The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

  • 1000 Penn Avenue
  • Pittsburgh,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 15222
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 417 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Only Starwood property I know of that requires a nonrefundable cancellation fee. Besides being annoying, just not practical for frequent business travelers who sometimes have to cancel. Well-run property ought to be able to plan for some cancellations. My room request for a king-sized bed was not able to be met which was disappointing as a Gold member who made his reservation three weeks earlier. Restaurant seemed overwhelmed at breakfast. Long time to get food. Trouble getting my coffee refilled. Seafood restaurant was mobbed for dinner. March 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Impressive staff! We were impressed with the friendliness and willingness to help of the entire hotel staff. Everyone was perfectly capable and gracious. This will stand out for us, although I found the heaviness of the "heavenly quilt" too much! And we heard a "phantom flush" from the walls each night, thinking it was coming from our bathroom. And one of the elevators balked, stranding some acquaintances (and us almost) during a very busy Saturday. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel and Staff This was a great experience from the time we drove up to the hotel. The staff greets you with a friendly smile at all times. They cannot do enough for you. The bellman was great. We never had to wait for anything. The room was very comfortable and extremely clean. The gift shop was great and had nice items. The young man that worked there was very helpful and friendly. Check in was easy and a pleasure. Highly recommend. We didn't rate the food, because we did not have time to eat there. The staff was very accommodating. Great location. November 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bathrooms This is a okay hotel. Needs updated. The main item with our stay was the that the bathroom was not clean. Mold growing in toilet. Even after talking to front desk, toilet was never cleaned. Makes me wonder how long it had really been since the toilet had been cleaned. For the price you pay per night, not worth the money July 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by I would give this hotel an "F" in nearly every category, especially customer service and professionalism. I would not recommend this hotel for any reason. I was sorely disappointed in the unprofessional behavior of the night desk staff and their childish games rather than answer a simple question and help me. Never once did they ask me if I was a SPG. They asked me why I was in town, and the attitude and behavior deteriorated as soon as I said I was in town to support a friend competing in the Masters National Bodybuidling show at the Sheraton. I don't think the Americans With Disabilities would be very happy to get a call and/or letter regarding how unhelpful the night staff was to me, a partially vision impaired individual, when I could not properly read some of the hotel materials and called to request assistance. Then imagine my surprise at being put on hold for more than 5 minutes by Lindsay when I requested to speak with a manager. The night shift manager, Natalie?, was unresponsive, vague, and actually laughed at me (it sounded like she had her hand over her mouth to muffle the laughter). I went to the front desk in person and discovered they were standing right next to each other, so really no need to put me on hold. Rather than provide a professional response to my initial inquiry, I was met with insults, argument, and condescension. I was upset when earlier in the evening (before 7) the young man at the front desk hung up on me when I called to ask about the shuttle service. I was also disappointed with the moldy, wet carpet smell on my floor. I only hope I don't suffer lasting effects. Additionally, I was highly offended that I was accosted in the elevator along with about 5 or more other guests by someone begging for money, then yelling obcenities at any guests who did not give her money. I was disappointed that no effort was made to accomodate any of my requests or answer my questions. As a SPG, I expected much more professional behavior and hotel appearance. I also did not expect to be accosted by vagrants running amok through the hotel and threatening bodily harm. I have never been treated so shabbily nor had such a horrible stay in any Westin in any other city in the U.S. (I travel extensively). I feel like my entire trip was ruined by each and every disappointing experience caused entirely by this hotel, by either the shabby appearance and offensive smells (which varied by floor), the aggressive vagrant (from whom I actually feared a physical assault), and this Westin's unprofessional, rude, and insulting weekend night staff. I wish I could have saved myself the stress, insult, humiliation, and the significant $$$$ this trip cost me by just staying home. I will never stay in this hotel again. In fact, I would drive a considerable distance to avoid it even if it were the only available. I would cancel my trip if this were the hotel I had to stay in on my next visit to Pittsburgh. July 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by staff issue when I made my reservation I included a guest however I did not specify the guest name which was my wife. My wife had her room key and went to the fitness center. when she returned to the room her key didn't work. She went to the front desk and the girl there was "following procedure" and because my wife couldn't provide the correct information or get a hold of me, the clerk wouldn't reactivate the key. finally Anita from security met my wife who was extremely upset by this time to verify my wife's ID which was in the room. If the desk clerk would have suggested this immediately the whole scene would have been avoided. Anita was very kind and even got my wife some fresh fruit because she saw how visibly upset my wife was. Anita's kindness was appreciated. March 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cleanliness Only negative comment....the room was dusty, the bathroom had hair in the toilet, and the bathroom had a strange smell. The rest of the stay deserved a 5 star rating July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed in accomodations I ordinarily enjoy staying at Westin properties; however, my stay last week at the Westin Convention Center in Pittsburgh was disappointing. My room did not have a working alarm clock or telephone. The toilet made a high-pitched squeal for over 15 minutes after flushing. Although staff were able to replace the clock and the phone, their attempt to fix the toilet only made it worse. The toilet continued to squeal at an almost unbearable level all night. Rooms should be better monitored and maintained by staff for guest comfort. August 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great View! The hotel staff were exceptional however the breakfast that we had for the Canadian contingent was not good at all. Other than that the food and service was good. The beds and room were quite nice. I would like to have had a refrigerator that we could use. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Front Desk Staff I had some difficulties with my credit card when I tried to check in. Brittany at the front desk was incredible. She was very patient and kept apologizing for my problems. She went out of her way to make me feel welcomed. She is the BEST front desk person I've ever worked with. When her shift was over, a young man named Adam came over and finished the process. Your front desk staff was very accommodating. Thank you Brittany and Adam! June 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Our stay this hotel has many great features, however parking your car is not one of them. Has nothing to do with the employees, but the design of front entrance. too many cars at one time make it an accident waiting to happen. The rooms or nice, however the main purpose is sleep and the bed is lumpy and the comforter is too heavy and the way the bed is made short sheets you. I believe I fought with the blankets all night. I enjoyed your pool, had breakfast at the hotel it was good, but way over prized. April 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay 6/8 - 6/12 Pittsburgh Westin Convention center 1) Room smelled like mold 2) Coffee container where you pour water was not cleaned from previous stay and it was stinking 3) Platinum preferred guest get free buffet when they show the card. Front desk didnt give me the card, but my other colleagues had that card. So i had to charge full amount to room and then call customer service and spend 10 minutes or more to get it waived June 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed Arrived with a group for a event at the conference center was late getting to and from hotel and conference due to elevators out of order they had booked the hotel full and had weddings going on the hotel was filled to max. Decided to go to the hot tub And guess what no water in hot tub and out of order. Decided to swim instead and was told no towels a large group just came through and cleaned them out.. Bad experience from beginning to end May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome associates I want to say I recently stayed at your hotel this past weekend. Was there to see a Steeler's game. Upon my arrival I met Ricky the bellman, Awesome associate. During our stay we met more associates. You could not avoid them, they always said hi and had a smile. Check in was easy. met your security Officer. really professional. I think his name was John. And Linda, House keeping manager. terrific person. Best part of the whole stay was everyone always asked if everything was ok. And of course the Steelers winning! October 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only one issue Your cable hook-up is out dated. One splitter for four rooms. I could not get movies or the guide. Maintenance came but had to get permission to get into another room to fix my problem. What if he couldn't get permission? July 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by bad elevators stuck in elevator for 45 minutes - almost again the next day. printers in business center didn't work. staff was good, but I was glad to get the heck out of there. July 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs improvement Hotel information is missing or incorrect (TV channel numbers listed in the booklet in the room are incorrect, wrong location of Business Center on hallway signs, lack of helpful signage on the floor where meetings are held, etc.) June 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is not what it used to be. I stay at this hotel two to three times a year. They have changed the suites to eliminate a couch and now have a table. This is less conducive for conferences with colleagues. The work desk in the sleeping area did not have electrical outlets which left me scrambling to charge my phone and computer since turning off the lights in the living area shut off electric to the more convenient outlet. My room was not serviced which left me with no coffee the second day of my stay. Staff did send me a $5.00 coupon to be used at the in house facilities but it had not been my original plan to eat at the hotel. When I mentioned all of this at the desk I was told I would have valet parking credited to my account. The revised folio did not reflect that change. Disappointed in my stay this time. January 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service at the Westin Level This was my second stay at the Pittsburgh Westin and it was an absolute pleasure thanks to the manager, Dina Gaudio. We had some issues with our room reservation and type of room during our first stay that was so disappointing that I did not want to stay there again. Dina went out of her way to check on our reservation and to ensure we were very comfortable during our stay. Dina's customer orientation, attentiveness to assuring the Westin brand, professional and warmth made our stay exceptional. thank you! November 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent place to sleep I've been a near-weekly guest at this hotel for over a year. It has undergone a soft makeover in the past year, replacing carpets, etc. Best part of the hotel is the Heavenly Bed, plus they have lots of HD channels on the TV. Worst part has to be in internet, which crawls even when selecting the paid option. Regarding upgrades, they're tough to come by. It appears they try to sprinkle them around , but even as a frequent guest, I've only gotten a suite 3-4 times (twice on one night stays) out of 50+ stays. January 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by What a way to go... Each morning I awoke refreshed and ready for another round of conference sessions. The staff Alay and Brian were most helpful.. Proximity to Seviche Restaurant and Macy's was a bonus! June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel was very nice It was very nice and clean . The workers were very nice and helpful . The only complaint We have is they shuttled us to the concert at Heinz Field but could not pick us up after . That was very disappointing to us . Especially when we wornt familiar with Pittsburgh . June 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lost it's Luster Upon arrival at the check in time of 3:00 PM, was told the room was not ready yet--waited two long (2) hours and was given a single complimentary drink to make up for it. Then I had paid extra to upgraded to the Junior Suite --the room was NOT at all like the pictures, no cozy living room instead a dingy room with a dirty table and 4 worn out chairs. The bathroom was NOT oversized it was small with a little tub and broken fixtures. So disappointed I would NEVER stay there again and want my money back! March 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed bag A good hotel - some need in the room to clean thoroughly: bad odor in main room and moldy smell in bathroom. Clunking pipes took some getting used to. Good appointments and space though. June 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by In great need of repair Unfortunately, this property does not live up to the usual standards of the Westin brand. Old and worn, it needs a makeover. I always search out a Westin when I can, and being a Pittsburgh native was surprised by it's condition when I needed a hotel for the evening. Tub was old and cracked, didn't drain properly (was however fixed when we called maintenance), shower heads were rusty, carpet was worn, and beds were substandard at best. Would definitely search out another property in the future. October 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, except seafood The hotel was fine. The staff was excellent. The seafood was overpriced and not very good. July 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff Cold, Rooms Average Front Desk Staff very open and helping. Rest of staff cold and not at all positive. Most look like they do not enjoy working at the Westin. This made my wife and I wondering what goes on behind the front we see. Rooms cold feeling, not at all living up to the Westin name. Decorating is old. Bathrooms need to be updated. Overall, we wished we would have stayed elsewhere. We selected Westin because of proximity to the Convention Center. Bad choice, other hotels are within easy walking distance August 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel - Surrounding Area Goes to Bed Early I stayed at the Westin for a convention that the DLCC has been hosting for the past several years. The staff is courteous and friendly, the people of the city are very nice and everyone makes the convention goers feel welcome and at home. Pittsburgh itself is not a late night city, however. I come from NYC and was surprised to find that many of the restaurants and stores in the area close at 6pm. The hotel itself is very nice, but the surrounding area could use a bit more of a night life. July 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy and below average We were given a nice (but rather oddly shaped) suite upgrade as platinum members, but that was about the only positive thing about our stay. First: Please please fix the gap between the door and floor. The noise from the hallway was unbearable, especially when this hotel (as many other) has no soft lock mechanism on the doors. This was truly door-slamming-noise on a level I seldom experience. Further, the rooms are old and worn, and the plumbing in the bathroom loud and very grandma-style. We called housekeeping to get an extra comforter for the bed. Answer? No, we can only offer you a small blanket. Say what? Breakfast area was hectic and the buffet very limited. No selections of cereals, looking for some cheerios or all bran, I could in fact not find any cereals at all. We will not return. August 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable Hotel and Great Location This hotel was a great choice for the conference. Being able to walk to the Strip District of PIttsburgh was fantastic. June 28, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 next>>