The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

  • 1000 Penn Avenue
  • Pittsburgh,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 15222
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 362 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 Terrific and Accommodating Staff I was very impressed with the staff at this Westin, especially at the front desk. I had made a reservation using cash-and-points, but a back-end snafu on the part of SPG (not the hotel) left me without a confirmed reservation the day of check-in. Even though there was lots of activity (it was the Sunday of a Steeler home game), the front-desk staff spent 20 minutes with me in person and on the phone with SPG to resolve the situation. And the resolution was very much to my satisfaction -- the same number of points I was charged for "cash-and-points" except without the cash, and an upgrade to a King suite. The staff was pleasant, patient, and accommodating in resolving my issue. Highly recommended. September 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Pittsburgh Convention Centre Stayed for the huge volleyball tournament - Pluses - great location; discounted buffet breakfast; did their best to try to encourage good guest behavior (i.e.minimize kids running through halls) Minuses - declined the 'eco' service (not having the room cleaned), but our room still wasn't cleaned the first day - not sure what the perks are supposed to be with that, but we didn't get a clean room or perks; asked about getting the shuttle to Southside Works - which we've done before - and were told they could only drop us a mile or two from there and they don't go all the way because it's too hard to catch a cab back. Well we took a cab in and had no issues getting 2 cabs for our group back to the hotel May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bed comfort the best quality The room had a very comfortable bed, which is important to us. However, the clean bath towels had stains on them--if they could not be bleached out, the towels should have been retired. There is no reasonably close coffee shop on a weekend, and the restaurant does not have full options and is extremely expensive. We asked several times if there was anything else nearby and were told no. In fact, we finally found a Starbucks inside another hotel 2 blocks away--I suppose the staff are not willing to let us know where the shop is, if it's located at a competing hotel? October 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location I had to stay overnight unexpectedly. I enjoyed my stay very much for it was relaxing, the bed was brilliantly comfortable and there was free wi-fi. I was very disappointed that the swimming pool wasn't open and perhaps this should have been the deal breaker to go look for another hotel. The room service meal was over priced but the staff accommodated my allergy very well, so that was really excellent. I have never stayed in another hotel in Pittsburgh, so I can't compare prices. However in relation to prices in other cities, it seemed a little over priced. The decor was corporate bland and at this price I would have expected a little bit of a wow factor...but I had a lovely city view and the coffee in the room was great. December 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best place to stay in Pittsburgh From the valet to the front desk to the concierge, to the linens and bath towels, the Westin Pittsburgh Convention Center is the best place to stay when in Pitts. It is literally a 3 minute walk to the convention center - you never have to go outside if you like. The room was great, the bathroom was great, the customer service from every single employee was outstanding. Would highly recommend staying at the Westin Pittsburgh Convention Center. March 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great rooms and attached to convention center made it easy to attend my conference Room was great however I was surprised that there was no coffee shop, Starbucks etc to get an evening cup of coffee or snack without having to go into the upscale fish restaurant. Also, in the morning, the breakfast/lunch place on the premises didn't open early enough as one day I needed to eat early so I could go to conference center to present and next day I had a 730 AM Amtrak to catch for a 9 hour ride and couldn't even get breakfast in the hotel before I went...They weren't open!! Theo ne meal I did eat in the breakfast place took 1/2 hour to get my omelet! July 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did not meet expectations I was surprisingly underwhelmed by our stay. Our room had peeling wallpaper, the room smelled funny, bedding made haphazardly, and needing some remodeling attention. The beds were comfortable. The lobby was decorated for Christmas. The gift shop sold us a $5.00 can of crushed Pringles. We watched a child, not running, slip on the very slippery tile at the pool, and we paid $62.00 for slightly warm eggs at Penn Station Grille. The location was convenient for the festival we attended at the convention center, but would choose another location to sleep next time. December 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The rooms smell like bad body odor I purposely stayed at the Westin because of the success I have had at their other sites. This hotel is older with popcorn ceilings in the rooms that are chipping. The biggest offense is the smell. Mthe first room 1909 had a horrible body odor smell. We switched rooms only to have a milder but equally offensive smell. I went down tot he front desk again to be told that we should turn the air conditioner on to circulate the air. It didn't work well. My family lives in the area and I doubt we will be staying here again. It's a shame I really like the Westin! November 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The employees were very good to us The check in was quick and painless, we had made a request and it was handled with no issues. This made our injoyable and the service we received was great. We had breakfast at the hotel and that service was also great, our server was pleasent and prompt. The food that was available was plenty and fresh. We visit your hotel at least once a year and has always been the best. We have tried other when your place was unavailable and the service and accomendations have not been the same . That's why we try to come to hotel whenever we are in town from Canada. October 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Beware bathroom noise Overall the hotel was satisfactory however the noise that was emitted when the bathroom toilet was similar to a freight train. We called to complain and immediately an employee was sent to check it out. The noise was till loud and we were not offered a room change. We also experienced loud noises at 5 am which woke us up when the adjoining room flushed their toilet. I was unable to flush during the night in order not to awake my room companion. The best employee was HB the shuttle operator and Tony the shuttle operator. Housekeeping did an amazing job too. July 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great hotel. Horrible cionvention center appreciated: 1. The very helpful and speedy check-in and check-out service 2. Very helpful concierge 3. Friendly, and courteous staff throughout the hotel 4. Clean and attractive rooms and general facilities in the hotel 5. Hotel bar and restaurant food 6. Free wireless I recommend attention to: 1. Room maintenance -- the drain in the tub in 1228 was semi-clogged. I mean to mention it on checkout but was in a rush 2. Signage -- finding one's way to the convention center was less intuitive than I had hoped 3. The convention center itself has MAJOR problems with signage and is very poorly laid out 4. Blocking the stairs in the convention center caused very long waits in the elevators and is poor practice if not illegal. For that reason, I would not recommend this convention center to anyone. I would imagine that these convention center issues have to hurt your hotel's business. March 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another very nice stay Staff are always very pleasant and welcoming. Room service is extremely fast and food is delicious. My only complaint (sorry) is the noise from shower in the room above me. It may just be that the walls are a little too thin. Otherwise, I absolutely recommend this property to those visiting the Pittsburgh area. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel and convenient ot Pitt locations Hotel lives up to0 the Westin reputation. The food and the service was also great. Very convenient, walking distances to many Pitt locations... April 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Only Starwood property I know of that requires a nonrefundable cancellation fee. Besides being annoying, just not practical for frequent business travelers who sometimes have to cancel. Well-run property ought to be able to plan for some cancellations. My room request for a king-sized bed was not able to be met which was disappointing as a Gold member who made his reservation three weeks earlier. Restaurant seemed overwhelmed at breakfast. Long time to get food. Trouble getting my coffee refilled. Seafood restaurant was mobbed for dinner. March 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel pretty good The main problem I had with this hotel was: 1. no fridge or micro wave in room 2. tub drainage while trying to shower... April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel and Staff This was a great experience from the time we drove up to the hotel. The staff greets you with a friendly smile at all times. They cannot do enough for you. The bellman was great. We never had to wait for anything. The room was very comfortable and extremely clean. The gift shop was great and had nice items. The young man that worked there was very helpful and friendly. Check in was easy and a pleasure. Highly recommend. We didn't rate the food, because we did not have time to eat there. The staff was very accommodating. Great location. November 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by staff issue when I made my reservation I included a guest however I did not specify the guest name which was my wife. My wife had her room key and went to the fitness center. when she returned to the room her key didn't work. She went to the front desk and the girl there was "following procedure" and because my wife couldn't provide the correct information or get a hold of me, the clerk wouldn't reactivate the key. finally Anita from security met my wife who was extremely upset by this time to verify my wife's ID which was in the room. If the desk clerk would have suggested this immediately the whole scene would have been avoided. Anita was very kind and even got my wife some fresh fruit because she saw how visibly upset my wife was. Anita's kindness was appreciated. March 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable and Friendly This hotel is in a great location, near entertainment and food. The rooms are quiet and comfortable, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant has great hours, and the pool is fantastic. My one complaint is the cost of wifi. It's been a long time since I had a hotel charge me anything for wifi, let alone $5/day. March 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is not what it used to be. I stay at this hotel two to three times a year. They have changed the suites to eliminate a couch and now have a table. This is less conducive for conferences with colleagues. The work desk in the sleeping area did not have electrical outlets which left me scrambling to charge my phone and computer since turning off the lights in the living area shut off electric to the more convenient outlet. My room was not serviced which left me with no coffee the second day of my stay. Staff did send me a $5.00 coupon to be used at the in house facilities but it had not been my original plan to eat at the hotel. When I mentioned all of this at the desk I was told I would have valet parking credited to my account. The revised folio did not reflect that change. Disappointed in my stay this time. January 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed in accomodations I ordinarily enjoy staying at Westin properties; however, my stay last week at the Westin Convention Center in Pittsburgh was disappointing. My room did not have a working alarm clock or telephone. The toilet made a high-pitched squeal for over 15 minutes after flushing. Although staff were able to replace the clock and the phone, their attempt to fix the toilet only made it worse. The toilet continued to squeal at an almost unbearable level all night. Rooms should be better monitored and maintained by staff for guest comfort. August 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful! I was lost in the city of Pittsburgh and could not find the hotel. The staff helped me not only find the hotel but greeted me with a bottle of water. They could not have been more helpful. the beds and pillow were wonderful- the shampoo- soap- and even the Starbucks coffee were first class. What a wonderful place to stay! March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome associates I want to say I recently stayed at your hotel this past weekend. Was there to see a Steeler's game. Upon my arrival I met Ricky the bellman, Awesome associate. During our stay we met more associates. You could not avoid them, they always said hi and had a smile. Check in was easy. met your security Officer. really professional. I think his name was John. And Linda, House keeping manager. terrific person. Best part of the whole stay was everyone always asked if everything was ok. And of course the Steelers winning! October 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Customer Services NOT 5 Star Westin is known for its stellar appearance and service. This was not my experience in Pittsburgh. I expected more cordial service and directions from the front desk staff. The concierge, bellmen, and housekeeping were stellar. I had no assistance from the front office staff . March 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service at the Westin Level This was my second stay at the Pittsburgh Westin and it was an absolute pleasure thanks to the manager, Dina Gaudio. We had some issues with our room reservation and type of room during our first stay that was so disappointing that I did not want to stay there again. Dina went out of her way to check on our reservation and to ensure we were very comfortable during our stay. Dina's customer orientation, attentiveness to assuring the Westin brand, professional and warmth made our stay exceptional. thank you! November 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent place to sleep I've been a near-weekly guest at this hotel for over a year. It has undergone a soft makeover in the past year, replacing carpets, etc. Best part of the hotel is the Heavenly Bed, plus they have lots of HD channels on the TV. Worst part has to be in internet, which crawls even when selecting the paid option. Regarding upgrades, they're tough to come by. It appears they try to sprinkle them around , but even as a frequent guest, I've only gotten a suite 3-4 times (twice on one night stays) out of 50+ stays. January 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience! The Westin in Pittsburgh is one of our favorites! Always dependable, the hotel and staff have never let us down. The front desk staff go out of their way to make your requests happen and the amenities are the best. We will continue to stay at The Westin when we return to Pittsburgh. March 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lost it's Luster Upon arrival at the check in time of 3:00 PM, was told the room was not ready yet--waited two long (2) hours and was given a single complimentary drink to make up for it. Then I had paid extra to upgraded to the Junior Suite --the room was NOT at all like the pictures, no cozy living room instead a dingy room with a dirty table and 4 worn out chairs. The bathroom was NOT oversized it was small with a little tub and broken fixtures. So disappointed I would NEVER stay there again and want my money back! March 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by In great need of repair Unfortunately, this property does not live up to the usual standards of the Westin brand. Old and worn, it needs a makeover. I always search out a Westin when I can, and being a Pittsburgh native was surprised by it's condition when I needed a hotel for the evening. Tub was old and cracked, didn't drain properly (was however fixed when we called maintenance), shower heads were rusty, carpet was worn, and beds were substandard at best. Would definitely search out another property in the future. October 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff Cold, Rooms Average Front Desk Staff very open and helping. Rest of staff cold and not at all positive. Most look like they do not enjoy working at the Westin. This made my wife and I wondering what goes on behind the front we see. Rooms cold feeling, not at all living up to the Westin name. Decorating is old. Bathrooms need to be updated. Overall, we wished we would have stayed elsewhere. We selected Westin because of proximity to the Convention Center. Bad choice, other hotels are within easy walking distance August 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel - Surrounding Area Goes to Bed Early I stayed at the Westin for a convention that the DLCC has been hosting for the past several years. The staff is courteous and friendly, the people of the city are very nice and everyone makes the convention goers feel welcome and at home. Pittsburgh itself is not a late night city, however. I come from NYC and was surprised to find that many of the restaurants and stores in the area close at 6pm. The hotel itself is very nice, but the surrounding area could use a bit more of a night life. July 24, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13 next>>