The Westin Portland

  • 750 Southwest Alder Street
  • Portland,
  • Oregon
  • 97205
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older and have valid photo identification in order to reserve a room.

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 287 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good choice in Portland I alternate between two hotels for my stays in Portland and always find the Westin a suitable choice. Rooms are fairly typical Westin; corner rooms feel a bit larger and have bathrooms featuring separate showers and windows. While very comfortable, I do find the rooms poorly-lighted for work. The compact gym has a handful of cardio machines and weights; while not very large, it's fine for a hotel of this size. Location is very good, just a couple of blocks removed from Pioneer Square. Plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby. The hotel is served by two fairly slow elevators, which may make some impatient. I've waited one or two minutes, but never longer. February 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unclean and unfriendly I traditionally enjoy staying at Starwood hotels and am usually very happy, but this stay really threw me off for several reasons. 1. Unfriendly staff. From the front desk to the bar, I did not feel welcome especially when asking for directions and recommendations on places to go. Im from out of town and a little more attention would have gone a long way. 2. The street valet was awkward. Also, I called for car to be ready when I checked out only to be ignored by the attendant outside waiting in the freezing cold to get their attention. 3. Fake eyelashes found in my bathroom was icing on the cake. No further explanation necessary other than they were not mine. December 9, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly very good The Westin Portland is very good overall and we have stayed there before. Staff is excellent, except the housekeeping staff seems not to be supervised. Arriving at our room the mini-bar had not been re-stocked from the previous guests (so we had to call to get it re-stocked right away so we would not be charged), and the full-length bathroom mirror (on the back of the bathroom door) had overspsray spots all over it. The next day's cleaning did not resolve the full-length mirror issue, no wash cloths were left for us, no extra toilet paper was left for us, and a clump of hair was left in the bath tub. However, we would stay there again, because overall is is a terrific hotel. July 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Weekend Thanks to an outstanding staff and superb facilities our birthday weekend in Portland was even better than anticipated! It began with a very helpful Valet and Bellhop duo, continuing with the perfect hostess Teresa checking my wife, our dog and me in and sorting out all issues in a delightful fashion, then continued to a wonderful room on the 9th floor. The room service experience that evening was perfect and the rest of the weekend continued apace with numerous interactions with the Westin team, and in every case we were impressed with their friendliness and quality of the support received. We will be back! October 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Welcome Seeing the same smiling faces each time we stay at the Westin is always a good sign. Satisfied employees make for satisfied guests! October 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by front desk staff is knowledgeable rooms are lovely from the moment we arrived with superb service from front desk agent, Victoria- the experience was great. She was very knowledgeable about her hotel as well as very accomodating with directions and looking up and creating a new SPG card for me since i lost mine. Excellant service ... she acknowledged and remembered us at check out as well. We love the beds the new rooms and the happy hour in the restaurant. thank you Westin portland for a lovely stay with my family. Working for Nordstrom i am used to having to give great 110% customer service and the Westin portland and staff gave it back to me. July 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location This Portland hotel is in a great location for walking around Old Town, Downtown, and the Pearl. The hotel lobby, bar and restaurant is designed for the comfort of its guest and I was pleasantly surprised with the beauty of the decor. We stayed in a king room that was designed beautifully. The bathroom was huge with a tub on one side and a walk-in shower on the other. Although the bathroom had a large mirror over the vanity and a full length on the door, it would have been good to have a mirror in the bedroom too. August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel was great--restaurant lacking Breakfast was slow --servers need training and need to be much more efficient. Receptionist sat us -waited about 10 minutes until she came back apologized for delay and brought coffee and tea. Spilled the hot coffee on table and her hand. Proceeded to wipe up floor and then the table with same cloth!!!Waited another 10 minutes for waiter. Didn't clear dirty dishes in timely manner. Busboy walked around like he was lost. September 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A great location in Portland My wife and I stayed here for a quick getaway, and it was perfect. Easy access to the restaurants and other attractions of Portland. The room was very comfortable, and the staff was responsive. That said, they had to respond, as several items were missing from our room when we checked in. Not a big deal, but a lack of attention to detail by housekeeping. Our final folio was incorrect as well. Again, staff cheerfully corrected it upon request, but it added to the overall impression of things being good, but not quite right. August 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ale fest stay My fiance and I stayed one night here for the Holiday Ale Fest because of a special deal they offered and we were both very pleased with the experience. The location couldn't have been better and the staff were awesome. The bed was comfortable and the room well appointed. The bathroom was a little bit of a let down and the shower stall was a disappointment, it felt like a 1970's apartment shower. Other than that, it was a great place to stay. I loved the bar and restaurant portion and the desk clerk was top notch. Valet service cost a bit too much but was relatively quick. Great place! December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous hotel - but small room This hotel is located in the heart of Portland, and is close to everything. There is no swimming pool, so that could be an issue for some (my daughter was very dissapointed). We were upgraded to a deluxe corner room, which was lovely but way too small for three people. I should have asked for a different room - my fault, but my husband and daughter were tired and just wanted to unpack and relax. September 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even for fun - the service is fantastic Normally a great place for the business traveler last week they hosted FC Bayern Munchen for the MLS All Star friendly. They never missed a beat, maybe only the bartender who was totally overwhelmed, they did 4X the normal service on a Tuesday night. Perhaps overly critical to offer only 4 stars, the rest of the service and experience was 5 stars easy. The hotel had a completely different vibe as did the staff, but the service never wained. A great time for all travelers, tourists and players! August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by second best hotel in Portland If you know Starwood then you know you can't go wrong with a Westin. It starts the moment you walk in the door after being greeted by friendly valet staff you're greeted by the coolest desk agents this side of the Mississippi. The smell is so uniquely Westin and it always triggers thoughts of happiness and relaxation. As for the bar, it's fantastic! the area is very nice and clean and classy. theres a great fire pit across the bar as well. it all makes for a really great atmosphere! So stay here if you want a great night's sleep or meet up for drinks with colleagues January 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall, it was ok ...but I would like to say that the lack of food choices for a late dinner was a problem. We were only able to get a salad after 10pm and we had to go to the bar to get our wine and even that closes at 11pm. The linen is also sparse, only leaving two washcloths each day. I called for more and got them but geez! And when I ask for a quiet room, putting me in a room next to the ice machine and maid room is NOT my idea of quiet. I would hesitate to recommend this hotel until I see some changes. The front desk though was very helpful for dinner suggestions and trips. July 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Portland 1/22-1/23 2014 I stayed at the Westin in Portland for the first time during my business trip on 1/22-1/23. I have been traveling to Portland for work recnetly, and during my last trip I stayed at the Sheraton by the airport. IT was TERRIBLE. So this time, I made sure to stay at a different SPG property, and it was the Westin downtown. This place was GREAT! I would recommend it to anyone going to town. It is centrally located, rooms are all very nicely appointed, the gym isn't huge, but has all you need, and the staff were all very friendly, and helpful. The best people there were the doorman/ valet guys. They were funny, and helpful, and always acted as if they were enjoying themselves and tehir job which was a great first impression of the hotel. January 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ultra comfortable I always enjoy staying in the Portland Westin. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are comfortable. I always get a great nights sleep in Westin's heavenly beds. You can't beat the location. Be sure to check out the food carts across the street! September 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Excellent Stay I recently discovered this new SPG property in Portland, ME and was excited to have an option for Portland, ME within the SPG family - first time in 7 years! The hotel is quite beautiful, with some charm from the bones of the original property dating from 1927, with really lovely and completely renovated and modern Westin rooms and interior space. I stay in SPG properties around the country and this is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at in many years. The staff are all young and professional, clearly well trained. The room was super clean, modern, and comfortable. The restaurant had excellent lobster rolls and is clearly looking to compete with the excellent food scene in Portland. I enjoyed my 3 stays in March and April (for business) so much, I just booked a summer weekend for my family. This property is a welcome addition to the SPG family and it is great to now have an option of a modern, beautiful and unique Westin in Portland. May 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by definitely a step backwards My girlfriend and I chose to stay at the Westin because, of all the other SPG hotels, the Westin is by far our favorite. However, this trip was a definite step in the wrong direction. First, the elevators. I understand and appreciate the regular maintenance on the elevators. But, performing routine maintenance on the elevator, leaving on operational during the new years weekend is unsatisfactory. A little planning ahead. With the new years celebration, I expect a little bit more noise. When I can hear and understand the conversations of guests from the opposite end of the floor is unacceptable. it did not help that I was in the adjecent room. Lastly, the laundry/dry cleaning service. When I checked in, I asked about the service, the person at the front desk said yes they have the service but it will not be going out that day (sunday) but will go out in the morning and be back by monday evening. I brought my clothes to the front desk after I got myself situated in my room. My items never were returned and I have not received sufficient information on why they did not return on time or even their whereabouts. Today is Thursday, still no answer. As I said, I love staying at the Westin whenever I travel but I after this experience, next time I may reconsider staying that the Westin in Portland. January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Botique style Westin - Excellant location! Unabashedly stylish! The staff super friendly and property is the the right balance of style and convenience. The bar- tender even brought a dog dish of water for my Boxer so we could all enjoy a drink in the small but stylish lobby lounge. Super location and great restaurants (yummy Italian!) just steps away! I will say the hotel policy of Not leaving your pet in the room unattended is ridiculous considering they consider themselves pet friendly, and upon check were just that - very friendly! Other than that silly rule i would recommend it. January 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is fine. I usually stay at Starwood hotels and have had great time. I chose this time as well. Overall, it was fine but wasn't as good as I expected. I used valet parking service. The staff was great but I found small scratches on the back bumper. I can't complain to hotel since I don't know if it happened at the hotel parking lot. All I know is there was no scratch when I went there. And the only place I parked during the day was the hotel. I like Starwood hotels and am going to stay in a few weeks. Hopefully, I can have a good experience again. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay the Portland Westin was very comfortable and a great place to stay. Hard to beat the location and the staff made it a great experience. I'll definitely wil be back. Stayed 3 nights, the staff was great, from the moment I checked in, front desk was extremely friendly and provided great options for restaurants around town. I valeted my car and each time I was greeted by name and car was always ready when i called for it. The food in the restaurant was very good. Ate at the restaurant and ordered room service, each time the food was great, using fresh local foods. The price was steep which is unfortunate. There too many great restaurants in Portland where you can get just as good or better meal for a lot less and within walking distance of the hotel. December 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was like coming Home!!! I was so impressed with my recent stay at the Portland Westin. I had not been there for 6 months and the valet, Ali, greeted me by name when I pulled up to the hotel. IMPRESSIVE!!! Everyone went above and beyond to insure my stay was confortable. When I found out last minute that the facility I was to make a presentation at did not have a projector, Alyssa made sure she had one delivered to my room in plenty of time for my presentation. I was so relieved and my presentation was a success!!! Thank you to all at the Westin Portland!!! August 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unfortunately, the room temperature couldn't be changed The hotel is conveniently located and the staff quite nice. Unfortunately, it's difficult to sleep well when the room temp is 70. The thermostat was ineffective. When I called for help, I learned that Maintenance would need to fix it and my option was to change rooms (at midnight) or open the window. I opened the window - street cleaners and early delivery traffic added to the ambiance. Night two - the temp was down to 67. I opened the window again. And yes, I had checked before leaving that morning that Maintenance would address the problem. No one followed up with me to see if the problem had been resolved to my satisfaction. As my first stay in a Westin, I am a bit disappointed. Don't know that this will be my first choice next time I'm in Portland. January 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean, comfortable, and great staff Have been staying at the Westin Portland for past decade and the customer service has been better in recent years. (the hotel also got renovated) The front desk staff named Cody was very friendly and exceptionally nice which made our stay much better during the holidays. I forgot the name of the front desk staff during the night shift, but he was also very nice. And of course, the valet staff are ALWAYS superb. Will be back! The only thing I was sad about was that the shower head was no longer a heavenly shower head in our bathroom. January 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by No reliable Internet service Spent what seemed like 30 min with tech support on the phone trying to get Internet access. It worked for about 20 and then gave up. Hotel charged me for phone call! Unable to watch Beaver game available on cable channels. No AM radio available to listen to it. October 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classy and comfortable Upscale property with friendly, professional staff. Good location, with easy access to all points of interest. Quick and courteous check-in and check-out. Rooms are clean and well kept; bathrooms are particularly spacious and luxurious. Rooms we had both were quiet and comfortable: fresh air, pleasant views and no noise. Short walk to varieties of shops and excellent restaurants (as well as famous food trucks). Picasso, fireplace and built-in iPads (all in lobby areas) put this Westin a cut above similar upscale hotels. December 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed My husband and I were traveling in Oregon and stayed here one night. We usually have great experiences at Westins but not here. We were unable to access the internet after paying for it. We were on the phone with the help line for over 15 mins with no resolution. When I contacted the front desk, the man was also unable to help and had a condensending tone when I explained the problem. He said he would comp the internet but never did. The rooms are nice but that is it. Would recommend Westins but not this location. December 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by In Room Services I always enjoy my stays at your Hotel. In truth, I have two reasons that I am a devotee of Westin Downtown Portland: 1) Your Heavenly Beds (and they are!) 2) Your seperate shower stalls with the rain water shower heads. I have two pieces of feedback from my most recent stay: 1) There was no in room coffee supplies; no cups, no coffee. That made for a not-so-quality morning 2) If you were to remove your water flow restriction for the shower, then it would be pure heaven. Mike June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff & Hotel Meets All Needs My husband and I have now stayed here twice for 4 nights each, as a result of using our SPG points and being SVO owners. It is a truly outstanding hotel on all counts! If we needed anything, it arrived quickly and with a smile. The one and only shortcoming is the little fitness center--certainly adequate, but not great. While I haven't met the General Manager, I think he must be incredible to instill the work ethic, efficiency and attentiveness in the staff. Also, the restaurant and room service is outstanding! February 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Poor response from room cleanning staff When my wife and I checked in for a 7 nights stay, we found there was only one bath robe. A second one was quickly delivered upon request. For the remaining 6 nights, each time, we found only one bath robe and each night we had to request a second one. While the delivery was always quick but totally un-acceptable that we had to call every night!! Additionally, one time, we found one of the bath robe had dirty patches on it. July 24, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>