The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

  • 1000 Penn Avenue
  • Pittsburgh,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 15222
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 343 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was very friendly & accomodating This was the seond year in a row that I stayed at the Westin and I am always impressed with the friendliness of the staff, especially the house keeping staff. My sister and I participated in the Pitsburgh Marathon events and after our run the staff were so interested in how we did in the run & were just very friendly and interested in us as the guest of the hotel. The housekeeping staff were also very accomodating with our check out and allowing us ample time to get our stuff together to check out of our room. We were pressed for time in checking out because of the run, but the staff made it seem effortless and easy for us. Thanks for a great experience. May 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and very comfortable The hotel is located with-in walking distance to all the venues and things to see in Pittsburgh. Room was spacious and staff was very accommodating . April 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly beautiful As someone who has travelled around the country for conventions, I've stayed in my share of 'convention hotels'. This hotel rates right up there with the top of the list. The facilities were magnificent, the rooms were well appointed, if not a touch dated, and hopefully a renovation is in the future. My only complaint was with our bathroom. There was a slight smell to it, mostly of mildew. I'm not sure what that was all about. The only other thing I could complain about was the loudness of the shower of the room next to us. Every time they turned the shower on, it was like thunder on our side. All in all, though, it was a great, and convenient place to stay. July 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cleanliness an issue. My daughter and I stayed two nights...my biggest complaint is the cleanliness of the bathroom or lack thereof....hairs were found on the back of the toilet seat! I did find the beds comfortable, but the linens seemed somewhat dated and shabby. Moreover, in this day and age, no frig in the room...an inconvenience. Also, I'll admit I did not do my due diligence before arrival, however, the front desk should not only have mentioned its in-house restaurants , but those eateries adjacent to the hotel, in the concourse. While the buffet breakfast at the Penn City Grille was nothing to write home about, the chicken Caesar salad at the Original Fish Market was excellent. March 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location Hotel is in a great location - within walking distance of the two outdoor stadiums and a ton of good restaurants. Nice bar in the restaurant which connects with the hotel. Check-in was a little slow (only two employees at the desk at 2:00). They were pleasant, though. I cannot understand why any hotel would not have complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning. Consider that "lesser" hotels offer free breakfasts. That alone is keeping a few chains in business. Although the Westin was a nice hotel, there comes a point when it is no longer worth it. A couple little things like that make a world of difference. October 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Hotel Review I stayed at your hotel during the APHON conference. Overall, it was a very good experience. The bed was comfortable. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The gym was amazing! I called the front desk a few hours after arrival to let them know that the room was not clean. There was an unusual odor and I found hair in the bathroom and around the tub. They assured me it would be taken care of....but it never was. The hair remained around the tub the entire time I was there. So, I never felt that the hotel room was cleaned properly. If I was spending less money, I wouldn't have expected more but the hotel is very costly and cleanliness should not have been a concern. October 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Long lines for elevators and valet parking The staff was very friendly and helpful. However, it was overly hot in both the hotel and convention center. The hotel is attached to the convention center by way of a walking bridge. That's nice. You don't have to worry about traffic or weather. However, when you get to the end of the bridge you have to take an elevator to the convention center. There are only two elevators, so there are long waiting lines. If you are physically able you can take stairs, but it is 4 sets of stairs to next floor. Then when your event lets out, you have to go back down those elevators to get back to hotel. Once at hotel, I waited 45 minutes or more for an elevator to get to my room. After checking out of hotel, I waited over 45 minutes to get my car from the valet. March 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Adequate Hotel, Disappointing Service The hotel itself is perfectly adequate. The rooms are what you've likely come to expect from a Category 3-5 Westin, with comfortable beds and great showers. The restaurant is also very good and well above standard hotel food. The Fish Market has a constantly changing menu with great fresh fish options and decent sushi. Where this hotel falls flat is in its service. The first few stays are fine, but it is certainly frustrating to be checking in with the same representative for the 10th time - who you recognize and who's name you know - and are asked whether this is your first time at the hotel. They definitely need to up their game when it comes to their frequent fliers. November 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Weekend Stay The first day the hot tub was not working, which was the primary reason we stayed there. The next morning the hot tub was working, but the steam room was not working. Still could not get the full pool/spa experience. There were lights in the locker room with the trim rings that were falling down. The pool handles were all corroded and green with rust. When the sauna was hot, there was no working light all weekend. There were no towels in the locker room. The TV guide in the welcome binder had the wrong channel guide for the current channels available. On a positive note, the front desk was very friendly and the restaurant was some of the best food we've ever eaten. Our waitress was excellent at the Fish Market. February 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff - Marvin and Tony We visited from Upper Michigan and stayed at the Westin for five days in early March. Marvin the doorman helped us multiple times with suggestions on attractions to visit, directions, great restaurant recommendations, transport to airport and helped us rent a car for a day of sightseeing. Every morning started with Marvin asking about our plan for the day, and helping us to arrange things. He's a treasure to this hotel! Tony the shuttle driver was just as friendly and helpful - both these gentlemen went far above and beyond what we expected and helped us have a great stay. We were beyond impressed! March 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Terrific and Accommodating Staff I was very impressed with the staff at this Westin, especially at the front desk. I had made a reservation using cash-and-points, but a back-end snafu on the part of SPG (not the hotel) left me without a confirmed reservation the day of check-in. Even though there was lots of activity (it was the Sunday of a Steeler home game), the front-desk staff spent 20 minutes with me in person and on the phone with SPG to resolve the situation. And the resolution was very much to my satisfaction -- the same number of points I was charged for "cash-and-points" except without the cash, and an upgrade to a King suite. The staff was pleasant, patient, and accommodating in resolving my issue. Highly recommended. September 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Fitness Center! I was pleasantly surprised that the fitness center was large with plenty of equipment options, towels, filtered water and even work out gear that you could rent if you forgot anything, The most surprising element of the fitness center, however, was the mini-breakfast bar where I had choice of 2 smoothie shots (loved the mango) and could make a yougurt parfait or custom trail mix. What a wonderful way to start my day! Thank you. March 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Pittsburgh Convention Centre Stayed for the huge volleyball tournament - Pluses - great location; discounted buffet breakfast; did their best to try to encourage good guest behavior (i.e.minimize kids running through halls) Minuses - declined the 'eco' service (not having the room cleaned), but our room still wasn't cleaned the first day - not sure what the perks are supposed to be with that, but we didn't get a clean room or perks; asked about getting the shuttle to Southside Works - which we've done before - and were told they could only drop us a mile or two from there and they don't go all the way because it's too hard to catch a cab back. Well we took a cab in and had no issues getting 2 cabs for our group back to the hotel May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best place to stay in Pittsburgh From the valet to the front desk to the concierge, to the linens and bath towels, the Westin Pittsburgh Convention Center is the best place to stay when in Pitts. It is literally a 3 minute walk to the convention center - you never have to go outside if you like. The room was great, the bathroom was great, the customer service from every single employee was outstanding. Would highly recommend staying at the Westin Pittsburgh Convention Center. March 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel and convenient ot Pitt locations Hotel lives up to0 the Westin reputation. The food and the service was also great. Very convenient, walking distances to many Pitt locations... April 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel pretty good The main problem I had with this hotel was: 1. no fridge or micro wave in room 2. tub drainage while trying to shower... April 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another very nice stay Staff are always very pleasant and welcoming. Room service is extremely fast and food is delicious. My only complaint (sorry) is the noise from shower in the room above me. It may just be that the walls are a little too thin. Otherwise, I absolutely recommend this property to those visiting the Pittsburgh area. March 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great hotel. Horrible cionvention center appreciated: 1. The very helpful and speedy check-in and check-out service 2. Very helpful concierge 3. Friendly, and courteous staff throughout the hotel 4. Clean and attractive rooms and general facilities in the hotel 5. Hotel bar and restaurant food 6. Free wireless I recommend attention to: 1. Room maintenance -- the drain in the tub in 1228 was semi-clogged. I mean to mention it on checkout but was in a rush 2. Signage -- finding one's way to the convention center was less intuitive than I had hoped 3. The convention center itself has MAJOR problems with signage and is very poorly laid out 4. Blocking the stairs in the convention center caused very long waits in the elevators and is poor practice if not illegal. For that reason, I would not recommend this convention center to anyone. I would imagine that these convention center issues have to hurt your hotel's business. March 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bed comfort the best quality The room had a very comfortable bed, which is important to us. However, the clean bath towels had stains on them--if they could not be bleached out, the towels should have been retired. There is no reasonably close coffee shop on a weekend, and the restaurant does not have full options and is extremely expensive. We asked several times if there was anything else nearby and were told no. In fact, we finally found a Starbucks inside another hotel 2 blocks away--I suppose the staff are not willing to let us know where the shop is, if it's located at a competing hotel? October 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location I had to stay overnight unexpectedly. I enjoyed my stay very much for it was relaxing, the bed was brilliantly comfortable and there was free wi-fi. I was very disappointed that the swimming pool wasn't open and perhaps this should have been the deal breaker to go look for another hotel. The room service meal was over priced but the staff accommodated my allergy very well, so that was really excellent. I have never stayed in another hotel in Pittsburgh, so I can't compare prices. However in relation to prices in other cities, it seemed a little over priced. The decor was corporate bland and at this price I would have expected a little bit of a wow factor...but I had a lovely city view and the coffee in the room was great. December 25, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by great rooms and attached to convention center made it easy to attend my conference Room was great however I was surprised that there was no coffee shop, Starbucks etc to get an evening cup of coffee or snack without having to go into the upscale fish restaurant. Also, in the morning, the breakfast/lunch place on the premises didn't open early enough as one day I needed to eat early so I could go to conference center to present and next day I had a 730 AM Amtrak to catch for a 9 hour ride and couldn't even get breakfast in the hotel before I went...They weren't open!! Theo ne meal I did eat in the breakfast place took 1/2 hour to get my omelet! July 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did not meet expectations I was surprisingly underwhelmed by our stay. Our room had peeling wallpaper, the room smelled funny, bedding made haphazardly, and needing some remodeling attention. The beds were comfortable. The lobby was decorated for Christmas. The gift shop sold us a $5.00 can of crushed Pringles. We watched a child, not running, slip on the very slippery tile at the pool, and we paid $62.00 for slightly warm eggs at Penn Station Grille. The location was convenient for the festival we attended at the convention center, but would choose another location to sleep next time. December 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The rooms smell like bad body odor I purposely stayed at the Westin because of the success I have had at their other sites. This hotel is older with popcorn ceilings in the rooms that are chipping. The biggest offense is the smell. Mthe first room 1909 had a horrible body odor smell. We switched rooms only to have a milder but equally offensive smell. I went down tot he front desk again to be told that we should turn the air conditioner on to circulate the air. It didn't work well. My family lives in the area and I doubt we will be staying here again. It's a shame I really like the Westin! November 9, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable and Friendly This hotel is in a great location, near entertainment and food. The rooms are quiet and comfortable, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant has great hours, and the pool is fantastic. My one complaint is the cost of wifi. It's been a long time since I had a hotel charge me anything for wifi, let alone $5/day. March 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The employees were very good to us The check in was quick and painless, we had made a request and it was handled with no issues. This made our injoyable and the service we received was great. We had breakfast at the hotel and that service was also great, our server was pleasent and prompt. The food that was available was plenty and fresh. We visit your hotel at least once a year and has always been the best. We have tried other when your place was unavailable and the service and accomendations have not been the same . That's why we try to come to hotel whenever we are in town from Canada. October 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Beware bathroom noise Overall the hotel was satisfactory however the noise that was emitted when the bathroom toilet was similar to a freight train. We called to complain and immediately an employee was sent to check it out. The noise was till loud and we were not offered a room change. We also experienced loud noises at 5 am which woke us up when the adjoining room flushed their toilet. I was unable to flush during the night in order not to awake my room companion. The best employee was HB the shuttle operator and Tony the shuttle operator. Housekeeping did an amazing job too. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful! I was lost in the city of Pittsburgh and could not find the hotel. The staff helped me not only find the hotel but greeted me with a bottle of water. They could not have been more helpful. the beds and pillow were wonderful- the shampoo- soap- and even the Starbucks coffee were first class. What a wonderful place to stay! March 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Customer Services NOT 5 Star Westin is known for its stellar appearance and service. This was not my experience in Pittsburgh. I expected more cordial service and directions from the front desk staff. The concierge, bellmen, and housekeeping were stellar. I had no assistance from the front office staff . March 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Only Starwood property I know of that requires a nonrefundable cancellation fee. Besides being annoying, just not practical for frequent business travelers who sometimes have to cancel. Well-run property ought to be able to plan for some cancellations. My room request for a king-sized bed was not able to be met which was disappointing as a Gold member who made his reservation three weeks earlier. Restaurant seemed overwhelmed at breakfast. Long time to get food. Trouble getting my coffee refilled. Seafood restaurant was mobbed for dinner. March 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel and Staff This was a great experience from the time we drove up to the hotel. The staff greets you with a friendly smile at all times. They cannot do enough for you. The bellman was great. We never had to wait for anything. The room was very comfortable and extremely clean. The gift shop was great and had nice items. The young man that worked there was very helpful and friendly. Check in was easy and a pleasure. Highly recommend. We didn't rate the food, because we did not have time to eat there. The staff was very accommodating. Great location. November 9, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 next>>