The Westin Melbourne

  • 205 Collins Street
  • Melbourne,
  • Victoria
  • 3000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. A maximum of two children are allowed in Deluxe Rooms with two double beds. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 437 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff response was not there Overall not a great deal going for this hotel It needs an uplift as it is starting to look a little old. Told staff about problem with shower and this was not fixed for 4 days. October 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel managenent The property is nice and the locations is just great. The staff was good the only problem was the hotel management. I had accidentally booked a 7 night stay and had paid for it, but then I had to shorten the stay by a day. The hotel management instead of refunding my money with any questions, I had to argue with them about the refund. I did finally get the one night cost refunded but the management should have don't that without an argument.. Hope the management reads this review and take precautions in the future. It's just a lot of waste of time and energy arguing !! Other than this staff is good and courteous and helpful! February 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Superb Location It has been a number of years since I stayed at The Westin, Melbourne and I was again quite impressed by the location, the staff and the service. The outlook from the room (couldn't call it a view) was disappointing as was not being offered an upgrade which always seems to be forthcoming (without request) at some Westin hotels I visit. On the front door, Ian would have to be one of the most cheerful, knowledgable and intuitive concierges I have come across and the location is probably the best in Melbourne if you want to stay in the city. The bed was extremely comfortable and overall the room and bathroom facilities first class. January 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Inconsistent quality Stayed here a couple of months ago and it was excellent, but unfortunately my most recent stay a few days ago was a different experience. At check in, the room I wanted took 3 hours to be available (since I requested a specific room type I was happy to wait), but when I got to the room it was the wrong one. The staff over the phone were pretty uninterested and when I mentioned the specifics of the room I asked for they seemed not to care / know what I was talking about. After waiting another 45 minutes I got the correct room. Some issues with the room: -The roller blind stopped working twice (so could not open onto the balcony at all). They did fix it the first time, the second time I was leaving that day so just left it closed. -The first night, I noticed the bed smelled odd (a bit like stale b.o), I assume the linen would have been changed before my stay but it didn't smell like it, so the next day I put the 'request for fresh linen' card on the bed. The smell was still there the next night. I also noticed that there were makeup stains all over a pillow case - gross! I ended up just sleeping on top of the cover on the bed instead to block out the stale b.o smell. -The shower dripped the whole time. Not a huge deal, but sort of added to the disappointment of the stay this time around. Finally, at check-out the staff member was quite surly and unhelpful. I was surprised when she mentioned there was a breakfast charge for one day as I never had breakfast during the stay. I queried whether it was room service or at their restaurant (hoping if she checked into it she would see it was a mistake) and she just sullenly said 'it just says Breakfast Charge'. I kept asking more and she just repeated: 'it just says Breakfast Charge' in an annoyed voice. Eventually they took that charge off but she did not apologise or explain what happened and was increasingly hostile. Even from the start she did not make eye contact and was disinterested and rude. I have stayed here a few times and this staff member is by far the worst in terms of attitude and service, I felt so uncomfortable. This is almost enough to make me not want to visit this hotel again by the off chance I will have to check in or check out with her. She also rolled her eyes when I elected not to donate the $1 to charity (an optional part of your bill when you check out. Well, seemingly optional, but if you don't, some staff may roll their eyes at you). I do understand the overwhelmingly good reviews as I have stayed here before and had been very impressed, it just seems you may be unlucky sometimes. May 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by wifi & room comforts I was extremely shocked to find that there was a charge for Wifi to the room. In the last 12 months I have traveled to USA, Mexico, UK & France, all hotels i stayed at provided free wifi to the room. In 2014 it is ridiculous that at hotel of this caliber to have an additional charge for wifi. Furtermore i've always held the Westin in high regard for the superior quality of bedding, linen, towels etc. With my most recent stay I found the pillows to be of poor quality, the towels felt worn and no longer fluffy and the quality of tissues and toilet paper was extremely poor. Since my last visit at the Westin, 12 months ago, i have to say that i left feeling very disappointed. June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable and Efficient Am currently staying here at Westin Melbourne. We actually extended our stay here in Melbourne and decided to choose Westin as our next hotel choice. Check in by Heather was pleasant and gold status membership was acknowledged. Decided to upgrade to spa studio for Sunday onwards and once again Heather was very helpful over the phone. Bed is extremely comfortable as per Heavenly bed/spg standard. My partner and I are looking forward to a consistently pleasant stay for the rest of our days here in Melbourne. Breakfast was average with limited choice. Breakfast understaffed. Breakfast male manager not very warm in my opinion. January 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel I stay in Melbourne at least 1-2/month during my travels and always enjoy the Westin. I always enjoy the hotel and very friendly staff especially the drive up staff, they are very friendly and provide good advice and directions when needed and a chat as well. The only thing I would change is the speed of service in the hotel bar. I recently went to the bar with a colleague and waited at least 20 minutes for a drink (and it wasn’t busy). Then we ordered just a cheese platter and after 20 another 20 minutes we decided to cancel it and go somewhere else. outside of that, which I’m hoping was unusual the hotel is great and look forward to staying there every time. February 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Hi Its a lovely hotel but .... the mattress is completely had it - Room 316. The beds sink in the middle - very disappointing as other than that a lovely hotel with wonderful respectful staff. September 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel needing some food menu updates. I always enjoy staying at the Melbourne Westin. It provides very comfortable accommodation in the best possible central city location. The food offering, both in-room and in the restaurant and lobby bar, has not changed for some time and is in need of an update. As an example, the 'super foods' menu is not particularly healthy. I feel that the atmosphere in the Allegro restaurant is too bland and down-market for a hotel of Westin standard; it really is due for a makeover. As a result, I almost never eat in there. I am happy to stay in the hotel, but it is time for an upgrade in the food area, in my opinion. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This could be better First time at your hotel Chose to stay here proximity. I liked your hotel room was suitable however the breakfast buffet leaves a lot to be desired.i travel frequently and stay at high level hotels,so just a few tips that I can see,your hot food servers are way too high .stretching up to see your choices let alone spoon it out I have never seen an area where food is not at normal level. The other thing is the choice of bread for toast should be not be packet helgas sliced bread.with all the amazing selection of food in melbourne you should put thought into a better selection,the Asian waitresses were very lovely,as were the rest of the staff doorman were great.in saying that I'd stay again it's good just need a bit of work on the buffet August 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel Everything was excellent , except the room staff had not turned off the alarm set by the previous guest & it began beeping at 4.00 am. September 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not at its best We've stayed here frequently in the past -- ever since it opened. This visit was marked, however, by a rather distinct falling off in standards. We had to work pretty work hard to get SPG Platinum privileges. Service was generally too relaxed (half the room service order forgotten). And there were odd -- un-cosmopolitan -- elements: the restaurant closed at 8.45pm on a Thursday evening and we watched other patrons wander away after discovering the Martini Bar closed up for the night before 10.30 pm (hardly the advertised 'late' for those of us who remember it at 1am). We used to rate this hotel the best in Australia but it is far outstripped by the Westin in Sydney now. July 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice location but no spg benefits I stayed at this hotel for two nights. It is in a great location and is a very nice hotel. My issue with this Westin though is they never upgrade you. I was given the usual story -- the hotel is full sorry - and given the room I booked. Another disappointment is that they have no lounge. Most Westins outside of the US have club level lounges, but not this one. So the benefits of being a SPG member are basically zip. [And now I read there will be a 1.5% c/card charge effective Jan 9 2012 ...?] December 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A fantastic experience Thanks for a wonderful experience at the Westin for our 2nd Anniversary. All of your staff were warm, friendly and professional, and seemed aware of the need to create a positive atmosphere for clients. We appreciate it was really busy over the Easter Weekend so we had to wait for a breakfast table, and the eggs & bacon were not quite hot enough but we didn't really mind given everything else about our experience was exceptional. Thank you Westin. I travel for work and stay in hotels all the time, so have much to compare our stay with you to. As far as customer service, creating an atmosphere, lovely big hotel rooms, beautiful décor, clean - you're amongst the absolute best! April 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely stay at The Westin Melbourne We stayed at The Westin Melbourne this weekend for a special occasion and were extremely impressed with everything. Our rate included a Westin Room which was very spacious and well-appointed. The bathroom was enormous and luxurious (rain shower, large bath). The rate also included 2 martinis from either the Martini Bar or the hotel lobby (we chose Martini Bar), buffet breakfast and a late check out. Such a beautiful hotel right in the middle of the city with everything you could need and want right at your fingertips. All staff were lovely and referred to us by name- a wonderful touch. We will definitely be back! April 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anticipation disappointment We arrived at 5pm only to be told that our room is still not ready ( check in is meant to be 3 ) - The front desk clerk was rude and only offered for us sit and wait and have a drink on the house. We needed to get ready to go to a show. Left my car in valet but the next morning found my Rayban sunglasses on the floor with a chip in it ( not happy ) - how do they drive the car for this to happen ???? Bedding was uncomfortable my sister woke up with a neck pain we were there for her birthday asked for chocolates and a card to be in the room on arrival - the chocolates arrived later but am still waiting on the card. Cooked breakfast was ordinary - variety was good though Was looking forward to staying but left grately disappointed. I am a travel consulatant and will be wary to have my clients stay after how I was treated. September 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location, style and ambiance The hotel was lovely, in a great location with regard to the city,trams and train and the MCG. room service menu could be better. September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sept Trip Great stay as usual. Always stay at the Westin in Melbourne and Sydney. September 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wrongly charged for power adaptor Enjoyed a very nice night's stay, but all the feeling of well-being and relaxation passed when we received the invoice on return home. There was a $20 'refreshment centre' charge without any identification of what the specific charge was for. The invoice said to contact them if we had a query, but no phone number or email address present on the receipt and the return email bounced! After some effort got through to Accounts who confirmed the charge was for an international adaptor. Never saw it much less used it. Hotel did say they would reimburse the charge. But the episode detracted from the stay! April 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointing My daughter and I booked a twin room for our special 2 night visit to Melbourne. We were given a king bed only - then we were given a single roll away bed with apologies as the hotel was booked out and couldn't offer us twin room- if I had known this I would have booked elsewhere. The booking and visa card was in my name not my daughters. My student daughter arrived first - they asked her for her credit card for her details then proceeded to use her card for payment and wiped her account out. It took 3 working days to turn this around. She had no money to buy food all day until I arrived around 5pm. The hotel is over rated, expensive and superficial, they even add a dollar donation to your bill for a charity - without even asking you- a bit rude especially it is not the charity that I would give to. Will not stay at this hotel again out of principle. Very unhappy customer. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing staff I loved my stay at the Westin, due to the amazing staff always looking after my needs. Clare, the manager on duty, went above and beyond her duties searching for something I required when Service Express was unable to help; and Paul from Conceirge would give me a new list of Melbourne hot spots to visit on a regular basis, and would spend time directing me on how to visit all of the places. These two staff members really created the Westin experience for me, as well as the amazing housekeepers who kept my room beautifully clean and would respond to all of my requests! Very enjoyable stay indeed. September 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfort + great location The deluxe room at the Westin was one of the best hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. Great layout, spacious and amazingly comfortable beds to sink into and snuggle up. We chose the deluxe room with 2 double beds and there was plenty of space for our 2 young children. The hotel itself seemed quite new and was very well presented. The location is excellent - just a short walk to Bourke street Mall, Federation Square and the Southbank precinct.Parking seemed very expensive, but upon reflection, it was charged overnight, so you could leave your car 2 full days for the one fee. Try to get a deal that includes breakfast - as it was quite yummy - the freshly made pastries and muffins were brilliant! January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Breakfast buffet should serve lemon slices with the smoked trout and salmon. September 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Melbourne This is a beautiful hotel, and I organised a Collins Street view. Despite waiting an extra 20 minutes for the room to be ready after check in time, it was lovely! Deluxe King with Juliette balcony. The bathroom, shower, bed and wardrobe were all amazing. The only let down was the food. Ordered a Thai beef salad for $28. it came with 5 tiny pieces of terribly cooked meat, and lettuce leaves with a few spring onions thrown in for good measure. Overpriced, tasteless and disappointing. Apart from the dismal room service dinner, the buffet breakfast was fantastic! The hotel is a lovely stay and staff are attentive and friendly. They even sent up a box of chocolates due to me being a Starwood Member. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Hotel in Australia I frequently stay at the Melbourne Westin and cannot speak more highly about how wonderful it is. The staff are very caring and no request is too much for them. The accommodation is also always lovely with lots of small tokens like free bottles of water in the room and magazines available. One visit knowing it was my daughter's birthday we were given a lovely plate of pastries delivered to the room. I would recommend this hotel over any others in Melbourne. You will be guaranteed a memorable stay. August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great weekend We started the weekend with a beautiful high tea. the staff were fantastic and told us all about the tasty courses we had for the high tea. we then did a bit of shopping only to come back for a swim and sauna in the excellent pool. we went out for dinner and a show on the Saturday night and came back and had a great nights sleep on the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. All in all The Westin was absolutely brilliant and i would not hesitate in recommending it to anybody August 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff were exceptional I did not remember her name but she greeted us when we arrived and checked us in . The information she gave us was very helpful but much more than that she was very warm and friendly. My wife works in customer service and was very impressed with her attention to meet our needs. When we were ready to leave we went to collect our bags from storage and there was no one there to help us, the same girl ( I think her name was Nicole, I hope you can find out who checked us in) came over from check in as she saw us waiting and got our bags for us. Exceptional customer service. May 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly great, a few areas for improvement The receptionist was a little over-formal, as tends to be the Melbourne style. However ,we were given a pleasant SPG room when I pointed out my membership. Room very comfortable, with good large TV and lovely bathroom. Had a feeling that the Heavenly Bed mattress was starting to get a bit soft towards the edges.The buffet breakfast was good but I thought there could've been more variety of muesli in a city famous for its cuisine. A lovely feature of this pool is the underground pool/spa. But the pool could've been cleaner and the spa was lukewarm - what's the point of a lukewarm jacuzzi? Finally, the water pressure in the change-room shower was poor and the fittings very 1990 - time for some renewal, I think. February 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Experience and Upscale Hotel This was my first stay at the Westin Melbourne. It’s a wonderful hotel with friendly, welcoming staff and a feeling of luxury. I was in a King room and it was quite large and had a huge bathroom with separate shower and tub, large mirror, and bath robes. The bed was heavenly and the room was so comfortable and it was great to relax in. I did order room service for both lunch and dinner and I enjoyed my meals. The hotel is right in the middle of all of the shopping and restaurants so when you decide to leave the hotel everything is near by. I don’t have much to say because I just enjoyed everything about the hotel and the location. I didn’t want to check out as I had to leave for a conference at another hotel. December 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best Hotels in australia As a regular hotel guest that stays around 75-100 nights per year around the World, I can tell when a hotel is great. The most important thing that a hotel must have is a heart. The staff and the way you are recognised and treated give a hotel its heart. The Westin certainly has a heart. The staff are nothing short of "the best" This culture of service starts at the top, with the general Manager, and flows right through the whole hotel. Location, great service, beautiful rooms with beds that you never want to get out of, make the Westin a must for any visitors to Melbourne. June 23, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16 next>>