The Westin Miyako Kyoto

  • Sanjo, Keage, Higashiyama-ku
  • Kyoto,
  • Kyoto
  • 605-0052
  • Japon
  • Carte

Chambres et tarifs

Fermer

Enfants/chambre

Ces informations nous permettent de trouver les chambres qui correspondent le mieux aux exigences de votre réception et de préparer votre arrivée.

Reportez-vous aux conditions et détails des chambres pour plus d'informations concernant les frais applicables pour les lits d'appoint et les personnes supplémentaires.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 35 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Below Starwood standards The hotel is not to the standards I've experienced in the 20 plus years I've stayed at Starwood properties. The carpet in the room was soiled and worn, the walls were marred and the couch was worn. I would not stay here again. July 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel with potential that falls short on recognition We are SPG Gold members and stayed at the Westin Miyako Kyoto from May 24-26. The hotel is very large and seems to be focused primarily on package tours and groups, not business or individual leisure travelers. • Check-in was at 3:00 pm or afterwards – our request for an earlier check-in, even by an hour, was denied. • The room we received was a standard run-of-the-mill room at the end of four long corridors, not an “enhanced” room that is supposed to be offered to SPG Gold members. • The reservation email advertised that we would have a Westin “heavenly bed.” We did not have this in our room, at least one similar to other Westins – rather it was one of the firmest mattresses without give I’ve encountered in a hotel in a while. • The SPG Gold Amenity was not offered to us at check-in. I had to work with SPG customer service afterwards to liaise with the hotel and even then did not hear from the hotel even after two outreach attempts by SPG customer service. • This Westin charges for gym use for Gold members and below. I find this micro-charging for frequent guests inappropriate, and inconsistent when compared with sister Westin properties in Japan, like the Westin Nagoya Castle, which offers use of the gym and pool as a courtesy to Gold members. • The highlight was Ms. Chieko at the Concierge desk, who was very helpful with reservations. • On another positive note, the hotel did agree to a late check out of 2:00 pm. All in all a rather disappointing experience from this Westin, and it’s one that I won’t be returning to any time soon. June 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Service and Amenities We travelled there from Australia for our honeymoon and were sadly let down by the Hotel in several departments compared to Starwood's other hotels. Considering we had paid over $500 AUD per night to stay there, it was especially upsetting. As we had stayed with Starwood before, for considerably less price, we had very high expectations! While the Hotel is located in an excellent position for sightseeing, that was about the only positive. Yes the staff were friendly but when you pay so much money for a room, you have certain expectations on the level of service and the quality of the room. The only thing they gave you was free WiFi. 1) They offered no recognition, discount to my wife and I that we were Starwood Prefered Guests. 2) They had no english speaking channels or TV programs in the rooms. 3) They had no inhouse movies for guests. 4) We thought their bike hire would have been complementary but they charged us $2000 Yen a day. 5) The rooms were very poorly lit and needed renovation. 6)The buffet breakfast they supplied was second rate. All the hot food was unedible due to being cold. 7) Basically the hotel had no atmosphere and made you feel unwelcome. 8) Finally, the price for room service meals, in house laundry services and bar prices for drinks was exorbitent and excessive. 9) Communicating with staff was hard as their english was limited from the staff I spoke with. We felt so strongly about these things, we ended up checking out early and rebooking at a hotel further down the road with better facilities, for half the price. While locals might think the hotel is great, I caution foreigners from staying there for the above mentioned reasons. December 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Location for Visiting the Temples in Kyoto This place is amazing. In addition to spectacular grounds, the rooms are exquisite. You can request to stay in either a typical Westin room or, a traditional Japanese room with Tatami mats in a building separate from the main hotel. The view from the SPG club allows you the chance to take in Kyoto's unique sky-line. From here, you can tour the temples along the Philosopher's Trail and, walk through the traditional Geisha neighborhoods. Ask the concierge for their help and they will set you up with any reservations that you need. November 23, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice with some shadows... On the good side: the location (nice view over the city, close to the metro station, nice temples within walking distance); the shuttle service; the restaurants; the executive lounge; the kind and professional service. On the less good side: the lounge is often plagued with crying babies; the hotel seems to live on its past glory, and needs renovation. June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I enjoyed my stay the hotel is getting a bit old (and not lux/fancy) but it's still nice and comfortable. i got my platinum member room upgrade - although not great view but it's quiet and i had an enjoyable stay. June 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT WESTIN STYLE This hotel is well located and very nice. However, this is an AMERICAN Hotel where is hard to find good English Speaking People. I went to the Gym, they charge for it. I ask for Gym apparel they do not have. This room although clean was old and not up to Westin Standards March 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dated, poor management, expensive for what it has to offer They would not honor the Starwood special offer that I got in the mail. We did not like the room, it was dated, the drapes and carpet were old and the bathroom was small and needed updating, so we wanted to shorten our stay to four days from four. We asked to speak to the manager who refused to do anything about it, the manager did not speak hardly any English, which is absurd in an international hotel in the city of Kyoto which is very touristy. The management was inflexible and again refused to honor the Starwood offer for an upgraded room and access to the Executive Lounge, and refused to refund the credit for the fifth night, although the terms and conditions read that there was no penalty for canceling a reservation until that day. Aside from our bad experience the hotel is way off the major tourist areas or the center of town, there is precious little to do in the area and hard to find a nice restaurant nearby. The restaurants in the hotel are ridiculously expensive, around $50 for a buffet dinner per person but they had nothing to offer, all the platters were nearly empty. The hotel it self is really dated and old fashioned, the lobby is a disgrace for a hotel that charges those prices, it is something out of the 70's. The only good thing about this hotel is that they provide a shuttle bus to the train station. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful night in Westin Kyoto Stayed 1 night from Aug 23 to 24, with wife and 10-month-daughter, for celebrating 2nd wed anniversary. Westin Kyoto was welcomed my family with warm greeting, Our Room was the residence(Rm #1116). Baby crib and humidifier are just in place, also microwave was very useful for my daughter's food to warm up. The most impressive part of the stay was that Westin Kyoto had preparted a mini cake for wed anniversary. Thanks to all, Definitely worth to stay. August 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and surroundings Stayed 2 nights here. Hotel is quite old but this cannot be helped and is the same for most places in Kyoto. The location is away from the city centre, but still extremely good, a short taxi ride (JPY700 approx) from Gion or Kyoto station (JPY 1300). Shuttle bus service provided. Plenty to do even if you do not wish to venture out from the hotel - there are 2 or more walking trails, many shrines and temples to visit around the hotel, as well as art boutiques, quaint shops and dining places. Service is good, with many (not all) english speaking staff. Will choose Westin Kyoto for my next trip! May 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service by An Excellent Staff Mr. Yuji Osawa, Front Desk Manager, greeted us upon our arrival and had everything set up for our first visit to Kyoto. He also arranged for our baggage delivery to Haneda Airport prior to our departure. Chief Concierge, Ms. Kaori Kato, made our Kyoto experience something we will always remember. When none of the kimono shops were available, she was able to negotiate a time slot and arrange to have our daughter get an appointment. We are so grateful for the extra attention that Ms. Kato gave us. When we go to Kyoto in the future - we will definitely stay at the Westin Miyako Hotel. April 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great re-stay Our first visit to the Kyoto Westin was not so great but we took a chance the second time around and found a huge improvement. We're glad we did and are eagerly looking forward to making it our vacation home-away-from-home. We were upgraded to a very nice room, the staff added an extra bed to the suite because they saw we were bringing our daughter (though we didn't even ask it worked out beautifully), the staff was very competent and eager in their English usage and I witnessed at least two dozen successful interactions between staff at all level with international customers (and zero unsuccessful ones!) The Club Lounge was a little spare in amenities and selection the two times we stopped by but the service was terrific. The staff worked with us to substantially lessen the parking scheme fee (a big and welcome change over last time) and the food was delicious. Next time we will take advantage of the rental cycles! Looking forward to our next stay! October 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A week in Kyoto The Hotel is beutiful, nestled in the suburbs of Kyoto but 3 minute walk from the subway (very good system), I booked a superior room, but the initial room was very small, the room was old, I asked to be changed to a room with a view (for extra charge) and the room was beutiful, I had a lot of help from the SPG - from twitter who contacted the hotel and help me, the new room was exactly what I was expecting from the Westin, the friendliness of the staff was amazing June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love this hotel My best choice in Kyoto. Location is good, the shuttle bus, metro, city bus, bike rental. 15 mins walk to Eikando Zenrin-Ji temple, close to Nan Zen-Ji temple, maple & Zen garden, my favorite. Tranquil sleep & wild bird sanctuary after breakfast, interesting. The sky lounge at Kintetus Kyoto station, you can find shuttle bus there. Waiting for my next visit. And cinnamon biscuits in the Executive Lounge, yummy yummy. October 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel Experience I stayed at the Westin Miyako, Kyoto in September, 2010, and I must say that this was the best hotel experience that I have ever had. I have stayed at many of the leading hotels throughout the world, but the graciousness and attention paid to guests at this hotel was unsurpassed. They really made you feel special. I was in awe! The hotel is gorgeous. The grounds are beautiful, and the location is convenient. November 17, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely hotel This hotel is a bit far from JR station, however, there is a shuttle bus departs every 30 mins. Avoid the rush hours as the bus may be crowded. The staffs are good and friendly. The room is clean. The Japanese buffet breakfast is worth and recommended. Upgraded? Yes, but after insisting. February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by First visit and I'll definitely be back I usually stay in Osaka but my business has taken me to Kyoto recently. First time here and I had a great experience. Platinum upgrade to a suite without a problem. Excellent location for relaxing. I highly recumbent a sunrise and a sunset walk along the birdwatching trail. I don't usually like to be up at sunrise but this is worth it. It doesn't get 5 stars from me simply because of the age of the property. However, I don't want that to seem negative, it is in good shape and Kyoto is about history. The lounge is very casual but relaxing and the panoramic card they can give you is an excellent idea to identify all of the sites you see from the window. July 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nonsmoking rm next to smoking rm?! We're nonsmoker. We had a nonsmoking rm610, then found out several smoking rms.are around us on the same floor! Bad! Had a bad cough since day 2. April 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel I was upgraded to a suite which was nicely spacious. The room did not have any special thrills but it was what I would expect from the 4th category. As platinum guests we were offered a complimentary breakfast buffet. Shuttle service was a convenient way to get to the train or to the nearby attractions. The service was not as impressive. I think it was mostly due to language problems (however it should be critical to have a decent English speaker on duty at all times). E.g. we had a trouble with air-conditioning and we were told "they were sorry". Well, I appreciate the staff was sorry, but I expected they would propose something. Only after we insisted the staff agreed to send a technician (who solved the problem) - weird. September 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb – in all respects! We stayed here as a family in September for 6 days whilst on holiday. It is a large hotel for sure, but its design and location are such that it has the feel of a smaller, luxury hotel. The reception area is welcoming and the check-in process is managed with friendly, Japanese efficiency. When we arrived at 11am I really wasn’t expecting to get into the room earlier than the posted check-in time of 3pm – the Japanese norm - we just wanted to leave our luggage and set-off for the day. So we were pleasantly surprised then when the receptionist (probably in recognition of my Platinum Life SPG) offered us the room from 130pm and access to the lounge for refreshments beforehand. Obviously we accepted! In the meantime, we wandered off to explore the hotel and its beautiful gardens and then went onto a local restaurant (of which there are plenty around the hotel) for lunch. We booked a 4-bed, family room and we were very happy with our choice. There were 2 over-sized singles in a bedroom and two similar sized beds in a larger room, with a sofa area that the children could play in (and watch TV). Great! The bathroom was of a decent size too. The space and layout of the room was great; more than sufficient to sleep in and to spend a reasonable amount of “downtime” in after exploring beautiful Kyoto. The SPG/Club lounge had great views over Kyoto; enjoyed all the more over an evening cocktail or their great hors d’oeuvres! Their selection of wines, beers and spirits was good. The gym was of a reasonable size, and the equipment met the basic requirements. The indoor pool was of a decent size too – good enough for laps and more than sufficient for the kids to have fun in. We didn’t use the outdoor pool and terrace, but that would clearly have been lovely in the summer sun. The hot tub was more than appreciated after pounding the pavements walking around Kyoto. These facilities were complimentary for us as Platinum guests but I think (but it should be confirmed) that is true for other hotel guests too. We ate breakfast in the AquaBlu restaurant rather than the Club lounge. The choice in the former was extensive and the quality excellent on a par with other Asian/European of comparable standard hotels. I write this as my experience in other Japanese hotels (including SPG) has been underwhelming on quality and amazement on the price they often charge for it. The only downside at their breakfast was the slow rate at which the various bowls and dishes would be refilled once empty. This was an issue at their peak times. We also ate in this restaurant on a couple of evenings when the children were particularly tired. The children’s menu offered a good selection, was very reasonably priced and was of a high standard. The same was true of the a la carte menu. The hotel is in a superb location. The metro station (Keage) is only a 2 min walk away and on a direct line to Kyoto’s main station. The hotel has a regular bus service into the city, stopping off at a couple of tourist spots and then the Kyoto station itself. By the way, the hotel bus stop at Kyoto station is directly opposite from where the Airport Bus stops. As if this isn’t enough, many of Kyoto’s “must see” sites are all within pleasant walking distance of the hotel. The staff was excellent in all respects – from reception, to the restaurants and lounge, the gym/pool and housekeeping – in terms of friendliness and efficiency. They were also very child friendly. When we’re back in Kyoto, we’ll stay at the Westin Miyako for sure. October 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid Stay As the second part of my honeymoon trip, Kyoto was a must-go city. After arriving at Kyoto Station, a free shuttle was available (runs every 30 minutes). During check-in, the Westin staff was friendly and fulfilled my request to be upgraded to one of their japanese-style rooms, located in another building behind the main one - in that sense, not that great after a long day walking. Breakfast can be challenging if you're not used to the local food, but not that big deal. Concierge was helpful when requested, providing local maps and general directions. August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel everything is so perfect! The hotel has great service. Especially for my disable daughter. The breakfast was so delicious, everything was from local, so fresh, super great taste, we couldn't forget it. The Japanese room was so good, we all enjoyed the Japanese style life.Location is very comfortable, good view. Hope can live over there for a long time. April 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Superior Hotel for travelers The hotel has a high standard of room amenities and hotel facilities. Though not near tourist attractions, shuttle bus service is provided with several stopovers. Excellent building and environment as if the hotel is a spot already. Worth to stay here and relax. PS: staff are friendly and detail-minded. January 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome hotel We stayed there just last week and the entire staff seemed to go out of the way to meet our needs. The birthday cake was an awesome touch. September 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most Perfect 48 hours - Impeccable Hotel We spent two perfect days in Kyoto celebrating our Anniversary. Every moment spent at The Westin Miyako was treasured. The hotel is all class and a polished gem. If you are looking for perfection, the Westin Miyako delivers from the moment you check-in, and until you check-out. The entire staff is attentive, very polite, and professional. The room was modern, clean and full of amenities found at most 5 stars hotel. The breakfast buffet at the hotel's Aquablu Restaurant is a culinary delight. The restaurant staff is extremely accommodating and friendly. Hotel Front Desk Staff and Concierge provides recognition of your SPG membership and were always hospitable and gracious to any request or inquiry. The hotel is extremely stylish and exudes elegance and sophistication. Located within walking distance of downtown Kyoto and many temples and shrines, yet worlds away from the hustle and bustle of the city, the hotel is surrounded by the serenity of near by mountains and lush trees. If the Westin Miyako were a US Property, it would be a SPG rated Category 6 hotel. I am a extremely delighted fan of the Westin Miyako. Thank you very much for the great stay and great service. December 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has very good features comfortable room and nice people I'm satisfied with all of things December 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfectly balanced stay The hospitality industry in parts of Asia really sets the bar for the rest of the world and the Westin Kyoto delivers on those high standards. Let's start with the beginning: a personal escort to your room who will explain the amenities in the language of your choice, English, Chinese or Japanese. An invitation to a free drink on the house as an SPG Gold member. A very attentive yet inconspicuous staff during your evening cocktails in the Executive Club Lounge. Housekeepers that do an amazing job without ever being seen or heard. It's been about 3 months since my stay at the Westin Kyoto and I often reflect fondly at the time I spent there. Its location in the hills of Eastern Kyoto, despite it being out of city center, is dear to my heart for the serenity and beauty that I woke up to every morning. Actually, it should be said that the hotel, both inside and out is shrouded in the kind of beauty that only Japan can provide. It starts with the green leaves and warm woods that decorate the lobby, to the traditional gardens and pathways on the outside and extending to the hiking trail behind the hotel that remains a best kept secret for the breath-taking views overlooking Kyoto city. Yes, it is AMAZING! I will admit this is one of the rare trips where I spent as much time enjoying the hotel as the city I'm traveling in. I loved having tea at the elegant Mayfair tea room, a cup of coffee in the Club lounge (where the view in nearly unrivaled) or just relaxing in my room after a long day of walking. Unlike most hotels in Japan, the Club Level room I stayed in was HUGE (and it wasn't even a suite) with a full bathtub, separate shower, and toilet stall (I loved how everything is separate!), a sitting area with a real couch, a corner office space and a Westin Heavenly bed worth dying for. The Westin Kyoto Miyako, to me, seems to be the perfect balance of tranquility and Western comforts. July 28, 2012
<<prev2