The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

  • 3555 South Ocean Drive
  • Hollywood,
  • Florida
  • 33019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 970 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by still one of the best! I stayed at 300+ different 5star hotels around the world, but Westin Diplomat is my favorite! I discovered it 8 years ago and since then I stayed in it many times. And never been disappointed. SPG lounge is just the best I ever seen. Huge, with great views and service, well- decorated. Rooms are beautiful.SPG recognition perfect. Hotel building and resort design with 2 levels pool is astounding. Yes, sometimes there are some small troubles like 40-min waiting for check-in or luggage or valet, or noisy neighbors, but I agree to close my eyes for many to have pleasure to stay there. Use selfparking - its just $20/day (take card key at reception), and no need to pay and wait for valet. Thank you to all the team of this wonderful resort for consistently high level of service! I'll be back with first opportunity for sure! July 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing experience This is a great family hotel as well as business hotel. The facilities were fantastic. The staff went above and beyond. I can't wait to go back. February 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Worst Hotel I have ever stayed in. At first glance the hotel is impressive. But after waiting over 35 minutes to check in, it went down hill quickly. We arrived in our room, went to lie down and relax and there is was....stains on the sheets. Then we relized the toilet handle was broken and did not flush. We called the front desk and they were not overly apologetic. Told us we had to go back down to the lobby to change our room "to a comperable" room. Unacceptable. They finally changed our room to a beach view room. Sounds great but once inside the sheets and throw pillow had makeup stains, the sliding doors to the bathtub were off the track and the tv wasn't working. After moving the furniture we realized the tv and other items were unplugged. The next morning we realized the refrigerator was broken and the food we placed inside spoiled. We couldn't wait to leave. Now we need a vacation from our vacation. June 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Get with the times In this day and age your front desk should never answer the call from the room refering to the guests as Mr. and Mrs. It could be Mr. and Mr. Mrs and Mrs. or an ummarried couple. I really expect more from the Westin. March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonder stay despite the weather Great family vacation at this Westin despite the weather. The pools were great! The water was warm and we all had fun despite the weather. We did read the reviews about the expensive prices for food and drink. This is true but you could get all you want within walking distance and we had a fridge in the room. Also, the beach was wonderful. We had two days of sun and even played in the surf during overcast days. The room was wonderful. Totally recommend a suite for a family of four. The staff was extremely friendly. We all hope to go back. December 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not quite what i expected.... Many people praise this hotel if they are PLAT as they have allot of suites so your chances of an upgrade are excellent, on that front it was fine we received a corner suite. What I didn't like about the hotel was the location and a maintenance issue that took 2 days to resolve itself. The location problem is that it is located in what I can only describe as a condo jungle. Its nothing but huge condo buildings and not much else. Not even restaurants or a place to go for a walk. So if you want to go eat you have to drive, and usually 10+ minutes to find half decent places on US1. Also, these huge buildings blocked out allot of the sun for a good portion of the day. If you happen to get the north building you will hear not the waves crashing below but the incredibly loud a/c unit of the building next door. Plus beach access is out through the South building so its a hike just to get to the pool. Also if there is an event (wedding in our case) you are prevented from direct access to the beach due to the ceremony area being dead centre to the beach access. Finally the breakfast in the lounge is fine but the hors d'oevres in the evening aren't much, and its like feeding time at the zoo, at 5:30 PM when it opens. Get there say at 6:30, its very picked over and the staff told us they wont replenish it. Finally there is a flaw in the controllers (thermostat) for the a/c units. We had an issue with our unit only allowed to be in the AUTO setting, putting the fan to low or high just didn't work. So all night the a/c went off and on as the room reached temp, thus the room temp and activation occurred through out the night, meaning a lousy nights sleep. I called the front desk, they said maintenance would fix the issue. Back to the room at night and the problem seemed fixed. Accept as soon as we turned the temp down at night it happened again (we didn't discover this until about 2:30 AM). So I called to speak to someone in service and they then talked to someone in maintenance, they told us that when they fixed the unit the first night he should have told us that it wasn't totally fixed, that when you changes the temp settings you needed to reset all other settings as well. A note explaining this would have prevented a second lousy night sleep. With this knowledge in hand we slept well on the third night. Upon check out I mentioned this to the CSA and the only response was we will have maintenance look at it again. Anyways my expectations for Cat 5 hotel were not met. The room was very nice, but if you go as a PLAT insist on the South building as you may be able to hear the waves there. November 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by SUITE VIEWS ARE UNBELIEVABLE My first review ever! Room Comfort: We got the diplomat suite with partial ocean view. I'm glad we got the partial views because during the night time, the city lights are unbelievably beautiful and romantic at the step-out balcony. I truly recommend the suite rooms with partial ocean view and step-out balcony. Staff Met My Needs: Staff checking in was pleasant and friendly as expected. However, the housekeeping wasn't as thorough as I expected. First time was good but 2nd night, she left out complimentary Platinum member waters and tissues on the step out balcony... Room Cleanliness: As expected, nice, clean, and organized. Facilities Met My Expectations: Accessibility of all the facilities are easy and elevators are FAST. SPG Recognition: Only recognized during check in. Club Lounge: One of the best club lounges I have been to so far as a SPG Platinum member!! Staff was attentive and everything is quickly filled when refreshments run out. The lounge also has a great environment for family and kids and an outside balcony to relax and chat. One most important comment: THANK YOU KARIANNE FOR ALL YOUR HELP. SHE IS WONDERFUL!!! March 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a disappointment We stayed at this hotel for a family function.The property is visually attractive and the room was nice. However we were stunned that things that come standard at other properties were all at a fee. Sitting on the beach, wifi complimentary coffee or water that was openly displayed and not in the honor bar were all at a cost. We were charged over $7.00 for 2 cups of coffee and bottled water that was openly displayed without a price tag. At this point it is insulting to the customer who is all ready paying for a premium hotel experience to have to pay for simple, inexpensive items that are truly complimentary at value chains. There is a lot of competition in the Florida resort industry and the Westin should rethink their policies. October 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Experience My stay was fabulous until today, I was charged $7.63 for an item from the honor bar, which I did not do. I feel like you are treating me as a liar, which I don't appreciate. I don't use honor bars, never have, and now I am being accused of using something I did not. I am extremely upset about this even if it is only $7.63. It is the principal..If I had taken something from the bar I would gladly pay for it, but for you to say I did and just charge me for it is inexcuseable. How do you know the housekeeping department didn't take it and hit me with the charge. I am really upset about this and my recommendation would be to remove all honor bars from rooms as it is certainly not an honor to be treated in such a manner. September 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy Room This room (2164) is adjacent to the elevators. You can hear the elevators going up and down the shaft and this disrupts sleep. NEVER, EVER AGAIN WILL I STAY AT THE WESTIN, ANYWHERE. March 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful experience Wonderful experience at the Westin Diplomat for the second time around. Staff in every area helpful and friendly. We enjoyed everything except Valet and hot tubs. Valet drive is a complete disaster! Cars in the middle of the lanes, drivers not sure which car goes where, taxis unloading in the haphazardly. It took 30 minutes for our car at check out, that was with calling ahead for baggage pick up. There was no clear direction for how to enter or where to pick up. With such excellence displayed inside it was a shame to see the front in such disarray. Suggestion- sit in the convention center balcony and watch circulation for a couple of hours for better ideas how to handle the volume coming in and out. unfortunately only one hot tub was functioning. At check in we were not advised. When we went down to enjoy them after walking the entire pool area to find it, it was already occupied with several people. We had difficulty finding the second one to discover it was out of service. That definitely sadden us. March 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by DROP IN SERVICE Wow! I went to this hotel for many years and always had a great time and loved the service. I went this time and the service dropped. I am a gold member with SPG and it does not make any difference with this hotel. They told me that there are no upgrades and when I called SPG they told me they are plenty. They are don't give pool towels on the lower pool level and they only give 2 towels per person on the top pool . They don't smile when you come in, and if you are a gold with SPG they will not give you the club level or breakfast in the morning. I have been to many hotels and never seen such a drop in service like this hotel. Warning you can do alot better in other hotels for your money. Stay away if you like good service. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A new favorite I stayed at the Diplomat this weekend for a quick trip with some friends, and was overly pleased with my stay. The hotel was beautiful and very well maintained. This quickly has become one of my favorite hotels I've stayed in, and will likely return. Even though the building is huge, it's very easy and quick to get around, with an ample number of elevators. The beach is narrow, but it was not difficult to find seating. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. Only issues were a long check in line, and the operator not recognizing SPG platinum status when calling to request new waters (just forwarded to room service). Also note - if you plan on sitting out in the sun, get out early - the height of the building blocks it starting mid-afternoon (in March at least) March 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Spa Disappointment - but great staff in hotel I travel a lot and like to let hotel management know when service and staff are great and when it isn't. This is a dichotomous review with both good and bad, but where the bad, just ruined my entire impression. Hotel staff was excellent, and Dave at check in was fantastic. Made us feel appreciated and was simply great. Room was also great. Our big complaint was the spa. While I golfed, my partner used the spa where she received a massage and facial. Only when we got the bill at check out, did we see a charge for "spa other" of $50.00 for treatments that totaled $187.00. This amounts to an almost 30% service charge (I see online it mentions a 20% service charge) on top of the tip for the staff performing the service. When queried about the charge, we were told it was stated in the brochure, and on checking it was -on the back page, in print so small it was ridiculous. It is simply deceptive, and outrageous as far as I am concerned. It you want to include the service charge, just put it into the price and state it includes a 28% service charge. In addition, the spa staff was about as snooty and condescending as could be and services mediocre. As someone who travels over 100k miles a year and spends way to many nights in hotels, it soured my otherwise nice experience in this hotel. And it wasn't so much the money as the deception and attitude of the staff. December 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed This is the third time we have stayed this hotel. There was no separate line for SPG gold members or preferred members. The staff was not responsive to the condition of our room. They showed a uncaring attitude. Perhaps it is due to the type of clientele they normally serve. However this does not apply to us. February 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Two thumbs up Just spent 5 nights (Mar 14-19) at the Westin Diplomat Hollywood. I can absolutely confirm that the property extends every courtesy to SPG status members (Golds and Plats). I was upgraded to a club floor oceanfront room. Our request for connecting rooms was honored. CHECK-IN Check-in was a breeze as we didn't check in until 830PM after the normal rush. The associates at check-in readily recognized SPG status and were extremely warm and gracious. ROOM The room was breathtaking featuring an amazing view of the beach and ocean. With rooms like that, you almost feel guilty not spending more time in the room as opposed to the beach. CLUB LOUNGE The Club Lounge had an excellent breakfast selection offering a great buffet in wonderful surroundings featuring indoor and outdoor seating options and stunning ocean and city views. My only "complaint" (if it is even one) is that breakfast was removed promptly at 10AM even on the weekend. Imagine filling your glass with OJ at 9:59AM with a server standing so close to you you can feel his breath with both hands positioned over the juice dispenser ready to yank it away from you (all the while smiling at you). CABANAS/BEACH I asked the Ambassador to inquire about cabanas. She placed a hold on a cabana for us but upon inspection, we felt it wasn't for us as it was poolside as opposed to the beach (we're more beach than pool people). On the beach, however, a local company (Boucher Brothers) operates a concession in cooperation with the Westin Diplomat and beach umbrellas, chairs and beach "beds" are available for rent on a daily basis. Payment can be charged to credit cards or signed to your room. The Boucher Brothers staff were very helpful and attentive. RESTAURANT The bar and restaurant on the beach was very convenient with uninflated pricing. Service was very good and the quality of the food and beverages were great. SPA The Heavenly Spa facilities are truly amazing -- probably one of the nicest spas we have ever visited. The massages, however, were not up to par (our only 'complaint' if there has to be one) as the massage therapists skills did not match her enthusiasm. The massage felt more like a vigorous massage lotion application than an actual massage targeting specific muscles. Despite that (relatively minor) issue, the rest of the stay was truly excellent. Where else do you get every Service Express associate greeting you warmly not just by name but following up on requests both efficiently and promptly? PARKING We opted for valet parking for $25 a night. My concern with valet parking for a property of this size is efficiency because during peak times, it can take a long while for vehicles to be brought forward. I was assured at check-in that cars would be brought up efficiently ("under 10 minutes"). I was shocked that this was absolutely the case. The valet staff are probably the most friendly and efficient I have ever encountered -- they didn't just get your car, they ran to get your car. We generally contacted Service Express to get the car brought up right before heading down and without exception, the car was there when we arrived at the door -- generally 5-8 minutes from the time we called Service Express. Self-parking was also available but that seemed to be across the street which, while convenient, was probably more of a hassle than just getting valet service. CONCLUSION The one thing I have to say about this property, however, is how incredibly warm and friendly the staff generally were. From the valet to the doormen to the front desk associates to service express and even security, every associate along the way was incredibly friendly to all guests. Access to the pool area and beachfront during busy times is controlled by security upon presentation of a room key. Even the security staffing the various access points were friendly. A true 10/10 stay. March 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but not excellent The Westin Diplomat is a beautiful hotel in a great location in Hollywood, Florida. It is a bit of a walk into town, but the trolley stops right at the Westin and will take you down for only $1. Pools, beach and rooms are very nice, but the hotel is not quite up to par in several areas. First of all, they did not clean up the pool and beach areas at night. We would come down to the pool in the morning and there would be drinks and in one instance an entire dining table full of food and dishes, that was not taken away until after 9 am. Lots of seaweed on the beach, which was never raked. The walls to the rooms were also very thin. We could hear our next-door neighbor talking in a normal tone on his cell phone from midnight until 2 am one night. We couldn't complain, because he was talking in a normal voice in his own room. We still enjoyed our stay, but I just couldn't call the hotel anything extraordinary because of the issues I mentioned. It's too bad, because with some care it could be a really great hotel. February 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible, noisey room Room was really, really, really noisy, temp control didn't work, had a terrible bathroom with no bath, no towel rails and a teeny, tiny sink area. It had a view of a concrete wall about 4 feet from window, had random ugliness like an ironing board just propped up against the wall beside the bed, broken wardrobe door and was expremely impractal in many other ways becase it was designed for a wheelchair bound person which is not practical for someone who needs a wardrobe bar higher than 3ft from the floor or prefers to stand in the shower and finds a seat in the middle annoying. It was horrible but I was too busy to pack up all my stuff and move rooms (assuming they would have offered that). I'm just amazed they have the gall to charge full rates for such a terrible room. February 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding! I am not a fan of hotels. I don't like to stay there. That being said I found this to be an exception and my stay with this hotel was fabulous. Clean (I am a clean freak), pleasant surroundings and a staff that aims to please. Could not ask for more. Highly recommend this hotel! March 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by only 1 complaint this hotel is beautiful. location is outstanding. our room wasn't ready by check in so they put us in an oceanfront room. view was spectacular. the ONLY complaint was with the concierge. she was no help at all. i had to ask her specific questions about things to do in the area, then stand there until she reluctantly gave me a few brochures, one that specified to inquirew about coupon from hotel. no coupon offered. big deal? no, just the principal. Asked about rentals on the beach, and she told me they were on the beach somewhere but she doesn't go out there much? huh?! figured it out for myself, but,hello, isn't that your job?! where do i apply? May 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow - fantastic 'property' From the moment we checked-in to the moment we checked-out - - the service was fantastic. I was checked-in and -out by the same male desk agent (who was EXCELLENT) The Lobby is beautiful and the pool-area was outstanding - - just off the Ocean beach. I can understand why you need to wear a 'wrist-band' to get into the pool/beach area because of the number of condos in the area that would want to use the Hotel's excellent facilities. I would not hesitate one second in booking a return 'stay' at this resort. July 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing for the price I was shocked at how understaffed the check-in desk was. There were long lines at various times of the day. My room was not ready at 3:00, which was OK since check-in is at 4:00. I was told that I would be called when the room was ready. I was not called. I was told that I would be on a certain floor, that room was not ready for me at 4:30. My friends were treated shabbily by the front desk personnel. Also, for a hotel in this price range, the amenities were on the low end side and sparse. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who has a choice of hotels. March 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location, staff need help I spent 3 nights and 4 days here and this is a great location, but the people need help to give guests a stay that rivals other resort quality destinations in the area. Staff forgetting to fill wine buckets with ice, staff who do not know their bar selections, staff who are unable to do what they say they are going to do, it all gets tired after awhile. Westin should take all the people opening doors and shuttling cars and put them to work IN the resort to take care of people's needs IN the resort. This should be done when there is a line of people checking in at 4 pm, and only 3 staff at the check-in. Also, show the pictures of the resort, as it is now, under construction as you cannot see the ocean from the lobby due to the construction. Disappointed with the service at the Diplomat Hotel! November 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice hotel was unsure of staying here since some reviews for this westin report were not all great. glad i booked anyway! busy check in line but gretchen was very friendly and welcoming. not necessary but was nice that she thanked us for staying there as a starwood guest and our first time there. concierge and baggage desk people also friendly and accommodating. great view of the ocean and intercoastal from the room. nice and clean. location was convinience. the city trolley stops inside the westin driveway, and access to downtown, the boardwalk, etc. convention center next door. 3 pools. i would stay here again. my friend came to check out the room since they have a convention later this year. he decided to stay here then as well. March 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed customer The hotel was more focused on the Orange Bowl guests than Platinum guests. Had to wait 3 hours to check in. So disappointing. Tried to use Suite Awards and received an email the day before saying that they couldn't accommodate my request. Too late to cancel and find a different hotel. Also then gave up all of the Awards for the year. When I stay in an SPG hotel over 100 nights a year I expect to receive a better room and check in when I arrive. Especially when paying premium rates. January 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad stay I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me. There were very few things that were right with our stay. Room service had to go back. Lunch at the ocean front had to go back. Blood stains on the sheets. Every pillow case was soiled and gross. The TV went out. The internet went went out. The robe they sent us was completely frayed. One day we'd have bath gel and the next day the maid took it away. That happened 3 times. The manager Don was made aware of all of this, but it kept happening. Lots of the food is prepared for each shift, if you happen to come and eat at the end of that shift. You get food that was prepared a long time ago. That's what happened with a chicken quesidilla. I asked for a BLT with fresh bacon and they told me NO CAN DO. January 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Perhaps the worst experience ever Upon arrival at your hotel on Saturday evening, it tooks us almost 2 hours to check in. You only have one gal at the check in desk....on a Saturday night, with prom and a huge conference starting the very next day????? Then when I asked if the ocean view was reserved as i had requested...the front desk gal said that she "was not able to reserve rooms". My room was not clean or updated, as you state on your website...Overall it was horrible, May 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Watch Out for the Sharks Great Hotel and Facilities all around. Parking is expensive. If you rent beach chairs/ umbrellas, or cabana's do not tip. The company that runs the rentals automatically adds in a gratuity with out telling you. We tipped very generously in cash and when we checked out were charged for a gratuity to the Boucher Brothers. We disputed it with the front desk but they would not take it off the bill. Ironically the person checking out after us told us she was there to complain about the same problem. Come on Westin Management. Get rid of these guys or do not add in a tip for them. They are not honest. Not a matter of money for me but a level of honesty was not met. April 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel Very expensive, no newspaper delieved to room, expensive Wi-Fi, food quality poor March 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Diplomat I'm an SPG member, and have been for some time. I was recognized upon check in, but seem to never get a great room and/or upgrade. For example, when I made the reservation I requested an ocean view, I ended up on the other side of the hotel over the street. The TV didn't work, and needed four different maintenance guys to finally figure it out, that it wasn't the remote, the cables, the satellite, and it was just going bad and needed to be replaced. The bathroom door was off the hinge, and there was significant amount of dust and debris around the air vents. Personnel however were friendly and tried to accommodate. Door people were excellent! February 3, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 34 next>>