The Westin Melbourne

  • 205 Collins Street
  • Melbourne,
  • Victoria
  • 3000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 463 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Useful tips ... ... if you need to call Service Express from you room after about 11pm, call from the external number ... it gets answered a lot quicker. ... if you order room service, order very clearly and double check what you get. Based on my 12+ stays and approx 40 room service orders in the last year or so you get exactly what you asked for about half the time. Last night was a record, brought the soup bowl, but forgot the soup. ... if you're bill is going to be over $5,000 then you'll get a note during your stay (not mentioned at checkin) to go to settle up 'at your convenience'. That night you'll find that your room keys no longer work, just to encourage your 'convenience' to coincide with the Westin's. Based on two stays in the last year of over two weeks. The hotel is OK, but thinks it is a lot better than it actually is. February 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid hotel in Melbourne I stayed here for 5 nights and found the hotel to be in one of the best areas of Melbourne. You are right near Federation Square, the Yarra River, Southbank and many restaurants and shops in Melbourne. ROOMS: I was upgraded to a deluxe city view room which was a nice large size. It had a flat screen TV, work desk with outlets nearby and a comfy bed with nice pillows. Lots of closet space and hangers for my clothes, plus an iron/board. Sadly there are no available outlets by the bedside. The city-view rooms are quite noisy however as they overlook Swanston street which is bustling with activity beginning very early in the AM. BATHROOM: Bathroom was a nice size and had a separate shower and tub with a nice rainfall shower head. They offered a nice shaving mirror but were lacking a scale. The lighting in the bathroom was darkish and could be improved. FACILITIES: They have a pretty lobby with comfortable seating and it also has a bar area. There is a nice balcony where you can sit and watch the passers by. They have a gym and pool both of which are super nice - although there were no gym towels when I arrived. Mid-workout I noticed housekeeping bringing some new towels by. SERVICE: I'll start with the positive... the concierge and the doormen/women are very nice and friendly. However, the front desk personnel leave a lot to be desired. They are unfriendly and unhelpful. I found I had to pull teeth to get any answers from them, and certainly never received a smile at all during my 5 days. That's hard to pull off imo. I did my best to avoid them as much as possible so they didn't take away from what was otherwise a very nice stay. PLATINUM RECOGNITION: The platinum recognition at this property leaves a lot to be desired. They really need to improve in this regard. 1- 2 free mini bottles of water offered daily. So basically one normal size bottle of water provided courtesy of the hotel. Really? This is the best you can offer? 2- Free Internet - it was fast and free. 3- You must give up your Platinum amenity to get breakfast. The breakfast is a full buffet breakfast and has an omelette station and fresh fruits, but not any things on offer at the "hot station" . I expect more from a Westin and certainly ore if you're going to take away my Platinum amenity to get it. 4- I did not receive a suite upgrade nor any mention of a suite upon arrival. I was upgraded to a deluxe room and it was nice. Still, a suite is preferred especially when they are available. 5- There is no club lounge at this property but they do have a lovely lobby bar. So why not offer Platinums a drink at it? Nope nothing. 6- And finally, at checkout they tried to bill me for breakfast, which of course is annoying since I'm a Platinum and shouldn't be charged. At least this was the only friendly front desk person I met my whole trip and she happily and quickly removed the charge. Overall I enjoyed my stay at this Westin and will come back. But I hope they figure out how to treat Platinums a but better and now know I'm to avoid the front desk with any questions. I'll just ask the friendly concierge. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel with great staff The rooms are fantastic, clean, new and confi. I would like to make a special mention to Steve Ciric & James Berechree, at the concierge desk, they save our lives with a delay package. People like this makes SPG hotels the best in the world January 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location for business traveller Clean, modern rooms, friendly staff and perfectly located in Melbourne CBD. Although pricey menus, the food quality is what you would expect from this hotel brand. January 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable and Efficient Am currently staying here at Westin Melbourne. We actually extended our stay here in Melbourne and decided to choose Westin as our next hotel choice. Check in by Heather was pleasant and gold status membership was acknowledged. Decided to upgrade to spa studio for Sunday onwards and once again Heather was very helpful over the phone. Bed is extremely comfortable as per Heavenly bed/spg standard. My partner and I are looking forward to a consistently pleasant stay for the rest of our days here in Melbourne. Breakfast was average with limited choice. Breakfast understaffed. Breakfast male manager not very warm in my opinion. January 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Relaxing quiet Melbourne City Location As soon as you enter the driveway of the hotel it is hard to believe that you are in the centre of Melbourne. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and very quiet. A great place to escape and relax. December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's a pleasure to stay at the Westin Yet again we had a great time at the hotel. I had 2 rooms booked and both were upgraded which was fantastic. My daughter was on crutches due to recent surgery and the staff went out of they way to accommodate us by putting her a few doors away from us. They left a little gift with a get well card in her room. It was no trouble for 1 of the staff to get me an ice bucket for her at almost midnight after we arrived home from a xmas function. They are all wonderful and can't wait to get back for another visit. December 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another fantastic stay We are regulars here and thought we would stay a night out for Christmas - why would we choose elsewhere?? Each time we arrive we are greeted well and looked after... Excellent service, workers are friendly and the room is large and comfortable and most importantly clean. Look forward to coming here again soon. December 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Central Location Very good hotel. Location is very central to everything you need in Melbourne. Good sized, comfortable and modern rooms - nice sized bathrooms as well. Excellent and friendly staff. Breakfast buffet ok, but several levels below the competition. Minor nuisances: the power points beside the desk don't fit my standard apple laptop power adaptor, the TV remote/system is slow and horrible to use and the lift key card is often over sensitive. All minor issues that don't detract from the overall positives of the hotel. December 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing stay at the Westin Melbourne As regular visitors, we stayed at the Westin once again for a special occasion and were extremely pleased with our experience. We arrived early but were able to go straight to our room and had received a complimentary upgrade to a lovely Deluxe King room. Breakfast was fantastic and as always, we didn't want to leave! December 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It feels like coming home I love staying in the Westin in Melb'. It feels like coming home. In particular I adore Ian. He always makes me feel welcome when I arrive. This visit I did not see him until I left. I love his style and warm welcome. December 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by excellent hotel and location Excellent location and extremely friendly staff December 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Experience and Upscale Hotel This was my first stay at the Westin Melbourne. It’s a wonderful hotel with friendly, welcoming staff and a feeling of luxury. I was in a King room and it was quite large and had a huge bathroom with separate shower and tub, large mirror, and bath robes. The bed was heavenly and the room was so comfortable and it was great to relax in. I did order room service for both lunch and dinner and I enjoyed my meals. The hotel is right in the middle of all of the shopping and restaurants so when you decide to leave the hotel everything is near by. I don’t have much to say because I just enjoyed everything about the hotel and the location. I didn’t want to check out as I had to leave for a conference at another hotel. December 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always exceeds my expectations As a regular at this hotel I am always overwhelmed by the staff's attention and recognition. I will stay at no other hotel when in Melbourne either on business or pleasure. DonR Canberra December 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Nice hotel with good quality rooms. Alas, no upgrade for me as SPG Gold (I had what must be one of the worst rooms in the hotel), also. no welcome gift. Sad about that. Was offered a.newspaper in the morning. Asked for The Age, but it never came, both neighbours received a paper. Sad about that too.... November 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs a tidy up.... Towels very poor quality, no turndown service, main entrance particularly bland and uninviting - needs plants, breakfast buffet boring not anything compared to Sydney westin. Jerry the chef very good November 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel not up to 5 star rating I recently stayed for my 10 year anniversary. We got checked into a different room to the one booked over the phone. The room was good but on checking out were told our car would be 20 minutes. That was ok but we waited an hour only for the staff to hand us the keys to another car which wasn't ours. We also got charged a different amount on our credit card to what we signed for which we had to follow up. Overall these mistakes shouldn't be made when you are paying for 5 star service. November 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel continued to disappoint. In addition to poor amenities and service during my 60th celebration, I later find that I had been billed twice for the stay! I have just returned from Rome where I stayed at the Westin Excelsior Rome as a Gold Starwood member....late checkout assured...when I returned to my room at 2.30 pm to pack for departure my room key had been cancelled. It seems the whole Westin staff need further training regarding what constitutes customer service. November 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay Westin is Pricey but as a business hotel it's up there with the best in Melbourne, was a bit dissapointed to be given a twin room when requested a King or Queen but was busy in Melbounre that weekend so understandable. Late night room service menu is somewhat limited with few healthy options but plenty of eating places outside hotel! November 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Standards of service are dropping As a SPG member and regular stayer at the Westin Melbourne I must confess to being disappointed with my last experience. At check-in I asked for an upgrade as an SPG member who had an upgrade voucher but was told the hotel was full…on a Thursday night with no major events on in Melbourne. I was offered a late checkout instead but my booking already came with a late checkout. After expressing my disappointment I asked the clerk to check again and then "miraculously" an upgraded room became available. After check in and ordering room service we asked for the tray to be cleared whilst we were out but upon our return, 2.5 hours later, the tray (and leftover food smells) was still in our room. Prior to leaving the hotel I wanted to have lunch in the lobby but waited for 15mins without being served. I eventually walked uo to the bar and ordered what I wanted. SPG members should be treated with a bit more attention overall otherwise what is the point of the membership? November 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff makes this hotel great While the facilities are impeccably maintained, it is the attitude and service level of that staff that makes this a wonderful hotel to frequent. It is without a doubt the best run, best managed, most relaxing hotel in the country. November 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very poor booking service I telephoned your hotel to make a reservation. I did not realise that I was tranferred through to Cork in UK I wanted to book a package with b/fast and parking and was told that those packages were not available.I booked a deluxe room at $398pn and was advised that it had to be pre-paid, so I did!! I logged onto my computer to ascertain the parking fee and the b/fast cost, and found that the room rate was only $300. I telephoned your hotel again, and insisted that I speak to your in-house reservations. Your operator was very pleasant and credited my account with $196. I then discovered that there had in fact been a package available. I also received an email from Mastercard, offering yet a different rate plus bonus points. When we checked in I raised this issue with your operator, and asked about your price match quarantee, she advised me to write to the Reservations Manager. November 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by HEAVENLY The most comfortable bed you will find in any hotel. October 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bliss on Collins I recently spent two Nights in a Westin Spa Studio that occupied a corner space with great views overlooking Swanston and Collins Street. Love everything about this hotel! The extraordinary service starts the moment you pull up in your vehicle. The hotel management are to be congratulated for the way in which they ensure staff are helpful and courteous at all times. Nothing is any trouble for this hotel's staff - a rare find indeed. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Melbourne! Oh, and the beds......absolute bliss. October 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel but needs updating We are frequent visitors to Melbourne Westin and overall find it a pleasant stay, however there are a few things that really bug us more each time we visit, especially if more than 1 nights stay. For example, (and keep in mind its not big stuff just things that other 5 star hotels do better), they need to update the TV system menu, if they used it they would knowhow frustrating it is to not be able to easily know whats another channels or what channel you are on without going back to main menu. Another is that 4 out of 5 times we are sent to the wrong room on check in (not the one we have paid for or requested), bathroom amenities (esp the beauty kit) never replaced, andlighting system is really frustrating to work easily. October 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cracks are appearing It pains me to write this as the Westin Melbourne is my favourite hotel. While several usual staff members I deal with were outstanding as always, I found one of the senior conceirge staff quite rude. I had never come acrioss this before as I rarely go to the concierge desk. This person looked down on me and treated me with what came across as contempt. Unacceptable. I don't consider myself as a demanding, high maintenance guest and I am not happy about how I was treated. This was also the third stay in a row where there was an error on my bill. 3 times in a row! Surely the billing system needs looking at. Housekeeping was not up to the usual standard, cups, tea bags and milk were not replaced after the room was serviced. October 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a great stay I stayed at the Westin instead of my usual hotel and I must admit I will be back. The staff from Reception / Concierge / room service where friendly and happy to help. Great experience and great hotel, I will be back next time I am in Melbourne October 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to spend a weekend. Thanks for a senstaional stay.... at a place away from home. The indulgence package for 2 love birds, spending quality time together was wonderful. The hotels staff were merticulious and made us feel welcomed. October 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bill Unfortunately due to Aust wages being so high, it is difficult to meet the service standards for a true 5 star hotel. Balcony bar service was poor. Chairs dirty and stained with food. Balcony floor was not swept and cigarette butts were littered around tables. Room TV did not work and need fixing. On returning to our room at 11.00 PM a very loud party was going on next door. We had had enough.. checked out and went home for a quiet nights sleep. A disappointing experience. October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin Melbourne always delivers This is one of the leading hotels in Australia. It has an unbeatable combination of highly trained and friendly staff (including its admirable General Manager Debra Watts), spacious and light filled rooms, up to date facilities and consistently tasty food. I have stayed in many hotels in Melbourne's CBD but none compares to The Westin. October 3, 2013
  • 2015-06-30T13:06:40.409-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_463, tr_463
  • loc_en_US, sid_1185, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 17 next>>