The Westin Arlington Gateway

  • 801 North Glebe Road
  • Arlington,
  • Virginia
  • 22203
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 357 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dirty rooms The room was dirty and dusty. There was mold in the shower and bathroom sink was disgustingly dirty looking like it was wiped with a rag that cleaned the toilet bowl. I had to find a outlet near my bed to plug in my phone ... hard to believe there was no outlet near there ... any case under the bed was very dirty as well. You have a great location .. please pay more attention to details. August 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Getting Worse I enjoyed my stay at this Hotel couple of years back and decided to stay again this year. However, other than the room comfort, I was not satisfied with any other aspects of this Hotel. It was sad to see this. Front desk not polite. Service Express personnel curt and unresponsive to bell cap requests, etc. Room service personnel not well trained. In-room dining options has limited vegetarian. Gym has limited space for yoga or stretching exercises. Concierge almost never available. I was really sad to see one of my favorite Hotels unable to keep up. August 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable I stayed here on 7/3, one nite due to flight cancellations. I want to give a hearty thank you to the restaurant, Pinzimini staff on 7/4. I arrived at 11:00 a.m. and asked to eat breakfast, and they LET ME, even though the kitchen was technically closed. The names are as follows who should get rewarded for their great customer service: Hostess: Alemshet, Supervisor: Paige, Server: Alonso and Food and Beverage director: Sean Sleeper. I wish to give them my gratitude for their great service to this very tired traveler. Thanks so much. If I'm ever in your area again, I WILL stay in your hotel. Thanks again. July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for Arlington Virginia My husband and I have stayed at this hotel 5 times now and each time has been a very pleasant experience. The Manager, Dave Gibbons has always been accommodating and we have appreciated being able to count on him. Hotel is modern and clean, staff are always courteous and it now feels like "home" every time we check in. Shelley August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terry & Susie Beds are very comfy, room was quiet, we usually stay at this Hotel beacause of location and member of spg group. We stayed one night last week and have two rooms booked this week. Wish parking didn't cost so much. December 20, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by It was so-so The restaurant staff was incredibly slow. Breakfast took almost 1 1/2 hours - including 9 minuets to set a table. The Green program was completely misrepresented - they hotel WILL NOT touch your room or give you new toiletries. Vacuuming at 730 am on a Sunday morning and the workout facility, while very nice, smelled like sewage. Not great when you're working out. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by comfortable and convenient I had an enjoyable stay at the Westin. Comfy room. Friendly staff and quick response to requests. I like the green option of no servicing the room each day. August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for business travel Having stayed in other hotels in this area for training, the Westin Gateway Arlington is by far the best. The room was clean and spacious and the staff was friendly and helpful. For future meetings in the Ballston area, I will definitely be staying here again. July 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by some good, some "needs to improve" Pros: 1)Attractive, classy lobby, with nice touches such as free hot cider, candles. 2)Helpful and courteous staff. 3)Nice, comfortable room, especially since we had a view. 4)Starbucks coffee in the room. 5) Good location. Cons: 1)Although the entire hotel is nonsmoking, I could smell smoke in the hallway outside my room (perhaps because one of the staff is a smoker?). 2)The hallway is a little dingy-looking compared to the lobby and the rooms. 3)The heating system cycled on and off, and was loud enough that I had to turn up the volume to hear the TV. 4) I had to run the hot water in the tub for several minutes before it got warm, and it never really got hot. My wife wanted to take a shower, but she said it was too cold. 5) The pool is very nice, but I couldn't relax there after my swim. The lifeguard had propped open the outside door "because of the chlorine fumes". Thus it was too chilly in the room. Also if you are staying there for several days, forget about using the pool during the day, because it is closed from 10 am - 4pm. 6) I ordered a Margarita at the bar. It tasted OK, but it was expensive, and even more so, since it was the smallest, weakest one I've ever had. 7) Also too expensive: parking and Internet fees. January 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable & modern I always enjoy staying at this hotel, it is clean, and the bed and pillows are really comfortable. The room is a great size and all decor is really modern. The gym facilities are comprehensive and large. There are nice views of Ballston from the room and it is walking distance from nice restaurant choices and shopping. July 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great downtown location I gave this hotel 4 stars because it is very close to my bother's house and the kids loved the pool but the 2 double beds are extremely tight to sleep 2 adults and the Club Level Room that we paid extra for and should have included breakfast was closed during our Thanksgiving stay. The staff did give us vouchers for the hotel restaurant but the fact that customer service dropped the ball on notifying us during the reservation process made me wonder what else they neglected to tell us. All in all, the hotel is very clean, the staff was very nice and the location was key to our reunion. November 29, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Modern, comfortable hotel in great location The staff with the exception of the valet were wonderful. I checked in and was given a handicap accessible room on a low, non SPG floor. One of the reasons I book Westin is for the Heavenly Shower, which it was not and within minutes of finding the non-heavenly shower and asking for a room change, a porter was at the door moving my bags to an SPG floor that was what I was expecting. Every time I called for my car to be pulled up, it was sitting in a parking stall outside the valet area waiting for me, but the valets never opened the doors nor aided with luggage, although they expected a tip for handing my keys to me. Also in the morning, the housekeepers wanted to get a start on the day and while I appreciate the fact they vacuum, I didn't appreciate them doing it while my Do Not Disturb sign was on my door and them in the hallway. Outside of those little things, this is a great hotel and will easily have my return business on my next trip to the DC area. December 15, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice but not great I arrived early and was allowed to check in before noon, which was great, but the rest of my stay was very average. There were no vending machines and the "gift shop" that was described did not exist. The heavenly shower and bed are nice but nothing special. Personally I don't understand how premium hotels get away charging outrageous prices for every little thing (the food and room service prices were extremely high, daily fee for internet, tips for everything, etc.) on top of the high rates. The meeting facilities were nice, but I would never pay to stay here for a pleasure trip. March 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to expectations... I don't typically stay at Westins, and I probably won't again. It just wasn't up to the expectations I had for it. First of all, I was never able to sleep past 5 am because of the barking dog on my floor. I understand being a dog friendly hotel, but it's just not fair to other paying customers. In short, housekeeping was terrible and skimpy on the basics like shampoo, the lobby was much nicer than the rooms, and the business center printers didn't work nor did my AC. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent location and restaurant was very good good experience would recommend it, staff very courteous, friendly and helpful, breakfast was very good July 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great hotel to stay but ... We enjoyed staying at the hotel, however, to make it a truly 4 stars hotel, there are couple things need to be improved: -We had 2 double-beds in a room, and there is only 1 arm chair to sit. -Charge for using internet in the lounge. It is not free and quite expensive. -Valet parking, although nice, but inconvenience for us to get to since we have small kids and they tend to forget things in the car -Charge of $20/day for a microwave??? -Non-working fridge needs to be removed from room, take up the space in cabinet. April 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by 4 nights of No sleep! We were in room 1112 near the elevators which they said had a malfunction. There was a loud scrapping noise that kept us up for two nights. We were unable to move to a new room because the hotel was booked. The second night the noise was even louder. The 3rd night we were moved to a new room. As we were moving our luggage the mantainence crew came in to fix the drain, that gurgled for two night straight. Whenever someone from another room would use thier sink or flush, our drain would gurgle for 15 minutes. We told the front desk and they said maintence would be back up to check it..they never showed up! Needless to say, we got NO Sleep for 4 nights. February 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location The hotel was ideally situated for my needs - close to National Airport. The staff in the onsite bar provided excellent service and we were able to find good restaurants within walking distance. I am currently a Gold member; however, no mention was made of my status, nor was I treated differently, except I noticed I was on a preferred floor once I got to my room. I was not sure what difference the preferred floor was over the other floors though. December 24, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst starwood experience in 30 years This hotel is awful. The staff was totally uncaring and unresponsive. The parking valets were sloppy and inattentive. Housekeeping was marginal. There was no management to speak with in our 4 day stay to be found. The Executive Club, which we booked, was closed and not disclosed to us until we checked in- a total wasted expense for us. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay, Great Location This is a great hotel local 5 minutes from the Orange Line (Ballston station). The rooms are large, quiet, and comfy. No street noise past 5-6th floor. (Aim for 10+.) The gym is small, but adequate. Wifi internet is very slow, but hardline works. On the other hand, parking rates are outrageous. Its $8 / day to park across the street in a covered garage. I wish the Westin was more competitive here. March 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by friendly staff but other issues best greeting on arrival that I have had at a hotel. Gentleman checking us in was terrific. Rooms were clean and met our needs. Enjoyed the pool. Unfortunately the Club lounge was not stocked with food or drinks. Downstairs the restaurant staff was sparse and left halfway through our breakfast. In addition clearly overcharged us but there was no manager left around to take issue with the overcharge. January 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff service The room and comfort levels were excellent, as I would expect from a Westin. What was particularly impressive during this stay was the responsiveness of staff to several requests. They went over and above and should be congratulated. On a less positive note, while very polite, having one staffer shuttling cars on a Saturday morning for the valet parking services was simply not sufficient, resulting in longish waits. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Business Trip Stay I very much enjoyed my stay here on a one night business trip. The front desk staff "welcomed me back" when I checked in. I checked in 3 hours early and the front desk was happy to get me a room early, with no problems at all. All staff were very friendly and made me feel welcome. Room was clean and comfortable, I will be staying here every time I travel to Arlington. November 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Peaceful Night WE stayed over Saturday night. The neighborhood was quiet. The hotel was moderately busy, but very quiet. The room was lovely, the bathroom a bit old-fashioned but very adequate, the night light in the bathroom is a nice touch, and the bed was heavenly. Near Metro stop. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for DC Weekends I have stayed here 2 times over the past year and I will keep coming back for a variety of reasons. First, while the hotel is a little outside of the district, there is an Orange Line Metro stop 2 blocks away which makes getting into DC pretty easy. The area surrounding the hotel is great, lots of restaurants and there is a ton more popping up every month (used to go to school in DC). The hotel itself is great, a standard Westin but I love Westin so it's perfect. Room was comfortable and clean. The bed is amazing as always. As Gold, I was upgraded to the Executive Level, not sure it is anything different but free water and robes are nice. The room was on the highest floor I believe. The prices during the week can be a little high, but on the weekends its great. I've managed to find sub $110 nights on many occasions here. The hotels in DC are much more expensive, so this is a cheaper but equally as nice alternative. Overall a great choice if you dont mind the Metro. October 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay in corner room 1116 Quiet and comfortable. Plenty of room. Decent view. July 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location good, service substandard Reserved for a two night stay - paid in advance to get Club access and free internet. Was not given Club access, and had to show my reservation to get them to remove internet charges. Hotel is adequate, though fitness is a bit run down. Staff was marginal at best. February 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Disappointing. Although the property is attractive, I found it a bit odd. Staff is friendly, some are helpful, others appear a bit out of their element. The first day, cleaning of the room was not attempted until nearly 5pm. Since I was in the room rather late, I thought that may have been why. The second day, at 5pm they stopped and asked if we "Wanted it cleaned"-- We had been gone ALL DAY and were back to get ready for dinner. It should have been done by then. No one answers the "Service Express" number when you call. 2 attempts-no answer at all. Took 10 rings to order breakfast. Our reservation was split with the first part paid for as a part of a conference and an additional day on our own. We got a check out bill for the first portion and then it was included again on the checkout for the final night. Had to head down to straighten it all out. Do not understand why you even have the fancy showerhead when you post a sign in the bathroom that it is turned off to conserve water. Disappointed that pool was closed during day--would have used it. May 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good stay Great Room. Staff very friendly and courteous. Evening room service could have been speedier. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was on a work trip I was in town for work and the hotel was a very relaxing space at the end of the work day. The restaurant had a nice grilled squid dish and all the staff was very friendly and helpful. I will stay here again next time I am in DC for work. July 14, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>