The Westin Charlotte

  • 601 South College Street
  • Charlotte,
  • North Carolina
  • 28202
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 781 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Frustrating Experience Great location and comfortable beds but not worth the many disappointments. Had to wait in line for over an hour to check in, rooms were not ready until 9 pm, rooms booked "together" were on separate floors, the TV didn't work (took 2 days and 4 phone calls to fix), the sink pipe leaked all over the floor, the toilet paper holder was broken, the safety lock on the door was broken, and the rooms did not get cleaned because of a "computer glitch." Reception staff twas pleasant and tried very hard to help but clearly there are serious management issues. April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great Westin Experience One of the best Westin experiences. Everything about the hotel, staff and amenities (including one of the best hotel gym) are top notch with ONE exception: room service. Room service pricing is so out of whack. A simple salad lunch with drink should not cost $62. May 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Few Burps We were not given any water for the coffee maker to make coffee and were told that we had to pay for bottles of water, so we made coffee with the water from the bathroom sink. The "upgraded" room that we were put into had a small refrigerator that was not a fridge. We were told that the reason that we did not receive water was because we were put into a room on too low of a floor to receive water and that the fridges were being replaced with real small refrigerators but we were in a room without one. Some deal for being put into an "upgraded" room! December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by comfort plus The room was spacious, and the bed was extremely comfortable. the only issue we had was during check in, we were not told the correct procedure for taking our car out of the self-parking area. The doorman spotted us leaving and saw we had turned our room cards in to the express checkout bin,. this card is needed to present at the ticketbooth so that we would not get charged for our already paid parking during check in. we were able to have another card made up and the issue was resolved. April 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Would not go back and would not recommend When I checked in I was asked to join their "preferred club" I declined stating that I was staying for business buy used other hotels that I already had "preferred" status at normally. He joked :"then to the basement with you, only kidding." Maybe the room wasn't in the basement, but it was awful. The carpet had major stains, the bathroom lights had dead bugs in them and there was "dirt" on the wall in the bathroom by the toilet paper roll. I had to open the spare roll and use it because I refused to get near that nasty spot. Their website says they have a lap pool. What a joke. It is barely two feet deep in places and so tiny it was a waste of time. For the money it was so not worth it. I am thankful I tried it for work and not pleasure. August 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Westin Hotel Yet As a platinum member I get the opportunity to stay at many westin hotels throughout North America. This hotel was by far the best yet! The gentleman that took our bags to our room was pleasant and knowledgeable. The front desk was very good and the workout room was spectacular! The room was clean and fresh and well designed. We went to Charlotte to drop our son who is named "Westin" off to university. And at the end of each long day...the Westin Charlotte was a great retreat to come back to each day! OUTSTANDING hotel and cannot wait to go back! August 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Free Weekend with Starpoints I redeemed 20,000 starpoints this past weekend for two nights at the Westin Charlotte. Upon check in I was immediately upgraded to a grand deluxe room. It was a corner room with amazing views of downtown Charlotte and Bank of America stadium. Best Westin stay yet....and i've had a lot!! May 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Front Desk Wait TIme was unacceptable I love Westin Hotels. However, the Charlotte, NC front desk was severely understaffed. Many people were waiting and obviously frustrated. There were staff walking around through the front desk area but no one addressed the issue or even recognized the number of people waiting for service. I stood at the Starwood Member area for a long time before Kimberly did come to recognize me. I MUST SAY THAT ONCE YOU WERE TAKEN CARE OF THE STAFF WAS OUTSTANDING. KIMBERLY AND THE OTHER STAFF WERE EXCELLENT. The wait time was too long. Quite disappointing. April 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Had to move 3 times with a 90 year old woman While I have stayed many a time at the Westin in Charlotte, this instance was one of my worst experiences. I reserved a room using my points for my parents and grandmother to stay during a visit to the city. We arrived around 9:30pm and the staff was very welcoming. However, our first room only had one bed when two was requested and the second one was extremely dirty and clearly hadn't been cleaned since the last residents departed. Normally I wouldn't put up a fuss but all this was happening around 11:00pm at night with 2 parents over the age of 60 and a grandmother who is almost 90, having to lug their bags to three rooms at this hour. I'm extremely disappointed in how things played out and hope that action will be taken to remedy this situation. August 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slightly below average for the Westin brand Travellers who are accustomed to staying in Westin will find that this particular hotel does not fully live up to this brand's standards. Items to fix: - laundry service - bathroom amenities - comfort of desk chair - quality of food service in the lobby (Starbucks) - replace or update worn carpets, bathroom fixtures August 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Governor's Conference Over all room was ok. Nothing special for the compared to the price of the room. Internet was $12.95 per day, free at most hotels. Went to breakfast and didn't want to pay $20.00 for the buffet, order one eggs, hash brown and toast - costed me $16.00 plus $5.00 for cup of coffee. OMG I was not a happy camper, even worst, the eggs were from a mix. The food provided for the Governor's Conference was terrible, I am a vegetarian and had to eat out every meal. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, shop around. March 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvements I said for 5 days and overall it was okay. They are doing renovations on the one side of the building and unfortunately right outside my window there was scaffolding. I felt very uncomfortable with this and keep my curtains closed the entire time. Why would the hotel choice to have this room in use during the renovations. If someone was standing on the scaffolding they would be the same height as me and be able to look right into the room. The room was clean and everyone was friendly. The hotels’ only restaurant was at best mediocre. October 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charlotte Business Trip Stayed at the hotel this past week. Great location, staff were nice and accommodating and would recommnd the hotel and stay here again. Here are the positives and negatives: - No welcome from door person or bellman upon arrival, or any other time I came back to the hotel. Even though staff was out there - Room was great, view was perfect. - Needed an Ipad Chargers, operator recommened calling the lost and found, to see if they had one. They did and brought it up to me right awsay, as I was in deperate need. Excellent. - Most staff throughout the stay were nice. - Asked for late check out of 3 pm, due to my flight, was turned down. Overall the hotel met my needs, and was perfect for what I required. With a few tweaks this property can be a lot better. June 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs work. After traveling for 7 hour I had to wait in a line that was 10 people deep. The first evening I was there I ordered room service and it came over an hour later. The towels in the room were thin and shredding I ordered a smoothie for breakfast the next morning (room service) and it cost $24!? May 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Conference stay was OK Overall this was a good hotel - a little overpriced, but it was comfortable and clean. There were two things that detracted from my experience: room internet cost and a malfunctioning TV. For the price of the rooms (combined with being a member of the chain's rewards program), one might expect to either have free or reasonably priced (less than $10/night) in-room internet access. Also, I had a malfunctioning TV remote during my stay ... it was replaced upon calling the front desk, but the TV wouldn't turn on when I went to use it. The attendant said that he'd look into the issue, but he never returned. I also followed up with the front desk (to no avail). My wife and I were thinking of staying here on a follow-up visit to Charlotte, but may reconsider given the service I received for a hotel room at this price point. April 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Smoking Room? Upon check in, I was quickly greeted. As my room was booked via a convention. I had called about a month earlier to make sure my SPG # was included in my reservation and to request a king bed. The first room to which I was sent smelled horribly of cigarette smoke and was a double rather than a king. I understand that people will smoke in a non-smoking hotel as the $250 fee is meaningless to many folks but given the condition of this room, it was not ready to rent again. I was also disappointed that my SPG membership did not result in a better room. My room was just ok and at this price point with my SPG membership, I expected a bit better. Otherwise, staff was excellent, location was great and the city welcomed our convention (and money!) with open arms. January 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's the little things Was there for five nights. Used my robe after the first night. Never got a new one. I even took the hangar from the back of the door and placed it on the towel bar. The hangar disappeared but still no robe. No problem, I'll just take the time to go to the front desk when checking out to make certain they know I didn't walk off with a robe. Upon checkout there was a placard on the front desk to the right, it said 'Starwood Preferred Guests". I stood there for maybe ten minutes and watched people walk past me. Eventually someone asked if I needed help and told me that no one was working that counter. So...why is the sign there then? I just don't feel I got good service there. I checked 'no' above to recommending this hotel but my real answer is "maybe". October 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Filthy, slow, cold The bathroom was filthy. I brought it to the attention of the desk clerk – nothing happened. I called the operator to relay a message to housekeeping – nothing happened. I used a towel to sit on the toilet. You can figure it out from there. The restaurant breakfast was ice cold when delivered to the table. We got a coupon at gave it a second try. Mildly warm, but the eggs had congealed into a yellow mass. As slow as the service was, they likely sat in the kitchen for twenty minutes. NEVER NEVER again will I stay at this location. August 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too much for too little Poorly designed bathrooms. Toilet right next to the door. Mirror steams over after shower and makes shaving very difficutl. Limited places to hang wet towels. One little bar fo leaf shaped soap for two people. Regarding soap, shampoo and conditioner...provided as if in a budget hotel. June 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Positives and Negatives There were many things I appreciated about your hotel but 3 things stand out. The first was the friendliness of the young man who checked me in. The second was the $5 daily voucher when I opted out of daily housekeeping and the 3rd was the offerint of renting work out clothes. The 2 negatives would inlcude the broken latte machine at the hotel Starbucks and kleenex and toilet paper that was not thick enough. May 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by No cleaning materials for gym equipment This is a beautiful hotel with very clean rooms, a very hospitable staff, and by far, the best and best-maintained gym equipment of any hotel where I have stayed. However, I was not happy to find that there were no cleaning materials available for gym equipment wipe-down in between users The wall dispensers were either empty or not working correctly, so if there were wipes, you couldn't get them out. One day, there was a partial container of Lysol wipes, but when I tipped the container to try to get one out of the bottom, the liquid poured out onto my arm. With the superbugs out there, and the amount of traveling those staying at the hotel are obviously doing, I was a bit worried about becoming ill. This was not a good thing to happen during a Nurses' Conference! March 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Frequent Traveler I have stayed at this hotel probably 40+ nights over the past two years. The entire staff is great. As a platinum member I really look forward to breakfast and am treated very kindly by the servers. My only complaint with the hotel is that many of the rooms I have stayed in smell like smoke. My eyes are very sensitive to it and get very irritated. The front desk moved me once and I had them send up a machine to try and clear the room of the smoky smell. I wish they would enforce the no-smoking policy more in the rooms. March 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Parking issues The signage for the parking garage is not clear. When you get out of your car, upon arrival, it says in big letters B1, but there is a little tiny M in the bottom RH corner. New comers, Please take notice. When you get ready to leave the hotel, the elevator buttons and doors signs say: BM B1 B2 B3. As you leave you remember Parking on B1 and not on BM. You actually are parked on BM even though the signs appear to be B1. Its very confusing. Their signs need to be consistent and they are not. March 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location to city core 3 days and nights with a very friendly and accomodating staff. Exceptionally clean. We did not use the many facilities, our focus was sightseeing. Staff gave us useful info re evening theater. If ever in Charlotte again, will definetly stay there again. Thank you all. May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Wife and I came for the Panthers playoff game and the hotel was just chock full of fans. Nonetheless, check-in was a breeze. The room was super clean and the bathroom was very spacious and up to date. The bed was great, room was quiet. The front desk really helped us out with a friend of ours who also stayed there and was handicapped. All in all, we will not stay anywhere else in Charlotte unless we have to - this place is the best bang for your buck in town. Starwoods should be proud of this hotel. January 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Charlotte The hotel design is good. The room design is good. Check in was efficient and polite. The maid service in the room was bad. The cleaning left a lot to be desired. The gym is excellent with good machines. Too bad there is not a jacuzzi to go with the small lap pool. The restaurant was average. Eat out. Our room smelled like a smoker room even though it was billed as non smoking. We tried to get a massage a couple of times, but unless you book way ahead, forget it. March 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by disappointed I stayed for 8 days. I was asked when I checked in if I would like to participate in your "green" program. I was told that my trash would still be emptied and my towels replenished, but my room would only be cleaned every three days. After 4 days of nothing at all (including the supposed $5 coupons) I had no clean towels and lots of trash. I called and asked to please have my room clean - nothing. The following day I called to ask to please have my room clean - nothing. I went down to the front desk and asked to please have my room clean, when I returned that evening towels had been thrown into my bathroom along with some trash bags. Dirty towels were still piled on my floor, no toilet paper, and trash remained. I called down a third time and my room was finally cleaned (poorly). July 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel offers easy access to all downtown locations This hotel is situated near the heart of the downtown cultural and culinary activties. The pool however, is indoors with a small outdoor terrace that loses access to the sun mid-day. May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Customer Service My parents stayed here for a weekend get away for my Fathers 65th birthday. My father can't stop talking about how pleasant the stay was and he raved about the staff. I had set up a pre-authorization for my CC to pay for the stay- thanks to the concierge service and therefore anything and everything my parents wanted was no charge to them and with NO HASSLE!!! They were treated like royaly!! Great Job Westin and to the staff that worked from 6/22 - 6/24 and serviced room 2201, Thank-you for everything!!! June 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to Westin standards I can depend on Westin for a superb hotel experience -- usually. Unfortunately, that was not the case in Charlotte. The room I was given was just behind the elevators, and I knew immediately that it would be a problem. I was told, however, that there was no other room available. I could have managed the noise and vibration -- it probably would not bother anyone who is not a light sleeper -- from the elevator, but it was compounded by a noisy bathroom fan that could not be turned off. Finally, the temperature in the room could not be adjusted, and most of the time I was simply way too cold, so resorted to sleeping in bathrobe, socks and gloves. I was also disappointed in my fitness experience, when the tranquility room could not be accessed. On the plus side, I received an excellent meal and was well served in the restaurant. March 23, 2014
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 27 next>>