The Westin Melbourne

  • 205 Collins Street
  • Melbourne,
  • Victoria
  • 3000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. A maximum of two children are allowed in Deluxe Rooms with two double beds. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 432 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by mixed feeling I stayed many ties t this hotel before and my general rating of the hotel has not changed. Check-in is efficient but nothing special. No recognition for platinum members. The rooms are big and comfortable; same for the bathrooms but no special amenities. No carry bags in rooms what one finds in most Westin hotels Had lights were not working in room, but it was efficiently fixed by housekeeping. However the TV did not function during my stay I asked for a room-refresh before I left for dinner and was promised that they would attend after 6:30 pm but when I returned there was nothing done. Had guests and wanted to have a drink at the bar after 11pm but everything was closed! . Food at restaurant is reasonably good but not of very high standard (food qu. ality). Platinum recognition is almost non existant at this hotel: no executive lounge, instead a option of 500 points or continental breakfast (a cheap new way of telling the member off from having the usual benefits). General service at hotel is mixed: efficient, straight forward, mostly firendly but it lacks compassion (maybe Australian way?). The hotell is convenient and I definately recomment to stay there, but there are too many discrepancies and I would classify it as a 4.5 star hotel. May 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disorganised I booked the Westin having been a number of times in the past, largely without issue. The Staff had always been lovely, the bed amazing and the general "feel" of the Hotel quite enjoyable and relaxing. However, this time I was thoroughly disappointed by the lack of organisation. For the price paid, including upgrading to the Indulge package, to have inclusions (sparkling wine & strawberries on arrival & 4pm checkout) not noted on my account at all was disappointing and not good enough. When you want a relaxing weekend you shouldn't be required to chase these matters up yourself, or point out to staff that they were missing. In addition, if you are going to offer to "send something up to the room with the hotel's compliments" for a birthday, having already confirmed during the week the name of the guest whose birthday it is, to have the card wrongly addressed *twice* is annoyingly inept. Don't offer these types of inclusions if you can't deliver them correctly. I didn't bother correcting after the second time - it was easier just to eat the chocolates rather than have to fix the mistakes personally. Finally, whilst most of the staff were cordial and lovely, the phone staff need a reminder that abrupt responses and phone manner is not conducive to quality customer service, and only serves to bring the experience down. September 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Welcome only the start of an excellent stay Upon arriving at the hotel, I was welcomed by name by the forecourt manager. This excellent attention to detail was followed up some 2 hours later when he asked my son a question (recalling his name). he had only met my son for the first time 2 hours earlier. All staff make you feel welcome and it is this which makes the difference - people! The room was exactly as I had requested despite being a busy time, with food and the restaurant staff being of top quality. Check out was a breeze and only took a few minutes. All in all a high quality experience, that has been consistent throughout the numerous times I have stayed at this hotel. January 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by wifi & room comforts I was extremely shocked to find that there was a charge for Wifi to the room. In the last 12 months I have traveled to USA, Mexico, UK & France, all hotels i stayed at provided free wifi to the room. In 2014 it is ridiculous that at hotel of this caliber to have an additional charge for wifi. Furtermore i've always held the Westin in high regard for the superior quality of bedding, linen, towels etc. With my most recent stay I found the pillows to be of poor quality, the towels felt worn and no longer fluffy and the quality of tissues and toilet paper was extremely poor. Since my last visit at the Westin, 12 months ago, i have to say that i left feeling very disappointed. June 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel needing some food menu updates. I always enjoy staying at the Melbourne Westin. It provides very comfortable accommodation in the best possible central city location. The food offering, both in-room and in the restaurant and lobby bar, has not changed for some time and is in need of an update. As an example, the 'super foods' menu is not particularly healthy. I feel that the atmosphere in the Allegro restaurant is too bland and down-market for a hotel of Westin standard; it really is due for a makeover. As a result, I almost never eat in there. I am happy to stay in the hotel, but it is time for an upgrade in the food area, in my opinion. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel managenent The property is nice and the locations is just great. The staff was good the only problem was the hotel management. I had accidentally booked a 7 night stay and had paid for it, but then I had to shorten the stay by a day. The hotel management instead of refunding my money with any questions, I had to argue with them about the refund. I did finally get the one night cost refunded but the management should have don't that without an argument.. Hope the management reads this review and take precautions in the future. It's just a lot of waste of time and energy arguing !! Other than this staff is good and courteous and helpful! February 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Superb Location It has been a number of years since I stayed at The Westin, Melbourne and I was again quite impressed by the location, the staff and the service. The outlook from the room (couldn't call it a view) was disappointing as was not being offered an upgrade which always seems to be forthcoming (without request) at some Westin hotels I visit. On the front door, Ian would have to be one of the most cheerful, knowledgable and intuitive concierges I have come across and the location is probably the best in Melbourne if you want to stay in the city. The bed was extremely comfortable and overall the room and bathroom facilities first class. January 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Inconsistent quality Stayed here a couple of months ago and it was excellent, but unfortunately my most recent stay a few days ago was a different experience. At check in, the room I wanted took 3 hours to be available (since I requested a specific room type I was happy to wait), but when I got to the room it was the wrong one. The staff over the phone were pretty uninterested and when I mentioned the specifics of the room I asked for they seemed not to care / know what I was talking about. After waiting another 45 minutes I got the correct room. Some issues with the room: -The roller blind stopped working twice (so could not open onto the balcony at all). They did fix it the first time, the second time I was leaving that day so just left it closed. -The first night, I noticed the bed smelled odd (a bit like stale b.o), I assume the linen would have been changed before my stay but it didn't smell like it, so the next day I put the 'request for fresh linen' card on the bed. The smell was still there the next night. I also noticed that there were makeup stains all over a pillow case - gross! I ended up just sleeping on top of the cover on the bed instead to block out the stale b.o smell. -The shower dripped the whole time. Not a huge deal, but sort of added to the disappointment of the stay this time around. Finally, at check-out the staff member was quite surly and unhelpful. I was surprised when she mentioned there was a breakfast charge for one day as I never had breakfast during the stay. I queried whether it was room service or at their restaurant (hoping if she checked into it she would see it was a mistake) and she just sullenly said 'it just says Breakfast Charge'. I kept asking more and she just repeated: 'it just says Breakfast Charge' in an annoyed voice. Eventually they took that charge off but she did not apologise or explain what happened and was increasingly hostile. Even from the start she did not make eye contact and was disinterested and rude. I have stayed here a few times and this staff member is by far the worst in terms of attitude and service, I felt so uncomfortable. This is almost enough to make me not want to visit this hotel again by the off chance I will have to check in or check out with her. She also rolled her eyes when I elected not to donate the $1 to charity (an optional part of your bill when you check out. Well, seemingly optional, but if you don't, some staff may roll their eyes at you). I do understand the overwhelmingly good reviews as I have stayed here before and had been very impressed, it just seems you may be unlucky sometimes. May 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable and Efficient Am currently staying here at Westin Melbourne. We actually extended our stay here in Melbourne and decided to choose Westin as our next hotel choice. Check in by Heather was pleasant and gold status membership was acknowledged. Decided to upgrade to spa studio for Sunday onwards and once again Heather was very helpful over the phone. Bed is extremely comfortable as per Heavenly bed/spg standard. My partner and I are looking forward to a consistently pleasant stay for the rest of our days here in Melbourne. Breakfast was average with limited choice. Breakfast understaffed. Breakfast male manager not very warm in my opinion. January 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel I stay in Melbourne at least 1-2/month during my travels and always enjoy the Westin. I always enjoy the hotel and very friendly staff especially the drive up staff, they are very friendly and provide good advice and directions when needed and a chat as well. The only thing I would change is the speed of service in the hotel bar. I recently went to the bar with a colleague and waited at least 20 minutes for a drink (and it wasn’t busy). Then we ordered just a cheese platter and after 20 another 20 minutes we decided to cancel it and go somewhere else. outside of that, which I’m hoping was unusual the hotel is great and look forward to staying there every time. February 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding features in the heart of the city The Westin Melbourne is a welcoming oasis in the heart of the city. The staff are friendly and the hotel has a wonderful warm and welcoming vibe. September 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home away from home From the moment Brad takes the car keys untill he hands them back in the morning it is just like I have not left home. Nothing is a problem, everything works and is seamless even down to handing me a cool bottle of water when I return from my afternoon run along the Yarra. September 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cbd central Clean and roomy. Very relaxing. Staff great September 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great weekend We started the weekend with a beautiful high tea. the staff were fantastic and told us all about the tasty courses we had for the high tea. we then did a bit of shopping only to come back for a swim and sauna in the excellent pool. we went out for dinner and a show on the Saturday night and came back and had a great nights sleep on the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. All in all The Westin was absolutely brilliant and i would not hesitate in recommending it to anybody August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A fantastic experience Thanks for a wonderful experience at the Westin for our 2nd Anniversary. All of your staff were warm, friendly and professional, and seemed aware of the need to create a positive atmosphere for clients. We appreciate it was really busy over the Easter Weekend so we had to wait for a breakfast table, and the eggs & bacon were not quite hot enough but we didn't really mind given everything else about our experience was exceptional. Thank you Westin. I travel for work and stay in hotels all the time, so have much to compare our stay with you to. As far as customer service, creating an atmosphere, lovely big hotel rooms, beautiful décor, clean - you're amongst the absolute best! April 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not at its best We've stayed here frequently in the past -- ever since it opened. This visit was marked, however, by a rather distinct falling off in standards. We had to work pretty work hard to get SPG Platinum privileges. Service was generally too relaxed (half the room service order forgotten). And there were odd -- un-cosmopolitan -- elements: the restaurant closed at 8.45pm on a Thursday evening and we watched other patrons wander away after discovering the Martini Bar closed up for the night before 10.30 pm (hardly the advertised 'late' for those of us who remember it at 1am). We used to rate this hotel the best in Australia but it is far outstripped by the Westin in Sydney now. July 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Hotel in Australia I frequently stay at the Melbourne Westin and cannot speak more highly about how wonderful it is. The staff are very caring and no request is too much for them. The accommodation is also always lovely with lots of small tokens like free bottles of water in the room and magazines available. One visit knowing it was my daughter's birthday we were given a lovely plate of pastries delivered to the room. I would recommend this hotel over any others in Melbourne. You will be guaranteed a memorable stay. August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A One Night Very Relaxing Stay As we come to expect, the Westin Melbourne has delivered exceptional service. From the staff member who took our car and luggage to the receptionists checking us in and out. We enjoyed a late lunch and a buffet breakfast in the Allegro Restaurant serviced by friendly and welcoming staff with smiling faces. August 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice location but no spg benefits I stayed at this hotel for two nights. It is in a great location and is a very nice hotel. My issue with this Westin though is they never upgrade you. I was given the usual story -- the hotel is full sorry - and given the room I booked. Another disappointment is that they have no lounge. Most Westins outside of the US have club level lounges, but not this one. So the benefits of being a SPG member are basically zip. [And now I read there will be a 1.5% c/card charge effective Jan 9 2012 ...?] December 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely stay at The Westin Melbourne We stayed at The Westin Melbourne this weekend for a special occasion and were extremely impressed with everything. Our rate included a Westin Room which was very spacious and well-appointed. The bathroom was enormous and luxurious (rain shower, large bath). The rate also included 2 martinis from either the Martini Bar or the hotel lobby (we chose Martini Bar), buffet breakfast and a late check out. Such a beautiful hotel right in the middle of the city with everything you could need and want right at your fingertips. All staff were lovely and referred to us by name- a wonderful touch. We will definitely be back! April 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor execution Wifi was included then billed... 2 weetbix breakfast with two coffees $40.00....never again One AFR $3.00 I have never seen this before Credit card loading.....appalling. September 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wrongly charged for power adaptor Enjoyed a very nice night's stay, but all the feeling of well-being and relaxation passed when we received the invoice on return home. There was a $20 'refreshment centre' charge without any identification of what the specific charge was for. The invoice said to contact them if we had a query, but no phone number or email address present on the receipt and the return email bounced! After some effort got through to Accounts who confirmed the charge was for an international adaptor. Never saw it much less used it. Hotel did say they would reimburse the charge. But the episode detracted from the stay! April 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is overall exceptional This hotel is exceptional August 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A night in the City From the first minute arriving on the forecourt to be met by the concierge who whisked our car away to valet parking our experience at the Melbourne Westin was one of a very warm welcome and wonderful comfort. Check in was smooth and efficient, easy access to a very pleasant king room with our bags delivered shortly thereafter. Enjoyed a bottle of champagne from the mini-bar (French of course) before heading off to the theatre for the evening. Slept like logs on our return with a relaxing sleep in followed by an expansive and enjoyable buffet breakfast in the Allegro Restaurant before heading off to explore the City. Check out was equally smooth as our car was waiting for us in the driveway. Wonderful caring staff all with a smile and an interest in our night in the city. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Concierge - Some Disappointments I was very impressed with the professionalism and friendliness of your Concierge team in particular, but the staff in general I was disappointed that you are now charging for shoe cleaning - this is not appropriate in this level of hotel. I also thought the minibar offering was poor - "red label' whiskey, and only a 1/4 bottle of wine - not something that could be shared between two August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointing My daughter and I booked a twin room for our special 2 night visit to Melbourne. We were given a king bed only - then we were given a single roll away bed with apologies as the hotel was booked out and couldn't offer us twin room- if I had known this I would have booked elsewhere. The booking and visa card was in my name not my daughters. My student daughter arrived first - they asked her for her credit card for her details then proceeded to use her card for payment and wiped her account out. It took 3 working days to turn this around. She had no money to buy food all day until I arrived around 5pm. The hotel is over rated, expensive and superficial, they even add a dollar donation to your bill for a charity - without even asking you- a bit rude especially it is not the charity that I would give to. Will not stay at this hotel again out of principle. Very unhappy customer. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing staff I loved my stay at the Westin, due to the amazing staff always looking after my needs. Clare, the manager on duty, went above and beyond her duties searching for something I required when Service Express was unable to help; and Paul from Conceirge would give me a new list of Melbourne hot spots to visit on a regular basis, and would spend time directing me on how to visit all of the places. These two staff members really created the Westin experience for me, as well as the amazing housekeepers who kept my room beautifully clean and would respond to all of my requests! Very enjoyable stay indeed. September 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unacceptable Door Noise A major issue with the Westin Melbourne is the high level of door slamming noise. You need to update your door closing mechanisms so the doors don't slam shut. You need to train your staff to quietly shut the doors when servicing rooms not just allow the doors to continuously slam loudly. I will not be using the Westin Melbourne again till the issues are resolved. David Boxall August 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfort + great location The deluxe room at the Westin was one of the best hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. Great layout, spacious and amazingly comfortable beds to sink into and snuggle up. We chose the deluxe room with 2 double beds and there was plenty of space for our 2 young children. The hotel itself seemed quite new and was very well presented. The location is excellent - just a short walk to Bourke street Mall, Federation Square and the Southbank precinct.Parking seemed very expensive, but upon reflection, it was charged overnight, so you could leave your car 2 full days for the one fee. Try to get a deal that includes breakfast - as it was quite yummy - the freshly made pastries and muffins were brilliant! January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the location and the overall experience The Hotel is beautifully appointed,with generous proportions and facilities in the lobby and bar area. The fireplace is a lovely feature,which gives the hotel bar a nice overall welcoming feeling. The lounge furniture is extremely comfortable however in some sections could do with a steam clean.Overall,the hotel for me is the only place to stay in Melbourne. August 18, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16 next>>