The Westin Melbourne

  • 205 Collins Street
  • Melbourne,
  • Victoria
  • 3000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. A maximum of two children are allowed in Deluxe Rooms with two double beds. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 417 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Avoid breakfast if possible Good hotel, but service needs work - are staffing levels sufficient? Don't eat breakfast there. Green eggs in the bay marie was not a good look and 30 minutes to deliver GF toast on our fourth morning was met with a wide range of creative and dishonest excuses. A further 10 minutes to find a concierge delayed our expected departure by 45 minutes. July 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Heavenly bed, not so "heavenly" The bed in my room this time (208) was obviously well-worn. Lying on either side resulted in rolling into the collapsed middle of each mattress, with a peak in the middle where the two mattresses butt up against each other. Overall it was extremely hard due to its collapsed nature, and as I was in-house for two nights resulted in very little sleep. Not happy. July 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel needing some food menu updates. I always enjoy staying at the Melbourne Westin. It provides very comfortable accommodation in the best possible central city location. The food offering, both in-room and in the restaurant and lobby bar, has not changed for some time and is in need of an update. As an example, the 'super foods' menu is not particularly healthy. I feel that the atmosphere in the Allegro restaurant is too bland and down-market for a hotel of Westin standard; it really is due for a makeover. As a result, I almost never eat in there. I am happy to stay in the hotel, but it is time for an upgrade in the food area, in my opinion. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is close to every thing Most points of interest and major shops are with in 10 minutes walk July 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good night stay Was in Melbourne for a birthday and stayed at the Westin for 2 nights over a weekend in July 2014. Not quite a 5 star hotel, but it is perfectly acceptable reasonably priced 4 star hotel in a great location. Addition of some thinner pillows in the room would have been a good touch as all of the pillows were very high! July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional and consistent everytime We always choose to stay at the Westin every time we visit Melbourne. It is a truly exceptional hotel on all levels and feels like a home away from home. Location and proximity to all of Melbourne's attractions is second to none. We absolutely love staying here! July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Room sizes The room sizes are amazing in this hotel. They are spacious, comfortable, modern and clean April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The feeling was excellent. The hotel is in a great spot.valet parking was taken care of,the staff at the reception were out standing ,had a coffee just after we checked in and yes the coffee was the best coffee I have had for some time .we went shopping as we were early.when we got back to the hotel our room was ready and it was a delight.breakfast next morning met our expectations and the coffee lattes were 10/10.The check was seamless as was the pickup of car.I am all about the feeling. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, superb staff The westin melbourne js one of the most pleasant hotels to stay in melbourne. It has very good facilities, great location and absolutely superb staff. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Excellent We stay at this hotel on a very regular basis and always find it superb. Everything about the hotel is excellent :) July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy to visit again After visiting only a few weeks before, I was very happy to check into The Westin Melbourne again and I was not disappointed. This time into a City view room with a great outlook over Swanston Street with its horse-drawn carriages and trams. All of the staff seemed to be up to their usual impeccable standard, breezing me through check-in and a late check-out. The room is well laid out, very comfortable, great bathroom and an outstanding super-comfy bed. Breakfast at Allegro was very relaxing with a leafy outlook over Collins Street. This hotel has great staff and a fabulous location. February 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Location in Melbourne Well appointed room.Very comfortable and great size bathroom. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Too soft beds The beds were too soft and lumpy, the three of us all thought this. One of us even slept on the lounge chair as it was giving back pain on this mattress. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel in central Melbourne - lovely old character with 5 star international amenities. Great place to stay in city centre - close to everything and so convenient to restaurants, cafes and shopping. Easy in and out with back driveway. Room, foyer, meeting place are stunning with elegance and class above all else in Melbourne. July 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel! Flawless and professional services! Great location! We enjoy our stay very much at Westin Melbourne! July 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory check in services with no lounge service I have to say the location and the rooms of Westin Melbourne is excellent. However, the check-in service is not satisfactory. As a platinum memeber, it is expected to stay on a high floor. Unfortunately, the staff offered a 2nd floor room which was facing the main street. I could hear the noise of the tram clearly (the tram runs till midnight). So later on, I had to request the front desk staff to help re-arrange another room which was inconvenient to us. Also, there is no lounge in this hotel and this is another drawback of this hotel (no lounge service and breakfast served). October 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consistently high standard I have been visiting the Westin Melbourne for many years. Rooms are large, very comfortable and classically fit out. All staff have very good customer friendly "can help" attitude. Location is perfect for CBD meetings or holiday and nearby choice of city cafes, restaurants and bars within less than 5 min walk. July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by grateful return. After originally booking another hotel on Collins st, it didn't feel right - we cancelled that one and booked the Westin again. Instantly, their confirmation email starting with 'welcome back...' was a sure comfort and a sigh of relief. Flying into Melbourne at 6am, I wasn't expecting a room ready and was prepared to wonder the street cafés and wait - much to our surprise, our room was ready and straight up we went within 5 minutes of arriving. Swift service at an ungodly hour is much appreciated! Once again, our expectations were greatly surpassed with the size of the room, the amenities, and the balcony that our room had! It was a great start to our holiday - watching Melbourne wake up from our balcony as we prepared for the day ahead. Room service was excellently fast and the taste was just as fresh as the hotel it self. Whilst the prices are quite exorbitant; it's definitely worth it. The only, minute downside to our stay was the service in the Martini Bar. After walking in and finding our own seats and getting our own menus; our presence was still unnoticed. The bar was not at its full capacity; not flat out busy, but not awkwardly dead either. Thinking they didn't offer table service, I approached a staff member and enquired, only to be shot back with a brief 'yep' and that was all. Assuming some sort of basic conversation protocol would follow, I was left standing at the bar, trying to order drinks - until a further 8 minutes later, I was approached and asked if I 'needed help...' once the drinks arrive (14 minutes) later; which to their credit were quite delicious - we departed to try our luck at other bars. I would very much like to think that this was a one off occurrence and the service from staff in the Martini Bar is a lot greater. Other than this minor draw back - the stay, as always, was flawless and extremely revitalising. Until another SPG property opens in Melbourne, there is no other place I would ever consider staying - the one time lapse in judgement was not long lived - cancelled within three hours of booking. The Westin makes me feel like I'm home. I don't know what it is that does it, but it's there. April 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, great location! We arrived in March for a 5 night stay. The building is beautiful. Wonderful, wonderful location. Staff is pleasant and everything runs so very smoothly. Had wine out on the deck to enjoy the warmth and view. The waitstaff was very attentive. I'm a platinum plus and we reserved/submitted our "suite requests" 5 months ahead. we checked in we were informed the upgrade wasn't available. :( My wife politely asked them to move us if something did open up. No luck. Our room is tastefully decorated. We have a high floor request on my account but are situated rather low. Our main view is of a run down building across the way. Not so nice, but it is fun to watch people in the park below and the tram cars come and go. March 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by wifi & room comforts I was extremely shocked to find that there was a charge for Wifi to the room. In the last 12 months I have traveled to USA, Mexico, UK & France, all hotels i stayed at provided free wifi to the room. In 2014 it is ridiculous that at hotel of this caliber to have an additional charge for wifi. Furtermore i've always held the Westin in high regard for the superior quality of bedding, linen, towels etc. With my most recent stay I found the pillows to be of poor quality, the towels felt worn and no longer fluffy and the quality of tissues and toilet paper was extremely poor. Since my last visit at the Westin, 12 months ago, i have to say that i left feeling very disappointed. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An oasis in the chaos of life!! Staying at the Westin is a treat. You are made welcome soon as you approach the valet at the front door and this service continues for the whole of your stay. The discreet luxury of the Hotel, and the Heavenly beds aren't too hard to take either. Another bonus is the Hotel's excellent location. July 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Only a good location... After I contacted the Hotel directly, for a feedback from the GM; which didn't happened since March 2012, therefore I post my review here. The hotel distinguishes between paying and non-paying guest (using Starpoints or free nights from Starwood promotions)! The Westin Melbourne belongs to the group of Starwood hotels which don’t bother about you when you use your SPG points or free nights out of a Starwood promotion. I am deeply disappointed with Starwood that they call The Westin Melbourne a Starwood hotel!!! Here is the conversation, I had with the hotel: "Dear Hotel, many thanks for your kind email, which I much appreciate. With deep concern I recognize, that you distinguish between paying and non-paying guests. I acknowledge your statement about the room upgrade issue, whereby the SPG reservation system stated differently on that particular day. May I ask, if you or your GM ever checked you breakfast offer? Let it put me this way, after being forced to put "pressure" on your team, your team was able to tell me what can be done; and not only what can not be done. As a vegetarian eater I felt not at all appreciated. The breakfast service is more like the military cantina service which I experienced 25 years ago. Noisy, crowded and nothing proper to eat! Due to my last three experiences in your hotel, it is most unlikely that I'll chose the Westin Melbourne again. Your hardware is excellent but unfortunately the "software" has big steps to go, to become an Westin which I am used to. This due to the fact, that I spend within the last 4 years, each year between 90 and 130 nights in Westin hotels throughout the Asian region. Starwood hotels can be categorised into 2 general groups, the one which distinguish between paying and "non-paying" (Using points etc.) guests. Dear Hotel, I am fully aware about the terms and conditions of the SPG program and the fact that no room upgrades can be promised. It is not about any upgrade, it is about the way the front office in your hotel does not even bother to distinguish between a "regular" guest and a guest with SPG Status. Further I think that you have a "virtual" GM. Kind Regards U. S. On 22 Apr, 2012, at 3:19 PM, " "Hotel wrote: Dear Guest., Greetings from The Westin Melbourne. We want to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey form regarding your recent stay with us. It is always delightful to receive such great feedback and high scores. We are extremely happy that our associates provided you with our very instinctive and personal Westin Service. It is one of our priorities to make all our guests feel welcomed and cared for during their stay and to leave feeling refreshed. We are concerned however that you gave the hotel a low rating in regards to Starwood Preferred Guest benefits. I understand that this is in regards to not receiving an upgrade as one of our Platinum members. Firstly, we do our best each and every day to provide our Platinum guests with upgrades to our Corner Spa Studios, or Regent Suites, subject to availability. On this particular stay, unfortunately we had guests staying which were paying the full rate for our suites, and therefore were unable to accommodate an upgrade for you. We understand this is frustrating, however we do our best to upgrade where availability sees fit. As we do not have a club lounge at this hotel, we do understand that our Platinum members can feel as though they do not receive the same benefits here, as they do at other properties. We would also like to apologize for that. We hope to welcome you back for another renewing stay in the near future. Please contact me directly when you are planning your next visit as I would be delighted to personally look after your reservation. Kind regards “Hotel”. " A standard email on a feedback.... June 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Welcoming A good stay often starts with the check in, at the Westin it's warm, generous and sincere. Advice for dinner that night was not requested but was politely provided. That advice turned out to make my single night stay in Melbourne an absolute pleasure and not just a boring business trip. This kind of service is what separates good hotels from great hotels, not the softness of the pillows, the size of the room. This is a great hotel. July 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed again. My last stay here was poor, but I wanted to give the hotel another chance as I generally like the Westin standards worldwide. As a platinum member, I was offered no specific welcome or room upgrade on arrival which is unusual , and was given a room on a low floor again after a bad experience the last time with noise etc. I then asked for a shirt to be pressed, as I had an urgent business meeting to be told that express laundry would only be back at 1pm. It was 7 am at the time of calling. Is that the best you can do for a double charge and express pressing service?? August 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel in the heart of Melbourne Nice hotel, but on an international scale not a 5 star property. Good sized rooms with the usual great beds which Westin is famous for. But an uninspiring bathroom with very cold floors. I am wondering how many guest are able to find those hidden light switches on the inaccessible side of the side tables. And yes, I experienced a world first after 30 years extensive travelling around the world. A 5 star hotel who locks its doors after midnight and the guest have to use their room keys to enter it through a small side entrance into a completely deserted lobby. August 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin Melbourne continues to impress The Westin Melbourne offers service and facilities at a consistently high level. From the friendly door (great to see Ian Morrison still doing it) and front desk staff to the housekeeping staff, nothing is too much trouble. The only (minor) glitch was the paucity of bathroom consumables when I arrived in the room, a situation very quickly remedied by the friendly housekeepers. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the room tastefully furnished and bathroom spotlessly clean. The Lobby Lounge is a very pleasant spot to enjoy a beer and a chat. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin Melbourne Fantastic Hotel, fabulous staff, so much attention to detail, why would you stay anywhere else when in Melbourne. July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staying at the Westin It's always a pleasure staying at the Westin the staff are very friendly, rooms are very comfortable and spacious and the location is fabulous you can't ask for better. July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutley Beautiful A beautiful place to stay . A Birthday gift for my boyfriend who has wanted to stay there for sometime and it was perfect .Staff were great . A very relaxing atmosphere . Dinning was beautiful and breakfast was fantastic . Would recommend it. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Room fabulous room. great views, great bathroom. wonderful bed, July 23, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>