The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

  • 3555 South Ocean Drive
  • Hollywood,
  • Florida
  • 33019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check-in to a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1091 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Executive Not what I would have expected being a very loyal SPG member and someone who absolutely raves about Westin properties. Toilet broken, room faced very noisy flock of birds and air conditioning units outside (an eyesore), among other things. Not worth the price. Took 6 separate attempts to get manager rectificiation during peak hours (although they were certainly very pleasant and nice). This included call backs, and going to the desk three times. A shame, it was a lovely property but I won't be coming back. The little store (with beach items) staff was amazing. The restauraunt staff - most acted as if they were doing me a favor. February 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Diplomat Overall the experience was average which was a huge disappointment. The room was not clean when I first entered. Bedsheets had an oily content, there was hair on the windowsill, and too few towels. We alerted the staff and it was remedied but not a good feeling after walking into a room after a long travel day. April 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel felt like home away from home. The hotel staff were AMAZING! Everyone there was extremely kind and welcoming. If you got lost or had a question (some of them I am sure they answer about 300 times a day), they answered thoroughly. The room was extremely clean, and the availability to get food in the lobby during late hours really helped us out. We arrived at 10:30 pm the first night of our stay. We self parked, and getting in and out of the hotel was very easy. I would recommend this hotel hands down and look forward to the opportunity to stay there again. The only negatives that I can really point to is having to pay for Wifi in the room and the coffee is not refilled in the room everyday. November 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Everything but the hospitality Let me start this review with the positive... the staff at the business office went truly above and beyond to be accommodating to any shipping/business needs. They were helpful, attentive, followed up, and solved a lot of issues for us that were not their fault. Definition of good hospitality industry service. FedEx was having shipping issues, and the very kind manager of the business office and his employees truly gave us 5 star service. I must say, despite anything else I say negative in this review, they were incredibly kind and very helpful. I'm grateful for their help. Also, I will say the facilities are absolutely gorgeous. The cleanliness, innovative and fun room design, overall look and polish... everything about the facility is wonderful. That said, you couldn't pay me to go back. The sheer apathy and sometimes overt rudeness of much of the staff was often shocking, to the point that I would have been surprised to be in any hotel, much less a resort like this. From taking 45 minutes to check in a line of 7 people with 4 employees, to 45 minute wait times to get the car from valet, to having bags checked with the luggage desk held for over 90 minutes without being delivered, but not allowed to be picked up because the bellman had to be tipped to receive the bags. The cafe had incredible food, but it took over an hour to order and get served a simple lunch salad. Keep in mind, the number of employees in the restaurant outnumbered the guests (I can see why), and the water glass sat empty the entire time. My favorite experience was after waiting a few minutes in line for the concierge desk, walking up when it was our turn, and the looks at us, turns around, and walks away. No "I'll be with you in a moment" or "I'll be right back", just looks at us, and walks off. (Someone eventually returned a few minutes later...) All the "things" at this hotel were the definition of 5 star. Food, cleanliness, amenities, etc. That said, the average attitude of 80% of the staff seemed to be "it's not my problem". I've gotten on a regular basis better service from 1-2 star dive hotels...even the basic courtesies were missing. Furthermore, do NOT ever consider this hotel for a conference or event. While the facilities are perfect, the staff are not trained nor do they plan ahead to handle the swings and influx that come with conference traffic. The check-in process is cumbersome, valet system bottlenecked, and luggage storage inadequate, and the list goes on... they simply don't plan ahead to handle the traffic. You'll spend 1 hour checking in, 90 minutes waiting on bags, and an hour on getting your car back like we did... 3.5 hours wasted on a process that should take 45 minutes max, an hour with peak traffic. Best hotel facility I've stayed at all year, combined with the worst service I've had all year. Amazing shame, and genuinely surprising. I travel for a living and do conferences at similar resorts almost monthly, so I'm used to these places... never in my career had an experience like this at a place like this. I hope the trade association I was with responds to the feedback given and never returns to this hotel. August 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Service at this hotel needs work Stayed at this hotel for a few nights. Everyone had their hand out for a tip and no one did anything to deserve a tip. Had several issues with housekeeping. The lady yelled at myself and the lady down the hall. She would not give us fresh towels. The shower in our room did not drain and it leaked on the floor. Tub did not drain either. Carpet in room was wet when we arrived. Front desk said someone would dry the carpet. No one ever did. Asked for new room with a shower that drained and a dry carpet. The front desk said they would move us checked us out of room and never gave us a new room. Housekeeping never cleaned our room. I said something. I was told Oh sorry we are booked. When the hotel asked for a review they said sorry for the confusion. March 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great poperty, but beds don't live up to standard We really enjoyed almost everything about this hotel. Lobby was beautiful. Fitness center above average. Pools and beach area were fantastic. The problem was that the beds and bedding did not live up to Westin standards. Having stayed at several Westin's and Sheraton's lately, I feel confident saying that this was the most uncomfortable bed and the these were the lowest quality sheets/blankets we've encountered in quite sometime. And this is coming from someone who really likes this part of the Westin experience; we bought pillows and sheets from Westin for our own home! I'd stay here again, but if the hotel can do something to improve the bedding they should. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great family stay! Stayed here towards the end of January when the resort was sold out due to a bunch of conferences. SERVICE: even at capacity i was pleasantly surprised with service and upkeep overall. when i came at about 1pm the suite was not ready, but got ready by about 2:30 (i came to check before they called me). I reserved a Diplomat suite (no ocean view) but after some begging (and with my SPG Gold status) was kindly upgraded to their Corner suite, which really is perfect for a family of four. Strangely, i wasn;t given exec club privileges (i don't remember ever not getting that upgrade perk even as a gold), so i had to buy my own cereal and milk, and couldn't check out the beautiful exec club suite people rave about. They sent us chocolates and a handwritten card for our anniversary, which was a very nice touch. BATH: suite had a great bathroom with big tub and separate shower with good rain shower coming directly from ceiling plus a separate handle showerhead to use depending on preference (rainshower had nice pressure, better than i expected, but separate head was very weak). loved the soft robes. BEDROOM: was a nice king heavenly bed that was perfect for vacation zonking. tv's in both rooms had some sort of minor issue with turning on to tv, and there was no easy to use online channel guide (like i have with FIOS at home) so it was hard to really use/flip channels, but we weren't there for tv. Living room included a BOSE audio system with DVD player which was a nice plus for putting on kids dvds (they advertise childrens programming on the hotel website, but only had Nick, Cartoon network and pbs, no Nick Jr. for our 3 and 5 year olds). LIVINGROOM: included a small table w 4 chairs for eating in, plus a couple of couches (one folds view from the long porch was fantastic, right over the pool and directly fronting the beach/ocean. porch included a table and two chairs on one side, and a nice lounge chair and another little table on the other side. loved leaving the sliding door open to hear the waves, so calming and beautiful, and sunrises were great. KIDS CLUB: my kids attended the kids club for 2 3hour morning sessions and had a great time. because there were only a handful of kids my week, there was no bounce house until the last day of my stay, but they had a nice coloring activity (4 and 5) and there is a bunch of fun stuff there (air hockey foosball) plus a nice area to play on the beach, and they go swimming too. They also throw in a nice goodie bag of fun stuff for kids (a quality little bag for the beach, plus a nice water bottle and a hat that says westin kids club, really cute. definitely worth $30 for three fun hours (and a little break for me and the Mrs. for our anniversary getaway). ACTIVITIES: the great thing about this resort is it is really a resort, with tons of things to do. also, there is a special activity credit u can sign up at front desk for, get $100 in activities for $80 (and can get several credits per day). so if u will spend 100 in one day, make sure to enroll. GOLF: we went golfing (special twilight deal was 99 per person with clubs and cart), which was really nice, but make sure to bring your own golf balls, as they were an extra $30 for 15. JETSKIING- for just $80 you can rent a jetski for a half hour (and can have 2 people on and switch off). was lots of fun (even when we fell off :)) and something i hope to do every time i come back here. BEACH- nice and clean, but note that chairs cost 12 beds cost more and umbrellas also cost separate. nice volleyball court was a lot of fun (brought my own ball). POOL AREA - plenty of lounging available for free and really a beautiful set up. loved the large amount of pool space available, which leads to much less crowding vs other hotels during busy times. the infinity pool is great for kids, as it starts at about 1 feet for the firs section, so even toddlers can have a great time unassisted, and then most of the rest of the pools stay at about 3.5 feet, which means no diving, and may irritate adult swimmers, but me and the fam loved it. a couple of jacuzzi's were also nice. BOATING: can rent boats form a dock on the intercoastal accross the street from the hotel. FOOD: Gelatto at the coffee shop was kosher (ask to check boxes) which was a great plus for me, and there are several kosher restaurants in the vicinity (including a pizza store that delivers directly to the hotel (Dairy Bites) with reasonable pizza prices for pies that are a little smaller than normal). starbucks coffee was great in the rooms. rooms also come with small fridge and separate minibar, so decent space for milk etc. OVERALL- a classy place that is kept up very nice (rebuilt in 2003). You have to pay a premium, but I don't think most other hotels can compare with the bang for your buck (especially if you have an SPG card). Room Tip: of course oceanfront is key. February 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, beautiful beaches Everything at this hotel was fantastic with one exception. We called and confirmed in advance with multiple staff members that we would have 2 beds in the room. When we got there at 1 am from a long, west coast flight (as anticipated), the staff informed us our room with two beds was not available. We had to wait on an old, roll-away bed to be brought up in the middle of the night after arriving exhausted. That was disappointing considering the extra steps taken in advance to secure a two bed. The next day they moved us to another room. Other than that, excellent facilities and everything we expected. Great staff in general. May 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too big for it's own good To keep it short, we had multiple communication issues with several staff members stating different information. Our room had multiple issues and a less than expected view (side of a condo). Bad room service, awful spa experience and very overpriced food and amenities (pay for a chair on the beach?). I don't understand the other people that gave great reviews, they must have never stayed at another SPG hotel. My experiences have always been high but this time I was left scratching my head April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stunning Property The Westin team turned a rushed single night stay into a magical escape. Chris recognized our gold status and graciously upgraded our weary pair to an ocean view suite. Wow, what an upgrade! I could scale back and live in the space this suite afforded. Ideal seperate living area with full wrap balcony took every advantage of the panoramic view, the soothing sound of waves and the continual ocean breeze. Truly heaven with an amazing bedroom, walk in closet, and bathroom to match. Valet was impeccable as was the service and food at our late night dinner from the bar. We never even made it to the beach... this hotel brings the beach to you. Thanks for a spectacular 16 hours. January 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Great Hotel with all required amenities Had a wonderful pleasant stay. Though a bit dismayed about the cost per day for Wi-Fi access. April 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Poor service and room, staff rude I checked in and despite my status was given a small room, and the bathroom was outdated, the couch filthy. The shower head was an old plastic one which barely reached my chin so I had to squat to wash my hair, this is not Starwood standard. When I went to the coffee shop they said I couldn't charge to my room and had to go to the front desk, when I did there was no issue. I also told the front desk about my shower and the girl argued with me. I was also not credited my points on my check out and had to ask for them. Overall, after 6 years of staying at this hotel with beautiful rooms this was undoubtedly the worst visit. December 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not Good We were very dissapointed that on the day we checked in, we had to call 3 times for extra pillows and sheets, it took over an hour to get them. We were all tired and just wanted to go to sleep and we were waiting on those supplies. Each time we called, the person who answered the phone questioned us if we knew there were extra pillows in the closet, we never should have been questioned and it should not have taken 3 calls and an hour of waiting! We also called down to get our car, when going out to get into it, The valet attendant looked at our ticket and told us that the car that was pulled up was ours, it was NOT! They tried to give out the wrong car! Not Good! July 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Get with the times In this day and age your front desk should never answer the call from the room refering to the guests as Mr. and Mrs. It could be Mr. and Mr. Mrs and Mrs. or an ummarried couple. I really expect more from the Westin. March 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unbelievable!! Having stayed at the Diplomat twice before, I had excellent expectations, But... they were understaffed in the cafe and bar, considering there were three conventions being held. It took 15 minutes to get coffee and once I placed it, took 45 minutes to get a breakfast order, which made me late for meetings. Bar service was almost non-existent. Had to call to get my room cleaned, and then had towels which were frayed and ragged. And, my 11 year old grandson makes beds better than the person servicing our room. April 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, But!! The hotel was beautiful! The pools and ocean access was awesome. Rooms were very nice. The BUT would be that in the mornings when we returned to the pool area, often the trash was not removed from the day before and we had incredibly noisey neighbors. The first night I didn't think much about it, but on the second night they were really loud, squeals, very amorous, smoking on the balcony causing them to open and close the quite loud patio door. Security came once but they didn't follow up to assure a behavior change. Overall a wonderful hotel and I would go back but would be quicker to complain about noisey neighbors! July 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Service Check in process took hours (well after the 4pm designated check-in time), understaffed check-in...3 stations staffed of 10 available stations. Platinum status was not recognized or rewarded. Service is poor and not a focus of this property. April 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lounge food was improved This was once was the best getaway hotel on the Hollywood Beach. We would go three times a year. Last week was our 21st Anniversary we arrived and the valet had no body to carry our luggage. The girls who open the door had a great conversation about school loans and never greeted us. Then we checked in and our room wasn't ready and waited in lobby over an hour our rooms was ready earlier but the front desk employee had a long line of guest and forgot to tell us. We finally checked in and by the time we went downstairs the sun was gone. We return to our room and T.V did not turn on we had to sit down and calm down. September 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Associates are Outstanding This is the third year that I have stayed at the Westin in Hollywood, Florida. I was taken back by a few of the Associates that remembered me from last. Shani at Rivals and Roland from the bar in the lobby. The service is awesome. Everyone says hello to you, anytime you need anything they are happy to get it for you. Christopher and James at the front desk do a wonderful job. Ed over at the Cafe was just awesome. Mark at the Concierge did a great job. Last but not least, There are three WONDERFUL ladies at Hollywood Prime, Allyson, Jackie and Laura took awesome care of me and my customers. Thank you all so much. October 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service very friendly Theo personal at club level Washington magnificus very kind Andes servicial. The one in recepción werent so. April 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Bus Trip This resort has it all and then some ! My room was modern and had a good comfy bed. The cocktail waitress in the lobby bar so was courteous, helpful, and friendly to me, i wish i could recall her name - The entire Staff was very nice and provided good service. The Conf/meeting rooms were good and so was the Food. I would recommend this Hotel to any bus or leisure travel. April 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel not comfortable Pillows way to small and soft and fell thru the headboard crack all night, asked for additional firm pillos which were not an upgrade in comfort, gym closes at unaccpeptable early evening 9pm and is not lit very well and has no television sets to watch Sports Center or other Sports games, set up of gym has you facing walls instead of the work out area. Unnecessary extra charges to use beach chairs unlike other Miami Hotels that include beach chairs on the beach, the hotel does not offer many areas to have hot meals after 2pm which is unacceptable an dtheir sports bar Rivals on the intracoastal is closed all day. December 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by VERY FUN STAY I enjoyed my stay at the westin,everyone was so pleasent and look as if they truly love working. Dave was outstanding he was able to help us during check in. I booked a King room overlooking the ocean only to find out that the room type was already sold out but Dave fixed the problem with ease. All the staff are very helpful and friendly thanks for the great stay..... P.S The only thing that needs to be looked into is making sure that the housekeepers respect the DND sign I had the sign out the day of check out and the housekeeper Knocked on my door at 9:45am and again at 11:30am when your there for rest and relaxation you reallly dont want to wake up at 9:45 in the morning. October 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Impressions The property is beautiful, however when we were going to our room the first night there were Room Service carts in the hallway which we had weave through to get to our room. The room itself was nice however it had a leak in the shower which was not fixable during our stay. We were moved to another room however it was not comparable to our first room so we moved back and just put towels around the shower. Unfortunately the worst part was my daughter bought a picture for rememberance and when we were leaving it was no longer in the room to take home. Not sure if it was thrown out or what happen. January 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 service was horrible Service was unacceptable. Not enough staff to accommodate customers. The week I was there the hotel ran out of pool towels, the lines for dining or even a cup of coffee were nauseating, cleaning staff banged on our door at 8:30AM. Countless issues . The management were callous and never returned calls. Really disappointing. Being an SPG member offered NO benefit at all. Most restaurants had NO IDEA about the discounts offered to members. The grounds were beautiful and the rooms were nice but not worth the inefficiencies experienced at this hotel. July 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Need more attention to the details! Let's face it, when you spend the kind of money that this hotel demands, you have a higher expectation of EVERYTHING. You expect a clean room, and they delivered, you expect everything to be in working order, it wasn't. You expect more recognition in terms of the level of guest you have attained through Starwood, we didn't. So even if the facility matched the outrageous price ... it would have still been a let down. April 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing for the price I was shocked at how understaffed the check-in desk was. There were long lines at various times of the day. My room was not ready at 3:00, which was OK since check-in is at 4:00. I was told that I would be called when the room was ready. I was not called. I was told that I would be on a certain floor, that room was not ready for me at 4:30. My friends were treated shabbily by the front desk personnel. Also, for a hotel in this price range, the amenities were on the low end side and sparse. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who has a choice of hotels. March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel We stayed at the Diplomat for just one night, the night before cruising out of Miami. We mainly wanted a hotel seomwhere between Fort Lauderdale, where we flew in, and Miami, where we were cruising from. This was almost half way in between. We wanted a nice pool and also a pretty beach for our kids for the day. We also wanted to try to stay somewhere where we could use hotel points. This hotel meet all of our needs. The staff was friendly, and the hotel was much nicer than we had anticipated. We were a little concerned after reading some mixed reviews, but we only experienced postiive things. The room was very nice and clean, and we had a great view of the beach and the ocean. April 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Engagement Surprise! My girlfriend and I (SPG Platinum member) spent a long weekend here in December with both our sets of parents. Accommodations were great (both rooms upgraded to ocean views on the 34th floor!), clean pools, attentive staff, good beach, great executive club lounge, etc. I have no complaints. When the plumber came to unclog our shower drain, we were given 4 tickets to the breakfast buffet ($100 value). I used the weekend as the perfect surprise opportunity to get engaged. When the service staff found out about this, we were treated with complimentary drinks and beach chairs. The Westin Diplomat helped to make this a very special and memorable weekend and we will definitely return! December 14, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 Great vacation hotel This is a good resort hotel. The pool is a good size with ample amounts of lounge chairs. The private beach with daybeds / lounge chairs (You have to rent these at an additional charge) is good, since you are allowed to order drinks and take drinks from the pool bar onto the beach. All of the public beaches in Miami don't allow alcohol. The bar has a good variety of drinks although was very busy. The spa has a nice steam room / sauna and amazing service. The rooms are well appointed and have pretty much everything you would expect, although you get an extra fridge in addition to the minibar so you can buy beer / alcohol and store it yourself which is a welcome touch. The only complaint I really have is that everything was pretty crowded, even during the week. This might be due to the fact that when we were staying there was a conference going on and the hotel was at capacity. It might be worth it to check with the hotel to see how full it is before booking. April 10, 2014
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 38 next>>