The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

  • 1000 Penn Avenue
  • Pittsburgh,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 15222
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 431 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Vanilla you have a very non-descript hotel - very vanilla February 24, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Gave it a poor rating The web site told me Valet parking is $22. and was changed $24. The hotel and web site states there is a walkway to the Pittsburgh Convention Center which is correct, it just isn't unlocked to get into the Center. The hotel said it was the Pittsburgh Conventions Center doing. Hmmmmm Why advertise what you can't give to people. Had to go to the front desk to contact it because we didn't get any instructions in the room on how to phone them. The room was cold unless we put the thermostat on 79. For a little higher than average hotel we only got a small bottle of lotion, not the shampoo and conditioner and no shower cap. I got three different check out times 12:00 on the web site, 3:00 on a letter sent to me, and 2:00 when I ask the desk. I would not recommend this hotel and will not go there again. February 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Unable to park at hotel If you have a larger truck or SUV, plan on parking somewhere else and walking because hotel cannot accommodate larger vehicles! This was not clarified on website under accommodations! Paid too much too park and then had to walk to hotel. They had a shuttle bus, but good luck ever seeing it. There was a fight right outside our door after 1130 at night and it took the security guards a half hour or more to diffuse the situation! Too much money for a night of no sleep and no parking! February 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overpriced Older Property What more can I say? This hotel has not been renovated for some time. The elevators take forever, the rooms have a not-so-nice smell, and everything is a little worn. There's no club and they don't do anything to make up for it. The restaurant was empty, so I didn't bother checking it out. There are, however, a lot of good restaurants nearby, and it's right across the street from the convention center. January 20, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by SPG Members Look Elsewhere I have stayed at this hotel consistently over the past three years and have accumulated over a hundred nights in this hotel. Over the course of the last year I have had consistently bad customer service, trouble attaining rooms, and have not received a single upgrade at this hotel. Some of the in-room wait staff, concierge and valet staff are the friendliest and most accommodating people on the planet however, management and the front desk associates are the worst I have ever seen at a Starwood property. If you are a SPG member this is not the property to stay at. Sure, it is convenient in terms of location but you are going to give up a lot in amenities that you work so hard to get. Specifically, in terms of upgrades and difficulty in getting pleasant assistance in anything you need at this hotel. If you are a SPG member looking for your amenities, look to another hotel. Upgrades are never available. Management says it's because of occupancy rates but I have been at this Westin in the winter months when conventions are at the minimum and have still not received an upgrade. Secondly, the customer service and front desk personnel are consistently unfriendly and unpleasant to the hotel guests. At one point this year, I actually witnessed a manager yelling at a guest in front of a line of other guests at the front counter. This is totally unacceptable and the customer service at this hotel is atrocious to say the least. I would not recommend this hotel as the service has been subpar for that of a Starwood property (for some time now) and it offers absolutely no benefits to its SPG members besides your free bottle of water. Out of all the Starwood properties that I have stayed at over the course of the last three years, this hotel is by far the worst when it comes to courtesy at the front desk / from management and ease of booking. SPG members I would encourage you to look at other Starwood properties in the area as they offer better customer service, more availability for room upgrades and additional amenities. Based on these continued experiences, I will not stay at this hotel again. June 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would never go back there again I booked this hotel because it had a great star rating. Well although the hotel was nice, I was so disappointed about the staff! Didn't feel welcome there. There was a volleyball tournament somewhere so alot of the teams stayed there! There were so noisy and rude and the parents were just as bad. I called the front desk twice the first night we were there because the girls were bouncing volleyballs in the hallway, talking so loud, running through the halls and the parents didn't say a word or whoever the chaperones were. The front desk said they would send security up but I heard them for another hour before it finally stopped and the second night was just as bad I didn't sleep. I understand there are things going on but when someone goes for a getaway you should get rest. I didn't sleep well either night. Then I told them at the desk when I checked out about how my stay was not pleasant the lady at the front desk just looked at me! I feel something should've been done. I've never stayed in a hotel that was that noisy!!!! Never will go back there May 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible business hotel. It's a trap for loyal SPG member As a platinum SPG member 5 years in the running, I have stayed in numerous SPG properties and have always been a fan of the Westin brand. I believe the Westin Convention Center in Pittsburgh is perhaps the worst Westin Hotel I have ever set my foot in. First, as a platinum member, I have never ever been upgraded for 8+ weeks in the Westin Convention Center. Not only did the hotel not upgrade me, I was "down graded" from King Size bed, which my company usually reserve for me, to rooms with two double beds. I tried to voice out my complain the first time around, but received no attention from the hotel staff. Due to my hectic work schedule, I was too tired to complain again. Second, the cleanliness of the room is very questionable. 90% of the rooms I stayed in smelled. The higher the floors (particularly in the SPG member floors) the stronger the smell. There's one night I had to call the janitor to come in a spray the air freshener twice. Five minutes later, the smell crept back in. I don't think the hotel ever bothers to clean the carpet. The scent just soaked in the carpet and the walls. It got so bad that I had to buy a Febreze and freshen up my room. Finally, what can I say about the food? While I enjoyed the service from the staffs who delivered my food, the food was some of the worst hotel food I have ever tasted. It's really a shame that I had to work through most of the dinners. Otherwise I would rather each McKinsey over Westin's food. Call me a sucker for SPG points, but everyone has a limit. I hope someone at SPG corporate reads this review. I really hope that someone can do something about the quality of this Westin Hotel. Please don't let it tarnish the Westin brand. February 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by MIDWESTERN HOSPITALITY AT ITS VERY BEST OVERALL IMPRESSION: When it comes right down to it, for me, it is always about the service and this property scores very high marks. From a pre-arrival personalised correspondence from the guest services manager through to the wait staff in the dining room, I felt everyone was truly concerned that I was satisfied and happy. SPG RECOGNITION: Extraordinary. Upgraded to a Luxury Suite on the 26th floor. Premium Champagne and a lovely fruit plate as in-room amenity. Platinum breakfast is a la carte (no buffet) in the Penn Cafe. THE ROOM: Absolutely enormous with a dining table for eight and 4 picture windows overlooking the Pittsburgh skyline. Typical Westin decor. LOCATION: Attached to the Convention Center and literally two minutes from the Amtrak Station in the heart of downtown. Many neat dining venues right along Penn Avenue within seconds of the hotel. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: Special hats off to Randy in the Penn Cafe who approaches his work with absolute zeal and heartfelt concern for his guests. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: I prefer a grab-and-go buffet breakfast as I am usually in a hurry and the allowance for Platinum Amenity Breakfast of USD20 is a bit low for the a la carte menu provided. Whatever the allowance is, it should at least cover an entree, juice and coffee… which this amount does not. I also take off points for the absence of a Westin Lounge - as it is a basic brand standard, every property should be made to have one. ONE THING TO KNOW: The hotel is currently under renovation so lobby level and F&B outlets are in a bit of a state but, of course, this is only temporary and can only mean an even better Pittsburgh option in the future. February 4, 2015
2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>