The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

  • 3555 South Ocean Drive
  • Hollywood,
  • Florida
  • 33019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check-in to a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1142 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Below average for SPG I've had great experiences at every Westin or St. Regis hotel since becoming SPG members until this one. From the time we checked in, which took almost 2 hours, through the duration of our stay, we found everything highly unorganized and dysfunctional. There was a major shortage of staff, and waiting for anything from a cup of coffee to a beach chair felt like an eternity and made the stay far from relaxing. To top things off, we left one of our children's bags in the room after checking out, and upon advising lost and found we were met with yet more indifference, and not so much as a returned phone call. This hotel has a nice location and beach with clean rooms but don't expect anything beyond that. March 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Hotel of choice when in South Florida The stay at this hotel was both amazing and breathtaking. I could not ask for a better stay and excellent level of service than at this hotel. I have stayed in some of the best luxury hotels around the world, and I have to admit this was an excellent resort. A+++ ratings in the following: Professionalism Customer Service Food (magnificent) Pool Scenery (exemplary) Safety and security Decor Their were three employees that stood out to me and my family: Yasmine and Gabriella (front desk), and Julio(valet). I also would like to thank in- room dinning chef as well as the staff for the hospitality at the cafe: ingredients in the lobby. Thank you Westin Diplomat staff for one of the best stays this summer. August 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a disappointment! First of all, I LOVED this hotel until my last stay on July 7, 2012. I even stayed one weekend before and had a wonderful time with my family. So I had never expected anything bad from this hotel. It started everything wrong from when we checked in. A young guy at front desk told us our Ocean view room wasn't ready although we checked in after 4pm. I told him we had spa reservation at 5pm then he said "I would suggest you take your own car and go now". Our luggage guy had already taken our bags so I told him I rather just get in to a room and get whatever we needed for spa. I was also told in order to make it to the spa, we need to be on the shuttle bus at 4:30pm (shuttle runs every 30min.). I was so worried that we would be late for our spa appointment. so I asked him he there was any other room available. He said only city views were at that moment. So I went ahead and downgraded our room to city view. First of all, the front desk guy never apologized. He was going to charge same price what we paid for ocean view until I asked him to double check the price(He even said it's the same price! I told him to double check. There is no way ocean view and city view can be the same price. and I even didn't mind going for suit room if that was available since my best friend and I were there to celebrate my birthday). By the time we finished checking in, it was 4:20pm. We rushed to our room and got our luggages. We got what we needed and rushed again to be on the shuttle bus. We literally arrived at 4:33pm at outside. No shuttle is to be found. I asked a girl who was holding the front door to see if the shuttle has left for the spa. She told us we didn't miss it. and it will come in 10 min. But it did not. A trolley which would have taken us to the city came. But not a shuttle to take us to the spa. So now we are running late for our spa appointment. I immediately told a lady from concierge to inform the spa that we are running late. Valet was packed so there was no way we get our car right away to be able to make it for the spa on time. I don't understand why when we have a spa appointment and told the front desk that we were going to take the shuttle, he didn't inform the shuttle driver to wait for us for extra 3min! The driver probably didn't see anyone so just decided to leave early anyways. ugh. So now we arrived at Spa. As soon as we arrived to check in, a young girl at front desk says "well you have missed your first 10min. of the spa treatment so we will just have to deduct from your service. and you won't get full service treatment" rudely. At this point, I was so upset and stressed that I had literally nothing to say to her. But when she showed me the pre-bill statement, price wasn't correct so then when I mentioned that 20% discount of what we were supposed to receive hasn't applied, she said "well, I don't see it on this computer... but i can give to you anyways" - AS I WAS LYING ABOUT MY RESERVATION PACKAGE! Really? I really had nothing to say and made me wanted to cry. All I wanted was to treat myself and my best friend a nice weekend getaway to celebrate my birthday and this is what I get. Especially when I had a wonderful time with my family at SAME PLACE a week before. I just couldn't believe my eyes and I was so embarrassed that I brought my best friend there. Oh yes. Not to forget the concierge lady wasn't nice neither and didn't even give us a sympathy of what we had to go through when I explained the situation. And a shuttle driver was extremely rude. Hotel room's AC wasn't working right and the fan kept comes on and off literally every 30min. Room was humid and the beds weren't comfortable(previous stay at corner suite was perfect. there are that much of difference?). I am so sad that how my birthday getaway ended like this. Nothing was going right for us. And no one was there to make us feel better. I was planning to have a family reunion here after my stay in June. But after this stay in July. Unfortunately I don't even wanna mention about this hotel to anyone. I am SO disappointed. Especially because I know they could have done better and I have seen and experienced better. I want my weekend back. July 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Property As soon as we arrived we could smell the white tea coming from the lobby - how relaxing! Upon check-in the front desk agent had a hard time finding our reservation due to the way it was spelled in the system, but she was persistent and reassuring. We were thrilled with the upgrade and the location of our room, which was spotless. The food was delicious! Westin Workout is well equipped, easily accessible and super clean. Would be nice to have a few fans in there for those muggy days, just a personal preference. Associates were all friendly and knowledgeable. We can't wait to go back. March 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has magnificent ocean views The Westin Diplomat is absolutely beautiful. The views are magnificent. I wish I had more time to lounge by the pool and enjoy the beach. I was disappointed with the very loud squeaky, clicky noise that occures when the toilet closet's glass door opens and closes. It is so loud that, it woke us up and we could not go back to sleep. Also, there were tiny ants in the bed. I would go back to enjoy the beautiful views and the beach, hopefully in a more comfortable room environment. With the exception of Sean at the bar who was rude and cranky.the staff was kind , friendly and attentive. November 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by unacceptable room and service upon check in i picked up what i thought was a piece of trash when in fact it was a used feminie product. It took 3 phone calls, a trip down to the front desk and 5 hours before anyone from the staff came to the room. I was offered star points for the inconveniece which i never received. I would not recommend for anyone to stay here. April 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel use to be Excellent It is now Average to Good In the common out side areas around the pools much maintenance and up keep is needed. Special attention should be given to the in room robes offered to the guest. Twice we had to send for clean ones. One was stained with cosmetics and the other had what seemed like chocolate. The bathroom needed attention to the floors. There were sticky drops that I had to clean with a very nice white towel that was ruined by the dirt on the floor. I got the feeling the hotel might be under new, less quality oriented, management. Hope this helps improve such a nice hotel. August 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, food service needs big improvements Nice large room, but it had elevated windows so the Ocean view was worthless - you could only see the Ocean if you were standing up! We also requested a balcony, but that was not provided. The first night we ate at Rivals. Horrible service, whenever we needed something I had to get up and find someone. Our server never checked on us, and only smiled when he was delivering the bill, assuming because he wanted a tip. And canned mushrooms on the mushroom flatbread pizza? Really? You can't find fresh mushrooms? Yuk. The last night we tried Hollywood Prime - knowing it was an upscale expensive meal, but assuming it would be worth it. Service here was impeccable - although the male of the team serving us was a bit "overly enthusiastic". Our complaint was the steak was dismal. Your cooks have no idea how to cook a steak. We asked for it to be 140 degrees - medium to medium rare. The waiter had no clue about steak temperatures and could only discuss color. So we agreed on a hot pink (not red) center. The $50 ribeye showed up way to fast (so no resting could possibly have been done) and was overly charred on the outside and grossly bloody and grisly on the inside. Inedible. So we sent it back, and I think they only threw it back on for another 30 seconds because it was only a little bit more cooked, but by then the outside was so charred it tasted like charcoal. It was ruined. It was not a good cut of meat to begin with - mostly just gristle and fat, not much meat. We gave up, eating very little of it. The next night at home we got better quality rib-eyes at Publix for for $20 and cooked them to perfection. Last complaint... We came to a BEACH resort, not a pool resort. But to sit on the beach on a beach chair, I am forced to pay even more than the $300 a night I already paid for my room?? If I wanted to sit around a pool, I can do that anywhere USA. We wanted to be on the beach, not the pool. I think it tacky and over-reaching to charge people to use a beach chair. May 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Housekeeping needs improvement The housekeeping needs to be stepped up a notch. It has slipped over the last 3 years that I have stayed at this location. There were clipped toenails in the floor of my bathroom when I arrived. The neighbor across the hall's leftover roomservice food was there when I left the room at 7:00am (shrimp) and was still there when I returned at 7:00 that night. There were shards of glass in the hallway for 2 days, while children were running around barefoot from the beach. There were empty water bottles in the newpaper rack for a day. Just an overall lack of attention by housekeeping. August 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have stayed many times in the past, I have stayed at the Westin Diplomat approximately 4 times over the years with my convention. The hotel is always beautiful and a great place to see and stay. Though there was one disappointment this past time, that you have closed the gym and private pool areas at the golf villa's. It was so nice in the past to be able to go there to an extensive gym facility. But also to be able to be at the Private ADULT only pool area. I really missed that with this trip. The new spa is beautiful however! The new gym area, though I guess adequate was a bit of a disappointment in comparing it to the gym at the Golf side. I would recommend your hotel and will probably be back again when my convention comes that way again! August 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A new favorite I stayed at the Diplomat this weekend for a quick trip with some friends, and was overly pleased with my stay. The hotel was beautiful and very well maintained. This quickly has become one of my favorite hotels I've stayed in, and will likely return. Even though the building is huge, it's very easy and quick to get around, with an ample number of elevators. The beach is narrow, but it was not difficult to find seating. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. Only issues were a long check in line, and the operator not recognizing SPG platinum status when calling to request new waters (just forwarded to room service). Also note - if you plan on sitting out in the sun, get out early - the height of the building blocks it starting mid-afternoon (in March at least) March 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beware of the hotel's housekeeping policy It used to be that in a 5-star hotel, the housekeeping staff would be alert as to when guests left their room for several hours, and would see to it that the room was made up before the guests returned. That is not the case at the Westin Diplomat. It seems that guests are expected to call housekeeping management to arrange a time to clean the room. During our stay, we left the room at 8:30am on a Sunday for a day's outing in Everglades National Park. We returned at 3:30pm in need of showers and down time, only to find the room still not attended to. The housekeepers on the floor refused to help us, and it took two calls to management to get a housekeeper sent up. The experience was a real downer in an otherwise pleasant stay. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service Anika was our guest service agent when we arrived late at night after a long drive from Key West. She was genuine, knowledgeable and made me feel special even though I was paying a starhot rate. Other hotels have made sure that I know that I am an employee and that I am paying a reduced rate. Congratulations to Anika for such professionalism, caring and a perfect check-in. She made it memorable. Small note to housekeeping my shower had some scum around the tiles and specially around the metal bar around the door in the shower. Other than that phenomenal hotel and service! September 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Need more attention to the details! Let's face it, when you spend the kind of money that this hotel demands, you have a higher expectation of EVERYTHING. You expect a clean room, and they delivered, you expect everything to be in working order, it wasn't. You expect more recognition in terms of the level of guest you have attained through Starwood, we didn't. So even if the facility matched the outrageous price ... it would have still been a let down. April 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Bus Trip This resort has it all and then some ! My room was modern and had a good comfy bed. The cocktail waitress in the lobby bar so was courteous, helpful, and friendly to me, i wish i could recall her name - The entire Staff was very nice and provided good service. The Conf/meeting rooms were good and so was the Food. I would recommend this Hotel to any bus or leisure travel. April 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Great Hotel with all required amenities Had a wonderful pleasant stay. Though a bit dismayed about the cost per day for Wi-Fi access. April 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Labor Day Getaway The hotel is very nice. The pool and beach access was great. The check in guest service attendant was very pleasant and cheerful. The room itself was awesome; however it was next to the elevator. Which made a lot of noise during the night? The downside was there weren’t a variety of restaurants in walking distance near the resort. Another thing was the concierge that worked on 8/31/13 during 1pm was very rude and had an attitude for some reason. The guy that drives the shuttle to Sawgrass mall was an hour late picking us up. He arrived at 2:15 pm on 8/31/13. Then charged us $50 and said he would be back to pick us up at 5pm! This only gave us two hours to eat and shop at over 300 stores!!! I was very disappointed. September 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Diplomat very disappointing This is not a resort/spa. It is a hotel. It doesn't have any of the amenities of a resort The exercise room is very small and inadequate for the number of guests. 6 elipticals and six treadmills. Only 3 of the elipticals are hooked up for tv even though all six have screens. the floor area for mats is non existent. Housekeeping really lacks. They don't clean the rooms unless you specifically ask. When you ask for extra towels they never come. They take the room robes on day 2 and never replace them. 15% gratuity is automatically put on every bill. Believe me nothing is free in this "resort." Key cards stop working even after you pay extra to have extended checkout. Yes that's right you have to pay for extended checkout! Definitely doesn't live up to the Starwood name. Very disappointed....Plenty of other hotels in the area. March 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed I have been to the Diplomat about 10 years in a row. By far, this was my most disappointing experience, having loved my prior years there. It started at check-in where a disgruntled-looking front desk employee grunted at me (without making eye contact) in connection with every request or comment I made. The room, which was supposed to be upgraded, was the most inferior one we have ever had there. it was also not set up correctly; it was missing a bunch of amenities that are usually placed in the bathroom. I never complained, except I mentioned this to a front desk staffer upon check-out who listened attentively and at least responded with some intelligence to my comments. Not what an SPG Gold experience should be. January 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing for a massive price Let me start off by saying, anyone who goes an plans to swim in the pool should think twice. There are nasy, dirty birds that drink, empty their bowels, and clean themselves all day long in those pools. It's disgusting. I am sure the health department would appreciate knowing that those disease-infested crows are in your pool. Second, the staff is grouchy and unhelpful. They said they would contact my employer via email to follow up on approving the stay through a credit card. Despite TWO reminders, they still didn't do it. The food is priced obnoxiously. It's cheaper to get a cab and go to a restaurant than have a 16.00 hamburger. It wasn't even good. It was dry and overcooked. Looks good, but very disappointing. November 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Service Check in process took hours (well after the 4pm designated check-in time), understaffed check-in...3 stations staffed of 10 available stations. Platinum status was not recognized or rewarded. Service is poor and not a focus of this property. April 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not staffed for volume Great conference location and conference facilities. However, staffing not adequate for a "full house." Room only serviced twice in 5 night stay. Only service was 2 clean towels and beds made. Linen never changed. Room not dusted. Amenities for 2 people for 5 nights were 1 bar of soap, one shampoo and one conditioner. Everyone I met was very pleasant and helpful, but in general hotel seemed inadequately staffed. Not all restaurants were open and there were at least 2 large conferences being held. Lunch facilities inadequate - not coordinated with meetings taking place. September 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room Cleanliness They didn't clean my room after the first night. When I called at 4:35PM and inquired, they waited another hour to send someone up to clean. By then I had to shower and go. It was too late. The info cards they leave on the night stand states "Room Cleaning Hours are between 8:30-4:30PM M-F". The person they sent up hardly spoke, or pretended not to speak english! I thought this was bad service. When I complained to the Front Desk, she acted like it wasn't any big deal. I wouldn't recommend The Westin Diplomat Hotel. Save your many and stay at a less expensive place. November 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice hotel but old building The hotel is small two building connected by sky walk it is clean and have beautiful location my expectation is stay in bigger hotel the facility is nice spicily the SPA December 28, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel was a dissapointment I had to ask for my room to get cleaned. The bathroom mirror was dirty when I arrived and it never did get cleaned. The hotel told us that the only restaurants around were in their hotel, everything else was miles away and we would have to get a taxi. We found lots of restaurants down the board walk (we weren't even told about the board walk) 1 mile away. Drinks were $10 and up. You have to rent a lounge chair by the beach for $16 a day, this should come with your room for the amount you pay. Very dissapointment and will never return to this hotel or recommend. September 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Below expectations This Starwood high end hotel did not meet our expectation, check in lines are long because they only have two employees at the counter, the pool area needs more cleaning cups are under the chairs in the morning and the pool chairs had mold,the Splash bar the bartender Mr.Jorge needs some customer service seminars.Did not felt like a five star Hotel at all as other Starrwood facility.The room was good the bed was heavenly BUT I had a conforter that was stained apparently was not check.The valet was not to organize.Food was excellent and the facility is beautiful. August 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel The hotel was beautiful, rooms were very nice the beds were very comfortable. It was very busy when we were there but it didn't fell over crowded. I had high expectations for this hotel because of the price we paid. I have to say I was very disappointed with several of the staff members. I only had contact with a few members and most of them were rude, I was very surprised. Usually in resorts like this the staff is excellent and go out of their way to give good customer service, not the case during our stay. I spoke with many people who had the same experience. July 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pathetic Service throughout Absolutely awful service from the second we checked in to time we checked out, 7 days of terrible understaffed attention. 33rd floor executive club had seating for 50% of the people in there, no rollaway ever showed up, 75 people in line to get coffee, no extra staff, no auxilary line, 30 min wait for valet, non exitant service at pool, little if any towel or waitstaff service at grossly overpriced cabana, never more than 2 people working front desk when line was 30 minutes at least, hotel tacks on 20% gratuity for pathetic service. I could go on and on and on. January 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service very friendly Theo personal at club level Washington magnificus very kind Andes servicial. The one in recepción werent so. April 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 Great vacation hotel This is a good resort hotel. The pool is a good size with ample amounts of lounge chairs. The private beach with daybeds / lounge chairs (You have to rent these at an additional charge) is good, since you are allowed to order drinks and take drinks from the pool bar onto the beach. All of the public beaches in Miami don't allow alcohol. The bar has a good variety of drinks although was very busy. The spa has a nice steam room / sauna and amazing service. The rooms are well appointed and have pretty much everything you would expect, although you get an extra fridge in addition to the minibar so you can buy beer / alcohol and store it yourself which is a welcome touch. The only complaint I really have is that everything was pretty crowded, even during the week. This might be due to the fact that when we were staying there was a conference going on and the hotel was at capacity. It might be worth it to check with the hotel to see how full it is before booking. April 10, 2014
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 39 next>>