The Westin Charlotte

  • 601 South College Street
  • Charlotte,
  • North Carolina
  • 28202
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 789 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of my favorite domestic Westins I've stayed at more than 20 Westins domestically, and I think I can say that this is my favorite. It's a beautiful property with impressive design. The staff is incredibly professional, on-the-mark and as an SPG platinum guest -- the provided ample recognition and amenities. During both of my stays I was upgraded to a large corner suite on one of the top floors. I can't speak highly enough to how impressive these suites are...especially for a business traveler. Restaurant is great with excellent specials and an outdoor seating area. Super convenient self-parking to save the company some money. Will stay here every time I'm in Charlotte. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by service We arrived early and they were very expedient in getting confirmation the early arrival September 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by No room at the inn? As part of the ICMA convention, I made a reservation for this hotel for 2 nights, and received a confirmation last week, along with 5 others from my municipality. I arrived at the convention, worked my shift, and then walked over to the hotel to check in. I was informed that although I had a confirmed reservation, they had no rooms available, and had taken the liberty of locating another room at a hotel 15 minutes away from the convention site, near the airport. Sitting in room at hotel away from peers and colleagues, not certain as to how this happened. They comped this room, and have a room for me tomorrow, but now I have to pack and relocate. Very inconvenient, and not what I had planned for the week. Haven't really stayed at the Westin yet, will rate it once I get to stay there, but first impressions are always hard to overcome. September 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Worst SPG property I've stayed at The only positive thing about this property are the employees that work here. I've stayed at this Westin on several occasions and each time it's gets progressively worse. They changed the shower heads, which used to be the best feature in the rooms. There is absolutely no SPG recognition. No free water, club room or other amenities offered at almost all other SPG properties. If you are ever coming to Charlotte, do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere. March 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed my Stay Staff and hospitality were excellent! Room was clean and comfortable. I was glad to see that the Westin is promoting 'Green' programs to reduce wasteful re-washing of clean towels / linens. I made use of the program 3 of the 4 nights I stayed there. However, the one day I didn't use it I got no room service. A smelly shower curtain needed replacing and I had to leave a message w/ the cleaning staff. Otherwise highly recommended! September 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cycling Charlotte We loved Charlotte + had a great stay at the Westin. After a heavy day of exploring the city by bike, each evening we had so much fun hanging out with friends + colleagues at the hotel bar, delicious food + we closed the place down each night. The pièce de résistance was taking a bubble bath in the luxurious tub with a city view. What a way to end a perfect day! September 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cycling Charlotte Had a great weekend in Charlotte + the Westin was a great place to return to hungry + tuckered out. Each night we gathered with friends + colleagues in the lobby, ordered delicious food from the bar + closed the place down! Our room was clean + comfy, the staff very helpful, friendly + professional. We loved our experience in the city + at the hotel. September 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid and Dependable Westin Consistently solid Westin. Platinum status always recognized, but don't expect suite upgrades as the hotel has very few. Rooms are comfortable, albeit on the small side. Food in Embers (hotel restaurant) is usually pretty good, and the workout facilities are better than average. Hotel is situated adjacent to the Convention Center and is extremely convenient for meetings in Uptown, and is a short drive to/from CLT or South Park. March 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Convention Hotel Great rooms, great location and convenience and great hotel service. September 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Apathy by management. As I read the reviews of previous guests it seems that some of my concerns have been mentioned before and still not addressed by hotel management, as we experienced similar problems of past guests. We checked in early in the evening after a long drive and were quite tired. The person at the front desk was very polite, but despite noting that there were 5 in my party ( 2 adults and 3 young children), did not inform us that if we were planning to use the sleeper sofa in our room that we would need to call house keeping to have the bed made up for our use.As we had a parlor room with 1 bed ( a king) she must have thought that all 5 of us would be sleeping in this one bed! She did not inquireabout our sleeping arrangements or offer assistance. It was not until our children had changed into there pajamas that we discovered the bed was not made and then after calling the front desk discovered the need to have housekeeping make up the bed. They did so promptly, though did not bring pillows for the bed, and it was uncomfortable having a stranger in our room while our children were in there pjs ready for bed. We found the beds to be poorly made, with mattress pads that did not fit the beds and linens that were to small for the bed. As such the sheets and mattress pad turned into a nice lump in your back. Not the most restful sleep despite the "heavenly bed" logo. The bathroom was extremely cold and apparently doesnt have a direct heating source.,almost unbearable (it was in the mid 30's that evening), and same for the pool area and spa. Lastly when we attempted to bring our concerns to management, we could not speak to anyone directly. We had to leave a voicemail with the front end manager, and despite our requests for a return call still have not spoken to anyone. Instead we received the same generic , tepid reponse, via E-mail,, AFTER A WEEK AND A HALF,that I see on the reviews that I've read on line. Obviously they truly care about there guests opinions!! Not what I would have expected from a hotel chain with the Westins reputation. I will never stay there again, though I would still continue to stay at other Westins. Very disappointing!!!!! February 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Room, Terrible Food!!! When we arrived, there were at least 14 people in front of us waiting to check in. When we finally got to the desk, our agent was extremely friendly and made us feel much less stressed after such a long wait. She assigned us to a beautiful corner room on the 23rd floor. The views were beautiful. The door did not close properly but since it took us so long to check in we did not mention it because we were late for a dinner appointment. It had to be literally slammed in order to be closed. The morning started well with a beautiful sunrise over the city. Ordering breakfast was another story. My husband had scrambled eggs with potatoes and bacon and I had the egg white omelet with cheese and broccoli. it was served with has browns (that I did not get) and no meat so I ordered a side of bacon. NO COFFEE OR TEA!!! just an orange juice and apple juice. That's it. The check was $71. that's right SEVENTY ONE DOLLARS!!!!! and the food wasn't even warm!!! I might go back but I would never order from room service again. By the way, most of the bill was service fee's and gratuity. I read the small print on the menu before the food arrived to be sure as I am used to getting scammed by this. Also a $6 fee for delivering the food. The actual food was about $50. Our server stood around waiting for ANOTHER tip that wasn't coming. Plus tax. I actually felt so angry that I considered not going back to the Westin. Still not sure.. August 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not What It Once Was My wife and I spent our wedding night at this hotel. I have made many recommendations in the past; however, I recently thought to surprise my wife with a night out from the house. The promised suite upgrade did not happen, which was a critical factor in deciding to book the hotel. I called the night before to ensure the Platinum Upgrade would be there and upon check in was told no. The room service menu was no where to be found and eventually a printed piece of paper was brought to the room. When the room service arrived it was not complete, not as described and cost nearly $100 for breakfast items. I stay at Starwood Properties more than 100 nights a year now and as Westin's go this hotel is not up to standard. June 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by We were very unsatisfied I am sorry to say that we were very unhappy with our stay at your hotel. First, the man at check in could not find our reservation and was not helpful nor offered any apologies. He found our reservation eventually. Next, our room was not clean. There were some stains on the sheets, a ripped pillowcase, crumbs on the carpet, and the tub did not look clean. We tried to have a drink and a bit to eat in the bar after the play, but after 30 minutes of being ignored by the waitress we left. When we came back to our room and some sort of "air freshener" had been sprayed in our room and it smelled terrible. We called to complain and although Jennifer was very polite it took the manager an hour to call us back and again his response was not polite or helpful. He offered to move us, but at this point it was midnight and we chose not to move. Costumer service and cleanliness is vital to a hotels reputation. I stayed here years ago and was very satisfied. Sorry to say, this hotel has gone downhill and this will be the last visit to this hotel. March 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by On business and location is perfect Although my stay was only two nights based on the hotels location I was able to see much of downtown Charlotte in addition to meeting with my clients outside of the city. This is a well kept property. Common areas were clean and well decorated and the room was clean and not run down. Guys at valet were very cool and helpful...makes a big difference not to have to worry about your rental car. I would recommend and also choose this property again. August 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by tired of internet charges & problems Tired of $12.95 per day for internet that does not work at peak periods and charges every time you log on - tired of having to ask the check out clerk adjust the charges - I asked the check out clerk to smile if she had heard my complaint before - both of them started to laugh. Westin professionals - get the message - even your employees are cracking up at the charges and the poor service - are you not embarrassed? Come on - Westin is a great brand with great properties for a reasonable price - join the rest of the world or expand the band width - September 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good staff, Nice facilities but worn rooms Very large, modern convention hotel right on the edge of uptown. Staff is friendly and welcoming. Rooms are modern, but there are problems (phone is next to bed and cannot be placed on the desk, so if you're working and need to use the phone, you have to sit on the bed. The Drapery was hanging half off and paint was peeling in the bathroom over the sink. Very nice, spacious fitness center and a good indoor swim pool. There is no executive floor and if you are a SPG Platinum, the benefits are not complete. Also, there's a Kinko's in the hotel. August 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointed Stayed at property during CIAA event. Disappointed to find that hotel made arrangements at expense of hotel guest by requiring guest to wear wrist bands the entire weekend (unacceptable). I was stopped on the way to my room with 2 guest and required to show a room key (which is understandable given the magnitude of people in the lobby), however the staff member then demanded that the guest accompanying me go get wrist bands, to which I refused, he then proceed to call the police over, which was not only unnecessary but insulting, and an overstep of authority to which he did not have. Shorty afterward I brought my concern to management who offered an apology and excuses but no further action to correct the behavior. What is equally disappointing is the lack of follow through and responsiveness from the property as a result of occurrence. I have since filed a complaint with Customer Service, who indicated that management sent an “amenity” to my room after the incident (which I did not receive). Given my relationship with the Starwood brand and properties, I would have at least expected a face to face conversation. As a Platinum member I have very high expectations when it comes to Customer service as well as common courtesy when it comes to being a guest at one of Starwoods properties. This was by far my worst experience at a Westin hotel and not only would I not recommend the property, but I will also advise my corporate travel department on my experience and disappointment. March 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Opportunity for Westin Charlotte to much improve on Quality and Customer Service I am writing this email in an utmost frustration and disappointment in terms of both quality and customer service of Westin Charlotte. I am frequent business traveler and both my company and I have chosen Westin to be the preferred hotel. This is due to its quality and customer service, which I am very accustomed too in almost every state/city I have visited EXCEPT Westin Charlotte. This is the second time I have to deal with unclean room rather there was a smoking smell coming from room 1720. I had front desk manager Jonathan examined the room first hand. During my last visit May 15th – I had to change the rooms twice. First room had leaking toilet and in the second room beds were not made. And in addition to this I always have internet connection problem in this hotel. And each time I have to call help desk to fix the issue. I would appreciate your prompt attention to these issues. May 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisey and uncomfortable We found the room acoustics at this hotel to be the worst we have ever encountered. We could clearly hear every word of anyone in the hallway and what was happening in the room next door. The bed linens were so poorly put on that merely rolling over dislodged them creating lumps etc preventing a comfortable nights sleep. There was no TV listing in the room and when I got one the channels did not match the listing. I will say that the check in process was above average as the first room we got smelled like vomit and we were given a second room quickly and without hassle. January 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Presidential suite a disappointment During a recent meeting my professional society was hosting I was lodged in a Presidential Suite. While the space was very large, it was somewhat dated and the master closet and bathroom were not connected to the bedroom. Service was spotty and inconsistent. For example, when I called down at 9:00 one night to order some glasses for an after dinner meeting I was chastised that this request should have gone through catering and it was a "big deal" to have 10 glasses brought up at this time of night. Finally, only one day of my six day visit was the bedroom and entertaining spaces ALL cleaned to satisfaction. Pretty mediocre experience... August 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Freezing Massage The size and comfort of the room was great, the staff were very helpful and friendly, and the hotel decoration was lovely. I'd love for the beds to still be made and the room still tidied up, even if we choose to "go green" and not have new linens placed on the bed. The food needs a lot of improvement in taste and quality (breakfast omelet, chicken sandwich and sweet potato tots were pretty bad, though the blueberry pancakes were good). When I went to get a massage, the facility was so cold that I shivered for the entire 90-minutes. The masseuse was excellent, really very skilled, but struggled to even keep her hands warm because of the temperature. September 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great rooms but constant issues The staff has finally started to get better recognizing that I've stayed there almost every week for the last 6 months, so staying positive that is good. The rooms are fantastic and comfortable and the wifi is really good and easy to use. Biggest problem lately has been the TV. The TV goes out at least one night per week. I could start to believe the excuse of storms in the area but it never applies to all channels and even all HD channels. It most often is on a channel that has a major event on such as a sporting event or primetime show. For a hotel of this caliber I feel it is completely unaccepable - and it literally happens every week I'm staying there. June 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by awful customer service reservation was not ready; waited several hours; no starwood preferred floor as reserved; no one to retrieve my luggage; key didn't work; boarding pass machine didnt work. gave me complimentary water which they then charged me for.... November 18, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed feelings about your hotel We had to call the front desk 3 times in one night b/c the room beside us was playing very loud music and yelling (between 11pm-2am). We were surprised that such immature people were allowed to stay in such a nice hotel. Our room was very nice and we enjoyed the uptown view. Our check in was easy and quick. We feel $18 a day for parking is WAY overpriced!! We were disappointed that there wasn't an outdoor pool to enjoy. The bed was not as comfortable as I had hoped. Maybe my expectations were high since I've heard such good things about your Heavenly Bed. My partner woke up with terrible neck pain! August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely, welcoming, hotel The lobby is large and beautifully appointed, but best of all you are greeted by staff immediately upon arrival. The bar area provides a comfortable space to meet friends for conversation and snacks. We had a dinner for 20 in the restaurant and were all happy with excellent food and service. Our room on the 20th floor provided a nice view of Charlotte, very comfortable beds, and sufficient amenities for our needs. Finally, the elevators were amazing - quickly swished us up or down without lots of stops in-between. August 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reasonable, Standard Westin Experience Checked in on a Wednesday later afternoon. Valet was quick and efficient. Checkin was reasonably easy, and my status was acknowledged -- no upgrade offered, but this hotel doesn't have a lot of suites, so no big deal. The rooms are comfortable, albeit a little on the smaller side, and some of the furnishings are definitely starting to show their age. I prefer the corner rooms as they have extra windows. Internet worked well, and i had a quick breakfast in Embers in the morning, which was fine. No problem checking out or getting my car. Had a really nice dinner at Halcyon in the Mint, btw. June 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel experience ever! Comfortable and friendly. Felt like home. September 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to the mark As Westin hotels go, this particular one leaves much to be desired. Rooms are basic, and not cleaned well. The room I had this week had a big red wine stain on the carpet - no one seemed to care! The staff do the "bare minimum", no attention to detail, no going out of their way either. Housekeeping forgets to leave toiletries, water etc. Not to mention the room service is more expensive than any other Westin (even more than Manhattan!), and the food is not even par. Not sure what gives Westin Charlotte the license to charge $43 for a plate of bad pasta. Even though I'm an SPG loyalist, I avoid this hotel whenever I can. February 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Stay! Hotel in perfect location to Convention Center, restaurants and downtown attractions, as well as, transportation. Rooms clean and very well appointed. One of the few hotels where all of the elevators operated with minimum wait. A rarity for large groups. September 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Value for the dollar spent is not there Problems everywhere... - Room: Upon arrival, I found what appeared to be public hairs in the sink. After turning the room upside down, housekeeping had knocked off bluetooth. headset off the table and found it under the bed. I found a filthy wash cloth under the bed. Some electrical plugs didn't work. Room A/C did not cool the room consistently (go to bed with a cool room as intended but room was hot by morning despite the t-stat showing the same settings) - Meals: 3 meals at Ember Restaurant... Food was subpar... Breakfast in particular on 2 occasions and lunch once. The service was terrible on the last meal. Several requests took 10+ minutes (juice request, hot water for tea, etc) Had to pay cash because despite asking manager for service, she/no one ever came back to us to collect our payments. - Conference space: Often 1x service on my phone with 3G on occasion. Had to pay to use wifi in conference area despite lack of cell coverage. April 21, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 28 next>>