The Westin Arlington Gateway

  • 801 North Glebe Road
  • Arlington,
  • Virginia
  • 22203
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 301 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by great location, not particularly family friendly Nice facility. The energy saving climate controls in the rooms are a complete disaster. Room was 77 degrees at one in the morning. We were never able to get the temp below 71 even after the maintenance staff put the system in bypass mode. It was just uncomfortable. Will be even worse in the DC summer. This is the only Westin i have ever seen that does not allow children in the hot tub at the pool. If there are two hot tubs, one can be adult only. Require adult supervision, fine. No kids at all equals not family friendly. We had a great visit to DC. The hotel location is great. But the stay was mediocore. Lots of room for improvement. April 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel, but problems I was excited to stay at this hotel and have a relaxing few nights for NYE. Unfortunately, the pillows were terrible and my friend and I ended up both sleeping on the bolster pillow on the bed because both the down and regular pillows were awful. We called down to the front desk to complain, but there were no other pillows in the hotel. Then on NYE (which is a night with a lot of partying) people were running through the halls of the hotel screaming and sometimes crying. It kept us up all night. I realize this is out of the hotel's control (partly), but I was surprised that they would allow their clientele to disrupt everyone's sleep. January 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff Needs Work As a platinum member I come to expect a certain level of service. When I checked in, there was no acknowledgement of my status. I was not informed that there was an Executive Lounge, and I was not offered a platinum ammenity until I asked if I get one. Also, my room was upgraded, but I was not informed until I entered the room. The doormen seemed to not like the cold, because they did not come out to help me get my luggage out of the taxi, but stood in the doorway waiting to open it for me. When I checked out, They did not even help me flag a taxi or load my luggage. Not a very service oriented property. Room was great and clean and comfortable. Staff needs lots of training. January 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by A lot amiss here on our most recent stay Still a beautiful facility and a great location but we had problems--telephone didn't work, was replaced, worked day 1 and then once again needed to be repaired. No turndown nights one and two so we were surprised to get it night three but shocked to find our room open and unlocked when we returned to it at 8:30 p.m.. Security came and claimed the housekeeping had been there only 30 minutes or less earlier and that was when the door "didn't shut". All the same, my wife was very shaken when she came to the room alone and found it open. The door was then tested and it didn't swing shut (but it had done so the earlier portion of the stay). I surely hope that the hotel has repaired it for the next guest. Security Ted was soothing and helpful. Stefan at the desk was useless for most of the stay. Christian was accommodating and after some prodding and pushing, so was the manager on duty at check-in. Due to the Thanksgiving holiday,evidently, club room was closed for breakfast and hors d'oeuvre but supposedly open for use, to get water, soda, etc. It was constantly double locked from the inside and inaccessible. Had to get staff to unlock it in order to get bottles of water, and the first time this occurred I went down to the front desk and got rekeyed thinking it was the room key, then had to go back down again and fetch someone to open. Knew better the next two times and grabbed someone on the floor to help. Still like this facility very much and the location is perfect for us so I will likely be back but with some trepidation. December 1, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Do not stay is room 923 This is a nice Westin and a great location close enough to DC but far enough to relax. Of course I loved the heavenly bed and the room was spacious. However, the gentlemen who check us in was a bit brisk when I asked questions. Also that room 923 has a noise that from about 3am until maybe 9am woudl sound every 20 minutes. I barely slept at all. It was like a toilet flushing or someone hammering all morning long. I told the gentlemen at the desk when I checked out. He appologized but otherwise seemed to care less. I may try another Westin in the area. They always provide affordable luxury. The concierge desk was excellent both times I spoke with them. November 21, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointing staff the staff at this starwood property needs a tremendous amount of improvement in their handling of the guests. never been more disappointed at a hotel. I went to retrieve my car from the valet who had taken it and he looked at me like I was crazy, as if I should have known that the valet pickup happened inside the parking garage- something he never informed me about. Inside the garage there was no one at the window to get my car and the only visible attendant was shooting the breeze with a friend, after waiting 10 mins told I should give my ticket to the person at the window for service - I pointed out that there was no one there!! August 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay away if you have a car!!!! We parked my wife's BMW there few times. The first time they changed the lights settings from auto to on. The next day OBVIOUSLY the battery ran out. The second time, we gave the car to the valet and made sure that he will not change the lights settings this time and went to our room. Half an hour later we get a call informing us that there is a scratch on the side of the car. We went downstairs to check it out. The valet insisted that the scratch was from before!! and that the valet parking "RULE" is to inspect every car before parking it. We were pretty sure that the scratch was new (because when we came downstairs we noticed that the car was driven a bit forward). However, the valet refused to take responsibility and we were too tired to argue. We returned to this hotel multiple times, however, after the scratch instance, no one ever inspected the car before parking it and we never got any call regarding the old scratch. After another stay, we noticed new scratches. We expressed disapproval with the parking service. The supervisor said we can self park from now on (same price of course). We agreed. Of course he did not mention we can file an incident report. That night he opened the gate for us and even made us park in a HANDICAP spot!!!!! We were happy with the promise that we can self park from now on. He also signed a paper for us stating that we are self parkers and told us to show it to whoever is there the next time. The next time we stayed, we had leased a brand new Mercedes. We returned to the same hotel because we were self parkers. However, as with all unorganized gangs, the one who greeted us had no idea what self parking is. We could not argue with him because he barely spoke English. He called his supervisor. The supervisor said we can not self park. We told him that the car is brand new 2012 mercedes - it literally 40 miles on it. He said he can not let us park ourselves. Then he mentioned the third floor underground is self parking and it is full. Really?? full?? That means nobody trusts their parking services and everybody wants to self park. Anyway I am sure that was a lie!!! The main desk receptionist was involved. However, it seemed he had no word re the parking. We parked on the street for the night. The bad smell in the hallways was not the deal breaker, however we had a very bad experience with the parking people. And as a result of that, I will never return to this hotel. I will stay at a hotel that has self parking. It is unfortunate how this "parking gang" ruins the image of the hotel. May 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by needs better prices I thought being a for star facility the service would be better i got charged per night but room total was 120 over the cost(i guess tips were included)and everytime i turned around the staff wanted tipped. i agree with tipping i noticed however if the staff member did not think it was enough they avoided you the next time. i then paid a huge amount to park for a week . i should have gotten a discount (and so should evryone else) for parking for more than so many nights.the night we arrived pool hours were posted to 10 and they closed at 6:45.the resturaunt in the hotel was way overpriced.the only good thing was its closeness to the metro and grocery store. July 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 Filth and Dirt Even if you have experienced the low standards of sub-$50 hotels, the Westin Arlington will take your breath away. Filthy showers (alien tissue remnants that should star in SAW III), half-emptied coffee-cups in "freshly prepared rooms", toilets brimming with remnants left by the previous guest .... wonders just never stop! If you add that the entire staff is deeply resentful and simply does not want to do their (paid?) jobs, it makes you wonder how much risk is Westin taking by licensing this franchise. Summary: if you are in biological experimentation and want to pay $300 for the thrill - this is definitely a ticket for you. June 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by i night stay at Arlignton Unfortunately, I think I had a "bum room". First, the heat wood not work, which an engineer promptly fixed in the evening but the next morning my toilet handle broke. It seemed that the handle was of very poor quality and so was the internal mechanism because that broke as well. So in order to flush the toilet I had to dig my hand into the back water resevoir. I did not call the front desk to fix the problem for me because I was checking out, I did tell housekeeping about the issue when I left. I would love to give this hotel a higher rating but the room condition was just too much to not rate this as a Needs Improvement January 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cold Had to sit in a conference room for two days with cool air (almost like an air conditioner) blowing on us. Everyone had to get their jackets. Rooms were difficult to regulate with heat, as well. January 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by 3.5 stars This hotel is located in a great place. There is a out-of-date mall near with a cinema and food options. Hotel is about three or four blocks from the metro station. There is one restaurant in the hotel and no gift shop/small mart for essentials. The bed was very uncomfortable and linens were very worn. The bathroom was small. The staff is friendly and met all my needs. There is a Starbucks attached, which is very nice. They also provide Starbucks tea and coffee in room. The thermostat would not let us turn the air below 72 degrees, and resulted in us being a little warm after being in the sun all day. Overall, I would stay there again, but it is not a four star hotel. July 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel somewhat disappointing experience Overall this is a nice property but it is not without its pecularities. We selected a room on the executive club level for access to the club room. We discovered after booking (pre-paid discount with no cancellation ) that the evening hors d'oeuvres and morning breakfast are not served in the club room on Friday and Saturday evening (we stayed on Friday). This caveat is on the website but not overtly stated. The bigger issue is that the main dining room and bar were also closed for a private reception thus the club room defaulted as the hotel's restaurant that evening., thus the advantages of club level were nil even though you were paying more than a standard room. One other odd quirk at this hotel is the absence of a news/gift shop not a big deal but inconvenient and strange for a hotel of this caliber. The facility and sleeping rooms are nice and the staff was professional and courteous. January 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The hotel met my needs The hotel was average at best. The room and experience were like any other hotel stay and that is the good. However, when I book at the Westin I expect higher quality and a delightful experience which was lacking. January 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The valet are not nice The hotel room was very nice & clean. The front desk staff was also nice but I had a problem with the valet parking attendances. They were rude & when I got my car it smelled of cigarettes & I don't smoke. When told the front desk & they did there so called investigation. They said somebody was smoking on the outside of my car which is a lie. They apaologize but I still felt like they didn't put enought effort in. Nobody should be smoking anywhere near any cars. It's disgusting & very rude. The valet manager said he would give me a refund for one of the days. We will see if it actually happens February 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Double Bill-Again I had stopped staying at the Westin because inevitably they continued to bill for water or other items that were never used. It had been 3 years since I last stayed...choosing other local hotels. I thought I would give it another shot. This time, you not only billed my company credit card for the cost of the hotel...but you billed my personal credit card as well. I am starting to think your staff work on commission. Errors occur...I understand. But the errors this particular hotel make are the norm and the customer service is terrible. I'll take another 3 year hiatus from the Westin. July 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad sleep and shower experience We are not complainers, but wanted to write to share because has never been this way at any Westin before this trip. The pillows were soupy soft so we tossed and turned all night. The towels were like old bath mats, small and raggedy. The water pressure in the shower was terrible. The new rain heads in the shower are neat, but were only two inches above my head so water went everywhere if I got under to get some pressure. We literally only slept and showered there for the night so for all of the important things for rest and wake up to be bad, we won't consider staying there again. March 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 A great business stay in Arlington I was very pleased with my stay. I had business on Capitol Hill and upper NW, and tried to find hotels in those areas. But, none met my standards across fitness, spa, access, business-friendly amenities. So I took a chance on Arlington Gateway and was really happy I did: Staff great; Metro nearby gave me total effortless access to all of Washington. Gym, pool, hot tub very well maintained and above standards in other hotels. Room service very responsive and the room was immactulate each and every day. Wifi, however, was terrible, and this is important to me on business travel. March 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convient location We try to stay with you when in the area. Over the past few years, the resturant has improved by leaps and bounds. David has done a tremenous job with both his staff and the quality of the meals. We remain disappointed with housekeeping. This time we never received new disposable coffee cups or replacement coffee for the coffeemaker. Also, there was no newspaper delivered...at checkout we were informed that now you need to request one...why were we not asked at check in if we desired a newspaper or not? We will continue to stay with you because it is very convient for us. September 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Definitely recommend The staff was extremely friendly, always available to assist. The hotel is beautiful and located very conveniently to everything. My only issues were they list self-parking but when we asked upon arrival we were told there's only valet. There were also markings on the sheets which could have just been from the washing machines but it was a bit disheartening. I'm sure if I had called they would have taken care of it immediately. But as it was 1am it seemed a bit of a hassle for us when they changed them in the morning. I would still definitely recommend this hotel. January 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay but... Everything went very well except for the fact that the restaurant was closed for private parties both nights of our stay. That made it difficult because we were traveling with our dog and we normally eat in the lobby with her by our side. Staff recommended room service but I have always found that the wait is too long and the food costs much more than the restaurant. Also, we asked for a refrigerator because we brought food for our fog. The first one didn't work and we had it replaced. By the morning we wre leaving, the second refrigerator wasn't working either. December 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel has work to do with its staff This is one of those hotels that caters to the many governmental business in the area. I would not stay here if I had a choice. There were multiple bad experiences on my two day stay. 1) Room is not really clean. There was a used shower cap on the floor when we checked in. 2) The oatmeal breakfast in the morning (room service) was cold 3) We upgraded to a "corner room" for $20 extra. This room is no better than any other room. The "corner" is just really a room with extra corridor space to get to your larger small bedroom area. Very disappointing and misleading December 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Valet parking is terrible and rooms are dirty The Hotel needs to improve on room cleaniness. Our first attempt at a room on the 4th floor was filthy. There were stains on the pillows, the floor was not swept ( dirt all over the floor), bathroom had dirt all over the bath tub. We refused this room and went downstairs and they gave us a different room. However this room had a broken refigerator, so they brought in another one for our use. Overall the rest of the stay was good, until we went to pick up our car in valet parking garage. After several minues of trying to wake up the attendant behind the glass window, she gave the valet attendant the wrong car info and he brought us the wrong car. If we wouldn't have look puzzled we probably could of drove off in the wrong car. September 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just charge more... Why don't you just an extra $20/night and provide "complementary" wifi in the rooms? It comes across as rather tacky that guest have to pay "extra" for a service that pretty much comes expected in today's world. That being said, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was clean and in order. December 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by As expected!!! Staple hotel for me. I am usually here once every 3 weeks for a regular office visit. What I love most about Starwood brands and especially the Westin properties for business is the consistency, familiarity and professional treatment appropriate for business-class hotels. This Westin is easy, I am always able to check in in less than 5 minutes, there is a Starbucks in the hotel which is critical in the mornings and the staff is always very pleasant and very accommodating. I have always received great service here every time I've stayed. Thank you!! April 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service and Awesome Hospitality There was some confusion upon check-in about our room, and the process took longer than expected. My mother is elderly and was tired from the trip. The Bell/Luggage Attendant that was assisting us recognized that my mother needed to sit down and immediately seated her in the lobby. This attendant stayed us through-out the process, and made my mother comfortable. The staff did nothing but impress us with their awesome hospitality and service. Our room was clean and well stocked. Though my roll away bed was not in the room as requested, the staff made sure we had one within minutes. The food and service in the restaurant was great. My only issue is the price for parking at $25.00 per day. Though the valet service is also great, it is expensive. February 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Underwhelmed I am becoming more and more convinced that when you are a young or middle aged female, you get given the most basic room possible. This time there were so many shortcomings, I will list them: Inadequate lighting in hall and room (5th floor). A bathroom door that wouldn't stay open when I wanted it that way. Lousy view (of the roof of the restaurant). Maid service that neglected to replace used up shampoos and complementary water (I tipped her anyway, I'm sure she suffers too). No free internet. Really??? Concierge who gave me the wrong directions to my office, two blocks away, but I walked about 8 to find it. If you are staying in this area, there is a better inn 2 blocks away that charges the same as this one but includes internet, breakfast, and dinner! August 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 Lacking Attention when i arrived on Sunday, the plumber was still working an issue with the faucet in the bathroom. A part need to be ordered. the part was installed on Monday, the faucet was still leaking. I mentioned it to the front desk on Tuesday, to have them look into the issue. the faucet leak was never corrected. the TV had issues with several channels cutting in and out. Only one regular coffee pouch was left where there are usually two. Overall, the stay was okay, not up to the normal great standards of a Westin. Attention to detail is lacking. November 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay Stayed at this Westin in July 2013. Found none of the concerns from some negative reviews. We arrived at 11 am and were allowed to check in early to a clean and very comfortable room on the 11th floor. We had breakfast in the restaurant one morning. Excellent service and delicious food. The bar service was excellent. We found the front desk staff to be courteous always. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We did not use the pool or exercise room. But we found the hotel to be quiet and very comfortable. We turned the thermostat down to 70 and the room got down to 70. It is very convenient to the Ballston Metro. I would not hesitate to send friends to this hotel or to stay here again. Lots of dining opportunities within walking distance to the hotel. August 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Normally very good but had problems this time! Have stayed here MANY times and am platinum status.. Normally very good, however several things not right this time. 1. Had an important mail delivered there before we arrived. Was told repeatedly it wasn't there for three days before it was finally located "up in the office"! 2. Internet service in our room 1208 was terrible! 3. Toilet in room refused to flush well. 4. Club room breakfast items were acceptable, but evening selection was poor - even ran out of diet cokes! 5. Room service didn't have a club sandwich or french fries! October 29, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>