The Westin Melbourne

  • 205 Collins Street
  • Melbourne,
  • Victoria
  • 3000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. A maximum of two children are allowed in Deluxe Rooms with two double beds. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 408 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great base for urban break The westin Melbourne is an excellent base for travellers wanting to explore the city of Melbourne. It is located close to all the major museums, galleries and cultural hubs of the city. Further it is positioned close to all the high end shops and wonderful lane ways and cafés. It offers great rooms with excellent facilities and comfortable surrounds. I love this hotel and enjoying staying here. July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by why I stay at the Westin I choose to stay at the Westin as I come to work in the hotel. I take an internally facing room as it is quiet and I am not distracted by any street noise or a view. The room suits my needs and I am not disturbed in any way. The staff at the Westin are efficient, courteous but never intrusive. I take Room Service and the food is of a very high quality and the service is admirable. Moreover, the bathroom has a quite superb shower along with understated features. I also feel very rested after my stay as the bedding is very comfortable. July 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by great for two Everything was lovely except the management of accomodating three in a room. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Room sizes The room sizes are amazing in this hotel. They are spacious, comfortable, modern and clean April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious hotel in the heart of the city A beautifully appointed hotel in the heart of Melbourne city. The staff were professional and happy to help with any request. The spa room was exceptional, with a corner room I had views over Collins streets and Spencer Street. Located close to many excellent restaurants, shopping, arts, museums, all within close walking distance. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by So close! The Westin is so close to eveything in the city.. an ideal location. When you need a change of pace there is the perfect pool to swim in. And the staff are wonderful..nothing is too much trouble. July 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst night sleep ever Having checked in around 11pm and headed to the room to complete some work, it was very late by the time I went to bed. Despite some street noise from revellers on their way home, I was so tired I did not notice it too much. However, from 5am the next morning I was bombarded with bin trucks, trams and general noise at a level where it was impossible to sleep. I would have been better off taking my money to a camping shop and sleeping on Collins Street. The hotel and rooms themselves are fine but I expect far more from an expensive CBD hotel. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy to visit again After visiting only a few weeks before, I was very happy to check into The Westin Melbourne again and I was not disappointed. This time into a City view room with a great outlook over Swanston Street with its horse-drawn carriages and trams. All of the staff seemed to be up to their usual impeccable standard, breezing me through check-in and a late check-out. The room is well laid out, very comfortable, great bathroom and an outstanding super-comfy bed. Breakfast at Allegro was very relaxing with a leafy outlook over Collins Street. This hotel has great staff and a fabulous location. February 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory check in services with no lounge service I have to say the location and the rooms of Westin Melbourne is excellent. However, the check-in service is not satisfactory. As a platinum memeber, it is expected to stay on a high floor. Unfortunately, the staff offered a 2nd floor room which was facing the main street. I could hear the noise of the tram clearly (the tram runs till midnight). So later on, I had to request the front desk staff to help re-arrange another room which was inconvenient to us. Also, there is no lounge in this hotel and this is another drawback of this hotel (no lounge service and breakfast served). October 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by grateful return. After originally booking another hotel on Collins st, it didn't feel right - we cancelled that one and booked the Westin again. Instantly, their confirmation email starting with 'welcome back...' was a sure comfort and a sigh of relief. Flying into Melbourne at 6am, I wasn't expecting a room ready and was prepared to wonder the street cafés and wait - much to our surprise, our room was ready and straight up we went within 5 minutes of arriving. Swift service at an ungodly hour is much appreciated! Once again, our expectations were greatly surpassed with the size of the room, the amenities, and the balcony that our room had! It was a great start to our holiday - watching Melbourne wake up from our balcony as we prepared for the day ahead. Room service was excellently fast and the taste was just as fresh as the hotel it self. Whilst the prices are quite exorbitant; it's definitely worth it. The only, minute downside to our stay was the service in the Martini Bar. After walking in and finding our own seats and getting our own menus; our presence was still unnoticed. The bar was not at its full capacity; not flat out busy, but not awkwardly dead either. Thinking they didn't offer table service, I approached a staff member and enquired, only to be shot back with a brief 'yep' and that was all. Assuming some sort of basic conversation protocol would follow, I was left standing at the bar, trying to order drinks - until a further 8 minutes later, I was approached and asked if I 'needed help...' once the drinks arrive (14 minutes) later; which to their credit were quite delicious - we departed to try our luck at other bars. I would very much like to think that this was a one off occurrence and the service from staff in the Martini Bar is a lot greater. Other than this minor draw back - the stay, as always, was flawless and extremely revitalising. Until another SPG property opens in Melbourne, there is no other place I would ever consider staying - the one time lapse in judgement was not long lived - cancelled within three hours of booking. The Westin makes me feel like I'm home. I don't know what it is that does it, but it's there. April 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely hotel, well loacted Lovely staff and service with excellent rooms with large bathrooms. Unfortunately we found the bed far too soft and pillows quite uncomfortable so would mark it down on that. If your partner wants to read without waking you, bring a small light as the bed lights light up the room. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, great location! We arrived in March for a 5 night stay. The building is beautiful. Wonderful, wonderful location. Staff is pleasant and everything runs so very smoothly. Had wine out on the deck to enjoy the warmth and view. The waitstaff was very attentive. I'm a platinum plus and we reserved/submitted our "suite requests" 5 months ahead. we checked in we were informed the upgrade wasn't available. :( My wife politely asked them to move us if something did open up. No luck. Our room is tastefully decorated. We have a high floor request on my account but are situated rather low. Our main view is of a run down building across the way. Not so nice, but it is fun to watch people in the park below and the tram cars come and go. March 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Legendary Concierges Paul & Steve managed to get us tickets for Les Mis after they had been booked out for weeks. Front Row, dress circle- best in house. Made our 20th wedding anniversary something we will never forget. You've seen the film - now meet the concierges who Can do. Excellent Location- we will be back July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Only a good location... After I contacted the Hotel directly, for a feedback from the GM; which didn't happened since March 2012, therefore I post my review here. The hotel distinguishes between paying and non-paying guest (using Starpoints or free nights from Starwood promotions)! The Westin Melbourne belongs to the group of Starwood hotels which don’t bother about you when you use your SPG points or free nights out of a Starwood promotion. I am deeply disappointed with Starwood that they call The Westin Melbourne a Starwood hotel!!! Here is the conversation, I had with the hotel: "Dear Hotel, many thanks for your kind email, which I much appreciate. With deep concern I recognize, that you distinguish between paying and non-paying guests. I acknowledge your statement about the room upgrade issue, whereby the SPG reservation system stated differently on that particular day. May I ask, if you or your GM ever checked you breakfast offer? Let it put me this way, after being forced to put "pressure" on your team, your team was able to tell me what can be done; and not only what can not be done. As a vegetarian eater I felt not at all appreciated. The breakfast service is more like the military cantina service which I experienced 25 years ago. Noisy, crowded and nothing proper to eat! Due to my last three experiences in your hotel, it is most unlikely that I'll chose the Westin Melbourne again. Your hardware is excellent but unfortunately the "software" has big steps to go, to become an Westin which I am used to. This due to the fact, that I spend within the last 4 years, each year between 90 and 130 nights in Westin hotels throughout the Asian region. Starwood hotels can be categorised into 2 general groups, the one which distinguish between paying and "non-paying" (Using points etc.) guests. Dear Hotel, I am fully aware about the terms and conditions of the SPG program and the fact that no room upgrades can be promised. It is not about any upgrade, it is about the way the front office in your hotel does not even bother to distinguish between a "regular" guest and a guest with SPG Status. Further I think that you have a "virtual" GM. Kind Regards U. S. On 22 Apr, 2012, at 3:19 PM, " "Hotel wrote: Dear Guest., Greetings from The Westin Melbourne. We want to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey form regarding your recent stay with us. It is always delightful to receive such great feedback and high scores. We are extremely happy that our associates provided you with our very instinctive and personal Westin Service. It is one of our priorities to make all our guests feel welcomed and cared for during their stay and to leave feeling refreshed. We are concerned however that you gave the hotel a low rating in regards to Starwood Preferred Guest benefits. I understand that this is in regards to not receiving an upgrade as one of our Platinum members. Firstly, we do our best each and every day to provide our Platinum guests with upgrades to our Corner Spa Studios, or Regent Suites, subject to availability. On this particular stay, unfortunately we had guests staying which were paying the full rate for our suites, and therefore were unable to accommodate an upgrade for you. We understand this is frustrating, however we do our best to upgrade where availability sees fit. As we do not have a club lounge at this hotel, we do understand that our Platinum members can feel as though they do not receive the same benefits here, as they do at other properties. We would also like to apologize for that. We hope to welcome you back for another renewing stay in the near future. Please contact me directly when you are planning your next visit as I would be delighted to personally look after your reservation. Kind regards “Hotel”. " A standard email on a feedback.... June 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed again. My last stay here was poor, but I wanted to give the hotel another chance as I generally like the Westin standards worldwide. As a platinum member, I was offered no specific welcome or room upgrade on arrival which is unusual , and was given a room on a low floor again after a bad experience the last time with noise etc. I then asked for a shirt to be pressed, as I had an urgent business meeting to be told that express laundry would only be back at 1pm. It was 7 am at the time of calling. Is that the best you can do for a double charge and express pressing service?? August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consistently Excellent We stayed on the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. The process from phone booking to check out was faultless. We were surprised with a bottle of champagne which was a lovely touch and totally unexpected. We have stayed once previously and this trip exceeded our expectations. The only exception was the breakfast buffet which was average in variety and quality. Not enough to stop us returning, though. Possibly our new favourite place to stay in Melbourne. July 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel in the heart of Melbourne Nice hotel, but on an international scale not a 5 star property. Good sized rooms with the usual great beds which Westin is famous for. But an uninspiring bathroom with very cold floors. I am wondering how many guest are able to find those hidden light switches on the inaccessible side of the side tables. And yes, I experienced a world first after 30 years extensive travelling around the world. A 5 star hotel who locks its doors after midnight and the guest have to use their room keys to enter it through a small side entrance into a completely deserted lobby. August 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Luxury in the heart of Melbourne Always enjoy statying at the Westin Melbourne, it is a superb location and the staff are very helpful. Large and confortable rooms and a great breakfast. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel The Westin is my go to destination in Melbourne. Spacious rooms, 5 star (if not 6) dining, and a super central location. Don't miss it. The only downside is the almost too soft pillows and bed. I must remember to ask for a stiffer pillow next time - that's my fault. July 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by v. comfortable bed excellent location and very comfortable beds - the best I've slept in years. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a pleasure Once again, The Westin Melbourne met my expectations... A quick spur of the moment Easter break holiday trip to the east coast was capped off with another fantastic stay. As SPG Platinum guests, we took advantage of late check out - a great little perk that allowed us to sleep in and really just chill through the day, instead of rushing here and there doing last minute things. We opted not for the breakfast, only because we're not up early enough!! The only down side, is I've never been offered room upgrades! Not that a standard room is anything to scoff at, it's by all means still a superb room - but experiencing a suite, would just add to that specialness! The Westin and its staff are aways a great pleasure to deal with when I'm in town. Thank you. April 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Favourite no more This used to be one of my favourite hotels: it was pictured on my 2011 membership card. My experience on this particular 3-night stay was memorable from a negative point of view. The room assigned on arrival was 210 which was on the lowest level where there are rooms. This is not acceptable for a Platinum guest. This was changed to 721 after some discussion. I fully realised that given the small number of suites, one was not available for our stay. There is no lounge in this hotel, nor a club floor. The first evening, my wife had a bath. The body lotion had a clear top portion but she used it. On application, it smelled of sour milk so she had to take a shower and then use our own body lotion. There were problems with shower and drain in one sink: these problems were rectified the next day. The first morning for breakfast we asked for a table in a particular section but were told that they were unavailable (reserved?). One of these tables remained unoccupied the entire time we were in the restaurant. After mentioning this to Guest Services, we got an apology note for the "misunderstanding". I am not sure we misunderstood anything, we were just not given our table of choice. The next morning, a restaurant supervisor said that they would talk later about the misunderstanding. They did not follow up that morning or the following morning although they were in the restaurant both times. On the second morning we suffered from lack of attention and were not offered top-ups on our coffees. This is not the service one expects from a hotel that we were told was a Westin "boutique" hotel. My wife was also surprised that there was no turn-down service. November 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A luxurious short break for Melbournians Stayed two nights over the Easter break with my family and was given a regular room at the SPG floor. The room is quite spacious and the three of us, 2 adults and one child, did not feel crowded. The room was overlooking busy Swanston Street but the sound of the trams were faint and barely noticeable. The bathroom is so far the biggest I have seen, it even echoes in there. We enjoyed the indoor pool but the gym was quite small, and the mirrors to make it look bigger actually made it look cramp and uninviting. Had Easter lunch at Allegro restaurant. Food was wonderful but we could barely hear the jazz musicians playing ( a pity). Our stay was so comfortable that we couldn't be bothered to go out so we had a nice dinner at the Lobby Lounge.We will stay again! April 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location My daughter and I wanted a couple of days in the City for shopping and the Westin Melbourne fitted this requirement perfectly. The location is excellent and the facilities suited our needs perfectly. The only gripe was the dreadful quality of the room service food which was very expensive and not at all impressive. We should have gone out to eat but wanted a night in with a movie….. Apart from that - we were generally very happy. June 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by fabulous stay ..although As usual we had a fabulous few days at the Westin Melbourne. Staff were great, Ian in the foyer always helpful and ready to give any information we needed. Don't let him leave the place ever !! One little point was the dirty coffee mugs in our room with pink lipstick still on the rim and tea/coffee stained line inside the cup. House keeping were very prompt to being us fresh cups. Thank you. June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great hotel This is without doubt the cleanest hotel with the most friendly staff, at all levels. From the front entrance greeting, through check-in to the spotless room is a warm welcoming experience. The lobby bar is perfect to relax after a hard day's work and the restaurant is excellent. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic location What a fantastic hotel! I stayed for 3 nights with my 14 year old daughter in a deluxe room and we loved everything about the hotel. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious, and the beds were so comfortable. Loved the bathroom, especially the large overhead shower. The location was superb for our daily shopping expedition, afternoon coffee and cakes, and for eating out at night. We can't wait to book our next weekend in Melbourne and we will definitely stay at the Westin. April 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, but .... 4 minor comments: 1. Checked in around 10pm and had to wait in a queue for 15mins as there was only one staff member checking guests in; 2. My employer had provided payment details, but this was not recognised when I went to check out and required unnecessary follow up; 3. I had paid for refreshments in cash upon checkout, but the amount was left on the bill and paid for (again) by my employer 4. My room was above the entrance where noisy revellers woke me up at 2am as they exited the hotel August 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by FAB HOTEL When i arrived at the hotel i was greeted with a warm welcome at the front door by the staff who knew who i was. To me that's a great way to start my hotel stay. And i would like to say thank you to all the staff who made my hotel stay such a delight. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel facilities and location The Westin Hotel in Melbourne is perfectly located in the CBD, and has excellent facilities and very helpful staff. July 1, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15 next>>