The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, Bangkok

  • 259 Sukhumvit Road
  • Bangkok,
  • 10110
  • Thailand
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children 12 years of age and under stay free in parents room if using existing bedding.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 228 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall good stay Well lets start with the a few complaints first off was my trip to the business center I had to send 37 pages scan to email the cost a staggering 875bht wow very expensive. Second there is a smell downstairs in the entrance it has was here 2 years ago still here. Know why I gave the hotel a 5 star rating great staff from entrance to room. Great location cant get much better then this right on BTS line next to amazing shopping. Again service was great can not say enough about service. Rooms very clean nicely appointed and a decent club lounge. November 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A lot better SPG recognition this trip Few days before check in, a Westin Experience Specialist contacted me via email to see if I needed anything during my stay, which was a great touch. I did ask them to see my suite upgrades would be confirmed. On the day of arrival, the upgrade was confirmed. I love the fact that SPG Platinum Guest can now dine at Taste for breakfast instead of the lounge. The service at Taste is not perfect, nobody came to take the plates away when I dined there on a Sunday morning. Not sure what happened there. I did have issues with WIFI and phone service, which the staff was very helpful with the resolution. I think the hotel needs to do something about the WIFI and log in system. The unique user name and password for each device is a pain to manage. The system regularly disconnect s my devices and the device needs to manually logged back in. Too bad that the 1st floor waiting area is not WIFI enabled. I had to call the operator on many occasions to ask to have an “outside” phone line access. The first few calls were made with the operator’s assistance. The public area was a bit hotter than I would of like, so hopefully management can also address it. The location is very convenient, next to Terminal 21 and steps away from the BTS Asoke. I have been staying here more and more because of the location and the room rate is quite competitive. Staff aimed to please (except for the dining room wait staff during breakfast) and friendly. Overall, I enjoyed this trip and hopefully can continue this feeling in the future. March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bangkok surprise I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Westin Grande Sukhumvit and I was very pleased. Service was seamless and attentive, good location close to city centre and public transportation. The rooms were clean and the bed very comfortable. March 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Location I have always been a strong supporter for Westin under SPG and on my each visit to BKK, Westin is always the choice for me until something which I consider “easily to be resolved” but did not and that was the turning point for me to decide that it is time to stop supporting Westin Grande in BKK. I have decided to revisit this property again next week to see whether things have changed, to see whether I still pick this on my next visit or hop onto the property just located opposite of Westin. Bad experience located above and good thoughts are provided below: Besides being located just outside of Asok BTS, Westin is a minute walking distance to Terminal 21 and Robinson. Food court, McDonald’s and TOPS supermarket is located just below Westin. It’s pretty convenience for you to travel to anywhere from this part of Sukhumvit. I have yet to try the food in Westin but I will do so on my next visit based on the recommendation provided. Music band located in Lobby Lounge is beautiful and the guest services there are friendly. I have never been to their executive lounge before. Not quite sure whether the pool now is ready as during my last visit, Westin guest will need to walk over to Sheraton Grande for that purpose. I like the security provided to guest when we ride on a taxi. The taxi number plate will be recorded down for security purpose. Westin Grande do offer great rates sometimes, so check it out if you are heading to BKK. April 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible Hotel! We were blown away by this hotel! We only stayed one night in Bangkok and my favorite place to be was the hotel! The staff was wonderful and offered great local recommendations for our short stay. The best part of the stay was the incredible breakfast! I seriously thought I died an went to food heaven! Anything you could possibly want (and more!). If we ever travel back to Bangkok, we will definitely stay at this hotel again! November 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Expected More At check in we were denied breakfast even after we showed them a copy of the reservation that said breakfast is included. My coworkers were able to get breakfast so I spoke to a different manager later at night and showed him my reservation and after he investigated my coworkers reservations he said breakfast is now included. Wasted so much of my time trying to explain, this is not professional and not what I expect at a Starwood hotel. Better rooms, bathroom, and service at Sheraton across the road from Westin. Westin felt a little tired, catered mostly to Business clients...at this price I expect a much superior experience and ambience. May 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best services I have ever experienced! Travel much and experience so many good services. But as soon as I got of my taxi, I noticed that this is one of the best! Great staffs! March 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A beautiful hotel! Got a suite when I checked in. The full breakfast was wonderful. The location was great. Highly recommend! October 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has great location This Hotel has a very good location with just a few steps from Asoke BTS Station. The hotel is surrounded by famous shopping spot such as Terminal 21, Robinson, Sckhumvit night market, etc. and have no difficulty to find food and entertainment. September 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Great Place The location is wonderful. Walk out and get on the Skytrain! The bathroom has some mold growing (not unusal for Thailand), but other than that an awesome SPG property! Nice club lounge, but breakfast could be improved a bit. October 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service Level I had always had a good stay at the Westin. Unfortunately, during my last stay - Check Out - 28 Aug, the service level seems to have dropped in terms of personalization. Made a phone call from outside the hotel to try and get an extension for 1 more night but was not accorded the basic service. Was told that I had to pack up and change room if I wanted to extend. Not much else was said. Understand that upgraded room (FOC) is subjected to availability but believe at least a basic explanation and some form of apologetic tone would have help the situation. Guess that is what an almost full house bookings does to Service Levels. Decided to check out and went over to another place instead. September 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by My 2nd time stay really doesn't meet my expectation The check in process was smooth and this time I was shocked to myself that the WIFI that I used is not free. Yes I was overlooked that my booking was not inclusive of WIFI and it is chargable but the last trip when I was staying in this hotel, the check in staff was kind enough to alert me and I upgraded by paying slightly more. This time I have to pay THB470 for this slow WIFI connection. Ridiculous. February 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Okay, but I wish it would have been better Really good location, right next to Terminal 21 and Asok Station, with plenty of food nearby and a supermarket downstairs. Called the Service Express to ask for some facial wash, but was simply told that the hotel does not provide, without any alternative. Also, the procedure to obtain the internet passcode is rather inconvenient and a waste of paper, as we have to go to the Concierge desk to get the internet passcode on a piece of A4 paper, and this code would only be valid for 1 hour. Ate the buffet breakfast on the first morning, and very sadly, it's undergoing some construction works so the tables are set a little too closely together and I could hear the entire conversation of the guests from the neighbouring table. The food selection was pretty good, but no one was ever manning the waffle station and the noodle station. The salad bar took some time to be topped up as well. The pool was nice and deserted on the night that I went for a swim, but it was freezing cold, and the area with the Jacuzzi was a little too shallow, with nothing to hold on to, so I found myself slipping away. My companion had longer legs so he was able to sit relatively comfortably, but it might be something to look into, to provide more handholds in the pool itself. Lighting inside the pool itself could be improved. On the first day I found a dark stain on the room carpet, but decided not to mention it as there were gorgeous bedroom slippers available, but the next day after my room was made up, it was rectified, so that was good. Water was very generous and they emptied my minibar of items upon request very promptly. Found myself being more friendly to the staff than the staff were to me though, but all in all I don't think I had a very bad experience. Will consider coming back if improved. January 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old and Tired Whereas the staff in this hotel are efficient, well trained and responsive to clients the hotel is suffering from its age. On my last stay I had my room changed twice because the rooms I was first offered smelled and were dirty. The carpets were dirty and one of the rooms had marks that looked as if someone had vomited so violently that the carpet was unable to be cleaned. The hotel is in urgent need of refurbishment to re-establish it as a comfortable place to spend time. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favourite hotel I have probably stayed in more than a hundred Starwood hotels over the years, in eight or ten countries. This hotel is the best of the lot. It is not the fanciest, and not the newest, but it distinguishes itself by the personal care taken by its staff to make the guests feel at home. Aside from all of the other positives, this is a hotel in which upgrading to Executive level is a very good idea. The small but intimate Executive Lounge is staffed with a friendly and happy team who make everyone look forward to being there. October 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location and Great Hotel The Westin Grande Sukhumvit is a modern and contemporary Bangkok hotel located in the heart of Bangkok’s shopping and entertainment district. Upon arrival at Bangkok’s Suvarnabhumi International Airport, I was greeted by a hotel representative who took my luggage (I had accumulated 3 bags by this point in my trip, so the assistance was very welcome) and escorted me to a luxury Mercedes Benz for the trip to the hotel. The car was stocked with cold water and travel magazines . Upon arriving at the hotel, I noticed security was heightened compared to previous trips to Bangkok (likely a result of the travel warnings issued by the US and UK State Departments. While my trip was uneventful, 3 bombs went off in Central Bangkok the week after my trip, so high security is very comforting.) I was greeted at the front door by a bellman and front desk receptionist. I was incredibly impressed that I was able to bypass check-in and was taken straight to my room by two members of the hotel staff. My room was upgraded to a large suite. My check-in was completed in my room and the traditional Thai hospitality was not lost on me. (I’d love to think my Platinum Status with Starwood got me this VIP treatment, but I must say, I’m pretty sure I owe the VIP treatment to the director of rooms at a Sydney Starwood property) . It’s amazing that this hotel opened in 2007, because everything still looks brand new. The Westin Grande Sukhumvit lives up to its name. The Room My suite was huge, incredibly clean, had a full bath and half bath and was well laid out. The view from the 15th floor was decent – I looked directly into the new Terminal 21 shopping center from the living room and from the bedroom could see skyscrapers and a slight view of the river. The room had a very large working desk with both wireless and wired Internet access. The Internet speed was very good. There was a sofa and chair, a refreshment center with stocked mini-bar, complementary fresh fruit (new fruit added daily), tons of free water (you can’t drink the water in Bangkok). The bedroom was extremely large and had a king size bed, chaise lounge chair and small table, separate dressing area, large closet with safe (always use the safe in Bangkok), and huge TV. The master bath had a tub, shower and nice vanity area. The shower pressure was a little disappointing. Overall, the room was amazing and made a week of work in Bangkok very enjoyable. Restaurants and Room Service The hotel has a variety of restaurant choices. I really enjoyed Kisso Japanese Restaurant. The sushi and dumplings were delicious and the prices are extremely reasonable for hotel restaurant pricing. In fact, compared to Westins in North America, Australia and Europe, the prices seemed cheap! And the food was awesome! I didn’t try the main restaurant, Taste, because I had access to the concierge lounge (more on that later) and the bar, Zest, was always busy and makes a great iced tea (yes, iced tea…I know it was a bar, but not everyone drinks) and after two months in Australia, I was ready for a proper iced tea! Room service was also very well priced (everything in Thailand is well priced) but they had a hard time getting my orders right on the first try. The Lounge The concierge lounge was lovely. The staff was very attentive and always willing to help with anything. There were always a lot of food choices. For breakfast, the hot choices never thrilled me, but the continental breakfast choices were great – and I swear, they had the best mini donuts I’ve ever had. In addition to the donuts, I enjoyed the fresh fruit. Thailand has some of the most amazing fruit and the breakfast fruit selections didn’t disappoint. Each morning, the staff would make custom coffees – by day three they didn’t even have to ask what I wanted to drink. Another treat is the fresh jams! I’ve seen the same jams at a lot of hotels in Bangkok. This time I tried the mango and passion fruit jam. Yummy! The Hotel Overview The first floor lobby had ample seating and great ambiance, but reception is actually located on 7. On the 7th floor, you’ll find Taste, Zest Bar, reception, the concierge, a ball room and a few small shops. On 8, you can find a hair salon, the spa, the gym and a saltwater pool. The hair salon offers manicures and pedicures. They are very cheap and the service is just fair – what you would expect from any cheap salon anywhere in the world. Nothing relaxing or indulgent about it. I wouldn’t return for a mani/pedi. The spa listed manicures and pedicures on their menu, but they never seemed to have anyone available when I called to book. The other services in the spa were well priced for a hotel spa. The Westin is located across the street from the another Starwood property and connected by a Sky Bridge. The Sky Train is also connected to the hotel which makes getting around by foot, or Sky Train, easy. The neighborhood is busy and crowded. There’s a department store and McDonalds connected to the hotel, Terminal 21 is across the street, and there’s plenty of street shopping. Summary I really enjoyed the Westin Grande Sukhumvit and would return. Bangkok has some of the best hotels in the world and choosing where to stay is getting tougher and tougher.The benefit of the Westin is access to easy transportation and the amazing prices! April 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice pool Clean reasonable sized pool allows all day swimming adjacent to good gym and steam/sauna facilities. Compact but nicely stocked lounge with evening canapes. Surprisingly no champagne available. February 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Central The hotel can be reached from the airport within 45 minutes by City Line and the Green line. Asok station is right in-front the hotel. Guest Service Staff is very competent and friendly. Rooms (Executive Floor) are spacious and quiet. The hotel is in close vicinity to many many restaurants and shopping facilities. For me it is the perfect value for the money hotel in BKK. Also an outdoor swimming pool is available for relaxation November 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient I stayed here for 3D2N and I do enjoy the stay with Westin. However, the breakfast stuffs has a mixture of friendly and unfriendly staffs. The rooms has reached the expectation and the cleaners were very polite. they will greet and smile at you everytime you walk pass. However, the group check in was relatively slow as we only managed to do the check in after 6.30pm. The water shower pressure is also inconsistent. However, the facilities in the hotel was great. Location was easy as it is located right beside Asok and beside Terminal 21. Good choice of hotel if I were to stay in this area. However, there are no night markets nearby thus a lot of time on traveling. January 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Amazing Stay I was in Bangkok on a business trip for five days in March 2013. I was lucky to have booked at the Westin. Not only that the service, facilities, and comfort were at my expectation, but also the location of the hotel itself was convenient. It lies in a prestiguous street in the middle of the city, close to different transport means (trains, tube, and taxis). Nearby were some of the top shopping destinations, Thai and international. All in all, it was a pleasant experience. March 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Getting worse and worse Although not my favorite Starwood property in Bangkok I wanted to give the Westin another chance. I'm not happy I did. I arrived at 4pm only to be told my room wasn't ready yet. I had to wait 1 hour to check in. A 5pm check in is not acceptable in my opinion, especially for their top level customer who was only receiving the base room and not an upgrade). ROOMS: The worst part of my stay was the room. The A/C didn't work (water fell from the ceiling in the middle of the night and maintenance had to be called). They installed a new high tech system to operate the lights and A/C since my last stay. However it doesn't work properly. No matter what temperature I set the A/C to - it always kept the room at 21. Too cold for me. I had to turn it off and on all night ruining my sleep. Further, one night ALL the lights turned on at 5:30am. I obviously was woken up and sadly couldn't fall back asleep. The room was a decent size and has a work desk with 1 outlet next to it. More outlets are needed as I had to unplug both lamps to get access to 3 outlets. Leaving the room too dark. BATHROOMS: The bathroom was decent and they offer a scale which I like. They also had a rainfall shower head which is a plus - but the water pressure is light and worst of all - the water seems to be able to only be set to too hot or too cold. It is almost impossible to get the water a decent temperature. FACILITIES: They have a nice pool and a small gym. The gym is equipped decently but it's so small that a max of 2 people can use the free weights at the same time. And even then it's a crowd. PLATINUM RECOGNITION: Recognition at this property has improved since my last visit and although I was extremely disappointed in the room and service at this hotel, I want to acknowledge the work they've done in this regard. 1- No suite upgrade was provided but it was over New Years and the hotel was fully booked. 2- Happy hour in the club lounge from 5:30pm to 8pm. I truly appreciate a happy hour that is run so long allowing you not to rush to try to enjoy it. Other properties should follow the Westins lead in this regard. Sadly, I'm not a huge fan of the club lounge which is basically three small rooms crunched together with limited seating (you sit right on top of others when maximum occupancy is reached - as it was during my stay). Finally, the food on offer is OK, but there is not enough selection. One one of the nights, the hot dishes were all meat. Nothing for people who don't eat meat. 3- Six free water bottles each day (another wonderful and appreciated gesture). Allowed me not to have to bother calling them each day for more water. 4- Fast free internet. 5- Free buffet breakfast in the restaurant or club lounge in addition to the Platinum amenity (this is an upgrade from their previous policy of requiring you to lose your Platinum amenity if you wanted breakfast in the restaurant). And I want to acknowledge them for fixing their prior error. Nothing annoys me more than feeling I'm being nickle and dimed - and this new policy is appreciated. As well, they have significantly upgraded their breakfast with fish of the day (salmon, yum!) and a large selection of dim sum. 6- 3 pieces of laundry free (per stay), and free expedited service (paid). Love this perk and it is appreciated. SERVICE: I found the service lacking. At the club lounge I had to find people to get or refill my drink. They didn't come around often. I ate at Kisso restaurant and ordered 3 dishes. Unfortunately only 2 came. I spoke to my server to address the issue and she kept telling me I didn't order the 3rd dish. I realize there is a language barrier that likely caused the confusion, but to tell me I am wrong over and over is not quality service. I know I ordered correctly, and would've forgave the issue had she been contrite. If I want to be treated insignificantly, I'll go home. As well, all I got for my room troubles (A/C, lighting, etc.) was an "I'm sorry". Nothing more, no offer of anything for my trouble. Just a feeling as though it was nothing I should be bothered about. So, although I am happy they have made significant improvements in their Platinum recognition and breakfast - I will likely not return. And with all the Starwood properties on offer in Bangkok, I see no reason why you should either. January 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Used to be great I actually bought the bed after staying here a couple of years ago. I'm still very pleased with the bed but won't be coming back to the hotel. Check in was a disaster - was told there were no non smoking rooms available despite booking 2 online yesterday and traveling with small children. When we insisted on seeing the manager we managed to get 2 non smoking rooms on the same floor. SPG card was not only ignored they issued a new one. April 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service, in the heart of Bangkok The location of this hotel is excellent, and it was very nice to return to this hotel again after being away for a while. Shopping and eating are difficult in this area simply because there is too much variety to choose from! The service at the hotel is outstanding, and the staff are friendly. Great views from the hotel rooms. Transportation is also very convenient as it is right near two train stops on two separate lines. July 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good loction, great service, but a little plain I have stayed at this hotel many times, and can definitely recommned it. Great club lounge with good breakfast and snacks/cocktails in the evening. Excellent service and good location with large modern shopping mall, plenty of restaurant, street shopping, and sky train right outside. However, hotel is a bit plain, very simple gym/locker area and too simple, limited choice of restaurants. December 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I MUST PROTEST... Dear sirs, As a frequent traveller, I must register my protest with you on several fronts... 1. Your staff need to stop showing up all the other hotels! I am a frequent traveller, and have stayed at more hotels than I can remember, but the staff at the Westin club lounge are really the best! Friendly, and approachable, they are clearly happy to be there! From the minute I get to the hotel, being greeted by the bell staff, to walking across the lobby on the 7th floor and having reception desk staff call me by name, to the club floor where everyone knows my name... It's like coming home. 2. You need to make it a little less convenient to get around. I frequently haul my wife around the world and she likes to shop, can you please make it such that she can't get to all the major shopping areas with ease? Despite having come here so many times, I still haven't learnt my lesson. Do you know how many times I have had to buy extra suitcases and bags? 3. You really have to stop making me want to move in! I have my own home... You really don't want me to move in here, do you? 'Nuff said! Seriously though, if I WERE to nitpick, there are a couple of very minor flaws such as the fact that there aren't enough suites on higher floors, or that the very minor, gradual upgrades to the fittings are resulting in strange things like lights with no apparent "off" switches, or some toilets without the ubiquitous bidet/wash shower attachments, All in, this is ABSOLUTELY my favorite hotel in this part of the world. Would I stay anywhere else in Bangkok? Not if I can help it! I have come to Bangkok for work, for relaxation, for shopping, and for just plain fun, and I can tell you that I have clocked more nights in this hotel than I have in any other hotel on the planet! And finally, a word of warning.... If you actually do put together a suite on a high floor that has a fully-equipped kitchenette, and make the mistake of letting me stay there, you might have some trouble getting me to vacate it.... Keep it up! December 13, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very dissapointing stay Rooms were NOT cleaned well, dirty plates and dirty coffee cups were not cleaned nor replaced. showers are old and not clean, rooms are dark, bath tabs in both our rooms got blocked and had to call reception to send plumber. Overall; I will not recommend the Westin BKK as a five star. BTW - i contacted reception at the check out and gave them my review as well. August 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by ““Enjoyed the Facilities & had Excellent Service”” Stayed for 5 nights recently and really enjoyed the experience Hotel is a little worn around the edges but never affected the quality of my stay The hotel is in a great central location minutes walk from Terminal 21 shopping centre and Robinson Dep't store below the hotel My room was very comfortable and well appointed...bed was very very comfortable Wi fi was free in the room and a decent speed staff were always friendly and courteous throughout Overall my experience at the Westin was really enjoyable and relaxing and I would certainly recommend it if you were visiting Bangkok January 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location If you want to get a real sense of what Bangkok is all about, this hotel is located right in the heart....on a skytrain stop, close to shopping and restaurants/bars.. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very relaxing weekend. We had a great weekend,enjoying the pool, staffs are very friendly and the location is good closed to everything! November 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, Bangkok: Excellent Location, Service, Amenities, Safety @WGS Location next to BTS and Terminal 21 mall is excellent. 4 stops to Siam Paragon on BTS. 4 stops to Silom on MRT. Direct route to Jatujak weekend market on either BTS or MRT. From the moment your taxi arrives, you are made to feel welcomed by the very helpful staff who will unload you bags for you. You have to check-in on the 7th floor, an inconvenience by some, but I personally feel that it provides a sense of privacy to guests, as it's away from the views of passers-by. A lot has been said about the so-called "dragon ladies" at the Front Office, but my experience is exactly the opposite. My check-in was handled professionally by Ms Took, a thoroughly pleasant and friendly person, who greeted me by name when I saw her again 2 days later, to ask how the room was (I was upgraded to a corner room), and when I told her that I liked the spaciousness of the room and the bathroom, offered to have that logged on in the system for future visits. The staff (especially at reception) at Taste (where breakfast is served), are always friendly and attentive to your every need, without ever being intrusive. In your room, you will find bathroom slippers (one of the most comfortable ones provided by any hotel, anywhere), and comprehensive set of amenities. Towels are numerous and of generous proportions and of superior quality. The complementary tea offered (Jing brand, pyramid shape) is the same as that offered at the buffet shows that the hotel does not try to cut corners to save money. And the coffee-maker is easy to use and Lavazza capsules are provided complementary. The beds and bed-sheets are a dream (pun intended) to sleep on. Also, if you use a 3-pin plug for your electrical appliances, you do not have to bring your own adapter. Samsung TV and DVD player is offered. When leaving the lobby, small bottled water is provided with a touch infused with lemongrass scent -an extremely thoughtful gesture, greatly appreciated as you encounter the Bangkok heat and traffic soon after! I stay in Bangkok every 3 months and have stayed in different hotels each time. Taking into account all my experiences, I decided to stay in the Westin for a second time. This stay confirms my decision, and now I'll ask myself, "Why stay anywhere else?" December 9, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>