The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

  • 3555 South Ocean Drive
  • Hollywood,
  • Florida
  • 33019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check-in to a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1245 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mrs. Tracy Adamski I am a frequent Diplomat guest and I would like to tell you that the reason we continue to come back to Diplomat several times a year is due to the consistency of our expectations being met, and additionally, the staff. Most notably, Jeff Mikus. This year, we were vacationing for my husband and son's birthday (they share the same day), but we decided to give a different property a try for part of the time. Sadly we were disappointed in the other property and regretted leaving the Diplomat. Jeff Mikus knew that it was my boys birthday even though we were at another hotel, he invited all of us back to the Diplomat for the day in order to give my family a "Cabana birthday party" without me even asking. He set up the entire thing, cake and balloons and all, which words cannot tell you how appreciative I was. He presented a huge cake and had a small army of staff to sing to my family. He really made their birthdays special and we are so grateful that each and every time we stay at the Diplomat, Jeff goes above and beyond for us. Over the years, we have developed a great friendship with him and many other staff members, who have come to recognize us, are very friendly to us, and always make us feel so welcome. Jeff MIkus especially, deserves to be recognized for his outstanding service to the Diplomat and toward the guests. He is professional, courteous, and a true asset to have on board and he is proud to part of the team. He truly enjoys his job, and makes the guests want to return to such a wonderful property. We will continue to return to the Diplomat as long as the quality of the beautiful property and staff remains outstanding. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was awesome We surprised my daughter for her 12th birthday and spent a night at this hotel. This was our first time here. We had a corner suite with sea views which was awesome! Bed was very comfortable and bathroom was updated and modern. Lots of space for the family. The only negative was that the sofa bed wasn't too comfortable for the kids. Had room service and food was great. Great location. So nice to have the beach right on our doorstep instead of having to walk far or drive to get to the beach. Enjoyed it so much that I already booked our next trip to celebrate my dads 70th birthday in August. Getting the corner suite and grand deluxe room which will be adjoining. He will be visiting from South Africa. Hope we have as much fun as we did this time! We were so impressed! June 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by "You HAD ME the Moment I Turned On Ocean BLVD Wow. Only this location has the ability to make two days and/or nights feel like 7days of pure bliss. From the moment we arrived-I thank you- Our room was ready early-(about 2pm)-i thank you and the professional and friendly young man that checked us in-- the glitch that we discovered in our shower--it wasn't draining--they immediately sent an engineer up and had it fixed in no time at all. the pools are over the top. (and under too!). The view is amazing-we had a Grand Deluxe Ocean View room--2753--recommend that specific room as it is just perfect-right there to hear and see the beauty but be far enough away to not hear unnecessary roughness. The ease of accessing the hotel from the overhead walkway if you decide to park in the parking garage. You can prepay the $20 at check in -we did with cash- the service. the look of the hotel. The classiness and in the same breathe kid friendly but not overkill-- I cannot wait to come back to this marvelous place. Next time maybe we'll even bring our children with. :) We were able to relax in the hot tubs just around midnight, and felt safe with the friendly security that did excellent detail checks. Will definitely enjoy a Cabana next time--didn't realize they were available-- (perhaps that is something that is described with check in papers--or even offer a discount to rent a cabana for the next time guests visit-- one thing to remember: the beach is their private beach but the rentals are part of a separate service. If you want to chair-you will need to pay for it=-my suggestion is bring cash--and try the pina colada--you'll be back faster then you can say pineapple express. Thank You Westin! You exceeded my expectations--there was not any issue with booking the room, even up to checking out (and a special thanks to Rohin who provided a nice credit to our room and honorary late check out--just what we needed for a quick get away) We will be back June 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Hotel Poor Service The hotel grounds are fantastic. Service everywhere pretty much seems to be somewhat spotty. It appears the hotel is understaffed. We stayed in a suite with 2 kids. We let the kids have the master bedroom. We slept on the sofa which was extremely uncomfortable There was a Reebok conference and reebok people partied next door pretty much all night, so it was hard to get a good night's sleep. Hotel staff did not appear to be interested in helping us sort this out. Concierge service is non-existent. My final bill had the wrong address on it and despite talking to 2 different people about it, the final "corrected version" still had the same incorrect address March 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved Me and my iPhone Checking my bags at the airline ticket counter and realized that I had left my iPhone in the taxi. What a helpless feeling, disconnected from world I started to reach out to the taxi company...ask the airport taxi stand for help...Ask the airline police for help to no success! I thought for sure it was gone! Called the Westin and BAM! They got the taxi driver to return my phone to them ASAP! Then, if that wasn't enough, they shipped it out FedEx P1 so I would have it by the next business day!!! You guys are AWESOME! April 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by bes mattresses Only compalint is both beds in my reoom were way too soft-prefer firmer July 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love this hotel but expect to pay extra$$$ I love coming back to the Westin Diplomat. the facitlities are perfect. the only complaints I have are the cabanas are ridiculously expensive and there isn't much around to do in the area. south beach is a $75 cab ride each way. Went to spa twice and loved it the first time but the second time was horrible. I guess they have the best staff on the weekends and then during the week they dont care much. July 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a resort This is the second time I have stayed at the Westin Diplomat and worse than the first. • My problems started with booking the hotel for the conference I was attending. No rooms at the conference rate were available so I reserved a room at their quoted rate so I would have a room. I found another online rate for less and tried to utilize the hotels lowest price guarantee, which was denied. They sent me a link to their lowest price which you would not find on their website by clicking “find the best rate” and they did not tell me about it when I called. You had to hit the “offers” tab instead which has additional “offers” that are also full of special restrictions. Getting a decent rate was frustrating. I did prepay for the room to get a little better rate on the second night but the room I received did not warrant the rate of either of the nights. • Upon stepping out of the taxi, I was not greeted and no one offered to take my bag up the steps. I was able to check in early which was a pleasant surprise. • As I walked into my room, I could see the carpet buckled several times in front of the bed. The carpet was also worn out and looked dirty. The couch in the room was also very worn out, discolored, and fraying. I stopped and got a pair of slippers so I didn't have to walk on the dirty carpet bare footed. I let the front desk know about the room. They offered to send housekeeping to clean it and I explained these were not problems housekeeping could fix. Rooms with dirty carpet and dirty worn out couches should not be rented to guest for the rate this "resort" charges. • I ate in the café twice. The food arrival took a while but the server was pleasant. The second time the server was terrible. She clearly did not have a handle on what she was doing. We didn’t get any drink refills offered to us and she huffed when my friend was paying cash for her meal and needed change. • The ladies room in the conference center had louvered doors and the doors shut by themselves. It was impossible to tell which restrooms were unoccupied, so knocking was necessary. I know at least one restroom had no lock because I went in it. Just a really stupid design. • The food offered during the conference was good but the hot water and coffee were often empty during the conference. This is not what I would consider a resort. This hotel has some nice features but it leaves a lot to be desired as far as cleanliness and service goes. I could not recommend this hotel. November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel for Beach and Pool but pricey My wife and I recently visited this Westin for an anniversary trip. The hotel was amazing with the beauty of the marble and elegant fixtures in the lobby. I enjoyed the pool and beach access that the Westin provided. We did not receive turn down service one day and I wasn't really sure why, but I think it had something to with the green active that they have, where you don't request turn down service every night. Other than this I would recommend this hotel to anyone in the area. I would also recommend if you are going for just the pool and beach rent a cabana. They are well worth every penny. May 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gorgeous hotel-less than gorgeous service The place is beautiful. I had two less than satisfactory experiences . The valet parking service is awful . First wait was 30 min. The next morning i waited 25 min and they could not find my car keys. They had to drive me to my appointment. When I came back they were making a duplicate key as they lost mine! When I went to the desk, the manager said he felt terrible about this, and an earlier experience and would get back to me. He never did. The next day, I went to another manager who finally handled it. The pieces need to fit together much more effectively. Responsiveness is not a strong suit. And DO NOT valet park your car! February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tropical Oasis I was a guest of the hotel at the recent GTM. Everything was perfect. My room, the ballrooms, breakfasts, banquets, etc. were absolutely amazing. It's not often when you get banquet food of that quality. The staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was wonderful. Thank you! July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just a little more during a recent 3 night stay at the Diplomat Country club property I had a few expectations that did not get met. First was the Shuttle bewteen the 2 locations ends at 9pm. so if you go have diner at the ocean location and try to get back to the CC location you have to cab it (15 bucks) Second. Awfully slow internet in the rooms and at 12.95 a day i should be able to download a itunes movie under an hour hour. However this is not the case. Third The rooms and bath were awesome, but the tube TV in the room is bad . No HD to watch both Sunday and Monday Night Football is just cheap. Overall the hotel is nice but just needs a few tweeks to make it memorable. December 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Huge Disappointment The service at front with luggage when arriving was excellent. Young man that delivered luggage to the room was friendly, courteous and engaging. Unfortuantely that is the best service we received. Pro's: Room very comfortable, great view, pool is very nice Con's: Being overcharged and leaving 3 voicemails and sending one email with no response. Other cons: Housekeeping would not replace items they took (for example by 2nd day no bath matts). Had to request shampoo and conditioner. Check out on Friday morning 1 desk person and 8 people in line. When paying at bar or restaurant they would want you to "yell" out your room number and name? Very unprofessional. October 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Executive Not what I would have expected being a very loyal SPG member and someone who absolutely raves about Westin properties. Toilet broken, room faced very noisy flock of birds and air conditioning units outside (an eyesore), among other things. Not worth the price. Took 6 separate attempts to get manager rectificiation during peak hours (although they were certainly very pleasant and nice). This included call backs, and going to the desk three times. A shame, it was a lovely property but I won't be coming back. The little store (with beach items) staff was amazing. The restauraunt staff - most acted as if they were doing me a favor. February 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by none confenrence food was fair to average. conferecne rooms were very good July 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Service at this hotel needs work Stayed at this hotel for a few nights. Everyone had their hand out for a tip and no one did anything to deserve a tip. Had several issues with housekeeping. The lady yelled at myself and the lady down the hall. She would not give us fresh towels. The shower in our room did not drain and it leaked on the floor. Tub did not drain either. Carpet in room was wet when we arrived. Front desk said someone would dry the carpet. No one ever did. Asked for new room with a shower that drained and a dry carpet. The front desk said they would move us checked us out of room and never gave us a new room. Housekeeping never cleaned our room. I said something. I was told Oh sorry we are booked. When the hotel asked for a review they said sorry for the confusion. March 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for families Extremely beautiful hotel and great for the price. I have stayed here several times and my kids love the pool and beach. Service was good but service personalities were lacking in food and beverage and I had an aweful front desk person on checkout. She would not even smile and would not respond to questions. Completely monotone. Pool service was excellent and the cabana boys were a hoot! July 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by 20th anniv Nice ground floor setting, pools, and beaches, but room nothing like expected at all. My wife and I booked this room for an extended weekend stay around our 20th anniversary, and upgraded to the Club Level. Based on the reservation site, the Club Level upgrade boasted of separate balcony, upscale floorplans, etc. But we check in only to find out that our room doesn't have its own balcony, just a window that partially opens up. Great view....but was expaecting a luxuirious room with a balcony. Even worse, remember said was our 20 yr annoiversry? So why would we have booked a room with double queen beds rather than king size since NO KIDS!!!!! We=hen we asked, only response was "well that appeared to be what you reserved". Now the beds were comfortable, just very small and not what we had expected to have nor paid upgrade for. on a 20th anniversary. Even worse, the AC in room was HORRIBLE. We asked twice for it to be looked at while we were out the first two days, but nothing changed. We placed the AC on the lowest setting and even put the fan on manual, but the room NEVER cooled. The last response we got from front desk was " you need to keep the BALCONY doors closed at all times!!!!!" WE DIDNT HAVE A BALCONY! We didn't bother complaining about the room temp after that, but the AC NEVER reached a point where it would shut-off...ran continually....couldn't sleep under much than anything other than the sheet. Wasn't scorching hot, but not even close to the room temperature we are accustomed to (70 degrees typically in our house) , nor the temperature on the ground floor. Once again very disappointing, even if we hadn't upgraded to club level. And no complimentary wifi!!!!! Not even at club level. We travel a lot with two sons playing baseball year round and that's just unreal. We enjoyed our trip to south beach and keys and WILL be returning soon, but we will seek other places to stay. Once again nice ground level, poolls, beach area, but other than that our experience was that was average at best. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel felt like home away from home. The hotel staff were AMAZING! Everyone there was extremely kind and welcoming. If you got lost or had a question (some of them I am sure they answer about 300 times a day), they answered thoroughly. The room was extremely clean, and the availability to get food in the lobby during late hours really helped us out. We arrived at 10:30 pm the first night of our stay. We self parked, and getting in and out of the hotel was very easy. I would recommend this hotel hands down and look forward to the opportunity to stay there again. The only negatives that I can really point to is having to pay for Wifi in the room and the coffee is not refilled in the room everyday. November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall a 1st class property The hotel is well maintained with plenty of open spaces inside and outside for gathering. The rooms are nicely designed and the doors separating the bathroom from the bedroom area are a nice touch. I could see the ocean from my bath, very relaxing. July 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by packed to the gills! We arrived at the hotel around 3pm. The lobby was packed with people and we could barely move. We were told our guest rooms would be ready in an hour (fine). All we wanted to do was sit at the pool after travelling 1/2 the day. We headed to the pool but was stopped by a security desk that told us we had to wear wristbands and that people were selling the wristbands to others "locals" who were coming into the hotel off the street and robbing guests. We were also told that the cost to replace the wrist bands would be $100 if they got lost (I have two 8 year old boys so I was worried). When we got out to the pool area there was a sign saying no clean towels until 4:15pm. At 5:00pm I think I saw some clean towels being passed around but not enough. There was not an available chair to be found either. We were sitting on a potted planter guarding our stuff (signs everywhere saying don't leave your stuff). We had to use a dirty towel that had been left to dry our kids off since there was nothing else and they had already jumped into the pool. It was not relaxing at all and the only reason we didn't go sit in the car waiting for our room is because we had just spent 3 hours in it and it was my twins birthday. The room was very nice and the staff was pretty good too. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great family stay! Stayed here towards the end of January when the resort was sold out due to a bunch of conferences. SERVICE: even at capacity i was pleasantly surprised with service and upkeep overall. when i came at about 1pm the suite was not ready, but got ready by about 2:30 (i came to check before they called me). I reserved a Diplomat suite (no ocean view) but after some begging (and with my SPG Gold status) was kindly upgraded to their Corner suite, which really is perfect for a family of four. Strangely, i wasn;t given exec club privileges (i don't remember ever not getting that upgrade perk even as a gold), so i had to buy my own cereal and milk, and couldn't check out the beautiful exec club suite people rave about. They sent us chocolates and a handwritten card for our anniversary, which was a very nice touch. BATH: suite had a great bathroom with big tub and separate shower with good rain shower coming directly from ceiling plus a separate handle showerhead to use depending on preference (rainshower had nice pressure, better than i expected, but separate head was very weak). loved the soft robes. BEDROOM: was a nice king heavenly bed that was perfect for vacation zonking. tv's in both rooms had some sort of minor issue with turning on to tv, and there was no easy to use online channel guide (like i have with FIOS at home) so it was hard to really use/flip channels, but we weren't there for tv. Living room included a BOSE audio system with DVD player which was a nice plus for putting on kids dvds (they advertise childrens programming on the hotel website, but only had Nick, Cartoon network and pbs, no Nick Jr. for our 3 and 5 year olds). LIVINGROOM: included a small table w 4 chairs for eating in, plus a couple of couches (one folds view from the long porch was fantastic, right over the pool and directly fronting the beach/ocean. porch included a table and two chairs on one side, and a nice lounge chair and another little table on the other side. loved leaving the sliding door open to hear the waves, so calming and beautiful, and sunrises were great. KIDS CLUB: my kids attended the kids club for 2 3hour morning sessions and had a great time. because there were only a handful of kids my week, there was no bounce house until the last day of my stay, but they had a nice coloring activity (4 and 5) and there is a bunch of fun stuff there (air hockey foosball) plus a nice area to play on the beach, and they go swimming too. They also throw in a nice goodie bag of fun stuff for kids (a quality little bag for the beach, plus a nice water bottle and a hat that says westin kids club, really cute. definitely worth $30 for three fun hours (and a little break for me and the Mrs. for our anniversary getaway). ACTIVITIES: the great thing about this resort is it is really a resort, with tons of things to do. also, there is a special activity credit u can sign up at front desk for, get $100 in activities for $80 (and can get several credits per day). so if u will spend 100 in one day, make sure to enroll. GOLF: we went golfing (special twilight deal was 99 per person with clubs and cart), which was really nice, but make sure to bring your own golf balls, as they were an extra $30 for 15. JETSKIING- for just $80 you can rent a jetski for a half hour (and can have 2 people on and switch off). was lots of fun (even when we fell off :)) and something i hope to do every time i come back here. BEACH- nice and clean, but note that chairs cost 12 beds cost more and umbrellas also cost separate. nice volleyball court was a lot of fun (brought my own ball). POOL AREA - plenty of lounging available for free and really a beautiful set up. loved the large amount of pool space available, which leads to much less crowding vs other hotels during busy times. the infinity pool is great for kids, as it starts at about 1 feet for the firs section, so even toddlers can have a great time unassisted, and then most of the rest of the pools stay at about 3.5 feet, which means no diving, and may irritate adult swimmers, but me and the fam loved it. a couple of jacuzzi's were also nice. BOATING: can rent boats form a dock on the intercoastal accross the street from the hotel. FOOD: Gelatto at the coffee shop was kosher (ask to check boxes) which was a great plus for me, and there are several kosher restaurants in the vicinity (including a pizza store that delivers directly to the hotel (Dairy Bites) with reasonable pizza prices for pies that are a little smaller than normal). starbucks coffee was great in the rooms. rooms also come with small fridge and separate minibar, so decent space for milk etc. OVERALL- a classy place that is kept up very nice (rebuilt in 2003). You have to pay a premium, but I don't think most other hotels can compare with the bang for your buck (especially if you have an SPG card). Room Tip: of course oceanfront is key. February 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great poperty, but beds don't live up to standard We really enjoyed almost everything about this hotel. Lobby was beautiful. Fitness center above average. Pools and beach area were fantastic. The problem was that the beds and bedding did not live up to Westin standards. Having stayed at several Westin's and Sheraton's lately, I feel confident saying that this was the most uncomfortable bed and the these were the lowest quality sheets/blankets we've encountered in quite sometime. And this is coming from someone who really likes this part of the Westin experience; we bought pillows and sheets from Westin for our own home! I'd stay here again, but if the hotel can do something to improve the bedding they should. August 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, beautiful beaches Everything at this hotel was fantastic with one exception. We called and confirmed in advance with multiple staff members that we would have 2 beds in the room. When we got there at 1 am from a long, west coast flight (as anticipated), the staff informed us our room with two beds was not available. We had to wait on an old, roll-away bed to be brought up in the middle of the night after arriving exhausted. That was disappointing considering the extra steps taken in advance to secure a two bed. The next day they moved us to another room. Other than that, excellent facilities and everything we expected. Great staff in general. May 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Property excellent property, business facilities were excellent July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome staff Great hotel with an awesome staff. I needed help with a rental car and the staff quickly took care of it for me. The waitstaff was very friendly. The hotel is beautiful with many amenities. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Room The upgrade as a Platinum is very good. The only sad thing is the food display at the Club Lounge. The lounge is beautiful but food service very poor. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Poor service and room, staff rude I checked in and despite my status was given a small room, and the bathroom was outdated, the couch filthy. The shower head was an old plastic one which barely reached my chin so I had to squat to wash my hair, this is not Starwood standard. When I went to the coffee shop they said I couldn't charge to my room and had to go to the front desk, when I did there was no issue. I also told the front desk about my shower and the girl argued with me. I was also not credited my points on my check out and had to ask for them. Overall, after 6 years of staying at this hotel with beautiful rooms this was undoubtedly the worst visit. December 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not Good We were very dissapointed that on the day we checked in, we had to call 3 times for extra pillows and sheets, it took over an hour to get them. We were all tired and just wanted to go to sleep and we were waiting on those supplies. Each time we called, the person who answered the phone questioned us if we knew there were extra pillows in the closet, we never should have been questioned and it should not have taken 3 calls and an hour of waiting! We also called down to get our car, when going out to get into it, The valet attendant looked at our ticket and told us that the car that was pulled up was ours, it was NOT! They tried to give out the wrong car! Not Good! July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by $ day Conference The room was clean and comfortable, The meeting facilities were excellent. The holtel is beautiful and well located July 14, 2014
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 43 next>>