The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

  • 1000 Penn Avenue
  • Pittsburgh,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 15222
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 422 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by .Great Facilities The hotel can handle large conferences with ease. The rooms were nice but, as I have experienced with several hotels, the HVAC lacks good control. Regardless of the thermostat setting the room could npot maintain temperature. They have this cute little slot where you place your room card that allows you to control the room temp. It didn't matter because even with it in the room thermostat said it was at 62 deg F, my thermometer said it was 72. However, one night it did start to cool down to a lower temp but then it went back up. Not very consistent room temperature. August 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cleanliness an issue. My daughter and I stayed two nights...my biggest complaint is the cleanliness of the bathroom or lack thereof....hairs were found on the back of the toilet seat! I did find the beds comfortable, but the linens seemed somewhat dated and shabby. Moreover, in this day and age, no frig in the room...an inconvenience. Also, I'll admit I did not do my due diligence before arrival, however, the front desk should not only have mentioned its in-house restaurants , but those eateries adjacent to the hotel, in the concourse. While the buffet breakfast at the Penn City Grille was nothing to write home about, the chicken Caesar salad at the Original Fish Market was excellent. March 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location Hotel is in a great location - within walking distance of the two outdoor stadiums and a ton of good restaurants. Nice bar in the restaurant which connects with the hotel. Check-in was a little slow (only two employees at the desk at 2:00). They were pleasant, though. I cannot understand why any hotel would not have complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning. Consider that "lesser" hotels offer free breakfasts. That alone is keeping a few chains in business. Although the Westin was a nice hotel, there comes a point when it is no longer worth it. A couple little things like that make a world of difference. October 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Hotel Review I stayed at your hotel during the APHON conference. Overall, it was a very good experience. The bed was comfortable. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The gym was amazing! I called the front desk a few hours after arrival to let them know that the room was not clean. There was an unusual odor and I found hair in the bathroom and around the tub. They assured me it would be taken care of....but it never was. The hair remained around the tub the entire time I was there. So, I never felt that the hotel room was cleaned properly. If I was spending less money, I wouldn't have expected more but the hotel is very costly and cleanliness should not have been a concern. October 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Adequate Hotel, Disappointing Service The hotel itself is perfectly adequate. The rooms are what you've likely come to expect from a Category 3-5 Westin, with comfortable beds and great showers. The restaurant is also very good and well above standard hotel food. The Fish Market has a constantly changing menu with great fresh fish options and decent sushi. Where this hotel falls flat is in its service. The first few stays are fine, but it is certainly frustrating to be checking in with the same representative for the 10th time - who you recognize and who's name you know - and are asked whether this is your first time at the hotel. They definitely need to up their game when it comes to their frequent fliers. November 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by broken coffee maker and smelly towels I stay at this hotel often and generally I'm happy with the accomodations but this trip I was disappointed. The coffee maker in my room didn't work the first morning and I left a note (with a tip) asking them to replace the coffee maker since it didn't work. They replaced the coffee maker, but with another machine that didn't work! Very frustrating to wake up to that. Also, the towels smelled a little funky, almost like mildew. Leroy at the bellstand is great though! August 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, Thin Room Walls I enjoyed almost all of my experience at this hotel, except perhaps the part that matters the most - the sleeping part. Let's get the worst out of the way - the guest room walls are paper-thin, perhaps the thinnest I've ever experienced. I could hear, word-for-word, the conversations of my neighbors until at least 1am. As for everything else, it's very nice. The conference food was quite good, I liked the decor, and the location really can't be beat. I enjoyed taking a run underneath the convention center and out along the River to Point State Park. If I knew I would not have any neighbors, I would definitely stay here again. But since I don't think I can have that guarantee, I'll likely look elsewhere in the future. July 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Improvements needed This hotel needs some upgrading and in particular needs improvement delivering meals to groups over 300, which I do not consider a large conference. There were not enough servers to handle the requirements and dietary restrictions were difficult to accommodate. Locations of some of the serving set ups were not the right area for the size of the group and this was the case in several sessions. Oval tables work much better than round tables for both general sessions and meals. They facilitate better conversation and better viewing for the audience. July 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pittsburgh Westin I will not stay in this hotel again. Although the staff was very accommodating, the hotel was crowded and loud. Lack of elevators (only four) lead to long wait times. It was worrisome that the staircase was locked, especially if an emergency occurred. The decor of the room was dated. The showers ran either extremely hot or ice cold. The room was noisy. I could hear running water from other rooms when showers and toilets were used. The noise level contributed to my restless night sleep. Finally when I ate breakfast in your onsite restaurant, I felt rushed by the waiter. I just wanted a few minutes to eat in peace and although the waiter was very nice, I felt he was a bit intrusive. March 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by My Disappointments Clean Facility, Courteous Service. Elevator Service was terrible- Very Loooooooooooooong Wait both ways. Romm TV was malfunctioning for Channel 17 CNN - the picture blurred with no sound after every few minutes intermittently. Corner lamp near the bathroom wall next to bed , the light flickered with short circuit sound upon closing of the drawer.. The Tag placed on the door ' Do Not Disturb" kept on falling down from the door handle.. There was hardly any car perking room for temporarily to go in to register or for unloading. The business center did not give me a free access to my e-mail. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff - Marvin and Tony We visited from Upper Michigan and stayed at the Westin for five days in early March. Marvin the doorman helped us multiple times with suggestions on attractions to visit, directions, great restaurant recommendations, transport to airport and helped us rent a car for a day of sightseeing. Every morning started with Marvin asking about our plan for the day, and helping us to arrange things. He's a treasure to this hotel! Tony the shuttle driver was just as friendly and helpful - both these gentlemen went far above and beyond what we expected and helped us have a great stay. We were beyond impressed! March 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Traveling for Business We stayed at the Westin as we were hired from out of town to photograph a wedding there over Labor Day weekend. Located in the middle of Pittsburgh the hotel is close to plenty of restaurants and other attractions. That being said, we heard traffic and noise at all hours - even staying on the 19th floor. Parking was an additional fee of $20 per day which we were unaware of when we made our reservation and had to be paid every time we took our car out of the parking ramp to travel over the weekend. This added travel time and hassle when we had to meet up with the bride and groom or head to the church location for the wedding. The restaurant was delicious and we truly enjoyed our dinner there. The hotel staff was very friendly - from the housekeeping we passed in the hall way to the front desk staff. The wedding staff on the day-of was also friendly and very helpful. On the flip-side, there were stains on some of the towels that were in our bathroom which is a pet peeve of mine. There were scratches and gouges out of the counter top in the bathroom. The back side of the bathroom door had some of the wood and paint missing and there were scuff marks on the walls. For the rate we paid for that room, I felt disappointed to notice these details. September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Front Desk Supervisor Shines My first of 4 nights at the Pittsburgh Westin was disrupted by drunken party-goers who roamed the halls for hours until 3:00 am. The night staff failed to take appropriate action despite my 3 phone calls. The next morning, I complained to the front desk and the supervisor handled my complaint with style and courtesy. I was duly impressed. He turned my opinion around 180 degrees. Well done! August 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great rooms but other aspects needed some improvement I visited the Westin hotel in Pittsburgh for the annual AnthroCon convention and, although the rooms were fantastic, the hotel's other features required some slight improvement... The pool's temperature did not feel properly regulated, the hot tub was completely out of commission, the gym's changing room did not feel properly maintained and the cleaning staff was not very prompt (probably due to the convention though) to name a few. On the other hand, the rest of the staff was very friendly and they were able to quickly answer all of my questions. In closing, although I am not a fan of Downtown Pittsburgh, I highly recommend the Westin Convention Hotel if you are attending one of the many conventions held in that area or just traveling in general. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Terrific and Accommodating Staff I was very impressed with the staff at this Westin, especially at the front desk. I had made a reservation using cash-and-points, but a back-end snafu on the part of SPG (not the hotel) left me without a confirmed reservation the day of check-in. Even though there was lots of activity (it was the Sunday of a Steeler home game), the front-desk staff spent 20 minutes with me in person and on the phone with SPG to resolve the situation. And the resolution was very much to my satisfaction -- the same number of points I was charged for "cash-and-points" except without the cash, and an upgrade to a King suite. The staff was pleasant, patient, and accommodating in resolving my issue. Highly recommended. September 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Pittsburgh Convention Centre Stayed for the huge volleyball tournament - Pluses - great location; discounted buffet breakfast; did their best to try to encourage good guest behavior (i.e.minimize kids running through halls) Minuses - declined the 'eco' service (not having the room cleaned), but our room still wasn't cleaned the first day - not sure what the perks are supposed to be with that, but we didn't get a clean room or perks; asked about getting the shuttle to Southside Works - which we've done before - and were told they could only drop us a mile or two from there and they don't go all the way because it's too hard to catch a cab back. Well we took a cab in and had no issues getting 2 cabs for our group back to the hotel May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Consideration from review It was as usual a great stay, with one exception. Your elevators obviously need some work. During a large portion of the stay it seemed like only a single shaft was working and with the numbers of guests at this facility that is not a good situation. The elevators were even taken off line one evening for repairs. There was at least one operating by our return but still not a good situation. I do expect to return, this event wouldn't change my mind it is a nice facility. August 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sauna and Steam Room to Good! A hotel with a sauna and stream room. You can't beat it with a stick! August 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Series of Disappointments Few SPG benefits offered (internet, drink at bar, or points). Not very generous. No Concierge Lounge. No breakfast. Cleanliness seems to be an issue. Bathroom towels (replaced daily) typically had stains. At least one pillow case had stains and that was not changed ALL WEEK. Bathroom floor seemed dirty and sticky. Parlor attached to bedroom was also disappointing. We really expected better from a suite at a Westin. August 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Choice Staff was attentive and very friendly. Room was clean, cool, and smelled nice! Only complaint was there was no complimentary breakfast and the breakfast on sight was way overpriced. If you don't mind the price the food is good. I contracted Strep Throat while in Pittsburgh and the front desk sent me up complimentary ice cream just to be nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel. View is beautiful too. August 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by July 2014 Westin Pittsburgh Stay The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh is a stunner architecturally. The common spaces are well-appointed and light-infused. Direct connection to the adjacent DL Convention Center is a plus. Staff responsiveness and attitudes are superb. Obviously, the staff are well-trained in customer service and they embrace it as a mission. Special shout-outs to the bell hops and especially the bell captain who jump-started my car. A special nod to the shuttle driver Tim who patiently answered my questions about Pittsburgh and life in general. I did not eat in the hotel restaurants as my conference in DLCC included meals. My room was average. I appreciated the hot water and the "rain" shower head. There were a lot of noises from the corridor and adjacent rooms. The bath tub was slow running. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great experience! My husband and I were at the Westin for a Union conference. The hotel was beautiful, sparkling clean and welcoming. The staff was cheerful, helpful and pleasant. The room was beautiful, clean and spacious. The conference rooms were well lit and inviting. The most wonderful thing was the event staff. We had a happy hour event before our banquet. Service was prompt, friendly and the snacks were fantastic! The banquet was amazing. The staff did an excellent job of preparing, serving and taking care of the guests. We waited for nothing. I have never been to an event with more polite, professional staff. I would highly recommend this hotel for conventions or a family getaway. Thanks Westin staff! A + for everything! Heather and Jason B., Butler, PA June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The location is perfect. The distance to the coliseum was great for the truck competition. The river, train bridge, the ball parks, and the downtown area were all special in there own unique way. August 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Weekend Stay The first day the hot tub was not working, which was the primary reason we stayed there. The next morning the hot tub was working, but the steam room was not working. Still could not get the full pool/spa experience. There were lights in the locker room with the trim rings that were falling down. The pool handles were all corroded and green with rust. When the sauna was hot, there was no working light all weekend. There were no towels in the locker room. The TV guide in the welcome binder had the wrong channel guide for the current channels available. On a positive note, the front desk was very friendly and the restaurant was some of the best food we've ever eaten. Our waitress was excellent at the Fish Market. February 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bab Valet service We enjoyed staying at this Westin but were very unhappy with the valet service. Our car was scratched on the front and back bumper and it was obvious that they hit a pole. August 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Slept very well The king size bed was extremely comfortable. I liked the room. It was a large room with everything we needed. The downside was that the room smelled terrible upon entering. It smelled like a gym/locker room. From what I could tell it was coming from the bathroom (possibly the shower curtain). Everything "seemed" clean so not sure where the smell was coming from but it hit us every time we enter the room (which consequently was next to the bathroom). July 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worse Stay Weekend! The Hotel Staff has a Lack of Knowledge about Hotel Features including telling us the A/C wouldn't work unless Room Key was inserted into slot in Light Switch so room was Hot! Was embarrassed when had to call Front Desk because the Toilet Backed Up and Almost Overflowed causing Maintenance to come to our room and Plunge! Slow Draining Shower was another Problem along with Dip in the Center of the Mattress causing me NOT to Recommend this Hotel. Stay Away! July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel & Convention Facility The Heavenly Beds are truly heavenly. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The shower was amazing which after a long day of travel was most welcome. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The serving staff at the conference meals were very attentive and professional. The buffets for our conference were amazing. The rooms set up for our workshops were all comfortable and arranged well. Would recommend to anyone planning a conference or similar event because it had all the elements a guest/attendee could hope for in a venue. June 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some room for improvement The elevators are horrible. I consistently lose 5+ minutes in the morning waiting for one to come, then find that it stops at every floor on the way down. Multiple weeks I'm missing things such as shampoo or body soap in the shower, which would be fine, but with the 'green option' requires that I call the front desk for help. This is a major pain point. August 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bed comfort the best quality The room had a very comfortable bed, which is important to us. However, the clean bath towels had stains on them--if they could not be bleached out, the towels should have been retired. There is no reasonably close coffee shop on a weekend, and the restaurant does not have full options and is extremely expensive. We asked several times if there was anything else nearby and were told no. In fact, we finally found a Starbucks inside another hotel 2 blocks away--I suppose the staff are not willing to let us know where the shop is, if it's located at a competing hotel? October 19, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15 next>>