The Westin Charlotte

  • 601 South College Street
  • Charlotte,
  • North Carolina
  • 28202
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 610 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wrongly charged I was extremely unhappy that they charged my credit card after a week without informaing me. While checking out I got a hotel folio which was in line with the true charges and the credit card was also charged the same amount. I just randomly happended to check my credit card account and relaized they charged me 900$ without any updated folio. So if i did not scrub thorugh my credit cart statement i would have never realized. I now wonder how many other times you have chared me after giving me a folio. I feel i need to check my starwood charges closely. also when i called to complain , teh account executive let me go on for 10 minutes only to tell me i need to contact accounting next day. really not the level of service i expected. extremely dissatisfied! March 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by just ok..... After staying at the Hilton in Charlotte last year, i was a little let down by the overall look and friendliness at this hotel. I was here for an event and overall it was just ok......The bathroom faucets leaked and seemed to run warm water out of both side. I could not get a rollaway even though i was an hour prior to check-in and had requested it. I do like the Westin weekend with late check-out that. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well Kept Been almost ten years since last stay at this facility...Rooms, amenities and conference facilities extremely well kept and a top shelf staff...Would certainly recommend... April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable, very nice This is the second time I stay at this Westin property, both for conferences at the nearby convention center. The location is great for that and proximity to restaurants, and airport, the hotel is bright, beautiful, the staff is nice, the rooms are very comfortable. The bed is indeed heavenly, the in-room coffee maker with Starbucks coffee is a treat, the bathroom is well lit, and the "rain" shower is wonderful. Everything is super clean. The restaurants served yummy food. The gym is awesome. The price is on the high end. The experience matched it. March 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Charlotte The hotel design is good. The room design is good. Check in was efficient and polite. The maid service in the room was bad. The cleaning left a lot to be desired. The gym is excellent with good machines. Too bad there is not a jacuzzi to go with the small lap pool. The restaurant was average. Eat out. Our room smelled like a smoker room even though it was billed as non smoking. We tried to get a massage a couple of times, but unless you book way ahead, forget it. March 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great room, gouged on amenities I loveed the room, it was clean and comfortable. That being said, there were few to no amenities and the F&B pricing was out of control. I paid for room service which included a delivery charge and service charge. Along with a tip and tax my cost of food was less then the other charges. Also customer service was hit and miss. My over all impression was that I felt no loyalty towards the brand. Although the room was good and service OK the brand did everything they could to squeeze every last penny out of me. When you get nickle and dimed like that, it doesn't leave you with a good feeling. March 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to Westin standards I can depend on Westin for a superb hotel experience -- usually. Unfortunately, that was not the case in Charlotte. The room I was given was just behind the elevators, and I knew immediately that it would be a problem. I was told, however, that there was no other room available. I could have managed the noise and vibration -- it probably would not bother anyone who is not a light sleeper -- from the elevator, but it was compounded by a noisy bathroom fan that could not be turned off. Finally, the temperature in the room could not be adjusted, and most of the time I was simply way too cold, so resorted to sleeping in bathrobe, socks and gloves. I was also disappointed in my fitness experience, when the tranquility room could not be accessed. On the plus side, I received an excellent meal and was well served in the restaurant. March 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The beds were hard to sleep in I was in room 2307. The bed next to the window was broken down and my sleep was poor. After two nights I tried the other queen bed and it was a little better. I remember advertising which claimed the best mattresses for a heavenly sleep. Guess my room didn't come with that feature. It would be a good idea to change out those mattresses for future guests. Everything else was great. sincerely, Ron March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by price should include internet For as high as the price was it should have included in-room internet at no additional charge. November 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of my favorite domestic Westins I've stayed at more than 20 Westins domestically, and I think I can say that this is my favorite. It's a beautiful property with impressive design. The staff is incredibly professional, on-the-mark and as an SPG platinum guest -- the provided ample recognition and amenities. During both of my stays I was upgraded to a large corner suite on one of the top floors. I can't speak highly enough to how impressive these suites are...especially for a business traveler. Restaurant is great with excellent specials and an outdoor seating area. Super convenient self-parking to save the company some money. Will stay here every time I'm in Charlotte. March 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Difficult to get a good night's sleep. All normal conversation, whether from the room next door or from the hallway will make it very difficult to sleep. Bad design of the door between the rooms and the front door and it's 1 1/2 inch lower gap. Both doors let an incredible amount of noise. Also you can easily hear the person next door pee. March 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Worst SPG property I've stayed at The only positive thing about this property are the employees that work here. I've stayed at this Westin on several occasions and each time it's gets progressively worse. They changed the shower heads, which used to be the best feature in the rooms. There is absolutely no SPG recognition. No free water, club room or other amenities offered at almost all other SPG properties. If you are ever coming to Charlotte, do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere. March 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unclean + have to fight for SPG Gold Rights I am an SPG gold member and we had a 2 room suite at this hotel (Charlotte Westin). The room was in shambles. There was a pair of tweezers and a dirty sock left in the room. One of the shower doors was coming off the hinge and had a crack in the glass. Overall, just a mess. In addition, I had to call the service desk because they were not going to offer free wifi to Gold members. The person I reached was very nice and said that she would put down that I was very difficult because that is the only way she could give me wifi for free. When I stay at nearly any other hotel where I have status wifi is always free. If that is a new SPG policy throughout the system, I'll definitely be considering that when I make my reservations. March 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is great My stay was excellent and the food at the Ember Restaurant was wonderful. March 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Apathy by management. As I read the reviews of previous guests it seems that some of my concerns have been mentioned before and still not addressed by hotel management, as we experienced similar problems of past guests. We checked in early in the evening after a long drive and were quite tired. The person at the front desk was very polite, but despite noting that there were 5 in my party ( 2 adults and 3 young children), did not inform us that if we were planning to use the sleeper sofa in our room that we would need to call house keeping to have the bed made up for our use.As we had a parlor room with 1 bed ( a king) she must have thought that all 5 of us would be sleeping in this one bed! She did not inquireabout our sleeping arrangements or offer assistance. It was not until our children had changed into there pajamas that we discovered the bed was not made and then after calling the front desk discovered the need to have housekeeping make up the bed. They did so promptly, though did not bring pillows for the bed, and it was uncomfortable having a stranger in our room while our children were in there pjs ready for bed. We found the beds to be poorly made, with mattress pads that did not fit the beds and linens that were to small for the bed. As such the sheets and mattress pad turned into a nice lump in your back. Not the most restful sleep despite the "heavenly bed" logo. The bathroom was extremely cold and apparently doesnt have a direct heating source.,almost unbearable (it was in the mid 30's that evening), and same for the pool area and spa. Lastly when we attempted to bring our concerns to management, we could not speak to anyone directly. We had to leave a voicemail with the front end manager, and despite our requests for a return call still have not spoken to anyone. Instead we received the same generic , tepid reponse, via E-mail,, AFTER A WEEK AND A HALF,that I see on the reviews that I've read on line. Obviously they truly care about there guests opinions!! Not what I would have expected from a hotel chain with the Westins reputation. I will never stay there again, though I would still continue to stay at other Westins. Very disappointing!!!!! February 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Absolutley Love this Hotel I have been staying here for 7 years. When our son got married we booked a block of rooms everything was perect. The staff are genuinely caring and this must be because of the leadership of the GM Leo. My wife loves this hotel and my grand kids enjoy coming downtown for that heavenly experience March 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not What It Once Was My wife and I spent our wedding night at this hotel. I have made many recommendations in the past; however, I recently thought to surprise my wife with a night out from the house. The promised suite upgrade did not happen, which was a critical factor in deciding to book the hotel. I called the night before to ensure the Platinum Upgrade would be there and upon check in was told no. The room service menu was no where to be found and eventually a printed piece of paper was brought to the room. When the room service arrived it was not complete, not as described and cost nearly $100 for breakfast items. I stay at Starwood Properties more than 100 nights a year now and as Westin's go this hotel is not up to standard. June 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by We were very unsatisfied I am sorry to say that we were very unhappy with our stay at your hotel. First, the man at check in could not find our reservation and was not helpful nor offered any apologies. He found our reservation eventually. Next, our room was not clean. There were some stains on the sheets, a ripped pillowcase, crumbs on the carpet, and the tub did not look clean. We tried to have a drink and a bit to eat in the bar after the play, but after 30 minutes of being ignored by the waitress we left. When we came back to our room and some sort of "air freshener" had been sprayed in our room and it smelled terrible. We called to complain and although Jennifer was very polite it took the manager an hour to call us back and again his response was not polite or helpful. He offered to move us, but at this point it was midnight and we chose not to move. Costumer service and cleanliness is vital to a hotels reputation. I stayed here years ago and was very satisfied. Sorry to say, this hotel has gone downhill and this will be the last visit to this hotel. March 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Governor's Conference Over all room was ok. Nothing special for the compared to the price of the room. Internet was $12.95 per day, free at most hotels. Went to breakfast and didn't want to pay $20.00 for the buffet, order one eggs, hash brown and toast - costed me $16.00 plus $5.00 for cup of coffee. OMG I was not a happy camper, even worst, the eggs were from a mix. The food provided for the Governor's Conference was terrible, I am a vegetarian and had to eat out every meal. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, shop around. March 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by My Stay at the Westin Both nights I couldn't sleep, I was next to obnoxiiously loud guests, that went in and out of their room all night slamming doors. They were talking loudly in the hallway until 2 am , ect. I had to complain. Lack of sleep for an educational conference is never good. I definitely have had better experiences! March 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful facility & Nice location The facility is nice and a nice location along the train track. The sheets and bed comforter were not clean and some areas were extremely dusty. The coffee pot didnot work properly. At check in the staff changed my reservation and failed to acknowledge me as an spg member. It took 3 trips to the front desk for them to get my reservation and points correct not to mention an unneseccesary trip to the front desk to get the keys rekeyed because they failed to work. The staff created unnecessary inconveniences. This was my second time staying at this hotel and my last. Last year I had the same similar issues which resulted in me calling spg services and the manager. February 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by tired of internet charges & problems Tired of $12.95 per day for internet that does not work at peak periods and charges every time you log on - tired of having to ask the check out clerk adjust the charges - I asked the check out clerk to smile if she had heard my complaint before - both of them started to laugh. Westin professionals - get the message - even your employees are cracking up at the charges and the poor service - are you not embarrassed? Come on - Westin is a great brand with great properties for a reasonable price - join the rest of the world or expand the band width - September 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Parking issues The signage for the parking garage is not clear. When you get out of your car, upon arrival, it says in big letters B1, but there is a little tiny M in the bottom RH corner. New comers, Please take notice. When you get ready to leave the hotel, the elevator buttons and doors signs say: BM B1 B2 B3. As you leave you remember Parking on B1 and not on BM. You actually are parked on BM even though the signs appear to be B1. Its very confusing. Their signs need to be consistent and they are not. March 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good staff, Nice facilities but worn rooms Very large, modern convention hotel right on the edge of uptown. Staff is friendly and welcoming. Rooms are modern, but there are problems (phone is next to bed and cannot be placed on the desk, so if you're working and need to use the phone, you have to sit on the bed. The Drapery was hanging half off and paint was peeling in the bathroom over the sink. Very nice, spacious fitness center and a good indoor swim pool. There is no executive floor and if you are a SPG Platinum, the benefits are not complete. Also, there's a Kinko's in the hotel. August 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Convention 1) Meeting rooms, ballroom, etc. were comperable. 2) Amendities were comperable. 3) Service was mostly comperable; noticed one waitress at Lobby Bar rude to a customer and the wait for food/drinks overall was slow. 4) Price - Food/drinks too pricey. March 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointed Stayed at property during CIAA event. Disappointed to find that hotel made arrangements at expense of hotel guest by requiring guest to wear wrist bands the entire weekend (unacceptable). I was stopped on the way to my room with 2 guest and required to show a room key (which is understandable given the magnitude of people in the lobby), however the staff member then demanded that the guest accompanying me go get wrist bands, to which I refused, he then proceed to call the police over, which was not only unnecessary but insulting, and an overstep of authority to which he did not have. Shorty afterward I brought my concern to management who offered an apology and excuses but no further action to correct the behavior. What is equally disappointing is the lack of follow through and responsiveness from the property as a result of occurrence. I have since filed a complaint with Customer Service, who indicated that management sent an “amenity” to my room after the incident (which I did not receive). Given my relationship with the Starwood brand and properties, I would have at least expected a face to face conversation. As a Platinum member I have very high expectations when it comes to Customer service as well as common courtesy when it comes to being a guest at one of Starwoods properties. This was by far my worst experience at a Westin hotel and not only would I not recommend the property, but I will also advise my corporate travel department on my experience and disappointment. March 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice - but know what to expect Very comfortable, quiet and clean room. Great banquet room and food service! Beware of the extra $18 per day to park at the hotel. Also, the bottled water in the room is not complimentary as advertised. March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stay great hotel, easy to get to, staff was super friendly, rooms were wonderful. right across street from convention center so very convenient if you're attending an event there March 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charlotte 3/6-3/7 This was not one of my best experiences- I was in room 1427, the light on the desk had a broken switch which made it hard to operate. The bedside lamp shade was lose and the lamp itself was unplugged. The staff had forgotten to leave toiletries like mouthwash in the bathroom. Just felt a little below your normally great standards. March 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Opportunity for Westin Charlotte to much improve on Quality and Customer Service I am writing this email in an utmost frustration and disappointment in terms of both quality and customer service of Westin Charlotte. I am frequent business traveler and both my company and I have chosen Westin to be the preferred hotel. This is due to its quality and customer service, which I am very accustomed too in almost every state/city I have visited EXCEPT Westin Charlotte. This is the second time I have to deal with unclean room rather there was a smoking smell coming from room 1720. I had front desk manager Jonathan examined the room first hand. During my last visit May 15th – I had to change the rooms twice. First room had leaking toilet and in the second room beds were not made. And in addition to this I always have internet connection problem in this hotel. And each time I have to call help desk to fix the issue. I would appreciate your prompt attention to these issues. May 23, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>