The Westin Melbourne

  • 205 Collins Street
  • Melbourne,
  • Victoria
  • 3000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. A maximum of two children are allowed in Deluxe Rooms with two double beds. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 265 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wrongly charged for power adaptor Enjoyed a very nice night's stay, but all the feeling of well-being and relaxation passed when we received the invoice on return home. There was a $20 'refreshment centre' charge without any identification of what the specific charge was for. The invoice said to contact them if we had a query, but no phone number or email address present on the receipt and the return email bounced! After some effort got through to Accounts who confirmed the charge was for an international adaptor. Never saw it much less used it. Hotel did say they would reimburse the charge. But the episode detracted from the stay! April 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid hotel in Melbourne I stayed here for 5 nights and found the hotel to be in one of the best areas of Melbourne. You are right near Federation Square, the Yarra River, Southbank and many restaurants and shops in Melbourne. ROOMS: I was upgraded to a deluxe city view room which was a nice large size. It had a flat screen TV, work desk with outlets nearby and a comfy bed with nice pillows. Lots of closet space and hangers for my clothes, plus an iron/board. Sadly there are no available outlets by the bedside. The city-view rooms are quite noisy however as they overlook Swanston street which is bustling with activity beginning very early in the AM. BATHROOM: Bathroom was a nice size and had a separate shower and tub with a nice rainfall shower head. They offered a nice shaving mirror but were lacking a scale. The lighting in the bathroom was darkish and could be improved. FACILITIES: They have a pretty lobby with comfortable seating and it also has a bar area. There is a nice balcony where you can sit and watch the passers by. They have a gym and pool both of which are super nice - although there were no gym towels when I arrived. Mid-workout I noticed housekeeping bringing some new towels by. SERVICE: I'll start with the positive... the concierge and the doormen/women are very nice and friendly. However, the front desk personnel leave a lot to be desired. They are unfriendly and unhelpful. I found I had to pull teeth to get any answers from them, and certainly never received a smile at all during my 5 days. That's hard to pull off imo. I did my best to avoid them as much as possible so they didn't take away from what was otherwise a very nice stay. PLATINUM RECOGNITION: The platinum recognition at this property leaves a lot to be desired. They really need to improve in this regard. 1- 2 free mini bottles of water offered daily. So basically one normal size bottle of water provided courtesy of the hotel. Really? This is the best you can offer? 2- Free Internet - it was fast and free. 3- You must give up your Platinum amenity to get breakfast. The breakfast is a full buffet breakfast and has an omelette station and fresh fruits, but not any things on offer at the "hot station" . I expect more from a Westin and certainly ore if you're going to take away my Platinum amenity to get it. 4- I did not receive a suite upgrade nor any mention of a suite upon arrival. I was upgraded to a deluxe room and it was nice. Still, a suite is preferred especially when they are available. 5- There is no club lounge at this property but they do have a lovely lobby bar. So why not offer Platinums a drink at it? Nope nothing. 6- And finally, at checkout they tried to bill me for breakfast, which of course is annoying since I'm a Platinum and shouldn't be charged. At least this was the only friendly front desk person I met my whole trip and she happily and quickly removed the charge. Overall I enjoyed my stay at this Westin and will come back. But I hope they figure out how to treat Platinums a but better and now know I'm to avoid the front desk with any questions. I'll just ask the friendly concierge. January 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointing My daughter and I booked a twin room for our special 2 night visit to Melbourne. We were given a king bed only - then we were given a single roll away bed with apologies as the hotel was booked out and couldn't offer us twin room- if I had known this I would have booked elsewhere. The booking and visa card was in my name not my daughters. My student daughter arrived first - they asked her for her credit card for her details then proceeded to use her card for payment and wiped her account out. It took 3 working days to turn this around. She had no money to buy food all day until I arrived around 5pm. The hotel is over rated, expensive and superficial, they even add a dollar donation to your bill for a charity - without even asking you- a bit rude especially it is not the charity that I would give to. Will not stay at this hotel again out of principle. Very unhappy customer. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing staff I loved my stay at the Westin, due to the amazing staff always looking after my needs. Clare, the manager on duty, went above and beyond her duties searching for something I required when Service Express was unable to help; and Paul from Conceirge would give me a new list of Melbourne hot spots to visit on a regular basis, and would spend time directing me on how to visit all of the places. These two staff members really created the Westin experience for me, as well as the amazing housekeepers who kept my room beautifully clean and would respond to all of my requests! Very enjoyable stay indeed. September 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfort + great location The deluxe room at the Westin was one of the best hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. Great layout, spacious and amazingly comfortable beds to sink into and snuggle up. We chose the deluxe room with 2 double beds and there was plenty of space for our 2 young children. The hotel itself seemed quite new and was very well presented. The location is excellent - just a short walk to Bourke street Mall, Federation Square and the Southbank precinct.Parking seemed very expensive, but upon reflection, it was charged overnight, so you could leave your car 2 full days for the one fee. Try to get a deal that includes breakfast - as it was quite yummy - the freshly made pastries and muffins were brilliant! January 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Melbourne This is a beautiful hotel, and I organised a Collins Street view. Despite waiting an extra 20 minutes for the room to be ready after check in time, it was lovely! Deluxe King with Juliette balcony. The bathroom, shower, bed and wardrobe were all amazing. The only let down was the food. Ordered a Thai beef salad for $28. it came with 5 tiny pieces of terribly cooked meat, and lettuce leaves with a few spring onions thrown in for good measure. Overpriced, tasteless and disappointing. Apart from the dismal room service dinner, the buffet breakfast was fantastic! The hotel is a lovely stay and staff are attentive and friendly. They even sent up a box of chocolates due to me being a Starwood Member. April 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel but needs updating We are frequent visitors to Melbourne Westin and overall find it a pleasant stay, however there are a few things that really bug us more each time we visit, especially if more than 1 nights stay. For example, (and keep in mind its not big stuff just things that other 5 star hotels do better), they need to update the TV system menu, if they used it they would knowhow frustrating it is to not be able to easily know whats another channels or what channel you are on without going back to main menu. Another is that 4 out of 5 times we are sent to the wrong room on check in (not the one we have paid for or requested), bathroom amenities (esp the beauty kit) never replaced, andlighting system is really frustrating to work easily. October 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cracks are appearing It pains me to write this as the Westin Melbourne is my favourite hotel. While several usual staff members I deal with were outstanding as always, I found one of the senior conceirge staff quite rude. I had never come acrioss this before as I rarely go to the concierge desk. This person looked down on me and treated me with what came across as contempt. Unacceptable. I don't consider myself as a demanding, high maintenance guest and I am not happy about how I was treated. This was also the third stay in a row where there was an error on my bill. 3 times in a row! Surely the billing system needs looking at. Housekeeping was not up to the usual standard, cups, tea bags and milk were not replaced after the room was serviced. October 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly great, a few areas for improvement The receptionist was a little over-formal, as tends to be the Melbourne style. However ,we were given a pleasant SPG room when I pointed out my membership. Room very comfortable, with good large TV and lovely bathroom. Had a feeling that the Heavenly Bed mattress was starting to get a bit soft towards the edges.The buffet breakfast was good but I thought there could've been more variety of muesli in a city famous for its cuisine. A lovely feature of this pool is the underground pool/spa. But the pool could've been cleaner and the spa was lukewarm - what's the point of a lukewarm jacuzzi? Finally, the water pressure in the change-room shower was poor and the fittings very 1990 - time for some renewal, I think. February 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best Hotels in australia As a regular hotel guest that stays around 75-100 nights per year around the World, I can tell when a hotel is great. The most important thing that a hotel must have is a heart. The staff and the way you are recognised and treated give a hotel its heart. The Westin certainly has a heart. The staff are nothing short of "the best" This culture of service starts at the top, with the general Manager, and flows right through the whole hotel. Location, great service, beautiful rooms with beds that you never want to get out of, make the Westin a must for any visitors to Melbourne. June 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location and service Nice surprise to walk into the room with a bar of organic chocolate. In general a very centrally located hotel along Swanston and Collins. Very convenient for tourists and also business travelers (my office is just along Collins). Two issues I had was the power sockets along the walls (aside from one next to the TV counter) - they were literally right above the floor and that made it impossible for me to plug my international adaptor in. I also got the room facing Swanston and there was music blasting from the streets Fridays and Saturdays, all the way till midnight. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience since the entrance Westin MEL is one of the few hotels that provide me unforgettable experience since my first step into it. Professional concierge, warm staff. Room is nothing to complain, still the only point not make this trip perfect. As platinum I was expecting an upgrade to standard suite as what I had rest of the world of SPG, however unluckily not here. Even though this Westin is highly worth recommend. Only would be it perfect than excellence if I might have the chance to check the top of the top hotels, I may rate the room also with 5 stars. Anyway it with the price. September 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location for business traveller Clean, modern rooms, friendly staff and perfectly located in Melbourne CBD. Although pricey menus, the food quality is what you would expect from this hotel brand. January 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by “adequate but it will not exceed modest expectations” As a Platinum member of this SPG Group hotel for many years, and I believe a pretty savvy international traveller, I count myself as reasonably well credentialed to write this review. Some Westin Hotels deliver handsomely for the brand such as Capetown, Kuala Lumpur and Bali and some do not such as New York Times Square. Regrettably the Westin Melbourne falls in the latter category. Whilst it is difficult to articulate specific deficiencies, almost everything apart from the superb location is merely adequate to a four star at best standard from the average dated quality of furnishings to service or lack of it. At the marriage my son, I booked a three night stay ( 1 pre and 2 nights post reception) under my name and profile. Although the Hotel was accommodating with pre-wedding photographs in the entrance and lobby (with advance consent sought and having been given by Renee at the hotel) , no endeavour whatsoever was made in any respect to make the bridal couple feel in any way special guests. I mean to avoid doubt nothing - not even a doormen to assist on arrival! Disappointing and of profound embarrassment to me as father of the guests. November 10, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel not up to 5 star rating I recently stayed for my 10 year anniversary. We got checked into a different room to the one booked over the phone. The room was good but on checking out were told our car would be 20 minutes. That was ok but we waited an hour only for the staff to hand us the keys to another car which wasn't ours. We also got charged a different amount on our credit card to what we signed for which we had to follow up. Overall these mistakes shouldn't be made when you are paying for 5 star service. November 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for what it is.... While it is a pity that there is no lounge here, thereare a variety of other options for drinking/dining, both within and outside the hotel. I have stayed here many times...perhaps 30&...over the years.. It is extremely welcoming, great staff, extremely comfortable rooms, great beds. The location on Swanston and Collins may worry some prospective guests because of traffic/ trams..but double glazing blocks the noise . The rooms with Juliette balconies are paricularly nice and especially those at the Flinders Lane end of the hotel. Convient for everything January 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another fantastic stay We are regulars here and thought we would stay a night out for Christmas - why would we choose elsewhere?? Each time we arrive we are greeted well and looked after... Excellent service, workers are friendly and the room is large and comfortable and most importantly clean. Look forward to coming here again soon. December 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bliss on Collins I recently spent two Nights in a Westin Spa Studio that occupied a corner space with great views overlooking Swanston and Collins Street. Love everything about this hotel! The extraordinary service starts the moment you pull up in your vehicle. The hotel management are to be congratulated for the way in which they ensure staff are helpful and courteous at all times. Nothing is any trouble for this hotel's staff - a rare find indeed. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Melbourne! Oh, and the beds......absolute bliss. October 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great potential My hotel experience was reasonably enjoyable. I was a little disappointed with the value of the hotel and extremely disappointed with the food. I decided to try the hotel restaurant Allegro and my meal was far from what I would expect. The buffet breakfast was satisfactory but nothing more. Overcooked and food left too long to sit and dry out. Overall this really dampened my experience. The room was reasonable but I also had a deluxe which I felt was fairly standard compared with other hotels I have stayed in, not really worth the extra cost. April 5, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Relaxing quiet Melbourne City Location As soon as you enter the driveway of the hotel it is hard to believe that you are in the centre of Melbourne. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and very quiet. A great place to escape and relax. December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing stay at the Westin Melbourne As regular visitors, we stayed at the Westin once again for a special occasion and were extremely pleased with our experience. We arrived early but were able to go straight to our room and had received a complimentary upgrade to a lovely Deluxe King room. Breakfast was fantastic and as always, we didn't want to leave! December 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our room was very comfortable As mentioned, our room was very comfortable. The bed was magnificent.The staff at front of house was very welcoming and accommodating. We were let down by the quality of the buffet breakfast, especially because of the cost. We expected something much better. The valet parking service was also a let down. Even with 1/2 an hour notice, we came out to find that the car wasn't there - and it had not even been sent for. Overall, it didn't turn out to be quite the 5 star service that we have experienced elsewhere in Melbourne September 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by a great hotel in Mel the one and only Starwood property in Mel CBD, with the uprising of other competitors in Mel. Westin offers refurnished rooms. However, they need to pay more attention to cleaning like the windows are dirty and the coasters in the bathroom I wonder how long they haven't been changed with all the water marks and stain on it. as a Platinum member def. not as much recognition as the other Starwood hotels, may b it's due to high occupant rate. The late night supper- Pumpkin soup that I ordered came in cool not even warm very disappointed. May 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great hotel...pathetic staff I am a Platinum member and checked in on Oct 10th. I assumed I would be upgraded but no such luck. I found it exceptionally unusual that they claimed they were at 100% occupancy and therefore could not upgrade me. The hotel has no lounge, no happy hour....no happy staff either. There is no free breakfast. I took 500 starpoints. I told the staff that I needed to check out one day later and they confirmed it. Only to find that they sent me the bill and and email message asking why I had not yet checked out. The room was not cleaned on one day. The day I checked out, I asked for milk for my tea and got it about 40 minutes later. All in all, i would not recommend this hotel. Unhelpful staff, no recognition if you're platinum, bad Service Express experience. October 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Crazy nice hotel After having amassed Starpoints for several years I finally redeemed for a 5-night stay and I was not disappointed. Granted this category of hotel is not one I usually stay at; I felt so underdressed to virtually all other clientele that were there - but that didn't seem to bother any worker there. The staff were excellent, the room and location were both amazing, and my bill was settled with 100% accuracy upon check-out. My only minor complaint is that the in-room internet signal strength was not particularly good. We were busy in Melbourne so did not really check out any of the facilities, but I would bet they'd be on par with other Westin properties in this category. Definitely 2 thumbs up. It was a great part of my experience in this first class city. April 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel offers exceptional service and attention to detail. We spent a wedding anniversary there. From the celebratory chocolates we found in our room upon arrival to the courtesy we received from not only concierge, valet and even housekeeping- we were never let down. Our bed was incredibly comfortable and being located on the 6th floor ensured the street noise was kept to a minimum which contributed to an amazing nights sleep. Even the gluten free requirements for my husband at breakfast in the morning were attended to as much as possible. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!! December 19, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel continued to disappoint. In addition to poor amenities and service during my 60th celebration, I later find that I had been billed twice for the stay! I have just returned from Rome where I stayed at the Westin Excelsior Rome as a Gold Starwood member....late checkout assured...when I returned to my room at 2.30 pm to pack for departure my room key had been cancelled. It seems the whole Westin staff need further training regarding what constitutes customer service. November 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A guaranteed good time When I went here, they summed up what good service was all about. The valets would remember where we were going to each day and would confirm our arrival and departures for the next day. The room service was always prompt about asking if we wanted out ice "Chilling or Drinking". It was conveniently located. Our arrival coincided with Australia Day and we were able to watch the parade from our hotel room. The Australian Open was also happening and we were so close to that as well. I would recommend this property in a heart beat. February 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another perfect stay Another fantastic stay at this hotel. Very impressed by the Porters, from the initial welcome, to the goodbye, they were extremely attentive and extremely knowledgeable. I was very impressed that they sent out bags straight up to our room without even asking for any details - It wasn't until I was in the room that it clicked, "how will they know where to take out bags?!" as we were leaving for a late lunch, I briefly asked the Porter about our bags. They knew exactly where it was going and who I was. Very impressed! This little act made the entire stay even more enjoyable because it gave a sense of belonging and welcomeness. Once again, another perfect stay - There is no decision to make when choosing accommodation in Melbourne - it's guaranteed to be The Westin. July 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Melbourne`s Finest I have stayed at a lot of hotels around the word, and the Westin Melbourne is definetly in my top ten. Amazing rooms, Exccelent Food and Service, Located in the best part of the city and most importantly some of the kindest most helpfull staff in the business. I dont reccomend hotels lightly and more often you would hear me warning people of places not to stay, but the Westin Melbourne deserves a reccomendation for all the wonderfull experices i have encounted there over the years. dont think about it. Just book it! December 25, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>