The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

  • 3555 South Ocean Drive
  • Hollywood,
  • Florida
  • 33019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 962 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonder stay despite the weather Great family vacation at this Westin despite the weather. The pools were great! The water was warm and we all had fun despite the weather. We did read the reviews about the expensive prices for food and drink. This is true but you could get all you want within walking distance and we had a fridge in the room. Also, the beach was wonderful. We had two days of sun and even played in the surf during overcast days. The room was wonderful. Totally recommend a suite for a family of four. The staff was extremely friendly. We all hope to go back. December 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not quite what i expected.... Many people praise this hotel if they are PLAT as they have allot of suites so your chances of an upgrade are excellent, on that front it was fine we received a corner suite. What I didn't like about the hotel was the location and a maintenance issue that took 2 days to resolve itself. The location problem is that it is located in what I can only describe as a condo jungle. Its nothing but huge condo buildings and not much else. Not even restaurants or a place to go for a walk. So if you want to go eat you have to drive, and usually 10+ minutes to find half decent places on US1. Also, these huge buildings blocked out allot of the sun for a good portion of the day. If you happen to get the north building you will hear not the waves crashing below but the incredibly loud a/c unit of the building next door. Plus beach access is out through the South building so its a hike just to get to the pool. Also if there is an event (wedding in our case) you are prevented from direct access to the beach due to the ceremony area being dead centre to the beach access. Finally the breakfast in the lounge is fine but the hors d'oevres in the evening aren't much, and its like feeding time at the zoo, at 5:30 PM when it opens. Get there say at 6:30, its very picked over and the staff told us they wont replenish it. Finally there is a flaw in the controllers (thermostat) for the a/c units. We had an issue with our unit only allowed to be in the AUTO setting, putting the fan to low or high just didn't work. So all night the a/c went off and on as the room reached temp, thus the room temp and activation occurred through out the night, meaning a lousy nights sleep. I called the front desk, they said maintenance would fix the issue. Back to the room at night and the problem seemed fixed. Accept as soon as we turned the temp down at night it happened again (we didn't discover this until about 2:30 AM). So I called to speak to someone in service and they then talked to someone in maintenance, they told us that when they fixed the unit the first night he should have told us that it wasn't totally fixed, that when you changes the temp settings you needed to reset all other settings as well. A note explaining this would have prevented a second lousy night sleep. With this knowledge in hand we slept well on the third night. Upon check out I mentioned this to the CSA and the only response was we will have maintenance look at it again. Anyways my expectations for Cat 5 hotel were not met. The room was very nice, but if you go as a PLAT insist on the South building as you may be able to hear the waves there. November 1, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a disappointment We stayed at this hotel for a family function.The property is visually attractive and the room was nice. However we were stunned that things that come standard at other properties were all at a fee. Sitting on the beach, wifi complimentary coffee or water that was openly displayed and not in the honor bar were all at a cost. We were charged over $7.00 for 2 cups of coffee and bottled water that was openly displayed without a price tag. At this point it is insulting to the customer who is all ready paying for a premium hotel experience to have to pay for simple, inexpensive items that are truly complimentary at value chains. There is a lot of competition in the Florida resort industry and the Westin should rethink their policies. October 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Experience My stay was fabulous until today, I was charged $7.63 for an item from the honor bar, which I did not do. I feel like you are treating me as a liar, which I don't appreciate. I don't use honor bars, never have, and now I am being accused of using something I did not. I am extremely upset about this even if it is only $7.63. It is the principal..If I had taken something from the bar I would gladly pay for it, but for you to say I did and just charge me for it is inexcuseable. How do you know the housekeeping department didn't take it and hit me with the charge. I am really upset about this and my recommendation would be to remove all honor bars from rooms as it is certainly not an honor to be treated in such a manner. September 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding! I am not a fan of hotels. I don't like to stay there. That being said I found this to be an exception and my stay with this hotel was fabulous. Clean (I am a clean freak), pleasant surroundings and a staff that aims to please. Could not ask for more. Highly recommend this hotel! March 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed This is the third time we have stayed this hotel. There was no separate line for SPG gold members or preferred members. The staff was not responsive to the condition of our room. They showed a uncaring attitude. Perhaps it is due to the type of clientele they normally serve. However this does not apply to us. February 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but not excellent The Westin Diplomat is a beautiful hotel in a great location in Hollywood, Florida. It is a bit of a walk into town, but the trolley stops right at the Westin and will take you down for only $1. Pools, beach and rooms are very nice, but the hotel is not quite up to par in several areas. First of all, they did not clean up the pool and beach areas at night. We would come down to the pool in the morning and there would be drinks and in one instance an entire dining table full of food and dishes, that was not taken away until after 9 am. Lots of seaweed on the beach, which was never raked. The walls to the rooms were also very thin. We could hear our next-door neighbor talking in a normal tone on his cell phone from midnight until 2 am one night. We couldn't complain, because he was talking in a normal voice in his own room. We still enjoyed our stay, but I just couldn't call the hotel anything extraordinary because of the issues I mentioned. It's too bad, because with some care it could be a really great hotel. February 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy Room This room (2164) is adjacent to the elevators. You can hear the elevators going up and down the shaft and this disrupts sleep. NEVER, EVER AGAIN WILL I STAY AT THE WESTIN, ANYWHERE. March 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by DROP IN SERVICE Wow! I went to this hotel for many years and always had a great time and loved the service. I went this time and the service dropped. I am a gold member with SPG and it does not make any difference with this hotel. They told me that there are no upgrades and when I called SPG they told me they are plenty. They are don't give pool towels on the lower pool level and they only give 2 towels per person on the top pool . They don't smile when you come in, and if you are a gold with SPG they will not give you the club level or breakfast in the morning. I have been to many hotels and never seen such a drop in service like this hotel. Warning you can do alot better in other hotels for your money. Stay away if you like good service. January 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing for the price I was shocked at how understaffed the check-in desk was. There were long lines at various times of the day. My room was not ready at 3:00, which was OK since check-in is at 4:00. I was told that I would be called when the room was ready. I was not called. I was told that I would be on a certain floor, that room was not ready for me at 4:30. My friends were treated shabbily by the front desk personnel. Also, for a hotel in this price range, the amenities were on the low end side and sparse. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who has a choice of hotels. March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice hotel was unsure of staying here since some reviews for this westin report were not all great. glad i booked anyway! busy check in line but gretchen was very friendly and welcoming. not necessary but was nice that she thanked us for staying there as a starwood guest and our first time there. concierge and baggage desk people also friendly and accommodating. great view of the ocean and intercoastal from the room. nice and clean. location was convinience. the city trolley stops inside the westin driveway, and access to downtown, the boardwalk, etc. convention center next door. 3 pools. i would stay here again. my friend came to check out the room since they have a convention later this year. he decided to stay here then as well. March 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Spa Disappointment - but great staff in hotel I travel a lot and like to let hotel management know when service and staff are great and when it isn't. This is a dichotomous review with both good and bad, but where the bad, just ruined my entire impression. Hotel staff was excellent, and Dave at check in was fantastic. Made us feel appreciated and was simply great. Room was also great. Our big complaint was the spa. While I golfed, my partner used the spa where she received a massage and facial. Only when we got the bill at check out, did we see a charge for "spa other" of $50.00 for treatments that totaled $187.00. This amounts to an almost 30% service charge (I see online it mentions a 20% service charge) on top of the tip for the staff performing the service. When queried about the charge, we were told it was stated in the brochure, and on checking it was -on the back page, in print so small it was ridiculous. It is simply deceptive, and outrageous as far as I am concerned. It you want to include the service charge, just put it into the price and state it includes a 28% service charge. In addition, the spa staff was about as snooty and condescending as could be and services mediocre. As someone who travels over 100k miles a year and spends way to many nights in hotels, it soured my otherwise nice experience in this hotel. And it wasn't so much the money as the deception and attitude of the staff. December 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel Very expensive, no newspaper delieved to room, expensive Wi-Fi, food quality poor March 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible, noisey room Room was really, really, really noisy, temp control didn't work, had a terrible bathroom with no bath, no towel rails and a teeny, tiny sink area. It had a view of a concrete wall about 4 feet from window, had random ugliness like an ironing board just propped up against the wall beside the bed, broken wardrobe door and was expremely impractal in many other ways becase it was designed for a wheelchair bound person which is not practical for someone who needs a wardrobe bar higher than 3ft from the floor or prefers to stand in the shower and finds a seat in the middle annoying. It was horrible but I was too busy to pack up all my stuff and move rooms (assuming they would have offered that). I'm just amazed they have the gall to charge full rates for such a terrible room. February 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by only 1 complaint this hotel is beautiful. location is outstanding. our room wasn't ready by check in so they put us in an oceanfront room. view was spectacular. the ONLY complaint was with the concierge. she was no help at all. i had to ask her specific questions about things to do in the area, then stand there until she reluctantly gave me a few brochures, one that specified to inquirew about coupon from hotel. no coupon offered. big deal? no, just the principal. Asked about rentals on the beach, and she told me they were on the beach somewhere but she doesn't go out there much? huh?! figured it out for myself, but,hello, isn't that your job?! where do i apply? May 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow - fantastic 'property' From the moment we checked-in to the moment we checked-out - - the service was fantastic. I was checked-in and -out by the same male desk agent (who was EXCELLENT) The Lobby is beautiful and the pool-area was outstanding - - just off the Ocean beach. I can understand why you need to wear a 'wrist-band' to get into the pool/beach area because of the number of condos in the area that would want to use the Hotel's excellent facilities. I would not hesitate one second in booking a return 'stay' at this resort. July 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location, staff need help I spent 3 nights and 4 days here and this is a great location, but the people need help to give guests a stay that rivals other resort quality destinations in the area. Staff forgetting to fill wine buckets with ice, staff who do not know their bar selections, staff who are unable to do what they say they are going to do, it all gets tired after awhile. Westin should take all the people opening doors and shuttling cars and put them to work IN the resort to take care of people's needs IN the resort. This should be done when there is a line of people checking in at 4 pm, and only 3 staff at the check-in. Also, show the pictures of the resort, as it is now, under construction as you cannot see the ocean from the lobby due to the construction. Disappointed with the service at the Diplomat Hotel! November 17, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed customer The hotel was more focused on the Orange Bowl guests than Platinum guests. Had to wait 3 hours to check in. So disappointing. Tried to use Suite Awards and received an email the day before saying that they couldn't accommodate my request. Too late to cancel and find a different hotel. Also then gave up all of the Awards for the year. When I stay in an SPG hotel over 100 nights a year I expect to receive a better room and check in when I arrive. Especially when paying premium rates. January 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by INCREDIBLE HOTEL AND STAFF I HAD THE GREATEST VACATION EVER THANKS TO THE TRULY WONDERFUL STAFF AT THE WESTIN DIPLOMAT! EVERYONE FROM CHECK-IN, TO THE HOUSEKEEPING TEAM AND MOST OF ALL THANKS TO THE HARD WORKING STAFF POOLSIDE. WE SPENT THE MAJORITY OF OUR 4 DAY STAY THERE, AND EVERYONE LED BY THE POOL SUPERVISOR NATALIE AND RESTAURANT MGR. ROBERT WAS WELL TRAINED, PROFESSIONAL AND INCREDIBLY NICE! SPECIAL THANKS TO OUR POOL SERVER ALEJANDRO AND HIS RIGHT HAND MAN SEBASTIAN WHO WERE THE ABSOLUTE BEST AT KEEPING OUR GROUP HAPPY. IRVING BEHIND THE SPLASH BAR AND NELSON WORKING SECURITY WERE FANTASTIC AS WELL. ALL THESE TRUE PROS ARE REASONS THAT I WILL GLADLY RETURN AS A SPG MEMBER. I TRAVEL ALOT AND HAVE NEVER ENJOYED SUCH A WONDERFUL STAFF. THANKS TO ALL OF THEM. THE GM SHOULD BE VERY PROUD OF THE TEAM HE HAS HIRED AND ITS SHOWS WHAT A WELL RUN PROPERTY STARWOOD IS LUCKY TO HAVE! March 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad stay I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me. There were very few things that were right with our stay. Room service had to go back. Lunch at the ocean front had to go back. Blood stains on the sheets. Every pillow case was soiled and gross. The TV went out. The internet went went out. The robe they sent us was completely frayed. One day we'd have bath gel and the next day the maid took it away. That happened 3 times. The manager Don was made aware of all of this, but it kept happening. Lots of the food is prepared for each shift, if you happen to come and eat at the end of that shift. You get food that was prepared a long time ago. That's what happened with a chicken quesidilla. I asked for a BLT with fresh bacon and they told me NO CAN DO. January 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Diplomat I'm an SPG member, and have been for some time. I was recognized upon check in, but seem to never get a great room and/or upgrade. For example, when I made the reservation I requested an ocean view, I ended up on the other side of the hotel over the street. The TV didn't work, and needed four different maintenance guys to finally figure it out, that it wasn't the remote, the cables, the satellite, and it was just going bad and needed to be replaced. The bathroom door was off the hinge, and there was significant amount of dust and debris around the air vents. Personnel however were friendly and tried to accommodate. Door people were excellent! February 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Perhaps the worst experience ever Upon arrival at your hotel on Saturday evening, it tooks us almost 2 hours to check in. You only have one gal at the check in desk....on a Saturday night, with prom and a huge conference starting the very next day????? Then when I asked if the ocean view was reserved as i had requested...the front desk gal said that she "was not able to reserve rooms". My room was not clean or updated, as you state on your website...Overall it was horrible, May 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Watch Out for the Sharks Great Hotel and Facilities all around. Parking is expensive. If you rent beach chairs/ umbrellas, or cabana's do not tip. The company that runs the rentals automatically adds in a gratuity with out telling you. We tipped very generously in cash and when we checked out were charged for a gratuity to the Boucher Brothers. We disputed it with the front desk but they would not take it off the bill. Ironically the person checking out after us told us she was there to complain about the same problem. Come on Westin Management. Get rid of these guys or do not add in a tip for them. They are not honest. Not a matter of money for me but a level of honesty was not met. April 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by this hotel is good for business Not a good hotel for tranquil time and quiet. February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Room with the wrap around balcony was amazing The resort is absolutely beautiful. The room was incredible!!! Even though it took 4 hours to get our room ready due to the system going down your staff did their very best. All of the staff were just truly wonderful starting with Tatiana who checked us is. She made it so special. Santiago who acknowledge everyone as if all the guests were his best friends, Remy who helped expedite the room. Robert at the House Prime restaurant who was awesome and so smart ! Nicole who waited on as at Splash was so personable, Marcella the bartender at Splash for her words of comfort and last but not least Ryan who also worked at Splash listened kindly and patiently to my current situation with my mom's illness and family conflict. Please let them know how much we appreciated them.Thank you to all at Westin for making this a memorable weekend. January 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst Check-In Ever. The overall worst experience starting from check-in. I have never waited so long to check in EVER. The longest line. No one in line could believe it. Then it took for ever for the registration desk to process a simple check-in. Once to my room, the carpet was wet from a shampoo. After being moved, the new (small) room was void of coffee packs, cups, soap, etc. Check out was difficult as the regisration desk couldnt explain the bill and eventually my personal card that was on file (I was on business) was charged for parking. Go figure. I will say the food was good at the conference and the lobby is nice but wouldnt never go to this hotel again based on this experience. June 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The first and last time. We arrived at 2 pm hoping to check in early. We were told the room was not available which was ok. We tried again at 4 pm and the room was not ready. We waited another 30 minutes in the lobby until we received a phone call from the hotel saying the room was finally ready. When we finally made it to the room, my first impression was the size of the room. Very small. I have stayed at other hotels paid much less and the rooms were more spacious. Later in day we had requested a vacuum cleaner since my son dropped some sand in the room. The hotel never sent anyone. The pool and beach are nice. This hotel charges a premium for the rooms but don't deliver in service or quality. September 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Room When I made reservations for the room, I was told it was to have an intercoastal water view. When we got there, it had a view of the buildling next door. I was told that since we were on the 9th floor, we had no view, but if we were higher we could see the intercoastal. That was not really satisfactory. I was told there were no other rooms in the hotel. March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Second Stay We had stayed for 5 nights last summer and had a wonderful Corner Suite and loved everything about the property. Had a one night stay on our way to Key West so booked there again. I think I would stay there just for the Fish Tacos at the Pool/Bar restaurant...amazing! All the food we have tried over our 6 visits has been top notch. And great ocean views as well! Two pools and plenty of chairs plus beach options so while it can get crowded, it's not oppressive. Rooms are great and while check in can be a bit frenzied as it's a HUGE property, they do a nice job processing everyone. Good location between Miami and Ft Laud with easy highway access. Will be back again soon. April 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blown Away By The Experience We are repeat guests ot The Westin Diplomat and this last trip was by far the best we've ever had. The staff was attentive, the room upgrade fabulous and the additional recognition of our anniversary by the staff made it an even better stay. Thank you all for the outstanding visit. We look forward to coming back very soon! May 5, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 33 next>>