The Westin Melbourne

  • 205 Collins Street
  • Melbourne,
  • Victoria
  • 3000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. A maximum of two children are allowed in Deluxe Rooms with two double beds. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 433 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unacceptable Door Noise A major issue with the Westin Melbourne is the high level of door slamming noise. You need to update your door closing mechanisms so the doors don't slam shut. You need to train your staff to quietly shut the doors when servicing rooms not just allow the doors to continuously slam loudly. I will not be using the Westin Melbourne again till the issues are resolved. David Boxall August 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin Melbourne continues to impress The Westin Melbourne offers service and facilities at a consistently high level. From the friendly door (great to see Ian Morrison still doing it) and front desk staff to the housekeeping staff, nothing is too much trouble. The only (minor) glitch was the paucity of bathroom consumables when I arrived in the room, a situation very quickly remedied by the friendly housekeepers. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the room tastefully furnished and bathroom spotlessly clean. The Lobby Lounge is a very pleasant spot to enjoy a beer and a chat. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the location and the overall experience The Hotel is beautifully appointed,with generous proportions and facilities in the lobby and bar area. The fireplace is a lovely feature,which gives the hotel bar a nice overall welcoming feeling. The lounge furniture is extremely comfortable however in some sections could do with a steam clean.Overall,the hotel for me is the only place to stay in Melbourne. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent features in great central location Fantastic hotel with very friendly & helpful staff who made us feel very welcome. We arrived early, left our bags at the hotel & went out. The hotel called us to let us know as soon as our room was ready so we were able to freshen up before attending a matinee performance. It was mentioned that my husband was celebrating a special birthday & when we returned there was a lovely surprise of a dessert platter in the room. A really nice touch! August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff were exceptional I did not remember her name but she greeted us when we arrived and checked us in . The information she gave us was very helpful but much more than that she was very warm and friendly. My wife works in customer service and was very impressed with her attention to meet our needs. When we were ready to leave we went to collect our bags from storage and there was no one there to help us, the same girl ( I think her name was Nicole, I hope you can find out who checked us in) came over from check in as she saw us waiting and got our bags for us. Exceptional customer service. May 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst night sleep ever Having checked in around 11pm and headed to the room to complete some work, it was very late by the time I went to bed. Despite some street noise from revellers on their way home, I was so tired I did not notice it too much. However, from 5am the next morning I was bombarded with bin trucks, trams and general noise at a level where it was impossible to sleep. I would have been better off taking my money to a camping shop and sleeping on Collins Street. The hotel and rooms themselves are fine but I expect far more from an expensive CBD hotel. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by a couple of minor issues all good as expected from staff and comfort. Major issue is the in room TV. The sound system with speakers at the rear is atrocious and is almost unbearable. I feel sorry for the people in the next room with the booming from our tv ,even on low volume. Also in this day and age HD TV is considered normal on channels where it is available and this is also of concern in a hotel of this rating.Even a 3 star motel has this available. August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beds are awful Always a classy place. Great staff, great location. Beds are simply awful. They are like mush, no support and you keep getting pushed to the edge because of the support in the middle of the king bed. August 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by why I stay at the Westin I choose to stay at the Westin as I come to work in the hotel. I take an internally facing room as it is quiet and I am not distracted by any street noise or a view. The room suits my needs and I am not disturbed in any way. The staff at the Westin are efficient, courteous but never intrusive. I take Room Service and the food is of a very high quality and the service is admirable. Moreover, the bathroom has a quite superb shower along with understated features. I also feel very rested after my stay as the bedding is very comfortable. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A night to remember The Westin hotel was an amazing experience that truly made my birthday celebration very memorable and special. The Westin have impeccable and comfortable rooms that welcome your arrival. The many staff members are highly qualified and were incredibly polite as well as presented neatly. The architecture, decorations and art along the walls of the corridor give a warm, inviting atmosphere to the building. I would highly recommend to stay here. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly great, a few areas for improvement The receptionist was a little over-formal, as tends to be the Melbourne style. However ,we were given a pleasant SPG room when I pointed out my membership. Room very comfortable, with good large TV and lovely bathroom. Had a feeling that the Heavenly Bed mattress was starting to get a bit soft towards the edges.The buffet breakfast was good but I thought there could've been more variety of muesli in a city famous for its cuisine. A lovely feature of this pool is the underground pool/spa. But the pool could've been cleaner and the spa was lukewarm - what's the point of a lukewarm jacuzzi? Finally, the water pressure in the change-room shower was poor and the fittings very 1990 - time for some renewal, I think. February 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Experience and Upscale Hotel This was my first stay at the Westin Melbourne. It’s a wonderful hotel with friendly, welcoming staff and a feeling of luxury. I was in a King room and it was quite large and had a huge bathroom with separate shower and tub, large mirror, and bath robes. The bed was heavenly and the room was so comfortable and it was great to relax in. I did order room service for both lunch and dinner and I enjoyed my meals. The hotel is right in the middle of all of the shopping and restaurants so when you decide to leave the hotel everything is near by. I don’t have much to say because I just enjoyed everything about the hotel and the location. I didn’t want to check out as I had to leave for a conference at another hotel. December 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best Hotels in australia As a regular hotel guest that stays around 75-100 nights per year around the World, I can tell when a hotel is great. The most important thing that a hotel must have is a heart. The staff and the way you are recognised and treated give a hotel its heart. The Westin certainly has a heart. The staff are nothing short of "the best" This culture of service starts at the top, with the general Manager, and flows right through the whole hotel. Location, great service, beautiful rooms with beds that you never want to get out of, make the Westin a must for any visitors to Melbourne. June 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by High quality Excellent location and amenities...Highly recommended. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great overall experience The hotel oozes class, sophistication, style and high standards the moment you walk through the doors, and this is immediately reflected by the great customer service provided by staff and the pleasure you gain when opening your door into the very inviting rooms. August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location and service Nice surprise to walk into the room with a bar of organic chocolate. In general a very centrally located hotel along Swanston and Collins. Very convenient for tourists and also business travelers (my office is just along Collins). Two issues I had was the power sockets along the walls (aside from one next to the TV counter) - they were literally right above the floor and that made it impossible for me to plug my international adaptor in. I also got the room facing Swanston and there was music blasting from the streets Fridays and Saturdays, all the way till midnight. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable quiet rooms great location We have stayed at the Westin a few times now and can recommend it highly for consistent quality and service. The rooms are large and the beds are very comfortable. We were delighted with some complimentary wine and small box of chocolates when the staff knew it was our wedding anniversary. Will defintely come back again for a special occasion August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Melbourne When walking in to the Westin Melbourne we were coming from Perth to have a romantic get away in Melbourne we were defiantly not let down the warmth of the environment and staff were exceptional. we were able to get our room earlier than expected and walking in to our room we were blown away with the shear size and elegance of the room. The facilities were fab and the bed was awesome. we felt like movie stars for 2 nights not to mention the wonderful food in the restaurant. My only concern was that the web site did not do the room justice and this made it hard for us to choose whether to stay or not. above all we had a great time and would defiantly come back and stay in the exact same room as what we had and probably for longer !!! May 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very comfortable room - wonderful bed & bath Awesome room - I wish I has more time to enjoy it. Bath was to die for! August 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good first stay at Westin Melbourne Westin Melbourne is a superbly located hotel with excellent amenities and top notch customer service. The staff attended to every request we had - from early check in to fixing a non-working TV - quickly and with a smile. The only gripe I have is the basin and shower controls - I didn't realise anyone was still using dual control taps rather than mixers. Also, my wife didn't like her pillow but I liked mine so we'll call it even. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The feeling was excellent. The hotel is in a great spot.valet parking was taken care of,the staff at the reception were out standing ,had a coffee just after we checked in and yes the coffee was the best coffee I have had for some time .we went shopping as we were early.when we got back to the hotel our room was ready and it was a delight.breakfast next morning met our expectations and the coffee lattes were 10/10.The check was seamless as was the pickup of car.I am all about the feeling. July 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel but needs updating We are frequent visitors to Melbourne Westin and overall find it a pleasant stay, however there are a few things that really bug us more each time we visit, especially if more than 1 nights stay. For example, (and keep in mind its not big stuff just things that other 5 star hotels do better), they need to update the TV system menu, if they used it they would knowhow frustrating it is to not be able to easily know whats another channels or what channel you are on without going back to main menu. Another is that 4 out of 5 times we are sent to the wrong room on check in (not the one we have paid for or requested), bathroom amenities (esp the beauty kit) never replaced, andlighting system is really frustrating to work easily. October 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cracks are appearing It pains me to write this as the Westin Melbourne is my favourite hotel. While several usual staff members I deal with were outstanding as always, I found one of the senior conceirge staff quite rude. I had never come acrioss this before as I rarely go to the concierge desk. This person looked down on me and treated me with what came across as contempt. Unacceptable. I don't consider myself as a demanding, high maintenance guest and I am not happy about how I was treated. This was also the third stay in a row where there was an error on my bill. 3 times in a row! Surely the billing system needs looking at. Housekeeping was not up to the usual standard, cups, tea bags and milk were not replaced after the room was serviced. October 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by “adequate but it will not exceed modest expectations” As a Platinum member of this SPG Group hotel for many years, and I believe a pretty savvy international traveller, I count myself as reasonably well credentialed to write this review. Some Westin Hotels deliver handsomely for the brand such as Capetown, Kuala Lumpur and Bali and some do not such as New York Times Square. Regrettably the Westin Melbourne falls in the latter category. Whilst it is difficult to articulate specific deficiencies, almost everything apart from the superb location is merely adequate to a four star at best standard from the average dated quality of furnishings to service or lack of it. At the marriage my son, I booked a three night stay ( 1 pre and 2 nights post reception) under my name and profile. Although the Hotel was accommodating with pre-wedding photographs in the entrance and lobby (with advance consent sought and having been given by Renee at the hotel) , no endeavour whatsoever was made in any respect to make the bridal couple feel in any way special guests. I mean to avoid doubt nothing - not even a doormen to assist on arrival! Disappointing and of profound embarrassment to me as father of the guests. November 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience since the entrance Westin MEL is one of the few hotels that provide me unforgettable experience since my first step into it. Professional concierge, warm staff. Room is nothing to complain, still the only point not make this trip perfect. As platinum I was expecting an upgrade to standard suite as what I had rest of the world of SPG, however unluckily not here. Even though this Westin is highly worth recommend. Only would be it perfect than excellence if I might have the chance to check the top of the top hotels, I may rate the room also with 5 stars. Anyway it with the price. September 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst Westin The front desk staff was rude and this was the worst Westin I have stayed at from more than 30 countries! November 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for what it is.... While it is a pity that there is no lounge here, thereare a variety of other options for drinking/dining, both within and outside the hotel. I have stayed here many times...perhaps 30&...over the years.. It is extremely welcoming, great staff, extremely comfortable rooms, great beds. The location on Swanston and Collins may worry some prospective guests because of traffic/ trams..but double glazing blocks the noise . The rooms with Juliette balconies are paricularly nice and especially those at the Flinders Lane end of the hotel. Convient for everything January 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Welcoming A good stay often starts with the check in, at the Westin it's warm, generous and sincere. Advice for dinner that night was not requested but was politely provided. That advice turned out to make my single night stay in Melbourne an absolute pleasure and not just a boring business trip. This kind of service is what separates good hotels from great hotels, not the softness of the pillows, the size of the room. This is a great hotel. July 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The reason I call The Westin Melbourne "Home" I've been a regular guest staying in The Westin, Melbourne since it opened. I love the location, the building, the rooms, the staff and the facilities. This is what a CBD hotel should be! Great service, great ambience and great people! August 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great potential My hotel experience was reasonably enjoyable. I was a little disappointed with the value of the hotel and extremely disappointed with the food. I decided to try the hotel restaurant Allegro and my meal was far from what I would expect. The buffet breakfast was satisfactory but nothing more. Overcooked and food left too long to sit and dry out. Overall this really dampened my experience. The room was reasonable but I also had a deluxe which I felt was fairly standard compared with other hotels I have stayed in, not really worth the extra cost. April 5, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 16 next>>