I fully realised that given the small number of suites, one was not available for our stay. There is no lounge in this hotel, nor a club floor. The first evening, my wife had a bath. The body lotion had a clear top portion but she used it. On application, it smelled of sour milk so she had to take a shower and then use our own body lotion. There were problems with shower and drain in one sink: these problems were rectified the next day. The first morning for breakfast we asked for a table in a particular section but were told that they were unavailable (reserved?). One of these tables remained unoccupied the entire time we were in the restaurant. After mentioning this to Guest Services, we got an apology note for the "misunderstanding". I am not sure we misunderstood anything, we were just not given our table of choice. The next morning, a restaurant supervisor said that they would talk later about the misunderstanding. They did not follow up that morning or the following morning although they were in the restaurant both times. On the second morning we suffered from lack of attention and were not offered top-ups on our coffees. This is not the service one expects from a hotel that we were told was a Westin "boutique" hotel. My wife was also surprised that there was no turn-down service. November 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A luxurious short break for Melbournians Stayed two nights over the Easter break with my family and was given a regular room at the SPG floor. The room is quite spacious and the three of us, 2 adults and one child, did not feel crowded. The room was overlooking busy Swanston Street but the sound of the trams were faint and barely noticeable. The bathroom is so far the biggest I have seen, it even echoes in there. We enjoyed the indoor pool but the gym was quite small, and the mirrors to make it look bigger actually made it look cramp and uninviting. Had Easter lunch at Allegro restaurant. Food was wonderful but we could barely hear the jazz musicians playing ( a pity). Our stay was so comfortable that we couldn't be bothered to go out so we had a nice dinner at the Lobby Lounge.We will stay again! April 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Hotel in Australia I frequently stay at the Melbourne Westin and cannot speak more highly about how wonderful it is. The staff are very caring and no request is too much for them. The accommodation is also always lovely with lots of small tokens like free bottles of water in the room and magazines available. One visit knowing it was my daughter's birthday we were given a lovely plate of pastries delivered to the room. I would recommend this hotel over any others in Melbourne. You will be guaranteed a memorable stay. August 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beds are awful Always a classy place. Great staff, great location. Beds are simply awful. They are like mush, no support and you keep getting pushed to the edge because of the support in the middle of the king bed. August 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by High quality Excellent location and amenities...Highly recommended. August 25, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>