The Westin New York at Times Square

  • 270 West 43rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10036
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to check-in. 

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 1074 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel in New York I have stayed at The Westin Time Square the 1st weekend they were open. I stay at least 4-5 times a year. My family almost always bring another family. I recommend the hotel to everyone. The GM Terri is tops in the field. She always makes our visit special. We stay on the club level. The people working in the club, remember us and greet us right away. They always remember what fruit my wife likes and ask her if she would like it. The Health Club is 1st class. The front deak people are great. The room is always great. December 30, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Centrally located in Times Square The hotel is clean. The rooms set aside for SPG members are adequate, not special. One small bottle of water for a two-night stay was inadequate. Presumably the water was to be used to make one pot of coffee. SPG benefits at this hotel are pretty Spartan, no concierge lounge, or afternoon wine with cheese and crackers. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great weekend stay in NYC Fave Starwood hotel in midtown hands down. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel Just returned from a 3 night stay (July 18-20). Very impressed with the Westin Times Square. Newly renovated rooms are well done and comfortable. The bathroom is amazing! Can't believe the room size for NYC, largest I have ever stayed in! Will definitely return and recommend to family and friends. July 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This needs repairs The hotel is in a need of updating. The smelled of mole. The paint was pilling off the desk. The location was good June 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Sleeping & Convenient The hotel was very nice and clean but would have liked a softer pillow. The valet parking is unclear and the valet people are not friendly. Also, not clear on having to get your valet ticket stamped paid and we should have been told this when we called and ordered the car. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding property I felt very safe and the staff was very friendly. July 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Welcome at check in Having chosen this for location for our first trip to New York (for 7 nights) and the Westin name we were surprised at how unimpressive the property was. Upon arriving at 7:30 in the evening we received the most uninspired check in - in fact, we were made to feel as though we were bothering Janet as she told us our room was being held (we had booked/paid for two double beds) for us since they were sold out and then she told us the room wasn't ready (at 7:30 pm?). I asked if she could please check with housekeeping since we had left our home at 4am and my two daughters were tired. We wanted to freshen up before heading out to exciting Times Square. She said to hold on a minute, went in to the back, came out after 5 minutes, handed me the keys. I asked her for the room number and she said it was on the packet. I asked her if she could please direct us to the elevator and she pointed (our first time to this property and to New York). We were stunned - my husband could not believe how calm I remained while this woman treated us so nonchalantly (who made us feel as though she was doing us a big favour by giving us our room keys). Wow, never in our many many trips have we ever experienced such a welcome at a Starwood Property. Upon getting to our room we encountered a closet off the track (it wouldn't open) and a phone that didn't work - I contacted housekeeping and they came within 5 minutes and fixed everything. They were kind and asked if they could do anything else and I asked for extra towels and robes which were delivered in minutes. We always leave a daily tip in our room and were not disappointed with the cleanliness of the room (although the decor is quite boring). We were also surprised at how few staff at the door ever smiled or welcomed us when we returned from our outings (being there 8 days you would think they would recognize us) - in fact, little eye contact was ever made! They hovered around their desk and rarely were outside to open a cab or car door. So unusual for us to see that as we have stayed at many Starwood properties (usually Category 5 and up) and always feel so welcome. Our trip to New York was wonderful and we will be returning - but not to this property. August 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location to theaters and time square Nice room, we stayed in a corner king grand deluxe. Housekeeping could use a little help. The dining was good. It's very close to the theaters and many great eateries, as well as time square. July 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service and worst Westin experience Despite the great views, excellent tourist location and paying top dollars, the suite was woefully inadequate! To start-it had just one small bathroom which was not even accessible from the bedroom! The WiFi service was slow as a snail! the "Service Express" was anything but express- was kept on hold for 10-15 min on an average before someone responded! it was faster to take the elevator down to the front desk to make the request! room service staff were incompetent who regularly got our orders wrong! housekeeping staff did a poor job and on one of the days did not even bother cleaning the room until I had to call multiple time when we got back to our room at 6PM in the evening! overall- a very bad experience for me and my family! the front desk staff were generally unfriendly and curt with their responses. if they treat a SPG Gold member so poorly, I only wonder how they treat non-frequest guests! I have been a loyal westin/SPG customer for a long time and generally have a decent experience at your properties. But this property was just terrible and I'll probably try to avoid it if I can... July 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bait and switch on the room, unresponsive management This was my first visit to this property, as I usually stay at other nearby hotels when traveling to New York. I had heard good things about it from colleagues so I thought I would give it a try. Upon checking in, there was almost no line at check-in which was nice and something I am not used to at New York Hotels, especially since it was peak check-in time. The desk agent was nice, thanked me for my loyalty to Starwood, upgraded my room and directed me towards the elevators. Upon entering the room, the room smelled of cigarette smoke. It was not a BAD smell, and seemed to be concentrated around a window. I opened the window to air out the room, and after a few hours, it appeared to have worked. I should not have had to do this, at the very least, Housekeeping should have taken care of this as it was a non-smoking room. I also attempted to connect to the internet in my room. Unfortunately it did not work. It took me about 30 minutes and a long call and hold to reach the "help desk" and get the issue resolved. The worst issue did not occur until I got back to the hotel after working at an event late at night. I attempted to take a hot shower to relax and cleanup before bed, but found there to be no hot water. I went to call downstairs but noticed the message light beeping. It was a message from the hotel saying there was going to be no hot water. This was not a good situation, as I needed a hot shower after working, and was sore and tired. I had not had time to take one before leaving as I needed to spend so much time connecting to the internet so I could prepare for my event. I realized there was nothing I could do and I went to bed. I was able to shower in the morning, but that did not save me from an uncomfortable and smelly nights sleep. There was a very long line at check-out when I left so I bypassed it and decided to contact the hotel later that day to take care of the issue. I emailed the hotel explaining the situation with all 3 issues at the hotel. I received a prompt reply from Joe, the Service Express Manager. He simply said he was sorry as they had placed a letter in the rooms and was sorry mine was missed and offered me a very minimum amount of SPG points. I emailed back saying that what the hotel did was not acceptable as I was not informed of a major hotel deficiency either before or during check-in, and if I had known I would have stayed elsewhere or made other arrangements. I also said that the offer of compensation would not cover 1/4 of the value of a night at that hotel and that it was unacceptable, as I was cheated out of a comfortable room and a good nights sleep, which I had paid for and expected from Westin. I received another reply from Asya, the Guest Services Manager. She simply restated more clearly exactly what Joe had said, and offered the same minimal compensation. I again replied restating my previous email and asking that the Hotel GM respond. The Hotel GM, Sean, did respond via telephone. When we did get in touch with each other via telephone he apologized again. He explained that he had only taken control of the hotel 2 days prior, which would have been after my check-out. Upon further research, the former GM had been demoted to a lesser Starwood hotel nearby. I explained to him exactly what had happened and why I thought I felt cheated and the hotel pulled a bait and switch, and why I thought the initial responses were not only apathetic but inappropriate. He agreed and apologized and explained he would be working to make the hotel better. It appeared to me that Starwood was aware of management faults in the past with this hotel and brought this GM in to fix them. He then offered me an additional 10,000 SPG points which would bring me up closer to a free room, and also asked me to contact him before I came to the hotel again. I agreed and thanked him for his time and told him I was glad that Starwood was bringing someone on to fix up the hotel, and that made me feel more confident in the future. A week went by and no points were added to my account. I also noticed that my bonus points associated with the rate were not added either. I was booked in a rate that included triple base SPG points, I emailed again in regards to the missing compensation points as well as bonus points associated with the rate I had paid. I received no response. I then again called the GM's office and spoke with his assistant who said she would get right back to me. 2 days have passed and I have heard nothing, nor have any points been added. It seems I have been the victim of bait and switch again at this hotel, so I would warn anyone from staying here, especially SPG Platinum or Gold guests, as you will not receive the attention and care that we have come to recognize as standard with Starwood. November 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel but room comfort could have been better The hotel location was great and the hotel was very inviting. My room, however, was too hot. I complained about this and they sent an engineer up but it never cooled off. The mini bar was also hot. My safe locked up one day and the security personnel acted like it was my fault. I did expect more for the money. June 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Where all the action is – Times Square This hotel is in the perfect location for restaurants, subway transportation, tours, theater and anything else you wanted to do while in NYC. I was upgraded to a Jr Suite which was a nice size for NYC. Everything was completely renovated so there were no complaints regarding the room décor or bed. The bathroom was large with plenty of amenities including a robe. If I am in the NYC area again I would gladly stay at this hotel. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made our stay memorable My wife and I were in NY for 3 nights to celebrate my birthday. We had chosen another Starwood property but were very disappointed with the hotel and their lack of response to our concerns. So after the first night I booked into the Westin for the last two nights. The difference at the Westin was like day and night compared to the other hotel. The whole experience was excellent and made our stay in NY very memorable. All of the staff were extremely helpful and especially the front desk manager, who went the extra mile for us. The rooms and location were great. Will definitely stay again ! December 22, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing Place to Stay The Westin Times Square in New York was a fabulous place to stay. The front desk staff was very helpful and upgraded me to a suite upon arrival. In addition, the concierge staff was more than happy to assist me and my mom with finding things to do and explore in NYC. July 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT WORTH THE Not worth the price , Hotel is very clean but basic, lobby is a bunch of couches with no atmosphere, you have to buy everything at restaurants. Bathroom towels were very cheap and small smelled of bleach permeated the whole room, bathroom vanity was stainless steer and reminded me of a cruise ship room. Bed is very uncomfortable for being a "Heavenly bed" Concierge was unresponsive to checking in and recommendations to restaurants or taxi/limo service , stated just walk to curb for prices with driver. July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed The Westin at Times Square was the most disappointed service experience I had since joining SPG 8 years ago. The check in was horrible. At 2:45pm, the line for the SPG Gold was at least 8 clients compared to the regular line of 1. And yet, no additional front desk personnel was smart enough to expedite the check in for their loyal clients. Oh, I only wanted to pick up my keys since I already had checked in at 9:30am. No morning paper for 5 straight days. The only good thing was the heavenly beds is truly comfortable. I would still recommend the hotel only because of its location and hopefully improve the check in process especially for the gold/platinum members. Did not feel appreciated for my loyalty to SPG. January 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean- great location- Room was clean and comfortable- double beds were a bit small- Easy access to Theater district- ferry- Times Square- Radio City- Highly recommend July 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close to Times Square Within walking distance of Times Square and Theater district. Room was very clean and nice size. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Great surrounding attractions & Great rest in comfortable beds Room was clean with great comfortable bed. Few steps away from NY's attractions times square, toys r us, madame tussauds, ripley's museums, theaters along with many options of cafes and restaurants. January 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Busy Hotel I always stay in Westin whenever I take vacation. When I come to Westin NY, I was asked to wait until 3 pm and then when I enter the room, there is only 1 bottle of complimentary of water, 1 soap, shampoo and conditioner. I just don't feel I stay in 5 star hotel July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Back home Been away from this property for a while and reception from staff was like visiting family. Well done Times Square Westin! July 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by THIS HOTEL HAS EXCELLENT LOCATION I DONT LIKE THE DOORS OF THE BATHROOM July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only one annoyance Noisy street but realize there is not much the hotel can do about it. July 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel even has great facilities but the service is terrible I paid for upgrade fee when checking in after noticed by front desk to experience higher and better view room as well as free premium internet costing $20 per night. But the room was not prepared, the phone was not working, no tissue in the toilet. I called them with my own phone to verify these but the lady was rude and hung out the phone while talking. Dealing with these things even delayed my Broadway schedule. So frustrated about whole things. If I know these in advance, I would like not to pay any upgrade fee for this hotel. And then, the hotel didn't reply to my complaints. Moreover, the hotel even charged me the room fee again even though I paid for that in advance. I hope this is a mistake but no one respond this issue so far. I was so upset not only with their phone service but also the manner this hotel stealing extra room fee from my pocket. It absolutely can't earn my loyalty. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location This locaton is close to everything. Subway, buses, time square, restaurants, theaters. Very comfortable room. Great view. Safe. Clean. Very helpful staff. Was a very enjoyable stay! July 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Bad Experience While I stay at this hotel quite often while I am in New York on business, this was a very bad experience. When I checked into my room, the bed linens were dirty--they apparently had not been changed from the prior guest. In addition, the towels were dirty. This is inexcusable. The faucet in the bathroom sink only had hot water--no cold water. I called the manager on duty to complain about all of these things. I also asked for a couple of bottles of water to be delivered to my room. While the bed linens and towels were changed for the second night of my stay, I never received the bottles of water. Moreover, the manager never offered any type of compensation or consideration for my inconvenience. I will certainly look for other hotels on future stays in NYC. December 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Place in New York I wrote a review yesterday, but I'm not sure it was posted. To recap I always stay at the Westin in Time Square. I recommend it to everyone. I'm in New York at least 4-5 times a year. Plus a few more times with my family. The Westin is about people. They treat you like you King. People know who you are and are always friendly. I always stay on the Club Level. The rooms are great and the people working in the club are great. The health club is always clean and the equipment is 1st class. The front desk people are great. The GM Terri is a wonderful person. She found out my daughter finished her 1st semester at college with a 4.0. Terri had a bottle of sparkling apple with chocolate and note waiting for her in our room. Tell me one other hotel that would do that for you. December 31, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Really so sad it was funny Asked for quiet room. We were right next to elevator. Broken items in room. Shortage of normal amenities. TV broken. Difficulty in getting these addressed. Seriously, it took 10 minutes to get cold water. Broken bathroom door. No fan in bathroom. April 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never Should Have Returned! This hotel is old, beat up and has absolutely NO respect for the SPG Gold member with over 200 night stays worldwide. For the rate of the room we paid in NYC over five c notes per night, we could have done much better! This is our 2nd time back in 2 years, as I have business here annually. Promises were made by staff in email before our arrival, NONE were kept upon arrival on a dismal, cold and rainy day. Think hard before ever staying here. Plenty of better deals regardless of the location with staff that care! November 7, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 37 next>>