The Westin Melbourne

  • 205 Collins Street
  • Melbourne,
  • Victoria
  • 3000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. A maximum of two children are allowed in Deluxe Rooms with two double beds. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 264 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy to visit again After visiting only a few weeks before, I was very happy to check into The Westin Melbourne again and I was not disappointed. This time into a City view room with a great outlook over Swanston Street with its horse-drawn carriages and trams. All of the staff seemed to be up to their usual impeccable standard, breezing me through check-in and a late check-out. The room is well laid out, very comfortable, great bathroom and an outstanding super-comfy bed. Breakfast at Allegro was very relaxing with a leafy outlook over Collins Street. This hotel has great staff and a fabulous location. February 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory check in services with no lounge service I have to say the location and the rooms of Westin Melbourne is excellent. However, the check-in service is not satisfactory. As a platinum memeber, it is expected to stay on a high floor. Unfortunately, the staff offered a 2nd floor room which was facing the main street. I could hear the noise of the tram clearly (the tram runs till midnight). So later on, I had to request the front desk staff to help re-arrange another room which was inconvenient to us. Also, there is no lounge in this hotel and this is another drawback of this hotel (no lounge service and breakfast served). October 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by grateful return. After originally booking another hotel on Collins st, it didn't feel right - we cancelled that one and booked the Westin again. Instantly, their confirmation email starting with 'welcome back...' was a sure comfort and a sigh of relief. Flying into Melbourne at 6am, I wasn't expecting a room ready and was prepared to wonder the street cafés and wait - much to our surprise, our room was ready and straight up we went within 5 minutes of arriving. Swift service at an ungodly hour is much appreciated! Once again, our expectations were greatly surpassed with the size of the room, the amenities, and the balcony that our room had! It was a great start to our holiday - watching Melbourne wake up from our balcony as we prepared for the day ahead. Room service was excellently fast and the taste was just as fresh as the hotel it self. Whilst the prices are quite exorbitant; it's definitely worth it. The only, minute downside to our stay was the service in the Martini Bar. After walking in and finding our own seats and getting our own menus; our presence was still unnoticed. The bar was not at its full capacity; not flat out busy, but not awkwardly dead either. Thinking they didn't offer table service, I approached a staff member and enquired, only to be shot back with a brief 'yep' and that was all. Assuming some sort of basic conversation protocol would follow, I was left standing at the bar, trying to order drinks - until a further 8 minutes later, I was approached and asked if I 'needed help...' once the drinks arrive (14 minutes) later; which to their credit were quite delicious - we departed to try our luck at other bars. I would very much like to think that this was a one off occurrence and the service from staff in the Martini Bar is a lot greater. Other than this minor draw back - the stay, as always, was flawless and extremely revitalising. Until another SPG property opens in Melbourne, there is no other place I would ever consider staying - the one time lapse in judgement was not long lived - cancelled within three hours of booking. The Westin makes me feel like I'm home. I don't know what it is that does it, but it's there. April 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, great location! We arrived in March for a 5 night stay. The building is beautiful. Wonderful, wonderful location. Staff is pleasant and everything runs so very smoothly. Had wine out on the deck to enjoy the warmth and view. The waitstaff was very attentive. I'm a platinum plus and we reserved/submitted our "suite requests" 5 months ahead. we checked in we were informed the upgrade wasn't available. :( My wife politely asked them to move us if something did open up. No luck. Our room is tastefully decorated. We have a high floor request on my account but are situated rather low. Our main view is of a run down building across the way. Not so nice, but it is fun to watch people in the park below and the tram cars come and go. March 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed again. My last stay here was poor, but I wanted to give the hotel another chance as I generally like the Westin standards worldwide. As a platinum member, I was offered no specific welcome or room upgrade on arrival which is unusual , and was given a room on a low floor again after a bad experience the last time with noise etc. I then asked for a shirt to be pressed, as I had an urgent business meeting to be told that express laundry would only be back at 1pm. It was 7 am at the time of calling. Is that the best you can do for a double charge and express pressing service?? August 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Only a good location... After I contacted the Hotel directly, for a feedback from the GM; which didn't happened since March 2012, therefore I post my review here. The hotel distinguishes between paying and non-paying guest (using Starpoints or free nights from Starwood promotions)! The Westin Melbourne belongs to the group of Starwood hotels which don’t bother about you when you use your SPG points or free nights out of a Starwood promotion. I am deeply disappointed with Starwood that they call The Westin Melbourne a Starwood hotel!!! Here is the conversation, I had with the hotel: "Dear Hotel, many thanks for your kind email, which I much appreciate. With deep concern I recognize, that you distinguish between paying and non-paying guests. I acknowledge your statement about the room upgrade issue, whereby the SPG reservation system stated differently on that particular day. May I ask, if you or your GM ever checked you breakfast offer? Let it put me this way, after being forced to put "pressure" on your team, your team was able to tell me what can be done; and not only what can not be done. As a vegetarian eater I felt not at all appreciated. The breakfast service is more like the military cantina service which I experienced 25 years ago. Noisy, crowded and nothing proper to eat! Due to my last three experiences in your hotel, it is most unlikely that I'll chose the Westin Melbourne again. Your hardware is excellent but unfortunately the "software" has big steps to go, to become an Westin which I am used to. This due to the fact, that I spend within the last 4 years, each year between 90 and 130 nights in Westin hotels throughout the Asian region. Starwood hotels can be categorised into 2 general groups, the one which distinguish between paying and "non-paying" (Using points etc.) guests. Dear Hotel, I am fully aware about the terms and conditions of the SPG program and the fact that no room upgrades can be promised. It is not about any upgrade, it is about the way the front office in your hotel does not even bother to distinguish between a "regular" guest and a guest with SPG Status. Further I think that you have a "virtual" GM. Kind Regards U. S. On 22 Apr, 2012, at 3:19 PM, " "Hotel wrote: Dear Guest., Greetings from The Westin Melbourne. We want to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey form regarding your recent stay with us. It is always delightful to receive such great feedback and high scores. We are extremely happy that our associates provided you with our very instinctive and personal Westin Service. It is one of our priorities to make all our guests feel welcomed and cared for during their stay and to leave feeling refreshed. We are concerned however that you gave the hotel a low rating in regards to Starwood Preferred Guest benefits. I understand that this is in regards to not receiving an upgrade as one of our Platinum members. Firstly, we do our best each and every day to provide our Platinum guests with upgrades to our Corner Spa Studios, or Regent Suites, subject to availability. On this particular stay, unfortunately we had guests staying which were paying the full rate for our suites, and therefore were unable to accommodate an upgrade for you. We understand this is frustrating, however we do our best to upgrade where availability sees fit. As we do not have a club lounge at this hotel, we do understand that our Platinum members can feel as though they do not receive the same benefits here, as they do at other properties. We would also like to apologize for that. We hope to welcome you back for another renewing stay in the near future. Please contact me directly when you are planning your next visit as I would be delighted to personally look after your reservation. Kind regards “Hotel”. " A standard email on a feedback.... June 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel in the heart of Melbourne Nice hotel, but on an international scale not a 5 star property. Good sized rooms with the usual great beds which Westin is famous for. But an uninspiring bathroom with very cold floors. I am wondering how many guest are able to find those hidden light switches on the inaccessible side of the side tables. And yes, I experienced a world first after 30 years extensive travelling around the world. A 5 star hotel who locks its doors after midnight and the guest have to use their room keys to enter it through a small side entrance into a completely deserted lobby. August 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a pleasure Once again, The Westin Melbourne met my expectations... A quick spur of the moment Easter break holiday trip to the east coast was capped off with another fantastic stay. As SPG Platinum guests, we took advantage of late check out - a great little perk that allowed us to sleep in and really just chill through the day, instead of rushing here and there doing last minute things. We opted not for the breakfast, only because we're not up early enough!! The only down side, is I've never been offered room upgrades! Not that a standard room is anything to scoff at, it's by all means still a superb room - but experiencing a suite, would just add to that specialness! The Westin and its staff are aways a great pleasure to deal with when I'm in town. Thank you. April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A luxurious short break for Melbournians Stayed two nights over the Easter break with my family and was given a regular room at the SPG floor. The room is quite spacious and the three of us, 2 adults and one child, did not feel crowded. The room was overlooking busy Swanston Street but the sound of the trams were faint and barely noticeable. The bathroom is so far the biggest I have seen, it even echoes in there. We enjoyed the indoor pool but the gym was quite small, and the mirrors to make it look bigger actually made it look cramp and uninviting. Had Easter lunch at Allegro restaurant. Food was wonderful but we could barely hear the jazz musicians playing ( a pity). Our stay was so comfortable that we couldn't be bothered to go out so we had a nice dinner at the Lobby Lounge.We will stay again! April 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic location What a fantastic hotel! I stayed for 3 nights with my 14 year old daughter in a deluxe room and we loved everything about the hotel. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious, and the beds were so comfortable. Loved the bathroom, especially the large overhead shower. The location was superb for our daily shopping expedition, afternoon coffee and cakes, and for eating out at night. We can't wait to book our next weekend in Melbourne and we will definitely stay at the Westin. April 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Useful tips ... ... if you need to call Service Express from you room after about 11pm, call from the external number ... it gets answered a lot quicker. ... if you order room service, order very clearly and double check what you get. Based on my 12+ stays and approx 40 room service orders in the last year or so you get exactly what you asked for about half the time. Last night was a record, brought the soup bowl, but forgot the soup. ... if you're bill is going to be over $5,000 then you'll get a note during your stay (not mentioned at checkin) to go to settle up 'at your convenience'. That night you'll find that your room keys no longer work, just to encourage your 'convenience' to coincide with the Westin's. Based on two stays in the last year of over two weeks. The hotel is OK, but thinks it is a lot better than it actually is. February 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, but .... 4 minor comments: 1. Checked in around 10pm and had to wait in a queue for 15mins as there was only one staff member checking guests in; 2. My employer had provided payment details, but this was not recognised when I went to check out and required unnecessary follow up; 3. I had paid for refreshments in cash upon checkout, but the amount was left on the bill and paid for (again) by my employer 4. My room was above the entrance where noisy revellers woke me up at 2am as they exited the hotel August 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable and Efficient Am currently staying here at Westin Melbourne. We actually extended our stay here in Melbourne and decided to choose Westin as our next hotel choice. Check in by Heather was pleasant and gold status membership was acknowledged. Decided to upgrade to spa studio for Sunday onwards and once again Heather was very helpful over the phone. Bed is extremely comfortable as per Heavenly bed/spg standard. My partner and I are looking forward to a consistently pleasant stay for the rest of our days here in Melbourne. Breakfast was average with limited choice. Breakfast understaffed. Breakfast male manager not very warm in my opinion. January 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A favourite hotel in Melbourne I really like the Westin. Friendly staff, nicely furnished rooms, very stylish public areas. It is also in a very convenient location. The free wi fi in the reception area is nice but it really should be available throughout the hotel. Wi fi connectivity is just so standard now, why not simply factor it in to the room rate? Those wireless signals can't be too expensive! All that said, this remains a favourite hotel in Melbourne and is a very nice place to stay. August 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This Hotel needs to Improve 1) The power point next to the toilet/basin was faulty. 2) The newspaper was not delivered for 2 out of 3 days. 3) Allegro said not necessary to show SPG card, as would be adjusted at checkout. At checkout they claim it must be done by facility at time of dining. No adjustment was made at checkout. 4) Quality of food at breakfast was below standard one would expect from the hotel. 5) Room not made up on return at 3.30pm. May 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel is a great place to catch up with friends It was a girls weekend away to celebrate my birthday. There were 9 of us that stayed there from other parts of the world. The hotel ticked all the boxes - close to shopping, great eateries, art galleries, public transport, business centre, swimming pool and spa, friendly staff and most helpful. We loved the convenience and the cafes next door. Loved every single minute of our visit. August 13, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Poor Staff This hotel is an amazing property with excellent facilities. The building is magnificent and the rooms are quite stunning with fantastic facilities. The location is one of the best in Melbourne. Unfortunately I had a very poor experience with staff at the front desk on my arrival which tarnished my entire stay. I hope that this is an isolated incident and I perhaps will try this property again. May 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Best Starwood Property in Australia I travel extensively throughout Australia and have had the opportunity to stay at every Starwood property in an Australian capitol city. The Westin Melbourne by far is the best. The service and recognition I receive as a SPG member beats all of the other Starwood properties in Australia hands down. Many thanks to the staff at the Westin Melbourne for providing another memorable stay. August 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location If you are looking to stay in a central downtown location with easy access to the Trains/Trams and riverfront - the Westin is the perfect choice. This hotel has an elegant feel to it and the staff are some of the best I've encountered (I travel frequently). Loved the recreational options with the pool and steam/sauna rooms- but be advised the fitness center is quite small. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel in the center of town Hotel is outstanding, both in terms of looks as well as practicality. Heavenly beds and showers were great. Staff was very helpful in planning activities in Melbourne, as well as designing a Great Ocean Road itinerary and picking restaurants/clubs to go to. Very nice gym as well. Far exceeded expectations and would definitely recommend/return! Confirmed love for starwood. May 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location We stay here every year and it is a great location. Unfortunately this year our room was very noisy from outside noise. Every morning between 3-4 am the rubbish trucks were emptying bins and the noise was like it was just outside our window, so not a lot of sleep. Hopefully this won't happen again as we will continue to stay there. The staff are very friendly and helpful. August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel I love going to the Westin in Melbourne, it's in a terrific location. The staff are always so friendly, sometimes a little slow in the lobby lounge with service. We ate at the restaurant on our first night and we were very disappointed. We normally go a couple of times during our stay for meals but this time we didn't feel it was up to it's usual standard. April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a perfect Birthday My partner celebrated his 50th Birthday and when we checked in, we had a knock on the door and were presented with 3 beautiful cakes, a plaque, champagne, a lovely card and a beautiful Westin Robe. The room was beautiful with the lovely Juliette Balcony, it really made celebrating my partners birthday that much more special. Thank you to all the staff May 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable bed, excellent staff and strategic location I found the staff were really friendly and doing their job excellently such that everything was smooth during my stay. Checking-in was a brisk, ad-hoc requests were satisfied in shortest-time possible and I can even ask concierge help to send my postcards. Overall, friendly people, great service and I really love the bed after tiring day at work :) August 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel I have always enjoyed this hotel It is well located and comfortable. Two observations: 1. The bacon for breakfast is always hardly cooked, why can't it be made crispy without asking? 2. The "make up room" button seems to have no practical effect. I went to breakfast at 8.30 and when I returned at 10.00 the room had not been cleaned. August 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Seriously Dissapointed In preparing to chair a Board Meeting to release the annual results the wi fi worked on the first night and then would not work during the morning. In the end I went to Macdonalds and the free wi fi worked first time. Wi fi works all the time in third world countries and is not charged for. Will consder changing hotels in future August 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service Our thanks to Paul at concierge desk, friendly and patient, very helpful tips and sightseeing recommendations. Our stay was made all the better with his help. BUT, don't understand need for in-room WiFi charge policies, it's a free service almost everywhere we have traveled (we did forego the 250 points option). . October 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply amazing! I have not seen anything that comes close to the Westin Melbourne in terms of service, room decor, cleanliness and attention to detail! all three of my stays here has been just perfect. If you go to Melbourne for any reason and can afford 5star just choose Westin. You will not be disaapointed May 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin has wonderfully friendly staff It is the small things that mean the most, Courteous staff, clean bathrooms in lobby, The complimentry bar nuts with your drink in front of the warm fire in downstairs area. My husband and I had the most relaxing lovely time and would not hesitate to stay at the Westin again. July 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A bit below my expectations for a Westin. A bit below my expectations for a Westin. Just too corporate and not a personal feel. No one was rude but just not overly friendly. I don’t think I would not stay here again. SPG does not mean much to them here and they do not have a club for or floor for SPG members. October 11, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>