The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

  • 1000 Penn Avenue
  • Pittsburgh,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 15222
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 362 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy and below average We were given a nice (but rather oddly shaped) suite upgrade as platinum members, but that was about the only positive thing about our stay. First: Please please fix the gap between the door and floor. The noise from the hallway was unbearable, especially when this hotel (as many other) has no soft lock mechanism on the doors. This was truly door-slamming-noise on a level I seldom experience. Further, the rooms are old and worn, and the plumbing in the bathroom loud and very grandma-style. We called housekeeping to get an extra comforter for the bed. Answer? No, we can only offer you a small blanket. Say what? Breakfast area was hectic and the buffet very limited. No selections of cereals, looking for some cheerios or all bran, I could in fact not find any cereals at all. We will not return. August 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Incorrect reservation I reserved a corner suite with a separate bedroom. I specifically told the hotel reservationist I needed a separate room and we needed the pull out couch. She also said there would be a heavenly-dog-bed put out for us. Upon arrival, there was no pullout couch but a dining table for 4 in the living room area and no heavenly-dog-bed. Then we had to inconveniently move to a room with no separate bedroom that had no face towels. I was very surprised that the reservation was incorrect and reluctance to correct it. At many of the other Starwood hotels, I am also provided with an additional amenity. We ate at the breakfast buffet. The eggs taste like powder and not much selection - I usually look for oatmeal. The server, Randy, was very good. I was very disappointed with this Westin and plan to never return. August 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below the Line A few issues we encountered: 1. Asked for a room with two queen beds and was told there were none. After I had been given my keys, the party next to me was given a room with 2 queen beds. 2. Room smelled poorly. 3. I asked for a roll away bed. Was told when checking in one was on the way. An hour later I asked where the bed was, was told they are checking on it. An hour and a half later, at 10:00 pm, I called again. when I finally received the bed, the staff member apologized and said he had never been contacted until my last inquiry. 4. Never received a confirmation email. I had to call and was finally sent one. When I did receive it omitted the room rate. When I received my bill, I was charged $100.00 more than what I anticipated. My fault for not insiting on having the rate to begin with, lesson learned. November 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a quiet sleeping experience Room very clean. Beds extremely comfortable. My problem is that THE MOST IMPORTANT thing a hotel should provide is a quiet sleeping environment. This hotel does not do so due to poor sound control. Very loud room door slamming, plumbing noises constantly. poor exterior (ie window) sound mitigation. I ended up sleeping with a random sounds generator app running on my iPhone and using ear phones. Once I did that I slept well - but that should be uneccessary in a hotel of this price. May 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by /this hotel has comfort and a great location. I was here for a conference. Everything was convenient and well managed, March 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Foul Smell My recent stay was not very impressive. I requested a Concierge lounge floor room, The front desk "yes-d" me to death and put me in a Preferred guest room (no difference in room) even though I specified a lounge room. The biggest issue was the room, (2424) it had a bad odor, like a gym locker room, they came up and sprayed but the spray keep me up all night. The sheets were wrinkled ( I hope they were fresh!) and the towels were disheveled I was not happy with my stay March 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great facilities and location We stayed during a convention. There was a bit of a miscommunication with our group booking, but the staff cleared it up quickly for us. They continued to be very courteous and pleasant when we checked in and throughout the stay - thank you :) Food was great, excellent breakfast buffet, Fish Market restaurant (relaxed, higher-end dining) in the hotel was excellent - food and portions were worth the prices. Very pleased that we had the use of a complimentary hotel shuttle bus when we all wanted to go for dinner outside of the hotel (goes within a mile of the hotel) - it got us all to the best spots to eat, etc, and since the hotel's location was so great, this was perfect. Theatres, shopping, parks are all close by - everything within walking distance. Convention facilities were great too. Will be happy to recommend and stay again. November 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Warplanner Excellent, just what I expected March 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Adequate Hotel -- nothing special This hotel is at the fringe of the central business district. It is a good choice for people who have business at the convention center or at one of the nearby office towers. The facility is nice enough, but nothing special. I would urge management to do away with the plastic wrapped plastic cups in the rooms. A hotel of this caliber should be using real glasses, even if they cost a little more. Most business travellers associate plastic cups with motels March 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by love Westin Pittsburgh Convention center easy check-in, cheap parking nearby, although valet was affordable (compared to self-park) -- the room was amazing... heavenly bed and shower were to-die-for! Cannot describe how amazed and excited I was about the Westin Workout... absolutely loved it, gym was incredibly good! Will definitely recommend to all friends and family! Location was amazing too, downtown is great, many things to do within short walking distance... also not far from stadiums! October 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Relaxing Room Arrive with a head cold and a 3 day conference ahead. The bed was welcoming, wonderful big steamy shower head and great temp control in the room a big plus. Room service was quick (wish you had a standard chicken noodle soup on the menu during cold and flu season. Bell Hop extremely accomodating putting my luggage in the car instead of checking it so when the confrence was over later that day I had a quick escape. Japenese restaurant was very good. March 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 The rooms smell terrible This is the second time I stay at the Westin in Pittsburgh (basically because all other preferred hotels were sold-out). Like the first time I stayed, the hotel room I was assigned to smelled like college locker rooms. Requested to be changed, to find out the other room smelled exactly the same. The breakfast offered with my platinum status was a joke, ended up getting breakfast at a bagel place around the corner. Never staying at this hotel again August 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great bed but no place to work in this room While the bed was very comfortable, I really wanted to work on my laptop. But this hotel has decided to only provide a low hardwood chair that cannot be raised. The granite desktop was so high above the chair, that I would have to raise my elbows to my shoulders to reach the keys on my laptop (am 5'4"). Terrible design for business travelers. When I asked the front desk for a higher chair, they sent someone up to offer pillows for me to sit on. Why not spring for an adjustable office chair? Really, not that expensive. Also, the room had peeling wallpaper in the bedroom, but that was a minor complaint. Liked the bed, great rest, but I expect my business hotels to provide an adequate working space. Everyday I had a different amount of towels, down to 1 on one day, but the room was always well cleaned. Free internet was very much appreciated. October 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel but not entirely a good experience This is a great hotel with great location. I stayed one night. I told the front desk that I will check out the next day at 12:00, noon, which is the normal checkout hour of the hotel. However, in the morning from 9:00am two times the staff came in and opened the door for cleaning!!!! Even they know i will check out that day!I finally gave up and decided to leave earlier at about 10:50 am and seat in the lobby for the meeting I had at 12:00. May 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rooms on 5th floor I recently stayed in room 501 for the USW conference .During the course of the night (four out of five nights) there was loud banging noises coming from what sounded like someone was beating on the piping systems. I talked with several others staying on the 5th floor and they too were experiencing the noise. It was reported to the front desk by myself and others. Extremely difficult to sleep during the nights once the noise would start. September 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel sucks My room was still dirty had garbage in garbage cans water spots on the bathroom mIrror the floors was still dirty house keeping took our pizza we were eating on and u have to pay for parking in which I was not told about when I made the reservations and we were also told that there was a deposit that we would get back after we checked out and we never did and I will never stay at this hotel again and I will pass the word along to others September 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Valet Parking My friends and I very much enjoyed our stay! The rooms were very comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. That being said we did walk away with a few regrets... the valet experience was a dissappointment! We waited for over an hour to get our car. It was very unorganized. Your staff was very busy trying to accomodate all of us and they remained courteous and helpful through the entire ordeal. Overall the stay was wonderful. March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by my stay awesome hotel with complete comfort and ammenities! March 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Peter from Poland I was expecting Westin standarts but it was a mistake to stay there.Paid $189 per night and got $99 worth of service. I am well travel individual who stayed in many SPG properties world wide. Roms are run down and not very clean.Hair in the bathtub as well as in the bed.Windows were dirty and broken in half shaving mirror.My room was next to the elevator and it was noisy.The best were the bellman friendly and good with directions. March 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Westin Hotels are normally better than this This reveiew is directed at the management of the hotel. I came here with my wife for our anniversary and to attend a concert. I have stayed in many Westin hotels internationally but this fell very short of any expectations! We had towels only for 1 person, no robes or slippers, water for 1, the bath/shower tiles have mildew in the grout. there was onlt one phone and no desk phone. the phone that is in the room has a battery prorblem - it doesn't last. Calling service express means 14 rings and then 9 more to talk to the front desk. Breakfast is the biggest joke!!! Nothing on the buffet and yet it cost $46 for the two of us. When I asked for additional towels so my wife could shower, the ones delivered were stained. Like I said, the Westin is better than this but I can truely say after trhis experience, i would not recommend it to anyone. Truly unfortunate. July 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel... ...but value? Well, it's comfy but pricey! I was unable to book a massage, as the hotel employs no one for this service and relies on two contractors, neither of whom were available during my stay. Also, the TVs do not allow guests to hook up their own laptops to them (the HDMI sockets have actually been disabled), which is very weird. Their free Internet service is numbingly slow anyway. Room service menu is a little limited. October 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This is no Westin.... The rooms smell. The front desk, accustomed to this comment, said they could spray my room with air freshener. This is the only Starwood hotel I have ever stayed at that did not recognize my Platinum Status. I was in town for a wedding. I encouraged my brother and his wife to stay here also. They hated it too. I am very embarrassed that I suggested it. This hotel is pathetic. I dont know if I will ever stay at a Westin again! September 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I have stayed at the Westin Pittsburgh before and this is the first time I have had anything to complain about. My room was not cleaned properly. All the surfaces were smeary and cloudy. The staff was only half nice. I waited over an hour to receive silverware from hotel services before cutting up a plastic cup to use as a fork. I hope that changes are made to improve this since the Westin Hotel Chain is typically very nice. January 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Galaxy Confernce stay My stay at the Westin in Pittsburgh worked out very well – it was convenient for accessing the conference center and “central” to many activities I was part of at the conference. I am so glad you were able to be added to the Galaxy hotel list – for my roommate who has some mobility issues, it was great. Your hotel is beautiful and your staff very accommodating. Room amenities – wi fi, coffee, etc. made the stay great! September 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rooms need improvement Upon arrival I was pleased with the appearance of the lobby and the front desk staff was friendly and efficient. Once I got to my room, I had a whole different opinion. The room stunk of body odor and when I called to switch rooms the front desk allowed me to with no problems. However, the second room also had a weird stinch. It smelled of mildew or musk. The windows didn't open and there was no way to air the room out. The worst part was I heard several other people on the elevator complaining that their rooms stunk too. It was a really bad smell. I have stayed in Westin's before and this particular one was not up to my standards. The sheets were not nice, very low thread count and the towels were awful too. I had better towels in college. I was not happy with my stay. I felt as though I was in a budget hotel and I wasn't paying a budget price. I would not stay here again. July 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Views and Service This is my favorite hotel to stay at in Pittsburgh. It has great service and provides wonderful views. March 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place Stayed 5 nights and enjoyed our stay. Clean and comfortable beds! Staff very helpful!! Needed extension cord, maintainence brought it in 5 minutes. Used shuttle several times! The drivers were so nice and able to answer questions about the city and restaurants etc. Ate dinner one night at the Fish Market, and it was delicious.The only disappointment for us was the walkway to convention center was not open. January 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding staff and large comfy rooms Beautiful large & inviting room, the front desk staff was very welcoming, & the bellman was so friendly & very proud of the hotel's energy saving light system. He took time to explain how it works! The valet was terrific. The shuttle bus driver Bob was awesome. We were visiting Duquesne and not sure where to get dropped off for the open house so he called his wife (an Alum) to get her opinion. So sweet. September 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK, but not much success with SPG I stayed at the Westin Pittsburgh approximately 10 times in early 2011. It was generally on par with other Westins, with two exceptions: 1. Good service: super friendly room service staff 2. Very poor SPG recognition: I was upgraded to a suite maybe once or twice out of 10+ stays as an SPG platinum, much more rarely than in other places. Haven't cracked the code as to what it takes at that property... January 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel Perfect Hotel when working a trade-show at the conventions center. Bridge to hotel was perfect since it was very cold outside. Room was very nice and bed was comfortable. Good location for restaurants across the street. Very good fish restaurant in side hotel. February 5, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 13 next>>