The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

  • 1000 Penn Avenue
  • Pittsburgh,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 15222
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 409 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Choice Staff was attentive and very friendly. Room was clean, cool, and smelled nice! Only complaint was there was no complimentary breakfast and the breakfast on sight was way overpriced. If you don't mind the price the food is good. I contracted Strep Throat while in Pittsburgh and the front desk sent me up complimentary ice cream just to be nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel. View is beautiful too. August 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible business hotel. It's a trap for loyal SPG member As a platinum SPG member 5 years in the running, I have stayed in numerous SPG properties and have always been a fan of the Westin brand. I believe the Westin Convention Center in Pittsburgh is perhaps the worst Westin Hotel I have ever set my foot in. First, as a platinum member, I have never ever been upgraded for 8+ weeks in the Westin Convention Center. Not only did the hotel not upgrade me, I was "down graded" from King Size bed, which my company usually reserve for me, to rooms with two double beds. I tried to voice out my complain the first time around, but received no attention from the hotel staff. Due to my hectic work schedule, I was too tired to complain again. Second, the cleanliness of the room is very questionable. 90% of the rooms I stayed in smelled. The higher the floors (particularly in the SPG member floors) the stronger the smell. There's one night I had to call the janitor to come in a spray the air freshener twice. Five minutes later, the smell crept back in. I don't think the hotel ever bothers to clean the carpet. The scent just soaked in the carpet and the walls. It got so bad that I had to buy a Febreze and freshen up my room. Finally, what can I say about the food? While I enjoyed the service from the staffs who delivered my food, the food was some of the worst hotel food I have ever tasted. It's really a shame that I had to work through most of the dinners. Otherwise I would rather each McKinsey over Westin's food. Call me a sucker for SPG points, but everyone has a limit. I hope someone at SPG corporate reads this review. I really hope that someone can do something about the quality of this Westin Hotel. Please don't let it tarnish the Westin brand. February 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some room for improvement The elevators are horrible. I consistently lose 5+ minutes in the morning waiting for one to come, then find that it stops at every floor on the way down. Multiple weeks I'm missing things such as shampoo or body soap in the shower, which would be fine, but with the 'green option' requires that I call the front desk for help. This is a major pain point. August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Excellent Visit As a staff member for Anthrocon, I have been graced with the chance to stay at the Westin Convention Center since the event moved into Pittsburgh. The rooms are always clean and the staff always friendly, often remembering myself and others who visit them only once a year. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for Pitts business Centrally located and very accommodating July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall very nice stay. The only issue we had was with the Penn Restaurant. I think there should have been more anticipation of the number of guests so that the time spent there would have been better managed. We waited an hour for a bowl of oatmeal and then didn't get milk or cream with it. It was so late, we had to leave so didn't even get to eat it and were charged $31.00! July 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Consideration from review It was as usual a great stay, with one exception. Your elevators obviously need some work. During a large portion of the stay it seemed like only a single shaft was working and with the numbers of guests at this facility that is not a good situation. The elevators were even taken off line one evening for repairs. There was at least one operating by our return but still not a good situation. I do expect to return, this event wouldn't change my mind it is a nice facility. August 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Improvements needed This hotel needs some upgrading and in particular needs improvement delivering meals to groups over 300, which I do not consider a large conference. There were not enough servers to handle the requirements and dietary restrictions were difficult to accommodate. Locations of some of the serving set ups were not the right area for the size of the group and this was the case in several sessions. Oval tables work much better than round tables for both general sessions and meals. They facilitate better conversation and better viewing for the audience. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convention Meals were excellent Our group used the meeting rooms and food service. I was very pleased with both the quality of the food served and the presentation. We had two great breakfasts that were very fresh and well stocked, we had one box lunch one buffet lunch and one plated lunch. All were excellent in their class. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great location My flight was significantly delayed and I didn't arrive until 3 am in the morning. I was worried that my room wouldn't be ready, and that noone would be there. But I was pleasantly surprised that the front desk employee was attentive and happy to see me, he got me to my room in less than 5 minutes. The room was clean and what I expected from Westin. The view from my room was spectacular. Location is close to several museums and attractions and of course the convention center. One criticism is that I tried to call to confirm my room for my arrival when I was waiting for my delayed flight, and It was almost impossible to get to the front desk without getting through endless list of directories, and options. Took me almost 15 mins, after I called 4 different numbers, and one getting directed to reservation person in Canada, and she couldn't forward my call to the hotel directly, until finally I got connected to the front desk, and once I did, it took less than 30 seconds to get it taken care off. Chris June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by It was...okay. Overall, it wasn't an unpleasant experience to stay at the Westin in Pittsburgh. The staff at the desk were very pleasant and enthusiastic to help. The facilities overall were nice, and bore the brunt of the con admirably. However, the room itself could have used some work... The outlets built into the desk at the far end of the room were inexplicably wired into the lightswitch near the door. Because of this, we didn't notice that our devices didn't charge at all overnight after we turned out the lights, and we ended up with dead phones the next day. Not good when you need the phone to coordinate meeting up at various points in the day. In addition, despite having a key card in the slot near the door, the lightswitch in the bathroom did not work for most of our stay. In the rare event we were able to get the lights to turn on, we left them on for fear that if we turned them off, we'd have to shower by flashlight again. This kind of negated the hotel's attempts to save money on electricity with their frustrating key-in-the-lightswitch system. Speaking of the bathroom: We were supplied with fresh, new towels every day, but it seems like the housekeeping staff didn't pay attention to renewing much else. There was a day when we actually ran out of toilet tissue, and were down to tiny slivers of soap. For a two-bed room with only three people in it, that seems strangely "down to the wire". Our damp, used towels were left draped on the tub where we designated to discard them, and not removed from the room. The bathroom did not have a fan, meaning it was perpetually damp for hours after showering, which is undoubtedly why there was visible rust and peeling paint in several places. On the whole, it was decent, but I can't say it was the greatest hotel stay I'd ever had. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin, Pittsburgh Very good hotel with professional staff. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant Stay I stayed at Westin during a conference and was pleased with the hotel comfort and amenities. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Slept very well The king size bed was extremely comfortable. I liked the room. It was a large room with everything we needed. The downside was that the room smelled terrible upon entering. It smelled like a gym/locker room. From what I could tell it was coming from the bathroom (possibly the shower curtain). Everything "seemed" clean so not sure where the smell was coming from but it hit us every time we enter the room (which consequently was next to the bathroom). July 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, Thin Room Walls I enjoyed almost all of my experience at this hotel, except perhaps the part that matters the most - the sleeping part. Let's get the worst out of the way - the guest room walls are paper-thin, perhaps the thinnest I've ever experienced. I could hear, word-for-word, the conversations of my neighbors until at least 1am. As for everything else, it's very nice. The conference food was quite good, I liked the decor, and the location really can't be beat. I enjoyed taking a run underneath the convention center and out along the River to Point State Park. If I knew I would not have any neighbors, I would definitely stay here again. But since I don't think I can have that guarantee, I'll likely look elsewhere in the future. July 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worse Stay Weekend! The Hotel Staff has a Lack of Knowledge about Hotel Features including telling us the A/C wouldn't work unless Room Key was inserted into slot in Light Switch so room was Hot! Was embarrassed when had to call Front Desk because the Toilet Backed Up and Almost Overflowed causing Maintenance to come to our room and Plunge! Slow Draining Shower was another Problem along with Dip in the Center of the Mattress causing me NOT to Recommend this Hotel. Stay Away! July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Elevator service The only drawback to the visit was the inadequate elevator service for handling a large conference. Slow response and overcrowding was due to conference attendees being on the same schedule but it was unclear if all five elevators were working at times. August 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by User Group Stay Hotel was well staffed and neat. Food was well prepared. Hotel Staff was friendly and professional. My only issues were the elevators were not operational for a day or so, and the mattress in my room was broke down on the side away from the wall. August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best full service hotel in Pittsburgh One of the longest stays at a hotel that I have come to love over the past few months. Firstly, the location is the key, centrally located at the intersection of Penn and 10th st. Its a quick 10 minute walk to the intersection of 6th and Penn where you find a choice of restaurants and bars and close to Heinz field and PNC park. Close enough to the action but far away to have a peaceful night! The hotel is associated with the convention center,so advance booking is a must as they get sold out fast. The hotel has 'the best' gym in the city with a dedicated workout floor, swimming pool and good amount of the usual suspects, treadmills, cross trainers etc. They also have trainers, however I have not used them.There are a bunch of restaurants inside the hotel, including the Original Fish market.There is a free shuttle that can take you anywhere downtown and operates from 6am to 1130 pm, so you don't need to rent a car when you stay here. Cabs/shuttles/ buses to and fro the airport are plenty, so if you are flying in don't waste your money on idling your rental car and paying $22/day. The check in and out is pretty efficient the staff is extremely friendly and professional. The city views are definitely better than the river view (which is actually not much of a view). Try to get a room away from the elevators if you end up staying over the weekends. January 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Most was very goood We woke up the first morning to no water. Took about an hour for this to be corrected. Staff was pleasant and apologetic, but were late getting to the conference. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience I've had to stay in the Westin Pittsburgh over a dozen times this year, and it's been a very pleasant experience. The staff is attentive and friendly, the facilities are nice, the beds are amazing. At this time (December 2011), there are a few places where they could improve, as well. The food prices are a bit high in the Pittsburgh Grille. I can't afford to eat at the hotel for all three meals of the day on the per diem that I'm budgeted. The drink prices are too high at the Original Fish Market., as well. I'd like to see more craft beers available and a few more inexpensive-ish, healthy menu choices. My last gripe would be that the gym closes too early. Overall, this hotel is excellent and they do a lot of things right. December 4, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by July 2014 Westin Pittsburgh Stay The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh is a stunner architecturally. The common spaces are well-appointed and light-infused. Direct connection to the adjacent DL Convention Center is a plus. Staff responsiveness and attitudes are superb. Obviously, the staff are well-trained in customer service and they embrace it as a mission. Special shout-outs to the bell hops and especially the bell captain who jump-started my car. A special nod to the shuttle driver Tim who patiently answered my questions about Pittsburgh and life in general. I did not eat in the hotel restaurants as my conference in DLCC included meals. My room was average. I appreciated the hot water and the "rain" shower head. There were a lot of noises from the corridor and adjacent rooms. The bath tub was slow running. July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great rooms but other aspects needed some improvement I visited the Westin hotel in Pittsburgh for the annual AnthroCon convention and, although the rooms were fantastic, the hotel's other features required some slight improvement... The pool's temperature did not feel properly regulated, the hot tub was completely out of commission, the gym's changing room did not feel properly maintained and the cleaning staff was not very prompt (probably due to the convention though) to name a few. On the other hand, the rest of the staff was very friendly and they were able to quickly answer all of my questions. In closing, although I am not a fan of Downtown Pittsburgh, I highly recommend the Westin Convention Hotel if you are attending one of the many conventions held in that area or just traveling in general. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is great! The location of hotel is great and the room has great comfort! July 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Improvement Older Hotel with some remodeling. Main problem is paper-thin walls that transmit a lot of noise from plumbing, hallways and especially adjoining rooms. Housekeeping staff is good and restaurant was adequate. My convention was well-catered and food was OK. July 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The hotel was awful Could not get the room I booked. Room had no refrigerator. Room was hot due to energy saving and made sleeping in a hot room unpleasant. July 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Conveniently located, needs updating This Westin is great if you're attending a convention, unfortunately SPG parent company should invest in updating the rooms. The staff are great! July 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Pittsburgh Nice downtown location, but I expected better. The towels were musty (obviously laying around in water too much), the phone was from the mid 1990's and didn't work, and the vanity was chipped. When I asked if I could have a late checkout, I was told no, even though it was only an extra hour (from noon to 1 pm). July 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs some improvement I am a big SPG fan but this was my first stay at the Westin in downtown Pittsburgh. Location is great but I guess I checked in after the "furry" convention in town and my bathroom smelled of bleach and disinfectant. Secondly the flush on the toilet would hiss for 10 minutes before finally dying down. I usually like Westins a lot but this was definitely sub-par. Could have been a better stay. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! This hotel was excellent! I booked a room for an overnight stay because I was going to a concert at the Consol Energy Center. I don't live in Pittsburgh, so I chose this hotel. They offered rate for government employees which I appreciated. The clerks at check in and check out were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel was immaculate. The room was super clean and modern. The bed linens and pillows were awesome. None of that old polyester quilt action here! We used the free hotel shuttle a few times. The gentleman that drove us was so pleasant and pointed sites out to us. He took us to the concert and picked us up! That service alone would make me want to book here again! The parking was right under the hotel and reasonable. The only complaint I had was the room temperature. We weren't able to get it cool enough for our tastes. It seemed really stuffy in there, no matter how low we set the thermostat. Other than that, the bathroom was clean and updated. Great shower pressure and temperature. All around great visit! May 14, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>